DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on September 03, 2026 was considered by the examiner. Claims 1-3 and 5-20 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3 and 5-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “motion data” in line 8, but it is not clear if this recitation is the same as, related to, or different from the recitation “motion data” in line 6. The similar phraseology suggests that they are the same, but the lack of definite article “the” suggests that they are different. If the recitations are the same, the present recitation should be “the motion data”. If the recitations are different, the relationship between these recitations should be made clear and they should be clearly distinguished from each other (e.g., when multiple elements have similar or the same labels, distinct identifiers such as “first” and “second” should be used to clearly differentiate the elements). For the purposes of examination, the recitations are being interpreted as the same.
Claim 1 recites “a body part” in lines 8-9, but it is not clear if this recitation is the same as, related to, or different from the recitation “a body part” in line 4. The similar phraseology suggests that they are the same, but the indefinite article “a” suggests that they are different. If the recitations are the same, the present recitation should be “the body part”. If the recitations are different, the relationship between these recitations should be made clear and they should be clearly distinguished from each other (e.g., when multiple elements have similar or the same labels, distinct identifiers such as “first” and “second” should be used to clearly differentiate the elements). For the purposes of examination, the recitations are being interpreted as the same.
Claim 1 recites “local maxima and minima” in line 19, but it is not clear if this recitation is the same as, related to, or different from the recitation “local maxima and minima” in line 5. The similar phraseology suggests that they are the same, but the lack of definite article “the” suggests that they are different. If the recitations are the same, the present recitation should be “the local maxima and minima”. If the recitations are different, the relationship between these recitations should be made clear and they should be clearly distinguished from each other (e.g., when multiple elements have similar or the same labels, distinct identifiers such as “first” and “second” should be used to clearly differentiate the elements). For the purposes of examination, the recitations are being interpreted as the same.
Claims 2-3, 5-11, and 19-20 are rejected by virtue of their dependence from claim 1.
Claim 5 recites “a model motion” in line 2, but it is not clear if this recitation is the same as, related to, or different from the recitation “a model motion” in claim 1, line 4. The similar phraseology suggests that they are the same, but the indefinite article “a” suggests that they are different. If the recitations are the same, the present recitation should be “the model motion”. If the recitations are different, the relationship between these recitations should be made clear and they should be clearly distinguished from each other (e.g., when multiple elements have similar or the same labels, distinct identifiers such as “first” and “second” should be used to clearly differentiate the elements). For the purposes of examination, the recitations are being interpreted as the same.
Claim 12 recites “motion data” in lines 8-9, but it is not clear if this recitation is the same as, related to, or different from the recitation “motion data” in line 5. The similar phraseology suggests that they are the same, but the lack of definite article “the” suggests that they are different. If the recitations are the same, the present recitation should be “the motion data”. If the recitations are different, the relationship between these recitations should be made clear and they should be clearly distinguished from each other (e.g., when multiple elements have similar or the same labels, distinct identifiers such as “first” and “second” should be used to clearly differentiate the elements). For the purposes of examination, the recitations are being interpreted as the same.
Claim 12 recites “local maxima and minima” in line 22, but it is not clear if this recitation is the same as, related to, or different from the recitation “local maxima and minima” in line 8. The similar phraseology suggests that they are the same, but the lack of definite article “the” suggests that they are different. If the recitations are the same, the present recitation should be “the local maxima and minima”. If the recitations are different, the relationship between these recitations should be made clear and they should be clearly distinguished from each other (e.g., when multiple elements have similar or the same labels, distinct identifiers such as “first” and “second” should be used to clearly differentiate the elements). For the purposes of examination, the recitations are being interpreted as the same.
Claims 13-18 are rejected by virtue of their dependence from claim 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-3 and 5-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed towards abstract ideas without significantly more.
Claim 1 interpretation: Under the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI), the terms of the claim are presumed to have their plain meaning consistent with the specification as it would be interpreted by one of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2111. Based on the specification, the recitation “setting a model motion comprising a repeated rotational motion of a body part of a user” is being interpreted as judgements and/or opinions, and/or methods of human activity (see specification pg. 11 ¶4 – pg. 14 ¶2). The recitation “defining a threshold prominence value for identifying local maxima and minima in motion data acquired during performance of the model motion” is being interpreted as judgements and/or opinions (see specification pg. 20 ¶3-4). The recitation “instructing the user to perform the model motion” is being interpreted as judgements and/or opinions, and/or methods of human activity (see specification pg. 11 ¶4 – pg. 14 ¶2). The recitation “processing the motion data to identify orientation in the frame of reference associated with the sensor of primary, secondary, and tertiary axes of rotation for the motion of the body part of the user” is being interpreted as mathematical calculations/evaluations and/or judgements/observations (see specification pg. 16 ¶2 – pg. 18 ¶1). The recitation “transforming the motion data, based on the identified orientation of the primary, secondary, and tertiary axes, to align the motion data with the primary, secondary, and tertiary axes” is being interpreted as mathematical calculations/evaluations and/or judgements/observations (see specification pg. 4 ¶6). The recitation “extracting local maxima and minima by identifying times at which peaks and troughs have a prominence having a magnitude greater than the threshold prominence value” is being interpreted as mathematical calculations/evaluations and/or judgements/observations (see specification pg. 18 ¶6-7 and pg. 20 ¶2-5). The recitation “extracting the medical biomarker by analysing the rotational motion of the body part of the user about at least one of the primary, secondary, and tertiary axes based on one or more of the local maxima and minima” is being interpreted as mathematical calculations/evaluations (see specification pg. 10 ¶6 – pg. 14 ¶1 and pg. 18 ¶2 – pg. 23 ¶2). The recitations are computer-implemented, as indicated in the specification (see specification pg. 4 ¶7 and pg. 6 ¶1-11).
Claim 12 interpretation: Under the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI), the terms of the claim are presumed to have their plain meaning consistent with the specification as it would be interpreted by one of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2111. Based on the specification, the recitation “set a model motion comprising a repeated rotational motion of the body part” is being interpreted as judgements and/or opinions, and/or methods of human activity (see specification pg. 11 ¶4 – pg. 14 ¶2). The recitation “define a threshold prominence value for identifying local maxima and minima in motion data received from the sensor during performance by the user of the model motion” is being interpreted as judgements and/or opinions (see specification pg. 20 ¶3-4). The recitation “instruct the user to perform the model motion” is being interpreted as judgements and/or opinions, and/or methods of human activity (see specification pg. 11 ¶4 – pg. 14 ¶2). The recitation “process the motion data to identify orientation in the frame of reference associated with the sensor of primary, secondary, and tertiary axes of rotation for the motion of the body part of the user” is being interpreted as mathematical calculations/evaluations and/or judgements/observations (see specification pg. 16 ¶2 – pg. 18 ¶1). The recitation “transform the motion data, based on the identified orientation of the primary, secondary, and tertiary axes, to align the motion data with the primary, secondary, and tertiary axes” is being interpreted as mathematical calculations/evaluations and/or judgements/observations (see specification pg. 4 ¶6). The recitation “extract local maxima and minima by identifying times at which peaks and troughs have a prominence having a magnitude greater than the threshold prominence value” is being interpreted as mathematical calculations/evaluations and/or judgements/observations (see specification pg. 18 ¶6-7 and pg. 20 ¶2-5). The recitation “extract the medical biomarker by analysing the rotational motion of the body part of the user about at least one of the primary, secondary, and tertiary axes based on one or more of the local maxima and minima” is being interpreted as mathematical calculations/evaluations (see specification pg. 10 ¶6 – pg. 14 ¶1 and pg. 18 ¶2 – pg. 23 ¶2). The recitations are computer-implemented, as indicated in the specification (see specification pg. 4 ¶7 and pg. 6 ¶1-11), and in the claim lines 2-3.
Step 1: This part of eligibility analysis evaluates whether the claim falls within any statutory category. MPEP 2106.03. Claim 1 recites a method, which is directed towards a process (a statutory category of invention). Claim 12 recites an apparatus, which is directed towards a machine and/or a manufacture (a statutory category of invention). Step 1: YES.
Step 2A Prong One: This part of the eligibility analysis evaluates whether the claim recites a judicial exception. As explained in MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(I). The courts consider mathematical calculations, when the claim is given its BRI in light of the specification, as falling within the “mathematical concept” grouping of abstract ideas. A claim does not have to recite “calculating” in order to be considered a mathematical calculation. For example, a step of “determining” a variable or number using a mathematical method, or “performing” a mathematical operation, may also be considered a mathematical calculation when the BRI of the claim in light of the specification encompasses a mathematical calculation. As discussed in the claim interpretation section, the limitations include, under the BRI, mathematical calculations/evaluations for identification of the orientation and extraction of the medical biomarker. Accordingly, the limitations as seen in claims 1 and 12 recite judicial exceptions (abstract ideas that fall within the mathematical calculations grouping of mathematical concepts).
Alternatively or additionally, these steps describe the concept of using implicit mathematical formulas (i.e., calculations to determine a likelihood score) to derive a conclusion based on input of data, which corresponds to concepts identified as abstract ideas by the courts (Diamond v. Diehr. 450 U.S. 175, 209 U.S.P.Q. 1 (1981), Parker v. Flook. 437 U.S. 584, 19 U.S.P.Q. 193 (1978), and In re Grams. 888 F.2d 835, 12 U.S.P.Q.2d 1824 (Fed. Cir. 1989)). The concept of the recited limitations identified as mathematical concepts above is not meaningfully different than those mathematical concepts found by the courts to be abstract ideas.
Furthermore, as explained in MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III). The courts consider a mental process (thinking) that “can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper” to be an abstract idea. CyberSource Corp. v. Retail Decisions, Inc., 654 F.3d 1366, 1372, 99 USPQ2d 1690, 1695 (Fed. Cir. 2011). The “mental processes” abstract idea grouping is defined as concepts performed in the human mind, and examples of mental processes include observations, evaluations, judgements, and opinions. As discussed in the claim interpretation section, the limitations include, under the BRI, judgements/observations (to identify the orientation) and/or mathematical calculations/evaluations for identification of the orientation and extraction of the medical biomarker. Accordingly, the limitations as seen in claims 1 and 12 recite judicial exceptions (abstract ideas that fall within the mental process grouping). No limitations are provided that would force the complexity of any of the identified evaluation steps to be non-performable by pen-and-paper practice.
Furthermore, as explained in MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(II)(C). The courts consider “managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people" to include social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions, which are abstract ideas. This grouping includes “following rules or instructions”, which corresponds to the claimed setting and instructing model motion. As an analogous example, an abstract idea may include a mental process that a neurologist should follow when testing a patient for nervous system malfunctions. In re Meyer, 688 F.2d 789, 791-93, 215 USPQ 193, 194-96 (CCPA 1982). Accordingly, the limitations as seen in claims 1 and 12 recite judicial exceptions (abstract ideas that fall within the managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people grouping).
In particular, claim 1 recites the following elements, which are part of the abstract idea (i.e., the algorithm):
a method of determining a medical biomarker indicative of a neurodegenerative disease or other disease impacting musculature control, the method comprising:
setting a model motion comprising a repeated rotational motion of a body part of a user;
defining a threshold prominence value for identifying local maxima and minima in motion data acquired during performance of the model motion;
instructing the user to perform the model motion;
acquiring motion data during performance of the model motion,
the motion data being provided relative to a frame of reference associated with the sensor;
processing the motion data to identify orientation in the frame of reference associated with the sensor of primary, secondary, and tertiary axes of rotation for the motion of the body part of the user,
wherein the primary, secondary, and tertiary axes are mutually perpendicular to one another;
transforming the motion data, based on the identified orientation of the primary, secondary, and tertiary axes, to align the motion data with the primary, secondary, and tertiary axes;
extracting local maxima and minima by identifying times at which peaks and troughs have a prominence having a magnitude greater than the threshold prominence value;
extracting the medical biomarker by analysing the rotational motion of the body part of the user about at least one of the primary, secondary, and tertiary axes based on one or more of the local maxima and minima.
Furthermore, claim 12 recites the following elements, which are part of the abstract idea (i.e., the algorithm):
determining a medical biomarker indicative of a neurodegenerative disease or other disease impacting musculature control, configured to:
provide motion data relative to a frame of reference associated with the sensor,
set a model motion comprising a repeated rotational motion of the body part;
define a threshold prominence value for identifying local maxima and minima in motion data received from the sensor during performance by the user of the model motion;
instruct the user to perform the model motion;
receive the motion data from the sensor during performance by the user of the model;
process the motion data to identify orientation in the frame of reference associated with the sensor of primary, secondary, and tertiary axes of rotation for the motion of the body part of the user,
wherein the primary, secondary, and tertiary axes are mutually perpendicular to one another;
transform the motion data, based on the identified orientation of the primary, secondary, and tertiary axes, to align the motion data with the primary, secondary, and tertiary axes;
extract local maxima and minima by identifying times at which peaks and troughs have a prominence having a magnitude greater than the threshold prominence value;
extract the medical biomarker by analysing the rotational motion of the body part of the user about at least one of the primary, secondary, and tertiary axes based on one or more of the local maxima and minima.
Step 2A Prong One: YES.
Step 2A Prong Two: This part of the eligibility analysis evaluates whether the claim as a whole integrates the judicial exceptions into a practical application of the exception. This evaluation is performed by (a) identifying whether there are any additional elements recited in the claim beyond the judicial exceptions, and (b) evaluating those additional elements individually and in combination to determine whether the claim as a whole integrates the exceptions into a practical application. Claim 12 recites the additional element of an apparatus including one or more processors and memory, which is directed towards a generic computer. The apparatus is merely instructions to implement an abstract idea on a generic computer or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.04(d) and MPEP 2106.05(f).
Claims 1 and 12 both recite a sensor to acquire motion data. The sensor is generic, and merely constitutes necessary data gathering at a high level of generality. In addition, such receiving of data can be seen as merely adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception, i.e., mere data gathering at a higher level of generality - see MPEP 2106.04(d) and MPEP 2106.05(g) using generic components (i.e., the sensors are generic).
Step 2A Prong Two: NO.
Step 2B: This part of the eligibility analysis evaluates whether the claim as a whole, amounts to significantly more than the recited exception, i.e., whether any additional element, or combination of additional elements, adds an inventive concept to the claim. MPEP 2106.05. As explained with Step 2A Prong Two, the claims recite additional elements which are directed towards the usage of a generic computer, and are at best the equivalent of merely adding the words “apply it” to the judicial exceptions. Mere instructions to apply an exception cannot provide an inventive concept. These elements/steps can be seen as well-understood, routine, and conventional individually and in combination. Claim 12 recites the additional element of an apparatus including one or more processors and memory, which is directed towards a generic computer. Thus, the apparatus/method do not qualify as significantly more because these limitations are simply appending well-understood, routine and conventional activities previously known in the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception, e.g., a claim to an abstract idea requiring no more than a generic computer to perform generic computer functions that are well-understood, routine and conventional activities previously known in the industry (see Electric Power Group, 830 F.3d 1350 (Fed. Cir. 2016); Alice Corp. v. CLS Bank Int’l, 110 USPQ2d 1976 (2014)) and/or a claim to an abstract idea requiring no more than being stored on a computer readable medium which is a well-understood, routine and conventional activity previously known in the industry (see Electric Power Group, 830 F.3d 1350 (Fed. Cir. 2016); Alice Corp. v. CLS Bank Int’l, 110 USPQ2d 1976 (2014); SAP Am. v. InvestPic, 890 F.3d 1016 (Fed. Circ. 2018)).
Claims 1 and 12 both recite a sensor to acquire motion data. The sensor is generic, and is well-understood, routine, and conventional. For example, the specification of the present application details that such sensors (i.e., an accelerometer and/or gyroscope) are “are commonly and readily available today. For example, most modern mobile telephones are supplied with accelerometers and/or gyroscopes integral to the telephone” (see specification pg. 1 ¶3-5). Furthermore, Sillay et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2014/0257047 – cited in prior action) teaches about an objective measurement medical data collection device for population health measurements within the restorative neurosciences such as Parkinson disease individuals diagnosed with disease, in which the data collection device may comprise one or more of a gyroscope, an accelerometer, a locator, a camera and a magnetometer for collecting, for example, data related to tremors experienced by the individuals diagnosed with disease and receive instruction data responsive to evaluation of the collected data in relation to the cohort database (see abstract and Fig. 8), in which accelerometers and gyroscopes are known components on commercial products, such as an Apple® wireless telecommunication device (see ¶[0004] and ¶[0165]), an Android® device, or an APDM wearable inertial monitoring device (see ¶[0165]). Therefore, the sensor does not amount to significantly more.
Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination (that is, as a whole) adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taking individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer, for example, or improves any other technology. There is no indication that the combination of elements permits automation of specific tasks that previously could not be automated. There is no indication that the combination of elements includes a particular solution to a computer-based problem or a particular way to achieve a desired computer-based outcome. Rather, the collective functions of the claimed invention merely provide conventional computer implementation, i.e., the computer is simply a tool to perform the process. Step 2B: NO.
Claims 1 and 12 are not eligible.
Claims 2-3, 5-11, and 19-20; and 14-18 depend from claims 1 and 12, respectively, and merely further define the abstract ideas of claims 1 and 12 with no further element that integrates the abstract ideas into a practical application or that qualifies as being significantly more. The claims contain elements which are directed towards a generic computer. Therefore, the apparatus/method are merely instructions to implement an abstract idea on a generic computer (i.e., the generic smartphone) or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.04(d) and MPEP 2106.05(f). Further that, the claims recite additional elements which are directed towards the usage of a generic computer (i.e., the generic smartphone), and are at best the equivalent of merely adding the words “apply it” to the judicial exceptions. Mere instructions to apply an exception cannot provide an inventive concept. These elements/steps can be seen as well-understood, routine, and conventional individually and in combination. Thus, the apparatus/method do not qualify as significantly more because these limitations are simply appending well-understood, routine and conventional activities previously known in the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception, e.g., a claim to an abstract idea requiring no more than a generic computer to perform generic computer functions that are well-understood, routine and conventional activities previously known in the industry (see Electric Power Group, 830 F.3d 1350 (Fed. Cir. 2016); Alice Corp. v. CLS Bank Int’l, 110 USPQ2d 1976 (2014)) and/or a claim to an abstract idea requiring no more than being stored on a computer readable medium which is a well-understood, routine and conventional activity previously known in the industry (see Electric Power Group, 830 F.3d 1350 (Fed. Cir. 2016); Alice Corp. v. CLS Bank Int’l, 110 USPQ2d 1976 (2014); SAP Am. v. InvestPic, 890 F.3d 1016 (Fed. Circ. 2018)).
Looking at the limitations of each claim as an ordered combination in conjunction with the claims from which they depend (that is, as a whole) adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer, for example, or improves any other technology. There is no indication that the combination of elements permits automation of specific tasks that previously could not be automated. There is no indication that the combination of elements includes a particular solution to a computer-based problem or a particular way to achieve a desired computer-based outcome.
Claim 13 depends from claim 12 and further includes an accelerometer and/or a gyroscope for supplying the motion data, which is a positive recitation of the sensor. However, such a sensor is not integration into a practical application because it is merely adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception, i.e., mere data gathering at a higher level of generality - see MPEP 2106.04(d) and MPEP 2106.05(g). In addition, such sensors cannot be seen as significantly more than the recited exceptions as those sensors are well-understood, routine, and conventional. For example, Sillay et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2014/0257047 – cited in prior action) teaches about an objective measurement medical data collection device for population health measurements within the restorative neurosciences such as Parkinson disease individuals diagnosed with disease, in which the data collection device may comprise one or more of a gyroscope, an accelerometer, a locator, a camera and a magnetometer for collecting, for example, data related to tremors experienced by the individuals diagnosed with disease and receive instruction data responsive to evaluation of the collected data in relation to the cohort database (see abstract and Fig. 8), in which accelerometers and gyroscopes are known components on commercial products, such as an Apple® wireless telecommunication device (see ¶[0004] and ¶[0165]), an Android® device, or an APDM wearable inertial monitoring device (see ¶[0165]). Therefore, the sensors would not integrate the abstract ideas into a practical application or amount to significantly more.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sillay et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2014/0257047 – cited in prior action), hereinafter Sillay, in view of Mhajna (US Patent Application Publication 2021/0236046 – cited in prior action), hereinafter Mhajna.
Regarding Claims 1 and 12, Sillay teaches about an objective measurement medical data collection device for population health measurements within the restorative neurosciences such as Parkinson disease individuals diagnosed with disease, in which the data collection device may comprise one or more of a gyroscope, an accelerometer, a locator, a camera and a magnetometer for collecting, for example, data related to tremors experienced by the individuals diagnosed with disease and receive instruction data responsive to evaluation of the collected data in relation to the cohort database (see abstract and Fig. 8). Sillay teaches a method/apparatus of/for determining a medical biomarker indicative of a neurodegenerative disease or other disease impacting musculature control (see abstract, ¶[0165], and ¶[0174] the device/method may be utilized for health measurements, such as determining metrics for Parkinson disease individuals),
the apparatus comprising:
a sensor configured to be held or mounted for rotation with a body part of a user and to provide motion data relative to a frame of reference associated with the sensor (¶[0164]-[0177] various sensors may be utilized for motion data capture on the body/limbs of the user, such as accelerometers and/or gyroscopes, such as a repetitions of rotations of the arms, ¶[0181]-[0189] the alignment of the mobile device, including the sensors within, consistent between tests, and processing that minimizes or removes the effects of misalignment, the coordinate system may be re-determined on a regular, periodic, or occasional bases, or to utilize a mounting or position system that contains additional sensors to provide information that can be utilized to re-determine or update or estimate the chosen coordinate system, the singular value decomposition (SVD) analysis on the matrix to determine the direction of maximum variation for alignment; see ¶[0177]; Figs. 8 and 11);
one or more processors and memory (¶[0151]-[0152] and ¶[0158] a server including processors executing stored programs, which would be stored on memory, may be utilized to implement the functions of the disclosure)
the one or more processors and memory configured to/the method comprising:
setting a model motion comprising a repeated rotational motion of a body part of a user; instructing the user to perform the model motion (¶[0177] the performance of motor tests of the users, such as a forearm pronation/supination test for bradykinesia, which involves 12 pronation/supination repetitions; Fig. 11);
receiving the motion data from the sensor during performance of the user of the model motion (¶[0164]-[0177] various sensors may be utilized for motion data capture on the body/limbs of the user, such as accelerometers and/or gyroscopes, such as a repetitions of rotations of the arms, see ¶[0177]; Figs. 8 and 11),
processing the motion data to identify orientation in the frame of reference associated with the sensor of primary, secondary, and tertiary axes of rotation for the motion of the body part of the user (¶[0177]-[0178] the data acquisition for data in measuring forearm bradykinesia, in which user and the sensors thereon are positioned sitting in an armless chair against an appropriate background, ¶[0181]-[0189] the alignment of the mobile device, including the sensors within, consistent between tests, and processing that minimizes or removes the effects of misalignment, the coordinate system may be re-determined on a regular, periodic, or occasional bases, or to utilize a mounting or position system that contains additional sensors to provide information that can be utilized to re-determine or update or estimate the chosen coordinate system, the singular value decomposition (SVD) analysis on the matrix to determine the direction of maximum variation for alignment; Figs. 8 and 11),
wherein the primary, secondary, and tertiary axes are mutually perpendicular to one another (¶[0183] the axes may represent X, Y, and Z in 3-dimensional space; Fig. 8);
transforming the motion data, based on the identified orientation of the primary, secondary, and tertiary axes, to align the motion data with the primary, secondary, and tertiary axes (¶[0181]-[0189] the alignment of the mobile device, including the sensors within, consistent between tests, and processing that minimizes or removes the effects of misalignment, the coordinate system may be re-determined on a regular, periodic, or occasional bases, or to utilize a mounting or position system that contains additional sensors to provide information that can be utilized to re-determine or update or estimate the chosen coordinate system, the singular value decomposition (SVD) analysis on the matrix to determine the direction of maximum variation for alignment; Figs. 8 and 11);
extracting local maxima and minima by identifying times at which peaks and troughs have a magnitude greater than a predetermined threshold (¶[0184]-[0189] the maximum and minimum variation, such as via the maximum and minimum angular or translational acceleration or velocity of an individual with disease's joint, limb, hand, foot, or head);
extracting the medical biomarker by analysing the rotational motion of the body part of the user about at least one of the primary, secondary, and tertiary axes based on one or more of the local maxima and minima (see generally ¶[0177]-[0189] the various biomarkers that are extracted from the rotational motion data, such as determining the maximum rate of angular acceleration, degrees traveled per oscillation, peak angular velocity, hesitations, fatiguing, and amplitude of angular velocity used in the rating score, the maximum and minimum variation are determined and used to estimate one or more properties of the measured data, see ¶[0178] and Fig. 11).
Sillay does not specifically teach defining a threshold prominence value for identifying local maxima and minima in motion data acquired during performance of the model motion.
Mhajna teaches systems and methods for maternal uterine activity detection via received acoustic inputs (see abstract and Figs. 1A-3) and motion data (see ¶[0155]-[00167), in which the received data may be sharped by determining the prominence of each peak, and removing the peaks with prominence less than a threshold (see ¶[0008], ¶[0019], and ¶[0220]-[0235]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the signal sharpening via prominence thresholding of Mhajna with the maximum and minimum determination of Sillay because (1) it is the application of a known technique to a known method ready for improvement to yield predictable results; and/or (2) sharpening the signal would enable the maximum to be easier picked out from the data; and/or (3) it would be within the skill of one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply a commensurate sharpening for the minimum determination and extraction.
Regarding Claim 2, Sillay in view of Mhajna teaches the method of claim 1 as stated above. Sillay further teaches analysing the rotational motion of the body part of the user is performed in a continuous manner throughout the repeated motion (¶[0177]-[0178] and ¶[0184]-[0185] the user is monitored continuously through the repeated motion, and such data is analyzed, the matrix of measurements including the time of measurement, which may be in ascending or descending order; Fig. 11).
Regarding Claim 3, Sillay in view of Mhajna teaches the method of claim 1 as stated above. Sillay further teaches analysing the rotational motion includes extracting the rotational motion along one or more of the primary, secondary, and tertiary axes as a function of time (¶[0184]-[0185] the matrix of measurements including the time of measurement, which may be in ascending or descending order).
Regarding Claims 5 and 14, Sillay in view of Mhajna teaches the method/apparatus of claims 1 and 12, respectively, as stated above. Sillay further teaches the medical biomarker is indicative of a discrepancy between the motion of the body part and a model motion which the user is instructed to make (¶[0160], ¶[0194], and ¶[0242]-[0243] the comparisons of the user data to broader population data, such as the comparison of objective measurements of performance of a simple motor test).
Regarding Claims 6 and 15, Sillay in view of Mhajna teaches the method/apparatus of claims 1 and 12, respectively, as stated above. Sillay further teaches extracting the medical biomarker includes extracting one or more of: frequency of repetition of the rotational motion; time for a single rotational motion; average time for a single rotational motion; an angular amplitude of the rotational motion (¶[0178] metrics may include determining the maximum rate of angular acceleration, degrees traveled per oscillation, peak angular velocity, hesitations, fatiguing, and amplitude of angular velocity used in the rating score; Fig. 11); asymmetry of an angular amplitude of the rotational motion relative to a neutral point; asymmetry of angular velocity or acceleration of the rotational movement; and/or a ratio of an angular amplitude of the rotational motion along one of the primary, secondary, and tertiary axes to an angular amplitude of the rotational motion along a different one of the primary, secondary, and tertiary axes.
Regarding Claim 7, Sillay in view of Mhajna teaches the method of claim 1 as stated above. Sillay further teaches extracting the medical biomarker includes detecting a change in one or more of: frequency of repetition of the rotational motion; time for a single rotational motion; the orientation of one or more of the primary, secondary, and tertiary axes in the frame of reference associated with the sensor; an angular amplitude of the rotational motion (¶[0178] metrics may include determining the maximum rate of angular acceleration, degrees traveled per oscillation, peak angular velocity, hesitations, fatiguing, and amplitude of angular velocity used in the rating score; Fig. 11); asymmetry of an angular amplitude of the rotational motion relative to a neutral point; asymmetry of angular velocity or acceleration of the rotational movement; and/or a ratio of an angular amplitude of the rotational motion along one of the primary, secondary, and tertiary axes to an angular amplitude of the rotational motion along a different one of the primary, secondary, and tertiary.
Regarding Claims 8 and 16, Sillay in view of Mhajna teaches the method/apparatus of claims 1 and 12, respectively, as stated above. Sillay further teaches the one or more processors and memory are further configured to divide a time period for which the repeated rotational motion occurs into two or more distinct sub-periods of time, and to perform the analysing individually on motion data received during one of the sub-periods of time (¶[0177]-[0178] the different time periods of movement data that is recorded and then analyzed, ¶[0184] the acquisition of data at a sequence of times within a desired time interval over which data are to be acquired).
Regarding Claim 9, Sillay in view of Mhajna teaches the method of claim 1 as stated above. Sillay further teaches the repeated rotational motion is a pronation and supination of a hand, or bending and straightening of a knee or elbow (¶[0170] the gait analysis, which would include the knee, ¶[0171] the sensors positioned on the hand/wrist, such as for use of the hand, ¶[0177] the sensors positioned on the arm for measuring forearm bradykinesia).
Regarding Claims 10 and 17, Sillay in view of Mhajna teaches the method/apparatus of claims 1 and 12, respectively, as stated above. Sillay further teaches wherein transforming the motion data comprises constructing, using eigenvectors associated with the primary, secondary, and tertiary axes, a rotation matrix and applying the rotation matrix to the motion data (¶[0181]-[0189] the alignment of the mobile device, including the sensors within, consistent between tests, and processing that minimizes or removes the effects of misalignment, the coordinate system may be re-determined on a regular, periodic, or occasional bases, or to utilize a mounting or position system that contains additional sensors to provide information that can be utilized to re-determine or update or estimate the chosen coordinate system, the singular value decomposition (SVD) analysis on the matrix to determine the direction of maximum variation for alignment, including with including eigenvector and eigenvalue analysis and matrix factorizations; Figs. 8 and 11).
Regarding Claim 11, Sillay in view of Mhajna teaches the method of claim 1 as stated above. Sillay further teaches a tangible non-transitory computer readable medium comprising computer implementable instructions for causing a programmable computer device to carry out the steps of claim 1 (¶[0151]-[0152] and ¶[0158] a server including processors executing stored programs, which would be stored on memory, may be utilized to implement the functions of the disclosure).
Regarding Claim 13, Sillay in view of Mhajna teaches the apparatus of claim 12 as stated above. Sillay further teaches wherein the sensor comprises an accelerometer and/or a gyroscope (¶[0164]-[0177] various sensors may be utilized for motion data capture on the body/limbs of the user, such as accelerometers and/or gyroscopes, such as a repetitions of rotations of the arms, see ¶[0177]; Figs. 8 and 11).
Regarding Claim 18, Sillay in view of Mhajna teaches the apparatus of claim 12 as stated above. Sillay further teaches a clinical trial system comprising the apparatus according to claim 12 (see above claim 12 mapping),
the clinical trial system further comprising:
a central computer that communicates with a plurality of user devices, including the apparatus according to claim 12 (¶[0151]-[0152] the invention utilizes personal devices such as smart phones (FIG. 8) or other wearable computers (FIG. 105), which may contain data acquisition components such as gyroscopes, accelerometers… once the data are acquired, or intermittently as the data are acquired, the data can be transferred to a server computer),
each user device being arranged to collect motion data relating to repeated rotational motion of a body part of a user associated with the user device (¶[0164]-[0177] various sensors may be utilized for motion data capture on the body/limbs of the user, such as accelerometers and/or gyroscopes, such as a repetitions of rotations of the arms, see ¶[0177]; Figs. 8 and 11); and
wherein the central computer or at least one user device comprises a tangible non-transitory computer readable medium comprising computer implementable instructions for causing a programmable computer device (¶[0151]-[0152] and ¶[0158] a server including processors executing stored programs, which would be stored on memory, may be utilized to implement the functions of the disclosure)
to carry out a method of determining a medical biomarker indicative of a neurodegenerative disease or other disease impacting musculature control (see generally ¶[0177]-[0189] the various biomarkers that are extracted from the rotational motion data, such as determining the maximum rate of angular acceleration, degrees traveled per oscillation, peak angular velocity, hesitations, fatiguing, and amplitude of angular velocity used in the rating score, see ¶[0178] and Fig. 11).
Regarding Claim 20, Sillay in view of Mhajna teaches the method of claim 1 as stated above. Sillay further teaches extracting the biomarker further includes comparing the biomarker to thresholds derived from statistical analyses of the biomarker across a population (¶[0160]-[0163] and ¶[0177]-[0178] the processing of the data into aggregate data with which recorded data may be compared to).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sillay in view of Mhajna as applied to claim 1 above, and in view of Guzman et al. (US Patent 11,080,789 – cited in prior action), hereinafter Guzman.
Regarding Claim 19, Sillay in view of Mhajna teaches the method of claim 1 as stated above. Sillay further teaches that eigenvalue/eigenvector analysis deconstructions/decompositions may be utilized (see ¶[0184] and ¶[0188]), but not specifically that the biomarker includes an axial variability parameter, Vax.
Guzman teaches systems and methods for creating indicators to quantify and index correlation risk (see abstract), in which obtained data may be analyzed (see generally col. 8 ln. 54 – col. 9 ln. 65), in which principal component analysis (PCA) may be utilized as an eigenvalue decomposition, which includes the calculation of the highest eigenvalue, which tells the dimension (axis) that generates the maximum amount of individual variability (see col. 12 ln. 21 – col. 13 ln. 4, see also generally col. 13 ln. 5 – col. 15 ln. 34).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the PCA decomposition of Guzman as the deconstruction/decomposition in Sillay because (1) it is the application of a known technique to a known method ready for improvement to yield predictable results and/or (2) Sillay requires a deconstruction/decomposition and contemplates eigenvalue/eigenvector analysis deconstructions/decompositions, and Guzman teaches one such deconstruction.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, objections to the claims
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. 9, filed September 03, 2026, with respect to the objections of claims 1, 8-9, 12, and 15-16 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the objections have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, 35 U.S.C. § 112(b)
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. 9, filed September 03, 2026, with respect to the rejection of claim 18 under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) are made that were necessitated by Applicant’s amendment filed on September 03, 2026.
Applicant’s arguments, 35 U.S.C. § 101
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. 9, filed September 03, 2026, with respect to the rejection of claim 11 under 35 U.S.C. § 101 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. 10-15, filed September 03, 2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. § 101 have been fully considered and are NOT persuasive. Applicant argues, with regard to Step 2A, Prong One, that the “claims affirmatively require physical acquisition of rotational motion data using a sensor that is held or mounted for rotation with the user’s body part, and require transformation of sensor-frame motion data based on identified physical axes of rotation. Those limitations are not themselves observations or judgements performed in the human mind.” The examiner respectfully disagrees. In Step 2A, “Prong One asks does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon? In Prong One examiners evaluate whether the claim recites a judicial exception, i.e. whether a law of nature, natural phenomenon, or abstract idea is set forth or described in the claim.” See MPEP § 2106.04(II)(A)(1). The analysis under Step 2A, Prong One does not look to other elements, but rather, it looks to see if the claim recites any abstract ideas. As explained above, there are several recitations that are directed towards abstract ideas. For example in claim 1, the recitation “defining a threshold prominence value for identifying local maxima and minima in motion data acquired during performance of the model motion” is being interpreted as judgements and/or opinions (see specification pg. 20 ¶3-4). As such, the analysis must continuous in Step 2A, Prong Two. Therefore, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
Applicant argues, with regard to Step 2A, Prong Two, the sensors held or mounted for rotation with the body part integrate the abstract ideas into a practical application. The examiner respectfully disagrees. As explained above, the sensor is generic, and merely constitutes necessary data gathering at a high level of generality. In addition, such receiving of data can be seen as merely adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception, i.e., mere data gathering at a higher level of generality - see MPEP 2106.04(d) and MPEP 2106.05(g) using generic components (i.e., the sensors are generic). Therefore, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the transforming to align the motion data, and the identification of the local maxima and minima using a prominence threshold, each amount to a technical improvement. The examiner respectfully disagrees. Both improvements are themselves directed towards abstract ideas that merely amount to yielding more accurate results (i.e., a more accurate biomarker determination). An improved mental process is still a mental process even if such a mental process results in more accurate results.1,2 Also, having the claims focus on determining the biomarker is not itself limiting the claims to improving the technology because cases that involve practical, technological improvements extend beyond simply improving the accuracy of a value.3 See, e.g., McRO, Inc. v. Bandai Namco Games America Inc., 837 F.3d 1299, 1315 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (“The claimed process uses a combined order of specific rules that renders information into a specific format that is then used and applied to create desired results: a sequence of synchronized, animated characters.”); Finjan, Inc. v. Blue Coat Sys., Inc., 879 F.3d 1299, 1304 (Fed. Cir. 2018) (finding patent eligible a claim drawn to a behavior-based virus scan that protects against viruses that have been “cosmetically modified to avoid detection by code-matching virus scans”); Enfish, LLC v. Microsoft Corp., 822 F.3d 1327, 1330, 1333 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (discussing patent eligible claims directed to “an innovative logical model for a computer database” that included a self-referential table allowing for greater flexibility in configuring databases, faster searching, and more effective storage); CardioNet, LLC v. InfoBionic, Inc., 955 F.3d 1358, 1368 (Fed. Cir. 2020) (explaining that the claims at issue focus on a specific means for improving cardiac monitoring technology; they are not “directed to a result or effect that itself is the abstract idea and merely invoke generic processes and machinery” (quoting McRO, 837 F.3d at 1314)). Therefore, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that several authorities support eligibility of the amended claims. The examiner respectfully disagrees. With respect to Thales Visonix Inc. v. United States, the claims of the present application do not recite “an improved technique for measuring movement”; rather, the claims recite an improvement directed towards processing movement data. The sensors claimed are generic with conventional, not specific body placement as currently required in the claim. With respect to Diamond v. Diehr, the claim was considered as a whole, and “the claimed physical measurement sequence” is merely adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception, i.e., mere data gathering at a higher level of generality. With respect to McRO, Inc. v. Bandai Namco Games America Inc., the analysis was not oversimplified, and as explained above, only the elements for the generic computers and sensor were not directed towards abstract ideas. Therefore, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the present claims are distinguishable from Electric Power Group, LLC v. Alstom S.A. because the amended claims “recite the technical means by which the physical motion is acquired and converted into a useful measurement”. The examiner respectfully disagrees. Other than the generic computers and sensor measurement, the other data processing steps are themselves directed towards the judicial exceptions, and therefore cannot integrate the abstract ideas into a practical application. As the data gathering is mere data gathering at a higher level of generality necessary for performance of the abstract ideas, it cannot be integration from a practical application. Therefore, the amended claims cannot be seen as materially different from Electric Power Group, LLC v. Alstom S.A., and Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that when the claim is evaluated as a whole, “the sensor is integral to the reference-frame measurement problem and the claimed processing uses its data to produce aligned physical-motion measurements and prominence-qualified rotational events”. The examiner respectfully disagrees. As explained above, the sensor is generic, and merely constitutes necessary data gathering at a high level of generality. In addition, such receiving of data can be seen as merely adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception, i.e., mere data gathering at a higher level of generality - see MPEP 2106.04(d) and MPEP 2106.05(g) using generic components (i.e., the sensors are generic). Therefore, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that, with respect to Step 2B, the specific ordered combination of steps amount to significantly more than the recited exceptions. The examiner respectfully disagrees. As explained above, the claims recite additional elements which are directed towards the usage of a generic computer, and are at best the equivalent of merely adding the words “apply it” to the judicial exceptions. Mere instructions to apply an exception cannot provide an inventive concept. These elements/steps can be seen as well-understood, routine, and conventional individually and in combination. Claim 12 recites the additional element of an apparatus including one or more processors and memory, which is directed towards a generic computer. Thus, the apparatus/method do not qualify as significantly more because these limitations are simply appending well-understood, routine and conventional activities previously known in the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception, e.g., a claim to an abstract idea requiring no more than a generic computer to perform generic computer functions that are well-understood, routine and conventional activities previously known in the industry (see Electric Power Group, 830 F.3d 1350 (Fed. Cir. 2016); Alice Corp. v. CLS Bank Int’l, 110 USPQ2d 1976 (2014)) and/or a claim to an abstract idea requiring no more than being stored on a computer readable medium which is a well-understood, routine and conventional activity previously known in the industry (see Electric Power Group, 830 F.3d 1350 (Fed. Cir. 2016); Alice Corp. v. CLS Bank Int’l, 110 USPQ2d 1976 (2014); SAP Am. v. InvestPic, 890 F.3d 1016 (Fed. Circ. 2018)).
Claims 1 and 12 both recite a sensor to acquire motion data. The sensor is generic, and is well-understood, routine, and conventional. For example, the specification of the present application details that such sensors (i.e., an accelerometer and/or gyroscope) are “are commonly and readily available today. For example, most modern mobile telephones are supplied with accelerometers and/or gyroscopes integral to the telephone” (see specification pg. 1 ¶3-5). Furthermore, Sillay et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2014/0257047 – cited in prior action) teaches about an objective measurement medical data collection device for population health measurements within the restorative neurosciences such as Parkinson disease individuals diagnosed with disease, in which the data collection device may comprise one or more of a gyroscope, an accelerometer, a locator, a camera and a magnetometer for collecting, for example, data related to tremors experienced by the individuals diagnosed with disease and receive instruction data responsive to evaluation of the collected data in relation to the cohort database (see abstract and Fig. 8), in which accelerometers and gyroscopes are known components on commercial products, such as an Apple® wireless telecommunication device (see ¶[0004] and ¶[0165]), an Android® device, or an APDM wearable inertial monitoring device (see ¶[0165]). Therefore, the sensor does not amount to significantly more.
Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination (that is, as a whole) adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taking individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer, for example, or improves any other technology. There is no indication that the combination of elements permits automation of specific tasks that previously could not be automated. There is no indication that the combination of elements includes a particular solution to a computer-based problem or a particular way to achieve a desired computer-based outcome. Rather, the collective functions of the claimed invention merely provide conventional computer implementation, i.e., the computer is simply a tool to perform the process. Therefore, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive and the rejections to the claims under 35 U.S.C. § 101 are maintained.
Applicant’s arguments, prior art
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. 15-17, filed September 03, 2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) and § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection are made in view of Mhajna (US Patent Application Publication 2021/0236046 – cited in prior action).
Applicant argues, with regard to Mhajna, that the addition of Mhajna does not teach the claim as presently amended. In response to Applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Therefore, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
Applicant argues, with regard to claim 19, that Guzman does not teach the claimed Vax parameter, nor is there sufficient rationale for “why a skilled artisan would calculate that particular normalized relationship as a biomarker from the rotational-motion data”. The examiner respectfully disagrees. From the specification of the present application Vax as based on the max axial variability (see specification pg. 21 ¶4 – pg. 22 ¶1), which corresponds to the parameter as determined in Guzman. Guzman teaches systems and methods for creating indicators to quantify and index correlation risk (see abstract), in which obtained data may be analyzed (see generally col. 8 ln. 54 – col. 9 ln. 65), in which principal component analysis (PCA) may be utilized as an eigenvalue decomposition, which includes the calculation of the highest eigenvalue, which tells the dimension (axis) that generates the maximum amount of individual variability (see col. 12 ln. 21 – col. 13 ln. 4, see also generally col. 13 ln. 5 – col. 15 ln. 34).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the PCA decomposition of Guzman as the deconstruction/decomposition in Sillay because (1) it is the application of a known technique to a known method ready for improvement to yield predictable results and/or (2) Sillay requires a deconstruction/decomposition and contemplates eigenvalue/eigenvector analysis deconstructions/decompositions, and Guzman teaches one such deconstruction. Therefore, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.D.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/JENNIFER ROBERTSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3791
1 “[T]he improvement in computational accuracy alleged here does not qualify as an improvement to a technological
process; rather, it is merely an enhancement to the abstract mathematical calculation of haplotype phase itself...The
different use of a mathematical calculation, even one that yields different or better results, does not render patent
eligible subject matter.” In re Board of Trustees of Leland Stanford Junior University, 991 F.3d 1245 (Fed. Cir.
2021).
2 “[A] claim for a new abstract idea is still an abstract idea.” Synopsys, Inc. v. Mentor Graphics Corp, 839 F.3d 1138
(Fec. Cir. 2016).
3 See In re Board of Trustees of Leland Stanford Junior University, 991 F.3d 1245 (Fed. Cir. 2021).