DETAILED ACTION
Examiner acknowledges receipt of amendment to application 18/736,719 filed on July 3, 2025. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are still pending, with claims 1, 10 and 16-17 being currently amended.
Status of Objections and Non-Prior Art Rejections
I. 35 USC § 112 Rejections
Applicant’s amendments to claim 16 are accepted. The 112(b) rejection of claim 16 is therefore withdrawn.
II. Double Patenting Rejections
The double patenting rejections of claims 1-20 still apply and are updated below.
Response to Arguments
On pages 11-12 of the remarks filed July 3, 2025, Applicant argues:
Cutting discloses a modular solar power system designed to be assembled without instructions and resistant to destruction:
The system can include a solar array assembly, a solar control panel assembly, a system base, and a plurality of batteries in destruction resistant boxes, which can be all connected together and modularized such that an individual can assemble the system without any printed instructions, or if unable to read or understand the printed instructions. Cutting, Col. 2, lines 6-12.
However, Cutting does not teach or suggest any capability for modules to be movable relative to each other to adjust angles once connected. Feldmann discloses flexible cables and connectors for solar panel installations: "Electrical connectors, electrical routing structures and related PV assemblies for interconnecting several PV modules to form PV arrays are also described herein." Feldmann et al., paragraph [0037]. However, Feldmann's flexible cables are disclosed specifically for installation convenience and cable management in locations with limited accessibility, not for enabling dynamic angle adjustment between connected modules during use.
The claimed movability feature serves the specific purpose of allowing modules to be arranged in different shapes based, for example, on space limitations and sunlight access where straight line arrangements may be impractical or impossible. This functionality is not contemplated by either Cutting or Feldmann.
Moreover, Applicant contends that one having ordinary skill in the art would not modify Cutting in the manner suggested by the Examiner due to the inherent design philosophy and intended use of the Cutting system. Cutting's system is designed to be robust and destruction- resistant, with a focus on ease of assembly without instructions, as noted in Cutting, paragraph [0023]. This design philosophy emphasizes durability and simplicity, which may not align with the additional complexity introduced by incorporating movable modules that require precise alignment and flexible connections. The introduction of such features could compromise the system's robustness and ease of use, which are core attributes of Cutting's design. For example, Cutting's frame system includes components such as a mounting backbone, ribs, and a mast, which are intended to securely hold the solar panels in place. The frame system's rigidity and emphasis on secure attachment suggest that it is not intended to allow for flexibility or movement of adjacent panels. The use of fixed mounting components, such as ribs and a backbone, inherently restricts the ability of the panels to move relative to one another. This is further supported by the fact that the system is described as being modularized for ease of assembly without instructions, indicating a preference for a straightforward, fixed configuration that minimizes the potential for user error or misalignment. Therefore, one skilled in the art would likely avoid modifications that could undermine these fundamental characteristics.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Examiner notes that Cutting explicitly indicates that the solar array should be designed to have “flexibility” (col. 11, lines 16-20). Examiner disagrees with Applicant’s assertion that adding such flexibility would go against the “fundamental characteristics” of Cutting. Adding such flexibility would just allow for the system of Cutting to make adjustments to angles when the system is deployed. Cutting further already discloses the that the panels are mounted for “slidably” engaging the mounting ribs (column 11, lines 5-20).
With respect to Applicant’s arguments re: Feldmann, Examiner respectfully disagrees. Examiner notes that the use of flexible jumper cables would allow adjustment of angles prior to use or while use, for the same reason that a flexible cable allows you to pick up your smart phone while it is charging.
Thus, in response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). In this case, it is the combination of Feldmann and Cutting rather than either reference separately which teaches the claimed invention.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,040,742. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,040,742 anticipate the limitations of instant claims 1-20, literally or in what amounts to a rewording.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Instant Claims
U.S. Patent No. 12,040,742
1. (Currently Amended) A scalable solar module array comprising:
a first module electrically coupled to a second module, wherein the first and second module each include:
a solar panel to collect solar radiation; and one or more receptacles located on the solar panel,
wherein the one or more receptacles are configured to accept a charging cable for an electronic device;
wherein the first and second modules are electrically coupled through a cable,
the cable being connected to a receptacle of the first module and a receptacle of the second module;
wherein, when the cable is physically connected to the first module and the second module, the first module is movable with respect to the second module to adjust an angle between the first module and the second module.
1. A scalable solar module array comprising:
a first module electrically coupled to a second module, wherein the first and second module each include:
a solar panel to collect solar radiation; one or more receptacles located on the solar panel,
wherein at least one receptacle is located on a first side of the solar panel and at least one receptacle is located on a second side that is orthogonal to the first side, the one or more receptacles are configured to accept a charging cable for an electronic device; and a mounting member that moves with the solar panel as the first module or the second module is moved to arrange the scalable solar module array into a desired orientation; wherein the first module and second module are electrically coupled through a cable that is detachable and flexible to allow an electrical connection between the first module and the second module in the desired orientation, the cable being connected to a receptacle of the first module and a receptacle of the second module; wherein, when the cable is physically connected to the first module and the second module, the first module is movable with respect to the second module to adjust an angle between the first module and the second module, and as a function of a movability of the first module with respect to the second module, an orientation between the first module and the second module changes depending on a shape of a surface when the scalable solar array is placed into contact with the surface.
Claim 2
Claim 2
Claim 3
Claim 3
Claim 4
Claim 4
Claim 5
Claim 5
Claim 6
Claim 6
Claim 7
Claim 7
Claim 8
Claim 8
Claim 9
Claim 1
10. (Currently Amended) A solar array comprising:
a first solar panel, the first solar panel having one or more photovoltaic cells on a first side and a mounting member on a second side, wherein the first solar panel includes a plurality of receptacles configured for establishing an electrical connection with an electronic device;
a second solar panel, the second solar panel having one or more photovoltaic cells on a first side and a mounting member on a second side, wherein the second solar panel includes a plurality of receptacles configured for establishing an electrical connection with an electronic device;
a cable for supporting the flow of current;
wherein the cable is plugged in to a receptacle of the first solar panel and
a receptacle of the second solar panel such that electrical energy produced by one solar panel can flow to the other solar panel such that the flow of current from the first and second solar panels is combined;
wherein, when the electronic device is connected to the solar array and the cable is physically connected to the first solar panel and the second solar panel, the first solar panel is movable with respect to the second solar panel to adjust an angle between the first solar panel and the second solar panel.
10. A solar array configured to be arranged in a plurality of shapes, comprising:
a first solar panel, the first solar panel having one or more photovoltaic cells on a first side and a mounting member on a second side, wherein the first solar panel includes a plurality of receptacles configured for establishing an electrical connection with an electronic device;
a second solar panel, the second solar panel having one or more photovoltaic cells on a first side and a mounting member on a second side, wherein the second solar panel includes a plurality of receptacles configured for establishing an electrical connection with an electronic device;
a flexible cable for supporting a flow of current and for allowing the first solar panel and the second solar panel to be electrically connected when the solar array is arranged into the plurality of shapes;
wherein the flexible cable is plugged in to a receptacle on a first edge of the first solar panel and
a receptacle of the second solar panel such that electrical energy produced by one solar panel can flow to the other solar panel such that the flow of current from the first and second solar panels is combined;
wherein the electronic device is connectable to the solar array via a cable that plugs into a receptacle on a second edge of the first solar panel that is orthogonal to the first edge of the first solar panel; wherein, when the electronic device is connected to the solar array and the flexible cable is physically connected to the first solar panel and the second solar panel, the first solar panel is movable with respect to the second solar panel to adjust an angle between the first solar panel and the second solar panel, and as a function of a movability of the first solar panel with respect to the second solar panel, an orientation between the first solar panel and the second solar panel changes depending on a shape of a surface when the solar array is placed into contact with the surface.
Claim 12
Claim 12
Claim 13
Claim 13
Claim 14
Claim 14
Claim 15
Claim 15
Claim 16
Claim 11
17. (Currently Amended) A method of charging an electronic device comprising:
connecting a first solar panel to a second solar panel using a detachable cable at receptacles located on the first and second solar panels, wherein, when the electronic device is connected to the first solar panel or the second solar panel, and the detachable cable is physically connected to the first solar panel and the second solar panel, the first solar panel is movable with respect to the second solar panel to adjust an angle between the first solar panel and the second solar panel; collecting solar radiation with the first solar panel; collecting solar radiation with the second solar panel; transferring the flow of current from the second solar panel to the first solar panel using the detachable cable; combining the flow of current from the first and second solar panels; regulating the flow of current from the first and second solar panels through a charge controller; and transferring electrical energy produced by the first and second solar panels to an electronic device which is electrically coupled to the first solar panel.
17. A method of charging an electronic device comprising:
connecting a first module having a first solar panel to a second module having a second solar panel using a flexible cable that is connectable to any one receptacle of a plurality of receptacles located on all sides of the first solar panel and the second solar panel to form a solar array; for a first application, arranging the solar array into a first desired orientation by moving the first module with respect to the second module; and for a second application different than the first application, arranging the solar array into a second desired orientation by moving the first module with respect to the second module, wherein, in both the first desired orientation and the second orientation, a shape of the solar array conforms to a surface when the solar array is placed onto the surface; wherein the solar array is configured to: collect solar radiation with the first solar panel and the second solar panel; transfer the flow of current from the second solar panel to the first solar panel using the flexible cable; combine the flow of current from the first solar panel and the second solar panel; regulating the flow of current from the first solar panel and the second solar panel through a charge controller; and transferring electrical energy produced by the first solar panel and the second solar panel to the electronic device which is electrically coupled to either the first solar panel or the second solar panel.
Claim 18
Claim 18
Claim 19
Claim 19
Claim 20
Claim 20
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 16 recites “the solar array of claim 10, and as a function of a moveability of the first solar panel with respect to the second solar panel”. This is an incomplete sentence. It appears something was supposed to be recited before “and as a function of a moveability of the first solar panel”. Without this missing recitation it is not possible to interpret the claim. In cases like these, where there is a great deal of confusion and uncertainty as to the proper interpretation of the limitations of a claim, it would not be proper to reject such a claim on the basis of prior art, thus no prior art rejection for the aforementioned claim(s) is provided. See MPEP 2173.06.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 17-18 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cutting (U.S. 8046961), in view of Feldmann et al. US PGPUB 2017/0366136.
Regarding claim 1, Cutting (U.S. 8046961) teaches a scalable solar module array comprising:
a first module (118a, Fig. 8) electrically coupled to (col. 4, lines 46-48; col. 5, lines 49-52, solar panels connected in series or parallel configuration) a second module (118b, Fig. 8), wherein the first and second module each include: a solar panel (118a or 118b, Fig. 8) to collect solar radiation,
one or more receptacles (col. 4, line 62 through col. 5, line 10, two or more solar receptacles, plug connectors and power cable to connect solar control panel, as part of solar panel assembly, to power the load; col. 6, lines 14-16, solar module receptacles),
wherein the one or more receptacles are configured to accept a charging cable (col. 5, lines 46-48, 60-65) for an electronic device (col. 4, lines 35-42, 62 through col. 5, line 7, 49-67, electronic devices or loads can be plugged into plug connectors for being charged) a mounting member (ribs 99c+99d coupled to backbone 98 attached to mast 97, Fig. 8 and 10; col. 5, lines 56-57; in which first and second section of ribs 99c+99d attached to 118a and 118 respectively).
Cutting does not explicitly teach one or more receptacles located on the solar panel, wherein the first module and second module are electrically coupled through a cable, the cable being connected to a receptacle of the first module and a receptacle of the second module such that electrical energy produced by the first and second modules is combined, wherein the cable is flexible, and when the electronic device is connected to the solar array and the cable is physically connected to the first solar panel and the second solar panel, the first solar panel is movable with respect to the second solar panel while maintaining electrical coupling through the cable to adjust an angle between the first solar panel and the second solar panel.
However, Feldmann discloses a solar power modular system comprising one or more receptacles located on the solar panel, wherein the first module and second module are electrically coupled through a cable, the cable being connected to a receptacle of the first module and a receptacle of the second module such that electrical energy produced by the first and second modules is combined, wherein the cable is flexible, and when the electronic device is connected to the solar array and the cable is physically connected to the first solar panel and the second solar panel, the first solar panel is movable with respect to the second solar panel while maintaining electrical coupling through the cable to adjust an angle between the first solar panel and the second solar panel [figs. 11-12; jumper cable (cables are flexible) 350 connects a first panel with another panel (see fig. 16, a plurality of panels “modules” connected) via one or more receptacles 324 such that the output is combined in a serial or parallel fashion; par. 37-38, 65-66; if the cables are flexible they allow an angle to be adjusted while coupling is maintained].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cutting to further include one or more receptacles located on the solar panel, wherein the first module and second module are electrically coupled through a cable, the cable being connected to a receptacle of the first module and a receptacle of the second module such that electrical energy produced by the first and second modules is combined, wherein the cable is flexible, and when the electronic device is connected to the solar array and the cable is physically connected to the first solar panel and the second solar panel, the first solar panel is movable with respect to the second solar panel while maintaining electrical coupling through the cable to adjust an angle between the first solar panel and the second solar panel for the purpose of providing flexibility in the arrangement and interconnection of PV modules in an array, as taught by Feldmann (pars. 37-38).
Regarding claim 3, Cutting teaches the scalable solar module array of claim 1, in view of Philipp, further comprising a charge controller (col. 4, lines 31-40) electrically and mechanically coupled to the solar panel (118a or 118b, Fig. 8, that can be mechanically rotated, col. 8, lines 34-38, to collect energy to power load and to charge battery col. 1, lines 14-17), the charge controller (col. 4, lines 31-40) regulating the flow of current from the solar panel (col. 4, lines 44-48, 58-61).
Regarding claim 16, Feldman as applied in claim 10 discloses wherein as a function of a moveability of the first solar panel with respect to the second solar panel, the first solar panel and the second solar panel are configurable in different orientations based on space limitations and access to sunlight [figs. 11-12; jumper cable (cables are flexible) 350 connects a first panel with another panel (see fig. 16, a plurality of panels “modules” connected) via one or more receptacles 324 such that the output is combined in a serial or parallel fashion; par. 37-38, 65-66; [figs. 11-12; jumper cable (cables are flexible) 350 connects a first panel with another panel (see fig. 16, a plurality of panels “modules” connected) via one or more receptacles 324 such that the output is combined in a serial or parallel fashion; par. 37-38, 65-66; if the cables are flexible they allow an angle to be adjusted, including according to space limitations or angles of sunlight (par. 56, “Connecting or jumper cables can be flexible, semi-flexible or rigid. For example, cable 150 depicted in FIG. 7 is semi-flexible such that the conductor body 152 can be slightly bowed”)].
Regarding claim 17, Cutting (U.S. 8046961) a method of charging an electronic device comprising: connecting (col. 4, lines 46-48; col. 5, lines 49-52, solar panels in series or parallel configuration for more output power) a first module (of 118a, Fig. 8) having a first solar panel (118a, Fig. 8) to a second module (118b, Fig. 8) having a second solar panel (118b, Fig. 8);
collecting solar radiation with the first solar panel (118a, Fig. 8) and the second solar panel (118b, Fig. 8); transfer the flow of current (due to solar panels in series configuration for more output power col. 4, lines 46-48; col. 5, lines 49-52) from the second solar panel (118b, Fig. 8) to the first solar panel (118a, Fig. 8);
combining the flow of current (due to solar panels in parallel configuration for more output power col. 4, lines 46-48; col. 5, lines 49-52) from the first solar panel and second solar panel (118a, 118b, Fig. 8);
regulating the flow of current (col. 4, lines 44-48, 58-61) from the first and second solar panels (118a, 118b, Fig. 8) through a charge controller (col. 4, lines 31-40); and
transferring electrical energy (col. 4, lines 46-48, 60-65; col. 5, lines 49-52, solar panels in series or parallel configuration for more output power) produced by the first solar panel and second solar panel (118a, 118b, Fig. 8) to the electronic device which is electrically coupled to the first solar panel (col. 4, lines 35-42, 62 through col. 5, line 10, 49-67, electronic devices or loads can be plugged into plug connectors for being charged; col. 6, lines 14-16, solar module receptacles).
Cutting does not explicitly teach connecting a first module having a first solar panel to a second module having a second solar panel using a detachable cable at receptacles located on the first and second solar panels such that electrical energy produced by the first and second solar panel is combined, transferring the flow of current from the second solar panel to the first solar panel using the detachable cable, wherein, when the electronic device is connected to the solar array and the cable is physically connected to the first solar panel and the second solar panel, the first solar panel is movable with respect to the second solar panel to adjust an angle between the first solar panel and the second solar panel.
However, Feldmann discloses a solar power modular system comprising connecting a first module having a first solar panel to a second module having a second solar panel using a detachable cable at receptacles located on the first and second solar panels such that electrical energy produced by the first and second solar panel is combined, transferring the flow of current from the second solar panel to the first solar panel using the detachable cable, wherein, when the electronic device is connected to the solar array and the cable is physically connected to the first solar panel and the second solar panel, the first solar panel is movable with respect to the second solar panel to adjust an angle between the first solar panel and the second solar panel [figs. 11-12; jumper cable (cables are flexible) 350 connects a first panel with another panel (see fig. 16, a plurality of panels “modules” connected) via one or more receptacles 324 such that the output is combined in a serial or parallel fashion; par. 37-38, 65-66; if the cables are flexible they allow an angle to be adjusted while coupling is maintained].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cutting to further include connecting a first module having a first solar panel to a second module having a second solar panel using a detachable cable at receptacles located on the first and second solar panels such that electrical energy produced by the first and second solar panel is combined, transferring the flow of current from the second solar panel to the first solar panel using the detachable cable, wherein, when the electronic device is connected to the solar array and the cable is physically connected to the first solar panel and the second solar panel, the first solar panel is movable with respect to the second solar panel to adjust an angle between the first solar panel and the second solar panel for the purpose of providing flexibility in the arrangement and interconnection of PV modules in an array, as taught by Feldmann (pars. 37-38).
Regarding claim 18, Cutting discloses the method of claim 17, further comprising transferring electrical energy to a battery unit (col. 1, lines 14-17; col. 4, lines 50-53) that is electrically coupled to the first solar panel (118a or 118b, Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 19, Cutting does not explicitly disclose connecting a third solar panel to the first solar panel and second solar panel to increase an electrical output of the solar array using a second flexible cable.
However, Feldman as applied in claim 17 discloses connecting a third solar panel to the first solar panel and second solar panel to increase an electrical output of the solar array using a second flexible cable [figs. 11-12; jumper cable (cables are flexible) 350 connects a first panel with another panel (see fig. 16, a plurality of panels “modules” connected) via one or more receptacles 324; par. 37-38, 65-66; if the cables are flexible they allow an angle to be adjusted and the cables plug into ports and thus are detachable (fig. 11-13)].
Regarding claim 20, Cutting discloses the method of claim 17, wherein the solar array is further configured to transfer electrical energy produced by the first solar panel and second solar panel (118a and 118b, Fig. 8) to a second electronic device (col. 4, lines 35-42, 62 through col. 5, line 7, 49-67, electronic devices or loads can be plugged into plug connectors for being charged) which is coupled to the second solar panel (118a or 118b, Fig. 8).
Claims 10 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cutting (U.S. 8046961) in view of Feldmann et al. US PGPUB 2017/0366136.
Regarding claim 10, Cutting (U.S. 8046961) a solar array comprising:
a first solar panel (118a, Fig. 8), the first solar panel having one or more photovoltaic cells on a first side (upper side of 118a with photovoltaic cells, Fig. 8) and a mounting member (1st section of 99c + 99d coupled to 98 attached to 97, Fig. 8; col. 5, lines 56-57) on a second side (lower side of 118a, in which 97 attached to 98 and 1st section of 99c + 99d, Fig. 8), wherein the first solar panel (118a, Fig. 8) and a plurality of receptacles (col. 4, line 62 through col. 5, line 10, two or more solar receptacles, plug connectors and power cable to connect solar control panel, as part of solar panel assembly, to power the load; col. 6, lines 14-16, solar module receptacles) configured for establishing an electrical connection with an electronic device (col. 4, lines 35-42, 62 through col. 5, line 7, 49-67, electronic devices or loads can be plugged into plug connectors for being charged);
a second solar panel (118b, Fig. 8), the second solar panel having one or more photovoltaic cells on a first side (upper side of 118b with photovoltaic cells, Fig. 8) and a mounting member (2nd section of 99c + 99d coupled to 98 attached to 97, Fig. 8; col. 5, lines 56-57) on a second side (lower side of 118b, in which 97 attached to 98 and 1st section of 99c + 99d, Fig. 8), wherein the second solar panel (118b, Fig. 8) and a plurality of receptacles (col. 4, line 62 through col. 5, line 10, two or more solar receptacles, plug connectors and power cable to connect solar control panel, as part of solar panel assembly, to power the load; col. 6, lines 14-16, solar module receptacles) configured for establishing an electrical connection with an electronic device (col. 4, lines 35-42, 62 through col. 5, line 7, 49-67, electronic devices or loads can be plugged into plug connectors for being charged) (electrical energy produced by one solar panel can flow to the other solar panel such that the flow of current from the first and second solar panels is combined (col. 4, lines 46-48; col. 5, lines 49-52, solar panels in series or parallel configuration for more output power).
Cutting does not explicitly teach a cable for supporting the flow of current; wherein the cable is plugged in to a receptacle of the first solar panel and a receptacle of the second solar panel such that electrical energy produced by one solar panel can flow to the other solar panel such that the flow of current from the first and second solar panels is combined; wherein, when the electronic device is connected to the solar array and the cable is physically connected to the first solar panel and the second solar panel, the first solar panel is movable with respect to the second solar panel while maintaining electrical coupling through the cable to adjust an angle between the first solar panel and the second solar panel.
Cutting does not explicitly teach the first solar panel includes a plurality of receptacles or the second solar panel includes a plurality of receptacles.
However, Feldmann discloses a solar power modular system comprising one or more receptacles located on the solar panel, comprising a cable for supporting the flow of current; wherein the cable is plugged in to a receptacle of the first solar panel and a receptacle of the second solar panel such that electrical energy produced by one solar panel can flow to the other solar panel such that the flow of current from the first and second solar panels is combined; wherein, when the electronic device is connected to the solar array and the cable is physically connected to the first solar panel and the second solar panel, the first solar panel is movable with respect to the second solar panel to adjust an angle between the first solar panel and the second solar panel [figs. 11-12; jumper cable (cables are flexible) 350 connects a first panel with another panel (see fig. 16, a plurality of panels “modules” connected) via one or more receptacles 324; par. 37-38, 65-66; if the cables are flexible they allow an angle to be adjusted while coupling is maintained].
Feldmann further discloses the first solar panel includes a plurality of receptacles and the second solar panel includes a plurality of receptacles [figs. 11-12; each of the modules includes an electronic component with a plurality of ports 324; pars. 65-66].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cutting to further include a solar power modular system comprising one or more receptacles located on the solar panel, comprising a cable for supporting the flow of current; wherein the cable is plugged in to a receptacle of the first solar panel and a receptacle of the second solar panel such that electrical energy produced by one solar panel can flow to the other solar panel such that the flow of current from the first and second solar panels is combined; wherein, when the electronic device is connected to the solar array and the cable is physically connected to the first solar panel and the second solar panel, the first solar panel is movable with respect to the second solar panel to adjust an angle between the first solar panel and the second solar panel for the purpose of providing flexibility in the arrangement and interconnection of PV modules in an array, as taught by Feldmann (pars. 37-38).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cutting to further include wherein the electronic device is connectable to the solar array via a cable that plugs into a receptacle on a second edge of the first solar panel that is orthogonal to the first edge of the first solar panel and the first solar panel includes a plurality of receptacles and the second solar panel includes a plurality of receptacles for the purpose of providing flexibility in the arrangement and interconnection of PV modules in an array, as taught by Feldmann (pars. 37-38 & 45).
Regarding claim 13, Cutting teaches the solar array of claim 10, wherein the mounting member (mast 97 + backbone 98+ ribs 99c+99d, Fig. 8 and 10; col. 5, lines 56-57) is at least one of a strap (98, Fig. 8; mounting backbone; Cutting), a bracket (99c+99d, Fig. 8), a hook- and-loop fastener (99c+99d, Fig. 8; mounting ribs 99 slide through 98; Cutting).
Regarding claim 14, Cutting teaches the solar array of claim 10, a charge controller (col. 4, lines 31-40) electrically and mechanically coupled to the first solar panel (118a or 118b, Fig. 8, that can be mechanically rotated, col. 8, lines 34-38, to collect energy to power load and to charge battery col. 1, lines 14-17), the charge controller (col. 4, lines 31-40) regulating the flow of current (col. 4, lines 44-48, 58-61) from the first and second solar panels ((118a , 118b, Fig. 8).
Claims 2 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cutting (U.S. 8046961), in view of Feldmann et al. US PGPUB 2017/0366136, and further in view of Petrella (U.S. 2018/0366789).
Regarding claim 2, Cutting teaches the scalable solar module array of claim 1, in view of Feldmann.
The combination does not explicitly teach wherein the solar panel is foldable such that when a first sector of the solar panel is folded it faces a second sector of the solar panel.
Petrella teaches wherein the solar panel is foldable ([0027]) such that when a first sector of the solar panel (202, Fig. 4) is folded it faces a second sector of the solar panel (204, Fig. 4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the solar panel is foldable such that when a first sector of the solar panel is folded it faces a second sector of the solar panel of Petrella’s into Cutting’s, in view of Feldmann’s, in order to save space when not in use.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Cutting and Feldmann discloses the solar array of claim 10.
The combination does not explicitly teach wherein the first solar panel and the second solar panel are foldable.
Petrella teaches the solar panel is foldable ([0027]) such that when a first sector of the solar panel (202, Fig. 4) is folded it faces a second sector of the solar panel (204, Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Cutting and Feldmann to further include wherein the first solar panel and the second solar panel are foldable in order to save space when not in use.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cutting (U.S. 8046961), in view of Feldmann et al. US PGPUB 2017/0366136 and further in view of Ichikawa (U.S. 2012/0313567).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Cutting and Feldmann teaches the array of claim 1.
The combination does not explicitly teach wherein the first module is configured to accept a charging cable for a first electronic device and the second module is configured to accept a charging cable for a second electronic device.
Ichikawa (U.S. 2012/0313567) teaches in Fig. 1, the first module (14 of 12-1) is configured to accept a charging cable (between 14 and 30 via connectors of 12-1) fora first electronic device (30 of 12-1) and the second module (14 of 12-2) is configured to accept a charging cable (between 14 and 30 via connectors of 12-2) for a second electronic device (30 of 12-1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Cutting and Feldmann to further include wherein the first module is configured to accept a charging cable for a first electronic device and the second module is configured to accept a charging cable for a second electronic device for the purpose of providing a means for charging multiple devices concurrently, and since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to apply a known technique to a known device (method, or product) which was ready for improvement in order to yield results predictable by one of ordinary skill the art. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 127 S. Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Claims 4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cutting (U.S. 8046961), in view of Feldmann et al. US PGPUB 2017/0366136, and further in view of Bullivant (U.S. 2014/0061273).
Regarding claim 4, Cutting teaches the scalable solar module array of claim 3, in view of Feldmann, further comprising a battery unit (col. 4, lines 50-53) electrically coupled to the charge controller (col. 4, lines 31-40).
The combination does not explicitly teach the battery unit having a receptacle configured to establish an electrical connection with the electronic device.
Bullivant (U.S. 2014/0061273) teaches Fig. 5, the battery unit (70; [0040], line 5) having a receptacle (73) configured to establish an electrical connection with the electronic device ([0040], last 13 lines). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the battery unit having a receptacle configured to establish an electrical connection with the electronic device of Bullivant’s into Cutting’s, in view of Phillip’s, in order to provide an output connection to an external device.
Regarding claim 6, Cutting teaches the scalable solar module array of claim 1, in view of Philipp.
The combination does not explicitly teach wherein the electronic device is at least one of a computing device, a navigational device, or a communication device.
Bullivant (U.S. 2014/0061273) teaches the electronic device is at least one of a computing device, a navigational device, or a communication device ([0040], last 8 lines). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the electronic device is at least one of a computing device, a navigational device, or a communication device of Bullivant’s into Cutting’s, in view of Phillip’s, in order to identify the devices that can be charged based on the battery capacity ([0040], lines 5-14).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cutting (U.S. 8046961) in view of Feldmann et al. US PGPUB 2017/0366136 and further in view of Bullivant (U.S. 2014/0061273).
Regarding claim 15, Cutting discloses a battery unit (col. 4, lines 50-53) electrically coupled to the charge controller (col. 4, lines 31-40).
The combination of Cutting and Feldmann does not explicitly teach the battery unit having a receptacle configured to establish an electrical connection with the electronic device.
Bullivant (U.S. 2014/0061273) teaches Fig. 5, the battery unit (70; [0040], line 5) having a receptacle (73) configured to establish an electrical connection with the electronic device ([0040], last 13 lines). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the battery unit having a receptacle configured to establish an electrical connection with the electronic device of Bullivant’s into the combination of Cutting and Feldmann in order to provide an output connection to an external device, and since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to apply a known technique to a known device (method, or product) which was ready for improvement in order to yield results predictable by one of ordinary skill the art. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 127 S. Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cutting (U.S. 8046961), in view of Feldmann et al. US PGPUB 2017/0366136, and further in view of Thiel (U.S. 2017/0109978).
Regarding claim 5, Cutting teaches the scalable solar module array of claim 1, in view of Philipp, wherein the mounting member (mast 97 + backbone 98+ ribs 99c+99d, Fig. 8; Cutting) is a strap (99c+99d, Fig. 8; mounting ribs 99 slide through 98; Cutting) and a strip of hook-and-loop fastener (98, Fig. 8; mounting backbone; Cutting) such that the strip of hook-and-loop fastener (98, Fig. 8; mounting backbone; Cutting) wraps around the strap (99c+99d, Fig. 8; mounting ribs 99 slide through 98; Cutting) which the module (118a, 118b, Fig. 8) is mounted.
The combination of Cutting and Feldmann does not explicitly teach (the strip of hook-and-loop fastener wraps) around a surface to which the first module or the second module is mounted.
However, Thiel (U.S. 2017/0109978) teaches the strip of hook-and-loop fastener wraps around a surface to which the module is mounted ([0040], lines 3-6). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the strip of hook-and-loop fastener wraps around a surface to which the module is mounted for the purpose of providing an additional fastener means as a design option, and since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to apply a known technique to a known device (method, or product) which was ready for improvement in order to yield results predictable by one of ordinary skill the art. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 127 S. Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cutting (U.S. 8046961), in view of Feldmann et al. US PGPUB 2017/0366136, and further in view of Sant’ Anselmo (U.S. 2011/0049992).
Regarding claim 8, Cutting teaches the scalable solar module array of claim 1, in view of Philipp.
The combination does not explicitly teach (wherein the first module and the second module are) placed on a dashboard of a vehicle such that solar radiation passes through a window of the vehicle and is collected by the solar panels (of the first module and the second modules).
Sant’ Anselmo (U.S. 2011/0049992) teaches in Fig. 100A, the solar panels (10005) placed on a dashboard (10003) of a vehicle such that solar radiation passes through a window (10001) of the vehicle and is collected by the solar panels ([0801)). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the solar panels are placed on a dashboard of a vehicle such that solar radiation passes through a window of the vehicle and is collected by the solar panels of Sant’ Anselmo’s into Cutting’s, in view of Feldmann’s, in order to provide an additional mounting for vehicle application as a design option.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cutting (U.S. 8046961) in view of Feldmann et al. US PGPUB 2017/0366136 and further in view of Ramdeo (U.S. 2013/0076078).
Regarding claim 12, Cutting teaches the solar array of claim 10, in view of Feldmann. The combination does not explicitly teach wherein the electronic device is a navigation system of a vehicle.
Ramdeo (U.S. 2013/0076078) teaches the electronic device is a navigation system of a vehicle ([0005], lines 2-8). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the electronic device is a navigation system of a vehicle of Ramdeo’s into Cutting’s, in view of Feldmann’s, in order to provide solar power application for use in a vehicle as a design option, and since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to apply a known technique to a known device (method, or product) which was ready for improvement in order to yield results predictable by one of ordinary skill the art. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 127 S. Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Reichl et al. DE 102015001490 A1 discloses a flexible solar array which can be rolled up.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth