DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1, 4-5, 14, and 18 have been newly amended. Claims 2-3 have been newly canceled. Claims 1 and 4-20 remain pending in the present application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 20 February 2026 have been fully considered but they are partially persuasive.
Regarding claims 1, 14, and 18, Applicant argues that the previously applied prior art fails to teach at least the limitation of “wherein a rate of change of the final steering angle command is subjected to a speed-based limit.” The examiner agrees, however, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of Ditty (US 20190258251 A1). See the 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejection of claims 1, 14, and 18 below for further details.
Further regarding claims 1, 14, and 18, Applicant argues that the examiner engaged in improper hindsight reasoning in the previous rejections of claims 4 and 5. Specifically, Applicant asserts that the examiner engaged in improper hindsight reasoning by interpreting the Boos reference to cover both linear and non-linear ratios, specifically arguing that “[i]n rejecting Applicant’s claim 4, the examiner incorrectly asserts that ‘Boos further teaches wherein the first steering calibration map comprises a first non-linear relationship between the first input from the first analog stick and the first steering angle’, and states as follows: Examiner’s note: afunction [sic] of the ratio could be linear or non-linear (Office Action, page 8: first paragraph). Applicant traverses any rejection of claim 4 as being obvious over Ryan in view of Boos because the examiner has failed to set forth a prima facie case of obviousness. Specifically, the examiner has improperly employed hindsight bias to reach a determination of obviousness in view of the cited art [sic].” Applicant further asserts that “[t]he Examiner states that ‘a function of the ratio could be linear or non-linear’ … [h]owever, the word ‘could’ is speculative and fails to establish what Boos actually teaches. Under the law, a ‘[m]ere possibility of modification of the prior art is insufficient.’” The examiner disagrees for at least the following reasons.
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
Further, the examiner notes that the previous Examiner’s note was added to explain to Applicant the examiner’s interpretation of the Boos reference, rather than to put forward a proposed or possible combination. Specifically, the examiner asserts that the cited “function of a ratio” can be reasonably interpreted as any kind of function, linear or non-linear. As such, rather than proposing a possible combination, the examiner’s note merely explained the examiner’s interpretation of the reference, specifically explaining how the “function of a ratio” could be interpreted as being linear or non-linear.
Further still, the examiner asserts that even if, arguendo, the Boos reference could not be interpreted as covering both linear and non-linear relationships, to do so would have been obvious to try. Specifically, the examiner asserts that there would be both a design need (i.e., to map steering inputs to a steering output) and a finite number of predictable solutions (i.e., mapping the steering inputs linearly or non-linearly). The examiner further asserts that any functional relationship can be either linear (i.e., in the form of
y
=
m
x
+
b
) or non-linear (i.e., in any other form). Hence, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-5, 7-8, 14, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryan ("World-first gaming controller operated Nissan GT-R achieves 130+mph run around Silverstone"), hereafter Ryan, in view of Boos (US 20230356778 A1), hereafter Boos, and further in view of Ditty (US 20190258251 A1), hereafter Ditty.
Regarding claim 1, Ryan discloses a control system for a vehicle, the control system comprising:
A handheld console, a first controller, and a first subsystem controller (Page 1, Paragraphs 3-4, The GT-R /C is fitted with four robots that operate the steering, transmission, brakes and throttle. Six computers mounted in the rear of the car update the controls at up to 100 times a second. The unmodified DualShock®4 connects to a micro-computer that interprets the joystick and button signals and transmits them to the GT-R /C’s onboard systems. The wireless operation has a primary control range of one kilometer. Examiner's note: the examiner is interpreting the "DualShock 4" controller as the "handheld console," the "computers which communicate with the robots that operate the steering, transmission, brakes, and throttle" as the "subsystem controllers," and the unrecited but implicit control system of the DualShock controller as the "first controller");
The handheld console including first and second grip portions, first and second analog sticks, and a communication system (Page 1, Paragraphs 3-4, The GT-R /C is fitted with four robots that operate the steering, transmission, brakes and throttle. Six computers mounted in the rear of the car update the controls at up to 100 times a second. The unmodified DualShock®4 connects to a micro-computer that interprets the joystick and button signals and transmits them to the GT-R /C’s onboard systems. The wireless operation has a primary control range of one kilometer. Examiner's note: the DualShock controller shown has two analog sticks and two grip portions, see also Fig. 1 of Igarashi (US 9690392 B2), hereafter Igarashi, specifically elements 31, the analog sticks, and elements 10L and 10R, the left and right hold sections, respectively);
The first and second analog sticks in communication with the first controller (Page 1, Paragraphs 3-4, The GT-R /C is fitted with four robots that operate the steering, transmission, brakes and throttle. Six computers mounted in the rear of the car update the controls at up to 100 times a second. The unmodified DualShock®4 connects to a micro-computer that interprets the joystick and button signals and transmits them to the GT-R /C’s onboard systems. The wireless operation has a primary control range of one kilometer. Examiner's note: given the control system is an unmodified DualShock controller, both the first and second analog sticks would be in communication with the first controller);
The first subsystem controller operatively connected to an on-vehicle steering system (Page 1, Paragraphs 3-4, The GT-R /C is fitted with four robots that operate the steering, transmission, brakes and throttle. Six computers mounted in the rear of the car update the controls at up to 100 times a second. The unmodified DualShock®4 connects to a micro-computer that interprets the joystick and button signals and transmits them to the GT-R /C’s onboard systems. The wireless operation has a primary control range of one kilometer. Examiner's note: The examiner is interpreting the "six computers mounted in the rear of the car [which] update the controls…" generically as the "subsystem controllers," therefore whichever of the computers controls the "robot [which] operate[s] the steering" corresponds to the "first subsystem controller");
The first controller arranged to communicate with the first subsystem controller of the vehicle via the communication system (Page 1, Paragraphs 3-4, The GT-R /C is fitted with four robots that operate the steering, transmission, brakes and throttle. Six computers mounted in the rear of the car update the controls at up to 100 times a second. The unmodified DualShock®4 connects to a micro-computer that interprets the joystick and button signals and transmits them to the GT-R /C’s onboard systems. The wireless operation has a primary control range of one kilometer.); and
The first controller including a first control routine and a first steering calibration map (Page 1, Paragraph 4, The unmodified DualShock®4 connects to a micro-computer that interprets the joystick and button signals and transmits them to the GT-R /C’s onboard systems. The wireless operation has a primary control range of one kilometer. Examiner's note: the interpretation of button and joystick signals by the controller is shown by Car Throttle ("Driving A Nissan GT-R With A PlayStation Controller"), hereafter Car Throttle, from timestamp 3:51 to timestamp 4:08, wherein the vehicle is shown responding to three separate commands: a full right turn, a full left turn, and a slight right turn, and the examiner is interpreting the ability for the car to perform slight, i.e. partial, based on a partial movement of the analog stick, to correspond to the claimed first steering calibration map);
The first control routine including algorithmic code that is executable to:
Monitor a first input from the first analog stick, and determine a first steering angle based upon the first input and the first steering calibration map (Page 1, Paragraph 4, The unmodified DualShock®4 connects to a micro-computer that interprets the joystick and button signals and transmits them to the GT-R /C’s onboard systems. Examiner's note: the interpretation of button and joystick signals by the controller is shown by Car Throttle, from timestamp 3:51 to timestamp 4:08, wherein the vehicle is shown responding to three separate commands: a full right turn, a full left turn, and a slight right turn, and the examiner is interpreting the ability for the car to perform slight, i.e. partial, based on a partial movement of the analog stick, to correspond to the claimed first steering calibration map),
Determine a final steering angle command based upon the first steering angle (Page 1, Paragraph 4, The unmodified DualShock®4 connects to a micro-computer that interprets the joystick and button signals and transmits them to the GT-R /C’s onboard systems. Examiner's note: the interpretation of button and joystick signals by the controller is shown by Car Throttle, from timestamp 3:51 to timestamp 4:08, wherein the vehicle is shown responding to three separate commands: a full right turn, a full left turn, and a slight right turn),
Communicate, via the communication system, the final steering angle command to the first subsystem controller of the vehicle (Page 1, Paragraph 4, The unmodified DualShock®4 connects to a micro-computer that interprets the joystick and button signals and transmits them to the GT-R /C’s onboard systems. Examiner's note: the interpretation of button and joystick signals by the controller is shown by Car Throttle, from timestamp 3:51 to timestamp 4:08, wherein the vehicle is shown responding to three separate commands: a full right turn, a full left turn, and a slight right turn), and
Control, via the first subsystem controller, the steering system in response to the final steering angle command (Page 1, Paragraph 4, The unmodified DualShock®4 connects to a micro-computer that interprets the joystick and button signals and transmits them to the GT-R /C’s onboard systems. Examiner's note: the interpretation of button and joystick signals by the controller is shown by Car Throttle, from timestamp 3:51 to timestamp 4:08, wherein the vehicle is shown responding to three separate commands: a full right turn, a full left turn, and a slight right turn).
Ryan fails to explicitly disclose, however, a second steering calibration map;
Wherein the first steering calibration map comprises a first non-linear relationship between the first input from the first analog stick and the first steering angle;
Monitoring a second input from the second analog stick, and determining a second steering angle based upon the second input and the second steering calibration map, wherein the second steering calibration map comprises a second non-linear relationship between the second input from the second analog stick and the second steering angle; and
Determining a final steering angle command based upon the first steering angle and the second steering angle; wherein a rate of change of the final steering command is subjected to a speed-based limit.
Boos, however, in an analogous field of endeavor, does teach a second steering calibration map (0039, the adjustment device 108 is configured so as to determine the target steering torque of the second operating element 106 as a function of a second actual steering angle 216 of the second operating element);
Wherein the first steering calibration map comprises a first non-linear relationship between the first input from the first analog stick and the first steering angle (0096, in the weighted sum of steering angles, a first weighting of the actual steering angle 216 is determined, for example, as a function of the actual steering torque 212 of the first operating element 104. 0098, for example, the first weighting is determined as a function of a ratio of the amount of the actual steering torque 212 of the first operating element 104 to the first reference sum, Examiner's note: a function of the ratio could be linear or non-linear);
Monitoring a second input from the second analog stick, and determining a second steering angle based upon the second input and the second steering calibration map (0039, the adjustment device 108 is configured so as to determine the target steering torque of the second operating element 106 as a function of a second actual steering angle 216 of the second operating element), wherein the second steering calibration map comprises a second non-linear relationship between the second input from the second analog stick and the second steering angle (0099, in the weighted sum of steering angles, a second weighting of the second actual steering angle 218 is determined, for example, as a function of the actual steering torque 214 of the second operating element 106. 0101, for example, the second weighting is determined as a function of the ratio of the amount of actual steering torque 214 of the second operating element 106 to the second reference sum, Examiner's note: a function of the ratio could be linear or non-linear); and
Determining a final steering angle command based upon the first steering angle and the second steering angle (0044, The adjustment device 108 comprises a third computing device 30, which is configured so as to determine the target wheel steering angle 202 as a function of the target steering angle 226, the actual steering torque 212 of the first operating element 104, the actual steering torque 212 of the second operating element 106, the first actual steering angle 216, and the second actual steering angle 218.).
Ryan and Boos are analogous because they are in a similar field of endeavor, vehicle control systems. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified Ryan to have included the dual joystick control of Boos in order to provide a more accurate target steering angle. The motivation to combine is to increase the granularity by which a desired steering angle can be input.
The examiner notes that while the examiner asserts that the “function of the ratio could be interpreted as linear or non-linear,” due to the fact that a function can either be linear (i.e., of the form
y
=
m
x
+
b
) or non-linear (i.e., of any other form), the examiner further asserts that even if, arguendo, Boos could not be interpreted to cover both linear and non-linear functions, to have made the relationship non-linear would be an obvious matter of routine optimization. Specifically, the examiner asserts that there would be both a design need (i.e., to map steering inputs to a steering output) and a finite number of predictable solutions (i.e., mapping the steering inputs linearly or non-linearly).
The combination of Ryan and Boos fails to explicitly teach, however, wherein a rate of change of the final steering angle command is subjected to a speed-based limit.
Ditty, however, in an analogous field of endeavor, does teach wherein a rate of change of the final steering angle command is subjected to a speed-based limit (0661, Embodiments can also use model predictive control. In such a controller 3005, Euler forward integration (or any form of forward integration) of the differential equations that model the vehicle motion can be employed. Discrepancies can then be measured at multiple points in the future and balanced by some goal function. The modeling of the vehicle motion can include wheel slip and anything useful for accurate path reproduction. For longitudinal control, some embodiments use a standard PID controller with lookup tables based on the relative distance, relative velocity and ego-velocity. Comfort limits are put on acceleration (such as 5 m/ŝ2) and jerk. Similarly, speed dependent limits are put on steering angle and steering angle rate.).
Ryan, Boos, and Ditty are analogous because they are in a similar field of endeavor, e.g., vehicle control systems. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have included the steering rate limitation of Ditty in order to provide a means of ensuring the safety and comfort of the vehicle. The motivation to combine is to ensure that a steering command does not cause the vehicle to move unsafely or in a manner that would be uncomfortable to occupants.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Ryan, Boos, and Ditty teaches the control system of claim 1, and Boos further teaches wherein the first non-linear relationship is equivalent to the second non-linear relationship (0095, the target wheel steering angle 202 can also have a constant weighting, for example 50% each of the actual steering angles 216, 218).
Ryan, Boos, and Ditty are analogous because they are in a similar field of endeavor, e.g., vehicle control systems. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have included the analog stick relationships of Boos in order to provide a means of more accurately determining the desired steering angle. The motivation to combine is to ensure that the vehicle is controlled as closely as possible to the user’s desired control.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Ryan, Boos, and Ditty teaches the control system of claim 1, and Boos further teaches wherein the first non-linear relationship provides a coarse steering angle response, and wherein the second non-linear relationship provides a fine steering angle response (0095, The target wheel steering angle 202 is determined in one example as a function of the weighted sum of steering angles. Examiner's note: the examiner notes that in the case that one of the steering angle weightings is higher than the other, e.g., the first steering angle is weighted higher than the second steering angle, the first steering angle would provide a greater influence, i.e., a coarse control, while the second steering angle would provide a lesser influence, i.e., a fine control).
Ryan, Boos, and Ditty are analogous because they are in a similar field of endeavor, e.g., vehicle control systems. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have included the analog stick relationships of Boos in order to provide a means of more accurately determining the desired steering angle. The motivation to combine is to ensure that the vehicle is controlled as closely as possible to the user’s desired control.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Ryan, Boos, and Ditty teaches the control system of claim 1, and Ryan further teaches wherein a first default input from the first analog stick comprises a zero steering command (Page 1, Paragraph 4, The unmodified DualShock®4 connects to a micro-computer that interprets the joystick and
button signals and transmits them to the GT-R /C’s onboard systems. Examiner's note: the interpretation of button and joystick signals by the controller is shown by Car Throttle, from timestamp 3:51 to timestamp 4:08, wherein the vehicle is shown responding to three separate commands: a full right turn, a full left turn, and a slight right turn, wherein after the full right turn is performed, the analog stick is released, and the steering wheel moves back to center),
Ryan fails to teach, however, wherein a second default input from the second analog stick comprises a zero steering command.
Boos, however, in an analogous field of endeavor, does teach wherein a second default input from the second analog stick comprises a zero steering command (0064, the adjustment device 108 is configured so as to determine the target steering angle 226 as a function of a weighted sum of steering angles. The sum of steering angles comprises a first summand that is dependent on the first actual steering angle 216. The sum of steering angles comprises a second summand that is dependent on the second actual steering angle. Examiner's note: if the second actual steering angle is zero, then the second summand would similarly be zero, i.e., a zero steering command).
Ryan, Boos, and Ditty are analogous because they are in a similar field of endeavor, e.g., vehicle control systems. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have included the second default input of Boos in order to provide a means of ensuring the default behavior of the vehicle. The motivation to combine is to ensure that the default behavior of the vehicle sans steering input is known and predictable.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Ryan, Boos, and Ditty teaches the control system of claim 1, and Ryan further teaches it further comprising:
The handheld console including a first analog trigger and a second analog trigger, the first analog trigger and the second analog trigger being in communication with the first controller (Page 1, Paragraphs 3-4, The GT-R /C is fitted with four robots that operate the steering, transmission, brakes and throttle. Six computers mounted in the rear of the car update the controls at up to 100 times a second. The unmodified DualShock®4 connects to a micro-computer that interprets the joystick and button signals and transmits them to the GT-R /C’s onboard systems. The wireless operation has a primary control range of one kilometer. Examiner's note: the DualShock controller shown has two analog triggers see also Fig. 2 of Igarashi, specifically elements 16, the analog triggers);
The second subsystem controller operatively connected to an on-vehicle braking system (Page 1, Paragraphs 3-4, The GT-R /C is fitted with four robots that operate the steering, transmission, brakes and throttle. Six computers mounted in the rear of the car update the controls at up to 100 times a second. The unmodified DualShock®4 connects to a micro-computer that interprets the joystick and button signals and transmits them to the GT-R /C’s onboard systems. The wireless operation has a primary control range of one kilometer. Examiner's note: The examiner is interpreting the "six computers mounted in the rear of the car [which] update the controls…" generically as the "subsystem controllers," therefore whichever of the computers controls the "robot [which] operate[s] the brakes" corresponds to the "second subsystem controller");
A third subsystem controller operatively connected to an on-vehicle propulsion system (Page 1, Paragraphs 3-4, The GT-R /C is fitted with four robots that operate the steering, transmission, brakes and throttle. Six computers mounted in the rear of the car update the controls at up to 100 times a second. The unmodified DualShock®4 connects to a micro-computer that interprets the joystick and button signals and transmits them to the GT-R /C’s onboard systems. The wireless operation has a primary control range of one kilometer. Examiner's note: The examiner is interpreting the "six computers mounted in the rear of the car [which] update the controls…" generically as the "subsystem controllers," therefore whichever of the computers controls the "robot [which] operate[s] the propulsion" corresponds to the "third subsystem controller"); and
The first controller including a second control routine, a braking calibration map, and an acceleration calibration map (Page 1, Paragraph 4, The unmodified DualShock®4 connects to a micro-computer that interprets the joystick and button signals and transmits them to the GT-R /C’s onboard systems. The wireless operation has a primary control range of one kilometer. Examiner's note: the interpretation of button and joystick signals by the controller is shown by Car Throttle, from timestamp 4:12 to timestamp 4:40, wherein the vehicle is shown responding to a braking command by the left analog trigger and an acceleration command by the right trigger. See also timestamp 1:33 - timestamp 1:41, wherein the driver states: "so it’s a standard PS4 controller, so R2 is throttle, L2 to brake, and you can control, you know, the rate [of braking or throttle]. The examiner is interpreting the ability to control the rate of braking and throttle to correspond to the braking calibration map and acceleration calibration map, respectively);
The second control routine including algorithmic code that is executable to:
Monitor, via the first analog trigger, a third input; and determine a braking request based upon the third input and the braking calibration map (Page 1, Paragraph 4, The unmodified DualShock®4 connects to a micro-computer that interprets the joystick and button signals and transmits them to the GT-R /C’s onboard systems. The wireless operation has a primary control range of one kilometer. Examiner's note: the interpretation of button and joystick signals by the controller is shown by Car Throttle, from timestamp 4:12 to timestamp 4:40, wherein the vehicle is shown responding to a braking command by the left analog trigger and an acceleration command by the right trigger. See also timestamp 1:33 - timestamp 1:41, wherein the driver states: "so it’s a standard PS4 controller, so R2 is throttle, L2 to brake, and you can control, you know, the rate [of braking or throttle]. The examiner is interpreting the ability to control the rate of braking and throttle to correspond to the braking calibration map and acceleration calibration map, respectively),
Monitor, via the second analog trigger, a fourth input, and determine an acceleration request based upon the fourth input and the acceleration calibration map (Page 1, Paragraph 4, The unmodified DualShock®4 connects to a micro-computer that interprets the joystick and button signals and transmits them to the GT-R /C’s onboard systems. The wireless operation has a primary control range of one kilometer. Examiner's note: the interpretation of button and joystick signals by the controller is shown by Car Throttle, from timestamp 4:12 to timestamp 4:40, wherein the vehicle is shown responding to a braking command by the left analog trigger and an acceleration command by the right trigger. See also timestamp 1:33 - timestamp 1:41, wherein the driver states: "so it’s a standard PS4 controller, so R2 is throttle, L2 to brake, and you can control, you know, the rate [of braking or throttle]. The examiner is interpreting the ability to control the rate of braking and throttle to correspond to the braking calibration map and acceleration calibration map, respectively),
Determine a vehicle speed request based upon the braking request and the acceleration request (Page 1, Paragraph 4, The unmodified DualShock®4 connects to a micro-computer that interprets the joystick and button signals and transmits them to the GT-R /C’s onboard systems. The wireless operation has a primary control range of one kilometer. Examiner's note: the interpretation of button and joystick signals by the controller is shown by Car Throttle, from timestamp 4:12 to timestamp 4:40, wherein the vehicle is shown responding to a braking command by the left analog trigger and an acceleration command by the right trigger. See also timestamp 1:33 - timestamp 1:41, wherein the driver states: "so it’s a standard PS4 controller, so R2 is throttle, L2 to brake, and you can control, you know, the rate [of braking or throttle]. The examiner asserts that a person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that a combination of braking and throttle would determine the speed at which the vehicle moves),
Communicate, via the communication system, the vehicle speed request to the second subsystem controller and the third subsystem controller of the vehicle (Page 1, Paragraph 4, The unmodified DualShock®4 connects to a micro-computer that interprets the joystick and button signals and transmits them to the GT-R /C’s onboard systems. The wireless operation has a primary control range of one kilometer. Examiner's note: the interpretation of button and joystick signals by the controller is shown by Car Throttle, from timestamp 4:12 to timestamp 4:40, wherein the vehicle is shown responding to a braking command by the left analog trigger and an acceleration command by the right trigger. See also timestamp 1:33 - timestamp 1:41, wherein the driver states: "so it’s a standard PS4 controller, so R2 is throttle, L2 to brake, and you can control, you know, the rate [of braking or throttle].), and
Control, via the second and third subsystem controllers, the braking system and the propulsion system in response to the vehicle speed request (Page 1, Paragraph 4, The unmodified DualShock®4 connects to a micro-computer that interprets the joystick and button signals and transmits them to the GT-R /C’s onboard systems. The wireless operation has a primary control range of one kilometer. Examiner's note: the interpretation of button and joystick signals by the controller is shown by Car Throttle, from timestamp 4:12 to timestamp 4:40, wherein the vehicle is shown responding to a braking command by the left analog trigger and an acceleration command by the right trigger. See also timestamp 1:33 - timestamp 1:41, wherein the driver states: "so it’s a standard PS4 controller, so R2 is throttle, L2 to brake, and you can control, you know, the rate [of braking or throttle].).
Claim 19 is similar in scope to claim 8, and is similarly rejected.
Regarding claim 14, Ryan discloses a control system for a vehicle, the control system comprising:
A handheld console, a steering controller, a braking controller, and a propulsion controller (Page 1, Paragraphs 3-4, The GT-R /C is fitted with four robots that operate the steering, transmission, brakes and throttle. Six computers mounted in the rear of the car update the controls at up to 100 times a second. The unmodified DualShock®4 connects to a micro-computer that interprets the joystick and button signals and transmits them to the GT-R /C’s onboard systems. The wireless operation has a primary control range of one kilometer. Examiner's note: The examiner is interpreting the "six computers mounted in the rear of the car [which] update the controls…" generically as the "subsystem controllers," therefore whichever of the computers controls the steering, braking, and propulsion correspond to the respective steering, braking, and propulsion controller, the unrecited but implicit control system of the DualShock controller as the "first controller");
The handheld console including first and second analog sticks, first and second analog triggers, a first controller, and a communication system (Page 1, Paragraphs 3-4, The GT-R /C is fitted with four robots that operate the steering, transmission, brakes and throttle. Six computers mounted in the rear of the car update the controls at up to 100 times a second. The unmodified DualShock®4 connects to a micro-computer that interprets the joystick and button signals and transmits them to the GT-R /C’s onboard systems. The wireless operation has a primary control range of one kilometer. Examiner's note: the DualShock controller shown has two analog sticks and two analog triggers, see also Figs. 1 and 2 of Igarashi, specifically elements 31, the analog sticks, specifically elements 16, the analog triggers);
The first and second analog sticks in communication with the first controller (Page 1, Paragraphs 3-4, The GT-R /C is fitted with four robots that operate the steering, transmission, brakes and throttle. Six computers mounted in the rear of the car update the controls at up to 100 times a second. The unmodified DualShock®4 connects to a micro-computer that interprets the joystick and button signals and transmits them to the GT-R /C’s onboard systems. The wireless operation has a primary control range of one kilometer. Examiner's note: given the control system is an unmodified DualShock controller, both the first and second analog sticks would be in communication with the first controller);
The first and second triggers in communication with the first controller (Page 1, Paragraphs 3-4, The GT-R /C is fitted with four robots that operate the steering, transmission, brakes and throttle. Six computers mounted in the rear of the car update the controls at up to 100 times a second. The unmodified DualShock®4 connects to a micro-computer that interprets the joystick and button signals and transmits them to the GT-R /C’s onboard systems. The wireless operation has a primary control range of one kilometer. Examiner's note: given the control system is an unmodified DualShock controller, both the first and second analog trigger would be in communication with the first controller);
The first controller arranged to communicate with the steering controller, the braking controller, and the propulsion controller via the communication system (Page 1, Paragraphs 3-4, The GT-R /C is fitted with four robots that operate the steering, transmission, brakes and throttle. Six computers mounted in the rear of the car update the controls at up to 100 times a second. The unmodified DualShock®4 connects to a micro-computer that interprets the joystick and button signals and transmits them to the GT-R /C’s onboard systems. The wireless operation has a primary control range of one kilometer.); and
The first controller including a first control routine and a first steering calibration map (Page 1, Paragraph 4, The unmodified DualShock®4 connects to a micro-computer that interprets the joystick and button signals and transmits them to the GT-R /C’s onboard systems. Examiner's note: the interpretation of button and joystick signals by the controller is shown by Car Throttle, from timestamp 3:51 to timestamp 4:08, wherein the vehicle is shown responding to three separate commands: a full right turn, a full left turn, and a slight right turn)
The first control routine including algorithmic code that is executable to monitor a first input from the first analog stick and control a vehicle steering system via the steering controller based thereon (Page 1, Paragraph 4, The unmodified DualShock®4 connects to a micro-computer that interprets the joystick and button signals and transmits them to the GT-R /C’s onboard systems. Examiner's note: the interpretation of button and joystick signals by the controller is shown by Car Throttle, from timestamp 3:51 to timestamp 4:08, wherein the vehicle is shown responding to three separate commands: a full right turn, a full left turn, and a slight right turn);
The first controller including a second control routine, a braking calibration map, and a longitudinal acceleration calibration map (Page 1, Paragraph 4, The unmodified DualShock®4 connects to a micro-computer that interprets the joystick and button signals and transmits them to the GT-R /C’s onboard systems. The wireless operation has a primary control range of one kilometer. Examiner's note: the interpretation of button and joystick signals by the controller is shown by Car Throttle, from timestamp 4:12 to timestamp 4:40, wherein the vehicle is shown responding to a braking command by the left analog trigger and an acceleration command by the right trigger. See also timestamp 1:33 - timestamp 1:41, wherein the driver states: "so it’s a standard PS4 controller, so R2 is throttle, L2 to brake, and you can control, you know, the rate [of braking or throttle]. The examiner is interpreting the ability to control the rate of braking and throttle to correspond to the braking calibration map and acceleration calibration map, respectively); and
The second control routine including algorithmic code that is executable to monitor an input from the first analog trigger, monitor an input from the second analog trigger, and control vehicle braking via the braking controller and vehicle acceleration via the propulsion controller based thereon (Page 1, Paragraph 4, The unmodified DualShock®4 connects to a micro-computer that interprets the joystick and button signals and transmits them to the GT-R /C’s onboard systems. The wireless operation has a primary control range of one kilometer. Examiner's note: the interpretation of button and joystick signals by the controller is shown by Car Throttle, from timestamp 4:12 to timestamp 4:40, wherein the vehicle is shown responding to a braking command by the left analog trigger and an acceleration command by the right trigger. See also timestamp 1:33 - timestamp 1:41, wherein the driver states: "so it’s a standard PS4 controller, so R2 is throttle, L2 to brake, and you can control, you know, the rate [of braking or throttle].).
Ryan fails to explicitly disclose, however, a second steering calibration map;
Monitoring a second input from the second analog stick;
Determining a final steering angle command based upon first input from the first analog stick and the second input from the second analog stick, wherein a rate of change of the final steering angle command is subjected to a speed-based limit; and
Controlling the vehicle steering system via the steering controller based on both the first input from the first analog stick and the second input from the second analog stick.
Boos, however, in an analogous field of endeavor, does teach a second steering calibration map (0044, The adjustment device 108 comprises a third computing device 30, which is configured so as to determine the target wheel steering angle 202 as a function of the target steering angle 226, the actual steering torque 212 of the first operating element 104, the actual steering torque 212 of the second operating element 106, the first actual steering angle 216, and the second actual steering angle 218.);
Monitoring a second input from the second analog stick (0044, The adjustment device 108 comprises a third computing device 30, which is configured so as to determine the target wheel steering angle 202 as a function of the target steering angle 226, the actual steering torque 212 of the first operating element 104, the actual steering torque 212 of the second operating element 106, the first actual steering angle 216, and the second actual steering angle 218.);
Determining a final steering angle command based upon first input from the first analog stick and the second input from the second analog stick (0044, The adjustment device 108 comprises a third computing device 30, which is configured so as to determine the target wheel steering angle 202 as a function of the target steering angle 226, the actual steering torque 212 of the first operating element 104, the actual steering torque 212 of the second operating element 106, the first actual steering angle 216, and the second actual steering angle 218.); and
Controlling the vehicle steering system via the steering controller based on both the first input from the first analog stick and the second input from the second analog stick (0075, The adjustment device 108 is configured so as to adjust the wheel steering angle of the vehicle 100, in particular with the actuator 112, as a function of the target wheel steering angle 202.)
Ryan and Boos are analogous because they are in a similar field of endeavor, vehicle control systems. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified Ryan to have included the dual joystick control of Boos in order to provide a more accurate target steering angle. The motivation to combine is to increase the granularity by which a desired steering angle can be input.
The combination of Ryan and Boos fails to explicitly teach, however, wherein a rate of change of the final steering angle command is subjected to a speed-based limit.
Ditty, however, in an analogous field of endeavor, does teach wherein a rate of change of the final steering angle command is subjected to a speed-based limit (0661, Embodiments can also use model predictive control. In such a controller 3005, Euler forward integration (or any form of forward integration) of the differential equations that model the vehicle motion can be employed. Discrepancies can then be measured at multiple points in the future and balanced by some goal function. The modeling of the vehicle motion can include wheel slip and anything useful for accurate path reproduction. For longitudinal control, some embodiments use a standard PID controller with lookup tables based on the relative distance, relative velocity and ego-velocity. Comfort limits are put on acceleration (such as 5 m/ŝ2) and jerk. Similarly, speed dependent limits are put on steering angle and steering angle rate.).
Ryan, Boos, and Ditty are analogous because they are in a similar field of endeavor, e.g., vehicle control systems. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have included the steering rate limitation of Ditty in order to provide a means of ensuring the safety and comfort of the vehicle. The motivation to combine is to ensure that a steering command does not cause the vehicle to move unsafely or in a manner that would be uncomfortable to occupants.
Regarding claim 18, Ryan discloses a method for controlling a vehicle, the method comprising:
Arranging a handheld console including first and second analog sticks (Page 1, Paragraphs 3-4, The GT-R /C is fitted with four robots that operate the steering, transmission, brakes and throttle. Six computers mounted in the rear of the car update the controls at up to 100 times a second. The unmodified DualShock®4 connects to a micro-computer that interprets the joystick and button signals and transmits them to the GT-R /C’s onboard systems. The wireless operation has a primary control range of one kilometer. Examiner's note: the DualShock controller shown has two analog sticks and two grip portions, see also Fig. 1 of Igarashi (US 9690392 B2), hereafter Igarashi, specifically elements 31, the analog sticks, and elements 10L and 10R, the left and right hold sections, respectively);
Monitoring, via a controller, a first input from the first analog stick (Page 1, Paragraph 4, The unmodified DualShock®4 connects to a micro-computer that interprets the joystick and button signals and transmits them to the GT-R /C’s onboard systems. Examiner's note: the interpretation of button and joystick signals by the controller is shown by Car Throttle, from timestamp 3:51 to timestamp 4:08, wherein the vehicle is shown responding to three separate commands: a full right turn, a full left turn, and a slight right turn, and the examiner is interpreting the ability for the car to perform slight, i.e. partial, based on a partial movement of the analog stick, to correspond to the claimed first steering calibration map),
Determining, via a first steering calibration map, a first steering angle based upon the first input (Page 1, Paragraph 4, The unmodified DualShock®4 connects to a micro-computer that interprets the joystick and button signals and transmits them to the GT-R /C’s onboard systems. Examiner's note: the interpretation of button and joystick signals by the controller is shown by Car Throttle, from timestamp 3:51 to timestamp 4:08, wherein the vehicle is shown responding to three separate commands: a full right turn, a full left turn, and a slight right turn, and the examiner is interpreting the ability for the car to perform slight, i.e. partial, based on a partial movement of the analog stick, to correspond to the claimed first steering calibration map),);
Determine a final steering angle command based upon the first steering angle (Page 1, Paragraph 4, The unmodified DualShock®4 connects to a micro-computer that interprets the joystick and button signals and transmits them to the GT-R /C’s onboard systems. Examiner's note: the interpretation of button and joystick signals by the controller is shown by Car Throttle, from timestamp 3:51 to timestamp 4:08, wherein the vehicle is shown responding to three separate commands: a full right turn, a full left turn, and a slight right turn),
Communicating, via the communication system, the final steering angle command to the first subsystem controller of the vehicle (Page 1, Paragraph 4, The unmodified DualShock®4 connects to a micro-computer that interprets the joystick and button signals and transmits them to the GT-R /C’s onboard systems. Examiner's note: the interpretation of button and joystick signals by the controller is shown by Car Throttle, from timestamp 3:51 to timestamp 4:08, wherein the vehicle is shown responding to three separate commands: a full right turn, a full left turn, and a slight right turn), and
Controlling, via the first subsystem controller, the steering system in response to the final steering angle command (Page 1, Paragraph 4, The unmodified DualShock®4 connects to a micro-computer that interprets the joystick and button signals and transmits them to the GT-R /C’s onboard systems. Examiner's note: the interpretation of button and joystick signals by the controller is shown by Car Throttle, from timestamp 3:51 to timestamp 4:08, wherein the vehicle is shown responding to three separate commands: a full right turn, a full left turn, and a slight right turn).
Ryan fails to explicitly disclose, however:
Monitoring a second input from the second analog stick;
Determining a second steering angle based upon the second input and the second steering calibration map; and
Determining a final steering angle command based upon the first steering angle and the second steering angle; wherein a rate of change of the final steering command is subjected to a speed-based limit.
Boos, however, in an analogous field of endeavor, does teach:
Monitoring a second input from the second analog stick (0039, the adjustment device 108 is configured so as to determine the target steering torque of the second operating element 106 as a function of a second actual steering angle 216 of the second operating element),
Determining a second steering angle based upon the second input and the second steering calibration map (0039, the adjustment device 108 is configured so as to determine the target steering torque of the second operating element 106 as a function of a second actual steering angle 216 of the second operating element), and
Determining a final steering angle command based upon the first steering angle and the second steering angle (0044, The adjustment device 108 comprises a third computing device 30, which is configured so as to determine the target wheel steering angle 202 as a function of the target steering angle 226, the actual steering torque 212 of the first operating element 104, the actual steering torque 212 of the second operating element 106, the first actual steering angle 216, and the second actual steering angle 218.).
Ryan and Boos are analogous because they are in a similar field of endeavor, vehicle control systems. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified Ryan to have included the dual joystick control of Boos in order to provide a more accurate target steering angle. The motivation to combine is to increase the granularity by which a desired steering angle can be input.
The combination of Ryan and Boos fails to explicitly teach, however, wherein a rate of change of the final steering angle command is subjected to a speed-based limit.
Ditty, however, in an analogous field of endeavor, does teach wherein a rate of change of the final steering angle command is subjected to a speed-based limit (0661, Embodiments can also use model predictive control. In such a controller 3005, Euler forward integration (or any form of forward integration) of the differential equations that model the vehicle motion can be employed. Discrepancies can then be measured at multiple points in the future and balanced by some goal function. The modeling of the vehicle motion can include wheel slip and anything useful for accurate path reproduction. For longitudinal control, some embodiments use a standard PID controller with lookup tables based on the relative distance, relative velocity and ego-velocity. Comfort limits are put on acceleration (such as 5 m/ŝ2) and jerk. Similarly, speed dependent limits are put on steering angle and steering angle rate.).
Ryan, Boos, and Ditty are analogous because they are in a similar field of endeavor, e.g., vehicle control systems. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have included the steering rate limitation of Ditty in order to provide a means of ensuring the safety and comfort of the vehicle. The motivation to combine is to ensure that a steering command does not cause the vehicle to move unsafely or in a manner that would be uncomfortable to occupants.
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Ryan in view of Boos and Ditty.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Ryan, Boos, and Ditty teaches the control system of claim 8, but fails to explicitly teach wherein a second default input from the first analog trigger comprises a non-zero braking command.
The examiner asserts, however, that it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have made the default input from the first analog trigger be a non-zero braking command, as to do so would have been obvious to try. The examiner notes that there is both a design need (i.e., setting a default input) as well as a finite number of solutions (i.e., having the braking command be zero or non-zero).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Ryan, Boos, and Ditty teaches the control system of claim 8, but fails to explicitly teach wherein a third default input from the second analog trigger comprises a non-zero acceleration command.
The examiner asserts, however, that it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have made the default input from the second analog trigger be a non-zero acceleration command, as to do so would have been obvious to try. The examiner notes that there is both a design need (i.e., setting a default input) as well as a finite number of solutions (i.e., having the acceleration command be zero or non-zero).
Claims 6, 11, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryan in view of Boos and Ditty, and further in view of Ribigini (US 20230365188 A1), hereafter Ribigini.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Ryan, Boos, and Ditty teaches the control system of claim 1, and Boos teaches it further comprising:
Wherein, in a first mode, the first steering calibration map is equivalent to the second steering calibration map (0095, the target wheel steering angle 202 can also have a constant weighting, for example 50% each of the actual steering angles 216, 218); and
Wherein, in a second mode, the first steering calibration map differs from the second steering calibration map (0095, The target wheel steering angle 202 is determined in one example as a function of the sum of steering angles. The target wheel steering angle 202 is determined in one example as a function of the weighted sum of steering angles.).
Ryan, Boos, and Ditty are analogous because they are in a similar field of endeavor, e.g., vehicle control systems. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have included the differing steering angle weighting of Boos in order to provide a means of better determining the desired steering angle. The motivation to combine is to allow the user to choose the most proper steering angle weighting.
The combination of Ryan, Boos, and Ditty fails to explicitly teach, however, wherein the handheld console includes a first selector switch having a first state and a second state;
Ribigini, however, in an analogous field of endeavor, does teach wherein the handheld console includes a first selector switch having a first state and a second state, wherein the switch is operative to switch between steering angle control modes (0046, the two steering angle control modes can alternatively be enabled based on a bistable or monostable button).
Ryan, Boos, Ditty, and Ribigini are analogous because they are in a similar field of endeavor, e.g., vehicle control systems. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have included the button for switching between steering angle control modes of Ribigini in order to provide a means of allowing the user to change control modes when desired. The motivation to combine is to ensure that the user is able to control the vehicle more precisely.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Ryan, Boos, and Ditty teaches the control system of claim 8, and Ryan teaches it further comprising:
The handheld console including a first button and a second button (Page 1, Paragraph 4, The unmodified DualShock®4 connects to a micro-computer that interprets the joystick and button signals and transmits them to the GT-R /C’s onboard systems. The wireless operation has a primary control range of one kilometer. Examiner's note: the interpretation of button and joystick signals by the controller is shown by Car Throttle, from timestamp 4:42 to timestamp 5:01, wherein it is shown that by pressing the "up" button, the vehicle is shifted into gear, and by pressing the "down" button, the vehicle is shifted into reverse); and
A fourth subsystem controller operatively connected to a transmission range selector, the transmission range selector operative to control the vehicle in one of a forward direction or a reverse direction (Page 1, Paragraph 4, The unmodified DualShock®4 connects to a micro-computer that interprets the joystick and
button signals and transmits them to the GT-R /C’s onboard systems. The wireless operation has a primary control range of one kilometer. Examiner's note: the interpretation of button and joystick signals by the controller is shown by Car Throttle, from timestamp 4:42 to timestamp 5:01, wherein it is shown that by pressing the "up" button, the vehicle is shifted into gear, and by pressing the "down" button, the vehicle is shifted into reverse);
Wherein the fourth subsystem controller is operative to command the transmission range selector to operate the vehicle in the forward direction when the first button is pressed (Page 1, Paragraph 4, The unmodified DualShock®4 connects to a micro-computer that interprets the joystick and button signals and transmits them to the GT-R /C’s onboard systems. The wireless operation has a primary control range of one kilometer. Examiner's note: the interpretation of button and joystick signals by the controller is shown by Car Throttle, from timestamp 4:42 to timestamp 5:01, wherein it is shown that by pressing the "up" button, the vehicle is shifted into gear, and by pressing the "down" button, the vehicle is shifted into reverse); and
Wherein the fourth subsystem controller is operative to command the transmission range selector to operate the vehicle in the reverse direction when the second button is pressed (Page 1, Paragraph 4, The unmodified DualShock®4 connects to a micro-computer that interprets the joystick and button signals and transmits them to the GT-R /C’s onboard systems. The wireless operation has a primary control range of one kilometer. Examiner's note: the interpretation of button and joystick signals by the controller is shown by Car Throttle, from timestamp 4:42 to timestamp 5:01, wherein it is shown that by pressing the "up" button, the vehicle is shifted into gear, and by pressing the "down" button, the vehicle is shifted into reverse).
The combination of Ryan, Boos, and Ditty fails to teach, however, wherein the first and second buttons are the first and second positions of a first switch.
Ribigini, however, in an analogous field of endeavor, does teach wherein vehicle control modes are controlled by a first switch having a first state and a second state (0046, the two steering angle control modes can alternatively be enabled based on a bistable or monostable button)
Ryan, Boos, Ditty, and Ribigini are analogous because they are in a similar field of endeavor, e.g., vehicle control systems. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have included the button for switching between control modes of Ribigini in order to provide a means of allowing the user to change control modes when desired. The motivation to combine is to ensure that the user is able to control the vehicle more precisely.
Claim 17 is similar in scope to claim 11, and is similarly rejected.
Claims 12, 13, 15, 16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryan in view of Boos and Ditty, and further in view of Huang (US 20190302761 A1), hereafter Huang.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Ryan, Boos, and Ditty teaches the control system of claim 1, but fails to teach it further comprising the handheld console including a digital display screen arranged to display a representation of the vehicle in situ.
Huang, however, in an analogous field of endeavor, does teach a digital display screen arranged to display a representation of the vehicle in situ (0027, conventional systems that aim to provide some level of control of an autonomous vehicle and/or other object from a remote location may do so using an entirely two-dimensional (2D) visualization presented on a 2D display, such as a computer monitor or a television display. For example, one or more computer monitors may be used to display a video streamed from a camera of a vehicle).
Ryan, Boos, Ditty, and Huang are analogous because they are in a similar field of endeavor, e.g., vehicle control systems. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have included the display screen of Huang in order to provide a means of remotely viewing the vehicle while operating it. The motivation to combine is to allow a user to view the vehicle they are operating from a remote position.
Claim 15 is similar in scope to claim 12, and is similarly rejected.
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Ryan, Boos, and Ditty teaches the control system of claim 1, but fails to teach it further comprising a virtual reality headset arranged to display a representation of the vehicle in situ.
Huang, however, in an analogous field of endeavor, does teach a virtual reality headset arranged to display a representation of the vehicle in situ (0050, The virtual environment may be rendered and displayed on a display of the VR headset 116 of the remote operator. The virtual environment 156 may represent a virtual vehicle that may correspond to the vehicle 102, from a vantage point of the driver's seat).
Ryan, Boos, Ditty, and Huang are analogous because they are in a similar field of endeavor, e.g., vehicle control systems. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have included the display screen of Huang in order to provide a means of remotely viewing the vehicle while operating it. The motivation to combine is to allow a user to view the vehicle they are operating from a remote position.
Claims 16 and 20 are similar in scope to claim 13, and are similarly rejected.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BLAKE A WOOD/Examiner, Art Unit 3658