DETAILED ACTION
Summary
This action is a responsive to the application filed on 6/7/2024.
Claims 1-18 are pending and have been examined.
Claims 1-18 are rejected.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 6/7/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 9-12,14-15, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MARTIN (US 20240056437 A1) and further in view of SAITO (US 20180181352 A1).
As to claim 1, MARTIN teaches a printing system comprising an information processing apparatus, an image forming apparatus, and a server that provides a print service, the information processing apparatus comprising: one or more first controllers including one or more first processors and one or more first memories (See ¶ [0074], Teaches that FIG. 5 includes mobile device 502, which may be included in system 100. Mobile device 502 may communicate with authentication server 102, MFP 106, scanning device 114, and printing device 112. Mobile device 502 includes display 504. Display 504 may be a screen that receives input from the user of mobile device 502. For example, a graphical user interface (GUI) 505 may be implemented using display 504 to interact with the user. Mobile device 502 also may include application 520 used for authentication operations);
based on the information, which is obtained from the server in response to the request, display a screen that includes a print code (See ¶ [0091], Teaches that Step 714 executes by displaying the graphical code with session code 510 on mobile device 502.);
the image forming apparatus comprising: one or more second controllers including one or more second processors and one or more second memories (See ¶ [0050], Teaches that MFP 106 includes a system controller 405 that may control printing component 108, scanning component 110, and other components on the MFP. System controller 405 is connected to scanning component 110, printing component 108, and operation panel 204),
the one or more second controllers configured to: read the print code displayed on the information processing apparatus (See ¶¶ [0091]-[0092], Teaches that Step 714 executes by displaying the graphical code with session code 510 on mobile device 502. Alternatively, the graphical code may be displayed at MFP 106. Step 716 executes by scanning the graphical code using mobile device 502 to capture session code 510. Mobile device 502 may scan the graphical code using application 520. It may scan the graphical code as it is displayed on MFP 106. Step 718 executes by entering password 516 using GUI 505 at mobile device 502. After session code 510 is captured, application 520 may prompt GUI 505 to display a field to enter password 516. The user enters password 516 accordingly. Application 520 may pair password 516 and session code 510. Step 720 executes by sending password 516 and session code 510 to authentication server 102. In some embodiments, password 516 and session code 510 may be sent from MFP 106.);
based on the read print code, display a screen for inputting the verification identification number displayed on the display unit (See ¶¶ [0091]-[0092], Teaches that Step 714 executes by displaying the graphical code with session code 510 on mobile device 502. Alternatively, the graphical code may be displayed at MFP 106. Step 716 executes by scanning the graphical code using mobile device 502 to capture session code 510. Mobile device 502 may scan the graphical code using application 520. It may scan the graphical code as it is displayed on MFP 106. Step 718 executes by entering password 516 using GUI 505 at mobile device 502. After session code 510 is captured, application 520 may prompt GUI 505 to display a field to enter password 516. The user enters password 516 accordingly. Application 520 may pair password 516 and session code 510. Step 720 executes by sending password 516 and session code 510 to authentication server 102. In some embodiments, password 516 and session code 510 may be sent from MFP 106.);
transmit information included in the print code and the verification identification number inputted via the screen to the server (See ¶¶ [0091]-[0092], Teaches that Step 714 executes by displaying the graphical code with session code 510 on mobile device 502. Alternatively, the graphical code may be displayed at MFP 106. Step 716 executes by scanning the graphical code using mobile device 502 to capture session code 510. Mobile device 502 may scan the graphical code using application 520. It may scan the graphical code as it is displayed on MFP 106. Step 718 executes by entering password 516 using GUI 505 at mobile device 502. After session code 510 is captured, application 520 may prompt GUI 505 to display a field to enter password 516. The user enters password 516 accordingly. Application 520 may pair password 516 and session code 510. Step 720 executes by sending password 516 and session code 510 to authentication server 102. In some embodiments, password 516 and session code 510 may be sent from MFP 106.);
and the server comprising: one or more third controllers including one or more third processors and one or more third memories (See ¶ [0020], Teaches that Authentication server 102 also includes a processor 120 and a memory 122. Memory 122 may store instructions that, when executed by processor 120, configure authentication server 102 to perform certain functions),
the one or more third controllers configured to: in response to the request for the information for obtaining the print data, transmit the information for obtaining the print data to be printed to the information processing apparatus (See ¶ [0090], Teaches that Step 708 executes by creating unique session code 510. Session code 510 may be stored in session code database 508 with user identification 118. Step 710 executes by generating a graphical code, such as QR code 514, using QR code generator 512. QR code generator 512 also may be known as a graphical code generator. The graphical code includes session code 510. Thus, QR code 514 includes information to set forth session code 510 that is readable by a machine. Step 712 executes by forwarding the graphical code, or QR code 514, having session code 510 to mobile device 502, or, alternatively, to MFP 106.);
verify the verification identification number transmitted from the image forming apparatus (See ¶¶ [0092]-[0093], Teaches that Step 720 executes by sending password 516 and session code 510 to authentication server 102. In some embodiments, password 516 and session code 510 may be sent from MFP 106. Step 722 executes by authenticating password 516 to invoke a user session at mobile 502 or MFP 106. Authentication server 102 authenticates the user session at mobile device by confirming session code 510 and password 516 using user identification 118.).
However, it does not expressly teach the details of the one or more first controllers configured to: make a request to the server for information for obtaining print data to be printed; make a request to the server for a verification identification number of the print data to be printed; and display on a display unit the verification identification number obtained from the server; and in a case where the server successfully verifies the verification identification number, obtain the print data to be printed from the server and print the print data to be printed; in response to the request from the information processing apparatus, generate the verification identification number of the print data to be printed and return the verification identification number of the print data to be printed to the information processing apparatus; and upon successfully verifying the verification identification number, in response to a request from the image forming apparatus, perform control so as to transmit the print data to be printed to the image forming apparatus.
SAITO, from analogous art, teaches the one or more first controllers configured to: make a request to the server for information for obtaining print data to be printed (See ¶ [0053], Teaches that in M202 the user accesses the mediation server 10 through the portable terminal 80. When the user accesses the mediation server 10, in M204 the mediation server 10 extracts the device ID in the URL used for access and determines whether the device ID is registered on the mediation server 10. That is, the mediation server 10 determines whether the device ID in the URL is stored in the registered device information shown in FIG. 14.);
make a request to the server for a verification identification number of the print data to be printed; and display on a display unit the verification identification number obtained from the server (See ¶¶ [0061], [0063], [0064], Teaches that In M236 the portable terminal 80 transmits information for the print settings inputted into the print settings screen (hereinafter called “printing information”) to the mediation server 10. In this way, the portable terminal 80 transmits printing information to the mediation server 10 for configuration options supported by the image processing apparatus that will execute the printing process. In response to receiving this printing information, the mediation server 10 determines whether the selected image data must be converted to image data for printing that corresponds to the printing information. the file ID in the job information is updated to reflect the file ID corresponding to the converted selected image data. In M243 the mediation server 10 issues a PIN code (an example of the authentication information) and stores this PIN code in association with the printing information received in M236 and the job ID issued in M228 (and updated in M242) as the job information in FIG. 15. Thus, the job information stored in FIG. 15 correlates a device ID with a job ID, a file ID, a file format, a PIN code, and printing information. Here, the date and time at which the PIN code and the like are stored in M243 are also recorded in the job information as the recorded date and time. In response to receiving image data for a registration complete screen, in M246 the portable terminal 80 displays a registration complete screen 160 shown in FIG. 10 on the display panel 86. The registration complete screen 160 displayed on the display panel 86 includes the job ID and the PIN code. Accordingly, the user acquires the job ID and the PIN code and uses this data to print an image based on the selected image data.);
and in a case where the server successfully verifies the verification identification number, obtain the print data to be printed from the server and print the print data to be printed (See ¶ [0068], Teaches that In response to receiving the PIN code, in M329 the mediation server 10 determines whether to allow transmission of a print command to the MFP 50. Specifically, the mediation server 10 references the job information in FIG. 15 to determine in M329 whether the PIN code received from the MFP 50 matches the PIN code stored in association with the job ID received in M320. In other words, the mediation server 10 references the job information in FIG. 15 to identify the PIN code stored in association with the job ID that was received in M320, and determines whether the PIN code identified in this job information matches the PIN code received from the MFP 50.);
in response to the request from the information processing apparatus, generate the verification identification number of the print data to be printed and return the verification identification number of the print data to be printed to the information processing apparatus (See ¶¶ [0061], [0063], [0064], Teaches that In M236 the portable terminal 80 transmits information for the print settings inputted into the print settings screen (hereinafter called “printing information”) to the mediation server 10. In this way, the portable terminal 80 transmits printing information to the mediation server 10 for configuration options supported by the image processing apparatus that will execute the printing process. In response to receiving this printing information, the mediation server 10 determines whether the selected image data must be converted to image data for printing that corresponds to the printing information. the file ID in the job information is updated to reflect the file ID corresponding to the converted selected image data. In M243 the mediation server 10 issues a PIN code (an example of the authentication information) and stores this PIN code in association with the printing information received in M236 and the job ID issued in M228 (and updated in M242) as the job information in FIG. 15. Thus, the job information stored in FIG. 15 correlates a device ID with a job ID, a file ID, a file format, a PIN code, and printing information. Here, the date and time at which the PIN code and the like are stored in M243 are also recorded in the job information as the recorded date and time. In response to receiving image data for a registration complete screen, in M246 the portable terminal 80 displays a registration complete screen 160 shown in FIG. 10 on the display panel 86. The registration complete screen 160 displayed on the display panel 86 includes the job ID and the PIN code. Accordingly, the user acquires the job ID and the PIN code and uses this data to print an image based on the selected image data.);
and upon successfully verifying the verification identification number, in response to a request from the image forming apparatus, perform control so as to transmit the print data to be printed to the image forming apparatus (See ¶¶ [0068], [0071]-[0074] Teaches that In response to receiving the PIN code, in M329 the mediation server 10 determines whether to allow transmission of a print command to the MFP 50. Specifically, the mediation server 10 references the job information in FIG. 15 to determine in M329 whether the PIN code received from the MFP 50 matches the PIN code stored in association with the job ID received in M320. In other words, the mediation server 10 references the job information in FIG. 15 to identify the PIN code stored in association with the job ID that was received in M320, and determines whether the PIN code identified in this job information matches the PIN code received from the MFP 50. , the mediation server 10 determines that a print command may be transmitted to the MFP 50 (M329: transmission allowed) and in M331 transmits a print command to the MFP 50. Hence, the mediation server 10 determines that a print command may be transmitted to the MFP 50 (M329: transmission allowed) and transmits this print command to the MFP 50 only when the PIN code received from the MFP 50 matches the registered PIN code, the number of times an unregistered PIN code was inputted is within the preset number, and the PIN code was inputted within the preset time after the date and time that the selected image was registered. In this way, the mediation server 10 can suitably ensure confidentiality of the selected image. The mediation server 10 creates the print command to be transmitted to the MFP 50 on the basis of the file format and the print information stored in the job information in association with the job ID received in M320. Accordingly, the MFP 50 that receives this print command can execute a printing process conforming to the print settings inputted in M234 (see FIG. 5). In response to receiving the print command, in M332 the MFP 50 transmits an acquisition request for a download URL to the mediation server 10. In response to receiving this acquisition request for a download URL, the mediation server 10 identifies the file ID stored in the job information in association with the job ID received in M320 and creates a URL for allowing the MFP 50 to acquire the selected image data stored on the temporary storage server 30 in association with this file ID. In M334 the mediation server 10 transmits this URL to the MFP 50 as the download URL. In M336 the MFP 50 uses the download URL to access the temporary storage server 30 and transmits to the temporary storage server 30 an acquisition request for image data for printing. In response to this acquisition request, in M338 the temporary storage server 30 transmits either selected image data received in M224 (see FIG. 5) or selected image data converted according to a conversion command received in M238 (see FIG. 5) to the MFP 50 as image data for printing (an example of the target image data). In M340 the MFP 50 executes a printing process for printing an image based on the image data for printing received in M338 in accordance with the print command received in M331.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of SAITO into MARTIN in order to provide a technique for controlling an image processing apparatus to print an image based on image data stored on a terminal device without requiring the user of the terminal device to install a device driver for the image processing apparatus on the terminal device (See SAITO ¶ [0004]).
As to claim 2, the combination of MARTIN and SAITO teaches the system according to claim 1 above. However, it does not expressly teach the details of wherein the one or more first controllers display, in the screen that includes the print code, a button for instructing a request to the server for the verification identification number and, in response to a press of the button, make a request to the server for the verification identification number.
SAITO, from analogous art, teaches wherein the one or more first controllers display, in the screen that includes the print code, a button for instructing a request to the server for the verification identification number and, in response to a press of the button, make a request to the server for the verification identification number (See ¶ [0055], Teaches that the portable terminal 80 displays an upload screen 150, such as that shown in FIG. 9, on the display panel 86 based on the image data received from the mediation server 10. The upload screen 150 displayed on the display panel 86 includes a Select button 152, and a Send button 154. The Select button 152 is operated to select image data to be printed (or to be uploaded). By operating the Select button 152, the user can select any image data stored in the data storage area 98 of the portable terminal 80. After selecting image data, the user operates the Send button 154 in the upload screen 150 in M216, and in M218 the portable terminal 80 transmits the image data selected when the user operated the Select button 152 (hereinafter called the “selected image data”; an example of the original image data) to the mediation server 10.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of SAITO into the combination of MARTIN and SAITO in order to provide a technique for controlling an image processing apparatus to print an image based on image data stored on a terminal device without requiring the user of the terminal device to install a device driver for the image processing apparatus on the terminal device (See SAITO ¶ [0004]).
As to claim 3, the combination of MARTIN and SAITO teaches the system according to claim 1 above. However, it does not expressly teach the details of wherein the information for obtaining the print data to be printed includes information of a storage destination of the print data.
SAITO, from analogous art, teaches wherein the information for obtaining the print data to be printed includes information of a storage destination of the print data (See ¶ [0040], Teaches that the user accesses the management server 110 from the MFP 50 to acquire a prescribed Uniform Resource Locator (URL). Next, the user accesses the management server 110 from the portable terminal 80 using the acquired URL and uploads desired image data to the management server 110.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of SAITO into the combination of MARTIN and SAITO in order to provide a technique for controlling an image processing apparatus to print an image based on image data stored on a terminal device without requiring the user of the terminal device to install a device driver for the image processing apparatus on the terminal device (See SAITO ¶ [0004]).
As to claim 5, the combination of MARTIN and SAITO teaches the system according to claim 1 above. However, it does not expressly teach the details of wherein the verification identification number has an expiration date, and in a case where the expiration date of the verification identification number has passed, the one or more third controllers determine that verification of the verification identification number is unsuccessful.
SAITO, from analogous art, teaches wherein the verification identification number has an expiration date, and in a case where the expiration date of the verification identification number has passed, the one or more third controllers determine that verification of the verification identification number is unsuccessful (See ¶¶ [0070]-[0071], Teaches that if the PIN codes match and the incremented error count does not exceed the preset number, the mediation server 10 identifies the recorded date and time stored in the job information in association with the job ID received in M320 and calculates the amount of time that has elapsed since the recorded date and time. That is, the mediation server 10 calculates the elapsed time from the recorded date and time to the date and time at which the PIN code was received in M328. If the elapsed time exceeds a preset time, the mediation server 10 determines that a print command cannot be transmitted to the MFP 50 (M329: transmission not allowed) and in M330 deletes the job information associated with the job ID received in M320. However, if the elapsed time does not exceed the preset time, the mediation server 10 determines that a print command may be transmitted to the MFP 50 (M329: transmission allowed) and in M331 transmits a print command to the MFP 50. Hence, the mediation server 10 determines that a print command may be transmitted to the MFP 50 (M329: transmission allowed) and transmits this print command to the MFP 50 only when the PIN code received from the MFP 50 matches the registered PIN code, the number of times an unregistered PIN code was inputted is within the preset number, and the PIN code was inputted within the preset time after the date and time that the selected image was registered. In this way, the mediation server 10 can suitably ensure confidentiality of the selected image. The mediation server 10 creates the print command to be transmitted to the MFP 50 on the basis of the file format and the print information stored in the job information in association with the job ID received in M320. Accordingly, the MFP 50 that receives this print command can execute a printing process conforming to the print settings inputted in M234 (see FIG. 5)..).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of SAITO into the combination of MARTIN and SAITO in order to provide a technique for controlling an image processing apparatus to print an image based on image data stored on a terminal device without requiring the user of the terminal device to install a device driver for the image processing apparatus on the terminal device (See SAITO ¶ [0004]).
As to claim 6, the combination of MARTIN and SAITO teaches the system according to claim 1 above. However, it does not expressly teach the details of wherein the one or more third controllers further store information of a storage destination of the print data, the verification identification number, and an expiration date of the verification identification number in association with identification information of the print data.
SAITO, from analogous art, teaches wherein the one or more third controllers further store information of a storage destination of the print data, the verification identification number, and an expiration date of the verification identification number in association with identification information of the print data (See ¶¶ [0070], [0058], Fig. 15, Teaches that the mediation server 10 identifies the recorded date and time stored in the job information in association with the job ID received in M320 and calculates the amount of time that has elapsed since the recorded date and time. That is, the mediation server 10 calculates the elapsed time from the recorded date and time to the date and time at which the PIN code was received in M328. After storing the file ID and the selected image data in association with each other, in M226 the temporary storage server 30 transmits a registration complete notification to the mediation server 10. In M228 the mediation server 10 issues a job ID and stores this job ID in the data storage area 22 in association with the device ID used in M219, the file ID received in M223, and the file format of the selected image data, as shown in FIG. 15. Here, information correlating the job ID, the device ID, the file ID, and the file format will be called job information.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of SAITO into the combination of MARTIN and SAITO in order to provide a technique for controlling an image processing apparatus to print an image based on image data stored on a terminal device without requiring the user of the terminal device to install a device driver for the image processing apparatus on the terminal device (See SAITO ¶ [0004]).
As to claim 9, the combination of MARTIN and SAITO teaches the system according to claim 1 above. MARTIN further teaches wherein the print code is a one-dimensional or two-dimensional barcode (See ¶ [0078], Teaches that QR code 514 is sent to mobile device 502.).
As to claim 10, MARTIN teaches a method of controlling a printing system comprising an information processing apparatus, an image forming apparatus, and a server that provides a print service (See ¶ [0074], Teaches that FIG. 5 includes mobile device 502, which may be included in system 100. Mobile device 502 may communicate with authentication server 102, MFP 106, scanning device 114, and printing device 112. Mobile device 502 includes display 504. Display 504 may be a screen that receives input from the user of mobile device 502. For example, a graphical user interface (GUI) 505 may be implemented using display 504 to interact with the user. Mobile device 502 also may include application 520 used for authentication operations);
displaying, for the information processing apparatus, a screen that includes a print code based on the information, which is obtained from the server in response to the request (See ¶ [0091], Teaches that Step 714 executes by displaying the graphical code with session code 510 on mobile device 502.);
reading, for the image forming apparatus, the print code displayed on the information processing apparatus (See ¶¶ [0091]-[0092], Teaches that Step 714 executes by displaying the graphical code with session code 510 on mobile device 502. Alternatively, the graphical code may be displayed at MFP 106. Step 716 executes by scanning the graphical code using mobile device 502 to capture session code 510. Mobile device 502 may scan the graphical code using application 520. It may scan the graphical code as it is displayed on MFP 106. Step 718 executes by entering password 516 using GUI 505 at mobile device 502. After session code 510 is captured, application 520 may prompt GUI 505 to display a field to enter password 516. The user enters password 516 accordingly. Application 520 may pair password 516 and session code 510. Step 720 executes by sending password 516 and session code 510 to authentication server 102. In some embodiments, password 516 and session code 510 may be sent from MFP 106.);
displaying, for the image forming apparatus, a screen for inputting the verification identification number displayed on the display unit based on the read print code (See ¶¶ [0091]-[0092], Teaches that Step 714 executes by displaying the graphical code with session code 510 on mobile device 502. Alternatively, the graphical code may be displayed at MFP 106. Step 716 executes by scanning the graphical code using mobile device 502 to capture session code 510. Mobile device 502 may scan the graphical code using application 520. It may scan the graphical code as it is displayed on MFP 106. Step 718 executes by entering password 516 using GUI 505 at mobile device 502. After session code 510 is captured, application 520 may prompt GUI 505 to display a field to enter password 516. The user enters password 516 accordingly. Application 520 may pair password 516 and session code 510. Step 720 executes by sending password 516 and session code 510 to authentication server 102. In some embodiments, password 516 and session code 510 may be sent from MFP 106.);
transmitting, for the image forming apparatus, information included in the print code and the verification identification number inputted via the screen to the server (See ¶¶ [0091]-[0092], Teaches that Step 714 executes by displaying the graphical code with session code 510 on mobile device 502. Alternatively, the graphical code may be displayed at MFP 106. Step 716 executes by scanning the graphical code using mobile device 502 to capture session code 510. Mobile device 502 may scan the graphical code using application 520. It may scan the graphical code as it is displayed on MFP 106. Step 718 executes by entering password 516 using GUI 505 at mobile device 502. After session code 510 is captured, application 520 may prompt GUI 505 to display a field to enter password 516. The user enters password 516 accordingly. Application 520 may pair password 516 and session code 510. Step 720 executes by sending password 516 and session code 510 to authentication server 102. In some embodiments, password 516 and session code 510 may be sent from MFP 106.);
transmitting, for the server, the information for obtaining the print data to be printed to the information processing apparatus in response to the request for the information for obtaining the print data (See ¶ [0090], Teaches that Step 708 executes by creating unique session code 510. Session code 510 may be stored in session code database 508 with user identification 118. Step 710 executes by generating a graphical code, such as QR code 514, using QR code generator 512. QR code generator 512 also may be known as a graphical code generator. The graphical code includes session code 510. Thus, QR code 514 includes information to set forth session code 510 that is readable by a machine. Step 712 executes by forwarding the graphical code, or QR code 514, having session code 510 to mobile device 502, or, alternatively, to MFP 106.);
verifying, for the server, the verification identification number transmitted from the image forming apparatus (See ¶¶ [0092]-[0093], Teaches that Step 720 executes by sending password 516 and session code 510 to authentication server 102. In some embodiments, password 516 and session code 510 may be sent from MFP 106. Step 722 executes by authenticating password 516 to invoke a user session at mobile 502 or MFP 106. Authentication server 102 authenticates the user session at mobile device by confirming session code 510 and password 516 using user identification 118.).
However, it does not expressly teach the details of making, for the information processing apparatus, a request to the server for information for obtaining print data to be printed; making, for the information processing apparatus, a request to the server for a verification identification number of the print data to be printed; displaying, for the information processing apparatus, on a display unit the verification identification number obtained from the server; obtaining, for the image forming apparatus, the print data to be printed from the server and printing the print data to be printed in a case where the server successfully verifies the verification identification number; in response to the request from the information processing apparatus, generating, for the server, the verification identification number of the print data to be printed and return the verification identification number of the print data to be printed to the information processing apparatus; and upon successfully verifying the verification identification number, in response to a request from the image forming apparatus, performing, for the server, control so as to transmit the print data to be printed to the image forming apparatus.
SAITO, from analogous art, teaches making, for the information processing apparatus, a request to the server for information for obtaining print data to be printed (See ¶ [0053], Teaches that in M202 the user accesses the mediation server 10 through the portable terminal 80. When the user accesses the mediation server 10, in M204 the mediation server 10 extracts the device ID in the URL used for access and determines whether the device ID is registered on the mediation server 10. That is, the mediation server 10 determines whether the device ID in the URL is stored in the registered device information shown in FIG. 14.);
making, for the information processing apparatus, a request to the server for a verification identification number of the print data to be printed; displaying, for the information processing apparatus, on a display unit the verification identification number obtained from the server (See ¶¶ [0061], [0063], [0064], Teaches that In M236 the portable terminal 80 transmits information for the print settings inputted into the print settings screen (hereinafter called “printing information”) to the mediation server 10. In this way, the portable terminal 80 transmits printing information to the mediation server 10 for configuration options supported by the image processing apparatus that will execute the printing process. In response to receiving this printing information, the mediation server 10 determines whether the selected image data must be converted to image data for printing that corresponds to the printing information. the file ID in the job information is updated to reflect the file ID corresponding to the converted selected image data. In M243 the mediation server 10 issues a PIN code (an example of the authentication information) and stores this PIN code in association with the printing information received in M236 and the job ID issued in M228 (and updated in M242) as the job information in FIG. 15. Thus, the job information stored in FIG. 15 correlates a device ID with a job ID, a file ID, a file format, a PIN code, and printing information. Here, the date and time at which the PIN code and the like are stored in M243 are also recorded in the job information as the recorded date and time. In response to receiving image data for a registration complete screen, in M246 the portable terminal 80 displays a registration complete screen 160 shown in FIG. 10 on the display panel 86. The registration complete screen 160 displayed on the display panel 86 includes the job ID and the PIN code. Accordingly, the user acquires the job ID and the PIN code and uses this data to print an image based on the selected image data.);
obtaining, for the image forming apparatus, the print data to be printed from the server and printing the print data to be printed in a case where the server successfully verifies the verification identification number (See ¶ [0068], Teaches that In response to receiving the PIN code, in M329 the mediation server 10 determines whether to allow transmission of a print command to the MFP 50. Specifically, the mediation server 10 references the job information in FIG. 15 to determine in M329 whether the PIN code received from the MFP 50 matches the PIN code stored in association with the job ID received in M320. In other words, the mediation server 10 references the job information in FIG. 15 to identify the PIN code stored in association with the job ID that was received in M320, and determines whether the PIN code identified in this job information matches the PIN code received from the MFP 50.);
in response to the request from the information processing apparatus, generating, for the server, the verification identification number of the print data to be printed and return the verification identification number of the print data to be printed to the information processing apparatus (See ¶¶ [0061], [0063], [0064], Teaches that In M236 the portable terminal 80 transmits information for the print settings inputted into the print settings screen (hereinafter called “printing information”) to the mediation server 10. In this way, the portable terminal 80 transmits printing information to the mediation server 10 for configuration options supported by the image processing apparatus that will execute the printing process. In response to receiving this printing information, the mediation server 10 determines whether the selected image data must be converted to image data for printing that corresponds to the printing information. the file ID in the job information is updated to reflect the file ID corresponding to the converted selected image data. In M243 the mediation server 10 issues a PIN code (an example of the authentication information) and stores this PIN code in association with the printing information received in M236 and the job ID issued in M228 (and updated in M242) as the job information in FIG. 15. Thus, the job information stored in FIG. 15 correlates a device ID with a job ID, a file ID, a file format, a PIN code, and printing information. Here, the date and time at which the PIN code and the like are stored in M243 are also recorded in the job information as the recorded date and time. In response to receiving image data for a registration complete screen, in M246 the portable terminal 80 displays a registration complete screen 160 shown in FIG. 10 on the display panel 86. The registration complete screen 160 displayed on the display panel 86 includes the job ID and the PIN code. Accordingly, the user acquires the job ID and the PIN code and uses this data to print an image based on the selected image data.);
and upon successfully verifying the verification identification number, in response to a request from the image forming apparatus, performing, for the server, control so as to transmit the print data to be printed to the image forming apparatus (See ¶¶ [0068], [0071]-[0074] Teaches that In response to receiving the PIN code, in M329 the mediation server 10 determines whether to allow transmission of a print command to the MFP 50. Specifically, the mediation server 10 references the job information in FIG. 15 to determine in M329 whether the PIN code received from the MFP 50 matches the PIN code stored in association with the job ID received in M320. In other words, the mediation server 10 references the job information in FIG. 15 to identify the PIN code stored in association with the job ID that was received in M320, and determines whether the PIN code identified in this job information matches the PIN code received from the MFP 50. , the mediation server 10 determines that a print command may be transmitted to the MFP 50 (M329: transmission allowed) and in M331 transmits a print command to the MFP 50. Hence, the mediation server 10 determines that a print command may be transmitted to the MFP 50 (M329: transmission allowed) and transmits this print command to the MFP 50 only when the PIN code received from the MFP 50 matches the registered PIN code, the number of times an unregistered PIN code was inputted is within the preset number, and the PIN code was inputted within the preset time after the date and time that the selected image was registered. In this way, the mediation server 10 can suitably ensure confidentiality of the selected image. The mediation server 10 creates the print command to be transmitted to the MFP 50 on the basis of the file format and the print information stored in the job information in association with the job ID received in M320. Accordingly, the MFP 50 that receives this print command can execute a printing process conforming to the print settings inputted in M234 (see FIG. 5). In response to receiving the print command, in M332 the MFP 50 transmits an acquisition request for a download URL to the mediation server 10. In response to receiving this acquisition request for a download URL, the mediation server 10 identifies the file ID stored in the job information in association with the job ID received in M320 and creates a URL for allowing the MFP 50 to acquire the selected image data stored on the temporary storage server 30 in association with this file ID. In M334 the mediation server 10 transmits this URL to the MFP 50 as the download URL. In M336 the MFP 50 uses the download URL to access the temporary storage server 30 and transmits to the temporary storage server 30 an acquisition request for image data for printing. In response to this acquisition request, in M338 the temporary storage server 30 transmits either selected image data received in M224 (see FIG. 5) or selected image data converted according to a conversion command received in M238 (see FIG. 5) to the MFP 50 as image data for printing (an example of the target image data). In M340 the MFP 50 executes a printing process for printing an image based on the image data for printing received in M338 in accordance with the print command received in M331.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of SAITO into MARTIN in order to provide a technique for controlling an image processing apparatus to print an image based on image data stored on a terminal device without requiring the user of the terminal device to install a device driver for the image processing apparatus on the terminal device (See SAITO ¶ [0004]).
As to claim 11, the combination of MARTIN and SAITO teaches the method according to claim 10 above. However, it does not expressly teach the details of wherein in the displaying the screen that includes the print code, displaying, for the information processing apparatus, a button for instructing a request to the server for the verification identification number and, in response to a press of the button, making, for the information processing apparatus, a request to the server for the verification identification number.
SAITO, from analogous art, teaches wherein in the displaying the screen that includes the print code, displaying, for the information processing apparatus, a button for instructing a request to the server for the verification identification number and, in response to a press of the button, making, for the information processing apparatus, a request to the server for the verification identification number (See ¶ [0055], Teaches that the portable terminal 80 displays an upload screen 150, such as that shown in FIG. 9, on the display panel 86 based on the image data received from the mediation server 10. The upload screen 150 displayed on the display panel 86 includes a Select button 152, and a Send button 154. The Select button 152 is operated to select image data to be printed (or to be uploaded). By operating the Select button 152, the user can select any image data stored in the data storage area 98 of the portable terminal 80. After selecting image data, the user operates the Send button 154 in the upload screen 150 in M216, and in M218 the portable terminal 80 transmits the image data selected when the user operated the Select button 152 (hereinafter called the “selected image data”; an example of the original image data) to the mediation server 10.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of SAITO into the combination of MARTIN and SAITO in order to provide a technique for controlling an image processing apparatus to print an image based on image data stored on a terminal device without requiring the user of the terminal device to install a device driver for the image processing apparatus on the terminal device (See SAITO ¶ [0004]).
As to claim 12, the combination of MARTIN and SAITO teaches the method according to claim 10 above. However, it does not expressly teach the details of wherein the information for obtaining the print data to be printed includes information of a storage destination of the print data.
SAITO, from analogous art, teaches wherein the information for obtaining the print data to be printed includes information of a storage destination of the print data (See ¶ [0040], Teaches that the user accesses the management server 110 from the MFP 50 to acquire a prescribed Uniform Resource Locator (URL). Next, the user accesses the management server 110 from the portable terminal 80 using the acquired URL and uploads desired image data to the management server 110.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of SAITO into the combination of MARTIN and SAITO in order to provide a technique for controlling an image processing apparatus to print an image based on image data stored on a terminal device without requiring the user of the terminal device to install a device driver for the image processing apparatus on the terminal device (See SAITO ¶ [0004]).
As to claim 14, the combination of MARTIN and SAITO teaches the method according to claim 10 above. However, it does not expressly teach the details of wherein the verification identification number has an expiration date, and in a case where the expiration date of the verification identification number has passed, in the verifying, for the server, determining that verification of the verification identification number is unsuccessful.
SAITO, from analogous art, teaches wherein the verification identification number has an expiration date, and in a case where the expiration date of the verification identification number has passed, in the verifying, for the server, determining that verification of the verification identification number is unsuccessful (See ¶¶ [0070]-[0071], Teaches that if the PIN codes match and the incremented error count does not exceed the preset number, the mediation server 10 identifies the recorded date and time stored in the job information in association with the job ID received in M320 and calculates the amount of time that has elapsed since the recorded date and time. That is, the mediation server 10 calculates the elapsed time from the recorded date and time to the date and time at which the PIN code was received in M328. If the elapsed time exceeds a preset time, the mediation server 10 determines that a print command cannot be transmitted to the MFP 50 (M329: transmission not allowed) and in M330 deletes the job information associated with the job ID received in M320. However, if the elapsed time does not exceed the preset time, the mediation server 10 determines that a print command may be transmitted to the MFP 50 (M329: transmission allowed) and in M331 transmits a print command to the MFP 50. Hence, the mediation server 10 determines that a print command may be transmitted to the MFP 50 (M329: transmission allowed) and transmits this print command to the MFP 50 only when the PIN code received from the MFP 50 matches the registered PIN code, the number of times an unregistered PIN code was inputted is within the preset number, and the PIN code was inputted within the preset time after the date and time that the selected image was registered. In this way, the mediation server 10 can suitably ensure confidentiality of the selected image. The mediation server 10 creates the print command to be transmitted to the MFP 50 on the basis of the file format and the print information stored in the job information in association with the job ID received in M320. Accordingly, the MFP 50 that receives this print command can execute a printing process conforming to the print settings inputted in M234 (see FIG. 5).).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of SAITO into the combination of MARTIN and SAITO in order to provide a technique for controlling an image processing apparatus to print an image based on image data stored on a terminal device without requiring the user of the terminal device to install a device driver for the image processing apparatus on the terminal device (See SAITO ¶ [0004]).
As to claim 15, the combination of MARTIN and SAITO teaches the method according to claim 10 above. However, it does not expressly teach the details of further comprising, for the server, storing information of a storage destination of the print data, the verification identification number, and an expiration date of the verification identification number in association with identification information of the print data.
SAITO, from analogous art, teaches further comprising, for the server, storing information of a storage destination of the print data, the verification identification number, and an expiration date of the verification identification number in association with identification information of the print data (See ¶¶ [0070], [0058], Fig. 15, Teaches that the mediation server 10 identifies the recorded date and time stored in the job information in association with the job ID received in M320 and calculates the amount of time that has elapsed since the recorded date and time. That is, the mediation server 10 calculates the elapsed time from the recorded date and time to the date and time at which the PIN code was received in M328. After storing the file ID and the selected image data in association with each other, in M226 the temporary storage server 30 transmits a registration complete notification to the mediation server 10. In M228 the mediation server 10 issues a job ID and stores this job ID in the data storage area 22 in association with the device ID used in M219, the file ID received in M223, and the file format of the selected image data, as shown in FIG. 15. Here, information correlating the job ID, the device ID, the file ID, and the file format will be called job information.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of SAITO into the combination of MARTIN and SAITO in order to provide a technique for controlling an image processing apparatus to print an image based on image data stored on a terminal device without requiring the user of the terminal device to install a device driver for the image processing apparatus on the terminal device (See SAITO ¶ [0004]).
As to claim 19, the combination of MARTIN and SAITO teaches the method according to claim 10 above. MARTIN further teaches wherein the print code is a one-dimensional or two-dimensional barcode (See ¶ [0078], Teaches that QR code 514 is sent to mobile device 502.).
Claims 4, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MARTIN (US 20240056437 A1) and SAITO (US 20180181352 A1) and further in view of AOKI (US 20200004479 A1).
As to claim 4, the combination of MARTIN and SAITO teaches the system according to claim 1 above. However, it does not expressly teach the details of wherein the print code includes identification information of the print data and information of a storage destination of the print data.
AOKI, from analogous art, teaches wherein the print code includes identification information of the print data and information of a storage destination of the print data (See ¶ [0045], Teaches that The user displays the QR code of the print information including the print setting information on a display screen of the smartphone according to a guidance of the print application (S24). The multi-function printer 20 installed in the convenience store displays a guidance to the user such that the user places the QR code displayed on the display screen of the smartphone over the QR code reader 22. The user presents the QR code to the QR code reader 22 according to the guidance, and causes the QR code reader to read the QR code (S26). Thereafter, the print application of the smartphone 40 waits until the SSID of the Wi-Fi of the multi-function printer 20 is detected (S28).).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of AOKI into the combination of MARTIN and SAITO in order to transmit print data to an image forming apparatus where the print data is stored in a storage destination connected to a network different from a network connected to the image forming apparatus in a case where the print data is transmitted to the image forming apparatus from a mobile terminal device (See AOKI ¶ [0008]).
As to claim 13, the combination of MARTIN and SAITO teaches the method according to claim 10 above. However, it does not expressly teach the details of wherein the print code includes identification information of the print data and information of a storage destination of the print data.
AOKI, from analogous art, teaches wherein the print code includes identification information of the print data and information of a storage destination of the print data (See ¶ [0045], Teaches that The user displays the QR code of the print information including the print setting information on a display screen of the smartphone according to a guidance of the print application (S24). The multi-function printer 20 installed in the convenience store displays a guidance to the user such that the user places the QR code displayed on the display screen of the smartphone over the QR code reader 22. The user presents the QR code to the QR code reader 22 according to the guidance, and causes the QR code reader to read the QR code (S26). Thereafter, the print application of the smartphone 40 waits until the SSID of the Wi-Fi of the multi-function printer 20 is detected (S28).).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of AOKI into the combination of MARTIN and SAITO in order to transmit print data to an image forming apparatus where the print data is stored in a storage destination connected to a network different from a network connected to the image forming apparatus in a case where the print data is transmitted to the image forming apparatus from a mobile terminal device (See AOKI ¶ [0008]).
Claims 7-8, 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MARTIN (US 20240056437 A1) and SAITO (US 20180181352 A1) and further in view of Takaragi et al. (US 20060203255 A1).
As to claim 7, the combination of MARTIN and SAITO teaches the system according to claim 1 above. However, it does not expressly teach the details of wherein the print code further includes identification information of the information processing apparatus, and the one or more second controllers further: determine whether a verification-complete expiration date corresponding to the identification information of the information processing apparatus included in the read print code has passed; determine whether a limited number of times for obtaining the print data to be printed from the server and printing the print data to be printed has been exceeded; and in a case where the verification-complete expiration date has not passed and the limited number of times has not been exceeded, skip processing for transmitting the verification identification number to the serve.
SAITO, from analogous art, teaches wherein the print code further includes identification information of the information processing apparatus, and the one or more second controllers further: determine whether a verification-complete expiration date corresponding to the identification information of the information processing apparatus included in the read print code has passed (See ¶¶ [0070], [0058], Fig. 15, Teaches that the mediation server 10 identifies the recorded date and time stored in the job information in association with the job ID received in M320 and calculates the amount of time that has elapsed since the recorded date and time. That is, the mediation server 10 calculates the elapsed time from the recorded date and time to the date and time at which the PIN code was received in M328. After storing the file ID and the selected image data in association with each other, in M226 the temporary storage server 30 transmits a registration complete notification to the mediation server 10. In M228 the mediation server 10 issues a job ID and stores this job ID in the data storage area 22 in association with the device ID used in M219, the file ID received in M223, and the file format of the selected image data, as shown in FIG. 15. Here, information correlating the job ID, the device ID, the file ID, and the file format will be called job information.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of SAITO into the combination of MARTIN and SAITO in order to provide a technique for controlling an image processing apparatus to print an image based on image data stored on a terminal device without requiring the user of the terminal device to install a device driver for the image processing apparatus on the terminal device (See SAITO ¶ [0004]).
However, it does not expressly teach the details of determine whether a limited number of times for obtaining the print data to be printed from the server and printing the print data to be printed has been exceeded; and in a case where the verification-complete expiration date has not passed and the limited number of times has not been exceeded, skip processing for transmitting the verification identification number to the server.
Takaragi et al., from analogous art, teaches determine whether a limited number of times for obtaining the print data to be printed from the server and printing the print data to be printed has been exceeded; and in a case where the verification-complete expiration date has not passed and the limited number of times has not been exceeded, skip processing for transmitting the verification identification number to the server (See ¶ [0171], Teaches that In FIG. 29, the point different from FIG. 1 is that the information input from the user PC 100 and transmitted to the original registration server includes restriction data (or restricted matter data). Here, it should be noted that the restrictions may include, e.g., the maximum number of print permission, the maximum number of times of printing permitted, other users who are permitted to perform printing, a date of printing (e.g., on and after Feb. 28, 2003), and the like. Here, it should be noted that the restrictions are not limited to the above, that is, such information as above can be appropriately combined, and a printing time zone, color/monochrome printing, a text size, layout output and the like may be included in the restriction).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Takaragi et al. into the combination of MARTIN and SAITO in order to provide an image processing system in which it is possible to certify that a printed material corresponds to an original, without using a large storage capacity on a server apparatus side (See Takaragi et al. ¶ [0010]).
As to claim 8, the combination of MARTIN and SAITO teaches the system according to claim 1 above. However, it does not expressly teach the details of wherein the print code further includes identification information of the information processing apparatus, the one or more third controllers further: in response to an inquiry for a verification status corresponding to the identification information of the information processing apparatus included in the print code from the image forming apparatus, determine whether a verification-complete expiration date corresponding to the identification information of the information processing apparatus included in the print code has passed; determine whether a limited number of times of printing the print data to be printed has been exceeded; and in a case where the verification-complete expiration date has not passed and the limited number of times has not been exceeded, instruct the image forming apparatus to skip processing for transmitting the verification identification number to the server, and the one or more second controllers, in response to the skip instruction, skip display of the screen for inputting the verification identification number and the processing for transmitting the verification identification number to the server.
SAITO, from analogous art, teaches wherein the print code further includes identification information of the information processing apparatus, the one or more third controllers further: in response to an inquiry for a verification status corresponding to the identification information of the information processing apparatus included in the print code from the image forming apparatus, determine whether a verification-complete expiration date corresponding to the identification information of the information processing apparatus included in the print code has passed (See ¶¶ [0070], [0058], Fig. 15, Teaches that the mediation server 10 identifies the recorded date and time stored in the job information in association with the job ID received in M320 and calculates the amount of time that has elapsed since the recorded date and time. That is, the mediation server 10 calculates the elapsed time from the recorded date and time to the date and time at which the PIN code was received in M328. After storing the file ID and the selected image data in association with each other, in M226 the temporary storage server 30 transmits a registration complete notification to the mediation server 10. In M228 the mediation server 10 issues a job ID and stores this job ID in the data storage area 22 in association with the device ID used in M219, the file ID received in M223, and the file format of the selected image data, as shown in FIG. 15. Here, information correlating the job ID, the device ID, the file ID, and the file format will be called job information.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of SAITO into the combination of MARTIN and SAITO in order to provide a technique for controlling an image processing apparatus to print an image based on image data stored on a terminal device without requiring the user of the terminal device to install a device driver for the image processing apparatus on the terminal device (See SAITO ¶ [0004]).
However, it does not expressly teach the details of determine whether a limited number of times of printing the print data to be printed has been exceeded; and in a case where the verification-complete expiration date has not passed and the limited number of times has not been exceeded, instruct the image forming apparatus to skip processing for transmitting the verification identification number to the server, and the one or more second controllers, in response to the skip instruction, skip display of the screen for inputting the verification identification number and the processing for transmitting the verification identification number to the server.
Takaragi et al., from analogous art, teaches determine whether a limited number of times of printing the print data to be printed has been exceeded; and in a case where the verification-complete expiration date has not passed and the limited number of times has not been exceeded, instruct the image forming apparatus to skip processing for transmitting the verification identification number to the server, and the one or more second controllers, in response to the skip instruction, skip display of the screen for inputting the verification identification number and the processing for transmitting the verification identification number to the server (See ¶ [0171], Teaches that In FIG. 29, the point different from FIG. 1 is that the information input from the user PC 100 and transmitted to the original registration server includes restriction data (or restricted matter data). Here, it should be noted that the restrictions may include, e.g., the maximum number of print permission, the maximum number of times of printing permitted, other users who are permitted to perform printing, a date of printing (e.g., on and after Feb. 28, 2003), and the like. Here, it should be noted that the restrictions are not limited to the above, that is, such information as above can be appropriately combined, and a printing time zone, color/monochrome printing, a text size, layout output and the like may be included in the restriction).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Takaragi et al. into the combination of MARTIN and SAITO in order to provide an image processing system in which it is possible to certify that a printed material corresponds to an original, without using a large storage capacity on a server apparatus side (See Takaragi et al. ¶ [0010]).
As to claim 16, the combination of MARTIN and SAITO teaches the method according to claim 10 above. However, it does not expressly teach the details of wherein the print code further includes identification information of the information processing apparatus, and the method further comprising: determining, for the image forming apparatus, whether a verification-complete expiration date corresponding to the identification information of the information processing apparatus included in the read print code has passed; determining, for the image forming apparatus, whether a limited number of times for obtaining the print data to be printed from the server and printing the print data to be printed has been exceeded; and in a case where the verification-complete expiration date has not passed and the limited number of times has not been exceeded, skipping, for the image forming apparatus, processing for transmitting the verification identification number to the server.
SAITO, from analogous art, teaches wherein the print code further includes identification information of the information processing apparatus, and the method further comprising: determining, for the image forming apparatus, whether a verification-complete expiration date corresponding to the identification information of the information processing apparatus included in the read print code has passed (See ¶¶ [0070], [0058], Fig. 15, Teaches that the mediation server 10 identifies the recorded date and time stored in the job information in association with the job ID received in M320 and calculates the amount of time that has elapsed since the recorded date and time. That is, the mediation server 10 calculates the elapsed time from the recorded date and time to the date and time at which the PIN code was received in M328. After storing the file ID and the selected image data in association with each other, in M226 the temporary storage server 30 transmits a registration complete notification to the mediation server 10. In M228 the mediation server 10 issues a job ID and stores this job ID in the data storage area 22 in association with the device ID used in M219, the file ID received in M223, and the file format of the selected image data, as shown in FIG. 15. Here, information correlating the job ID, the device ID, the file ID, and the file format will be called job information.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of SAITO into the combination of MARTIN and SAITO in order to provide a technique for controlling an image processing apparatus to print an image based on image data stored on a terminal device without requiring the user of the terminal device to install a device driver for the image processing apparatus on the terminal device (See SAITO ¶ [0004]).
However, it does not expressly teach the details of determining, for the image forming apparatus, whether a limited number of times for obtaining the print data to be printed from the server and printing the print data to be printed has been exceeded; and in a case where the verification-complete expiration date has not passed and the limited number of times has not been exceeded, skipping, for the image forming apparatus, processing for transmitting the verification identification number to the server.
Takaragi et al., from analogous art, teaches determining, for the image forming apparatus, whether a limited number of times for obtaining the print data to be printed from the server and printing the print data to be printed has been exceeded; and in a case where the verification-complete expiration date has not passed and the limited number of times has not been exceeded, skipping, for the image forming apparatus, processing for transmitting the verification identification number to the server (See ¶ [0171], Teaches that In FIG. 29, the point different from FIG. 1 is that the information input from the user PC 100 and transmitted to the original registration server includes restriction data (or restricted matter data). Here, it should be noted that the restrictions may include, e.g., the maximum number of print permission, the maximum number of times of printing permitted, other users who are permitted to perform printing, a date of printing (e.g., on and after Feb. 28, 2003), and the like. Here, it should be noted that the restrictions are not limited to the above, that is, such information as above can be appropriately combined, and a printing time zone, color/monochrome printing, a text size, layout output and the like may be included in the restriction).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Takaragi et al. into the combination of MARTIN and SAITO in order to provide an image processing system in which it is possible to certify that a printed material corresponds to an original, without using a large storage capacity on a server apparatus side (See Takaragi et al. ¶ [0010]).
As to claim 17, the combination of MARTIN and SAITO teaches the method according to claim 10 above. However, it does not expressly teach the details of wherein the print code further includes identification information of the information processing apparatus, in response to an inquiry for a verification status corresponding to the identification information of the information processing apparatus included in the print code from the image forming apparatus, determining, for the server, whether a verification-complete expiration date corresponding to the identification information of the information processing apparatus included in the print code has passed; determining, for the server, whether a limited number of times of printing the print data to be printed has been exceeded; and in a case where the verification-complete expiration date has not passed and the limited number of times has not been exceeded, instructing, for the server, the image forming apparatus to skip processing for transmitting the verification identification number to the server, and in response to the skip instruction, skipping, for the image forming apparatus, displaying of the screen for inputting the verification identification number and the processing for transmitting the verification identification number to the server.
SAITO, from analogous art, teaches wherein the print code further includes identification information of the information processing apparatus, in response to an inquiry for a verification status corresponding to the identification information of the information processing apparatus included in the print code from the image forming apparatus, determining, for the server, whether a verification-complete expiration date corresponding to the identification information of the information processing apparatus included in the print code has passed (See ¶¶ [0070], [0058], Fig. 15, Teaches that the mediation server 10 identifies the recorded date and time stored in the job information in association with the job ID received in M320 and calculates the amount of time that has elapsed since the recorded date and time. That is, the mediation server 10 calculates the elapsed time from the recorded date and time to the date and time at which the PIN code was received in M328. After storing the file ID and the selected image data in association with each other, in M226 the temporary storage server 30 transmits a registration complete notification to the mediation server 10. In M228 the mediation server 10 issues a job ID and stores this job ID in the data storage area 22 in association with the device ID used in M219, the file ID received in M223, and the file format of the selected image data, as shown in FIG. 15. Here, information correlating the job ID, the device ID, the file ID, and the file format will be called job information.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of SAITO into the combination of MARTIN and SAITO in order to provide a technique for controlling an image processing apparatus to print an image based on image data stored on a terminal device without requiring the user of the terminal device to install a device driver for the image processing apparatus on the terminal device (See SAITO ¶ [0004]).
However, it does not expressly teach the details of determining, for the server, whether a limited number of times of printing the print data to be printed has been exceeded; and in a case where the verification-complete expiration date has not passed and the limited number of times has not been exceeded, instructing, for the server, the image forming apparatus to skip processing for transmitting the verification identification number to the server, and in response to the skip instruction, skipping, for the image forming apparatus, displaying of the screen for inputting the verification identification number and the processing for transmitting the verification identification number to the server.
Takaragi et al., from analogous art, teaches determining, for the server, whether a limited number of times of printing the print data to be printed has been exceeded; and in a case where the verification-complete expiration date has not passed and the limited number of times has not been exceeded, instructing, for the server, the image forming apparatus to skip processing for transmitting the verification identification number to the server, and in response to the skip instruction, skipping, for the image forming apparatus, displaying of the screen for inputting the verification identification number and the processing for transmitting the verification identification number to the server (See ¶ [0171], Teaches that In FIG. 29, the point different from FIG. 1 is that the information input from the user PC 100 and transmitted to the original registration server includes restriction data (or restricted matter data). Here, it should be noted that the restrictions may include, e.g., the maximum number of print permission, the maximum number of times of printing permitted, other users who are permitted to perform printing, a date of printing (e.g., on and after Feb. 28, 2003), and the like. Here, it should be noted that the restrictions are not limited to the above, that is, such information as above can be appropriately combined, and a printing time zone, color/monochrome printing, a text size, layout output and the like may be included in the restriction).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Takaragi et al. into the combination of MARTIN and SAITO in order to provide an image processing system in which it is possible to certify that a printed material corresponds to an original, without using a large storage capacity on a server apparatus side (See Takaragi et al. ¶ [0010]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
OKUTSU et al. (US 20240231720 A1) teaches An apparatus communicably connected with a terminal apparatus and an information processing system, includes circuitry that receives input of authentication information of a user; converts the authentication information input by the user into an authentication image based on a success of authentication using the authentication information of the user; transmits the authentication image that is converted for display at the terminal apparatus; acquires the authentication information of the user from the authentication image displayed at the terminal apparatus; acquires, from the information processing system, data associated with identification information of the user who is authenticated using the acquired authentication information; and processes the data that is acquired.
James Hollister
/J.R.H./Examiner, Art Unit 2499 2/6/26
/PHILIP J CHEA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2499