DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 8-11, 14-16, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yoneyama (GB 2172510 A).
Regarding claim 8, Yoneyama discloses a club head having a striking face portion and body portion attached to the rear of the striking face portion, wherein the striking face portion and body portion define an internal cavity filled with fibrous fill 26 (See Figure 2 and Abstract).
Regarding claim 9, Yoneyama discloses the fibrous fill being glass fiber (See Page 2, lines 32 through 35).
Regarding claim 10, Yoneyama shows the fibrous fill filling more than 25% of the internal cavity (See Figure 2).
Regarding claim 11, Yoneyama show the fibrous fill filling more than 30% of the total volume (See Figure 2).
Regarding claim 14, see the above regarding claims 8 and 10.
Regarding claim 15, see the above regarding claim 9.
Regarding claim 16, see the above regarding claim 11.
Regarding claim 19, Yoneyama discloses the fibrous fill being a synthetic fiber being that the fiber is glass fiber (See Abstract).
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cleghorn et al. (US 2017/0173413).
Regarding claim 1, Cleghorn et al. discloses a club head having a striking face portion and body portion. The striking face and body together define an internal cavity evident by Figures 5 and 6. The body portion incorporates a weight adjustment portion having an elongate channel, weight member, and fastener. The elongate channel has a plurality of scalloped depressions along the lower wall (See Figures 40-67). The weight member is received in the channel and has a fastener receiving aperture. The fastener has a fastener head and threaded shaft and engages the weight member wherein the fastener head is secured to the scalloped depressions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cleghorn et al. (US 2017/0173413) in view of Yoneyama (GB 2172510 A).
Regarding claim 2, Cleghorn et al. does not disclose the internal cavity having a fibrous fill. Yoneyama discloses a club head having a striking face portion and body portion attached to the rear of the striking face portion, wherein the striking face portion and body portion define an internal cavity filled with fibrous fill 26 (See Figure 2 and Abstract). One having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have an internal cavity having a fibrous fill, as taught by Yoneyama, in order to reinforce the club head while reducing its weight.
Regarding claim 3, Yoneyama discloses the fibrous fill being glass fiber (See Page 2, lines 32 through 35).
Regarding claim 4, Yoneyama shows the fibrous fill filling more than 25% of the internal cavity (See Figure 2).
Regarding claim 5, Yoneyama show the fibrous fill filling more than 30% of the total volume (See Figure 2).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 7, 12, 13, 17, 18, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ALVIN A HUNTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711