DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending and are subject to this Office Action. This is the first Office Action on the merits of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Where applicant acts as his or her own lexicographer to specifically define a term of a claim contrary to its ordinary meaning, the written description must clearly redefine the claim term and set forth the uncommon definition so as to put one reasonably skilled in the art on notice that the applicant intended to redefine that claim term. Process Control Corp. v. HydReclaim Corp., 190 F.3d 1350, 1357, 52 USPQ2d 1029, 1033 (Fed. Cir. 1999). The term “electronic filter” in claims 1-20 is used by the claim to mean “electrically operated filter” while the accepted meaning is “a filter shape object that comprises electrical components”. The term is indefinite because the specification does not clearly redefine the term.
Furthermore, claims 1, 10 and 19, and their respective dependent claims do not recite any structural limitation that performs a filtering function. The claimed structure, specifically “a cylindrical body, including mouthpiece, a rolling attachment portion, air flow cap, an auto draw” is the structure of a vaporizing device and not a filtration device, and the term “filter” accordingly does not find clear correspondence in any of the recited structures. According to the Applicant’s specification, an electronic cigarette filter (“filter” or “e-filter”) is described as a nonlimiting embodiment of the invention, further described as a cylindrical shaped body that comprises electrical components ([0044]-[0049]).
Therefore, for the purposes of the examination, “electronic filter” would be interpreted as a filter shape object that comprises the electrical components including all the limitations recited in the claims.
Claim 1 further recites “a heating element to heat a liquid into an aerosolized smoke, wherein activating the heating element coincides with drawing on the mouthpiece and the smoke flowing into the cylindrical body” in lines 9-11. It is unclear whether “the smoke flowing into the cylindrical body” recited in line 11 is the same smoke as “an aerosolized smoke” that resulted after heating liquid. For purposes of examination, “the smoke” is interpreted the same smoke as “an aerosolized smoke”.
Claim 5 recites “wherein the smoke flowing into the cylindrical body is mixed with a second smoke from heating the liquid into an aerosolized smoke” in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because claim 1 already defines “the smoke” in line 11 as the result of “heating a liquid into an aerosolized smoke”. Claim 5 then recites “a second smoke” in line 2 also resulting “from heating the liquid into an aerosolized smoke”. As such, it is unclear whether “a second smoke” recited in claim 5 is the same smoke as “the smoke” recited in claim 1 line 11. For purposes of examination, “a second smoke” is interpreted as “the second smoke” resulting from heating the liquid into an aerosolized smoke and “the smoke flowing into the cylindrical body” is interpreted as “a smoke” resulting from heating leaf material, in view of the Applicant’s specification ([0058]).
Regarding claim 6, the term “wherein the electronic filter is adapted to a single session of use, wherein the volume of liquid is limited to what will be aerosolized within the single session of use” in claim 6 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “wherein the electronic filter is adapted to a single session of use, wherein the volume of liquid is limited to what will be aerosolized within the single session of use” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
The Applicant’s specification states that a single session use is 50 draws or less ([0013], [0060]). However, the specification gives no numeric volume to how much liquid is aerosolized in a single session use. Therefore, for purposes of examination, “a single session use” is interpreted as a limited-use quantity of any sized liquid amount intended for one smoking session.
Regarding claim 7, the terms “enough watt-hours of power” and “single session of use” in claim 7 are relative terms which render the claim indefinite. The terms “wherein the battery has enough watt-hours of power to aerosolize the liquid for the single session of use” are not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
The Applicant’s specification states that a single session use is 50 draws or less ([0013], [0060]). However, the specification gives no numeric volume to how much liquid is aerosolized in a single session use. Additionally, there is no measured energy/power in the specifications ([0054]). “Enough” is a relative term with no objective standard and it depends on the undefined “single session” and liquid volume. Therefore, for purposes of examination, “enough watt-hours of power” is interpreted as any battery with at least the energy needed to aerosolize that single session use, and “a single session use” is interpreted as a limited-use quantity of any sized liquid amount intended for one smoking session.
Regarding claim 15, the term “wherein the combination is adapted to a single session of use, wherein the volume of liquid is limited to what will be aerosolized” in claim 15 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “single session of use” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
The Applicant’s specification states that a single session use is 50 draws or less ([0013], [0060]). However, the specification gives no numeric volume to how much liquid is aerosolized in a single session use. Therefore, for purposes of examination, “a single session use” is interpreted as a limited-use quantity of any sized liquid amount intended for one smoking session.
Furthermore, the term “substantially” in claim 15 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially if not fully burn” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The claim and specification provide no objective measure of how much of the leaf material must be burned, and “if not fully” states a second, narrower alternative within the same limitation. For purposes of examination, “substantially if not fully” is interpreted as fully burned.
Claim 15 further recites the limitation "the leaf material " in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 10, which claim 15 depends from, does not introduce the limitation “leaf material”. For purposes of examination, “the leaf material” is interpreted as “a leaf material”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) and 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by Robinson (US 20150040930).
Regarding claim 1, Robinson directed to a smoking article incorporated within an electrically powered aerosol generating device (abstract), discloses a smoking article 10 (Figs. 1-3) comprising a cigarette 150 (Fig. 2) incorporated within an electrically powered aerosol generating device that acts as a holder for that cigarette ([0013], [0097], Figs. 1-3).
Robinson further discloses an outer container/housing 20 that is tubular in shape (i.e., cylindrical body) (Fig. 1) including a mouthpiece portion (mouth-end 15; Fig. 1) having a mouth piece (mouth-end piece 120; [0095]) wherein the mouthpiece comprises an opening adapted for egress of an aerosol generated within the smoking article ([0081], Fig. 1). Furthermore, the cylindrical body includes a distal end 13 to the mouthpiece ([0081]). The mouth-end region is the mouth piece portion and the distal end region is the attachment portion of the cylindrical body ([0081]-[0082], [0109]).
The distal end 13 or distal end region of the cylindrical body has a continuous cylindrical exterior surface, (Fig. 1), this surface is capable of receiving roiling material wrapped and adhered to it. Thus, Robinson teaches a rolling material attachment portion including an exterior surface of the cylindrical body adapted to have a rolling material rolled onto and sealed against the exterior ([0081] – [0084], [0109], Fig. 1).
Robinson further discloses a cap 35 is secured to the distal region of the attachment portion. Cap 35 includes plurality of openings 32 to allow air to enter the inner region of the cylindrical body ([0110]), thus the cap 35 reads into the claimed air flow cap limitation disposed in the attachment portion.
Robinson further discloses an auto draw device (sensing mechanism/sensor 60; [0085]) which is positioned within the outer container 20 and is in communication with certain control circuitry within the controller 50. Furthermore, the auto draw device is part of a puff-actuated controller and is adapted for sensing draw (i.e., intake of air from the smoking article) by the user ([0085], Fig. 1). Robinson further discloses that a second heating element 72 can be energized/activated when the auto draw device detects draw by the user ([0087]). Furthermore, aerosol (i.e., aerosolized smoke) that is formed by the action of drawn air passing heated aerosol-forming material (i.e., liquid, e.g. glycerin and propylene glycol, [0062]) in the region occupied by the second heating element 72 is drawn through the mouthpiece, and into the mouth of the smoker ([0095]). Drawn air passes through air passageway 45, through the air flow sensor 60, past or through the second heating element 72, and into the mouthpiece ([0095]) disclosing the passage of smoke flowing into the cylindrical body.
Regarding claim 4, Robinson discloses a storage tank (liquid storage container 85; [0091]) disposed in the cylindrical body (Fig. 1) wherein the storage tank contains aerosol-forming material ([0088], [0091]).
Regarding claim 5, Robinson discloses first resistance heating element 70, second resistance heating element 72, [0086] and a third optional resistance heating element 300 [0112] are disposed within the outer housing (i.e., cylindrical body) ([0039]-[0043]).
The first (and/or third resistance heating elements) heat the cigarette 150 (tobacco rod components) ([0112]) and the second resistance heating element 72 heats the aerosol forming material that is liquid ([0087]-[0088]) .
Robinson further discloses drawn air passes through air passageway 45, through an air passageway area within the first heating element 70, through the air flow sensing region 60, past or through the second heating element 72 , through the cigarette 150 (including through cartridge 85 , and into the mouthpiece ([0110]). This describes that air drawn through the device passes sequentially through the tobacco-derived heat source, and the liquid heating element 72, with both resulting aerosol/smoke streams combining and flowing together into the mouthpiece, i.e., the smoke flowing into the cylindrical body (from the tobacco heating element) is mixed with a second smoke, smoke generated from heating element 72, into an aerosolized smoke.
Regarding claim 6, Robinson discloses that during use, a cigarette is placed within the cylindrical body, and after use, the used cigarette is removed and can be replaced with another one if desired ([0013]), similarly, tobacco containing cartridge for use is placed within the cylindrical body and after use, the used cartridge is removed, and can be replaced with another cartridge if needed ([0014]), thus disclosing the electronic filter is adapted to a single session of use ([0013] – [0014], [01150]).
Robinson further discloses that number of puffs during the use of a single cartridge 85 can vary, depending upon factors such as the amount of aerosol-forming material, tobacco, and other associated components that are used, the amount of those components can be sufficient to provide about 10 to about 15 puffs per cartridge ([0093]).
Regarding claim 7, Robinson discloses a battery 36 maintained in place by a tubular battery holder 40 that is positioned and secured in place within the outer container 20 ([0083]), the battery powers up the heating elements 70, 72 ([0086]).
Robinson further discloses that a battery voltage can be selected to provide sufficient heat to generate aerosol formation ([0116]).
Regarding claim 8, Robinson discloses that heating elements can be selectively and separately controlled, if desired, each of the heating elements can be arranged to have current pass therethrough (and hence provide heat) in response to a signal provided by response to the sensing mechanism 60 ([0112]). Robinson’s auto draw device controls the heating elements to be off at any time ([0112], [0122]), thus it can delay activating the heating elements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Robinson (US20150040930) as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Robinson discloses the electronic filter for a cigarette of claim 1. Robinson further teaches that the dimensions and shape of the outer container 20 (i.e., cylindrical body) can vary, a representative outer housing is generally tubular in shape (e.g., having an overall length of about 11 cm) ([0081]).
Robinson does not explicitly disclose that the cylindrical body is less than 40mm and less than 30mm in length.
However, a change in size or proportion is generally recognized as being within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art absent evidence that the change in size results in a difference in performance. See MPEP § 2144.04 IV A.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Robinson (US 20150040930) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lord (US 20190254350).
Regarding claim 9, Robinson discloses an airflow cap having air flow openings into the cylindrical body (Robinson [0110]).
Robinson further discloses that air passes through air openings 32 in the cap, then passes through a longitudinal air passageway 45 (i.e., a channel), then continues through air passageway 115 that extends along the length of the cigarette (or through cartridge 85), and into the mouth-end piece 120 ([0095], [0110]).
Robinson teaches that at least one of the openings in the airflow cap directs to a channel that lets air through into the cylindrical body.
However, Robinson does not explicitly disclose that (I) an airflow cap directs to a channel adapted to restrict smoke flowing into the cylindrical body and (II) the air-flow cap is made of ceramic material.
Regarding (I), Lord directed to an electronic vapor provision device (abstract), discloses an electronic cigarette 1 comprising a mouthpiece 2 and a body 3 ([0048]). The electronic cigarette is shaped like a conventional cigarette having a cylindrical shape ([0048], Fig. 1).
Lord further discloses an air-flow cap (airflow channeler 50/ an end cap 50; [0084], Figs. 14-15) includes a plurality of openings, the airflow cap influences the passage of the airflow through a channel 23 such that the airflow is restricted to an air passageway 51 (i.e., opening) having an annular cross-section and encompassing a wire coil 24 ([0071]). The airflow cap therefore causes a venturi effect, whereby restricting the airflow to the annular passageway 51 causes an increase in the speed of the airflow and a decrease in the static pressure of the airflow ([0071]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to further modify Robinson by configuring an opening in the airflow cap to direct into a flow restricting channel as taught by Lord, because Robinson and Lord are directed to electrically powered smoking articles with airflow cap having an opening, Lord teaches a venturi effect, whereby an airflow restricting channel increases the speed of the airflow and this involves applying a known air-flow restriction technique to a similar airflow cap to yield predictable results.
Regarding (II) Lord discloses an air-flow cap (airflow channeler 50/ an end cap 50; [0084], Figs. 14-15) is formed of ceramic material ([0065]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to further modify Robinson by substituting its airflow cap with a ceramic air flow cap as taught by Lord, because Robinson and Lord are directed to electrically powered smoking articles with airflow cap having an opening, Lord teaches a ceramic airflow cap is known in the art and this merely involves a simple substitution of one known element for another to yield predictable results. See MPEP § 2143 (I) (B).
Claims 10-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han (US20180042299).
Regarding claim 10, Han directed to a cigarette smoking device having an electronic atomization function (abstract), discloses a cylindrical cigarette holder 1 (Fig. 1) having a cavity with variable diameter that is capable of holding a cigarette 13 ([0016]), disclosing a combination of an electronic filter and a cigarette. The cigarette inserted into the cylindrical holder corresponds to a rolling material attached to the cylindrical body. The cylindrical body includes assembled cigarette holder 1, shell 7 and atomizer 8 (Fig. 1).
Han further discloses a mouthpiece having an opening leading into the cylindrical body, the downstream of the center airflow channel of the atomizer 8 is connected to a mouthpiece ([0019], [0051], Fig. 1).
Han further discloses that the cigarette is an end-lighting cigarette that combusts ([0020]). Furthermore, when in use, the cigarette is inserted into the cigarette holding cavity in the cigarette holder, the cigarette being lighted and smoked ([0050]), disclosing the rolling material forming a cylindrical receptacle, that is a smokable material, wherein the smokable material emits smoke when burned.
Han further discloses an auto draw device (airflow sensor switch 3; [0008], [0049]) that activates a heating element to heat liquid coincident with draw on the mouthpiece ([0008], [0011]). Han further discloses a mainstream smoke of the cigarette inflowing into the cylindrical body and the inhaled ambient air are finally mixed in the atomizer and then smoked into the mouth of a smoker ([0050], [0040]).
Han further discloses an end cap (i.e., air-flow cap) of the cylindrical body ([0033]) comprising an air opening/ air inlet 2 ([0040]).
Han doesn’t explicitly disclose a plurality of openings included in the air-flow cap. However, a mere duplication of parts, without any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP § 2144.04 VI B.
Regarding claims 11 and 12, Han discloses the electronic filter and cigarette combination of claim 10, further disclosing the length of a cigarette (cylindrical smokable material) ranging from 84mm-100mm ([0059]-[0064]).
Han does not explicitly disclose that the cylindrical body is less than 40mm and less than 30mm in length.
However, a change in size or proportion is generally recognized as being within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art absent evidence that the change in size results in a difference in performance. See MPEP § 2144.04 IV A.
Regarding claim 13, Han discloses a liquid storage cavity (i.e., storage tank) in the cylindrical body for storing liquid to be atomized ([0011], [0055], Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 14, Han discloses that the mainstream smoke of the cigarette enters the shell ([0050]), which corresponds to the smoke flowing into the cylindrical body, and a second smoke is the smoke/vapor that resulted by a heated liquid ([0011]). Furthermore, the mainstream smoke of the cigarette and aerosolized second smoke are mixed into aerosolized smoke, “the liquid to be atomized evaporates and atomizes to form an aerosol, which is smoked by the smoker after being mixed with the mainstream smoke of the cigarette” ([0013], [0023], [0025], [0040]).
Regarding claim 15, Han discloses combustion of tobacco leaf ([0035]). Han further discloses a disposable atomizer 8 and comprising a heating element and a liquid storage tank for storing liquid to be atomized ([0051]). Han further discloses a defined session length of 12-16 draws (smoking number) per cigarette (see Table 1), which is considered to meet the claim limitation in light of the interpretation above with respect to the rejection of the claim under 35 USC 112(b).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han (US20180042299) as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Shenkal (US 20150150305).
Regarding claim 16, Han discloses a tobacco leaf material ([0035]) but does not explicitly disclose the leaf material comprises a flower.
Shenkal directed to an electronic cigarette adaptable to vaporize liquid or flower material (abstract), discloses a hybrid electronic cigarette/vaporizer with exhale filter capability (Fig. 1); includes a flower cartridge 46 comprising a mesh container 49 provided for holding flower or leaf material that could be smoked ([0050]). Furthermore, a wire coil 48 is provided to transfer heat from the heating element to the mesh container, this wire coil 48 is needed to dissipate heat to a lower temperature more suited to flower material ([0050]) to be vaporized ([0019]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to further modify Han by substituting the leaf material with a flower material as taught by Shenkal, because Han and Shenkal are all directed to aerosol generating smoking articles, Shenkal establishes that a flower material is well-known in the art used in combination with liquid/vapor generating devices and this involves a simple substitution of one known element for another to yield predictable results.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han (US20180042299) as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Robinson (US 20150040930).
Regarding claim 17, Han discloses an auto draw device that activates heating element ([0008]) but does not explicitly disclose that the auto draw device is adapted to delay activating the heating element.
Robinson directed to a smoking article incorporated within an electrically powered aerosol generating device (abstract), discloses a smoking article 10 (Figs. 1-3) comprising a cigarette 150 (Fig. 2) incorporated within an electrically powered aerosol generating device that acts as a holder for that cigarette ([0013], [0097], Figs. 1-3).
Robinson further discloses an auto draw device (sensing mechanism/sensor 60; [0085]), the auto draw device is part of a puff-actuated controller and is adapted for sensing draw (i.e., intake of air from the smoking article) by the user ([0085], Fig. 1). Robinson further discloses that a second heating element 72 can be energized/activated when the auto draw device detects draw by the user ([0087]).
Robinson further discloses that heating elements can be selectively and separately controlled, if desired, each heating element can be turned "on" and "of" in response to a signal provided by response to the sensing mechanism 60 ([0112]). Robinson’s auto draw device controls the heating elements to be off at any time ([0112], [0122]), thus it can delay activating the heating elements.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to further modify Han by applying the same controlling method of its auto draw device such that it delays activating a heating element as taught by Robinson, because Han and Robinson are directed to electrically powered smoking articles with sensor activated heaters, Robinson teaches a specific controlling method of heater activation to provide consistent aerosol formation ([0128]) and this involves applying a known technique to a similar device to yield predictable results.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han (US20180042299) as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Lord (US 20190254350).
Regarding claim 18, Han discloses that air inlet 2 is in air communication with a central airflow channel of the atomizer 8 through the airflow sensor switch 3 ([0007]). Furthermore, a silicone sleeve 4 is used for airtightly fixing the airflow sensor switch 3 so that the airflow entering from the air inlet 2 completely passes through the airflow sensor switch 3 to effectively trigger the airflow sensor switch 3 ([0018]), “air completely pass through” corresponds to the claimed air flow channel. Furthermore, the cigarette is airtightly inserted into the cigarette holder, the inhaled air is mainly from the diluted air entering from the end cap (i.e., airflow cap), correspondingly reducing the air amount entering the cigarette from the end of the cigarette, slowing down the burning speed ([0033]), discloses the amount of smoke flowing into the cylindrical body is reduced.
While Han discloses that the air inlet of the air-flow cap directs to a channel that reduces smoke flowing into the cylindrical body, it does not explicitly disclose that (I) the channel is adapted to restrict the smoke flowing into the cylindrical body; and (II) the air-flow cap is made of ceramic.
Regarding (I), Lord directed to an electronic vapor provision device (abstract), discloses an electronic cigarette 1 comprising a mouthpiece 2 and a body 3 ([0048]). The electronic cigarette is shaped like a conventional cigarette having a cylindrical shape ([0048], Fig. 1).
Lord further discloses an air-flow cap (airflow channeler 50/ an end cap 50; [0084], Figs. 14-15) includes a plurality of openings, the airflow cap influences the passage of the airflow through a channel 23 such that the airflow is restricted to an air passageway 51 (i.e., opening) having an annular cross-section and encompassing a wire coil 24 ([0071]). The airflow cap therefore causes a venturi effect, whereby restricting the airflow to the annular passageway 51 causes an increase in the speed of the airflow and a decrease in the static pressure of the airflow ([0071]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to further modify Han by configuring an opening in the airflow cap to direct into a flow restricting channel as taught by Lord, because Han and Lord are directed to electrically powered smoking articles with airflow cap having an opening, Lord teaches a venturi effect, whereby an airflow restricting channel increases the speed of the airflow and this involves applying a known air-flow restriction technique to a similar airflow cap to yield predictable results.
Regarding (II) Lord discloses an air-flow cap (airflow channeler 50/ an end cap 50; [0084], Figs. 14-15) is formed of ceramic material ([0065]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to further modify Han by substituting its airflow cap with a ceramic air flow cap as taught by Lord, because Han and Lord are directed to electrically powered smoking articles with airflow cap having an opening, Lord teaches a ceramic airflow cap is known in the art and this merely involves a simple substitution of one known element for another to yield predictable results. See MPEP § 2143 (I) (B).
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han (US20180042299) in view of Lord (US 20190254350).
Regarding claims 19 and 20, Han directed to a cigarette smoking device having an electronic atomization function (abstract), discloses a cylindrical cigarette holder 1 (Fig. 1) having a cavity with variable diameter that is capable of holding a cigarette 13 ([0016]), disclosing an electronic filter cigarette. The cigarette inserted into the cylindrical holder corresponds to a rolling material attached to the cylindrical body. The cylindrical body includes assembled cigarette holder 1, shell 7 and atomizer 8 (Fig. 1).
Han further discloses a mouthpiece having an opening leading into the cylindrical body, the downstream of the center airflow channel of the atomizer 8 is connected to a mouthpiece ([0019], [0051], Fig. 1).
Han further discloses that the cigarette is an end-lighting cigarette that combusts ([0020]). Furthermore, when in use, the cigarette is inserted into the cigarette holding cavity in the cigarette holder, the cigarette being lighted and smoked ([0050]), disclosing the rolling material forming a cylindrical receptacle, that is a smokable material, wherein the smokable material emits smoke when burned.
Han further discloses an auto draw device (airflow sensor switch 3; [0008], [0049]) that activates a heating element to heat liquid coincident with draw on the mouthpiece ([0008], [0011]). Han further discloses a mainstream smoke of the cigarette inflowing into the cylindrical body and the inhaled ambient air are finally mixed in the atomizer and then smoked into the mouth of a smoker ([0050], [0040]).
Han further discloses that the mainstream smoke of the cigarette and aerosolized second smoke are mixed into aerosolized smoke, “the liquid to be atomized evaporates and atomizes to form an aerosol, which is smoked by the smoker after being mixed with the mainstream smoke of the cigarette” ([0008],[0013], [0023], [0025], [0040]), furthermore, the mainstream smoke of the cigarette enters the shell ([0050]), which corresponds to the smoke flowing into the cylindrical body.
Han further discloses a disposable atomizer ([0051]) as well as a disposable or rechargeable power source ([0009]). Furthermore, cigarette is consumed when smoked ([0033]).
Han further discloses an end cap (i.e., air-flow cap) of the cylindrical body ([0033]) comprising an air opening/ air inlet 2 penetrating the end cap ([0048]). Han discloses that air inlet 2 is in air communication with a central airflow channel of atomizer 8 ([0007]), air enters the central airflow channel of the atomizer to be mixed with the mainstream smoke ([0008]), disclosing an opening directs to a channel adapted to direct the smoke into the cylindrical body.
While Han discloses an air-flow cap, it does not explicitly disclose the air-flow cap is heat resistant.
Lord directed to an electronic vapor provision device (abstract), discloses an electronic cigarette 1 comprising a mouthpiece 2 and a body 3 ([0048]). The electronic cigarette is shaped like a conventional cigarette having a cylindrical shape ([0048], Fig. 1).
Lord further discloses an air-flow cap (airflow channeler 50/ an end cap 50; [0084], Figs. 14-15) includes a plurality of openings ([0071]).
Lord further discloses that the air-flow cap is formed of ceramic material ([0065]).
While Lord doesn’t explicitly state that ceramic airflow cap is heat-resistant material, the Examiner recognizes that ceramic is a well-known heat-resistant material. Furthermore, the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports prima facie obviousness. See MPEP § 2144.07.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to further modify Han by substituting its airflow cap with a ceramic air flow cap as taught by Lord, because Han and Lord are directed to electrically powered smoking articles with airflow cap having an opening, Lord teaches a ceramic airflow cap is known in the art and this merely involves a simple substitution of one known element for another to yield predictable results. See MPEP § 2143 (I) (B).
Conclusion
/HELEN GHEBRESELASSIE/Examiner, Art Unit 1755
/RUSSELL E SPARKS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1755