DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 107735906 A (herein CN906) in view of Juntwait 4826446.
In reference to claim 1, CN906 teaches current-carrying contact element (see fig. 2) comprising: a base body (1; fig. 2) having a structured contact surface (shown in figure 3) for electrically contacting two opposing electrical conductors (top and bottom 2; fig. 2) in a contact direction, the structured contact surface having a plurality of collecting recesses (space between 1a; fig. 3) for receiving oxide between a plurality of contact protrusions (1a; fig. 3) projecting in the contact direction, each contact protrusion having a contact point (i.e. the distal tip end of 1a) for contacting the conductor at the contact point.
However CN906 does not teach a nickel layer applied to the structured contact surface, the nickel layer for hardening the contact protrusions so that the coated contact protrusions break an oxide layer on the conductor to be contacted upon connection to the conductor to expose a bare mating contact point, and the nickel layer for sealing the contact points and the bare mating contact points against oxygen.
Juntwait teaches a nickel layer applied to a structure contact surface (22; fig. 4. See col. 4, lines 10-14). Using the teachings of applying a nickel layer to modify CN906 to arrive at the results of claim 1 is seen as an obvious modification.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teachings of Juntwait, as taught by Juntwait col. 4, lines 10-14, in order to improve the conduction, corrosion resistance and maximum durability of the contact element.
Further CN906 does not teach wherein a ratio of a width at the base of the contact protrusion to a height of the contact protrusion is greater than or equal to 2 and less than or equal to 10.
It would have been obvious at the time of the claimed invention to change the shape of the contact protrusion so the that ratio of a width at the base of the contact protrusion to a height of the contact protrusion is greater than or equal to 2 and less than or equal to 10, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of a component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to change the shape of the contact protrusion in order to arrive at the results of claim 1. The contact protrusion still breaks through the oxide layer, therefore new results are not produced.
In reference to claim 2, CN906 teaches contact element according to claim 1, wherein the base body has a through-opening (1h; fig. 3) which connects the two contact surfaces, the through-opening for passing through a fastening element (3; fig. 2) for connecting the conductors.
However CN906 does not teach wherein the through-opening has a diameter of greater than or equal to 0.5 cm and less than or equal to 1.5 cm.
It would have been an obvious matter of changing the size of the diameter of the through-opening so that it is greater than or equal to 0.5 cm and less than or equal to 1.5 cm, since such a modification would have been a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to change the size of the diameter of the through-opening to arrive at the results of claim 2. The through-opening still allows the passage of the fastening element to connect the conductors, therefore new results are not produced.
In reference to claim 3, CN906 substantially teaches the claimed invention.
However CN906 does not teach comprising two adjacent contact blades, wherein the contact blades do not form a circular line around the through-opening and do not form radii starting from the through-opening in order to enable an asymmetrical arrangement of the contact points, wherein a distance between two adjacent contact points is greater than or equal to 0.5 mm and less than or equal to 1.5 mm.
The contact blades are part of the contact surface. It would have been obvious at the time of the claimed invention to change the shape of contact surface so that it comprises two adjacent contact blades, wherein the contact blades do not form a circular line around the through-opening and do not form radii starting from the through-opening in order to enable an asymmetrical arrangement of the contact points, wherein a distance between two adjacent contact points is greater than or equal to 0.5 mm and less than or equal to 1.5 mm, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of a component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to change the shape of contact surface to arrive at the results of claim 3. The contact surface still electrically contacts the two opposing electrical conductors; therefore new results are not produced.
In reference to claim 4, CN906 substantially teaches the claimed invention.
However CN906 does not teach wherein the structured contact surface around the through-opening is a ring with a width of greater than or equal to 0.2 cm and less than or equal to 5 cm.
It would have been obvious at the time of the claimed invention to change the shape of the structured contact surface so that around the through-opening is a ring with a width of greater than or equal to 0.2 cm and less than or equal to 5 cm, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of a component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to change the shape of the structured contact surface to arrive at the results of claim 4. The contact surface still electrically contacts the two opposing electrical conductors; therefore new results are not produced.
In reference to claim 5, CN906 substantially teaches the claimed invention.
However CN906 does not teach wherein a distance between two adjacent contact points is greater than or equal to 0.5 mm and less than or equal to 1.5 mm.
It has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. Rearranging the contact points so that a distance between two adjacent contact points is greater than or equal to 0.5 mm and less than or equal to 1.5 mm is seen as an obvious modification.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to rearrange the distance between two adjacent contact points to arrive at the results of claim 5. The contact points still electrically contact the two opposing electrical conductors; therefore new results are not produced.
In reference to claim 6, CN906 substantially teaches the claimed invention.
However CN906 does not teach further comprising at least three neighboring contact pins, wherein a first distance between a first contact point on a middle contact pin and a first neighboring contact point on a first neighboring contact pin is unequal to a second distance between the middle contact point and a second neighboring contact point on a second neighboring contact pin in order to enable an asymmetrical arrangement of the contact points.
It would have been obvious at the time of the claimed invention to change the shape of the contact surface so that it comprises at least three neighboring contact pins, wherein a first distance between a first contact point on a middle contact pin and a first neighboring contact point on a first neighboring contact pin is unequal to a second distance between the middle contact point and a second neighboring contact point on a second neighboring contact pin in order to enable an asymmetrical arrangement of the contact points, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of a component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to change the shape of the contact surface in order to arrive at the results of claim 6. The contact points still electrically contact the two opposing electrical conductors; therefore new results are not produced.
In reference to claim 7, CN906 substantially teaches the claimed invention.
However CN906 does not teach wherein the adjacent contact pins are arranged on a radius connecting a through-opening of the base body and an edge of the contact element, wherein the first distance is greater than or equal to 0.5 mm and less than or equal to 1.5 mm and wherein the second distance is greater than or equal to 1.5 times the first distance.
It has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. Rearranging the adjacent contact pins in order to arrive at the results of claim 7 is seen as an obvious modification.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to change the shape of the contact surface in order to arrive at the results of claim 7. The contact points still electrically contact the two opposing electrical conductors; therefore new results are not produced.
In reference to claim 8, CN906 substantially teaches the claimed invention.
However CN906 does not teach wherein a material of the base body comprises aluminum and/or copper, the base body has a thickness of greater than or equal to 1 mm and the base body has a thickness of less than or equal to 5 mm.
It has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. Changing the material of the base body to comprise aluminum and/or copper to arrive at the results of claim 8 is seen as an obvious modification.
Further, it would have been an obvious matter of changing the size of the thickness of the base body, since such a modification would have been a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. Changing the size of the thickness of the base body to arrive at the results of claim 8 is seen as an obvious modification.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the material and the thickness of the base body to arrive at the results of claim 8. With a reasonable expectation of success, adjusting the material and thickness of the base body will adjust the electrical resistance and hardness. Therefore, new results are not produced.
In reference to claim 9, CN906 in view of Juntwait substantially teaches the claimed invention.
However CN906 in view of Juntwait does not teach wherein a height of the contact protrusions is greater than or equal to 0.01 mm, the height of the contact protrusions is less than or equal to 1 mm, the nickel layer has a thickness of greater than or equal to 0.1 μm, and the nickel layer has a thickness of less than or equal to 10 μm.
It would have been an obvious matter of changing the height of the contact protrusions and the thickness of the nickel layer, since such a modification would have been a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to change the size of the contact protrusions and nickel layer thickness. The contact protrusions will still break through the oxide layer and the nickel layer still improves the durability of the base body, therefore new results are not produced.
In reference to claim 10, CN906 teaches two opposing electrical conductors (2; fig. 2); and a current-carrying contact element (1; fig. 2) for electrically contacting the two opposing electrical conductors in a contact direction, the current-carrying contact element including a base body (pertaiing to body of 1) having a structured contact surface (see fig. 3), the structured contact surface having a plurality of collecting recesses (i.e. the space between 1a) for receiving oxide between a plurality of contact protrusions projecting (1a; fig. 3) in the contact direction, each contact protrusion having a contact point (i.e. the distal end of 1a) for contacting the conductor at the contact point.
However the current-carrying contact element including a nickel layer applied to the structured contact surface, the nickel layer for hardening the contact protrusions so that the coated contact protrusions break an oxide layer on the conductor to be contacted upon connection to the conductor to expose a bare mating contact point, the nickel layer for sealing the contact points and the bare mating contact points against oxygen.
Juntwait teaches a nickel layer applied to a structure contact surface (22; fig. 4. See col. 4, lines 10-14). Using the teachings of applying a nickel layer to modify CN906 to arrive at the results of claim 10 is seen as an obvious modification.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teachings of Juntwait, as taught by Juntwait col. 4, lines 10-14, in order to improve the conduction, corrosion resistance and maximum durability of the contact element.
Further, however wherein a ratio of a width at the base of the contact protrusion to a height of the contact protrusion is greater than or equal to 2 and less than or equal to 10
It would have been obvious at the time of the claimed invention to change the shape of the contact protrusion so the that ratio of a width at the base of the contact protrusion to a height of the contact protrusion is greater than or equal to 2 and less than or equal to 10, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of a component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to change the shape of the contact protrusion in order to arrive at the results of claim 10. The contact protrusion still breaks through the oxide layer, therefore new results are not produced.
Further, however wherein the electrical conductors contacting the structured contact surface of the contact element comprises aluminum.
It has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to change the material of the electrical conductors to arrive at the results of claim 10. The electrical conductors still electrically contact the structured contact surface, therefore new results are not produced.
In reference to claim 11, CN906 teaches electrical connection system according to claim 10, further comprising a screw for mechanically connecting the electrical conductors (see fig. 2).
In reference to claim 12, CN906 teaches electrical connection system according to claim 10, wherein at least one of the electrical conductors is a bus bar.
In reference to claim 13, CN906 teaches wherein the base body has a through-opening (1h; fig. 3) which connects the two contact surfaces, the through-opening for passing through a fastening element (3; fig. 2) for connecting the conductors.
However CN906 does not teach wherein the through-opening has a diameter of greater than or equal to 0.5 cm and less than or equal to 1.5 cm.
It would have been an obvious matter of changing the size of the diameter of the through-opening so that it is greater than or equal to 0.5 cm and less than or equal to 1.5 cm, since such a modification would have been a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to change the size of the diameter of the through-opening to arrive at the results of claim 13. The through-opening still allows the passage of the fastening element to connect the conductors, therefore new results are not produced.
In reference to claim 14, CN906 substantially teaches the claimed invention.
However CN906 does not teach comprising two adjacent contact blades, wherein the contact blades do not form a circular line around the through-opening and do not form radii starting from the through-opening in order to enable an asymmetrical arrangement of the contact points, wherein a distance between two adjacent contact points is greater than or equal to 0.5 mm and less than or equal to 1.5 mm.
The contact blades are part of the contact surface. It would have been obvious at the time of the claimed invention to change the shape of contact surface so that it comprises two adjacent contact blades, wherein the contact blades do not form a circular line around the through-opening and do not form radii starting from the through-opening in order to enable an asymmetrical arrangement of the contact points, wherein a distance between two adjacent contact points is greater than or equal to 0.5 mm and less than or equal to 1.5 mm, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of a component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to change the shape of contact surface to arrive at the results of claim 14. The contact surface still electrically contacts the two opposing electrical conductors; therefore new results are not produced.
In reference to claim 15, CN906 substantially teaches the claimed invention.
However CN906 does not teach wherein the structured contact surface around the through-opening is a ring with a width of greater than or equal to 0.2 cm and less than or equal to 5 cm.
It would have been obvious at the time of the claimed invention to change the shape of the structured contact surface so that around the through-opening is a ring with a width of greater than or equal to 0.2 cm and less than or equal to 5 cm, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of a component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to change the shape of the structured contact surface to arrive at the results of claim 15. The contact surface still electrically contacts the two opposing electrical conductors; therefore new results are not produced.
In reference to claim 16, CN906 substantially teaches the claimed invention.
However CN906 does not teach further comprising at least three neighboring contact pins, wherein a first distance between a first contact point on a middle contact pin and a first neighboring contact point on a first neighboring contact pin is unequal to a second distance between the middle contact point and a second neighboring contact point on a second neighboring contact pin in order to enable an asymmetrical arrangement of the contact points.
It would have been obvious at the time of the claimed invention to change the shape of the contact surface so that it comprises at least three neighboring contact pins, wherein a first distance between a first contact point on a middle contact pin and a first neighboring contact point on a first neighboring contact pin is unequal to a second distance between the middle contact point and a second neighboring contact point on a second neighboring contact pin in order to enable an asymmetrical arrangement of the contact points, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of a component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to change the shape of the contact surface in order to arrive at the results of claim 16. The contact points still electrically contact the two opposing electrical conductors; therefore new results are not produced.
In reference to claim 17, CN906 substantially teaches the claimed invention.
However CN906 does not teach wherein the adjacent contact pins are arranged on a radius connecting a through-opening of the base body and an edge of the contact element, wherein the first distance is greater than or equal to 0.5 mm and less than or equal to 1.5 mm and wherein the second distance is greater than or equal to 1.5 times the first distance.
It has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. Rearranging the adjacent contact pins in order to arrive at the results of claim 17 is seen as an obvious modification.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to change the shape of the contact surface in order to arrive at the results of claim 17. The contact points still electrically contact the two opposing electrical conductors; therefore new results are not produced.
In reference to claim 18, CN906 teaches structuring a base body (1) to form a structured contact surface (See fig. 3), the structured contact surface having a plurality of collecting recesses (i.e. the space between 1a; fig. 3) for receiving oxide and a plurality of contact protrusions (1a) for contacting the conductor.
However, CN906 does not teach coating the structured contact surface with nickel to form a nickel layer, the nickel layer for hardening the contact protrusions so that the coated contact protrusions break an oxide layer on the conductor to be contacted upon connection to the conductor.
Juntwait teaches a nickel layer coating a contact surface (22; fig. 4. See col. 4, lines 10-14). Using the teachings of Juntwait to modify CN906 to arrive at the results of claim 20 is seen as an obvious modification.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teachings of Juntwait, as taught by Juntwait col. 4, lines 10-14, in order to improve the conduction, corrosion resistance and maximum durability of the contact element.
Further, CN906 does not teach wherein a ratio of a width at the base of the contact protrusion to a height of the contact protrusion is greater than or equal to 2 and less than or equal to 10.
It would have been obvious at the time of the claimed invention to change the shape of the contact protrusion so the that ratio of a width at the base of the contact protrusion to a height of the contact protrusion is greater than or equal to 2 and less than or equal to 10, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of a component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to change the shape of the contact protrusion in order to arrive at the results of claim 20. The contact protrusion still breaks through the oxide layer; therefore new results are not produced.
In reference to claim 19, CN906 substantially teaches the claimed invention.
However CN906 does not teach wherein the structured contact surface of the base body is structured to produce a collecting recess triangular in section perpendicular to the contact surface, wherein an angle in the collecting recess between a surface normal of the contact surface and an edge of the collecting recess is less than or equal to 30°, preferably less than 10°.
It would have been obvious at the time of the claimed invention to change the shape of the structured contact surface to arrive at the results of claim 19, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of a component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to change the shape of the structured contact surface in order to arrive at the results of claim 19. The structured contact structure still breaks through the oxide layer, therefore new results are not produced.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 107735906 A (herein CN906) and Juntwait 4826446 as applied to claim 18, further in view of CN 107342510 A (herein CN510).
In reference to claim 20, CN906 substantially teaches the claimed invention.
However CN906 does not teach wherein the structure of the collecting recesses is produced by embossing.
CN510 teaches of a structure produced by embossing (20; fig. 1-3). Using the teachings of CN510 to modify CN906 to arrive at the results of claim 20 is seen as an obvious modification.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teachings of CN510 to modify CN906 in order to improve the ease of mass producing base bodies with the same structure of the collecting recesses.
Conclusion
/TRAVIS S CHAMBERS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831 10/02/2026