DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. US 12004680 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because
Instant claims
Reference claims
Claim 1. A beverage brewer comprising:
a proximity sensor to detect a beverage server being within a reference range of the beverage brewer;
a brewing assembly to create a brewed beverage;
a communication device to wirelessly read brewed beverage data stored on the beverage server;
one or more processors;
one or more data storage devices having stored therein a plurality of instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the beverage brewer to:
read, using the communication device,
at least a portion of the brewed beverage data stored on the beverage server in response to the proximity sensor detecting the beverage server coming within the reference range of the beverage brewer; and
initiate one or more actions based on the brewed beverage data read from the beverage server.
Claim 15. A beverage brewing system…
a beverage brewer comprising:
a proximity sensor to detect the beverage server being within a reference range of the beverage brewer;
a brewing assembly to create a brewed beverage;
a communication device to wirelessly read the brewed beverage data from the information device of the beverage server;
one or more processors;
one or more data storage devices having stored therein a plurality of instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the beverage brewer to:
read, using the communication device, the brewed beverage data from the information device of the beverage server; and
send control signals to the brewing assembly to create the brewed beverage according to the beverage recipe.
Claim 16. The beverage brewing system of claim 15, further comprising instructions to read, using the communication device, the brewed beverage data from the information device of the beverage server in response to the proximity sensor detecting that the beverage server is within the reference range of the beverage brewer.
Claim 1…. send control signals to the brewing assembly to create the brewed beverage according to the beverage recipe.
Claims 2-20
Claims 2-18
Claim Objections
Claims 13 and 17 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 13 recites “bean type bean,” this should be –bean type--.
Claim 17 recites “modify the beverage recipe based on input received to create…” this sentence is confusing and should be changed into something like –modify the beverage recipe based on input to create--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 9, 10, 15, and 17-19 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites “the beverage recipe of the beverage server,” this should be --a beverage recipe of the beverage server--.
Claim 15 recites “the reference range,” this should be –a reference range--.
Claim 18 and 19 recites “the user interface,” this should be –a user interface--.
Claims 4, 9, and 17 recites “a brewed beverage” when claim 1 already recites “a brewed beverage” and it is unclear which brewed beverage is being referred to.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 6, 14-15, 17, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ost (US 9334150 B1).
Claim 1. Ost discloses a beverage brewer (liquid dispensing system 91, Fig. 9, wherein the dispenser can dispense hot beverages as part of the customized drink, col 8, lines 25-26; the broadest reasonable interpretation of “brewer or brewing” includes preparing a hot drink) comprising:
a proximity sensor (infrared proximity sensor, Fig. 10) to detect a beverage server (infrared proximity sensor detects the position of the cup, col 11, lines 20-25) being within a reference range of the beverage brewer (infrared proximity sensor detects the position of the cup, col 11, lines 20-25);
a brewing assembly (liquid dispensing system 91) to create a brewed beverage (dispensing system dispenses a beverage, abstract);
a communication device to wirelessly read brewed beverage data stored on the beverage server (RFID reader 1411 reads the RFID tag on the container, claim 1);
one or more processors (controller board may have a CPU, Fig. 14);
one or more data storage devices having stored therein a plurality of instructions that (controller stores data corresponding to the liquid type, size of the container, and drink selections associated with each container, col 6, lines 15-30), when executed by the one or more processors, cause the beverage brewer to:
read, using the communication device (reader 32 reads the tag 28 through RFID, col 4, lines 30-40),
at least a portion of the brewed beverage data stored on the beverage server in response to the proximity sensor detecting the beverage server coming within the reference range of the beverage brewer (RFID data is read and the extracted from a unique pre-set ID stored in memory, if they match, then the liquid is dispensed based on the size of the container, claim 1); and
initiate one or more actions based on the brewed beverage data read from the beverage server (RFID data is read and the extracted from a unique pre-set ID stored in memory, if they match, then the liquid is dispensed based on the size of the container, claim 1).
Claim 2. Ost discloses the beverage brewer of claim 1, wherein the brewed beverage data comprises at least one beverage recipe (customized drink selection, claim 8), and further comprising instructions to send control signals to the brewing assembly to create the brewed beverage according to the beverage recipe (customized drink selection shared by the user can be created, claim 8).
Claims 4 and 17. Ost discloses the beverage brewer of claim 2, further comprising instructions to:
modify the beverage recipe based on input received from a user interface to create a modified beverage recipe (consumer selects and customizes their beverage, col 5, lines 50-55); and
send control signals to the brewing assembly to create a brewed beverage according to the modified beverage recipe (after consumer selects a final option, the drink is made, col 5, lines 55-60).
Claim 6. Ost discloses the beverage brewer of claim 4, further comprising instructions to store the modified beverage recipe on the beverage server using the communication device (customized beverage is stored on the application server, claim 8).
Claim 14. Ost discloses the beverage brewer of claim 2, further comprising a display (display screen 142, claim 1), and instructions to present at least a portion of the beverage recipe on the display (controller displays the options that the customer can select for creating the drink on the display screen, claim 1).
Claim 15. Ost discloses one or more non-transitory data storage devices comprising a plurality of instructions stored thereon that (controller board has CPU which can store data, Fig. 14), in response to being executed, cause a beverage brewer (liquid dispensing system 91, Fig. 9) to:
read, using a communication device of the beverage brewer (reader 32 reads the tag 28 through RFID, col 4, lines 30-40), a beverage recipe stored on a beverage server (customized beverage is stored on the application server, claim 8) in response to a proximity sensor of the beverage brewer detecting the beverage server coming within the reference range of the beverage brewer (infrared proximity sensor detects the position of the cup and then the RFID tag is read, col 11, lines 20-25); and
send control signals to create a brewed beverage according to the beverage recipe (RFID data is read and the extracted from a unique pre-set ID stored in memory, if they match, then the liquid is dispensed based on the size of the container, claim 1).
Claim 20. Ost discloses a beverage dispenser (liquid dispensing system 91, Fig. 9) comprising:
a proximity sensor (infrared proximity sensor, Fig. 10) to detect a beverage container (infrared proximity sensor detects the position of the cup, col 11, lines 20-25) being within a reference range of the beverage dispenser (infrared proximity sensor detects the position of the cup, col 11, lines 20-25);
a dispensing assembly (liquid dispensing system 91) to dispense a beverage (dispensing system dispenses a beverage, abstract);
a communication device to wirelessly read a beverage recipe stored on the beverage container (RFID reader 1411 reads the RFID tag on the container, claim 1);
one or more processors (controller board may have a CPU, Fig. 14);
one or more data storage devices having stored therein a plurality of instructions that (controller stores data corresponding to the liquid type, size of the container, and drink selections associated with each container, col 6, lines 15-30), when executed by the one or more processors, cause the beverage dispenser to:
read, using the communication device (reader 32 reads the tag 28 through RFID, col 4, lines 30-40),
at least a portion of the beverage recipe stored on the beverage container in response to the proximity sensor detecting the beverage container coming within the reference range of the beverage dispenser (RFID data is read and the extracted from a unique pre-set ID stored in memory, if they match, then the liquid is dispensed based on the size of the container, claim 1); and
send control signals to the dispensing assembly to dispense the beverage according to the beverage recipe (RFID data is read and the extracted from a unique pre-set ID stored in memory, if they match, then the liquid is dispensed based on the size of the container, claim 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ost as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Kuempel (US 2015/0201796 A1).
Claims 3 and 16. Ost does not disclose the beverage brewer of claim 2, further comprising instructions to:
prompt for confirmation to brew according to the beverage recipe; and
in response to receiving confirmation, send control signals to the brewing assembly to create the brewed beverage according to the beverage recipe.
Kuempel discloses a coffee machine wherein the user can select a brew recipe and then once the parameters are selected and the user confirms the selection, the machine begins to brew the drink (par. 135).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ost to incorporate the teachings of Kuempel and provide a confirmation of the selected recipe. Doing so would have the benefit of ensuring that the user confirms the brewing recipe.
Claim(s) 5, 7, 9, and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ost as applied to claims 1 and 2 above, and further in view of Knepler (US 2003/0129286 A1).
Claims 5 and 18. Ost does not disclose the beverage brewer of claim 4, wherein to modify the beverage recipe comprises to modify one or more of bean type, brewed volume, ground setting, water temperature, by-pass volume, drip-out time, pulse rate, pre-wet volume, initial pre-infusion volume, or spray head operation based on input received from the user interface.
Knepler discloses a coffee brewer with a reader can read information on a data storage device 20a (Fig. 1, par. 77), wherein the user or controller can modify the recipe of the drink (par. 61), wherein the adjustments can include type of grounds, volume for various quantities of coffee brewed, etc (par. 74).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ost to incorporate the teachings of Knepler and provide that the coffee type and brewed volume be included in the recipe parameters. Doing so would have the benefit of brewing different types of coffee (par. 74, Knepler).
Claims 7 and 19. Ost does not disclose the beverage brewer of claim 4, further comprising instructions to determine whether the modified beverage recipe is invalid, and
in response to a determination that the modified beverage recipe is invalid, to: prevent creation of the brewed beverage; and/or
presenting a message indicating the modified beverage recipe is invalid.
Knepler discloses a coffee brewer with a reader can read information on a data storage device 20a (Fig. 1, par. 77), wherein different funnels are restricted for different types of coffee and if the funnel is missing or improperly positioned the system may lockout or prevent dispensing (par. 77 and 88). Additional alerts, such as, flashing lights or words on the display screen may be used (par. 88).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ost to incorporate the teachings of Knepler and prevent brewing or include alerts when the funnel is improperly placed or if the wrong funnel is being used with the wrong recipe. Doing so would have the benefit of preventing errors when brewing (par. 77, Knepler).
Claim 9. Ost does not disclose the beverage brewer of claim 1, further comprising a funnel assembly connectable with the brewing assembly to create a brewed beverage and dispense the brewed beverage into the beverage server, wherein the funnel assembly is configured to store brewed beverage data comprising a beverage recipe.
Knepler discloses a coffee brewer with a reader can read information on a data storage device 20a that is attached to a funnel (Fig. 1, par. 77). The funnel’s data storage device may contain the brewing parameters associated with the funnel such as the substance type and quantity (par. 79).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ost to incorporate the teachings of Knepler and using a funnel for brewing coffee and retaining data on the funnel. Doing so would have the benefit of preventing errors when brewing coffee with different funnels (par. 77, Knepler).
Claim 13. Ost does not disclose the beverage brewer of claim 2, wherein the beverage recipe comprises one or more of a bean type bean, brewing parameters for the bean type, or a beverage volume to be brewed.
Knepler discloses a coffee brewer with a reader can read information on a data storage device 20a that is attached to a funnel (Fig. 1, par. 77). The funnel’s data storage device may contain the brewing parameters associated with the funnel such as the substance type and quantity (par. 79).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ost to incorporate the teachings of Knepler and using a funnel for brewing coffee and retaining data on the funnel. Doing so would have the benefit of preventing errors when brewing coffee with different funnels (par. 77, Knepler).
Claim(s) 8 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ost in view of Knepler as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Lussi (US 2015/0027315 A1).
Claim 8. Ost in view of Knepler discloses the beverage brewer of claim 7, wherein the determination that the modified beverage recipe is invalid comprises to:
different funnels may be dedicated to different flavors of coffee as well as different quantities of coffee and the communication device reading the storage device prevents mismatching recipe, par. 77, Knepler).
Lussi discloses a beverage machine wherein the RFID code is used to check and determine whether a suitable or correct ingredient container is being used (par. 52).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ost in view of Knepler to incorporate the teachings of Lussi and determine if the correct container is being used. Doing so would have the benefit of preventing the wrong funnel from being used with the wrong flavor.
Claim 10. Ost in view of Knepler does not explicitly disclose the beverage brewer of claim 9, further comprising instructions to detect a conflict between the beverage recipe of the funnel assembly and the beverage recipe of the beverage server.
Knepler discloses the possibility of the user using the wrong funnel for a set recipe (par. 81)
Lussi discloses a beverage machine wherein the RFID code is used to check and determine whether a suitable or correct ingredient container is being used (par. 52).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ost in view of Knepler to incorporate the teachings of Knepler and Lussi and determine if the wrong funnel is being used for the set recipe. Doing so would have the benefit of preventing errors when brewing coffee (par. 52, Lussi).
Claim(s) 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ost in view of Knepler and Lussi as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Hart (US 7268698 B2).
Claim 11. Ost in view of Knepler and Lussi discloses the beverage brewer of claim 10, further comprising instructions to
Ost in view of Knepler and Lussi does not disclose determining whether to make the brewed beverage based on the funnel’s recipe or the beverage recipe of the server in response to a conflict.
Knepler further discloses that the user can decide if the system chooses if the recipe is read from the funnel or from the brewer’s own memory (par. 122 and 131). And additionally, it was disclosed that in a situation where there is a conflict in recipe, that the system will just read the recipe from the funnel (par. 81).
Hart discloses a beverage machine that detects if the container is full or above the desired level to prevent overflow (col 6, lines 30-35).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ost in view of Knepler and Lussi to incorporate the teachings of Knepler, Lussi, and Hart and determine which recipe to use in order to prevent overflow in the container. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that if the batch size resides in the data storage of the funnel (par. 125, Knepler) is different from the batch size residing in the data of the container, a determination must be made to prevent overflow in the container.
Claim 12. Ost in view of Knepler, Lussi, and Hart discloses the beverage brewer of claim 11, wherein to determine which of the beverage recipes to create the brewed beverage comprises to determine a default preference between the funnel assembly and the beverage server (system creates the brewed beverage based on the data from the funnel instead of the user’s recipe, par. 81, Knepler).
Conclusion
/SIMPSON A CHEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/ELIZABETH M KERR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761