DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to amendment filed on 7/1/2026
This action is made Final.
Claims 1-6 and 8-20 are pending in the case. Claims 1, 15, and 16 are independent claims. Claims 1, 8, 13-15 have been amended. Claim 7 has been canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and corresponding independent claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 14 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wehrman (USPUB 20220374139 from IDS filed 9/26/2025) in view of Herlitz (USPUB 20150261391).
Claim 1:
Wehrman teaches A method, comprising: in response to receiving an instruction to invoke a media editing functionality of an application, rendering, by an electronic device, a user interface of the application on the electronic device, wherein the user interface comprises a first image and an image sliding bar, wherein the image sliding bar comprises a plurality of selected images, and wherein the plurality of selected images respectively correspond to a plurality of images stored in a media library accessible by the application; receiving a first user interaction with the user interface; in response to the first user interaction, hiding the image sliding bar; receiving a second user interaction with the user interface; and in response to the second user interaction, displaying the image sliding bar (0048-50, 0052 and 0099: Upon activation of the video editing application 206, a home screen (not shown) is presented to a user. The home screen presents a full-screen carousel of projects that the user has worked on in the past within a project listing interface component. The user has the option to swipe horizontally to look through past projects, delete or duplicate the active projects, or tap ‘View all’ to see all projects in a more compact grid view... The video editing application 206 provides a variety of tools for creating and editing video projects... Added video and images are previewed in a canvas 104 as described with reference to FIG. 1, and various tool functions 114 are presented below the canvas 104 in a tool navigation bar that scrolls horizontally... A user can tap on the canvas 104 to start playback and preview an active project. When playback starts, on-canvas interface elements (e.g., the project element carousel 110, the tool navigation bar 118, the tool function bar 112, and various buttons) are temporarily hidden so that the user can preview video in a full-screen mode of a client system 106, unobstructed by user interface elements and as it will be outputted from the video edit project. A subsequent and further tap on the canvas 104 pauses the preview playback and again reveals the temporarily hidden interface elements... An add button 606 that opens a media picker that allows using to select one or more images or videos from a device camera roll or from cloud storage) wherein the method further comprises: after hiding the image sliding bar and in response to detecting [a pause to playback], displaying a second user interactive element on the user interface, wherein the second user interactive element comprise a carousel indicator (0091-93: A canvas 104: when playback of content within the canvas 104 is active, no visible user interface elements are presented within the canvas 104. When playback is paused, a playhead location tool, in the example form of a scrubber 504, is presented above the main tool bar 118. Further, a label (e.g., “tap to play”) may be presented in conjunction with the canvas 104 to indicate a user interaction to resume playback on a project elements (e.g., a video clip) on the canvas 104. Accordingly, when playback is paused, the user may restart playback by interacting (e.g., tapping), on the canvas 104... A main tool bar 118, project element carousel 110, and tool function bar 112: the tool navigation bar 118 is positioned between the canvas 104 and a project element carousel 110, and includes a horizontally scrollable list of tool icons, associated with a collection of video editing tools (e.g., those described above as being supported by the video editing application). User input (e.g., tapping) related to a particular tool icon operationally activates the corresponding video editing tool, and also causes display of a background to the relevant tool icon, thus providing a visual indication of which of the tools is currently selected and active. Activation of the relevant tool also updates the project element carousel 110 and the tool function bar 112 accordingly. For example, the project element carousel 110 may be updated to include project elements (e.g., media content) that are specific to the tool. Further examples of tool-specific project elements are described below. The updating of the tool function bar 112 also updates the collection of tool functions to show icons or other indicia representative of functions supported by the selected tool... It should be noted that selecting a particular tool icon within the main tool bar 118 does not change the current playback state (e.g., play/pause). Further, during the playback of content within the canvas 104, the main tool bar 118 may be hidden).
Wehrman, by itself, does not seem to teach wherein the method further comprises: after hiding the image sliding bar and in response to detecting no user interaction with the user interface for a time period, displaying a second user interactive element on the user interface.
The Examiner maintains that these features were previously well-known as taught by Herlitz.
Herlitz teaches wherein the method further comprises: after hiding the image sliding bar and in response to detecting no user interaction with the user interface for a time period, displaying a second user interactive element on the user interface (0045: the workflow definition 110 can define specific elements or information that can remain stationary within the interface display area 520 so that it can be displayed regardless of the active interface element. This can help provide contextual information regarding the active interface element. In some embodiments, interface elements may be linked so that designated inactive interface elements are displayed at the same time as a specific active element. For example, in one embodiment, the reload amount element 528 could be displayed instead of the card balance element 526 because the reload amount may help or influence the user's selection of a specific payment type).
Wehrman and Herlitz are analogous art because they are from the same problem-solving area, controlling the presentation of additional UI elements over a main content display area.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Wehrman and Herlitz before him or her, to combine the teachings of Wehrman and Herlitz. The rationale for doing so would have been to provide visual feedback to a user interacting with UI elements.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Wehrman and Herlitz to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim(s).
Claim 14:
Wehrman discloses An apparatus, comprising: one or more processors; and one or more computer-readable memories coupled to the one or more processors and having instructions stored thereon (0328), wherein the instructions are executable by the one or more processors to perform operations comprising: in response to receiving an instruction to invoke a media editing functionality of an application, rendering a user interface of the application on the apparatus, wherein the user interface comprises a first image and an image sliding bar, wherein the image sliding bar comprises a plurality of selected images, and wherein the plurality of selected images respectively correspond to a plurality of images stored in a media library accessible by the application; receiving a first user interaction with the user interface; in response to the first user interaction, hiding the image sliding bar; receiving a second user interaction with the user interface; and in response to the second user interaction, displaying the image sliding bar (0048-50, 0052 and 0099: Upon activation of the video editing application 206, a home screen (not shown) is presented to a user. The home screen presents a full-screen carousel of projects that the user has worked on in the past within a project listing interface component. The user has the option to swipe horizontally to look through past projects, delete or duplicate the active projects, or tap ‘View all’ to see all projects in a more compact grid view... The video editing application 206 provides a variety of tools for creating and editing video projects... Added video and images are previewed in a canvas 104 as described with reference to FIG. 1, and various tool functions 114 are presented below the canvas 104 in a tool navigation bar that scrolls horizontally... A user can tap on the canvas 104 to start playback and preview an active project. When playback starts, on-canvas interface elements (e.g., the project element carousel 110, the tool navigation bar 118, the tool function bar 112, and various buttons) are temporarily hidden so that the user can preview video in a full-screen mode of a client system 106, unobstructed by user interface elements and as it will be outputted from the video edit project. A subsequent and further tap on the canvas 104 pauses the preview playback and again reveals the temporarily hidden interface elements... An add button 606 that opens a media picker that allows using to select one or more images or videos from a device camera roll or from cloud storage).
wherein the method further comprises: after hiding the image sliding bar and in response to detecting [a pause to playback], displaying a second user interactive element on the user interface, wherein the second user interactive element comprise a carousel indicator (0091-93: A canvas 104: when playback of content within the canvas 104 is active, no visible user interface elements are presented within the canvas 104. When playback is paused, a playhead location tool, in the example form of a scrubber 504, is presented above the main tool bar 118. Further, a label (e.g., “tap to play”) may be presented in conjunction with the canvas 104 to indicate a user interaction to resume playback on a project elements (e.g., a video clip) on the canvas 104. Accordingly, when playback is paused, the user may restart playback by interacting (e.g., tapping), on the canvas 104... A main tool bar 118, project element carousel 110, and tool function bar 112: the tool navigation bar 118 is positioned between the canvas 104 and a project element carousel 110, and includes a horizontally scrollable list of tool icons, associated with a collection of video editing tools (e.g., those described above as being supported by the video editing application). User input (e.g., tapping) related to a particular tool icon operationally activates the corresponding video editing tool, and also causes display of a background to the relevant tool icon, thus providing a visual indication of which of the tools is currently selected and active. Activation of the relevant tool also updates the project element carousel 110 and the tool function bar 112 accordingly. For example, the project element carousel 110 may be updated to include project elements (e.g., media content) that are specific to the tool. Further examples of tool-specific project elements are described below. The updating of the tool function bar 112 also updates the collection of tool functions to show icons or other indicia representative of functions supported by the selected tool... It should be noted that selecting a particular tool icon within the main tool bar 118 does not change the current playback state (e.g., play/pause). Further, during the playback of content within the canvas 104, the main tool bar 118 may be hidden).
Wehrman, by itself, does not seem to teach wherein the method further comprises: after hiding the image sliding bar and in response to detecting no user interaction with the user interface for a time period, displaying a second user interactive element on the user interface.
The Examiner maintains that these features were previously well-known as taught by Herlitz.
Herlitz teaches wherein the method further comprises: after hiding the image sliding bar and in response to detecting no user interaction with the user interface for a time period, displaying a second user interactive element on the user interface (0045: the workflow definition 110 can define specific elements or information that can remain stationary within the interface display area 520 so that it can be displayed regardless of the active interface element. This can help provide contextual information regarding the active interface element. In some embodiments, interface elements may be linked so that designated inactive interface elements are displayed at the same time as a specific active element. For example, in one embodiment, the reload amount element 528 could be displayed instead of the card balance element 526 because the reload amount may help or influence the user's selection of a specific payment type).
Wehrman and Herlitz are analogous art because they are from the same problem-solving area, controlling the presentation of additional UI elements over a main content display area.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Wehrman and Herlitz before him or her, to combine the teachings of Wehrman and Herlitz. The rationale for doing so would have been to provide visual feedback to a user interacting with UI elements.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Wehrman and Herlitz to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim(s).
Claim 15:
Wehrman discloses A non-transitory computer readable storage medium, wherein the non-transitory computer readable storage medium stores programing instructions executable by one or more processors (0363) to perform operations comprising: in response to receiving an instruction to invoke a media editing functionality of an application, rendering a user interface of the application on an electronic device, wherein the user interface comprises a first image and an image sliding bar, wherein the image sliding bar comprises a plurality of selected images, and wherein the plurality of selected images respectively correspond to a plurality of images stored in a media library accessible by the application; receiving a first user interaction with the user interface; in response to the first user interaction, hiding the image sliding bar; receiving a second user interaction with the user interface; and in response to the second user interaction, displaying the image sliding bar (0048-50, 0052 and 0099: Upon activation of the video editing application 206, a home screen (not shown) is presented to a user. The home screen presents a full-screen carousel of projects that the user has worked on in the past within a project listing interface component. The user has the option to swipe horizontally to look through past projects, delete or duplicate the active projects, or tap ‘View all’ to see all projects in a more compact grid view... The video editing application 206 provides a variety of tools for creating and editing video projects... Added video and images are previewed in a canvas 104 as described with reference to FIG. 1, and various tool functions 114 are presented below the canvas 104 in a tool navigation bar that scrolls horizontally... A user can tap on the canvas 104 to start playback and preview an active project. When playback starts, on-canvas interface elements (e.g., the project element carousel 110, the tool navigation bar 118, the tool function bar 112, and various buttons) are temporarily hidden so that the user can preview video in a full-screen mode of a client system 106, unobstructed by user interface elements and as it will be outputted from the video edit project. A subsequent and further tap on the canvas 104 pauses the preview playback and again reveals the temporarily hidden interface elements... An add button 606 that opens a media picker that allows using to select one or more images or videos from a device camera roll or from cloud storage).
wherein the method further comprises: after hiding the image sliding bar and in response to detecting [a pause to playback], displaying a second user interactive element on the user interface, wherein the second user interactive element comprise a carousel indicator (0091-93: A canvas 104: when playback of content within the canvas 104 is active, no visible user interface elements are presented within the canvas 104. When playback is paused, a playhead location tool, in the example form of a scrubber 504, is presented above the main tool bar 118. Further, a label (e.g., “tap to play”) may be presented in conjunction with the canvas 104 to indicate a user interaction to resume playback on a project elements (e.g., a video clip) on the canvas 104. Accordingly, when playback is paused, the user may restart playback by interacting (e.g., tapping), on the canvas 104... A main tool bar 118, project element carousel 110, and tool function bar 112: the tool navigation bar 118 is positioned between the canvas 104 and a project element carousel 110, and includes a horizontally scrollable list of tool icons, associated with a collection of video editing tools (e.g., those described above as being supported by the video editing application). User input (e.g., tapping) related to a particular tool icon operationally activates the corresponding video editing tool, and also causes display of a background to the relevant tool icon, thus providing a visual indication of which of the tools is currently selected and active. Activation of the relevant tool also updates the project element carousel 110 and the tool function bar 112 accordingly. For example, the project element carousel 110 may be updated to include project elements (e.g., media content) that are specific to the tool. Further examples of tool-specific project elements are described below. The updating of the tool function bar 112 also updates the collection of tool functions to show icons or other indicia representative of functions supported by the selected tool... It should be noted that selecting a particular tool icon within the main tool bar 118 does not change the current playback state (e.g., play/pause). Further, during the playback of content within the canvas 104, the main tool bar 118 may be hidden).
Wehrman, by itself, does not seem to teach wherein the method further comprises: after hiding the image sliding bar and in response to detecting no user interaction with the user interface for a time period, displaying a second user interactive element on the user interface.
The Examiner maintains that these features were previously well-known as taught by Herlitz.
Herlitz teaches wherein the method further comprises: after hiding the image sliding bar and in response to detecting no user interaction with the user interface for a time period, displaying a second user interactive element on the user interface (0045: the workflow definition 110 can define specific elements or information that can remain stationary within the interface display area 520 so that it can be displayed regardless of the active interface element. This can help provide contextual information regarding the active interface element. In some embodiments, interface elements may be linked so that designated inactive interface elements are displayed at the same time as a specific active element. For example, in one embodiment, the reload amount element 528 could be displayed instead of the card balance element 526 because the reload amount may help or influence the user's selection of a specific payment type).
Wehrman and Herlitz are analogous art because they are from the same problem-solving area, controlling the presentation of additional UI elements over a main content display area.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Wehrman and Herlitz before him or her, to combine the teachings of Wehrman and Herlitz. The rationale for doing so would have been to provide visual feedback to a user interacting with UI elements.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Wehrman and Herlitz to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim(s).
Claim(s) 2-9, 12, 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wehrman and Herlitz, in view of Xu (USPUB 20230376264 A1).
Claim 2:
Wehrman in view of Herlitz teaches every feature of claim 1.
Wehrman, by itself, does not seem to completely teach the user interface further comprises an icon of a first interactive element, and the icon of the first interactive element is switchable between a first icon and a second icon based on user interactions with the first interactive element.
The Examiner maintains that these features were previously well-known as taught by Xu.
Xu teaches the user interface further comprises an icon of a first interactive element, and the icon of the first interactive element is switchable between a first icon and a second icon based on user interactions with the first interactive element (Figs 10A-10C, 0113-114: The user may control, by tapping the icon 901, the head unit to display the head unit interface of Video in full screen and hide the navigation bar...the mobile phone displays the mobile phone interface of Video, and the head unit displays the head unit interface of Video in non-full screen, in response to tapping the icon 901 by the user, the head unit displays the head unit interface of Video in full screen, as shown in FIG. 10B. Further, in some embodiments, in response to tapping the icon 901 by the user, the mobile phone switches the icon 901 to an icon 901′. When the mobile phone displays the mobile phone interface of video, and the head unit displays the head unit interface of Video in full screen as shown in FIG. 10B, in response to tapping the icon 901′ by the user, the head unit displays the head unit interface of Video in non-full screen, and the mobile phone switches the icon 901′ to the icon 901).
Wehrman and Xu are analogous art because they are from the same problem-solving area, controlling the presentation of additional UI elements over a main content display area.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Wehrman and Xu before him or her, to combine the teachings of Wehrman and Xu. The rationale for doing so would have been to provide visual feedback to a user interacting with UI elements.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Wehrman and Xu to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim(s).
Claim 3:
Wehrman discloses every feature of claim 1.
Wehrman, by itself, does not seem to completely teach the first user interaction comprises a swipe-down gesture on the user interface or a tap on the first icon of the first interactive element.
The Examiner maintains that these features were previously well-known as taught by Xu.
Xu teaches the first user interaction comprises a swipe-down gesture on the user interface or a tap on the first icon of the first interactive element (Figs 10A-10C, 0113-114: The user may control, by tapping the icon 901, the head unit to display the head unit interface of Video in full screen and hide the navigation bar...the mobile phone displays the mobile phone interface of Video, and the head unit displays the head unit interface of Video in non-full screen, in response to tapping the icon 901 by the user, the head unit displays the head unit interface of Video in full screen, as shown in FIG. 10B. Further, in some embodiments, in response to tapping the icon 901 by the user, the mobile phone switches the icon 901 to an icon 901′. When the mobile phone displays the mobile phone interface of video, and the head unit displays the head unit interface of Video in full screen as shown in FIG. 10B, in response to tapping the icon 901′ by the user, the head unit displays the head unit interface of Video in non-full screen, and the mobile phone switches the icon 901′ to the icon 901).
Wehrman and Xu are analogous art because they are from the same problem-solving area, controlling the presentation of additional UI elements over a main content display area.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Wehrman and Xu before him or her, to combine the teachings of Wehrman and Xu. The rationale for doing so would have been to provide a clear UI element a user can interact with alter the presentation in a desired manner.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Wehrman and Xu to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim(s).
Claim 4:
Wehrman, by itself, does not seem to completely teach in response to the first user interaction, the method further comprises: switching the first icon of the first interactive element to the second icon of the first interactive element.
The Examiner maintains that these features were previously well-known as taught by Xu.
Xu teaches in response to the first user interaction, the method further comprises: switching the first icon of the first interactive element to the second icon of the first interactive element (Figs 10A-10C, 0113-114: The user may control, by tapping the icon 901, the head unit to display the head unit interface of Video in full screen and hide the navigation bar...the mobile phone displays the mobile phone interface of Video, and the head unit displays the head unit interface of Video in non-full screen, in response to tapping the icon 901 by the user, the head unit displays the head unit interface of Video in full screen, as shown in FIG. 10B. Further, in some embodiments, in response to tapping the icon 901 by the user, the mobile phone switches the icon 901 to an icon 901′. When the mobile phone displays the mobile phone interface of video, and the head unit displays the head unit interface of Video in full screen as shown in FIG. 10B, in response to tapping the icon 901′ by the user, the head unit displays the head unit interface of Video in non-full screen, and the mobile phone switches the icon 901′ to the icon 901).
Wehrman and Xu are analogous art because they are from the same problem-solving area, controlling the presentation of additional UI elements over a main content display area.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Wehrman and Xu before him or her, to combine the teachings of Wehrman and Xu. The rationale for doing so would have been to provide visual feedback to a user interacting with UI elements.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Wehrman and Xu to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim(s).
Claim 5:
Wehrman, by itself, does not seem to completely teach the second user interaction comprises a swipe-up gesture on the user interface or a tap on the second icon of the first interactive element.
The Examiner maintains that these features were previously well-known as taught by Xu.
Xu teaches the second user interaction comprises a swipe-up gesture on the user interface or a tap on the second icon of the first interactive element (Figs 10A-10C, 0113-114: The user may control, by tapping the icon 901, the head unit to display the head unit interface of Video in full screen and hide the navigation bar...the mobile phone displays the mobile phone interface of Video, and the head unit displays the head unit interface of Video in non-full screen, in response to tapping the icon 901 by the user, the head unit displays the head unit interface of Video in full screen, as shown in FIG. 10B. Further, in some embodiments, in response to tapping the icon 901 by the user, the mobile phone switches the icon 901 to an icon 901′. When the mobile phone displays the mobile phone interface of video, and the head unit displays the head unit interface of Video in full screen as shown in FIG. 10B, in response to tapping the icon 901′ by the user, the head unit displays the head unit interface of Video in non-full screen, and the mobile phone switches the icon 901′ to the icon 901).
Wehrman and Xu are analogous art because they are from the same problem-solving area, controlling the presentation of additional UI elements over a main content display area.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Wehrman and Xu before him or her, to combine the teachings of Wehrman and Xu. The rationale for doing so would have been to provide visual feedback to a user interacting with UI elements.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Wehrman and Xu to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim(s).
Claim 6:
Wehrman, by itself, does not seem to completely teach in response to the second user interaction, the method further comprises: switching the second icon of the first interactive element to the first icon of the first interactive element.
The Examiner maintains that these features were previously well-known as taught by Xu.
Xu teaches in response to the second user interaction, the method further comprises: switching the second icon of the first interactive element to the first icon of the first interactive element (Figs 10A-10C, 0113-114: The user may control, by tapping the icon 901, the head unit to display the head unit interface of Video in full screen and hide the navigation bar...the mobile phone displays the mobile phone interface of Video, and the head unit displays the head unit interface of Video in non-full screen, in response to tapping the icon 901 by the user, the head unit displays the head unit interface of Video in full screen, as shown in FIG. 10B. Further, in some embodiments, in response to tapping the icon 901 by the user, the mobile phone switches the icon 901 to an icon 901′. When the mobile phone displays the mobile phone interface of video, and the head unit displays the head unit interface of Video in full screen as shown in FIG. 10B, in response to tapping the icon 901′ by the user, the head unit displays the head unit interface of Video in non-full screen, and the mobile phone switches the icon 901′ to the icon 901).
Wehrman and Xu are analogous art because they are from the same problem-solving area, controlling the presentation of additional UI elements over a main content display area.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Wehrman and Xu before him or her, to combine the teachings of Wehrman and Xu. The rationale for doing so would have been to provide visual feedback to a user interacting with UI elements.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Wehrman and Xu to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim(s).
Claim 8:
Wehrman teaches receiving a third user interaction with the user interface, wherein the third user interaction comprises a swipe-up gesture or a tap on the second user interactive element; and in response to the third user interaction, displaying the image sliding bar (0091-93: A canvas 104: when playback of content within the canvas 104 is active, no visible user interface elements are presented within the canvas 104. When playback is paused, a playhead location tool, in the example form of a scrubber 504, is presented above the main tool bar 118. Further, a label (e.g., “tap to play”) may be presented in conjunction with the canvas 104 to indicate a user interaction to resume playback on a project elements (e.g., a video clip) on the canvas 104. Accordingly, when playback is paused, the user may restart playback by interacting (e.g., tapping), on the canvas 104... A main tool bar 118, project element carousel 110, and tool function bar 112: the tool navigation bar 118 is positioned between the canvas 104 and a project element carousel 110, and includes a horizontally scrollable list of tool icons, associated with a collection of video editing tools (e.g., those described above as being supported by the video editing application). User input (e.g., tapping) related to a particular tool icon operationally activates the corresponding video editing tool, and also causes display of a background to the relevant tool icon, thus providing a visual indication of which of the tools is currently selected and active. Activation of the relevant tool also updates the project element carousel 110 and the tool function bar 112 accordingly. For example, the project element carousel 110 may be updated to include project elements (e.g., media content) that are specific to the tool. Further examples of tool-specific project elements are described below. The updating of the tool function bar 112 also updates the collection of tool functions to show icons or other indicia representative of functions supported by the selected tool... It should be noted that selecting a particular tool icon within the main tool bar 118 does not change the current playback state (e.g., play/pause). Further, during the playback of content within the canvas 104, the main tool bar 118 may be hidden).
Claim 9:
Wehrman teaches the image sliding bar further comprises a third interactive element for accessing the media library accessible by the application, and the method comprises: receiving a fourth user interaction with the third interactive element; and in response to receiving the fourth user interaction with the third interactive element, displaying the media library (0048: Upon activation of the video editing application 206, a home screen (not shown) is presented to a user. The home screen presents a full-screen carousel of projects that the user has worked on in the past within a project listing interface component. The user has the option to swipe horizontally to look through past projects, delete or duplicate the active projects, or tap ‘View all’ to see all projects in a more compact grid view. Tapping a Create button on the home screen creates a new, empty project in the media content items 304).
Claim 12:
Wehrman teaches receiving a sixth user interaction with a particular image of the plurality of selected images in the image sliding bar, wherein the sixth user interaction with the particular image comprises: moving, while pressing on the particular image, the particular image to another location in the image sliding bar; and releasing the particular image at the another location; and in response to the sixth user interaction with the particular image, rearranging a display order of the plurality of selected images in the image sliding bar and displaying the particular image in a location between two images of the plurality of selected images that are nearest to the another location (0098, 0099, 0103, 0110: A tool function bar 112 presents a number of tool functions including: An add button 606 that opens a media picker that allows using to select one or more images or videos from a device camera roll or from cloud storage. The selected media items are then appended to the main timeline. The user may further press-and-hold a thumbnail of a media element in the main timeline to change the chronological ordering (or playback ordering) of the project element within the context of the main timeline ... A delete button 614 that removes the selected element from the main timeline... Performing a second type of user interaction (e.g., a long press) on a clip indicium transfers the clip tool user interface 602 into a reorder mode, which allows clips to be reordered within the project timeline. For example, a user can select a clip indicium and drag and drop that clip indicium to a different position within the project element carousel 110 in order to reorder the sequence of project elements in the project timeline).
Claim 16:
Wehrman in view of Herlitz teaches every feature of claim 15.
Wehrman, by itself, does not seem to completely teach the user interface further comprises an icon of a first interactive element, and the icon of the first interactive element is switchable between a first icon and a second icon based on user interactions with the first interactive element.
The Examiner maintains that these features were previously well-known as taught by Xu.
Xu teaches the user interface further comprises an icon of a first interactive element, and the icon of the first interactive element is switchable between a first icon and a second icon based on user interactions with the first interactive element (Figs 10A-10C, 0113-114: The user may control, by tapping the icon 901, the head unit to display the head unit interface of Video in full screen and hide the navigation bar...the mobile phone displays the mobile phone interface of Video, and the head unit displays the head unit interface of Video in non-full screen, in response to tapping the icon 901 by the user, the head unit displays the head unit interface of Video in full screen, as shown in FIG. 10B. Further, in some embodiments, in response to tapping the icon 901 by the user, the mobile phone switches the icon 901 to an icon 901′. When the mobile phone displays the mobile phone interface of video, and the head unit displays the head unit interface of Video in full screen as shown in FIG. 10B, in response to tapping the icon 901′ by the user, the head unit displays the head unit interface of Video in non-full screen, and the mobile phone switches the icon 901′ to the icon 901).
Wehrman and Xu are analogous art because they are from the same problem-solving area, controlling the presentation of additional UI elements over a main content display area.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Wehrman and Xu before him or her, to combine the teachings of Wehrman and Xu. The rationale for doing so would have been to provide visual feedback to a user interacting with UI elements.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Wehrman and Xu to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim(s).
Claim 17:
Wehrman, by itself, does not seem to completely teach the first user interaction comprises a swipe-down gesture on the user interface or a tap on the first icon of the first interactive element.
The Examiner maintains that these features were previously well-known as taught by Xu.
Xu teaches the first user interaction comprises a swipe-down gesture on the user interface or a tap on the first icon of the first interactive element (Figs 10A-10C, 0113-114: The user may control, by tapping the icon 901, the head unit to display the head unit interface of Video in full screen and hide the navigation bar...the mobile phone displays the mobile phone interface of Video, and the head unit displays the head unit interface of Video in non-full screen, in response to tapping the icon 901 by the user, the head unit displays the head unit interface of Video in full screen, as shown in FIG. 10B. Further, in some embodiments, in response to tapping the icon 901 by the user, the mobile phone switches the icon 901 to an icon 901′. When the mobile phone displays the mobile phone interface of video, and the head unit displays the head unit interface of Video in full screen as shown in FIG. 10B, in response to tapping the icon 901′ by the user, the head unit displays the head unit interface of Video in non-full screen, and the mobile phone switches the icon 901′ to the icon 901).
Wehrman and Xu are analogous art because they are from the same problem-solving area, controlling the presentation of additional UI elements over a main content display area.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Wehrman and Xu before him or her, to combine the teachings of Wehrman and Xu. The rationale for doing so would have been to provide a clear UI element a user can interact with alter the presentation in a desired manner.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Wehrman and Xu to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim(s).
Claim 18:
Wehrman, by itself, does not seem to completely teach in response to the first user interaction, the method further comprises: switching the first icon of the first interactive element to the second icon of the first interactive element.
The Examiner maintains that these features were previously well-known as taught by Xu.
Xu teaches in response to the first user interaction, the method further comprises: switching the first icon of the first interactive element to the second icon of the first interactive element (Figs 10A-10C, 0113-114: The user may control, by tapping the icon 901, the head unit to display the head unit interface of Video in full screen and hide the navigation bar...the mobile phone displays the mobile phone interface of Video, and the head unit displays the head unit interface of Video in non-full screen, in response to tapping the icon 901 by the user, the head unit displays the head unit interface of Video in full screen, as shown in FIG. 10B. Further, in some embodiments, in response to tapping the icon 901 by the user, the mobile phone switches the icon 901 to an icon 901′. When the mobile phone displays the mobile phone interface of video, and the head unit displays the head unit interface of Video in full screen as shown in FIG. 10B, in response to tapping the icon 901′ by the user, the head unit displays the head unit interface of Video in non-full screen, and the mobile phone switches the icon 901′ to the icon 901).
Wehrman and Xu are analogous art because they are from the same problem-solving area, controlling the presentation of additional UI elements over a main content display area.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Wehrman and Xu before him or her, to combine the teachings of Wehrman and Xu. The rationale for doing so would have been to provide visual feedback to a user interacting with UI elements.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Wehrman and Xu to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim(s).
Claim 19:
Wehrman, by itself, does not seem to completely teach the second user interaction comprises a swipe-up gesture on the user interface or a tap on the second icon of the first interactive element.
The Examiner maintains that these features were previously well-known as taught by Xu.
Xu teaches the second user interaction comprises a swipe-up gesture on the user interface or a tap on the second icon of the first interactive element (Figs 10A-10C, 0113-114: The user may control, by tapping the icon 901, the head unit to display the head unit interface of Video in full screen and hide the navigation bar...the mobile phone displays the mobile phone interface of Video, and the head unit displays the head unit interface of Video in non-full screen, in response to tapping the icon 901 by the user, the head unit displays the head unit interface of Video in full screen, as shown in FIG. 10B. Further, in some embodiments, in response to tapping the icon 901 by the user, the mobile phone switches the icon 901 to an icon 901′. When the mobile phone displays the mobile phone interface of video, and the head unit displays the head unit interface of Video in full screen as shown in FIG. 10B, in response to tapping the icon 901′ by the user, the head unit displays the head unit interface of Video in non-full screen, and the mobile phone switches the icon 901′ to the icon 901).
Wehrman and Xu are analogous art because they are from the same problem-solving area, controlling the presentation of additional UI elements over a main content display area.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Wehrman and Xu before him or her, to combine the teachings of Wehrman and Xu. The rationale for doing so would have been to provide visual feedback to a user interacting with UI elements.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Wehrman and Xu to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim(s).
Claim 20:
Wehrman, by itself, does not seem to completely teach in response to the second user interaction, the method further comprises: switching the second icon of the first interactive element to the first icon of the first interactive element.
The Examiner maintains that these features were previously well-known as taught by Xu.
Xu teaches in response to the second user interaction, the method further comprises: switching the second icon of the first interactive element to the first icon of the first interactive element (Figs 10A-10C, 0113-114: The user may control, by tapping the icon 901, the head unit to display the head unit interface of Video in full screen and hide the navigation bar...the mobile phone displays the mobile phone interface of Video, and the head unit displays the head unit interface of Video in non-full screen, in response to tapping the icon 901 by the user, the head unit displays the head unit interface of Video in full screen, as shown in FIG. 10B. Further, in some embodiments, in response to tapping the icon 901 by the user, the mobile phone switches the icon 901 to an icon 901′. When the mobile phone displays the mobile phone interface of video, and the head unit displays the head unit interface of Video in full screen as shown in FIG. 10B, in response to tapping the icon 901′ by the user, the head unit displays the head unit interface of Video in non-full screen, and the mobile phone switches the icon 901′ to the icon 901).
Wehrman and Xu are analogous art because they are from the same problem-solving area, controlling the presentation of additional UI elements over a main content display area.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Wehrman and Xu before him or her, to combine the teachings of Wehrman and Xu. The rationale for doing so would have been to provide visual feedback to a user interacting with UI elements.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Wehrman and Xu to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim(s).
Claim(s) 10 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wehrman in view of Herlitz and Xu and further in view of Andreas (USPUB 20120331385 A1).
Claim 10:
Wehrman teaches receiving a fifth user interaction with a particular image of the plurality of selected images in the image sliding bar, wherein the fifth user interaction with the particular image comprises pressing the particular image for a duration longer than a threshold; in response to the fifth user interaction with the particular image, displaying a deletion icon in a space of the user interface other than a space occupied by the image sliding bar (0098, 0099, 0103, 0110: A tool function bar 112 presents a number of tool functions including: An add button 606 that opens a media picker that allows using to select one or more images or videos from a device camera roll or from cloud storage. The selected media items are then appended to the main timeline. The user may further press-and-hold a thumbnail of a media element in the main timeline to change the chronological ordering (or playback ordering) of the project element within the context of the main timeline ... A delete button 614 that removes the selected element from the main timeline... Performing a second type of user interaction (e.g., a long press) on a clip indicium transfers the clip tool user interface 602 into a reorder mode, which allows clips to be reordered within the project timeline. For example, a user can select a clip indicium and drag and drop that clip indicium to a different position within the project element carousel 110 in order to reorder the sequence of project elements in the project timeline).
Wehrman, by itself, does not seem to completely teach determining that the fifth user interaction further comprises: moving the particular image to a particular location on the user interface within the space of the user interface other than the space occupied by the image sliding bar; and releasing the particular image at the particular location; and in response to the releasing, removing the particular image from the image sliding bar.
The Examiner maintains that these features were previously well-known as taught by Andreas.
Andreas teaches determining that the fifth user interaction further comprises: moving the particular image to a particular location on the user interface within the space of the user interface other than the space occupied by the image sliding bar; and releasing the particular image at the particular location; and in response to the releasing, removing the particular image from the image sliding bar (Fig 3A and 0060: The user interface allows a user 16 to drag and drop media objects 34 from one or more stacks 32 onto a canvas 30. The media objects may represent items such as a video, a sound clip, an image, and text).
Wehrman and Andreas are analogous art because they are from the same problem-solving area, controlling the presentation of additional UI elements over a main content display area.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Wehrman and Andreas before him or her, to combine the teachings of Wehrman and Andreas. The rationale for doing so would have been to provide a user the ability to preview and add content to a canvas from the toolbar.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Wehrman and Andreas to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim(s).
Claim 11:
Wehrman, by itself, does not seem to completely teach the space of the user interface other than the space occupied by the image sliding bar comprises an area under the image sliding bar.
The Examiner maintains that these features were previously well-known as taught by Andreas.
Andreas teaches the space of the user interface other than the space occupied by the image sliding bar comprises an area under the image sliding bar (Fig 3A and 0060: The user interface allows a user 16 to drag and drop media objects 34 from one or more stacks 32 onto a canvas 30. The media objects may represent items such as a video, a sound clip, an image, and text).
Wehrman and Andreas are analogous art because they are from the same problem-solving area, controlling the presentation of additional UI elements over a main content display area.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Wehrman and Andreas before him or her, to combine the teachings of Wehrman and Andreas. The rationale for doing so would have been to provide a user the ability to preview and add content to a canvas from the toolbar.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Wehrman and Andreas to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim(s).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Note
The Examiner cites particular columns, line numbers and/or paragraph numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the Applicant(s). Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the Applicant fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner. See MPEP 2123.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MOHAMMED H ZUBERI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2178