Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 10-11 and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kutluay (WO 2020038655 A1) in view of Sundararaman (US 20180058499 A1) and in further view of Dehne (US 20160032970 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kutluay discloses (in fig. 1) a thrust washer (1) for distributing a fluid, the thrust washer (1) comprising:
a central bore (7) extending parallel to a rotational axis (12) of the thrust washer (1) for pushing the thrust washer (1) onto a journal or a shaft (para. [0059]);
a first thrust surface (3) and a second thrust surface (4),
the first thrust surface (3) and the second thrust surface (4) being arranged substantially parallel to one another,
the first thrust surface (3) having a first lubricant pocket (11 on surface 3) that is a depression (11 on surface 3) in the first thrust surface (3) and/or the second thrust surface (4) having a second lubricant pocket (11 on surface 4) that is a depression (11 on surface 4) in the second thrust surface (4),
wherein the first lubricant pocket (11 on surface 3) and/or the second lubricant pocket (11 on surface 4) tapers away from in radial direction away from the rotational axis (12) of the thrust washer (1).
Kutluay does not disclose the first lubricant pocket and/or the second lubricant pocket each have an intermediate surface and at least one transition surface, the intermediate surface extending substantially parallel to the respective thrust surface, and the transition surface extending in the circumferential direction outward toward the respective thrust surface, the transition surface being arranged at an angle with respect to the intermediate surface.
Sundararaman teaches (in annotated fig. 5) the first lubricant pocket (224) and/or the second lubricant pocket (224) each have an intermediate surface (IS) and at least one transition surface (TS), the intermediate surface (IS) extending substantially parallel to the respective thrust surface (226, as the curve reaches the apex the surface will be substantially parallel with the thrust surface), and the transition surface (TS) extending in the circumferential direction outward toward the respective thrust surface (226), the transition surface (TS) being arranged at an angle with respect to the intermediate surface (IS, while fig. 5 is used, the transition with respect to the intermediate surface would be similar to the one shown in figs. 1-2 and 4) for the purpose of reducing torque (para. [0003]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first or second lubricant pocket with an intermediate and transition surface, as taught by Sundaraman, in the thrust washer of Kutluay for the purpose of reducing torque (para. [0003]).
Kutluay in view of Sundaraman does not teach the first lubricant pocket or the second lubricant pocket being fluidically connected to the respective other thrust surface or to a respective corresponding first or second lubricant pocket by a channel which runs substantially parallel to the rotational axis axially through the thrust washer.
Dehne teaches (in fig. 1a) the first lubricant pocket (4) or the second lubricant pocket (4’) being connected fluidically to the respective other thrust surface (3, 3’) or to a respective corresponding first or second lubricant pocket (4, 4’) by a channel (6) which runs substantially parallel to the rotational axis axially through the thrust washer (1) for the purpose of receiving sufficient lubricant in the radial direction with respect to the washer circumference (para. [0012]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the channel, as taught by Dehne, in the thrust bearing of Kutluay in view of Sundaraman for the purpose of receiving sufficient lubricant in the radial direction with respect to the washer circumference (para. [0012]).
Regarding claim 2, Kutluay in view of Sundaraman and in further view of Dehne teaches (in Kutluay fig. 1) the thrust washer as claimed in claim 1, wherein the first thrust surface (3) has a plurality of first lubricant pockets (11 on surface 3) and/or the second thrust surface (4) has a plurality of second lubricant pockets (11 on surface 4), the plurality of first lubricant pockets (11 on surface 3) and the plurality of second lubricant pockets (11 on surface 4) being arranged in a corresponding manner with respect to one another, the plurality first lubricant pockets (11 on surface 3) and/or the plurality of second lubricant pockets (11 on surface 4) being spaced apart from one another in a circumferential direction.
Regarding claim 3, Kutluay in view of Sundaraman and in further view of Dehne teaches (in Kutluay fig. 1) the thrust washer as claimed in claim 1, wherein the first thrust surface (3) and/or the second thrust surface (4) has, in addition to the first lubricant pocket (11 on surface 3) and/or the second lubricant pocket (11 on surface 4), at least one further lubricant pocket (one of other pockets 11 on either surface 3 or 4).
Regarding claim 4, Kutluay in view of Dehne teaches (in Kutluay fig. 1) the thrust washer as claimed in claim 1, wherein the first lubricant pocket (11 on surface 3) and/or the second lubricant pocket (11 on surface 4) extends as far as an inner wall (13) which is formed by the central bore (7).
Regarding claim 5, Kutluay in view of Sundaraman and in further view of Dehne teaches (in Kutluay fig. 1) the thrust washer as claimed in claim 3, wherein the first lubricant pocket (11 on surface 3) and/or the second lubricant pocket (11 on surface 4) and/or the further lubricant pocket (one of other pockets 11 on either surface 3 or 4) has a recess region (26), the recess region (26) being arranged on an inner wall, the recess region (26) being arranged centrally on the respective lubricant pocket (11 on surface 3 or 4).
Regarding claim 6, Kutluay in view of Sundaraman and in further view of Dehne teaches (in Kutluay fig. 1) the thrust washer as claimed in claim 1 bit does not disclose the first thrust surface and/or the second thrust surface has at least one discharge channel formed as a depression therein, the at least one discharge channel comprising: a first discharge channel extending, starting from the first lubricant pocket, in the radial direction outward as far as the radial end side of the thrust washer, and a second discharge channel extending, starting from the second lubricant pocket, in the radial direction outward as far as the radial end side of the thrust washer.
Dehne further teaches (in figs. 3-3a) the first thrust surface (3) and/or the second thrust surface (3’) has at least one discharge channel (8 on 3, 8 on 3’) formed as a depression therein, the at least one discharge channel (8 on 3, 8 on 3’) comprising: a first discharge channel (8 on 3) extending, starting from the first lubricant pocket (4), in the radial direction outward as far as the radial end side of the thrust washer (1), and a second discharge channel (8 on 3’) extending, starting from the second lubricant pocket (4’), in the radial direction outward as far as the radial end side of the thrust washer (1) for the purpose of cooling the lubricant (para. [0034]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the discharge channel, as taught by Dehne, in the thrust washer of Kutluay in view of Sundaraman and in further view of Dehne for the purpose of cooling the lubricant (para. [0034]).
Regarding claim 7, Kutluay in view of Sundaraman and in further view of Dehne teaches (in Kutluay fig 1 or Sundaraman fig. 5) the thrust washer as claimed in claim 1, wherein the depression of the first lubricant pocket (Kutluay 11 on surface 3 or Sundaraman 224) and/or the second lubricant pocket (Kutluay 11 on surface 4 or Sundaraman 224) and/or a further lubricant pocket are triangular or trapezoidal.
Regarding claim 10, Kutluay in view of Sundaraman and in further view of Dehne teaches (in Kutluay fig. 1) the thrust washer of claim 1, but does not disclose a planetary transmission, where the thrust washer being arranged between a planetary carrier and a planetary gear.
Dehne further teaches a planetary transmission (fig. 4a), where the thrust washer (1) being arranged between a planetary carrier (20) and a planetary gear (23).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the thrust washer in the planetary transmission of Dehne, with the thrust washer of Kutluay in view of Sundaraman and in further view of Dehne as it would be a simple substitution of one known thrust washer with another known thrust washer for the predictable result of improving the lubrication system in the planetary transmission.
Regarding claim 11, Kutluay in view of Sundaraman and in further view of Dehne teaches (in Kutluay fig 1 or Sundaraman fig. 5) the thrust washer as claimed in claim 1, wherein the first lubricant pocket (Kutluay 11 on surface 3 or Sundaraman 224) and/or the second lubricant pocket (Kutluay 11 on surface 4 or Sundaraman 224) is/are defined by a pair of opposing walls that converge towards each other in the radial direction away from the rotational axis (Kutluay 12) of the thrust washer (Kutluay 1).
Regarding claim 13, Kutluay in view of Sundaraman and in further view of Dehne teaches (in Kutluay fig. 1) the thrust washer as claimed in claim 1, wherein the fluid is collected in the first lubricant pocket (11 on surface 3) to generate a hydrodynamic pressure in the first lubricant pocket (11 on surface 3, there would be hydrodynamic pressure as this is a thrust washer in hydrodynamic situations).
Regarding claim 14, Kutluay in view of Sundaraman and in further view of Dehne teaches (in Kutluay fig. 1) the thrust washer as claimed in claim 1, wherein the fluid is collected in the first lubricant pocket (11 on surface 3) and then transported onto the first thrust surface (3).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kutluay (WO 2020038655 A1) in view of Sundararaman (US 20180058499 A1) and in further view of Dehne (US 20160032970 A1) and in further view of Dehne 2 (DE 102020128997 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Kutluay in view of Sundaraman and in further view of Dehne teaches (in Kutluay fig. 1) the thrust washer as claimed in claim 1 but does not teach the thrust washer is of a curved or arched or spherical configuration.
Dehne 2 teaches (in fig. 1a) the thrust washer (1) is of a curved or arched or spherical configuration for the purpose of improving the lubricating properties (para. [0013]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the thrust washer of Kutluay in view of Sundaraman and in further view of Dehne be of a curved or arched or spherical configuration, as taught by Dehne 2, for the purpose of improving the lubricating properties (para. [0013]).
Response to Arguments
With regards to the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections, applicant amendments have overcome the previously raised issue.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 5-7, filed 05/18/2026, have been fully considered and are mostly persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made.
Applicant is arguing that the limitation “the transition surface being arranged at an angle with respect to the intermediate surface” means that rounded edges or curved surfaces cannot read on the limitation but this specific language does not exclude those features.
Conclusion
/AIMEE TRAN NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3617
/JOHN OLSZEWSKI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3617