Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 11, it is unclear how the limitation “the first lubricant pocket and/or the second lubricant pocket is/are defined by a pair of opposing walls that converge towards each other in the radial direction away from the rotational axis of the thrust washer” further limits “the first lubricant pocket and/or the second lubricant pocket tapers in a radial direction away from the rotation axis of the thrust washer” in claim 1. It appears that this might be restating what has been added to claim 1 in this amendment, if this is the case then the claim would fail to further limit:
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
If the claim is restating what has been added to claim 1, then this would end up as an 35. U.S.C. 112(d) issue.
In claim 12, it is unclear how the limitation “the first lubricant pocket and/or the second lubricant pocket comprise a cross section that reduces in size in a direction away from the rotational axis of the thrust washer” further limits “the first lubricant pocket and/or the second lubricant pocket tapers in a radial direction away from the rotation axis of the thrust washer” in claim 1. It appears that this might be restating what has been added to claim 1 in this amendment, if this is the case then the claim would fail to further limit:
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
If the claim is restating what has been added to claim 1, then this would end up as an 35. U.S.C. 112(d) issue.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 and 10-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kutluay (WO 2020038655 A1) in view of Dehne (US 20160032970 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kutluay discloses a thrust washer for distributing a fluid, the thrust washer (1) comprising:
a central bore (7) extending parallel to a rotational axis (12) of the thrust washer (1) for pushing the thrust washer (1) onto a journal or a shaft (para. [0059]);
a first thrust surface (3) and a second thrust surface (4),
the first thrust surface (3) and the second thrust surface (4) being arranged substantially parallel to one another,
the first thrust surface (3) having a first lubricant pocket (11 on surface 3) (11 on surface 3) that is a depression (11 on surface 3) in the first thrust surface (3) and/or the second thrust surface (4) having a second lubricant pocket (11 on surface 4) (11 on surface 4) that is a depression (11 on surface 4) in the second thrust surface (4),
wherein the first lubricant pocket (11 on surface 3) (11 on surface 3) and/or the second lubricant pocket (11 on surface 4) (11 on surface 4) tapers away from in radial direction away from the rotational axis (12) of the thrust washer (1).
Kutluay does not disclose the first lubricant pocket (11 on surface 3) or the second lubricant pocket (11 on surface 4) being fluidically connected to the respective other thrust surface or to a respective corresponding first or second lubricant pocket (11 on surface 4) by a channel which runs substantially parallel to the rotational axis axially through the thrust washer.
Dehne teaches the first lubricant pocket (11 on surface 3) (4) or the second lubricant pocket (11 on surface 4) (4’) being connected fluidically to the respective other thrust surface (3, 3’) or to a respective corresponding first or second lubricant pocket (11 on surface 4) (4, 4’) by a channel (6) which runs substantially parallel to the rotational axis axially through the thrust washer (1) for the purpose of receiving sufficient lubricant in the radial direction with respect to the washer circumference (para. [0012]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the channel, as taught by Dehne, in the thrust bearing of Kutluay for the purpose of receiving sufficient lubricant in the radial direction with respect to the washer circumference (para. [0012]).
Regarding claim 2, Kutluay in view of Dehne teaches the thrust washer as claimed in claim 1, wherein the first thrust surface (3) has a plurality of first lubricant pocket (11 on surface 3)s (11 on surface 3) and/or the second thrust surface (4) has a plurality of second lubricant pocket (11 on surface 4)s (11 on surface 4), the plurality of first lubricant pocket (11 on surface 3)s (11 on surface 3) and the plurality of second lubricant pocket (11 on surface 4)s (11 on surface 4) being arranged in a corresponding manner with respect to one another, the plurality first lubricant pocket (11 on surface 3)s (11 on surface 3) and/or the plurality of second lubricant pocket (11 on surface 4)s (11 on surface 4) being spaced apart from one another in a circumferential direction.
Regarding claim 3, Kutluay in view of Dehne teaches the thrust washer as claimed in claim 1, wherein the first thrust surface (3) and/or the second thrust surface (4) has, in addition to the first lubricant pocket (11 on surface 3) and/or the second lubricant pocket (11 on surface 4), at least one further lubricant pocket (one of other pockets 11 on either surface 3 or 4).
Regarding claim 4, Kutluay in view of Dehne teaches the thrust washer as claimed in claim 1, wherein the first lubricant pocket (11 on surface 3) and/or the second lubricant pocket (11 on surface 4) extends as far as an inner wall which is formed by the central bore.
Regarding claim 5, Kutluay in view of Dehne teaches the thrust washer as claimed in claim 3, wherein the first lubricant pocket (11 on surface 3) and/or the second lubricant pocket (11 on surface 4) and/or the further lubricant pocket (one of other pockets 11 on either surface 3 or 4) has a recess region (26), the recess region (26) being arranged on an inner wall, the recess region (26) being arranged centrally on the respective lubricant pocket (11 on surface 3 or 4).
Regarding claim 6, Kutluay discloses the thrust washer as claimed in claim 1 bit does not disclose the first thrust surface and/or the second thrust surface has at least one discharge channel formed as a depression therein, the at least one discharge channel comprising: a first discharge channel extending, starting from the first lubricant pocket, in the radial direction outward as far as the radial end side of the thrust washer, and a second discharge channel extending, starting from the second lubricant pocket, in the radial direction outward as far as the radial end side of the thrust washer.
Dehne further teaches (in figs. 3-3a) the first thrust surface (3) and/or the second thrust surface (3’) has at least one discharge channel (8 on 3) formed as a depression therein, the at least one discharge channel comprising: a first discharge channel extending, starting from the first lubricant pocket (4), in the radial direction outward as far as the radial end side of the thrust washer (1), and a second discharge channel (8 on 3’) extending, starting from the second lubricant pocket (4’), in the radial direction outward as far as the radial end side of the thrust washer (1) for the purpose of cooling the lubricant (para. [0034]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the discharge channel, as taught by Dehne, in the thrust washer of Kutluay for the purpose of cooling the lubricant (para. [0034]).
Regarding claim 7, Kutluay in view of Dehne teaches the thrust washer as claimed in claim 1, wherein the depression of the first lubricant pocket (11 on surface 3) and/or the second lubricant pocket (11 on surface 4) and/or a further lubricant pocket are triangular or trapezoidal.
Regarding claim 8, Kutluay in view of Dehne teaches the thrust washer as claimed in claim 1, wherein the first lubricant pocket (11 on surface 3) and/or the second lubricant pocket (11 on surface 4) each have an intermediate surface (surface of 11) and at least one transition surface (20), the intermediate surface (surface of 11) extending substantially parallel to the respective thrust surface (3), and the transition surface (20) extending in the circumferential direction outward toward the respective thrust surface (3), the transition surface (20) being arranged at an angle (sloping surface, which would have an angle) with respect to the intermediate surface (surface of 11 and para. [0058]).
Regarding claim 10, Kutluay discloses the thrust washer of claim 1, but does not disclose discloses a planetary transmission, where the thrust washer being arranged between a planetary carrier and a planetary gear.
Dehne further teaches a planetary transmission (fig. 4a), where the thrust washer (1) being arranged between a planetary carrier (20) and a planetary gear (23).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the thrust washer in the planetary transmission of Dehne, with the thrust washer of Kutluay in view of Dehne as it would be a simple substitution of one known thrust washer with another known thrust washer for the predictable result of improving the lubrication system in the planetary transmission.
Regarding claim 11, Kutluay in view of Dehne teaches the thrust washer as claimed in claim 1, wherein the first lubricant pocket (11 on surface 3) and/or the second lubricant pocket (11 on surface 4) is/are defined by a pair of opposing walls that converge towards each other in the radial direction away from the rotational axis (12) of the thrust washer (1).
Regarding claim 12, Kutluay in view of Dehne teaches the thrust washer as claimed in claim 1, wherein the first lubricant pocket (11 on surface 3) and/or the second lubricant pocket (11 on surface 4) comprise a cross section that reduces in size in a direction away from the rotational axis (12) of the thrust washer (1).
Regarding claim 13, Kutluay in view of Dehne teaches the thrust washer as claimed in claim 1, wherein the fluid is collected in the first lubricant pocket (11 on surface 3) to generate a hydrodynamic pressure in the first lubricant pocket (11 on surface 3, there would be hydrodynamic pressure as this is a thrust washer in hydrodynamic situations).
Regarding claim 14, Kutluay in view of Dehne teaches the thrust washer as claimed in claim 1, wherein the fluid is collected in the first lubricant pocket (11 on surface 3) and then transported onto the first thrust surface (3).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kutluay (WO 2020038655 A1) in view of Dehne (US 20160032970 A1) and in further view of Dehne 2 (DE 102020128997 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Kutluay in view of Dehne teaches the thrust washer as claimed in claim 1 but does not teach the thrust washer is of a curved or arched or spherical configuration.
Dehne 2 teaches (in fig. 1a) the thrust washer (1) is of a curved or arched or spherical configuration for the purpose of improving the lubricating properties (para. [0013]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the thrust washer of Kutluay in view of Dehne be of a curved or arched or spherical configuration, as taught by Dehne 2, for the purpose of improving the lubricating properties (para. [0013]).
Response to Arguments
With regards to the drawing objections, applicant amendments have overcome the previously raised issue.
With regards to the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections, applicant amendments have overcome the previously raised issue.
Applicant’s arguments, see 9-10, filed 01/21/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-10 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AIMEE TRAN NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3617
/JOHN OLSZEWSKI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3617