DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings were received on 20 March 2026. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4-6, 8-10, 12, 13, 15, 16, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Arment et al. (US 2016/0061536 hereinafter "Arment").
In regards to claim 1, Arment discloses a crimped joint (see figs. 13-15) for tubing of a
climate control system, the crimped joint comprising:
a central axis;
a first tube (16A) including:
a throughbore (central bore);
an outer end (right end in fig. 14); and
an annular projection (36) forming an annular chamber within the throughbore
that extends radially outward from the central axis;
an annular seal member (30) positioned within the annular chamber;
a second tube (14) including:
an end (24); and
a radially outer surface;
wherein the end of the second tube is inserted into the throughbore of the first
tube such that the annular seal member is engaged with the radially outer surface of the second tube and the second tube axially overlaps with the first tube in a region axially
between the end of the second tube and the annular projection of the first tube along the
central axis (shown in fig. 14); and
one or more crimps (44) positioned within the region.
In regards to claims 2 and 10, Arment further discloses at least one of the first tube or
the second tube comprises aluminum (see paragraph [0031]).
In regards to claim 4, Arment further discloses the first tube comprises one feeder tube
of a plurality of feeder tubes extending from a manifold (10A; shown in fig. 1).
In regards to claims 5, and 12 Arment further discloses the second tube comprises a
finned tube including a plurality of spine fins (12).
In regards to claims 6 and 13, Arment further discloses the annular projection is
positioned at the outer end of the first tube (shown in fig. 14).
In regards to claim 8, Arment further discloses the annular seal member comprises an
O-ring (O-ring 30).
In regards to claim 9, Arment discloses a heat exchanger of a climate control system,
the heat exchanger comprising:
a manifold (10A) having a main body portion; and
a plurality of feeder tubes (16A) extending from and in fluid communication with the
main body portion;
wherein each feeder tube comprises:
a throughbore (central bore);
an outer distal end opposite of the main body portion along a central axis of the
feeder tube, an annular projection (36, see fig. 11) forming an annular chamber within the
throughbore that extends radially outward from the central axis; and
an annular seal (30, see fig. 14) member positioned within the annular chamber;
and
a plurality of heat exchanger tubes (14) at least partially inserted within the plurality of
feeder tubes (see figs. 1 and 14), wherein each of the plurality of heat exchanger tubes
comprises:
an end (24); and
a radially outer surface;
wherein for each heat exchanger tube of the plurality of heat exchanger tubes:
the end of the heat exchanger tube is inserted into the throughbore of a
corresponding feeder tube of the plurality of feeder tubes such that the annular
seal member of the corresponding feeder tube is engaged with the radially outer
surface of the heat exchanger tube (shown in fig. 14),
the heat exchanger tube axially overlaps with the corresponding feeder
tube in a region axially between the end of the heat exchanger tube and the
annular projection of the corresponding feeder tube along the central axis (shown
in fig. 14), and
one or more crimps (44, see fig, 15) are formed in the region.
In regards to claim 15, Arment discloses a method of forming a crimped joint between a
first tube (16A) and a second tube (!4) for channeling refrigerant in a climate control system, the
method comprising:
(a) sizing an outer diameter of the second tube along a portion of the second tube that
extends from an end of the second tube (fig. 14 shows that it was sized);
(b) inserting the end of the second tube into a throughbore of the first tube along a central
axis such that an annular seal member (30) positioned in an annular chamber (36) formed within
the throughbore of the first tube is engaged with a radially outer surface of the second tube and
the radially outer surface of the second tube overlaps with a radially inner surface of the first
tube in a region extending axially between the end of the second tube and the annular seal
member (shown in fig. 14); and
(c) forming one or more crimps (44) along the region after (b) (figs. 14-15 show the
crimping was done after step (b)).
In regards to claim 16, Arment further discloses shaping the radially outer surface of the
second tube in the region to have a substantially uniform outer diameter along an entire
circumference of the second tube (fig. 14 shows a uniform diameter and thus its inherent it was
shaped).
In regards to claim 19, Arment further discloses the annular chamber is positioned at an
outer end of the first tube, and wherein the method further comprises: (e) radially compressing an
annular projection forming the annular chamber to compress the annular seal member into the
radially outer surface of the second tube after (b) (see paragraph [0035]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 7, 11, 14, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Arment as applied to claims 1, 9, and 15 above, and further in view of Kushner et al. (USP
4,371,199 hereinafter "Kushner").
In regards to claims 3, 7, 11, 14, and 20, Arment discloses the joint of claim 1, heat
exchanger of claim 9, and the method of claim 15 and further discloses the annular projection is
spaced from the outer end of the first tube (shown in fig. 14). Arment does not expressly disclose
the crimped joint further comprises an additional crimp positioned axially between the annular
projection and the outer end.
However, Kushner shows a similar crimped joint, comprising a projection (34), wherein
an additional crimp (26) of multiple crimps (26, 28, 30) is positioned axially between the annular
projection and the outer end.
Kushner teaches that using multiple crimps in a similar joint to that of Arment, achieving
no unexpected results. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
would have found it no more obvious than simple substitution to provide the joint of Arment with a second crimp between the annular projection and the outer end as taught by Kushner,
producing no unexpected results. Thus, the simple substitution of one known element for another
producing a predictable result renders the claim obvious. See MPEP §2143 (I)(B).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02 April 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that there is no crimping region between the annular projection and the send of the second tube and that the second tube ends after the annular sealing projection. This is not persuasive. The claim merely requires that “the annular seal member is engaged with the radially outer surface of the second tube and the second tube axially overlaps with the first tube in a region axially between the end of the second tube and the annular projection of the first tube along the central axis”. It can be seen in fig. 14 of Arment that the seal (30) is engaged with the outer surface of the second tube and that the second tube is axially overlapping with the first tube between the end of the second tube and the annular projection (36). Therefore, Arment discloses all limitations of claim 1.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., that the design does not utilize the more simplified and elegant approach) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZACHARY T DRAGICEVICH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679 04/02/2026