DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of claims
Claims 1, 19 and 20 are amended.
No new claim is added.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to arguments
With respect to Applicant’s remarks filed on 01/07/2026; Applicant's “Amendments and Remarks” have been fully considered. Applicant’s remarks will be addressed in sequential order as they were presented.
Applicant remarks:
Shibata does not appear to disclose “predetermined checklist for inspecting a plurality of vehicle components” (See remark page 8)
Shibata’s “first communication requests” are not “notification to user to inspect plurality of vehicle components”.
Office response:
Please see new mapping above, specifically the mapping for the independent claims.
Please see new mapping above, specifically the mapping for the independent claims.
Applicant further argues that the other independent claims which recite similar features are allowable and the dependent claims are also allowable since they depend on allowable subject and the Office respectfully disagrees. It is the Office's stance that all of the claimed subject matter has been properly rejected; therefore, the Office's respectfully disagrees with applicant’s arguments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-5, 14 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by JP 2023043753 A to Shimaoka et al. (herein after “Shimaoka”).
Regarding claim 1, Shimaoka teaches A vehicle comprising:
a processor configured to (see Shimaoka para[0007] FIG. FIG. 4 is a flowchart for explaining the flow of processing of a program executed by a processing unit of the vehicle maintenance information control device of FIG. 3; FIG.)
output, responsive to obtaining a first request from a user to perform a vehicle inspection, one or more predetermined checklists for inspecting a plurality of vehicle components, wherein the one or more predetermined checklists comprises identifiers of the plurality of vehicle components to be inspected: (See Shimaoka para[0011] The inspection list includes work items (which may also be called inspection items) requested by customer B when receiving the inspection and maintenance request. The required work items may be automatically generated based on the sales information of the vehicle 50 to be stored without receiving a request from the customer B. For example, if one year has passed since delivery of the vehicle, the inspection list includes a predetermined work item as a so-called 12-month inspection.)
output, responsive to or in parallel with outputting the one or more predetermined checklists, a plurality of notifications to the user to inspect the plurality of vehicle components, wherein each of the notifications corresponds to a respective one of the plurality of vehicle components (See Shimaoka para[0026] outputs control signals to each part of the maintenance area side device 10. Para[0057] each time mechanic A starts working on one of the work items on the inspection list, the device transmits information about that work item and the start of the work from the maintenance area device 10 to the waiting room device 20. After completing each work item on the inspection list, mechanic A waits for a completion notification for the corresponding trial work from the waiting room device 20. ), and wherein the notifications are output sequentially in a preset order corresponding to the one or more predetermined checklists; (see Shimaoka para[0005] when the work detection unit detects as work information that maintenance work has started, notifies the communication terminal via the communication unit that work has started, and after the notification, when the communication unit receives a work completion notification from the communication terminal via the communication unit, controls the display unit to display the work completion notification.) and
obtain, responsive to outputting the plurality of notifications, a plurality of responses associated with states of first vehicle components of the plurality of vehicle components. (see Shimaoka para[0014] When the control unit 13 receives notification of work information related to a certain work item, it displays the next work item based on the inspection list on the display unit 16.)
Regarding claim 3, Shimaoka teaches wherein the processor is further configured to automatically activate at least one vehicle component of the plurality of vehicle components responsive to outputting the plurality of notifications. (See Shimaoka para[0057] A starts working on one of the work items on the inspection list, the device transmits information about that work item and the start of the work from the maintenance area device 10 to the waiting room device 20.)
Regarding claim 4, Shimaoka teaches wherein the processor is further configured to: obtain the first request from the user (See Shimaoka para[0011] The inspection list includes the work items (which can also be called inspection items) requested by customer B when the inspection and maintenance request was received. ) ; activate a vehicle inspection mode responsive to obtaining the first request (See Shimaoka para[0011] the system can be configured to include work items that were previously requested by customer B and performed as maintenance work in the current inspection list.) ; and output the one or more notifications responsive to activating the vehicle inspection mode (See Shimaoka para[0005] when the work detection unit detects as work information that maintenance work has started, notifies the communication terminal via the communication unit that work has started, and after the notification, when the communication unit receives a work completion notification from the communication terminal via the communication unit, controls the display unit to display the work completion notification.).
Regarding claim 5, Shimaoka teaches wherein the processor is further configured to: determine that the vehicle inspection is complete (See Shimaoka para[0038] In step S150, the processing unit 11 determines, based on the detection results from the work detection unit 12, whether or not the work for all work items on the inspection list has been completed.) ; and deactivate the vehicle inspection mode responsive to determining that the vehicle inspection is complete. (See Shimaoka para[0021] When the "Finish" button is tapped for a particular task, the control unit 24 of the waiting room-side device 20 (described later, referencing Figure 3) is notified that the task simulating inspection and maintenance work has been completed.).
Regarding claim 14, Shimaoka teaches wherein the vehicle inspection is complete when all of the plurality of responses obtained from the user indicate acceptable states of all of the plurality of vehicle components. (see Shimaoka para[0038] The processing unit 11 determines that step S150 is correct when all work items have been completed and proceeds to step S160.If the processing unit 11 determines that the work for all work items has not been completed, it rejects step S150 and repeats the determination process to wait for the work for all work items to be completed.)
Regarding claim 19, Shimaoka teaches A method to facilitate inspection of a vehicle, the method comprising:
outputting, by a processor(see Shimaoka para[0007] FIG. FIG. 4 is a flowchart for explaining the flow of processing of a program executed by a processing unit of the vehicle maintenance information control device of FIG. 3; FIG.)
, responsive to obtaining a request from a user to perform a vehicle inspection, one or more predetermined checklists for inspecting a plurality of vehicle components, wherein the one or more predetermined checklists comprises identifiers of the plurality of vehicle components to be inspected; (See Shimaoka para[0011] The inspection list includes work items (which may also be called inspection items) requested by customer B when receiving the inspection and maintenance request. The required work items may be automatically generated based on the sales information of the vehicle 50 to be stored without receiving a request from the customer B. For example, if one year has passed since delivery of the vehicle, the inspection list includes a predetermined work item as a so-called 12-month inspection.)
outputting, by the processor, responsive to or in parallel with outputting the one or more predetermined checklists, a plurality of notifications to the user to inspect the plurality of vehicle components, (See Shimaoka para[0026] outputs control signals to each part of the maintenance area side device 10. Para[0057] each time mechanic A starts working on one of the work items on the inspection list, the device transmits information about that work item and the start of the work from the maintenance area device 10 to the waiting room device 20. After completing each work item on the inspection list, mechanic A waits for a completion notification for the corresponding trial work from the waiting room device 20. ), wherein each of the notifications corresponds to a respective one of the plurality of vehicle components, and wherein the notifications are output sequentially in a preset order corresponding to the one or more predetermined checklists (see Shimaoka para[0005] when the work detection unit detects as work information that maintenance work has started, notifies the communication terminal via the communication unit that work has started, and after the notification, when the communication unit receives a work completion notification from the communication terminal via the communication unit, controls the display unit to display the work completion notification.); and
obtaining, by the processor, responsive to outputting the plurality of notifications, a plurality of responses associated with states of vehicle components of the plurality of vehicle components. (see Shimaoka para[0014] When the control unit 13 receives notification of work information related to a certain work item, it displays the next work item based on the inspection list on the display unit 16.).
Regarding claim 20, Shimaoka teaches A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having instructions stored thereupon which, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to (See para[0026] The maintenance area side device 10 includes a processing unit 11, an input unit 14, a communication unit 15, a display unit 16, and a storage unit 17.The processing unit 11 consists of a microcomputer and its peripheral circuits, etc. The processing unit 11 performs predetermined processing based on signals input to the input unit 14, data stored in the storage unit 17, and signals received from the waiting room side device 20 via the communication unit 15, and outputs control signals to each part of the maintenance area side device 10.)
output, responsive to obtaining a request from a user to perform a vehicle inspection, one or more predetermined checklists for inspecting a plurality of vehicle components, wherein the one or more predetermined checklists comprises identifiers of the plurality of vehicle components to be inspected; (See Shimaoka para[0011] The inspection list includes work items (which may also be called inspection items) requested by customer B when receiving the inspection and maintenance request. The required work items may be automatically generated based on the sales information of the vehicle 50 to be stored without receiving a request from the customer B. For example, if one year has passed since delivery of the vehicle, the inspection list includes a predetermined work item as a so-called 12-month inspection.)
output, responsive to or in parallel with outputting the one or more predetermined checklists, a plurality of notifications to the user to inspect the plurality of vehicle components(See Shimaoka para[0026] outputs control signals to each part of the maintenance area side device 10. Para[0057] each time mechanic A starts working on one of the work items on the inspection list, the device transmits information about that work item and the start of the work from the maintenance area device 10 to the waiting room device 20. After completing each work item on the inspection list, mechanic A waits for a completion notification for the corresponding trial work from the waiting room device 20. ), , wherein each of the notifications corresponds to a respective one of the plurality of vehicle components, and wherein the notifications are output sequentially in a preset order corresponding to the one or more predetermined checklists(see Shimaoka para[0005] when the work detection unit detects as work information that maintenance work has started, notifies the communication terminal via the communication unit that work has started, and after the notification, when the communication unit receives a work completion notification from the communication terminal via the communication unit, controls the display unit to display the work completion notification.); and
obtain, responsive to outputting the plurality of notifications, a plurality of responses associated with states of vehicle components of the plurality of vehicle components. (see Shimaoka para[0014] When the control unit 13 receives notification of work information related to a certain work item, it displays the next work item based on the inspection list on the display unit 16.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatented over Shimaoka in view of US 20160146334 A1 to Nelson et al. (herein after “Nelson”).
Regarding claim 2, Shimaoka remains applied as claim 1. However, Shimaoka does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach wherein the processor is further configured to: obtain a second request from the user to shift the vehicle out of a park mode; determine that the vehicle inspection is not yet complete responsive to obtaining the second request, wherein the vehicle inspection is complete when a response associated with a state of each vehicle component, of the plurality of vehicle components, is obtained from the user and disable the vehicle from shifting out of the park mode responsive to determining that the vehicle inspection is not yet complete. Nevertheless, in a related field of invention, Nelson teaches wherein the processor is further configured to: obtain a second request (See Nelson shift request) from the user to shift the vehicle out of a park mode; determine that the vehicle inspection is not yet complete responsive to obtaining the second request, wherein the vehicle inspection is complete when a response associated with a state of each vehicle component, of the plurality of vehicle components, is obtained from the user(See Nelson para[0054] In one embodiment, controller 36 is further operative to lock sub-transmission 56 in the park gear when vehicle 10 is shut down, either automatically as described herein or in response to a lockout request by a user (e.g., a code entered). When locked in park, controller 36 requires a set of conditions to be satisfied before allowing sub-transmission 56 to shift out of the park configuration); and disable the vehicle from shifting out of the park mode responsive to determining that the vehicle inspection is not yet complete. (See Nelson para[0054] and a brake interlock is satisfied. In one embodiment, controller 36 further requires engine 42 to be running to execute a shift request for shifting out of park.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Shimaoka’s Vehicle maintenance information control apparatus with Nelson’s vehicle park shifting request in order to allow to reduce the likelihood of causing damage to the drive line of vehicle 10. (See Nelson para[0046]).
Claims 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatented over Shimaoka in view of WO 2020065974 A1 to Yusa (herein after “Yusa”).
Regarding claim 6, Shimaoka remains applied as claim 1. However, Shimaoka does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach wherein the plurality of vehicle components comprises at least one of a plurality of interior vehicle components or a plurality of exterior vehicle components. Nevertheless, in a related field of invention, Yusa teaches wherein the plurality of vehicle components comprises at least one of a plurality of interior vehicle components or a plurality of exterior vehicle components ( See Yusa para[0047] For example, inspectors will perform an interior inspection to visually check for any suspicious items inside the vehicle, an exterior inspection to visually check for any suspicious items on the exterior of the vehicle, an interior bottom inspection to visually check for any suspicious items on the bottom of the vehicle, and a trunk inspection to visually check for any suspicious items in the trunk ).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to Shimaoka’s Vehicle maintenance information control apparatus with Yusa’s plurality of interior vehicle components or a plurality of exterior vehicle components to visually check for any suspicious items inside or outside of the vehicle (see Yusa para[0047]).
Regarding claim 7, Shimaoka and Yusa remain applied as claim 6. However, Shimaoka does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach a sensor unit configured to detect a presence of the user in a vehicle interior portion or in proximity to a vehicle exterior portion. Nevertheless, Yusa same field of endeavor teaches a sensor unit configured to detect a presence of the user in a vehicle interior portion or in proximity to a vehicle exterior portion.(see Yusa para[]The actual number of passengers may be visually checked by the inspector, or may be calculated by computer image analysis of an image of the vehicle. Inspection of the occupant with the person indicated by the pre-registered data or the occupant with the person registered in the blacklist may be visually performed by the inspector.) (See Vaganay para[0103] The sensors 116 can be attached to the vehicle 101 or embedded inside the vehicle 101 such as in front, back, above, side, or underneath the vehicle 101).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Shimaoka’s Vehicle maintenance information control apparatus with Yusa’s plurality of interior vehicle components or a plurality of exterior vehicle components to visually check for any suspicious items inside or outside of the vehicle (see Yusa para[0047]).
Regarding claim 8, Shimaoka and Yusa remain applied as claims 6 and 7. However, Shimaoka does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach wherein the processor is further configured to: determine that the user is located in the vehicle interior portion based on inputs obtained from the sensor unit, responsive to obtaining the first request, output a first checklist comprising identifiers associated with the plurality of interior vehicle components, responsive to determining that the user is located in the vehicle interior portion, output the plurality of notifications to inspect a plurality of interior vehicle components, responsive to outputting the first checklist. Nevertheless, Yusa same field of endeavor teaches wherein the processor is further configured to: determine that the user is located in the vehicle interior portion based on inputs obtained from the sensor unit, responsive to obtaining the first request; (See Yusa para[0061] In addition, the first input receiving unit 11 receives an input of a result of an inspection (first inspection) on a person riding in the vehicle.)
output a first checklist comprising identifiers associated with the plurality of interior vehicle components, responsive to determining that the user is located in the vehicle interior portion ;(See Yusa[0045] Furthermore, the matching of the passengers with the people indicated in the pre-registration data, or the matching of the passengers with the people registered on the blacklist, may be performed visually by an inspector, or may be achieved by a computer matching the faces of people appearing in images of the vehicle with pre-registered facial photographs.)
output a plurality of first notifications to inspect a plurality of first interior vehicle components, responsive to outputting the first checklist; ((See Yusa para[0031] such as receiving data or information that is distributed (or transmitted, push notification, etc.). It also includes selecting and acquiring data or information from received data or information, or selecting and receiving distributed data or information)
and obtain the a plurality of first responses from the user associated with states of the a plurality of first interior vehicle components via the first checklist, responsive to outputting the a plurality of notifications sequentially (See Yusa para[0060]For example, the pre-inspection result output unit 13 transmits the vehicle identification information received by the first input receiving unit 11 to the server 40 and requests the pre-registered data (see Figure 9) registered in association with the vehicle identification information and the results of the pre-inspection of the data (see Figure 10). Then, the preliminary inspection result output unit 13 receives the information returned from the server 40 in response to the request and displays it on the display.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Shimaoka’s Vehicle maintenance information control apparatus with Yusa’s plurality of interior vehicle components or a plurality of exterior vehicle components to visually check for any suspicious items inside or outside of the vehicle (see Yusa para[0047]).
Regarding claim 9, Shimaoka and Yusa remain applied as claims 6 and 7. However, Shimaoka does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach wherein the processor outputs the first checklist via a user device, a vehicle Human-Machine Interface (HMI), or a vehicle interior speaker. Nevertheless, Yusa same field of endeavor teaches wherein the processor outputs the first checklist via a user device, a vehicle Human-Machine Interface (HMI), or a vehicle interior speaker (See Yusa para[0063] The first input receiving unit 11 may receive user input of the above-mentioned test results via an input device such as a touch panel display, physical buttons, a microphone, a keyboard, or a mouse.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Shimaoka’s Vehicle maintenance information control apparatus with Yusa’s plurality of interior vehicle components or a plurality of exterior vehicle components to visually check for any suspicious items inside or outside of the vehicle (see Yusa para[0047]).
Regarding claim 10, Shimaoka and Yusa remain applied as claims 6 and 7. However, Shimaoka does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach wherein the processor is further configured to: determine that the user is located in proximity to the vehicle exterior portion based on inputs obtained from the sensor unit, responsive to obtaining the first request. Nevertheless, Yusa same field of endeavor teaches wherein the processor is further configured to: determine that the user is located in proximity to the vehicle exterior portion based on inputs obtained from the sensor unit, responsive to obtaining the first request; (See Yusa an external sensor; see Yusa para[0027] In this embodiment, the content of the first test and the content of the test results inputted and received by the first input receiving unit 11 are not limited. The first transmission unit 12 transmits the results of the first inspection to the server 40 (external device))
output a second checklist comprising identifiers associated with the plurality of exterior vehicle components, responsive to determining that the user is located in proximity to the vehicle exterior portion; output t a plurality of second notifications to inspect a plurality of second exterior vehicle components responsive to outputting the second checklist; (See Yusa para[]The second transmission unit 22 transmits the result of the second inspection to the server 40 (external device).)
and obtain a plurality of second responses from the user associated with states of a plurality of second exterior vehicle components via the second checklist, responsive to outputting the a plurality of notifications sequentially. (see Yusa For example, the inspector may inspect the interior of the vehicle visually for suspicious objects, inspect the interior of the vehicle visually for suspicious objects, visually inspect the exterior of the vehicle, and check for suspicious objects on the bottom of the vehicle. Car interior bottom inspection to check visually for existence, trunk inspection to check visually for suspicious objects in trunk, etc. are performed.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Shimaoka’s Vehicle maintenance information control apparatus with Yusa’s plurality of interior vehicle components or a plurality of exterior vehicle components to visually check for any suspicious items inside or outside of the vehicle (see Yusa para[0047]).
Claims 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatented over Shimaoka in view of Yusa and JP 2008274847 A to Kawamura et al. (herein after “Kawamura”).
Regarding claim 11, Shimaoka and Yusa remain applied as claim 8. However, Shimaoka does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach wherein the sensor unit is further configured to determine information associated with a state of a vehicle component, wherein the information associated with the state comprises at least one of an information associated with a change in state of the vehicle component over a predefined time duration or a vehicle component image, and wherein the processor is further configured to output the information associated with the state. Nevertheless, Kawamura same field of endeavor teaches wherein the sensor unit is further configured to determine information associated with a state of a vehicle component, wherein the information associated with the state comprises at least one of an information associated with a change in state of the vehicle component over a predefined time duration or a vehicle component image, and wherein the processor is further configured to output the information associated with the state (See Kawamura para[0016]When the acceleration sensor is selected as the driving state sensor, if the vehicle acceleration does not change more than a predetermined value over a predetermined time as an output from the acceleration sensor, the determination unit needs to stop the engine instead of the vehicle traveling. It may be configured to determine that this is the case.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Shimaoka’s Vehicle maintenance information control apparatus with Kawamura’s state change of the vehicle over a predefined time duration in order to allow to determine that the vehicle is not in motion and that the engine needs to be stopped (see Kawamura para[0016]).
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatented over Shimaoka in view of JP 2022065377 A to Fujita (herein after “Fujita”).
Regarding claim 12, Shimaoka remains applied as claim 1. However, Shimaoka does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach wherein the processor is further configured to: determine that at least one response of the plurality of responses indicates an unacceptable state of a vehicle component of the plurality of vehicle components; and transmit an error notification to a user device or a server responsive to determining that at least one response indicates the unacceptable state of the vehicle component. Nevertheless, Fujita same field of endeavor teaches wherein the processor is further configured to: determine that at least one response indicates an unacceptable state of a vehicle component; and transmit an error notification to a user device or a server responsive to determining that at least one response indicates the unacceptable state of the vehicle component (See Fujita para[0049]Further, the vehicle state acquisition unit 156 may determine that the vehicle is in an abnormal state when an error signal is acquired from a predetermined vehicle sensor 164 or communication is interrupted from the device.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Shimaoka’s Vehicle maintenance information control apparatus with Fujita’s response of unacceptable state of a vehicle and transmit an error notification for unacceptable state in order to allow to provide a drive system and a control method for a drive system that can achieve more efficient discharge control in the event of an abnormality (See Fujita para[0005]).
Regarding claim 13, Shimaoka and Fujita remain applied as claim 12. However, Shimaoka does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach wherein the processor is further configured to disable the vehicle when the processor determines that the at least one response indicates the unacceptable state of the vehicle component. Nevertheless, Fujita same field of endeavor teaches wherein the processor is further configured to disable the vehicle when the processor determines that at least one response indicates the unacceptable state of the vehicle component (See Fujita para[0039] The "discharge start condition in an abnormal state" includes, for example, the vehicle being in an abnormal state. An abnormal state is a state in which the vehicle cannot travel due to, for example, the vehicle coming into contact with an obstacle such as another vehicle, or due to other reasons (for example, a malfunction). Conditions in which the vehicle cannot run include, for example, a state in which the vehicle has rolled over or a part has been damaged (such as a bent axle or a detached wheel).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Shimaoka’s Vehicle maintenance information control apparatus with Fujita’s response of unacceptable state of a vehicle and transmit an error notification for unacceptable state in order to allow to provide a drive system and a control method for a drive system that can achieve more efficient discharge control in the event of an abnormality (See Fujita para[0005]).
Claim 15 -16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatented over Shimaoka in view of EP 1089179 A1 to Snow et al. (herein after “Snow”).
Regarding claim 15, Shimaoka remains applied as claim 1. However, Shimaoka does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach a memory configured to store a component information associated with each vehicle component of the plurality of vehicle components, wherein the processor is further configured to: fetch the component information from the memory and output the component information sequentially for each vehicle component, when a notification associated with each vehicle component is outputted. Nevertheless, Snow same field of endeavor teaches a memory configured to store a component information associated with each vehicle component (See Snow para[0042] component information stored in component database 44,), wherein the processor is further configured to: fetch the component information from the memory (see Snow para[0023] server 16 determines the level of user access at point 56 based on site-specific options and the system user identification information., meaning stored information can be accessible); and output the component information sequentially for each vehicle component, when a notification associated with each vehicle component is outputted (See Snow para [0032] Upon exiting system 10, the activity report is saved in a history file on service PC 14 and optionally uploaded in whole or in part to component tracking database 44. History files are maintained within service PC 14 for a predetermined time or until a memory limitation is detected. If history files are to be pre-maturely deleted, the oldest files shall be deleted first, typically after notifying the most recent system user.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Shimaoka’s Vehicle maintenance information control apparatus with Snow’s store a component information in a memory, fetch and outputting the information using a notification in order to allow to selectively communicate with an attached local computer that can retrieve the fault code information (See Snow para[0002]).
Regarding claim 16, Shimaoka and Snow remain applied as claim 15. However, Shimaoka does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach wherein the component information comprises at least one of a training information, photographs or detailed description associated with each vehicle component. Nevertheless, Snow same field of endeavor teaches wherein the component information comprises at least one of a training information, photographs or detailed description associated with each vehicle component (See Snow para [0076] Component information includes information about a selected component including sales information and training information.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Shimaoka’s Vehicle maintenance information control apparatus with Snow’s store a component information in a memory, fetch and outputting the information using a notification in order to allow to selectively communicate with an attached local computer that can retrieve the fault code information (See Snow para[0002]).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatented over Shimaoka in view of Snow and US 20190266295 A1 to Masuda et al. (herein after “Masuda”).
Regarding claim 17, Shimaoka and Snow remain applied as claim 15. However, Shimaoka does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach wherein the memory is further configured to store an information associated with a maintenance due date for at least one vehicle component of the plurality of vehicle components, and wherein the processor is further configured to output a maintenance reminder on the maintenance due date based on the information associated with the maintenance due date. Nevertheless, Masuda same field of endeavor teaches wherein the memory is further configured to store an information associated with a maintenance due date for at least one vehicle component of the plurality of vehicle components, and wherein the processor is further configured to output a maintenance reminder on the maintenance due date based on the information associated with the maintenance due date (see Masuda para [0002] For example, a vehicle provides a vehicle owner with a maintenance reminder, but the vehicle owner ignores the reminder. This behavior contributes to an increase in vehicle breakdowns on roadways. Perhaps owners ignore these maintenance reminders because the reminders themselves are conservative guesses about when a vehicle will need certain maintenance,).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Shimaoka’s Vehicle maintenance information control apparatus with Masuda’s maintenance date based on the information in order to allow to proactive vehicle maintenance scheduling based on a plurality of digital twin simulations. (See Masuda para[0001]).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatented over Shimaoka in view of Nelson and WO 2021102079 A1 to Vaganay et al. (herein after “Vaganay”).
Regarding claim 18, Shimaoka and Nelson remain applied as claim 2. However, Shimaoka does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach wherein the processor obtains a plurality of the first request, the second request and a plurality of responses via at least one of a user device, a vehicle Human-Machine Interface (HMI), a camera, or a voice command, and wherein the processor is further configured to transmit a plurality of responses to an operator device or a server. Nevertheless, Vaganay same field of endeavor teaches wherein the processor obtains a plurality of the first request, the second request and the a plurality of responses via at least one of a user device, a vehicle Human-Machine Interface (HMI), a camera, or a voice command, and wherein the processor is further configured to transmit the a plurality of responses to an operator device or a server (See Vaganay para[0227] An input device 930, such as a keyboard or voice interface may be coupled to the bus 905 for communicating information and commands to the processor 910., para0296] report can also include relevant videos and snapshots from a plurality of cameras on the robot 1500, or other autonomous tank inspection system.) (see Yusa para[0024]a camera, and the like, and an interface for outputting information to an output device, an external device, an external server, and the like. . The input device is, for example, a keyboard, a mouse, a microphone, and the like. The output device is, for example, a display, a speaker, a printer, a mailer, or the like. The processor 1A can issue a command to each module and perform a calculation based on the calculation results.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Shimaoka’s Vehicle maintenance information control apparatus with Vaganay’s using Human-Machine Interface( example: Keyboard, speaker), camera or a voice command to transmit the a plurality of response in order to allow to execute the instructions contained in main memory in combination with software instructions together with the systems and methods (See Vaganay para[0228]).
Conclusion
/NAZIA AFRIN/ Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/SCOTT A BROWNE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666