Information Disclosure Statement
The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 and 16 each recites the limitation "[the right frame panel" and "tne left framre panel"" in lines 22-23and lines 13-14 respectively. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims.It isn’t clear whether applicant intends to claim both retainer panels and frame panels or retainer panels which form frame panels. Thus independent claims 1 and 16 and their dependent claims are indefinite.
In claim 4 it isn’t clear if the wire frame goes around the periphery of both both of the retainerpanels together or each of the retainer panels.
In claims 8 and 14 it isn’t clear what applicant means by a retainer panel having a wire frame “mounted a frame panel”. It appears as though something was left out.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3,16 and 18 insofar as they are understood is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shyr US 2015/0041272 A1 in view of Kaneko US 5,103,945.
Both Shyr and Kaneko teach collapsible luggage using removable retainer panels to provide support for luggage when they are deployed inside the luggage. Note that Shyr had side retainer panels 33 in pockets 35 (para 0049). Shyr also provides foldable end panels at the top and bottom. Although Shyr stores the removable retainer panels in an external pocket, kaneko teach placing removable retainer panels 10 in the rear. Regarding applicant’s claim for slots, this may be defined in the pocket of Shyr or as shown at 8 by Kaneko
Kaneko where seams come together,at the bottom on the luggage. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have stored the retainer panels inside the luggage leaving the outside pocket free for items needed during travel without opening the luggage.Regarding the pocket structure, note the pocket of Kaneko at 13 between the reinforcing layers or inserts and pocket front, Note also the suggestion by Shyr with double retainer inserts in the pocket forming an inner pocket for small items,
Claim(s) 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over [ the references ] as applied to claim1 above, and further in view of Wagoner US 2016/0331092 A1.
Note that Shyr teaches an extended handle 44 but teaches the use of xupport feet to support the luggage. However Wagoner teaches collapsible luggage using side retainer panels and extendable handle 26 and provides wheels 24 on each side. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have provided Shyr with wheels for ease of moving the luggage as taught by Wagoner.
Claim(s) 4,8 qnd 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the references as applied to claim11 and 16 above, and further in view of Willets US 873,195.
Although the references do not teach a frame panels with a peripheral wire frame, the use of such to provide a flexible light weight panels is taught by Willets at 7. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have provided Shyr with wire frame panels for lighter panels with structure as taught by Willet.
Claim(s) 5,7,9,10 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the referencesas applied to claims 1,2,6,8 and 12 above and further in view of McKelvey et al US 2022/0167719 A1.
Although none of the refeences suggest adding a hanging rack to the luggage of Shyr, McKelvey et al teach such feature in luggage. McKelvey et al teach the inclusion in luggage at 5 and 26 in Figures 1 and 4. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have provided Shyr with such additional feature to provide a means to hang clothes when traveling.
Claim(s20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the references as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Day US 2009/0014267 A1 .
Although the references do not suggest the additional accessories
such as mirrors to the luggage, DAY teaches the addition of a mirror 112 (para 0019) to luggage for use where non is convenient. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have provided Shyr with a mirror for convenience as taught by Day.
Conclusion
r
/SUE A WEAVER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3733