DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the claim 1, “corresponding pin” and claim 8, “retractable” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8, term, “the pins of at least one electrical component are selectively deployable and retractable” is unclear and it is not understood as to purpose.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wavering (U. S. Patent 8,031.486) in view of Blossfeld (U. S. Patent 6,974,918).
Regarding claims 1, 9, Wavering, see figure 3A, discloses a power distribution unit, comprising: a circuit board 22 and components at 20 but lacks pins that enter circuit board sockets and lacks teaching of DC power, circuit board socket. Blossfeld discloses pins and pcb sockets at 40, 46. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Wavering such feature as taught by Blossfeld so as to provide for easy mounting. Also, for use of DC, such features are well known, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Wavering and Blossfeld since for many applications DC power is required.
Regarding claims 2, 3, Wavering and Blossfeld disclose at least one of the one or more electrical components 20 is a contactor 20, see abstract.
Regarding claim 4, Wavering and Blossfeld disclose at least one of the one or more electrical components (bar 38 is readable as a shunt).
Regarding claim 5, Wavering and Blossfeld disclose at least one of the one or more electrical components 20 is a contactor, and at least one of the one or more electrical components is a shunt 38.
Regarding claim 6, Wavering and Blossfeld disclose at least two of the one or more electrical components that are contactors 20, and at least one of the one or more electrical components is a shunt 38.
Regarding claim 7, Wavering and Blossfeld disclose the circuit board 22 and the one or more electrical components 20 are fixed to and enclosed by a housing 24.
/PHUONG K DINH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831