Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 and 9-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by Perlman (EP 2150382 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Perlman discloses a robotic pneumatic gripper comprising: a robotic arm (see Page 5, Para. 2); an effector (10; see Fig. 1) arranged at a movable end of the robotic arm, the effector comprising at least one gripping member (16; see Fig. 1); and a pneumatic circuit (see Fig. 1) for controlling negative pressure at the at least one gripping member, the pneumatic circuit comprising: a vacuum source (18; see Fig. 1) configured to provide uninterrupted suction; a main pipe (30; see Fig. 1 and Abstract) connecting the vacuum source to the gripping member; and an auxiliary pipe (38; see Fig. 1) connected to the main pipe at one or more nodes, the auxiliary pipe being provided with a valve (26; see Fig. 1 and Abstract) configured to switch between a closed position where the auxiliary pipe is closed off, and an open position where the node is fluidly connected to the atmosphere, the closed position of the valve making it possible to close off the connection of the auxiliary pipe to the atmosphere (see Page 6, Para. 2-5), and thus fluidly connect the vacuum source to the gripping member in order to create negative pressure in the gripping member and thus create a suction force required to grasp an object (see Abstract).
Regarding claim 2, Perlman discloses the robotic pneumatic gripper as claimed in claim 1, wherein the valve is a 2-way, 2-position valve (see Abstract; valve can open and close).
Regarding claim 3, Perlman discloses the robotic pneumatic gripper as claimed in claim 1, wherein the one or more nodes comprise exactly one node (see Fig. 1 below).
Regarding claim 4, Perlman discloses the robotic pneumatic gripper as claimed in claim 1, wherein all or part of the pneumatic circuit is integrated into the robotic arm, and is therefore movable with the robotic arm (see Page 5, Para. 2; all the circuit is connected to the robot arm, therefore movable with the arm).
Regarding claim 5, Perlman discloses the robotic pneumatic gripper as claimed in claim 1, wherein the vacuum source is a Venturi effect source (18; venturi device; see Abstract).
Regarding claim 9, Perlman discloses the robotic pneumatic gripper as claimed in claim 1, wherein the gripping member comprises at least one of: a suction cup; and foam (16; see Fig. 1; see Page 5, Para. 4).
Regarding claim 10, Perlman discloses a method for gripping an object implemented by a robotic pneumatic gripper (see Fig. 1), the robotic pneumatic gripper comprising a robotic arm (see Page 5, Para. 2); an effector (10; see Fig. 1) arranged at a movable end of the robotic arm, the effector comprising at least one gripping member (16; see Fig. 1); and a pneumatic circuit (see Fig. 1) for controlling negative pressure at the at least one gripping member, the pneumatic circuit comprising: a vacuum source (18; see Fig. 1) configured to provide uninterrupted suction; a main pipe (30; see Fig. 1 and Abstract) connecting the vacuum source to the gripping member; and an auxiliary pipe (38; see Fig. 1) connected to the main pipe at one or more nodes, the auxiliary pipe being provided with a valve (26; see Fig. 1 and Abstract) configured to switch between a closed position where the auxiliary pipe is closed off, and an open position where the node is fluidly connected to the atmosphere, the closed position of the valve making it possible to close off the connection of the auxiliary pipe to the atmosphere (see Page 6, Para. 2-5), and thus fluidly connect the vacuum source to the gripping member in order to create negative pressure in the gripping member and thus create a suction force required to grasp an object (see Abstract), the method comprising the following steps: activating the vacuum source (see Page 2, Para. 4); approaching the at least one gripping member to the object (see Page 2, Para. 4); grasping the object by establishing a negative pressure in the gripping member (see Page 2, Para. 4), by switching the valve to the closed position see (Page 2, Para. 4); moving the object via the motorized arm to a desired location (see Page 5, Para. 4); setting down the object by restoring the gripping member to atmospheric pressure, obtained by switching the valve to the open position, while the vacuum source is kept active (see Page 3, Para. 3).
Regarding claim 11, Perlman discloses a pneumatic circuit for controlling negative pressure in a gripping member, the pneumatic circuit comprising: a vacuum source (18; see Fig. 1) configured to provide uninterrupted suction; a main pipe (30; see Fig. 1 and Abstract) connecting the vacuum source to the gripping member; and an auxiliary pipe (38; see Fig. 1) connected to the main pipe at one or more nodes, the auxiliary pipe being provided with a valve (26; see Fig. 1 and Abstract) configured to switch between a closed position where the auxiliary pipe is closed off, and an open position where the node is fluidly connected to the atmosphere, the closed position of the valve making it possible to close off the connection of the auxiliary pipe to the atmosphere (see Page 6, Para. 2-5), and thus fluidly connect the vacuum source to the gripping member in order to create negative pressure in the gripping member and thus create a suction force required to grasp an object (see Abstract).
Regarding claim 12, Perlman discloses the robotic pneumatic gripper as claimed in claim 11, wherein the valve is a 2-way, 2-position valve (see Abstract; valve can open and close).
Regarding claim 13, Perlman discloses the robotic pneumatic gripper as claimed in claim 11, wherein the one or more nodes comprise exactly one node (see Fig. 1 below).
Regarding claim 14, Perlman discloses the robotic pneumatic gripper as claimed in claim 11, wherein the vacuum source is a Venturi effect source (18; venturi device; see Abstract).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perlman (EP 2150382 B1) in view of Chavan (US 20200055197 A1).
Regarding claim 6 and 15, Perlman discloses the robotic pneumatic gripper as claimed in claim 1 and 11, respectively.
Perlman fails to disclose wherein the vacuum source is a rotary vane vacuum pump.
However, Chavan teaches a robotic gripper wherein the vacuum source is a rotary vane vacuum pump (see Para. 0031).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to introduce wherein the vacuum source is a rotary vane vacuum pump on the robotic pneumatic gripper of Perlman, as taught by Chavan, in order to apply a vacuum to the flexible membrane to move the flexible membrane to a retracted state (see Para. 0031).
Claim(s) 7 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perlman (EP 2150382 B1) in view of Joulin (WO 2023012360 A1).
Regarding claim 7 and 16, Perlman discloses the robotic pneumatic gripper as claimed in claim 1 and 11, respectively.
Perlman fails to disclose wherein the vacuum source is a turbine pump.
However, Joulin teaches a suction gripper wherein the vacuum source is a turbine pump (see Page 17, Para. 6).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to introduce wherein the vacuum source is a turbine pump on the robotic pneumatic gripper of Perlman, as taught by Joulin, making it possible to propose a device for gripping by suction that is more easily adjustable (see Page 2, Para. 6).
Claim(s) 8 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perlman (EP 2150382 B1) in view of Sacchi (IT MI20081359 A1).
Regarding claim 8 and 17, Perlman discloses the robotic pneumatic gripper as claimed in claim 1 and 11, respectively.
Perlman fails to disclose wherein the valve comprises a mouth that is open to the atmosphere and wherein a filtration device is arranged at said mouth.
However, Sacchi teaches a gripper wherein the valve comprises a mouth that is open to the atmosphere and wherein a filtration device is arranged at said mouth (see Page 6, Para. 1).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to introduce wherein the valve comprises a mouth that is open to the atmosphere and wherein a filtration device is arranged at said mouth on the robotic pneumatic gripper of Perlman, as taught by Sacchi, in order to provide a method and apparatus for the pneumatic gripping and handling of bags (see Page 2, Para. 8).
Conclusion
/REHMAN A QURESHI/Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/ROBERT W HODGE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3654