DETAILED ACTION
Status
In response to the amendment filed on 02/12/2026, claims 1, 6, 16, and 20 have been amended, claims 3, 11, 14, and 15 are cancelled, and new claims 23 and 24 are added. Claims 1, 2, 4-10, 12, 13, and 16-24 are pending and under examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/09/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 23 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 23, lines 2-3, the phrase may be amended as “wherein the debrider removes solid debris from the rotatably mounted cleaning brush”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-10, 13, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pruiett et al. (US 2021/0169294, hereinafter Pruiett), in view of Thorne et al. (US 2014/0331445, hereinafter Thorne), and Cao et al. (CN 113413098A, hereinafter Cao).
Regarding claim 1, Pruiett discloses a surface cleaning apparatus (fig. 1 surface cleaning apparatus 10) comprising:
(a) a surface cleaning head (fig. 1, base 16) having a front end, a rear end positioned rearward of the front end, a surface cleaning head axis extending between the front and rear ends and a width in a direction transverse to the surface cleaning head axis (see annotated Pruiett fig. 10 below);
(b) a rotatably mounted cleaning brush positioned at a front end of the surface cleaning head, the rotatably mounted cleaning brush is associated with a brush opening (fig. 12 and ¶ 0103, a brushroll 92 [corresponds to the recited cleaning brush] is rotatably mounted in an opening 122 at a front end of the base 16 [corresponds to the recited surface cleaning head]);
(c) a drying member positioned on a rearward side of the rotatably mounted cleaning brush wherein, in operation, the drying member squeezes water from the rotatably mounted cleaning brush as the rotatably mounted cleaning brush rotates (see annotated Pruiett fig. 13 below, a rear wiper 140 [corresponds to the recited drying member] is positioned on a rearward of the brushroll 92; ¶ 0113, an interference edge of the rear wiper 140 scrapes excess liquid off the brushroll 92);
(d) a water collection container (fig. 13, collection chamber 152) external to the rotatably mounted cleaning brush and positioned rearward of the rotatably mounted cleaning brush (annotated Pruiett fig. 13 below and ¶ 0122, a collection chamber 152 [corresponds to the recited water collection container] is positioned rearward of the brushroll 92);
(e) a cleaning fluid reservoir which, in operation, provides a cleaning fluid to a cleaning fluid applicator that is positioned internal of the surface cleaning head at a position above the rotatably mounted cleaning brush (fig, 5, annotated Pruiett fig. 13 below, ¶ 0081 and 0132, a supply tank 24 [corresponds to the recited cleaning fluid reservoir] of a steam unit 12 provides steam to a brush chamber 124 through a steam manifold 170 [corresponds to the recited cleaning fluid applicator]. The steam manifold 170 is positioned above the brushroll 92 [corresponds to the recited cleaning brush]); and
(g) an upright section that is moveably mounted to the surface cleaning head (¶ 0092, a wand 14 [corresponds to the recited upright section] is pivotally connected to the base 16), when the surface cleaning head is positioned on a floor, the rotatably mounted brush has a height to be disposed within the front end of the surface cleaning head, and wherein a flow path from the drying member to an inlet of the water collection container is unobstructed (fig. 12, a height of the brushroll 92 is about a height of the base 16; fig. 13, the water flows to an inlet of the collection chamber 152 from the rear wiper 140 without obstruction), but does not disclose explicitly the upright section is moveable between an upright storage position and an inclined surface cleaning position.
Thorne teaches, in an analogous surface cleaning apparatus field of endeavor, the upright section is moveable between an upright storage position and an inclined surface cleaning position (fig. 3 and ¶ 0027, an upright section 110 includes a lower support member 270 which is pivotally mounted to a base member between an upright storage position and an inclined floor cleaning position).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the surface cleaning apparatus of Pruiett to provide the upright section moveable between the storage position and the cleaning position as taught by Thorne so that a user can maneuver the cleaning apparatus easily during cleaning operation.
Pruiett as modified by Thorne does not disclose (f) a heater positioned internal of the surface cleaning head operable to pre-heat the cleaning fluid prior to operation of the cleaning fluid applicator.
Cao teaches, in an analogous surface cleaning apparatus field of endeavor, a heater positioned internal of the surface cleaning head operable to pre-heat the cleaning fluid prior to operation of the cleaning fluid applicator (Cao English translation, p. 9:12-16 and figs. 1-3, a cleaning head device 210 [corresponds to the recited surface cleaning head] is provided with liquid heating device 213 [corresponds to the recited heater]. A pump device pumps cleaning liquid to the liquid heating device 213 for heating it and then covey it to an applicator).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the surface cleaning apparatus of Pruiett as modified by Thorne to provide the heater as taught by Cao because heated liquid would have better cleaning effect.
Annotated Pruiett Figure 10
Annotated Pruiett Figure 13
Regarding claim 2, Pruiett as modified by Thorne and Cao teaches the surface cleaning apparatus as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein the rotatably mounted cleaning brush comprises fibers (Pruiett ¶ 0099, the brushroll 92 can comprise nylon fiber).
Regarding claim 4, Pruiett as modified by Thorne and Cao teaches the surface cleaning apparatus as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein the cleaning fluid applicator is positioned forward of the water collection container (see annotated Pruiett fig. 13 above, a steam manifold 170 [corresponds to the recited cleaning fluid applicator] is positioned forward of the collection chamber 152).
Regarding claim 5, Pruiett as modified by Thorne and Cao teaches the surface cleaning apparatus as in the rejection of claim 1, further comprising a ramp wherein, in operation, water removed from the brush travels along the ramp (see annotated Pruiett fig. 13 above and fig. 14, water travels from the brushroll 92 along the ramp 146).
Regarding claim 6, Pruiett as modified by Thorne and Cao teaches the surface cleaning apparatus as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein the water collection container has a front wall and a ramp extends outwardly from the inlet of the water collection container (see annotated Pruiett fig. 13 above).
Regarding claim 7, Pruiett as modified by Thorne and Cao teaches the surface cleaning apparatus as in the rejection of claim 1, further comprising a ramp wherein, in operation, water separated from the rotatably mounted cleaning brush by the drying member travels along the ramp prior to falling to a lower end of the water collection container (see annotated Pruiett fig. 13 above and fig. 14, water separated from the brushroll 92 by the rear wiper 140 [corresponds to the recited drying member] travels along the ramp 146 before falling to the collection chamber 152).
Regarding claim 8, Pruiett as modified by Thorne and Cao teaches the surface cleaning apparatus as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein the drying member is made of plastic (Pruiett ¶ 0114, the rear wiper 140 [corresponds to the recited drying member] can be formed of rigid thermoplastic material).
Regarding claim 9, Pruiett as modified by Thorne and Cao teaches the surface cleaning apparatus as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein the surface cleaning head has an absence of a suction motor (Pruiett ¶ 0108, the base 16 does not have a suction motor. Instead, the rotating brushroll 92 can function like a fan that pressurizes a brush chamber and generates an air current).
Regarding claim 10, Pruiett as modified by Thorne and Cao teaches the surface cleaning apparatus as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein the upright section is removably mounted to the surface cleaning head (Pruiett, fig. 25 and ¶ 0163, the wand 14 [corresponds to the recited upright section] is removable from the base 16 [corresponds to the recited surface cleaning head]).
Regarding claim 13, Pruiett as modified by Thorne and Cao teaches the surface cleaning apparatus as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein the drying member remains in position when the water collection container is removed from the surface cleaning head (Pruiett figs. 13 and 20, the collection bin 94 of the collection chamber 152 can be removed from the base 16, but a position of the rear wiper 140 [corresponds to the recited drying member] is not affected by the removal of the collection bin).
Regarding claim 24, Pruiett as modified by Thorne and Cao teaches the surface cleaning apparatus as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein the water collection container (Pruiett, fig. 13, collection chamber 152) is removably positionable in the surface cleaning head, wherein, when positioned in the surface cleaning head, the water collection container has a width to be disposed within the surface cleaning head, a depth in a direction of the surface cleaning head axis, an inlet at an upper end of the water collection container and a lower collection surface that is positioned below the inlet whereby the water collection container collects by gravity water removed from the rotatably mounted cleaning brush (annotated Pruiett fig. 13 above, fig. 20, and ¶ 0122, a collection chamber 152 [corresponds to the recited water collection container] is positioned rearward of the brushroll 92. The collection chamber 152, which is disposed within the base 16, can be a collection bin 94 to be removable from the base 16 as seen in fig. 20. The water is collected into the collection chamber 152 after being scraped off the brushroll 92 as seen in fig. 14. See fig. 13 for the width, the depth, the inlet, and the lower collection surface of the water collection container).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pruiett in view of Thorne and Cao, as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Yang (EP 3524120A2).
Regarding claim 12, Pruiett as modified by Thorne and Cao teaches the surface cleaning apparatus as in the rejection of claim 1, but does not disclose the drying member is a rotatable roller.
Yang teaches, in an analogous surface cleaning apparatus field of endeavor, the drying member is a rotatable roller (fig. 4 and ¶ 0016, a sewage pressing member 40 is used for pressing the sewage out of a flexible roller 10; ¶ 0020, the sewage pressing member 40 may be a water pressing roller 42).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the surface cleaning apparatus of Pruiett as modified by Thorne and Cao to provide the drying member as a rotatable roller as taught by Yang. A use of the water pressing roller would not affect the normal rotation of the cleaning brush, but it can squeeze out the sewage effectively (Yang ¶ 0021).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pruiett in view of Thorne and Cao, as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of McRorie et al. (US 2020/0060488, hereinafter McRorie).
Regarding claim 21, Pruiett as modified by Thorne and Cao teaches the surface cleaning apparatus as in the rejections of claim 1, but does not disclose the drying member is a squeegee.
McRorie teaches, in an analogous surface cleaning apparatus field of endeavor, the drying member is a squeegee (fig. 17 and ¶ 0079, a floor cleaner comprises a brushroll 162 and a squeegee 226, positioned at rearward side of the brushroll, is configured to wipe liquid from the brushroll 162).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the drying member of Pruiett as modified by Thorne and Cao to be the squeegee as taught by McRorie. The squeegee improves cleaning performance by drying the wet brushroll and minimizing fluid and debris travel back to the surface (McRorie ¶ 0076).
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pruiett in view of Thorne and Cao, as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Kohler et al. (WO 2018162092A1, hereinafter Kohler).
Regarding claim 23, Pruiett as modified by Thorne and Cao teaches the surface cleaning apparatus as in the rejections of claim 1, but does not disclose a debrider positioned on a rearward side of the rotatably mounted cleaning brush wherein the debrider removes solid debris from the rotatably.
Kohler teaches, in an analogous surface cleaning apparatus field of endeavor, a debrider positioned on a rearward side of the rotatably mounted cleaning brush wherein the debrider removes solid debris from the rotatably (Kohler English translation, p. 13:10-25 and fig. 1, a floor cleaning device 10 comprises a cleaning roller 46 [corresponds to the recited cleaning brush], a stripping element 80 [corresponds to the recited drying member], and a sweeping threshold 78 [corresponds to the recited debrider]. The sweeping threshold 78 is positioned at rearward side of the roller 46. The sweeping threshold 78 contacts the roller 46 as shown in fig. 7. Dirt particles are conveyed from the roller 46 into a container 62 via the sweeping threshold 78).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the surface cleaning apparatus of Pruiett as modified by Thorne and Cao to provide the debrider as taught by Kohler in order to remove debris out of the cleaning brush so that the debris do not go back to a floor surface.
Claims 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pruiett et al. (US 2021/0169294, hereinafter Pruiett), in view of Thorne et al. (US 2014/0331445, hereinafter Thorne), Kohler et al. (WO 2018162092A1, hereinafter Kohler), and Cao et al. (CN 113413098A, hereinafter Cao).
Regarding claim 16, Pruiett discloses a surface cleaning apparatus (fig. 1 surface cleaning apparatus 10) comprising:
(a) a surface cleaning head (fig. 1, base 16) having a front end, a rear end positioned rearward of the front end, a surface cleaning head axis extending between the front and rear ends and a width in a direction transverse to the surface cleaning head axis (see annotated Pruiett fig. 10 above);
(b) a rotatably mounted cleaning brush positioned at a front end of the surface cleaning head, the rotatably mounted cleaning brush is associated with a brush opening (fig. 12 and ¶ 0103, a brushroll 92 [corresponds to the recited cleaning brush] is rotatably mounted in an opening 122 at a front end of the base 16 [corresponds to the recited surface cleaning head]);
(c) a drying member positioned on a rearward side of the rotatably mounted cleaning brush wherein, in operation, the drying member squeezes water from the rotatably mounted cleaning brush as the rotatably mounted cleaning brush rotates (see annotated Pruiett fig. 13 above, a rear wiper 140 [corresponds to the recited drying member] is positioned on a rearward of the brushroll 92; ¶ 0113, an interference edge of the rear wiper 140 scrapes excess liquid off the brushroll 92);
(e) a water collection container (fig. 13, collection chamber 152) positioned immediately rearwardly of the rotatably mounted cleaning brush (see annotated Pruiett fig. 13 above) and removably positionable in the surface cleaning head, wherein, when positioned in the surface cleaning head, the water collection container has a width to be disposed within the surface cleaning head, a depth in a direction of the surface cleaning head axis, an inlet at an upper end of the water collection container and a lower collection surface that is positioned below the inlet whereby the water collection container collects by gravity water removed from the rotatably mounted cleaning brush (annotated Pruiett fig. 13 above, fig. 20, and ¶ 0122, a collection chamber 152 [corresponds to the recited water collection container] is positioned rearward of the brushroll 92. The collection chamber 152, which is disposed within the base 16, can be a collection bin 94 to be removable from the base 16 as seen in fig. 20. The water is collected into the collection chamber 152 after being scraped off the brushroll 92 as seen in fig. 14);
(f) a cleaning fluid reservoir which, in operation, provides a cleaning fluid to a cleaning fluid applicator that is positioned internal of the surface cleaning head at a position above the rotatably mounted cleaning brush (fig, 5, annotated Pruiett fig. 13 below, ¶ 0081 and 0132, a supply tank 24 [corresponds to the recited cleaning fluid reservoir] of a steam unit 12 provides steam to a brush chamber 124 through a steam manifold 170 [corresponds to the recited cleaning fluid applicator]. The steam manifold 170 is positioned above the brushroll 92 [corresponds to the recited cleaning brush]); and
(g) an upright section that is moveably mounted to the surface cleaning head (¶ 0092, a wand 14 [corresponds to the recited upright section] is pivotally connected to the base 16), but does not disclose explicitly the upright section is moveable between an upright storage position and an inclined surface cleaning position.
Thorne teaches, in an analogous surface cleaning apparatus field of endeavor, the upright section is moveable between an upright storage position and an inclined surface cleaning position (fig. 3 and ¶ 0027, an upright section 110 includes a lower support member 270 which is pivotally mounted to a base member between an upright storage position and an inclined floor cleaning position).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the surface cleaning apparatus of Pruiett to provide the upright section moveable between the storage position and the cleaning position as taught by Thorne so that a user can maneuver the cleaning apparatus easily during cleaning operation.
Pruiett as modified by Thorne does not disclose (d) a debrider positioned on a rearward side of the rotatably mounted cleaning brush, wherein the debrider removes solid debris from the rotatably mounted cleaning brush as the rotatably mounted cleaning brush rotates.
Kohler teaches, in an analogous surface cleaning apparatus field of endeavor, a debrider positioned on a rearward side of the rotatably mounted cleaning brush, wherein the debrider removes solid debris from the rotatably mounted cleaning brush as the rotatably mounted cleaning brush rotates (Kohler English translation, p. 13:10-25 and fig. 1, a floor cleaning device 10 comprises a cleaning roller 46 [corresponds to the recited cleaning brush], a stripping element 80 [corresponds to the recited drying member], and a sweeping threshold 78 [corresponds to the recited debrider]. The sweeping threshold 78 is positioned at rearward side of the roller 46. The sweeping threshold 78 contacts the roller 46 as shown in fig. 7. Dirt particles are conveyed from the roller 46 into a container 62 via the sweeping threshold 78).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the surface cleaning apparatus of Pruiett as modified by Thorne to provide the debrider as taught by Kohler in order to remove debris out of the cleaning brush so that the debris do not go back to a floor surface.
Pruiett as modified by Thorne and Kohler does not disclose (g) a heater positioned internal of the surface cleaning head operable to pre-heat the cleaning fluid prior to operation of the cleaning fluid applicator.
Cao teaches, in an analogous surface cleaning apparatus field of endeavor, a heater positioned internal of the surface cleaning head operable to pre-heat the cleaning fluid prior to operation of the cleaning fluid applicator (Cao English translation, p. 9:12-16 and figs. 1-3, a cleaning head device 210 [corresponds to the recited surface cleaning head] is provided with liquid heating device 213 [corresponds to the recited heater]. A pump device pumps cleaning liquid to the liquid heating device 213 for heating it and then covey it to an applicator).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the surface cleaning apparatus of Pruiett as modified by Thorne and Kohler to provide the heater as taught by Cao because heated liquid would have better cleaning effect.
Regarding claim 17, Pruiett as modified by Thorne, Kohler, and Cao teaches the surface cleaning apparatus as in the rejection of claim 16, wherein the cleaning fluid applicator is positioned forward of the water collection container (see annotated Pruiett fig. 13 above, as discussed in claim 4 above, a steam manifold 170 [corresponds to the recited cleaning fluid applicator] is positioned forward of the collection chamber 152).
Regarding claim 18, Pruiett as modified by Thorne, Kohler, and Cao teaches the surface cleaning apparatus as in the rejection of claim 16, wherein the surface cleaning head has an absence of a suction motor (Pruiett ¶ 0108, as discussed in claim 9 above, the base 16 does not have a suction motor. Instead, the rotating brushroll 92 can function like a fan that pressurizes a brush chamber and generates an air current).
Regarding claim 19, Pruiett as modified by Thorne, Kohler, and Cao teaches the surface cleaning apparatus as in the rejection of claim 16, wherein, when the surface cleaning head is positioned on a floor, the rotatably mounted brush has a height that is essentially the height of the front end of the surface cleaning head (Pruiett, fig. 12, as discussed in claim 1 above, a height of the brushroll 92 is about a height of the base 16).
Regarding claim 20, Pruiett as modified by Thorne, Kohler, and Cao teaches the surface cleaning apparatus as in the rejection of claim 17, wherein a flow path from the drying member to the inlet of the water collection container is unobstructed (Pruiett, fig. 13, as discussed in claim 1 above, the water flows to an inlet of the collection chamber 152 from the rear wiper 140 without obstruction).
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pruiett in view of Thorne, Kohler, and Cao, as applied to claim 16 above, and in further view of McRorie.
Regarding claim 22, Pruiett as modified by Thorne, Kohler, and Cao teaches the surface cleaning apparatus as in the rejections of claim 16 above, but does not disclose the drying member is a squeegee.
McRorie teaches, in an analogous surface cleaning apparatus field of endeavor, the drying member is a squeegee (fig. 17 and ¶ 0079, a floor cleaner comprises a brushroll 162 and a squeegee 226, positioned at rearward side of the brushroll, is configured to wipe liquid from the brushroll 162).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the drying member of Pruiett as modified by Thorne, Kohler, and Cao to be the squeegee as taught by McRorie. The squeegee improves cleaning performance by drying the wet brushroll and minimizing fluid and debris travel back to the surface (McRorie ¶ 0076).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejections of claims 1 and 16 under 35 U.S.C. §103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Cao.
Applicant argues Pruiett, Thorne, and Kohler do not teach or suggest the amended claim limitations that a heater is positioned internal of the surface cleaning head operable to pre-heat the cleaning fluid prior to operation of the cleaning fluid applicator. Examiner acknowledges Pruiett, Thorne, and Kohler do not teach the heater in the surface cleaning head.
However, Cao teaches a surface cleaning apparatus wherein a liquid heating device 213 is disposed in a cleaning head device 210 to pre-heat the cleaning liquid and a pump conveys the liquid for application (Cao English translation, p. 9:12-16 and figs. 1-3).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.J.C./Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/DAVID S POSIGIAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723