DETAILED ACTION
Status
This paper is responsive to the patent application filed June 7, 2024, and published December 11, 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) as being anticipated by US Pat. Pub. 20220329400 to Ghyslain Pelletier et al. (hereinafter Pelletier).
Regarding claim 1, Pelletier teaches A user equipment (UE), comprising:
one or more memories storing processor-executable code; (Pelletier Fig. 1B, memory 130 and 132)
and
one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories (Pelletier Fig. 1B processor 118 coupled to memory 130 and 132) and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
monitor a first search space for a first downlink control message; (Pelletier para. [0066] teaches monitoring one or more search spaces)
receive the first downlink control message in accordance with the monitoring of the first search space, (Pelletier para. [0066] teaches that a search space may include a PDCCH which a WTRU decodes to determine if a DCI is applicable to the WTRU) wherein the first downlink control message comprises a first set of cyclic redundancy check (CRC) bits having a first length that is associated with a first blind detection type, wherein the first blind detection type is associated with the first search space, a first radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) associated with the first search space, or both; (Pelletier teaches in para. [0101] that a WTRU may use a CRC polynomial used to decode the PDCCH search space of the DCI to determine control signaling. Pelletier further teaches that the CRC polynomial or bits associated with the CRC may be used to decode and determine control signaling applicable to the corresponding group of cells. Pelletier further teaches that decoding the PDCCH in one or more search spaces is blind decoding in para. [0066]. Pelletier also teaches in para. [0077] that validating a DCI includes verifying CRC bits of the DCI after scrambling with the appropriate RNTI. )
and
perform a first redundancy check of the first downlink control message in accordance with the first length of the first set of CRC bits. (Pelletier teaches in para. [0163] that a WTRU may determine the validity of a DCI based on verifying a CRC value “of a determined length” and, in paras. [0173]-[0177] performing a redundancy check of the DCI in accordance with a length of the CRC.)
Regarding claim 29, Pelletier teaches A method for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE), comprising:
monitoring a first search space for a first downlink control message; (Pelletier para. [0067] teaches a WTRU attempting reception in a WTRU-specific search space for a DCI.)
receiving, in accordance with the monitoring of the first search space, the first downlink control message including a first set of cyclic redundancy check (CRC) bits having a first length that is associated with a first blind detection type, wherein the first blind detection type is a first blind detection type associated with the first search space, a first radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) associated with the first search space, or both; (Pelletier teaches in para. [0101] that a WTRU may use a CRC polynomial used to decode the PDCCH search space of the DCI to determine control signaling. Pelletier further teaches that the CRC polynomial or bits associated with the CRC may be used to decode and determine control signaling applicable to the corresponding group of cells. Pelletier further teaches that decoding the PDCCH in one or more search spaces is blind decoding in para. [0066]. Pelletier also teaches in para. [0077] that validating a DCI includes verifying CRC bits of the DCI after scrambling with the appropriate RNTI.)
and
performing a first redundancy check of the first downlink control message in accordance with the first length of the first set of CRC bits. (Pelletier teaches in para. [0163] that a WTRU may determine the validity of a DCI based on verifying a CRC value “of a determined length” and, in paras. [0173]-[0177] performing a redundancy check of the DCI in accordance with a length of the CRC.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-11 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pelletier in view of US Pat. Pub. 20190364578 to XiaoBo Zhang et al. (hereinafter Zhang).
Regarding claim 2, Pelletier teaches The UE of claim 1 as stated. Pelletier further teaches wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
monitor a second search space for a second downlink control message; (Pelletier teaches in para. 0009 “The second DCI and the first candidate DCI may be received via the downlink control channel of different cells. The WTRU may determine a type of DCI included in the first candidate DCI based on one or more of a received configuration, the RNTI used to decode the downlink control channel transmission, a location of the downlink control channel transmission in a search space, the search space utilized, or a CRC polynomial utilized.”
Pelletier does NOT teach receive the second downlink control message in accordance with the monitoring of the second search space, wherein the second downlink control message includes a second set of CRC bits having a second length that is based at least in part on a second blind detection type associated with the second search space, a second RNTI associated with the second search space, or both.
In the same field of endeavor, Zhang teaches receive the second downlink control message in accordance with the monitoring of the second search space, wherein the second downlink control message includes a second set of CRC bits having a second length that is based at least in part on a second blind detection type associated with the second search space, a second RNTI associated with the second search space, or both; (Zhang para. [0011] teaches that a second stage DCI associated with a first stage DCI may “employ a shorter CRC check bit”. Zhang para. [0071]- [0072] teaches that the blind decoding method uses two CRCs wherein the first CRC is used for check and the second CRS is used for pruning when decoding, which is a second blind detection type. Further, Zhang para. [0072] teaches that the number of times of blind decoding of the second-stage DCI is reduced. Examiner notes that the “or” negates requiring a teaching of both alternatives in the claim.)
and
perform a second redundancy check of the second downlink control message in accordance with the second length of the second set of CRC bits. (Zhang teaches that a second redundancy check of the second DCI is performed for the second stage DCI in para. [0071] wherein the “second CRC is used for pruning” which reduced redundancy.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to combine Zhang with Pelletier to teach a second DCI and a second set of CRC with a different length. Each of Zhang and Pelletier are in the field of wireless communications and CRC. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Pelletier with Zhang in order to avoid probabilities of false alarms and not waste control signaling resources by adopting CRCs with a same length for two-stage blind decoding as taught in Zhang para. [0005].
Regarding claim 3, Pelletier does NOT teach The UE of claim 2, wherein the second length of the second set of CRC bits is different from the first length of the first set of CRC bits in accordance with the first search space being different from the second search space.
In the same field of endeavor, Zhang teaches wherein the second length of the second set of CRC bits is different from the first length of the first set of CRC bits in accordance with the first search space being different from the second search space. (Zhang teaches that the second set of CRC bits is shorter than the first set of CRC bits as shown in Fig. 3, wherein the “second CRC” is shown for the “second bit sub-block”. The second search space associated with the second set of CRC bits, para. [0071] teaches “The first CRC is used for check, and the second CRC is used for pruning when decoding” which is a different search space than for the first CRC because the first-stage DCI is associated with a flexible search space as taught in Zhang para. [0113] “the search space corresponding to the first-stage DCI” is configured more flexibly.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to combine Zhang with Pelletier to teach a second DCI and a second set of CRC with a different length. Each of Zhang and Pelletier are in the field of wireless communications and CRC. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Pelletier with Zhang in order to avoid probabilities of false alarms and not waste control signaling resources by adopting CRCs with a same length for two-stage blind decoding as taught in Zhang para. [0005].
Regarding claim 4, Pelletier teaches The UE of claim 1 as stated. Pelletier does NOT teach wherein the first blind detection type is a two-stage physical downlink control channel blind detection, and wherein the first length of the first set of CRC bits comprises less than a threshold quantity of CRC bits in accordance with the first blind detection type being the two-stage physical downlink control channel blind detection.
In the same field of endeavor, Zhang teaches wherein the first blind detection type is a two-stage physical downlink control channel blind detection, (Zhang teaches a two-stage PDCCH blind detection in para. [0011] and wherein the first length of the first set of CRC bits comprises less than a threshold quantity of CRC bits in accordance with the first blind detection type being the two-stage physical downlink control channel blind detection. (Zhang teaches in Fig. 3, shown above, that a length of CRC bits used for two-stage blind detection can be less than a threshold quantity when the threshold is split in two as shown above.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to combine Zhang with Pelletier to teach different lengths of CRC bits for blind detection. Each of Zhang and Pelletier are in the field of wireless communications and CRC. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Pelletier with Zhang in order to avoid probabilities of false alarms and not waste control signaling resources by adopting CRCs with a same length for two-stage blind decoding as taught in Zhang para. [0005].
Regarding claim 5, Pelletier does NOT teach The UE of claim 4, wherein the threshold quantity of CRC bits comprises twenty four CRC bits.
In the same field of endeavor, Zhang teaches wherein the threshold quantity of CRC bits comprises twenty four CRC bits. (Zhang in para. [0010] and [0020] teaches different quantities of CRC bits in the “second bit subblock” shown in Fig. 3 is equal to K1, which can be equal to one of 8, 16, 24 or 32. Therefore an option in Zhang is to have 24 CRC bits.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to combine Zhang with Pelletier to teach a threshold of 24 bits for a CRC. Each of Zhang and Pelletier are in the field of wireless communications and CRC. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Pelletier with Zhang in order to avoid probabilities of false alarms and not waste control signaling resources by adopting CRCs with a same length for two-stage blind decoding as taught in Zhang para. [0005].
Regarding claim 6, Pelletier teaches The UE of claim 1, as stated. Pelletier does NOT teach wherein the first length of the first set of CRC bits comprises less than a threshold quantity of CRC bits in accordance with the first blind detection type corresponding to a total quantity of blind decodes that is less than a threshold quantity of blind decodes.
In the same field of endeavor, Zhang teaches wherein the first length of the first set of CRC bits comprises less than a threshold quantity of CRC bits in accordance with the first blind detection type corresponding to a total quantity of blind decodes that is less than a threshold quantity of blind decodes. (Zhang teaches in Fig. 3 and paras. [0010] and [0020] that the first set of CRC bits is less than the K1 total for both the “first CRC” and the “second CRC” which are subsets of K1, mapped to the threshold of 24. Further, Zhang teaches that the first blind detection type is for a “check” and the second CRC is used for “pruning” when decoding, which improves performances when decoding polar code and improves transmission efficiency. Zhang further teaches in para. [0121] that the total maximum number of blind decodes is M1 and the maximum number in the second time-frequency resource set is M2, and M2 is less than M1 .)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to combine Zhang with Pelletier to teach a threshold number of decodes as claimed. Each of Zhang and Pelletier are in the field of wireless communications and CRC. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Pelletier with Zhang in order to avoid probabilities of false alarms and not waste control signaling resources by adopting CRCs with a same length for two-stage blind decoding as taught in Zhang para. [0005].
Regarding claim 7, Pelletier does NOT teach The UE of claim 6, wherein the threshold quantity of blind decodes is in accordance with a subcarrier spacing associated with the first search space, a frequency range associated with the first search space, or both.
In the same field of endeavor, Zhang teaches wherein the threshold quantity of blind decodes is in accordance with a subcarrier spacing associated with the first search space, a frequency range associated with the first search space, or both. (Zhang teaches in paras. [0121]-[0123] that the total number of blind decodes corresponds to the “M1 RE sets in the first time-frequency resource set respectively”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to combine Zhang with Pelletier to teach a threshold number of decodes as claimed . Each of Zhang and Pelletier are in the field of wireless communications and CRC. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Pelletier with Zhang in order to avoid probabilities of false alarms and not waste control signaling resources by adopting CRCs with a same length for two-stage blind decoding as taught in Zhang para. [0005].
Regarding claim 8, Pelletier does NOT teach The UE of claim 6, wherein the total quantity of blind decodes comprises a collective total quantity of blind decodes for one or more search spaces configured at the UE, the one or more search spaces comprising the first search space.
In the same field of endeavor, Zhang teaches The UE of claim 6, wherein the total quantity of blind decodes comprises a collective total quantity of blind decodes for one or more search spaces configured at the UE, the one or more search spaces comprising the first search space. (Zhang teaches in para. [0121] that the UE performs M1 times of detections for the first bit block in the first time-frequency resource set and M2 times in the second bit block in the second time-frequency resource set, and M2 is less than M1. The first time-frequency resource set is a “search space”.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to combine Zhang with Pelletier to teach a threshold number of decodes. Each of Zhang and Pelletier are in the field of wireless communications and CRC. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Pelletier with Zhang in order to avoid probabilities of false alarms and not waste control signaling resources by adopting CRCs with a same length for two-stage blind decoding as taught in Zhang para. [0005].
Regarding claim 9, Pelletier does NOT teach The UE of claim 6, wherein the total quantity of blind decodes comprises a collective total quantity of blind decodes for one or more component carriers configured at the UE.
In the same field of endeavor, Zhang teaches wherein the total quantity of blind decodes comprises a collective total quantity of blind decodes for one or more component carriers configured at the UE. (Zhang teaches in para. [0121] that “UE performs a maximum number of M2 time(s) of detection(s) of the second bit block in the second time-frequency resource set. The M1 is a positive integer, and the M2 is a positive integer less than the M1.” and in para. [0123] that the M1 times of detections correspond to M1 RE sets in the first time-frequency resource set and M2 detections in the second time-frequency resource set, and para. [0124] teaches that REs include “one subcarrier in the frequency domain and one multicarrier symbol in the time domain” which Examiner interprets as a component carrier configured at the UE.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to combine Zhang with Pelletier to teach a threshold number of decodes. Each of Zhang and Pelletier are in the field of wireless communications and CRC. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Pelletier with Zhang in order to avoid probabilities of false alarms and not waste control signaling resources by adopting CRCs with a same length for two-stage blind decoding as taught in Zhang para. [0005].
Regarding claim 10, Pelletier does NOT teach The UE of claim 6, wherein the threshold quantity of blind decodes is in accordance with a quantity of blind decodes associated with the first RNTI associated with the first search space.
In the same field of endeavor, Zhang teaches wherein the threshold quantity of blind decodes is in accordance with a quantity of blind decodes associated with the first RNTI associated with the first search space. (Zhang that the threshold quantity of blind decodes is M1 as taught in para. [0121] which is according to the second bit sub-block shown in Fig. 3, which, as taught in Zhang paras. [0024]-[0027] is decoded using “scrambling” by a C-RNTI of the UE.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to combine Zhang with Pelletier to teach a using an RNTI associated with the blind decoding. Each of Zhang and Pelletier are in the field of wireless communications and CRC. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Pelletier with Zhang in order to avoid probabilities of false alarms and not waste control signaling resources by adopting CRCs with a same length for two-stage blind decoding as taught in Zhang para. [0005].
Regarding claim 11, Pelletier in view of Zhang teaches The UE of claim 6, as stated. Pelletier does NOT teach wherein the threshold quantity of blind decodes is associated with a search space type of the first search space.
In the same field of endeavor, Zhang teaches wherein the threshold quantity of blind decodes is associated with a search space type of the first search space. (Zhang teaches in para. [0121] that the UE performs M1 times of detections for the first bit block in the first time -frequency resource set and M2 times in the second bit block in the second time-frequency resource set, and M2 is less than M1. The first time-frequency resource set is a “search space”. The threshold quantity of blind decodes with M2 less than M1 is an association.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to combine Zhang with Pelletier to teach a threshold number of decodes. Each of Zhang and Pelletier are in the field of wireless communications and CRC. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Pelletier with Zhang in order to avoid probabilities of false alarms and not waste control signaling resources by adopting CRCs with a same length for two-stage blind decoding as taught in Zhang para. [0005].
Regarding claim 14, Pelletier teaches The UE of claim 1 as stated. Pelletier does NOT teach wherein, in accordance with a subcarrier spacing of the first search space, a frequency range or frequency band associated with the first search space, or any combination thereof, the first length of the first set of CRC bits is less than a default quantity of CRC bits associated with a type of message corresponding to the first downlink control message.
In the same field of endeavor, Zhang teaches wherein, in accordance with a subcarrier spacing of the first search space, a frequency range or frequency band associated with the first search space, or any combination thereof, the first length of the first set of CRC bits is less than a default quantity of CRC bits associated with a type of message corresponding to the first downlink control message. (Zhang teaches that the first set of CRC bits as shown in Fig. 3 is less than the full CRC in paras. [0010] and [0020] that the first set of CRC bits is less than the K1 total for both the “first CRC” and the “second CRC” which are subsets of K1, mapped to the threshold of 24. Further the subcarrier spacing of the first search space is “flexible” to enable the first stage DCI as taught in Zhang para. [0113].)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to combine Zhang with Pelletier to teach lengths of CRC bits. Each of Zhang and Pelletier are in the field of wireless communications and CRC. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Pelletier with Zhang in order to avoid probabilities of false alarms and not waste control signaling resources by adopting CRCs with a same length for two-stage blind decoding as taught in Zhang para. [0005].
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pelletier in view of Zhang, further in view of US Pat. Pub. 2020/0228236 to Fengjun Xi et al. (hereinafter Xi).
Regarding claim 12, Pelletier does NOT teach The UE of claim 11, wherein the search space type comprises a common search space or a UE-specific search space.
In the same field of endeavor, Xi teaches wherein the search space type comprises a common search space or a UE-specific search space. (Xi teaches in para. [0553] that the search space type can be either a common search space or a UE-specific search space.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to combine Pelletier and Xi. Each of Pelletier and XI are in the field of wireless communications. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Pelletier and Xi in order to reduce false alarm rates via WTRU specific scrambling as taught in Xi para. [0316].
Regarding claim 15, Pelletier does NOT teach The UE of claim 1, wherein a generator polynomial associated with the first set of CRC bits is also associated with generation of CRC bits for a physical uplink control channel, a physical uplink shared channel, or a physical downlink shared channel.
In the same field of endeavor, Xi teaches wherein a generator polynomial associated with the first set of CRC bits is also associated with generation of CRC bits for a physical uplink control channel, a physical uplink shared channel, or a physical downlink shared channel. (Xi teaches in para. [0133] that ABA PCC, polar code construction can be used for PDSCH, PUCCH, PUSCH and the like. Xi para. [0554] teaches that the polar coding may comprise CRC polynomials.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to combine Pelletier and Xi. Each of Pelletier and XI are in the field of wireless communications. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Pelletier and Xi in order to reduce false alarm rates via WTRU specific scrambling as taught in Xi para. [0316].
Claims 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pelletier in view of Zhang, further in view of 3GPP TS 38.213 V18.2.0 (2024-03) (hereinafter TS 38.213).
Regarding claim 13, Pelletier teaches The UE of claim 1 as stated. Pelletier does NOT teach wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
transmit one or more messages indicative of a capability of the UE to support the first set of CRC bits having the first length, wherein the first length is less than a default quantity of CRC bits associated with a type of message corresponding to the first downlink control message.
In the analogous field of 3GPP 5G wireless communications, TS 38.213 in view of Zhang teaches transmit one or more messages indicative of a capability of the UE to support the first set of CRC bits having the first length, wherein the first length is less than a default quantity of CRC bits associated with a type of message corresponding to the first downlink control message. (TS 38.213, teaches on page 157, line 10 et seq. that the UE includes an UE-NR-Capability that indicates a maximum number of PDCCH candidates and for a maximum number of non-overlapped CCEs the UE can monitor for carrier aggregation operation. Because the maximum number of PDCCH candidates capability is related to ability to blind decode, the capability message is related to whether a UE can support the first set of CRC bits for decoding.
As discussed supra, Zhang teaches a two-stage PDCCH blind detection in para. [0011] wherein the first length of the first set of CRC bits comprises less than a threshold quantity of CRC bits in accordance with the first blind detection type being the two-stage physical downlink control channel blind detection in Fig. 3, shown above, and that a length of CRC bits used for two-stage blind detection can be less than a threshold quantity when the threshold is split in two as shown above.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to have combined Pelletier with TS 38.213 to teach a message with a UE capability. Each of Pelletier and TS 38.213 are in the field of wireless communications. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine TS 38.213 with Pelletier in order to follow the 3GPP standard for UE procedure for receiving control information Section 10, page 154 and for determining physical downlink control channel assignment as taught on page 168, Section 10.1.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to combine Zhang with Pelletier to teach different lengths of CRC for blind decoding. Each of Zhang and Pelletier are in the field of wireless communications and CRC. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Pelletier with Zhang in order to avoid probabilities of false alarms and not waste control signaling resources by adopting CRCs with a same length for two-stage blind decoding as taught in Zhang para. [0005].
Claim 16, 28 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xi in view of Pelletier.
Regarding claim 16, Xi teaches A network entity, comprising:
one or more memories storing processor-executable code; (Xi teaches in paras. [0557]-[0558] a gNB has computer-readable medium for execution by a computer and/or processor that includes memory)
and
one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to: (Xi para. [0558] teaches that a gNB processes software via firmware and/or processor)
generate, for a first payload of a first downlink control message, a first set of cyclic redundancy check (CRC) bits [[having a first length, wherein the first length is associated with a first blind detection type]], the first blind detection type associated with a first search space of a user equipment (UE), a first radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) associated with the first search space, or both; (Xi para. [0127] teaches in para. [0127] that a base station, for example in LTE may create a DCI and attach a CRC masked with a RNTI associated with a PDCCH so that a WTRU may blind decode a set of PDCCH candidates as search spaces.)
and
output the first downlink control message to the UE, wherein the first downlink control message comprises the first set of CRC bits [having the first length] (Xi para. [0127] teaches that the WTRU may demask the CRC of a candidate DCI (e.g. the CRC of each blind decoded DCI).
Xi does NOT teach that a CRC has a first length, wherein the first length is associated with a first blind detection type.
In the same field of endeavor, Pelletier teaches a CRC has a first length, wherein the first length is associated with a first blind detection type, and it is output as a first set of CRC bits having the first length. (Pelletier teaches in para. [0163] that a WTRU may determine the validity of a DCI based on verifying a CRC value “of a determined length”. )
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to combine Pelletier and Xi. Each of Pelletier and XI are in the field of wireless communications. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Pelletier and Xi in order to lower the number blind decoding attempts as taught in Pelletier para. [0072].
Regarding claim 28, Xi in view of Pelletier teaches The network entity of claim 16 as stated. Xi also teaches wherein, to generate the first set of CRC bits, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to:
generate the first set of CRC bits in accordance with a generator polynomial that is also associated with generation of CRC bits for a physical uplink control channel, a physical uplink shared channel, or a physical downlink shared channel. (Xi teaches in para. [0133] that ABA PCC, polar code construction used for CRC generation can be used for PDSCH, PUCCH, PUSCH and the like. Xi para. [0554] teaches that the polar coding may comprise CRC polynomials.)
Regarding claim 30, Xi teaches A method for wireless communications at a network entity, comprising:
generating, for a first payload of a first downlink control message, a first set of cyclic redundancy check (CRC) bits [[having a first length, wherein the first length is associated with a first blind detection type,]] the first blind detection type associated with a first search space of a user equipment (UE), a first radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) associated with the first search space, or both; (Xi para. [0127] teaches in para. [0127] that a base station, for example in LTE may create a DCI and attach a CRC masked with a RNTI associated with a PDCCH so that a WTRU may blind decode a set of PDCCH candidates as search spaces.)
and
output the first downlink control message to the UE, wherein the first downlink control message comprises the first set of CRC bits [having the first length]. (Xi para. [0127] teaches that the WTRU may demask the CRC of a candidate DCI (e.g. the CRC of each blind decoded DCI).
Xi does NOT teach that a CRC has a first length, wherein the first length is associated with a first blind detection type.
In the same field of endeavor, Pelletier teaches a CRC has a first length, wherein the first length is associated with a first blind detection type, and it is output as a first set of CRC bits having the first length. (Pelletier teaches in para. [0163] that a WTRU may determine the validity of a DCI based on verifying a CRC value “of a determined length”. )
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to combine Pelletier and Xi. Each of Pelletier and XI are in the field of wireless communications. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Pelletier and Xi in order to lower the number blind decoding attempts as taught in Pelletier para. [0072].
Claim 17-25 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xi in view of Pelletier, further in view of Zhang.
Regarding claim 17, Xi in view of Pelletier teaches The network entity of claim 16 as stated. Xi does NOT specifically teach wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to:
generate, for a second payload of a second downlink control message, a second set of CRC bits having a second length, wherein the second length is associated with a second blind detection type, the second blind detection type associated with a second search space of the UE, a second RNTI associated with the second search space, or both;
In the same field of endeavor, Zhang teaches generate, for a second payload of a second downlink control message, a second set of CRC bits having a second length, wherein the second length is associated with a second blind detection type, the second blind detection type associated with a second search space of the UE, a second RNTI associated with the second search space, or both; (Zhang para. [0011] teaches that a second stage DCI associated with a first stage DCI may “employ a shorter CRC”. Zhang para. [0071]- [0072] teaches that the blind decoding method uses two CRCs wherein the first CRC is used for check and the second CRS is used for pruning when decoding, which is a second blind detection type. Further, Zhang para. [0072] teaches that the number of times of blind decoding of the second-stage DCI is reduced. Examiner notes that the “or” negates requiring a teaching of both alternatives in the claim.)
and
output the second downlink control message to the UE, wherein the second downlink control message comprises the second set of CRC bits having the second length. (Zhang teaches that the “second CRC is used for pruning” which reduced redundancy is sent as a second downlink control message .)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to combine Zhang with Xi. Each of Zhang and Xi are in the field of wireless communications and CRC. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Xi with Zhang in order to avoid probabilities of false alarms and not waste control signaling resources by adopting CRCs with a same length for two-stage blind decoding as taught in Zhang para. [0005].
Regarding claim 18, Xi in view of Pelletier further in view of Zhang teaches The network entity of claim 17 as stated. Xi does NOT specifically teach wherein the second length of the second set of CRC bits is different from the first length of the first set of CRC bits in accordance with the first search space being different from the second search space.
In the same field of endeavor, Zhang teaches wherein the second length of the second set of CRC bits is different from the first length of the first set of CRC bits in accordance with the first search space being different from the second search space. (Zhang teaches that the second set of CRC bits is shorter than the first set of CRC bits as shown in Fig. 3, wherein the “second CRC” is shown for the “second bit sub-block”. The second search space associated with the second set of CRC bits, para. [0071] teaches “The first CRC is used for check, and the second CRC is used for pruning when decoding” which is a different search space than for the first CRC because the first-stage DCI is associated with a flexible search space as taught in Zhang para. [0113] “the search space corresponding to the first-stage DCI” is configured more flexibly.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to combine Zhang with Xi . Each of Zhang and Xi are in the field of wireless communications and CRC. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Xi with Zhang in order to avoid probabilities of false alarms and not waste control signaling resources by adopting CRCs with a same length for two-stage blind decoding as taught in Zhang para. [0005].
Regarding claim 19, Xi in view of Pelletier teaches The network entity of claim 16 as stated. Xi does NOT specifically teach, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to:
output an activation of the first blind detection type, wherein the first blind detection type is a two-stage physical downlink control channel blind detection, and wherein the first length of the first set of CRC bits comprises less than a threshold quantity of CRC bits in accordance with the first blind detection type being the two-stage physical downlink control channel blind detection.
In the same field of endeavor, Zhang teaches output an activation of the first blind detection type, wherein the first blind detection type is a two-stage physical downlink control channel blind detection, (Zhang teaches a two-stage PDCCH blind detection in para. [0011] ) and wherein the first length of the first set of CRC bits comprises less than a threshold quantity of CRC bits in accordance with the first blind detection type being the two-stage physical downlink control channel blind detection. (Zhang teaches in Fig. 3, shown above, that a length of CRC bits used for two-stage blind detection can be less than a threshold quantity when the threshold is split in two as shown above.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to combine Zhang with Xi to teach different lengths of CRC bits for blind detection. Each of Zhang and Xi are in the field of wireless communications and CRC. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Xi with Zhang in order to avoid probabilities of false alarms and not waste control signaling resources by adopting CRCs with a same length for two-stage blind decoding as taught in Zhang para. [0005].
Regarding claim 20, Xi in view of Pelletier teaches The network entity of claim 16. Xi does NOT teach wherein the first length of the first set of CRC bits comprises less than a threshold quantity of CRC bits in accordance with the first blind detection type corresponding to a total quantity of blind decodes that is less than a threshold quantity of blind decodes.
In the same field of endeavor, Zhang teaches wherein the first length of the first set of CRC bits comprises less than a threshold quantity of CRC bits in accordance with the first blind detection type corresponding to a total quantity of blind decodes that is less than a threshold quantity of blind decodes. . (Zhang teaches in Fig. 3, shown above, that a length of CRC bits used for two-stage blind detection can be less than a threshold quantity when the threshold is split in two as shown above.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to combine Zhang with Xi to teach different lengths of CRC bits for blind detection and types. Each of Zhang and Xi are in the field of wireless communications and CRC. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Xi with Zhang in order to avoid probabilities of false alarms and not waste control signaling resources by adopting CRCs with a same length for two-stage blind decoding as taught in Zhang para. [0005].
Regarding claim 21, Xi in view of Pelletier does NOT teach wherein the threshold quantity of blind decodes is in accordance with a subcarrier spacing associated with the first search space, a frequency range associated with the first search space, or both.
In the same field of endeavor, Zhang teaches wherein the threshold quantity of blind decodes is in accordance with a subcarrier spacing associated with the first search space, a frequency range associated with the first search space, or both. (Zhang teaches in paras. [0121]-[0123] that the total number of blind decodes corresponds to the “M1 RE sets in the first time-frequency resource set respectively”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to combine Zhang with Xi to teach a threshold number of decodes. Each of Zhang and Xi are in the field of wireless communications and CRC. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Xi with Zhang in order to avoid probabilities of false alarms and not waste control signaling resources by adopting CRCs with a same length for two-stage blind decoding as taught in Zhang para. [0005].
Regarding claim 22, Xi in view of Pelletier does NOT teach wherein the total quantity of blind decodes comprises a collective total quantity of blind decodes for one or more configured search spaces, the one or more configured search spaces comprising the first search space.
In the same field of endeavor, Zhang teaches wherein the total quantity of blind decodes comprises a collective total quantity of blind decodes for one or more configured search spaces, the one or more configured search spaces comprising the first search space. (Zhang teaches in para. [0121] that the UE performs M1 times of detections for the first bit block in the first time-frequency resource set and M2 times in the second bit block in the second time-frequency resource set, and M2 is less than M1. The first time-frequency resource set is a “search space”.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to combine Zhang with Xi to teach a collective total number of decodes. Each of Zhang and Xi are in the field of wireless communications and CRC. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Xi with Zhang in order to avoid probabilities of false alarms and not waste control signaling resources by adopting CRCs with a same length for two-stage blind decoding as taught in Zhang para. [0005].
Regarding claim 23, Xi in view of Pelletier does NOT wherein the total quantity of blind decodes comprises a collective total quantity of blind decodes for one or more component carriers.
In the same field of endeavor, Zhang teaches wherein the total quantity of blind decodes comprises a collective total quantity of blind decodes for one or more component carriers. . (Zhang teaches in para. [0121] that “UE performs a maximum number of M2 time(s) of detection(s) of the second bit block in the second time-frequency resource set. The M1 is a positive integer, and the M2 is a positive integer less than the M1.” and in para. [0123] that the M1 times of detections correspond to M1 RE sets in the first time-frequency resource set and M2 detections in the second time-frequency resource set, and para. [0124] teaches that REs include “one subcarrier in the frequency domain and one multicarrier symbol in the time domain” which Examiner interprets as a component carrier configured at the UE.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to combine Zhang with Xi to teach a collective total number of decodes. Each of Zhang and Xi are in the field of wireless communications and CRC. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Xi with Zhang in order to avoid probabilities of false alarms and not waste control signaling resources by adopting CRCs with a same length for two-stage blind decoding as taught in Zhang para. [0005].
Regarding claim 24, Xi in view of Pelletier does NOT teach wherein the threshold quantity of blind decodes is in accordance with a quantity of blind decodes associated with the first RNTI associated with the first search space.
In the same field of endeavor, Zhang teaches wherein the threshold quantity of blind decodes is in accordance with a quantity of blind decodes associated with the first RNTI associated with the first search space. (Zhang that the threshold quantity of blind decodes is M1 as taught in para. [0121] which is according to the second bit sub-block shown in Fig. 3, which, as taught in Zhang paras. [0024]-[0027] is decoded using “scrambling” by a C-RNTI of the UE.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to combine Zhang with Xi to teach a using an RNTI associated with the blind decoding. Each of Zhang and Xi are in the field of wireless communications and CRC. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Xi with Zhang in order to avoid probabilities of false alarms and not waste control signaling resources by adopting CRCs with a same length for two-stage blind decoding as taught in Zhang para. [0005].
Regarding claim 25, Xi in view of Pelletier does NOT teach wherein the threshold quantity of blind decodes is associated with a search space type of the first search space.
In the same field of endeavor, Zhang teaches wherein the threshold quantity of blind decodes is associated with a search space type of the first search space. (Zhang teaches in para. [0121] that the UE performs M1 times of detections for the first bit block in the first time -frequency resource set and M2 times in the second bit block in the second time-frequency resource set, and M2 is less than M1. The first time-frequency resource set is a “search space”. The threshold quantity of blind decodes with M2 less than M1 is an association.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to combine Zhang with Xi. Each of Zhang and Xi are in the field of wireless communications and CRC. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Xi with Zhang in order to avoid probabilities of false alarms and not waste control signaling resources by adopting CRCs with a same length for two-stage blind decoding as taught in Zhang para. [0005].
Regarding claim 27, Xi in view of Pelletier teaches The network entity of claim 16 as stated. Xi does NOT teach wherein, in accordance with a subcarrier spacing of the first search space, a frequency range or frequency band associated with the first search space, or any combination thereof, the first length of the first set of CRC bits is less than a default quantity of CRC bits associated with a type of message corresponding to the first downlink control message.
In the same field of endeavor, Zhang teaches wherein, in accordance with a subcarrier spacing of the first search space, a frequency range or frequency band associated with the first search space, or any combination thereof, the first length of the first set of CRC bits is less than a default quantity of CRC bits associated with a type of message corresponding to the first downlink control message. (Zhang teaches in Fig. 3 a subset of K1 which is taught in para. [0020]. Zhang further teaches as shown in Fig. 3 and in para. [0010] and [0020] different quantities of CRC bits in the “second bit subblock” shown in Fig. 3 is equal to K1, which can be equal to one of 8, 16, 24 or 32 which is split into two parts with the first length of the second bit subblock shorter than K1.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to combine Zhang with Xi. Each of Zhang and Xi are in the field of wireless communications and CRC. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Xi with Zhang in order to avoid probabilities of false alarms and not waste control signaling resources by adopting CRCs with a same length for two-stage blind decoding as taught in Zhang para. [0005].
Claims 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xi in view of Pelletier further in view of TS 38.213 and Zhang
Regarding claim 26, Xi in view of Pelletier teaches The network entity of claim 16 as stated.
Xi does NOT teach wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to:
obtain one or more messages indicative of a capability of the UE to support the first set of CRC bits having the first length, wherein the first length is less than a default quantity of CRC bits associated with a type of message corresponding to the first downlink control message.
In the analogous field of 3GPP 5G wireless communications, TS 38.213 in view of Zhang teaches obtain one or more messages indicative of a capability of the UE to support the first set of CRC bits having the first length, wherein the first length is less than a default quantity of CRC bits associated with a type of message corresponding to the first downlink control message. (TS 38.213, teaches on page 157, line 10 et seq. that the UE includes an UE-NR-Capability that indicates a maximum number of PDCCH candidates and for a maximum number of non-overlapped CCEs the UE can monitor for carrier aggregation operation. Because the maximum number of PDCCH candidates capability is related to ability to blind decode, the capability message is related to whether a UE can support the first set of CRC bits for decoding.
Further, Zhang teaches a two-stage PDCCH blind detection in para. [0011] wherein the first length of the first set of CRC bits comprises less than a threshold quantity of CRC bits in accordance with the first blind detection type being the two-stage physical downlink control channel blind detection in Fig. 3, shown above, and that a length of CRC bits used for two-stage blind detection can be less than a threshold quantity when the threshold is split in two as shown above.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to have combined Xi with TS 38.213 to teach a message with a UE capability. Each of Xi and TS 38.213 are in the field of wireless communications. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine TS 38.213 with Xi in order to follow the 3GPP standard for UE procedure for receiving control information Section 10, page 154 and for determining physical downlink control channel assignment as taught on page 168, Section 10.1.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to combine Zhang with Xi to teach different lengths of CRC for blind decoding. Each of Zhang and Xi are in the field of wireless communications and CRC. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Xi with Zhang in order to avoid probabilities of false alarms and not waste control signaling resources by adopting CRCs with a same length for two-stage blind decoding as taught in Zhang para. [0005].
Conclusion
/MARGARET MARIE ANDERSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2412 /CHARLES C JIANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2412