Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 & 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Woo US20230019077 (hereinafter referred to as Woo).
In regards to claim 1, Woo teaches a charging device (electricity charging device 100; [Fig. 2]) comprising: a charger (second electrode 150b; [Fig. 2]) on which an object (mask; [Fig. 6]) is placed (implicit; [Fig. 6]); and an output circuit (power supply unit 140, conversion circuit unit 130, & control unit 120; [Fig. 4 & 5]) structured to boost a voltage (converts a voltage… into a high voltage; [0033]) and output an output voltage (high voltage; [0033] & [Fig. 5]), wherein the charger charges the placed object in a state of being charged by the output voltage outputted from the output circuit (recharging static electricity to an electrostatic mask; [0033]).
In regards to claim 2, Woo teaches the charging device according to claim 1, further comprising a support (the walls of lower housing 110b; [Fig. 2]) structured to support the charger in midair (implicit; [Fig. 2]), wherein the support is disposed to transmit the output voltage outputted from the output circuit to the charger (implicit, the wiring shown by the dotted lines runs along the side walls between the power supply unit 140 and the DC-DC conversion unit; [Fig. 3]).
In regards to claim 3, Woo teaches the charging device according to claim 2, further comprising an insulator (dielectric plate 160a; [Fig. 2]) disposed between a ground plane (electrode 150a; [Fig. 2]) of the charging device and the charger, while being separated from the charger (implicit; [Fig. 2]).
In regards to claim 4, Woo teaches wherein the charger includes an insulating plate (dielectric body 160b; [Fig. 2]) to be charged by the output voltage outputted from the output circuit (Dielectric body B is downstream of the high voltage electrode B; [Fig. 5]).
In regards to claim 5, Woo teaches wherein the charger further includes a metallic plate (hexagon plate of second electrode 150b; [Fig. 4]) (Examiner’s Note: An electrode is commonly made of a metallic material in order to operate properly.) disposed so as to be in contact with the insulating plate (implicit of 150b & 160b laid together; [Fig. 4]).
In regards to claim 7, Woo teaches the charging device according to claim 1, further comprising a lid portion (upper housing portion 110a; [Fig. 2]) structured to push the object to the charger (implicit; [Fig. 6]) in a state where the object is placed on the charger (implicit; [Fig. 6]), while avoiding coming into contact with the charger (The mask does not come into direct contact with the electrode 150b because the dielectric body 160b covers the electrode; [Fig. 4 & 6]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woo US20230019077 (hereinafter referred to as Woo) in view of Hulsey et al., US5982644 (hereinafter referred to as Hulsey).
In regards to claim 6, Woo does not teach wherein the output circuit includes a transformer structured to transform an input voltage, and a booster circuit structured to boost an input voltage transformed by the transformer.
Hulsey teaches wherein the output circuit (boost circuit 12; [Fig. 2]) (power supply unit 140, conversion circuit unit 130, & control unit 120, Woo) includes a transformer (transformer T1; [Fig. 2]) structured to transform an input voltage (input voltage V_IN; [Fig. 2]), and a booster circuit (boost circuit 12 except for transformer T1; [Fig. 2]) structured to boost an input voltage transformed by the transformer (implicit; [Fig. 2]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Woo in order to incorporate wherein the output circuit includes a transformer structured to transform an input voltage, and a booster circuit structured to boost an input voltage transformed by the transformer as taught by Hulsey. The motivation for doing so would be to use an existing boost technology for high voltage boost converters.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woo US20230019077 (hereinafter referred to as Woo) in view of Fang et al., CN212771555 (hereinafter referred to as Fang).
In regards to claim 8, Woo teaches the charging device according to claim 1, further comprising a grounding unit (first electrode 150a; [Fig. 2]), wherein the charger charges the object in a state where the object is disposed between the grounding unit and the charger (implicit because the mask is in-between both electrodes; [Fig. 6]).
Woo does not teach the grounding unit connected to a ground.
Fang teaches the grounding unit (metal plate; [Pg. 5, Para. 3]) (first electrode 150 a, Woo) connected to a ground (directly grounded; [Pg. 5, Para. 3]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Woo in order to incorporate the grounding unit connected to a ground as taught by Fang. The motivation for doing so would be to have the recharging device operate at a safe, consistent voltage and not operate with a floating voltage.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. CN212067258U is another relevant reference for a 102 of claim 1.
SAMANTHA LYNETTE FAUBERT
Examiner
Art Unit 2836
/CRYSTAL L HAMMOND/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838