DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the application filed on June 7, 2024.
Claims 1-21 are currently pending and have been examined.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a processing device configured to” in claims 12, “the processing device is further configured to” in claims 19-20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §101
Claims 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., an abstract idea) without “significantly more.”
Regarding Claims 1, 12 and 21, the claims describe a method and system for monitoring a scanning session on a checkout environment which is a mental process (observation/evaluation) and a method of organizing a human activity (commercial interaction-sales). The limitations on detecting a start of a scanning session, monitoring an environment, determining that a user left, determining that the scanning session is incomplete and triggering an alert could be all performed in the human mind and/or with the help of paper and pencil. Other than reciting a decoding device, a memory and a processing device, nothing in the claims precludes the steps for being performed in the human mind and/or the help of paper and pencil. All the steps of “detecting”, “monitoring”, “determining” and “triggering” recite functions directed to sales activities and commercial interactions. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The computers are recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Generic computer components performing generic computer functions alone, do not amount to significantly more that an abstract idea. Simply implementing the abstract idea on a generic computer environment is not a practical application of the abstract idea and does not take the claim out of the mental process and method of organizing a human activity grouping. Moreover, when viewed as a whole with such additional elements considered as an ordered combination, the claims modified by adding generic computer elements would be nothing more than a purely conventional computerized implementation of applicant's customer monitoring in the general field of business management and would not provide significantly more than the judicial exception itself. The claims are directed to an abstract idea.
The claims do not include additional elements that even in combination are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above, with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using computers to perform the detecting, monitoring, determining and triggering steps amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Mere instructions to apply an exception using generic computer elements cannot provide an inventive concept. There are no improvements to technology or any new technology involved. The claims are not patent eligible.
Regarding dependent claims 2-11 and 13-20 these claims are directed to limitations which serve to limit the components and the processing steps. These claims neither introduce a new abstract idea nor additional limitations which are significantly more than an abstract idea. They provide descriptive details that offer helpful context, but have no impact on statutory subject matter eligibility.
Therefore the limitations on the invention, when viewed individually and in ordered combination are directed to in-eligible subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 9, 12-16, 19 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a1) as being anticipated by Takeno (US 2022/0180343 A1).
Claim 1
Takeno discloses the following limitations:
A method, comprising:
detecting a start of a scanning session at an indicia decoding device; (see at least paragraph 0018-item scanning process and 0032-start of commodity registration process).
monitoring an environment of the indicia decoding device during the scanning session; (see at least paragraph 0031-the camera 28 captures images of an area in which the user performs the commodity registration process).
determining that a user or object has left a vicinity of the indicia decoding device; (see at least abstract and paragraph 0084-the processor detects whether a person has left the work region based on the image from the camera).
determining that the scanning session is incomplete; and responsive to determining that the scanning session is incomplete, triggering an alert associated with the incomplete scanning session (see at least abstract and paragraph 0084-output an alert if it is detected that the person left the work region after performance of the registration process is started but before the payment process is completed; paragraph 0085-notify others that a user who started the commodity registration process has departed without completing or even starting the payment process).
Claim 2
Furthermore, Takeno discloses the following limitations:
wherein the determining that the scanning session is incomplete includes waiting a predetermined time for a printer to send a signal indicative of a completion event and determining that the scanning session is complete responsive to receiving the signal indicative of the completion event. (see at least paragraphs 0125 and 0130).
Claim 3
Furthermore, Takeno discloses the following limitations:
wherein the determining that the scanning session is incomplete includes tracking user actions to determine whether a completion motion or sequence of motions has taken place and determining that the scanning session is complete responsive to detecting the completion motion or sequence of motions. (see at least paragraph 0106).
Claim 4
Furthermore, Takeno discloses the following limitations:
wherein the determining that the scanning session is incomplete includes monitoring a user terminal associated with the indicia decoding device. (see at least abstract and paragraph 0084).
Claim 5
Furthermore, Takeno discloses the following limitations:
wherein the monitoring includes employing camera-based machine vision to identify a user in the vicinity of the indicia decoding device. (see at least abstract and paragraph 0031).
Claim 9
Furthermore, Takeno discloses the following limitations:
further comprising waiting a predetermined period of time after the determination that the payment event is incomplete before performing the triggering.(see at least paragraph 0068 and 0125-0126).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-8, 10-11, 17-18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeno (US 2022/0180343 A1) in view of Brakob (US 2023/0056327 A1).
Claim 6
Furthermore, Brakob discloses the following limitations:
wherein the monitoring includes employing a weight-sensitive apparatus to identify that a user is adjacent to the indicia decoding device. (see at least paragraph 0020).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings in Brakob and Takeno in order to provide technology for identifying theft events or other suspicious activity that may occur during the checkout process (Brakob paragraph 0009). A person of ordinary skill in the art would have conceived the idea of creating such configuration. Moreover, the claimed subject matter would have been no more than a predictable combination of known techniques according to their respective purposes within routine skill and creativity.
Claim 7
Furthermore, Brakob discloses the following limitations:
wherein the monitoring includes employing a weight-sensitive apparatus to identify that one or more items are in a bagging area associated with the indicia decoding device. (see at least paragraph 0020).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings in Brakob and Takeno in order to provide technology for identifying theft events or other suspicious activity that may occur during the checkout process (Brakob paragraph 0009). A person of ordinary skill in the art would have conceived the idea of creating such configuration. Moreover, the claimed subject matter would have been no more than a predictable combination of known techniques according to their respective purposes within routine skill and creativity.
Claim 8
Furthermore, Brakob discloses the following limitations:
wherein the monitoring includes employing RFID, radar, lidar, or sonar to produce model of the environment of the indicia decoding device.(see at least paragraphs 0107-0108).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings in Brakob and Takeno in order to provide technology for identifying theft events or other suspicious activity that may occur during the checkout process (Brakob paragraph 0009). A person of ordinary skill in the art would have conceived the idea of creating such configuration. Moreover, the claimed subject matter would have been no more than a predictable combination of known techniques according to their respective purposes within routine skill and creativity.
Claim 10
Brakob in at least paragraphs 0135-0136 discloses transmitting an alert after the determination of a suspicious activity associated with a scanning event. Brakob does not explicitly discloses the following limitations:
further comprising temporarily locking the indicia decoding device in an inoperable state, responsive to the alert.
However, since Brakob alerts after the determination of a suspicious activity associated with a scanning event, the lacking limitation is not explicitly disclosed but would have been obvious in view of the teachings in Brakob. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings in Brakob and Takeno in order to provide technology for identifying theft events or other suspicious activity that may occur during the checkout process (Brakob paragraph 0009). A person of ordinary skill in the art would have conceived the idea of creating such configuration. Moreover, the claimed subject matter would have been no more than a predictable combination of known techniques according to their respective purposes within routine skill and creativity.
Claim 11
Brakob in at least paragraphs 0135-0136 discloses transmitting an alert after the determination of a suspicious activity associated with a scanning event. Brakob does not explicitly discloses the following limitations:
further comprising resetting, the indicia decoding device in an inoperable state, responsive to the alert.
However, since Brakob alerts after the determination of a suspicious activity associated with a scanning event, the lacking limitation is not explicitly disclosed but would have been obvious in view of the teachings in Brakob. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings in Brakob and Takeno in order to provide technology for identifying theft events or other suspicious activity that may occur during the checkout process (Brakob paragraph 0009). A person of ordinary skill in the art would have conceived the idea of creating such configuration. Moreover, the claimed subject matter would have been no more than a predictable combination of known techniques according to their respective purposes within routine skill and creativity.
As per claims 12-21, claims 12-21 recite substantially similar limitations to claims 1-11 and are therefore rejected using the same art and rationale set forth above.
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. Khojastepour (US 2021/0248879 A1) discloses a self-checkout system comprising retail technology for customer monitoring.
CONCLUSION
/DENISSE Y ORTIZ ROMAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3627
/FAHD A OBEID/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3627