DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 9, 11, 12, 13, and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities: in line 3 of Claim 9, the term “the rotation shaft” should read –each rotation shaft--, as multiple rotation shafts, one for each crankshaft unit have been previously claimed, in line 4 of Claim 9, the term “the transmission arm” should read –each transmission arm--, as multiple transmission arms, one for each crankshaft unit have been previously claimed, in line 5 of Claim 9, the term “the rotation shaft” should again read –each rotation shaft--, in line 6 of Claim 9, the term “the cam” should read –each cam--, as multiple cams, one for each crankshaft unit have been previously claimed, in line 7 of Claim 9, the terms “the cam” should both read –each cam--, in line 2 of Claim 11, the term “the gain component” should read –each gain component--, as multiple gain components, one between each braking unit, have been previously claimed, in line 4 of Claim 11, the term “the first V-shaped groove” should read –each first V-shaped groove--, as multiple first V-shape grooves, one between each braking unit, have been previously claimed, in line 5 of Claim 11, the term “the second V-shaped groove” should read –each second V-shaped groove--, as multiple second V-shaped grooves, one between each braking unit, have been previously claimed, in line 6 of Claim 11, the term “the rolling element” should read –each rolling element--, as multiple rolling elements, one between each braking unit, have been previously claimed, and the term “the first V-shaped groove—should again read –each V-shaped groove--, in line 7 of Claim 11, the term “the second V-shaped groove” should again read –each second V-shaped groove--, in line 3 of Claim 12, the term “the gain bridge” should read –each gain bridge--, as multiple gain bridges, one for each braking unit, have been previously claimed, in lines 3-4 of Claim 12, the term “the friction plate” should read –each friction plate--, as multiple friction plates, one for each braking unit, have been previously claimed, in lines 4-5 of Claim 12, the term “the crankshaft unit” should read –each crankshaft unit--, as multiple crankshaft units have been previously claimed, in lines 5-6 of Claim 12, the term “the friction plate” should again read –each friction plate--, in the second to last line of Claim 13, the term “a fixed caliper” should read –the fixed caliper--, as this term was previously recited in the earlier lines of the claim, in the last two lines of Claim 13, the phrase “in a braking gap between two braking units.” should read –the braking gap between the two braking units.—as these terms were both previously recited in the earlier lines of the claim, in line 21 of Claim 20, the term “a fixed caliper” should read –the fixed caliper, as this term was previously recited in the earlier lines of the claim, and in lines 21-22 of Claim 20, the phrase “in a braking gap between two braking units;” should read –in the braking gap between the two braking units;-- as these terms were both previously recited in the earlier lines of the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 9, 10, 12, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chinese Patent No. CN 109538662 to Liaocheng University.
Regarding Claim 1, CN ‘662 to Liaocheng University (hereafter referred to as CN ‘662) discloses a braking mechanism for braking a brake disc 13 of a mechanical brake (see Figures 1 and 2) having all the features of the claimed invention including: a fixed caliper 1, two braking units 10, wherein the two braking units 10 are arranged in a first direction, and a braking gap used by part of the brake disc 13 for extending is formed between the two braking units 10 (see Figures 1 and 2), each braking unit 10 is movably installed on the fixed caliper 1 in the first direction, and the first direction is parallel to an axis direction of the brake disc 13 (see Figures 1 and 2), two crankshaft units (see Figures 1 and 2 and left and right elements 2) that are in a one-to-one correspondence with the two braking units 10, wherein in each group of the braking unit 10 and the crankshaft unit 2 that correspond to each other, the crankshaft unit 2 is located on a side that is of the braking unit 10 and that is away from the braking gap (see Figures 1 and 2), and the crankshaft unit 2 is rotatably installed on the fixed caliper 1 around a first axis, and the first axis is perpendicular to the first direction (see Figures 1 and 2 and page 3 of the examiner provided translation, last five paragraphs), and a drive unit 4, wherein the drive unit 4 is fixed to the fixed caliper 1, and the drive unit 4 is in transmission connection with the two crankshaft units 2 through a connecting rod assembly (see Figures 1 and 2 and the rod extending through cam 7), to drive the two crankshaft units 2 to rotate, and when the two crankshaft units 2 rotate, the two braking units 10 are driven to move oppositely at the same time to approach each other (see page 3 of the examiner provided translation, last five paragraphs).
Regarding Claim 9, CN ‘662 further disclose that each crankshaft unit (left and right elements 2) comprises a transmission arm (see left and right arm elements 2), a rotation shaft 8, and a cam 9, each rotation shaft 8 is rotatably installed on the fixed caliper 1 around the first axis (see Figures 1 and 2), one end of each transmission arm (see left and right elements 2) is hinged to the connecting rod assembly 7,and the other end is fixed to each rotation shaft 8 (see Figures 1 and 2), and each cam 9 is fixed to each rotation shaft 8 and there is a preset distance between a geometric center of each cam 9 and the first axis, and a circumferential surface of each cam 9 presses against the braking unit 10 (see page 3 of the examiner provided translation, last five paragraphs).
Regarding Claim 10, CN ‘662 further discloses a second resilient element 12 is connected between the two braking units 10 (see page 3 of the examiner provided translation, last two paragraphs).
Regarding Claim 12, CN ‘662 further discloses that each braking unit 10 comprises a gain bridge 11 and a friction plate 10, and each gain bridge 11 is movable installed on the fixed caliper 1 in the first direction, and each friction plate 10 is fixed to a side that is of each gain bridge 11 and the faces the braking gap (see Figure 2), and each crankshaft unit 2 presses against a side that is of each gain bridge 11 and that is away from each friction plate 10 (see Figure 2 and page 3 of the examiner provided translation, last five paragraphs).
Regarding Claim 13, see Claim 1 above and note that CN ‘662 further discloses a part of the brake disc 13 extends into the fixed caliper 1 and is located in the braking gap between the two braking units 10 (see Figure 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chinese Patent No. CN 109538662 to Liaocheng University in view of Chinese Patent No. CN 114321219 to Huawei Digital Power Technologies.
Regarding Claim 11, CN ‘662 disclose most all the features of the instant invention as applied above, except for a gain component being disposed between each braking unit and the fixed caliper, each gain component comprising a first V-shaped groove, a second V-shaped groove, and a rolling element, and each first V-shaped groove is disposed on a side that is of the braking unit and that faces the fixed caliper, each second V-shaped groove is disposed on a side that is of the fixed caliper and that faces the braking unit, and each rolling element is disposed between each first V-shaped groove and each second V-shaped groove.
CN 114321219 to Huawei Digital Power Technologies (hereinafter referred to as CN ‘219) is relied upon merely for their teachings of a braking mechanism (see Figures 1-11) having a gain component 104 disposed between a braking unit 100 and a fixed caliper 101, each gain component 104 comprising a first V-shaped groove 1041, a second V-shaped groove 1042, and a rolling element 1043, and each first V-shaped groove 1041 is disposed on a side that is of the braking unit and that faces the fixed caliper 101 (see Figures 8 and 11), each second V-shaped groove 1042 is disposed on a side that is of the fixed caliper 101 and that faces the braking unit, and each rolling element 1043 is disposed between each first V-shaped groove 1041 and each second V-shaped groove 1042 (see Figures 8 and 11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the braking mechanism of CN ‘662 with a gain component, as claimed, as taught by CN ‘219 in order to better drive the first braking unit of the braking mechanism to move along a first direction and drive the caliper body to move along the reverse direction of the first direction when the first braking unit moves along a second direction (see the abstract of the CN ‘219 document) thus improving the overall operation of the braking units within the braking mechanism.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chinese Patent No. CN 114321219 to Huawei Digital Power Technologies in view of Chinese Patent No. CN 109538662 to Liaocheng University.
Regarding Claim 20, CN ‘219 discloses an electronic mechanical braking system (see Figures 1 and 2) having most all the features of the instant invention including: a braking pedal 3, an electronic braking mechanism 4, a switching mechanism 2, and a mechanical brake 1 (see Figures 1 and 2 and the Detailed Description section of applicant’s translation) and wherein the electronic braking mechanism 4 is signal-connected to each of the braking pedal 3, the mechanical brake 1, and the switching mechanism 2, to control braking of the mechanical brake 1 based on signals of the braking pedal 3 and the switching mechanism 2 (see the abstract).
However, CN ‘219 does not disclose all the specifics of the claimed braking mechanism features.
CN ‘662 is relied upon for their teachings of the claimed braking mechanism features as outlined above with respect to Claims 1 and 13.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the electronic mechanical braking system of CN ‘219 with the braking mechanism as taught by CN ‘662 in order to provide a braking system with a simpler, more stable, and reliable working performance in a smaller axial dimension convenient in a limited space installation and that enables easier adjustment of the braking mechanism itself.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-8 and 14-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
European Patent No. EP 1520118 to Severinsson discloses a braking mechanism for braking a brake disc of a mechanical brake similar to applicant’s.
PAMELA RODRIGUEZ
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3616
/PAMELA RODRIGUEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616 08/13/26