DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyano (2018/0371276) (hereinafter Miyano) in view of Aoki et al. (WO 2022/085246 A1) (hereinafter Aoki et al.).
Regarding Claim 1, Miyano teaches an actinic radiation-curable inkjet ink [Paragraphs 0011-0012], comprising: a polymerizable compound (A) that polymerizes upon irradiation with actinic radiation [Paragraphs 0012-0014, 0031, 0049-0050]; a photopolymerization initiator (B) [Paragraphs 0012, 0014]; and a gelling agent (C) [Paragraph 0016], wherein the polymerizable compound (A) contains an amine-modified polymerizable compound (A1) [Paragraphs 0049-0050, 0065].
Miyano fails to explicitly teach the photopolymerization initiator (B) contains ethoxy (2,4,6-(trimethylbenzoyl)phenylphosphine oxide.
Aoki et al. teaches the photopolymerization initiator (B) contains ethoxy (2,4,6-(trimethylbenzoyl)phenylphosphine oxide [Abstract].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the photopolymerization initiator (B) contains ethoxy (2,4,6-(trimethylbenzoyl)phenylphosphine oxide as taught by Miyano as modified for Aoki et al. for the purposes of providing a surface with scratch resistance [Aoki et al., “Use of ink composition”].
Regarding Claim 2, Miyano teaches the actinic radiation-curable inkjet ink [Paragraphs 0011-0012], wherein a content of the photopolymerization initiator (B) is 3% by mass or more and 10% by mass or less based on a total mass of the inkjet ink [Paragraph 0057].
Regarding Claim 3, Miyano teaches the actinic radiation-curable inkjet ink [Paragraphs 0011-0012], wherein a content of the amine-modified polymerizable compound (A1) is more than 0% by mass and 20% by mass or less based on a total mass of the inkjet ink [Paragraph 0068].
Regarding Claim 4, Miyano teaches the actinic radiation-curable inkjet ink [Paragraphs 0011-0012].
Miyano fails to explicitly teach wherein a ratio of a content of the amine-modified polymerizable compound (A1) to a content of the photopolymerization initiator (B) is more than 0 and 8 or less, the ratio being a ratio (A1/B).
Miyano further teaches the content of the amine-modified polymerizable compound (A1) is 0.5% to 10%, more preferably 0.5% to 6% [Paragraph 0068] and the content of the photopolymerization initiator (B) is 0.01% to 10%, more preferably 2% to 8% [Paragraph 0057].
Using the above-mentioned range, the ratio of a content of amine-modified polymerizable compound (A1) to a content of the photopolymerization initiator (B) is 0.25 to 0.75, which is more than 0 and less than 8.
Regarding Claim 5, Miyano teaches the actinic radiation-curable inkjet ink [Paragraphs 0011-0012].
Miyano fails to explicitly teach wherein a ratio of a content of the amine-modified polymerizable compound (A1) to a content of the photopolymerization initiator (B) is more than 0 and 2 or less, the ratio being a ratio (A1/B).
Miyano further teaches the content of the amine-modified polymerizable compound (A1) is 0.5% to 10%, more preferably 0.5% to 6% [Paragraph 0068] and the content of the photopolymerization initiator (B) is 0.01% to 10%, more preferably 2% to 8% [Paragraph 0057].
Using the above-mentioned range, the ratio of a content of amine-modified polymerizable compound (A1) to a content of the photopolymerization initiator (B) is 0.25 to 0.75, which is more than 0 and less than 2.
Regarding Claim 6, Miyano teaches the actinic radiation-curable inkjet ink [Paragraphs 0011-0012], wherein a content of the gelling agent (C) is 0.5% by mass or more and 10% by mass or less based on a total mass of the inkjet ink [Paragraphs 0018 and 0106].
Regarding Claim 7, Miyano teaches the actinic radiation-curable inkjet ink [Paragraphs 0011-0012], wherein the photopolymerization initiator (B) contains bis(2,4,6-(trimethylbenzoyl)phenylphosphine oxide or diphenyl(2,4,6-(trimethylbenzoyl)phenylphosphine oxide [Paragraph 0054].
Regarding Claim 8, Miyano teaches a method for producing a cured film, the method comprising: applying the inkjet ink according to claim 1 to a base material [Paragraphs 0024-0025]; and irradiating the applied inkjet ink with actinic radiation [Paragraph 0026].
Conclusion
/LISA SOLOMON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853