DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Claims 7-9 in the reply filed on 8/31/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-6 and 10-14 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected groups, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (KR2016-0146259) and Azeredo NPL, both made of record by Applicant, and in view of Ajami et al. (USPA 2017/0105438)
Regarding Claim 7, Choi teaches a hydrogel comprising bio-cellulose derived from an Acetobacter bacteria (Embodiment 1, Page 12 of machine translation provided by Applicant), where the hydrogel comprises 1g of the biocellulose, 0.935 g of carrageenan and 0.035 of potassium chloride (Embodiment 1), where the hydrogel taught by Choi is seen to meet the limitation of a cultured meat scaffold, as claimed, in light of the claimed components being included. Reference is made to Claim 1, which recites the composition from which the cultured meat scaffold is made, where the composition comprises bio cellulose powder derived from Gluconacetobacter, a natural polymer gelling agent which can include carrageenan, and a gelling accelerator, which is met by the addition of potassium chloride. In particular, Choi teaches 1g of the bio cellulose which meets the range in Claim 1 of 1 parts by weight of bio cellulose, 0.935 g of carrageenan renders obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art the claimed amount of 1 part by weight of gelling agent. While Choi teaches a lower content of potassium chloride than claimed, Choi still teaches a cohesive hydrogel and teaches potassium chloride functions as a thickener in the hydrogel (Page 10). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have optimized the amount of potassium chloride in the hydrogel, depending on the characteristics of the gel desired.
It is noted that to the extent that Choi does not teach the biocellulose powder as claimed, derived from Gluconacetobacter, Azeredo teaches that bacterial cellulose is commonly made from the genus Komagateibacter (formerly Gluconacetobacter) (Page 1, Column 1) and that bio cellulose powder has applications in the production of meat analogs (Page 7, Column 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, for the bio cellulose taught by Choi to be made by Gluconacetobacter, in light of the teachings of Azeredo.
In addition, regarding the limitation of a cultured meat scaffold manufactured from the claimed composition, Ajami teaches meat like food products made from hydrogels, including cellulose, gelling agents, agar, carrageenan, etc. (Paragraph 199-201, Paragraph 203, Example 5 meat like foods using hydrogels). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have used the hydrogel composition of Choi in view of Azeredo to prepare meat-like foods or cultured meat scaffolds, in light of the teachings of Ajami.
Regarding Claims 8 and 9, since Choi in view of Azeredo and Ajami teach and render obvious the claimed composition which is used to make up the claimed cultured meat scaffold, one of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably expected the same components to behave as claimed, and therefore the bio cellulose component would be expected to behave as claimed and provide the claimed benefits, absent teachings to the contrary.
Conclusion
JENNA A. WATTS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1791
/JENNA A WATTS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1791 10/27/2026