DETAILED ACTION
This is in reference to communication received 07 April 2026. Addition of claim 21 is acknowledged. Claims 1 – 21 are pending for examination. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Independent claim 1 representative of claim 12, in part, directed toward a statutory category of invention, the claim appears to be directed toward a judicial exception namely an abstract idea. Claim 1 recites invention directed to generating a perishable identifier corresponding to a user identifier associated with a user and sending the perishable identifier to be used by an advertisement server, wherein the perishable identifier is only usable prior to its expiration; and receiving, from the advertisement server, advertisement content identified for the user.
These limitations describe marketing/sales/advertising activities. To prevent user-identification, said content provider generates (assigns) alternate-identifier and associates it with their user-identifier. Paired user-identifier with alternate-identifier are assigned a Time-to-Live value (making the alternate-identifier as a perishable-identifier) and maintained (such as stored in a file in a filing cabinet). Generated perishable identifier are provided to the advertising-providers, and advertising-content is received from advertising-providers for users associated with the provided perishable-identifier Causing providing of perishable-identifiers to advertisers which can be used by advertisers to send target advertising-content to the associated user, would be, to protect the identifying information of their users, the marketing team (or person) providing a perishable-alias (generated perishable-identifier) to advertisers to provide their targeted advertising-content.
Independent claim 17 representative of claim 20, in part, directed toward a statutory category of invention, the claim appears to be directed toward a judicial exception namely an abstract idea. Claim 17 recites invention directed to
Receiving a perishable identifier corresponding to a user identifier associated with a user, wherein the perishable identifier is configured to be used to identify advertisement content for the user, and wherein the perishable identifier is only usable prior to its expiration; and sending the advertisement content identified for the user.
These limitations describe marketing/sales/advertising activities. Subsequent to receiving a perishable-identifier, and advertising-content is identified for the user associated with the received perishable-identifier and sent for the identified user. Causing identifying of an advertising-content for the user associated with the received identifier and sent for presentation to the user, would be the marketing team (or person) identifying and providing a target advertising-content to the presented to the user.
Represented claims 12 and 20, which do recite statutory categories (machine, product of manufacture, for example), the same analysis as above applies to these claims since the method steps are the same. However, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. These claims add the generic computer components (additional elements) of a system comprising one or more hardware processors and a memory.
The processor, memory, and non-transitory machine-readable medium are recited at a high-level of generality such that they amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claims are directed to an abstract idea.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of the processor, memory, and non-transitory machine-readable medium amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. The claims are not patent eligible.
When taken as an ordered combination, nothing is added that is not already present when the elements are taken individually. When viewed as a whole, the marketing activities amount to instructions applied using generic computer components.
As for dependent claims 2 – 11, 13 - 16 and 18 – 19, these claims recite limitations that further define the same abstract idea with details regarding defining that the advertising server will only be able to send advertising content to the user until the perishable identifier has expired; a mapping-log will be maintained wherein the “user identifier” is mapped with the “perishable user identifier” (a concept similar to using a DNS server); defining that the perishable identifier will be valid for a defined period of time (e.g., time-to-live), or some triggering criteria; defining which remote devices will be provided with the perishable identifier; and defining that the received advertising content will be forwarded to the user device only when the perishable identifier has not expired. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alsina et al. US Publication 2015/0348102 in view of Information on AWS-IAM hereinafter known as AWS, Gatto et al. US Publication 2015/0067118 and Burcham et al. US Patent 10,055,757.
Regarding claim 1 and representative claim 12, Alsina teaches system and method for targeting segments based on a respective purchase history of the users, and receives a segment identifier from a server, the segment identifier to be associated with a targeting segment from the targeting segments for anonymously identifying the targeting segment, comprising:
an advertisement server (Alsina, content delivery server and/or a separate advertising server) [Alsina, 0100, Fig. 1 and associated disclosure]; and
a computing device (Alsina, content delivery server and/or a separate advertising server) [Alsina, 0100, Fig. 1 and associated disclosure] configured for:
generating an identifier corresponding to a user identifier associated with a user (Alsina, The UUIDs can be generated to hide the real identity of the users. The UUIDs can be generated by the user's own devices to hide the real identity of the users. Alsina further recites, In other configurations, UUIDs can be generated by the organization 111 or any other device) [Alsina, 0009, 0047],
Alsina does not explicitly recite user identifier to be perishable. However, AWS teaches system and method for identity management. AWS teaches that permission can be granted through policies that are created and then attached to users, groups, or roles (e.g., user segments), temporary security credentials which are short lived (e.g., perishable), they can be requested using the AWS STS API actions [AWS, page 16].
Therefore, at the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Alsina by adopting teachings of AWS and assign perishable-identifiers (short lived identifiers) to secure user information from spam-marketers and control access to data and resources.
Alsina in view of AWS teaches system and method further comprising:
generating a perishable identifier corresponding to a user identifier associated with a user, wherein the perishable identifier is configured to be used by an advertisement server to identify advertisement content for the user, and wherein the perishable identifier is only usable prior to its expiration (AWS, temporary security credentials which are short lived (i.e., perishable), they can be requested using the AWS STS API actions. The temporary credentials expire after a specified interval. After the credential expire, any calls that you make using those credentials will fail.) [AWS, page 16, 26];
Alsina in view of AWS does not teach generating a data structure that establishes a mapping between a persistent identifier associated with a user and a secondary identifier. However, Gatto teaches system and method for anonymous cross-device linking using temporal identifiers (Gatto, receiving login credentials provided by a user when communicating through a first user device. The method further includes creating a temporal identifier (e.g., perishable identifiers) for the user based at least in part on the login credentials and a temporary key) [Gatto, 0004]. Gatto further teaches storing the temporal identifier 206a can include storing the temporal identifier 206a and the device identifier (e.g., "A") in a data structure, e.g., the user devices registry 124, that is indexed by the temporal identifier.) [Gatto, 0069].
Therefore, at the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Alsina in view of AWS by adopting teachings of Gatto to implement effective mechanisms for protecting the user's privacy and access for spam marketers, and control delivery of received advertising content from advertisers who used provided user alias identifier to the intended user by referring to a mapped table that maintains reference to the actual-user-id of the user, and provided to the associated user.
Alsina in view of AWS and Gatto teaches system and method further comprising:
generating a perishable identifier by generating a data structure that establishes a mapping between a persistent identifier associated with a user and a secondary identifier (Gatto, storing the temporal identifier 206a can include storing the temporal identifier 206a and the device identifier (e.g., "A") in a data structure, e.g., the user devices registry 124, that is indexed by the temporal identifier.) [Gatto, 0069], wherein the perishable identifier is configured to be used by an advertisement server to identify advertisement content for the user, and wherein the secondary identifier is configured to persist in the mapping for a session duration or until expiration of a predetermined time-to-live value (AWS, temporary security credentials which are short lived (i.e., perishable), they can be requested using the AWS STS API actions. The temporary credentials expire after a specified interval. After the credential expire, any calls that you make using those credentials will fail) [AWS, page 16, 26];
sending the perishable identifier to the advertisement server (Alsina, the system sends, to the server, the segment identifiers and unique user identifiers of the users mapped to the targeting segments associated with the segment identifiers) [Alsina, Fig. 5 and associated disclosure]; and
Alsina in view of AWS and Gatto does not explicitly teach receiving advertising content identified for the user. However, Alsina teaches to instruct the server to deliver selected invitational content to the associated user [Alsina, Fig. 5 and associated disclosure]. Burcham teaches system and method for receiving, at an advertisement gateway, a request message for an advertisement from an electronic device, hashing identifying information in the request message with a temporary identifier, creating a unique identification for the electronic device based on the hashing [Burcham, col. 1, lines 39 – 44].
Therefore, at the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Alsina in view of AWS in view of Gatto by adopting teachings of Burcham for mediating advertisements through an advertising gateway.
Alsina in view of AWS, Gatto and Burcham teaches system and method further comprising:
receiving, from the advertisement server, advertisement content identified for the user (Burcham, At step 262, the content can be received at the advertisement gateway 112. The content can include an advertisement from one or more of the advertisement provider servers 118, 120, and/or content associated with an advertisement from one or more of the content provider servers 114, 116 and/or the advertisement provider servers 118, 120)) [Burcham, col. 14, lines 33 – 39; col. 11, lines 1 – 2].
Regarding claim 2 and representative claim 13, as combined and under the same rationale as above, Alsina in view of AWS, Gatto and Burcham teaches system and method, wherein, if the perishable identifier is not expired at the advertisement server, the advertisement server is provided access to use the perishable identifier to determine a targeted placement of the advertisement content that maps to one or more attributes associated with the persistent identifier without exposing the persistent identifier to the advertisement server (AWS, temporary security credentials which are short lived (i.e., perishable), they can be requested using the AWS STS API actions. The temporary credentials expire after a specified interval. After the credential expire, any calls that you make using those credentials will fail) [AWS, page 16. 26].
Regarding claim 3 and representative claim 14, as combined and under the same rationale as above, Alsina in view of AWS, Gatto and Burcham teaches system and method, wherein, if the perishable identifier is expired at the advertisement server prior to a determination of a targeted placement of the advertisement content, the advertisement server is not provided access to use the perishable identifier to determine the targeted placement of the advertisement content (AWS, temporary security credentials which are short lived (i.e., perishable), they can be requested using the AWS STS API actions. The temporary credentials expire after a specified interval. After the credential expire, any calls that you make using those credentials will fail) [AWS, page 16, 26].
Regarding claim 4 and representative claim 15, as combined and under the same rationale as above, Alsina in view of AWS, Gatto and Burcham teaches system and method, wherein the perishable identifier is generated based on a mapping between the secondary identifier and the persistent identifier (Gatto, storing the temporal identifier 206a can include storing the temporal identifier 206a and the device identifier (e.g., "A") in a data structure, e.g., the user devices registry 124, that is indexed by the temporal identifier.) [Gatto, 0069].
Regarding claim 5 and representative claim, as combined and under the same rationale as above, Alsina in view of AWS, Gatto and Burcham teaches system and method, wherein the perishable identifier is configured to expire based on an event (AWS, temporary security credentials which are short lived (i.e., perishable), they can be requested using the AWS STS API actions. The temporary credentials expire after a specified interval. After the credential expire, any calls that you make using those credentials will fail) [AWS, page 16. 26], and wherein the event comprises a configurable time period
[Aws, page 18].
Regarding claim 6, as combined and under the same rationale as above, Alsina in view of AWS, Gatto and Burcham teaches system and method, wherein the perishable identifier is configured to expire based on an event, and wherein the event comprises termination of the session duration (AWS, temporary security credentials which are short lived (i.e., perishable), they can be requested using the AWS STS API actions. The temporary credentials expire after a specified interval. After the credential expire, any calls that you make using those credentials will fail) [AWS, page 16. 26; also see Using Temporary Security Credentials with AWS SDKs, page 28].
Regarding claim 7, as combined and under the same rationale as above, Alsina in view of AWS, Gatto and Burcham teaches system and method, wherein the perishable identifier indicates a subset of information associated with the persistent identifier prior to occurrence of an event, wherein the subset of the information comprises one or more of content viewing behavior of one or more users, a location of one or more users, and a demographic information of one or more users (Alsina, the system can also deliver a campaign to the server and instruct the server to deliver invitational content to the UUIDs associated with the segment identifier based on the campaign parameters. To this end, the system can use the segment identifier to target invitational content to one or more users in the targeting segment; The mapping 400 can also associate UUIDs with particular segments and segment identifiers. For example, the mapping 400 can associate UUIDs 406 with the "sportswear" segment, which is associated with the "ABC" segment identifier. Thus, through the association of UUIDs 406, the business can associate a segment identifier with both a segment and the customers in the segment. As a result, the segment identifier "ABC" can represent to the business the "sports wear" segment made up by customers 845, 639, 101, 966, and 43) [Alsina, 0010, 0099].
Regarding claim 8, as combined and under the same rationale as above, Alsina in view of AWS, Gatto and Burcham teaches system and method, further comprising receiving an indication of an advertisement opportunity associated with content (Alsina, in some configurations, the system can send a request to the server to deliver invitational content to a segment represented by the segment identifier. The server can then deliver the invitational content to the segment based on the request, without knowing the identity of the segment or the users in the segment) [Alsina, 0011].
Regarding claim 9, as combined and under the same rationale as above, Alsina in view of AWS, Gatto and Burcham teaches system and method, further comprising placing the advertisement content in the advertisement opportunity associated with the content (Alsina, The system then instructs the server to deliver selected invitational content to at least one unique user identifier associated with a segment identifier (508)) [Alsina, 0104; also see, Burcham, col. 1, lines 39 – 44].
Regarding claim 10 and representative claim 16, as combined and under the same rationale as above, Alsina in view of AWS, Gatto and Burcham teaches system and method further comprising:
transmitting the persistent identifier to at least one of one or more first devices associated with a rights management entity (Alsina, The UUID database 154 can include UUIDs created or generated by the user terminals 102. For example, user terminal 102, can generate a UUID to identify the user associated with the terminal 102, and subsequently send the UUID to the content delivery system 106) [Alsina, 0037]; and
transmitting the perishable identifier [AWS] to the at least one of one or more first devices associated with the rights management entity, and wherein sending the perishable identifier comprises transmitting the perishable identifier to a second device associated with the advertisement server (Alsina, Next, the system sends, to the server, the segment identifiers and unique user identifiers of the users mapped to the targeting segments associated with the segment identifiers, the unique user identifiers masking respective identities of the users from the server and the segment identifiers masking an identity of the targeting segments associated with the segment identifiers (506). The unique user identifiers can include identifiers generated by, or received from, the user's client device as previously mentioned) [Alsina, 0104].
Regarding claim 11, as combined and under the same rationale as above, Alsina in view of AWS, Gatto and Burcham teaches system and method, further comprising transmitting, if the perishable identifier is not expired at least at a time of the transmitting the perishable identifier, to a user device associated with the persistent identifier, the advertisement content placed in an advertisement opportunity associated with content (AWS, temporary security credentials which are short lived (i.e., perishable), they can be requested using the AWS STS API actions. The temporary credentials expire after a specified interval. After the credential expire, any calls that you make using those credentials will fail) [AWS, page 16. 26].
Regarding claim 17 and representative claim 20, Alsina teaches system and method for targeting segments based on a respective purchase history of the users, and receives a segment identifier from a server, the segment identifier to be associated with a targeting segment from the targeting segments for anonymously identifying the targeting segment, comprising:
a computing device (Alsina, content delivery server and/or a separate advertising server) [Alsina, 0100, Fig. 1 and associated disclosure]; and
an advertisement server (Alsina, content delivery server and/or a separate advertising server) [Alsina, 0100, Fig. 1 and associated disclosure] configured to:
an identifier corresponding to a user identifier associated with a user (Alsina, The UUIDs can be generated to hide the real identity of the users) [Alsina, 0009],
Alsina does not explicitly recite user identifier to be perishable. However, AWS teaches system and method for identity management. AWS teaches that permission can be granted through policies that are created and then attached to users, groups, or roles (e.g., user segments), temporary security credentials which are short lived (e.g., perishable), they can be requested using the AWS STS API actions [AWS, page 16].
Therefore, at the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Alsina by adopting teachings of AWS to secure control access to resources.
Alsina in view of AWS teaches system and method further comprising:
receiving, from a computing device, a perishable identifier, wherein the perishable identifier is configured to be used by an advertisement server to identify advertisement content for the user, and wherein the secondary identifier is configured to persist in the mapping for a session duration or until expiration of a predetermined time-to-live value (AWS, temporary security credentials which are short lived (i.e., perishable), they can be requested using the AWS STS API actions. The temporary credentials expire after a specified interval. After the credential expire, any calls that you make using those credentials will fail) [AWS, page 16, 26];
Alsina in view of AWS does not teach generating a data structure that establishes a mapping between a persistent identifier associated with a user and a secondary identifier. However, Gatto teaches system and method for anonymous cross-device linking using temporal identifiers (Gatto, receiving login credentials provided by a user when communicating through a first user device. The method further includes creating a temporal identifier (e.g., perishable identifiers) for the user based at least in part on the login credentials and a temporary key) [Gatto, 0004]. Gatto further teaches storing the temporal identifier 206a can include storing the temporal identifier 206a and the device identifier (e.g., "A") in a data structure, e.g., the user devices registry 124, that is indexed by the temporal identifier.) [Gatto, 0069].
Therefore, at the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Alsina in view of AWS by adopting teachings of Gatto to implement effective mechanisms for protecting the user's privacy when targeting users, and often share and disseminate private user information beyond the particular user's own control, knowledge, or even approval.
Alsina in view of AWS and Gatto teaches system and method further comprising:
receiving, from a computing device, a perishable identifier generated by the computing device by generating a data structure that establishes a mapping between a persistent identifier associated with a user and a secondary identifier (Gatto, storing the temporal identifier 206a can include storing the temporal identifier 206a and the device identifier (e.g., "A") in a data structure, e.g., the user devices registry 124, that is indexed by the temporal identifier.) [Gatto, 0069], wherein the perishable identifier is configured to be used by an advertisement server to identify advertisement content for the user, and wherein the secondary identifier is configured to persist in the mapping for a session duration or until expiration of a predetermined time-to-live value (AWS, temporary security credentials which are short lived (i.e., perishable), they can be requested using the AWS STS API actions. The temporary credentials expire after a specified interval. After the credential expire, any calls that you make using those credentials will fail) [AWS, page 16, 26], and;
Alsina in view of AWS and Gatto does not explicitly teach receiving advertising content identified for the user. However, Alsina teaches to instruct the server to deliver selected invitational content to the associated user [Alsina, Fig. 5 and associated disclosure]. Burcham teaches system and method for receiving, at an advertisement gateway, a request message for an advertisement from an electronic device, hashing identifying information in the request message with a temporary identifier, creating a unique identification for the electronic device based on the hashing [Burcham, col. 1, lines 39 – 44].
Therefore, at the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Alsina in view of AWS in view of Gatto by adopting teachings of Burcham for mediating advertisements through an advertising gateway.
Alsina in view of AWS, Gatto and Burcham teaches system and method further comprising:
sending, to the computing device, advertisement content identified for the user (Burcham, At step 262, the content can be received at the advertisement gateway 112. The content can include an advertisement from one or more of the advertisement provider servers 118, 120, and/or content associated with an advertisement from one or more of the content provider servers 114, 116 and/or the advertisement provider servers 118, 120)) [Burcham, col. 14, lines 31 – 39; col. 11, lines 1 – 2].
Regarding claim 21, as combined and under the same rationale as above, Alsina in view of AWS, Gatto and Burcham teaches system and method, wherein the advertisement server receives the perishable identifier and is configured to determine targeted placement of advertisement content only while the perishable identifier is unexpired and without receiving the persistent identifier (AWS, temporary security credentials which are short lived (i.e., perishable), they can be requested using the AWS STS API actions. The temporary credentials expire after a specified interval. After the credential expire, any calls that you make using those credentials will fail) [AWS, page 16, 26]
Double Patenting
Claims 1 – 21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 31 of U.S. Patent No. 11,430,007 and claims 1 – 21 of U.S. Patent 12,033,185. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the subject matter claimed in the instant application is fully disclosed in the patent and is covered by the patent since the patent and the application are claiming common subject matter, as follows:
Application 15/457,387
(Claim 1 representative of claim 15)
US Patent 11,430,007
generating a perishable identifier by generating a data structure that establishes a mapping between a persistent identifier associated with a user and a secondary identifier, wherein the perishable identifier is configured to be used by an advertisement server to identify advertisement content for the user, and wherein the secondary identifier is configured to persist in the mapping for a session duration or until expiration of a predetermined time-to-live value;
receiving a first identifier associated with a user of content, wherein the content comprises one or more advertisement events;
determining a second identifier based at least on the first identifier, wherein the second identifier is a perishable identifier configured to expire based on an event;
sending the perishable identifier to the advertisement server; and
transmitting the second identifier to an external entity, wherein, if not expired, the second identifier facilitates the external entity to determine targeted placement of one or more advertisements without exposing the first identifier to the external entity, and wherein, if expired before determination of the targeted placement of the one or more advertisements, the second identifier does not facilitate the external entity to determine targeted placement of the one or more advertisements;
receiving, from the advertisement server, advertisement content identified for the user.
receiving the one or more advertisements and the second identifier;
receiving the one or more advertisements and the second identifier;
determining that the second identifier is based at least on the first identifier; and
sending, if the second identifier is not expired at least at the time of the transmitting, the one or more advertisements to the user associated with the first identifier.
Application 15/457,387
(Claim 17 and representative of claim 20)
US Patent 11,430,007
receiving, from a computing device, a perishable identifier generated by the computing device by generating a data structure that establishes a mapping between a persistent identifier associated with a user and a secondary identifier, wherein the perishable identifier is configured to be used by an advertisement server to identify advertisement content for the user, and wherein the secondary identifier is configured to persist in the mapping for a session duration or until expiration of a predetermined time-to-live value;
receiving a first identifier associated with a user of content, wherein the content comprises one or more advertisement events;
determining a second identifier based at least on the first identifier, wherein the second identifier is a perishable identifier configured to expire based on an event;
transmitting the second identifier to an external entity, wherein, if not expired, the second identifier facilitates the external entity to determine targeted placement of one or more advertisements without exposing the first identifier to the external entity, and wherein, if expired before determination of the targeted placement of the one or more advertisements, the second identifier does not facilitate the external entity to determine targeted placement of the one or more advertisements;
sending, to the computing device, advertisement content identified for the user
receiving the one or more advertisements and the second identifier;
receiving the one or more advertisements and the second identifier;
determining that the second identifier is based at least on the first identifier; and
sending, if the second identifier is not expired at least at the time of the transmitting, the one or more advertisements to the user associated with the first identifier.
Furthermore, there is no apparent reason why applicant was prevented from presenting claims corresponding to those of the instant application during prosecution of the application which matured into a patent.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's argument that pending claimed amended invention is eligible for patent under 35 USC 101 because claimed invention involve generating and managing in-memory data structures, enforcing system-level lifecycle rules based on session or TTL conditions, executing network transmissions between devices, and transmitting only perishable identifier to an external advertisement server subsequent to which an advertisement is received for the provided perishable identifier is acknowledged and considered.
However, upon further consideration, it is deemed that the claimed invention is not eligible for patent under 35 USC 101, and applicant’s arguments are responded to in Rejection under 35 USC 101 section.
Applicant's argument that pending claimed amended invention is eligible for patent because cited prior art does not teach claimed invention is acknowledged and considered.
However, upon further review, it is deemed that the combination of cited references teach the claimed invention and responded to in Rejection under 35 USC 103 section.
Conclusion
Ebrahimi et al. US Patent 7,257,546 teaches The ACS can create temporary identifiers for all of its records, but the ACS need only generate temporary identifiers for the users associated with the AP user identifiers on AP 106' s list. ACS 100 stores the set of temporary identifiers and then provides the list of temporary identifiers to AP 106 (Advertising Provider) [Ebrahimi, col. 5, lines 51 – 56].
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NARESH VIG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3622
May 19, 2026