DETAILED ACTION
The instant action is in response to application 3 April 2026.
Specification
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s remarks on the merits have been considered but are not persuasive. Applicant argues that “Cai fails to disclose or suggest turning on two successive switching circuits”. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Though probably broader than what applicant intended, an interleaved circuit does read on the claim language. This can be seen in ¶39 where he states that “In cases where an adaptive off-time peak current control mode is employed, an additional calibration operation may be used to produce a desired 180-degree phase shift between the currents flowing in coils 111A-B”. As such, he is turning on phase A then phase B (or vice versa). The two phases operate sequentially. The two switches in each phase also operate sequentially. Once again, though probably broader than what applicant meant, the courts have repeatedly told the office not to read limitations from the specification into the claims. Though applicants specification does define a clearly different dynamic on-time adjustment, the particulars are not sufficiently claimed overcome the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language, and the office cannot read limits from the specification into the cliams (MPEP 2111.01, MPEP 2173.01).
Next, applicant argues that Kruger does not disclose “regulating an on-time period based on the time interval between turning on two successive switching circuits is shorter than a regulation period”. Once again, this appears to be the applicant assuming the language is narrowed by the specification. First, note that Kruger is regulating an on time. Though not measured from the phase difference or time between phases directly, decreasing on-time directly leads to an increasing off-time. Though the interpretation may be broad, the claim language did not limit to direct measurements, only based upon.
Lastly, as to the motivation to combine, examiner notes that rational different from applicant’s is permissible (MPEP 2144), and the stated advantage of limiting current oscillations from on-time limits still applies. Since that did not appear to be clear in the last action, examiner will try to make it clearer. Recall that Ton= Vin*Duty_cycle for a buck converter. If the switching frequency is high, the on-period of the switch is short and may not saturate, especially at smaller duty cycles. If the converter operates the mosfets in the linear region, that increases the losses in the FETs and decreases the probability the system hits its target output, causing it to oscillate between a large and small conducting period, which increases ripple as well as a few other non-beneficial things. By having the minimum on-time specified, the system guarantees enough time for the switch to fully conduct, and increases output accuracy.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in China on 13 June 2023.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
For method claims, note that under MPEP 2112.02, the principles of inherency, if a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated by the prior art device. When the prior art device is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out the claimed method, it can be assumed the device will inherently perform the claimed process. In re King, 801 F.2d 1324, 231 USPQ 136 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Therefore the previous rejections based on the apparatus will not be repeated. (The claims have been condensed.)
Claims 10-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cai (US 20220103074) in view of Krueger (US 20180091046).
As to claim 10, Cai discloses a controller for a multiphase switching converter, comprising: a comparison circuit configured to provide a comparison signal (204) based on an output voltage (104) of the multiphase switching converter and a reference signal (105); and a programmable circuit (101) configured to provide a plurality of pulse width modulation signals to control a plurality of switching circuits (102, 103) of the multiphase switching converter, wherein the programmable circuit is configured to turn on the plurality of switching circuits in sequence based on the comparison signal (Fig. 11), and configured to turn off the plurality of switching circuits respectively based on an initial ON-time period (Fig. 3, 323) and a time interval between turning on two successive switching circuits (Fig. 11, shows the phase interleaving, which reads on the claim language);
Cai does not disclose wherein in response to the time interval being shorter than a regulation period, an ON- time period of at least one of the plurality of switching circuits is regulated based on the time interval; and wherein in response to the time interval being longer than the regulation period, the ON- time period of at least one of the plurality of switching circuits is controlled to be equal to the initial ON-time period.
Krueger teaches wherein in response to the time interval being shorter than a regulation period, an ON- time period of at least one of the plurality of switching circuits is regulated based on the time interval (Fig. 17, 203); and wherein in response to the time interval being longer than the regulation period, the ON- time period of at least one of the plurality of switching circuits is controlled to be equal to the initial ON-time period (Fig. 17, 202).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device above to use on time comparaisons as disclosed in Krueger to prevent unwanted current oscillations.
As to claim 11, Cai in view of Krueger teaches wherein in response to the time interval being shorter than the regulation period, the ON-time period of at least one of the plurality of switching circuits decreases when the time interval increases, and increases when the time interval decreases (the period can only decrease, increase or remain equal when it is controlled by the error signal. It has been held that choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success is obvious. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.__, __, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007)).
As to claim 12, Cai in view of Krueger teaches wherein the regulation period is determined by a preset switching period of the plurality of switching circuits (Fig. 11, startup).
As to claim 13, Cai in view of Krueger teaches further comprising: an interface circuit, configured to receive user settings via a communication bus to set the preset switching period of the plurality of switching circuits, and a number of the plurality of switching circuits (this is whatever device sets the initial period in Fig. 11).
As to claim 14, wherein the programmable circuit is configured to control the initial ON-time period based on a preset switching period of the plurality of switching circuits (Fig. 11, Fig. 3).
As to claim 15, Cai in view of Krueger teaches wherein in response to the time interval being shorter than the regulation period, an ON-time period of at least one of the plurality of switching circuits is equal to the initial ON- time period adding a modulation period (this is obvious from a finite number of possibilities as explained above).
As to claim 16, Cai in view of Krueger teaches wherein the modulation period is increases when the time interval decreases, and controlled decreases when the time interval increases (this is obvious from a finite number of possibilities as explained above. This is also a function of the error signal)..
As to claims 17-19, these are method claims corresponding to claims 10-12 above and are obvious for similar reasons.
As to claim 20, Cao in view of Krueger teaches a multiphase switching converter, comprising: a plurality of switching circuits configured to provide an output voltage; and a controller configured to provide a plurality of pulse width modulation signals to turn on the plurality of switching circuits based on the output voltage and a reference signal, and to turn off the plurality of switching circuits respectively based on an initial ON-time period and a time interval between turning on two successive switching circuits; wherein in response to the time interval being shorter than a regulation period, an ON- time period of at least one of the plurality of switching circuits is adjusted (this is similar to claim 10 above, but with fewer limitaitons the main difference being a converter rather than a controller in the preamble. Cai teaches a multiphase converter in Fig. 1, and as such the combination and reasons to combine are similar)
As to claims 21, Cao in view of Krueger teaches wherein in response to the time interval being shorter than the regulation period, the ON-time period of at least one of the plurality of switching circuits decreases when the time interval increases, and increases when the time interval decreases (see claim 11 above).
As to claim 22, Cao in view of Krueger teaches wherein the controller comprises: an interface circuit, configured to receive user settings via a communication bus to set a preset switching period of the plurality of switching circuits (see claim 13 above).
As to claim 23, Cao in view of Krueger teaches wherein the regulation period is determined by the preset switching period of the plurality of switching circuits (see claim 14 above).
As to claim 24, Cao in view of Kreuger teaches wherein in response to the time interval being shorter than the regulation period, the ON-time period of at least one of the plurality of switching circuits is controlled to be equal to the initial ON-time period adding a modulation period (see claim 11 above).
As to claim 25, wherein the modulation period increases when the time interval decreases, and decreases when the time interval increases. (see finite explained in claim 11 above).
As to claim 26, Cao in view of Kreuger teaches wherein in response to the time interval being longer than the regulation period, the ON-time period of at least one of the plurality of switching circuits is controlled to be equal to the initial ON-time period (see claim 10 above).
As to claim 27, Cao in view of Kreuger teaches wherein the controller comprises: a comparison circuit configured to provide a comparison signal via comparing a feedback signal and the reference signal, wherein the feedback signal indicates the output voltage (see claim 10 above, also Fig. 2 shows the error signal in Cao).
As to claim 28, Cao in view of Kreuger teaches wherein the regulation period is shorter than a preset switching period of the plurality of switching circuits divided by n, where n is a number of the plurality of switching circuits (Fig. 11 shows a standard period interleaving which reads on the claim).
Conclusion
Examiner has cited particular column, paragraph, and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner. In the case of amending the claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PETER M NOVAK/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2839