DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 8-10, 12-14, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Eddy (US 2014/0276456 A1).
With regard to claim 1, Eddy discloses A needleless access connector ([0017]) having a valve comprising an antimicrobial agent (Fig. 1 and 2; [0004], [0017]), wherein the valve has a porous top surface that includes the antimicrobial (opening of valve at 25a, [0022]).
With regard to claim 2, Eddy discloses wherein a top surface of the valve comprises a silicone elastomer ([0004], [0022], [0026], [0027]).
With regard to claim 3, Eddy discloses wherein the valve includes an insert (36 or 24 could be considered the insert) near the porous top surface of the valve, wherein the insert comprises an antimicrobial coating thereon which includes the antimicrobial agent ([0022]).
With regard to claim 4, Eddy discloses wherein the insert has a top surface (40b) that is flat and near the porous top surface of the valve.
With regard to claim 6, Eddy discloses wherein the insert is rigid (element 24 is a rigid insert) and comprises a rigid polymeric material ([0020]).
With regard to claim 8, Eddy discloses wherein the valve has a series of groves (43) or textured pattern containing an antimicrobial formulation including the antimicrobial agent (element 36 contains the antimicrobial).
With regard to claim 9, Eddy discloses wherein the valve has an antimicrobial coating including the antimicrobial agent on a hydrophilic surface of the valve ([0022], entire valve may be wiped, sprayed, or dipped in the antimicrobial material).
With regard to claim 10, Eddy discloses wherein the valve is made of a material that includes the antimicrobial agent (0022], [0023]).
With regard to claim 12, Eddy discloses wherein the valve material includes the antimicrobial agent by injecting an antimicrobial formulation into a top surface of the valve (this is being a considered a product by process claim as the process the of injecting the antimicrobial appears to be a method of manufacturing type step., Therefore, the claim must only teach the structure recited of a top surface of the valve having the antimicrobial [0022], [0023]).
With regard to claim 13, Eddy discloses wherein the antimicrobial formulation is a sustained release antimicrobial formulation ([0024], [0025], the antimicrobial resists being rubbed off during use and therefore continues to provide continual protection against contamination for a long duration).
With regard to claim 14, Eddy discloses wherein the sustained release antimicrobial formulation comprises a biodegradable polymer, a mesh forming polymer, a temperature/pH sensitive polymer ([0022]) or combinations thereof ([0024], [0025]).
With regard to claim 18, Eddy discloses A needleless access connector (Fig. 1 and 2, [0017]) having a valve comprising an antimicrobial agent ([0004], [0017]), wherein the valve is the only component of the needleless access connector including an antimicrobial agent (see Fig. 2), and wherein the valve is the only component of the needleless connector including the antimicrobial agent (the entire device of Fig. 1 is the valve of the connector and thus this is the only part considered to have antimicrobial agent. [0004], [0006], Eddy describes the connector as being the valve itself and therefore the entire structure shown in Fig. 1 is the valve. The claims also don’t recited any separate structure between the valve and the needleless connector, thus the only component of the needleless connector is the valve).
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Leinsing et al. (US 2003/0209681 A1).
With regard to claim 1, Leinsing discloses A needleless access connector (Fig. 2) having a valve comprising an antimicrobial agent ([0048]) wherein the valve has a porous top surface (top surface 54 includes opening 64 making it porous).
With regard to claim 3, Leinsing discloses wherein the valve includes an insert (38) near the porous top surface of the valve, wherein the insert comprises an antimicrobial coating thereon which includes the antimicrobial agent ([0048]).
With regard to claim 5, Leinsing discloses wherein the insert has a top surface (fig 6, at 68) that includes pockets or crevices (75, 74) and the antimicrobial coating is included in the pockets or crevices ([0048]).
With regard to claim 7, Leinsing discloses wherein the valve has a series of tunnels or bores (64 then through to 74 and 75) within the top surface of the valve and the tunnels and/or bores contain an antimicrobial formulation including the antimicrobial agent ([0048]).
Claim(s) 18, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Crawford et al. (US 2007/0293822 A1).
With regard to claim 18, Crawford discloses A needleless access connector (ex, Fig. 10) having a valve comprising an antimicrobial agent ([0008]), wherein the valve is the only component of the needleless access connector including an antimicrobial agent (Fig. 10) and wherein the valve is the only component of the needleless connector including the antimicrobial agent (the entire device of Fig. 10 is the valve of the connector and thus this is the only part considered to have antimicrobial agent. [0008], Crawford describes the connector as being the valve itself and therefore the entire structure shown in Fig. 10 is the valve. The claims also don’t recited any separate structure between the valve and the needleless connector, thus the only component of the needleless connector is the valve)..
With regard to claim 19, Crawford discloses wherein only a top surface of the valve includes the antimicrobial agent ([0008, top surface of septum is swapped with a pad containing antimicrobial agent).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eddy (US 2014/0276456 A1) in view of Nelson (US 2006/0287722 A1).
With regard to claim 11, Eddy discloses the valve material comprising silicone elastomer and antimicrobial agent ([0022]).
However, Eddy does not disclose the use of a fluoropolymer.
Nelson teaches a valve that may be made with a silicone elastomer, antimicrobial and a fluoropolymer ([0050], [0070]).
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the materials of Eddy to include a fluoropolymer as taught by Nelson because the substitution of one material for another is well known in the art and would not affect the overall function of the device.
Claim(s) 15 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eddy (US 2014/0276456 A1) in view of Waller et al. (US 2020/0214900 A1).
With regard to claim 15 and 20, Eddy discloses the claimed invention except for the use of cyanoacrylate.
Waller teaches the use of cyanoacrylate for its antimicrobial properties (Abstract).
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the materials of Eddy to cyanoacrylate as taught by Waller for the purpose of its antimicrobial properties (abstract). Further a simple substitution of one delivery agent for another is well known in the art and would not alter the overall function of the device.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eddy (US 2014/0276456 A1) in view of Ziebol et al. (US 2020/0139104 A1).
With regard to claim 16, Eddy discloses the claimed invention except for the use of chlorohexidine salt.
Ziebol teaches the use of chlorhexidine salt as part of the antimicrobial agent ([0245]).
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the materials of Eddy with the chlorohexidine salt as taught by Ziebol for the purpose of controlling release of the antimicrobial agent ([0245]). Further a simple substitution of one delivery agent for another is well known in the art and would not alter the overall function of the device.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eddy (US 2014/0276456 A1).
With regard to claim 17, Eddy discloses the use of an antimicrobial agent in a coating on the valve ([0022], [0024], [0025]).
However, Eddy does not explicitly disclose the agent comprising 0.5 to about 50 parts by weight compared to 100 parts by weight of a formulation to form the coating.
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Eddy to optimize the ratio between the antimicrobial agent and the formulation as doing so is well known in the art and would not alter the overall function of the device.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,029,835 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because Claim 1 and 18 of the present invention is a broader version of claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,029,835 B2 including the limitations of a needless access connector having a valve comprising an antimicrobial agent, the valve having a porous top that includes the antimicrobial agent.
Further dependent claims of the present invention recite similar subject matter as that of the dependent claims of U.S. Patent No. 12,029,835 B2 as outlined below:
Present Invention
U.S. Patent No. 12,029,835 B2
2
2
3
1
4
3
5
4
6
5
7
6
8
7
9
8
10
9
11
10
12
11
13
12
14
13
15
14
16
15
17
16
18
17
19
18
20
19
Conclusion
/Lauren P Farrar/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783