DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: “denotation” is believed to be in error for --detonation--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: detonation mechanism in claims 1, 10, 12 and 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Colin WO 2021/174291 A1 in view of Kozen JP 3224081 U, Bonet WO 2007/110457 A1, and Dreisilker 2024/0149090 A1.
In regards to Independent Claim 1, Colin teaches a forest fire suppression system (best shown in figure 4), comprising: a satellite (308) comprising a thermal imaging sensor (paragraph [00418]) that is configured to detect a hot spot having an average temperature within a predetermined area greater than a threshold average temperature that is indicative of a forest fire (paragraph [00418]), the satellite further configured to transmit an alert signal to an emergency authority via a wireless network when a hot spot is detected (wireless transmission from satellite, paragraph [00236]); a UAV (315) configured to be remotely controlled by an individual at the emergency authority (control of 315 from server 100 through cloud 305 as shown in figure 3), a crate (1201) filled with a plurality of fire suppression foam bombs (1101, can be a foam bomb, paragraph [00202]), and further configured to drop each of the plurality of fire suppression foam bombs individually (paragraph [00204]). However, Colin does not teach that the UAV carries the cate of fire suppression foam bombs, or that each individual fire suppression foam bomb of the plurality of fire suppression foam bombs comprises a housing configured to be filled with a pressurized foam material, a denotation mechanism, a microcontroller, and an outlet nozzle on the housing; wherein each individual fire suppression foam bomb is adapted to disperse a volume of the pressurized foam material via the outlet nozzle when the detonation mechanism is activated by the microcontroller after the fire suppression foam bomb is dropped by the UAV. Kozen teaches attaching a plurality of fire extinguishing bombs (3) to a drone (1). Bonet teaches an individual fire suppression foam bomb (1, Page A, ll. 23-26) comprises a housing configured to be filled with a pressurized foam material (housing of 1 as shown in figure 1, filled with foam, Page A, ll. 23-26), a denotation mechanism (actuation means 3, where an actuation means to open a valve to release a mixture of foam and pressurized gas acts as the detonation mechanism that mixes foam with a gas, Page 6, ll. 3-14), and an outlet nozzle on the housing (nozzle 2 on housing of 1 shown in figure 1); wherein the individual fire suppression foam bomb is adapted to disperse a volume of the pressurized foam material via the outlet nozzle when the detonation mechanism is activated after the fire suppression foam bomb is dropped (Page 6, ll. 20-24, valve opens when temperature increases to extinguish fire after travelling to the area that a fire is present). Dreisilker teaches a fire extinguisher nozzle (outlet 6) for foam (paragraph [0066]) that includes a detonation mechanism (valve 5) activated by a microcontroller (34, opens valve in response to fire detection, paragraph [0068]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the invention to use the drone of Colin to carry the plurality of foam bombs of Colin, as taught by Kozen, to replace the foam bombs of Colin with the foam bombs of Bonet, and to use a microcontroller to control release of foam from the bombs of Colin, as taught by Dreisilker, in order to allow the foam bomb directly onto a fire site (abstract of Kozen), to release the foam from the bomb in a sudden and controlled manner (abstract of Bonet), and to release the foam from the foam bomb only when a fire is detected (paragraph [0068] of Dreisilker).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Colin in view of Kozen, Bonet, and Dreisilker as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Erickson 10,429,160.
Regarding Dependent Claim 2, Colin in view of Kozen, Bonet, and Dreisilker teaches the invention as claimed and discussed above. However, Colin in view of Kozen, Bonet, and Dreisilker does not teach a reseeding mechanism in the foam bomb for dispersing plant seeds when activated by the microcontroller. Erickson teaches including seeds (Col. 9, ll. 40-44) in a foam bomb (100) to disperse seeds and fertilizer with the fire-retarding material (Col. 9, ll. 40-44). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the invention to include seeds within the foam bomb for spreading seeds with the fire-retarding material of Colin in view of Kozen, Bonet, and Dreisilker, as taught by Erickson, in order to regrow plants after the fire is extinguished (Col. 9, ll. 40-44).
Claims 4 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Colin in view of Kozen, Bonet, and Dreisilker as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Demmit 2012/0138319.
Regarding Dependent Claim 4, Colin in view of Kozen, Bonet, and Dreisilker teaches the invention as claimed and discussed above. However, Colin in view of Kozen, Bonet, and Dreisilker does not teach a parachute controlled by the microcontroller for each foam bomb. Demmit teaches using a parachute (70) controlled by a microcontroller (64) for a fire extinguishing bomb (10). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the invention to use the microcontroller controlled parachute of Demmit with each foam bomb of Colin in view of Kozen, Bonet, and Dreisilker, in order to allow the bomb to fall softly to the ground (paragraph [0041]).
Regarding Dependent Claim 8, Colin in view of Kozen, Bonet, and Dreisilker teaches the invention as claimed and discussed above. However, Colin in view of Kozen, Bonet, and Dreisilker does not teach a GPS unit in each foam bomb. Demmit teaches using a GPS locator in a fire extinguishing bomb (paragraph [0017]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the invention to use the GPS locator of Demmit in each foam bomb of Colin in view of Kozen, Bonet, and Dreisilker, in order to allow for recovery of the bombs for reuse (paragraph [0017]).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Colin in view of Kozen, Bonet, and Dreisilker as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of MacNeal 2022/0143442.
Regarding Dependent Claim 5, Colin in view of Kozen, Bonet, and Dreisilker teaches the invention as claimed and discussed above. However, Colin in view of Kozen, Bonet, and Dreisilker does not teach a power supply for the fire suppression system with a battery and solar panel. MacNeal teaches a fire suppression system (100) that uses a solar panel and battery to supply power (paragraph [0014]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the invention to supply power to the foam bombs of Colin in view of Kozen, Bonet, and Dreisilker with a solar panel and battery, as taught by MacNeal, in order to power the system with a self-contained power source (paragraph [0051]).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Colin in view of Kozen, Bonet, and Dreisilker as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hakos 2025/0205528.
Regarding Dependent Claim 6, Colin in view of Kozen, Bonet, and Dreisilker teaches the invention as claimed and discussed above. However, Colin in view of Kozen, Bonet, and Dreisilker does not teach that each foam bomb comprises an inlet for refilling the pressurized foam. Hakos teaches a fire suppression system (100) with a refill inlet (180) for refilling a tank with a fire suppressant (paragraph [0087], which can comprise foam, paragraph [0065]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the invention to use the refill inlet of Hako with each foam bomb of Colin in view of Kozen, Bonet, and Dreisilker, in order to allow the vessel to be refilled with fire suppression agent as required (paragraph [0067]).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Colin in view of Kozen, Bonet, and Dreisilker as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zakhmatov WO 2010083890 A1.
Regarding Dependent Claim 7, Colin in view of Kozen, Bonet, and Dreisilker teaches the invention as claimed and discussed above. However, Colin in view of Kozen, Bonet, and Dreisilker does not teach cables attaching the crate with foam bombs to the UAV. Zakhmatov teach using a cable (30) to suspend a crate (3) of bombs (20) below an aerial vehicle (as shown in figure 6A). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the invention to use a cable to suspend the crate of foam bombs below the UAV of Colin in view of Kozen, Bonet, and Dreisilker in the manner taught by Zakhmatov, in order to allow a new crate of bombs to be quickly attached when necessary (paragraph [0035]).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Colin in view of Kozen, Bonet, and Dreisilker as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wang CN 106669072 A.
Regarding Dependent Claim 9, Colin in view of Kozen, Bonet, and Dreisilker teaches the invention as claimed and discussed above. However, Colin in view of Kozen, Bonet, and Dreisilker does not teach handles for the foam bombs. Wang teaches using handles (15-2, two shown in figure 1) for a fire suppression foam bomb (figure 1, described in abstract). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the invention to place the handles of Wang on each foam bomb of Colin in view of Kozen, Bonet, and Dreisilker, in order to allow picking and placing of the foam bombs (paragraph [0005]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 10-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: prior art fails to teach, in combination with the other limitations of dependent claim 3, that each fire suppression foam bomb comprises a plurality of ground spikes extending downwardly from the housing; and prior art fails to teach, in combination with the other limitations of dependent claim 10, a first interior volume is configured to be filled with the pressurized foam material; a second interior volume is configured to be filled with a reactant; wherein activation of the detonation mechanism is configured to cause intermixing of the pressurized foam material and the reactant to form a mixed foam solution, causing an increase in pressure which causes the mixed foam solution to be ejected from the housing via the outlet nozzle.
Conclusion
/STEVEN M SUTHERLAND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752