2. DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed 06 July 2026 have been entered. Applicant’s amendments have overcome each and every rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) previously set forth in the Office Action mailed 08 April 2026 except where noted below.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 11 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 13-14 “the continuous time period” should be “the continuous period of time”.
Claim 1, line 14 “the corresponding times” should be “corresponding times”.
Claim 1, line 15 “the continuous time period” should be “the continuous period of time”.
Claim 11, line 17 “the continuous time period” should be “the continuous period of time”.
Claim 11, line 17 “the corresponding times” should be “corresponding times”.
Claim 11, line 18-19 “the continuous time period” should be “the continuous period of time”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “similar” in claim 7 and 17 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “similar measurement to each other separate non-contiguous measurement” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one or ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Utilizing the two step process adopted by the Supreme Court (Alice Corp vs CLS Bank Int'l, US
Supreme Court, 110 USPQ2d 1976 (2014) and the recent 101 guideline Federal Register Vol. 84, No., Jan
2019)), determination of the subject matter eligibility under the 35 U.S.C. 101 is as follows: Specifically, the Step 1 requires claim belongs to one of the four statutory categories (process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter). If Step 1 is satisfied, then in the first part of Step 2A (Prong One), identification of any judicial recognized exceptions in the claim is made. If any limitation in the claim is identified as judicial recognized exception, then in the second part of Step 2A (Prong Two), determination is made whether the identified judicial exception is being integrated into practical application. If the identified judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application, then in Step 2B, the claim is further evaluated to see if the additional elements, individually and in combination provide "inventive concept" that would amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. If the element and combination of elements do not amount to significantly more than the judicial recognized exception itself, then the claim is ineligible under the 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception, in this case an abstract idea, without significantly more. The claim recite(s) "performing a fall risk assessment of a subject for a particular context” and “selecting a subset of the first data set based on the context information of the second data set, the selected subset of the first data set comprising a plurality of separate non- contiguous measurements of the first data set, each separate non-contiguous measurement of the selected subset of the first data set comprising the same context information as the context information represented by the second data set and occurring at a different corresponding time within the continuous time period than the corresponding times at which each other separate non-contiguous measurement of the selected subset of the first data set occurred within the continuous time period; and determining the fall risk of the subject for the particular context based on movement measurements of the selected subset of the first data set". This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application and the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Claim 1 satisfies Step 1, namely the claim is directed to one of the four statutory classes, process. Following Step 2A Prong one, any judicial exceptions are identified in the claims. In claim 1, the limitations "performing a fall risk assessment of a subject for a particular context” and “selecting a subset of the first data set based on the context information of the second data set, the selected subset of the first data set comprising a plurality of separate non- contiguous measurements of the first data set, each separate non-contiguous measurement of the selected subset of the first data set comprising the same context information as the context information represented by the second data set and occurring at a different corresponding time within the continuous time period than the corresponding times at which each other separate non-contiguous measurement of the selected subset of the first data set occurred within the continuous time period; and determining the fall risk of the subject for the particular context based on movement measurements of the selected subset of the first data set" are abstract ideas as they are directed to a mental process because selecting a subset of data and determining a risk based on the subset of data as part of an assessment may be performed in the human mind via observation and judgment with or without the use of mathematical operations such as filtering or thresholding. With the identification of an abstract idea, the next phase is to proceed Step 2A, Prong Two, wherewith additional elements and taken as a whole, evaluation occurs of whether the identified abstract idea is integrated into a practical application.
In Step 2A, Prong Two, the claim does not recite any additional elements or evidence that amounts to significantly more than the judicial exception. Besides the abstract idea, the claim recites the additional elements “executed on data processing hardware that causes data processing hardware to perform operations”, “receiving, from a movement sensor, a first data set comprising continuous measurements of movements of a subject over a continuous period of time; receiving, from a context sensor different from the movement sensor, a second data set representing context information of the subject, the second data set comprising continuous measurements over the continuous period of time” and “transmitting, to a client device, for display on a user interface of the client device, one or more visual indicators based on the determined fall risk of the subject for the particular context”. However, these components may be seen as the use of well-understood, routine, or conventional elements to perform a non-mental process in order to gather data for the mental process step, much like the example given in MPEP 2106.04(d)(2)(c), such that these limitations are extra-solution activity and thus do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. The measurement step leads to the final limitations of “determining” and “transmitting…for display” such that the end result of use of the system is only the generic visual indicator which may be any generic output. As this determination and indicator is not defined as requiring any further action, such as a form of prophylaxis or treatment or an improvement to a computer or other technology, the claim limitations constitute mere generation of data, in this case the receiving of data comprising movements and context, such that the claim does not integrate the judicial exception into any practical application. Regarding “data processing hardware”, the limitation amounts to nothing more than an instruction to apply the abstract idea using a generic computer, which does not render an abstract idea eligible. The steps performed by the data processing hardware are, as claimed, capable of being performed in the human mind similar to the examples given in MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(A)-(C), wherein it is described that “a claim to ‘collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of the collection and analysis’ where the data analysis steps are recited at a high level of generality such that they could practically be performed in the human mind” recites a mental process and that claims which merely use a computer as a tool to perform a mental process are not eligible when “there is nothing in the claims themselves that foreclose them from being performed by a human, mentally or with pen and paper” such as “mental processes of parsing and comparing data” when the steps are recited at a high level of generality and a computer is used merely as a tool to perform the processes. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the claim elements are recited with a high level of generality (as written, each claimed step of the process may be performed by a person in an undefined manner alone or with the aid of pen and paper) that there are no meaningful limitations to the abstract idea. Consequently, with the identified abstract idea not being integrated into a practical application, the next step is Step 2B, evaluating whether the additional elements provide "inventive concept" that would amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
In Step 2B, claim 1 does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The limitation of “executed on data processing hardware that causes data processing hardware to perform operations”, “receiving, from a movement sensor, a first data set comprising continuous measurements of movements of a subject over a continuous period of time; receiving, from a context sensor different from the movement sensor, a second data set representing context information of the subject, the second data set comprising continuous measurements over the continuous period of time” and “transmitting, to a client device, for display on a user interface of the client device, one or more visual indicators based on the determined fall risk of the subject for the particular context” constitutes extra-solution activity to the judicial exception, which does not amount to an inventive concept when the activity is well-understood, routine, or conventional, and are thus not indicative of integration into a practical application. The claim limitation constitutes adding a generic processor, sensors, transmitter, and display device, which Annegarn (US 20160220153 A1) describes as well-understood, routine, or conventional in its description of known and available systems in the art which having processors and sensors to monitor fall risk (Paragraph 0003-0006-- Fall detection systems are also available that process the output of one or more movement sensors to determine if the user has suffered a fall) and generally of components which are known in the art and commercially available including processors, sensors, transmitters, and display devices (Paragraph 0032, 0065-0073, 0107, 0127). As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the present elements amount to no more than mere indications to apply the exception.
In Summary, claim 1 recites abstract idea without being integrated into a practical application, and does not provide additional elements that would amount to significantly more. As such, taken as a whole, the claim and is ineligible under the 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 for similar reasons.
Claims 2-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception, in this case an abstract idea, without significantly more. As each of these claims depends from claim 1, which was rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 in paragraph 10 of this action, these claims must be evaluated on whether they sufficiently add to the practical application of claim 1, or comprise significantly more than the limitations of claim 1.
Besides the abstract idea of claim 1: claims 2-6 recite additional limitations of the use of well-understood, routine, or conventional elements to perform a non-mental process in order to gather data for the mental process step; claims 7-9 recite further limitations of the abstract idea which themselves are additionally abstract, as they merely provide for further limitations of “identify[ing]” or “selecting” the subset of data which may also be performed in the human mind with or without using mathematical operations; claim 10 recites an additional limitation of the use of well-understood, routine, or conventional elements to perform a non-mental process in order to output data for the mental process step which does not constitute a particular prophylaxis or treatment.
The claim element of claim 1 of a computer-implemented method is recited with a high level of generality (as written, the actions of the processing circuitry may be carried out by a person alone or with a generic computer in any undefined manner). The limitations of the dependent claims provide no practical application, nor do they provide meaningful limitations to the abstract idea.
Claims 12-20 are additionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 for similar reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Annegarn ‘153 (US 20160220153 A1) in view of Annegarn ‘146 (WO 2014195146 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Annegarn ‘153 teaches a computer-implemented method executed on data processing hardware that causes the data processing hardware to perform operations (Paragraph 0032—computer readable code is executed by a suitable computer or processing unit in order to perform the method) comprising:
performing a fall risk assessment of a subject for a particular context (Paragraph 0013—determined context information indicates the user may be at an increased risk of falling) by:
receiving, from a movement sensor (Paragraph 0064—processing unit receives measurements from movement sensors; One or more movement sensors 6, 8, Fig. 1), a first data set comprising continuous measurements of movements of the subject over a continuous period of time (Paragraph 0025—determining one or more feature values from measurements of the movements of the user; Paragraph 0064—one or more movement sensors for obtaining measurements of the movements of the user; Paragraph 0079—movement sensor measurements are continuously evaluated by an algorithm to detect a potential fall incident…);
receiving, from a context sensor different from the movement sensor (Paragraphs 0015-0017—context information may include information about the user’s current activities, movement patterns, and location, which may all be measured with movement sensors such that those sensors additionally or alternatively serve as context sensors; Paragraph 0064-0066—the system may include only one or multiple movement sensors including an accelerometer, an air pressure sensor, a gyroscope, and/or a magnetic field sensor; Paragraph 0100—processing unit can determine an activity such as walking by processing the measurements from movement sensors to identify patterns…or can use some form of location tracking function (for example a satellite positioning system receiver) to produce indications that the user is walking which can be inferred from changes in the location of the user over time; Paragraph 0103—context information comprises information on the environment around the user…can be measured using a light sensor…can include an indication of how even or uneven the ground is…an indication of current weather or temperature…can determine an indication of ambient noise levels…which may increase risk of falling), a second data set representing context information of the subject (Steps 101 and 107—determine context information about the user and/or the environment in which the user is located, Fig. 6; Element 50—contextual information, Fig. 7), the second data set comprising continuous measurements over the continuous period of time (Paragraphs 0029-0051, 0087-0089—the fall risk algorithm is continuously updated based on the user context data, such that the context data must be continuous measurements; Paragraph 0086—while the method of Fig. 6 is being performed, the system is measuring movements of the user from the movement sensors and continuously or periodically processing them; Paragraph 0099-0101 and 0105—context information may be provided based on the movement sensor data as they may relate to the performance of a fall risk assessment test, the user walking, unusual movement patterns, or activity, such that the context data set contains measurements that cover the period of time covered by the first data set).
It is noted that Annegarn ‘153 not only teaches that context sensors may be non-movement sensors, as it discusses the acquisition of context data from location sensors, light sensors, temperature/other weather sensors, etc. as described above, but also that it teaches the inclusion of multiple types of movement sensors, such that it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to utilize one movement sensor or movement sensor type to measure movements and one movement sensor or movement sensor type to measure context (such that a context sensor is different from the movement sensor, but is still a movement sensor), as a mere substitution to ensure that accurate, adequate measurements are received for both movement and context.
selecting a subset of the first data set based on the context information of the second data set (Paragraphs 0013-0020—various contexts may indicate that the user is or may be at increased risk of falling in the selected context, such that a given context may be selected to indicate whether the user is at an increased risk of falling or a normal risk of falling; Paragraph 0102—can determine if the location of the user coincides with a location in which the user has previously fallen with a match indicating the user is at higher risk of falling, while a location with no fall history would have a lower or normal associated risk of falling; Paragraph 0086—while the method of Fig. 6 is being performed, the system is measuring movements of the user from the movement sensors and continuously or periodically processing them; Paragraph 0099—when the context information indicates the user is performing a fall risk assessment or other high risk activity, will increase sensitivity of the fall detection algorithm…sensitivity can be reduced when the risk level falls; Paragraphs 0029-0030, 0033-040—the fall detection algorithm sensitivity may be set to a normal sensitivity when the user is at a normal risk of falling, but when context information indicates the user is at higher risk the sensitivity may be increased, such that the first data corresponding to the movement of the user may be selected for increased scrutiny/sensitivity based on a selected context being indicating increased risk while periods of movement which do not take place in a high-risk context would not be selected; Paragraph 0105—can compare an activity profile to activity profiles from previous periods of time to determine if the user is more active than usual or no), the selected subset of the first data set comprising a plurality of separate non- contiguous measurements of the first data set, each separate non-contiguous measurement of the selected subset of the first data set comprising the same context information as the context information represented by the second data set (Paragraph 0012—sensitivity of the fall detection algorithm is adapted using contextual information which indicates that the user is at a higher risk of falling; Paragraph 0090—an increase in sensitivity of the fall detection algorithm is temporary and only lasts while the user is at a higher risk of falling; Paragraph 0102—can determine if the location of the user coincides with a location in which the user has previously fallen with a match indicating the user is at higher risk of falling, while a location with no fall history would have a lower or normal associated risk of falling; Paragraph 0105—can compare an activity profile to activity profiles from previous periods of time to determine if the user is more active than usual or not) and occurring at a different corresponding time within the continuous time period than the corresponding times at which each other separate non-contiguous measurement of the selected subset of the first data set occurred within the continuous time period (Paragraph 0102-0109—can determine if the location of the user coincides with a location in which the user has previously fallen with a match indicating the user is at higher risk of falling, while a location with no fall history would have a lower or normal associated risk of falling…can compare an activity profile to activity profiles from previous periods of time to determine if the user is more active than usual or not).
It can be seen that Annegarn ‘153 teaches the selected subset of the first data set comprises a plurality of separate, non-contiguous portions of the first data set with matching context information (such that in selecting the part of the first data set, a respective time within the period of time of the respective temporal occurrence is determined in order to then select a portion of the first data set at the respective time), as the context information of a particular time period is compared to context information from previous time periods, which may be seen to be noncontiguous as they relate to each instance of falling or not falling within a context, in order to determine whether a period correlates a high-risk or normal-to-low risk of falling. For example, the algorithm compares previous, noncontiguous time periods with matching context such as a location, to assess the fall history associated with this context such that a fall risk may be calculated (e.g. the fall risk in a bathroom is considered high because data sets from past periods with the same location context include falls). In order to recognize which contexts correlate with fall history, it is inherently true that the data having the particular context must be matched to the movement data which is obtained concurrently, as any non-concurrently obtained data would not have the same context and would thus be irrelevant in determining which contexts relate to higher fall risk.
Annegarn ‘153 additionally teaches determining a fall risk of the subject for the particular context based on movement measurements of the selected subset of the first data set (Paragraph 0100—context information comprises an indication that the user is walking, processing unit can determine whether the user is walking by processing measurements from movement sensors…determines that the user is no longer walking, the user’s fall risk is therefore lower).
Annegarn ‘153 additionally teaches a display may be included in a user device in order to provide feedback to a user (Paragraph 0070). However, Annegarn ‘153 fails to specifically teach transmitting, from the processing unit to a client device, for display in a user interface of the client device, one or more visual indicators based on the determined fall risk.
Annegarn ‘146 teaches a fall detection system and method (Abstract) wherein the method includes transmitting, to a client device, for display on a user interface of the client device, one or more visual indicators based on the determined fall risk of the subject for the particular context (Page 4, lines 28-30 and Page 6, lines 23-25—in some embodiments, the step of displaying comprises adapting the instructions for the one or more exercises and/or movements based on a previously-determined fall risk for the user).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine the method of Annegarn ‘153, including the displaying feedback to the user, with the visual indicators of Annegarn ‘146 in order to predictably improve the ability of the device to reduce fall risk of a user by providing instructions or steps to reduce fall risk.
Regarding claim 2, The combination of Annegarn ‘153 and Annegarn ‘146 teaches the computer-implemented method as claimed in claim 1. Annegarn ‘153 additionally teaches wherein the operations further comprise selecting the particular context from among a plurality of contexts associated with the fall risk (Paragraph 0100—context information comprises an indication that the user is walking, processing unit can determining whether the user is walking by processing measurements from movement sensors; Paragraph 0102—can determine if the location of the user coincides with a location in which the user has previously fallen with a match indicating the user is at higher risk of falling, while a location with no fall history would have a lower or normal associated risk of falling; Paragraph 0105—can compare an activity profile to activity profiles from previous periods of time to determine if the user is more active than usual or no; Paragraphs 0017-0019, 0029-0030, 0033-040—the fall detection algorithm sensitivity may be set to a normal sensitivity when the user is at a normal risk of falling, but when context information indicates the user is at higher risk the sensitivity may be increased, such that the first data corresponding to the movement of the user may be selected for increased scrutiny/sensitivity based on a selected context being indicating increased risk while periods of movement which do not take place in a high-risk context would not be selected. Contexts can include lighting, temperature, weather, time of day, location, etc.; Fig. 8—environmental conditions and other factors such as medication use contribute to fall risk consideration such that multiple different contexts may be determined from the context information, such as different lighting contexts, different ground surfaces, etc.).
Regarding claim 3, The combination of Annegarn ‘153 and Annegarn ‘146 teaches the computer-implemented method as claimed in claim 1. Annegarn ‘153 additionally teaches wherein the continuous measurements of movements of the subject measure a particular type of movement by the subject (Paragraph 0100—process the measurements from the movement sensors to identify a pattern consistent with walking).
Regarding claim 4, The combination of Annegarn ‘153 and Annegarn ‘146 teaches the computer-implemented method as claimed in claim 1. Annegarn ‘153 additionally teaches the particular type of movement comprises at least one of walking (Paragraphs 011—can test the user’s walking ability), jogging (Paragraph 0101—walking quicker than normal, e.g. when the user is rushing to catch a bus), running, getting up from a sitting position (Paragraph 0111—sit-to-stand transfer), exercising (Paragraph 0097, 0099, 0109, 0111--engaging in exercise); or standing still (Paragraph 0111—standing still).
Regarding claim 5, The combination of Annegarn ‘153 and Annegarn ‘146 teaches the computer-implemented method as claimed in claim 1. Annegarn ‘153 additionally teaches the context information represented by the second data set comprises at least one of: a location of the subject (Paragraph 0017—indication of the current location), a light level (Paragraph 0018—indication of the ambient light), the temperature (Paragraph 0018—current temperature), weather conditions (Paragraph 0018—current weather), or a time of day (Paragraph 0019—indication of the current time).
Regarding claim 6, The combination of Annegarn ‘153 and Annegarn ‘146 teaches the computer-implemented method as claimed in claim 1. Annegarn ‘153 additionally teaches the context information represented by the second data set comprises at least one of: whether the subject is using a walking aid (Paragraph 0107-- an indication of whether the user is making use of a walking aid such as a walking stick or frame), whether the subject is on a bed, whether or when the subject is standing still (Paragraph 0111—standing still), whether the subject is sitting in a particular chair, whether the subject is using a toilet (Paragraphs 0017 and 0037—known location including a bathroom; Paragraph 0109—high risk activity e.g. moving in the bathroom), or whether the subject has taken medication (Paragraph 0019—before and/or after a scheduled dose of medication),
Regarding claim 7, The combination of Annegarn ‘153 and Annegarn ‘146 teaches the computer-implemented method as claimed in claim 1. Annegarn ‘153 additionally teaches wherein each separate non-contiguous measurement of the selected subset of the first data set further comprises a similar measurement to each other separate non-contiguous measurement of the selected subset of the first data set (Paragraph 0012—sensitivity of the fall detection algorithm is adapted using contextual information which indicates that the user is at a higher risk of falling; Paragraph 0090—an increase in sensitivity of the fall detection algorithm is temporary and only lasts while the user is at a higher risk of falling; Paragraph 0102—can determine if the location of the user coincides with a location in which the user has previously fallen with a match indicating the user is at higher risk of falling, while a location with no fall history would have a lower or normal associated risk of falling; Paragraph 0105—can compare an activity profile to activity profiles from previous periods of time to determine if the user is more active than usual or not; Paragraph 0086-0087, 00098-0101, 0108-0112—process the measurements from the movement sensors to identify a pattern consistent with walking (such as regular heel-strikes, etc)… Unusual movement patterns can be movement patterns outside the normal range of movements for a user, which may result from the user entering a new or physically challenging environment (e.g. walking up a hill or on uneven ground). Unusual movement patterns outside the normal range could include movements such as slips and trips by the user… Disturbances on these characteristic movements (i.e. movement patterns outside the normal range) can be quantified in order to identify near falls… indicates that the user is temporarily at a lower risk of falling or if the user is engaging in an activity that is more likely to generate false alarms, such context information can indicate, for example, that the user is playing a sport or performing an activity where there are many bending, impact-like and/or ground touching movements (e.g. playing golf, gardening, etc.)…). In particular, as Annegarn ‘153 discloses that certain activities or movement patterns may be seen as usual or unusual, or within/outside a normal range, it may be seen that a subset which is chosen based on context may have some amount of similarity in measurement whether this is reflective of the usual or unusualness of the measurement, the particular type of activity which corresponds to a high or low fall risk, such as walking, etc..
Regarding claim 8, The combination of Annegarn ‘153 and Annegarn ‘146 teaches the computer-implemented method as claimed in claim 1. Annegarn ‘153 additionally teaches wherein the operations further comprise processing the first data set to identify occurrences of a particular type of movement performed by the subject (Paragraph 0086-0087, 00098-0101, 0108-0112—process the measurements from the movement sensors to identify a pattern consistent with walking (such as regular heel-strikes, etc)… Unusual movement patterns can be movement patterns outside the normal range of movements for a user, which may result from the user entering a new or physically challenging environment (e.g. walking up a hill or on uneven ground). Unusual movement patterns outside the normal range could include movements such as slips and trips by the user… Disturbances on these characteristic movements (i.e. movement patterns outside the normal range) can be quantified in order to identify near falls… indicates that the user is temporarily at a lower risk of falling or if the user is engaging in an activity that is more likely to generate false alarms, such context information can indicate, for example, that the user is playing a sport or performing an activity where there are many bending, impact-like and/or ground touching movements (e.g. playing golf, gardening, etc.)… use of these movement(s) and/or exercise(s) in assessing fall risk are known in the art, as are techniques for identifying them in measurements of the movement of a user and for analysing how well the user has performed them, so detailed techniques for processing the movement measurements are not provided herein; paragraph 0065-- the processing unit 10 can also process the signal from the accelerometer 6 to detect the performance of predetermined gestures (i.e. movements) by the user with the user device 4 (for example shaking the user device 4, moving it in an oscillating motion, a circle, Fig. of 8, etc.)),
Regarding claim 9, The combination of Annegarn ‘153 and Annegarn ‘146 teaches the computer-implemented method as claimed in claim 8. Annegarn ‘153 additionally teaches wherein the operations further comprise selecting the subset of the first data set is further based on particular type of movement (Paragraphs 0013-0020—various contexts may indicate that the user is or may be at increased risk of falling in the selected context, such that a given context may be selected to indicate whether the user is at an increased risk of falling or a normal risk of falling; Paragraph 0100—context information comprises an indication that the user is walking, processing unit can determining whether the user is walking by processing measurements from movement sensors; Paragraph 0101—when context information indicates unusual movement pattern…can determine this by processing the measurements from the movement sensors; Paragraph 0102—can determine if the location of the user coincides with a location in which the user has previously fallen with a match indicating the user is at higher risk of falling, while a location with no fall history would have a lower or normal associated risk of falling; Paragraph 0105—can compare an activity profile to activity profiles from previous periods of time to determine if the user is more active than usual or not).
Regarding claim 10, The combination of Annegarn ‘153 and Annegarn ‘146 teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1. Annegarn ‘153 additionally teaches a display may be included in a user device in order to provide feedback to a user (Paragraph 0070) and discloses that a fall risk is determined for a particular context (Paragraph 0010, 0017, 0037, 0102, 0109). However, Annegarn ‘153 fails to specifically teach wherein each visual indicator comprises one or more tasks for the subject to perform to reduce the determined fall risk.
Annegarn ‘146 teaches a fall detection system and method (Abstract) wherein the method includes transmitting, to a client device, for display on a user interface of the client device, one or more visual indicators based on the determined fall risk of the subject for the particular context wherein each visual indicator comprises one or more tasks for the subject to perform to reduce the determined fall risk (Page 4, lines 28-30 and Page 6, lines 23-25—in some embodiments, the step of displaying comprises adapting the instructions for the one or more exercises and/or movements based on a previously-determined fall risk for the user). Specifically, Annegarn ‘146 teaches that after the performance of a first fall risk assessment, including a determined fall risk, the client device may display visual indicators comprising one or more altered or alternative tasks for the subject to perform to reduce the determined fall risk during a subsequent fall risk assessment.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine the method of Annegarn ‘153, including the displaying feedback to the user and determining a fall risk for a particular context, with the visual indicators of Annegarn ‘146 in order to predictably improve the ability of the device to reduce fall risk of a user in the particular context by providing instructions or steps to reduce fall risk.
Regarding claim 11, Annegarn ‘153 teaches a system comprising:
Data processing hardware (Processing unit 10); and
Memory hardware in communication with the data processing hardware (Memory module 14), the memory hardware storing instructions that when executed on the data processing hardware cause the data processing hardware to perform operations (Paragraph 0032—computer readable code is executed by a suitable computer or processing unit in order to perform the method) comprising:
performing a fall risk assessment of a subject for a particular context (Paragraph 0013—determined context information indicates the user may be at an increased risk of falling) by:
receiving, from a movement sensor (Paragraph 0064—processing unit receives measurements from movement sensors; One or more movement sensors 6, 8, Fig. 1), a first data set comprising continuous measurements of movements of the subject over a continuous period of time (Paragraph 0025—determining one or more feature values from measurements of the movements of the user; Paragraph 0064—one or more movement sensors for obtaining measurements of the movements of the user; Paragraph 0079—movement sensor measurements are continuously evaluated by an algorithm to detect a potential fall incident…);
receiving, from a context sensor different from the movement sensor (Paragraphs 0015-0017—context information may include information about the user’s current activities, movement patterns, and location, which may all be measured with movement sensors such that those sensors additionally or alternatively serve as context sensors; Paragraph 0064-0066—the system may include only one or multiple movement sensors including an accelerometer, an air pressure sensor, a gyroscope, and/or a magnetic field sensor; Paragraph 0100—processing unit can determine an activity such as walking by processing the measurements from movement sensors to identify patterns…or can use some form of location tracking function (for example a satellite positioning system receiver) to produce indications that the user is walking which can be inferred from changes in the location of the user over time; Paragraph 0103—context information comprises information on the environment around the user…can be measured using a light sensor…can include an indication of how even or uneven the ground is…an indication of current weather or temperature…can determine an indication of ambient noise levels…which may increase risk of falling), a second data set representing context information of the subject (Steps 101 and 107—determine context information about the user and/or the environment in which the user is located, Fig. 6; Element 50—contextual information, Fig. 7), the second data set comprising continuous measurements over the continuous period of time (Paragraphs 0029-0051, 0087-0089—the fall risk algorithm is continuously updated based on the user context data, such that the context data must be continuous measurements; Paragraph 0086—while the method of Fig. 6 is being performed, the system is measuring movements of the user from the movement sensors and continuously or periodically processing them; Paragraph 0099-0101 and 0105—context information may be provided based on the movement sensor data as they may relate to the performance of a fall risk assessment test, the user walking, unusual movement patterns, or activity, such that the context data set contains measurements that cover the period of time covered by the first data set).
It is noted that Annegarn ‘153 not only teaches that context sensors may be non-movement sensors, as it discusses the acquisition of context data from location sensors, light sensors, temperature/other weather sensors, etc. as described above, but also that it teaches the inclusion of multiple types of movement sensors, such that it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to utilize one movement sensor or movement sensor type to measure movements and one movement sensor or movement sensor type to measure context (such that a context sensor is different from the movement sensor, but is still a movement sensor), as a mere substitution to ensure that accurate, adequate measurements are received for both movement and context.
selecting a subset of the first data set based on the context information of the second data set (Paragraphs 0013-0020—various contexts may indicate that the user is or may be at increased risk of falling in the selected context, such that a given context may be selected to indicate whether the user is at an increased risk of falling or a normal risk of falling; Paragraph 0102—can determine if the location of the user coincides with a location in which the user has previously fallen with a match indicating the user is at higher risk of falling, while a location with no fall history would have a lower or normal associated risk of falling; Paragraph 0086—while the method of Fig. 6 is being performed, the system is measuring movements of the user from the movement sensors and continuously or periodically processing them; Paragraph 0099—when the context information indicates the user is performing a fall risk assessment or other high risk activity, will increase sensitivity of the fall detection algorithm…sensitivity can be reduced when the risk level falls; Paragraphs 0029-0030, 0033-040—the fall detection algorithm sensitivity may be set to a normal sensitivity when the user is at a normal risk of falling, but when context information indicates the user is at higher risk the sensitivity may be increased, such that the first data corresponding to the movement of the user may be selected for increased scrutiny/sensitivity based on a selected context being indicating increased risk while periods of movement which do not take place in a high-risk context would not be selected; Paragraph 0105—can compare an activity profile to activity profiles from previous periods of time to determine if the user is more active than usual or no), the selected subset of the first data set comprising a plurality of separate non- contiguous measurements of the first data set, each separate non-contiguous measurement of the selected subset of the first data set comprising the same context information as the context information represented by the second data set (Paragraph 0012—sensitivity of the fall detection algorithm is adapted using contextual information which indicates that the user is at a higher risk of falling; Paragraph 0090—an increase in sensitivity of the fall detection algorithm is temporary and only lasts while the user is at a higher risk of falling; Paragraph 0102—can determine if the location of the user coincides with a location in which the user has previously fallen with a match indicating the user is at higher risk of falling, while a location with no fall history would have a lower or normal associated risk of falling; Paragraph 0105—can compare an activity profile to activity profiles from previous periods of time to determine if the user is more active than usual or not) and occurring at a different corresponding time within the continuous time period than the corresponding times at which each other separate non-contiguous measurement of the selected subset of the first data set occurred within the continuous time period (Paragraph 0102-0109—can determine if the location of the user coincides with a location in which the user has previously fallen with a match indicating the user is at higher risk of falling, while a location with no fall history would have a lower or normal associated risk of falling…can compare an activity profile to activity profiles from previous periods of time to determine if the user is more active than usual or not).
It can be seen that Annegarn ‘153 teaches the selected subset of the first data set comprises a plurality of separate, non-contiguous portions of the first data set with matching context information (such that in selecting the part of the first data set, a respective time within the period of time of the respective temporal occurrence is determined in order to then select a portion of the first data set at the respective time), as the context information of a particular time period is compared to context information from previous time periods, which may be seen to be noncontiguous, in order to determine whether a period correlates a high-risk or normal-to-low risk of falling. For example, the algorithm compares previous, noncontiguous time periods with matching context such as a location, to assess the fall history associated with this context such that a fall risk may be calculated (e.g. the fall risk in a bathroom is considered high because data sets from past periods with the same location context include falls). In order to recognize which contexts correlate with fall history, it is inherently true that the data having the particular context must be matched to the movement data which is obtained concurrently, as any non-concurrently obtained data would not have the same context and would thus be irrelevant in determining which contexts relate to higher fall risk.
Annegarn ‘153 additionally teaches determining a fall risk of the subject for the particular context based on movement measurements of the selected subset of the first data set (Paragraph 0100—context information comprises an indication that the user is walking, processing unit can determine whether the user is walking by processing measurements from movement sensors…determines that the user is no longer walking, the user’s fall risk is therefore lower).
Annegarn ‘153 additionally teaches a display may be included in a user device in order to provide feedback to a user (Paragraph 0070). However, Annegarn ‘153 fails to specifically teach transmitting, from the processing unit to a client device, for display in a user interface of the client device, one or more visual indicators based on the determined fall risk.
Annegarn ‘146 teaches a fall detection system and method (Abstract) wherein the method includes transmitting, to a client device, for display on a user interface of the client device, one or more visual indicators based on the determined fall risk of the subject for the particular context (Page 4, lines 28-30 and Page 6, lines 23-25—in some embodiments, the step of displaying comprises adapting the instructions for the one or more exercises and/or movements based on a previously-determined fall risk for the user).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine the method of Annegarn ‘153, including the displaying feedback to the user, with the visual indicators of Annegarn ‘146 in order to predictably improve the ability of the device to reduce fall risk of a user by providing instructions or steps to reduce fall risk.
Regarding claim 12, The combination of Annegarn ‘153 and Annegarn ‘146 teaches the system as claimed in claim 11. Annegarn ‘153 additionally teaches wherein the operations further comprise selecting the particular context from among a plurality of contexts associated with the fall risk (Paragraph 0100—context information comprises an indication that the user is walking, processing unit can determining whether the user is walking by processing measurements from movement sensors; Paragraph 0102—can determine if the location of the user coincides with a location in which the user has previously fallen with a match indicating the user is at higher risk of falling, while a location with no fall history would have a lower or normal associated risk of falling; Paragraph 0105—can compare an activity profile to activity profiles from previous periods of time to determine if the user is more active than usual or no; Paragraphs 0017-0019, 0029-0030, 0033-040—the fall detection algorithm sensitivity may be set to a normal sensitivity when the user is at a normal risk of falling, but when context information indicates the user is at higher risk the sensitivity may be increased, such that the first data corresponding to the movement of the user may be selected for increased scrutiny/sensitivity based on a selected context being indicating increased risk while periods of movement which do not take place in a high-risk context would not be selected. Contexts can include lighting, temperature, weather, time of day, location, etc.; Fig. 8—environmental conditions and other factors such as medication use contribute to fall risk consideration such that multiple different contexts may be determined from the context information, such as different lighting contexts, different ground surfaces, etc.).
Regarding claim 13, The combination of Annegarn ‘153 and Annegarn ‘146 teaches the system as claimed in claim 11. Annegarn ‘153 additionally teaches wherein the continuous measurements of movements of the subject measure a particular type of movement by the subject (Paragraph 0100—process the measurements from the movement sensors to identify a pattern consistent with walking).
Regarding claim 14, The combination of Annegarn ‘153 and Annegarn ‘146 teaches the system as claimed in claim 13. Annegarn ‘153 additionally teaches the particular type of movement comprises at least one of walking (Paragraphs 011—can test the user’s walking ability), jogging (Paragraph 0101—walking quicker than normal, e.g. when the user is rushing to catch a bus), running, getting up from a sitting position (Paragraph 0111—sit-to-stand transfer), exercising (Paragraph 0097, 0099, 0109, 0111--engaging in exercise); or standing still (Paragraph 0111—standing still).
Regarding claim 15, The combination of Annegarn ‘153 and Annegarn ‘146 teaches the system as claimed in claim 11. Annegarn ‘153 additionally teaches the context information represented by the second data set comprises at least one of: a location of the subject (Paragraph 0017—indication of the current location), a light level (Paragraph 0018—indication of the ambient light), the temperature (Paragraph 0018—current temperature), weather conditions (Paragraph 0018—current weather), or a time of day (Paragraph 0019—indication of the current time).
Regarding claim 16, The combination of Annegarn ‘153 and Annegarn ‘146 teaches the system as claimed in claim 11. Annegarn ‘153 additionally teaches the context information represented by the second data set comprises at least one of: whether the subject is using a walking aid (Paragraph 0107-- an indication of whether the user is making use of a walking aid such as a walking stick or frame), whether the subject is on a bed, whether or when the subject is standing still (Paragraph 0111—standing still), whether the subject is sitting in a particular chair, whether the subject is using a toilet (Paragraphs 0017 and 0037—known location including a bathroom; Paragraph 0109—high risk activity e.g. moving in the bathroom), or whether the subject has taken medication (Paragraph 0019—before and/or after a scheduled dose of medication),
Regarding claim 17, The combination of Annegarn ‘153 and Annegarn ‘146 teaches the system as claimed in claim 11. Annegarn ‘153 additionally teaches wherein each separate non-contiguous measurement of the selected subset of the first data set further comprises a similar measurement to each other separate non-contiguous measurement of the selected subset of the first data set (Paragraph 0012—sensitivity of the fall detection algorithm is adapted using contextual information which indicates that the user is at a higher risk of falling; Paragraph 0090—an increase in sensitivity of the fall detection algorithm is temporary and only lasts while the user is at a higher risk of falling; Paragraph 0102—can determine if the location of the user coincides with a location in which the user has previously fallen with a match indicating the user is at higher risk of falling, while a location with no fall history would have a lower or normal associated risk of falling; Paragraph 0105—can compare an activity profile to activity profiles from previous periods of time to determine if the user is more active than usual or not; Paragraph 0086-0087, 00098-0101, 0108-0112—process the measurements from the movement sensors to identify a pattern consistent with walking (such as regular heel-strikes, etc)… Unusual movement patterns can be movement patterns outside the normal range of movements for a user, which may result from the user entering a new or physically challenging environment (e.g. walking up a hill or on uneven ground). Unusual movement patterns outside the normal range could include movements such as slips and trips by the user… Disturbances on these characteristic movements (i.e. movement patterns outside the normal range) can be quantified in order to identify near falls… indicates that the user is temporarily at a lower risk of falling or if the user is engaging in an activity that is more likely to generate false alarms, such context information can indicate, for example, that the user is playing a sport or performing an activity where there are many bending, impact-like and/or ground touching movements (e.g. playing golf, gardening, etc.)…). In particular, as Annegarn ‘153 discloses that certain activities or movement patterns may be seen as usual or unusual, or within/outside a normal range, it may be seen that a subset which is chosen based on context may have some amount of similarity in measurement whether this is reflective of the usual or unusualness of the measurement, the particular type of activity which corresponds to a high or low fall risk, such as walking, etc..
Regarding claim 18, The combination of Annegarn ‘153 and Annegarn ‘146 teaches the system as claimed in claim 11. Annegarn ‘153 additionally teaches wherein the operations further comprise processing the first data set to identify occurrences of a particular type of movement performed by the subject (Paragraph 0086-0087, 00098-0101, 0108-0112—process the measurements from the movement sensors to identify a pattern consistent with walking (such as regular heel-strikes, etc)… Unusual movement patterns can be movement patterns outside the normal range of movements for a user, which may result from the user entering a new or physically challenging environment (e.g. walking up a hill or on uneven ground). Unusual movement patterns outside the normal range could include movements such as slips and trips by the user… Disturbances on these characteristic movements (i.e. movement patterns outside the normal range) can be quantified in order to identify near falls… indicates that the user is temporarily at a lower risk of falling or if the user is engaging in an activity that is more likely to generate false alarms, such context information can indicate, for example, that the user is playing a sport or performing an activity where there are many bending, impact-like and/or ground touching movements (e.g. playing golf, gardening, etc.)… use of these movement(s) and/or exercise(s) in assessing fall risk are known in the art, as are techniques for identifying them in measurements of the movement of a user and for analysing how well the user has performed them, so detailed techniques for processing the movement measurements are not provided herein; paragraph 0065-- the processing unit 10 can also process the signal from the accelerometer 6 to detect the performance of predetermined gestures (i.e. movements) by the user with the user device 4 (for example shaking the user device 4, moving it in an oscillating motion, a circle, Fig. of 8, etc.)),
Regarding claim 19, The combination of Annegarn ‘153 and Annegarn ‘146 teaches the system as claimed in claim 18. Annegarn ‘153 additionally teaches wherein the operations further comprise selecting the subset of the first data set is further based on particular type of movement (Paragraphs 0013-0020—various contexts may indicate that the user is or may be at increased risk of falling in the selected context, such that a given context may be selected to indicate whether the user is at an increased risk of falling or a normal risk of falling; Paragraph 0100—context information comprises an indication that the user is walking, processing unit can determining whether the user is walking by processing measurements from movement sensors; Paragraph 0101—when context information indicates unusual movement pattern…can determine this by processing the measurements from the movement sensors; Paragraph 0102—can determine if the location of the user coincides with a location in which the user has previously fallen with a match indicating the user is at higher risk of falling, while a location with no fall history would have a lower or normal associated risk of falling; Paragraph 0105—can compare an activity profile to activity profiles from previous periods of time to determine if the user is more active than usual or not).
Regarding claim 20, The combination of Annegarn ‘153 and Annegarn ‘146 teaches the system of claim 1. Annegarn ‘153 additionally teaches a display may be included in a user device in order to provide feedback to a user (Paragraph 0070) and discloses that a fall risk is determined for a particular context (Paragraph 0010, 0017, 0037, 0102, 0109). However, Annegarn ‘153 fails to specifically teach wherein each visual indicator comprises one or more tasks for the subject to perform to reduce the determined fall risk.
Annegarn ‘146 teaches a fall detection system and method (Abstract) wherein the method includes transmitting, to a client device, for display on a user interface of the client device, one or more visual indicators based on the determined fall risk of the subject for the particular context wherein each visual indicator comprises one or more tasks for the subject to perform to reduce the determined fall risk (Page 4, lines 28-30 and Page 6, lines 23-25—in some embodiments, the step of displaying comprises adapting the instructions for the one or more exercises and/or movements based on a previously-determined fall risk for the user). Specifically, Annegarn ‘146 teaches that after the performance of a first fall risk assessment, including a determined fall risk, the client device may display visual indicators comprising one or more altered or alternative tasks for the subject to perform to reduce the determined fall risk during a subsequent fall risk assessment.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine the method of Annegarn ‘153, including the displaying feedback to the user and determining a fall risk for a particular context, with the visual indicators of Annegarn ‘146 in order to predictably improve the ability of the device to reduce fall risk of a user in the particular context by providing instructions or steps to reduce fall risk.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-9, and 11-13 of U.S. Patent No. 12011258 in view of Annegarn ‘153 (US 20160220153 A1—previously cited). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the reference patent encompass all limitations of the claims of the instant application while including additional limitations, except where described below.
Regarding claims 1 and 11, the reference does not explicitly disclose each separate non-contiguous measurement of the selected subset of the first data set comprising the same context information as the context information represented by the second data set and occurring at a different corresponding time within the continuous time period than the corresponding times at which each other separate non-contiguous measurement of the selected subset of the first data set occurred within the continuous time period.
Annegarn ‘153, in the same field of endeavor of fall risk detection, teaches a system which includes selecting a subset of first data comprising movement data based on context information from a second data set, where each separate non-contiguous measurement of the selected subset of the first data set comprising the same context information as the context information represented by the second data set and occurring at a different corresponding time within the continuous time period than the corresponding times at which each other separate non-contiguous measurement of the selected subset of the first data set occurred within the continuous time period (Paragraph 0102-0109—can determine if the location of the user coincides with a location in which the user has previously fallen with a match indicating the user is at higher risk of falling, while a location with no fall history would have a lower or normal associated risk of falling…can compare an activity profile to activity profiles from previous periods of time to determine if the user is more active than usual or not).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified the reference such that each separate non-contiguous measurement of the selected subset of the first data set comprising the same context information as the context information represented by the second data set and occurring at a different corresponding time within the continuous time period than the corresponding times at which each other separate non-contiguous measurement of the selected subset of the first data set occurred within the continuous time period as described by Annegarn ‘153 in order to ensure that only historical measurements having the same context are selected to enable the most useful comparisons between data, as well as to ensure that each of these measurements occurred at a different corresponding time to ensure that a single prolonged fall risk event does not overly skew the determination of fall risk by being included in multiple measurements, thus improving the accuracy of any fall risk determination on this basis.
Regarding claims 7 and 17, while the reference patent does not identically state “wherein each separate non-contiguous measurement of the selected subset of the first data set further comprises a similar measurement to each other separate non-contiguous measurement of the selected subset of the first data set”, claims 3 and 11 of the reference encompass the limitations as they disclose identifying particular movements and selecting a subset of data which relates to the particular type of movement, where the same type of movement would necessarily be similar.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06 July 2026 regarding the rejection of the claims for double patenting have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
As no specific argument against the double patenting rejection has been provided and arguments are provided below regarding the applicability of the Annegarn references as prior art for the claimed limitations, the claims remain rejected at this time.
Applicant's arguments filed 06 July 2026 regarding the rejection of the claims under 35 U.S.C. 101 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the claimed limitations cannot be practically performed in the human mind or with the aid of pen and paper, with particular discussion of the steps of receiving data sets from context and movement sensors which are argued as “a complex task performed by the data processing hardware”.
However, as described above in this action, these particular limitations of receiving first and second data sets are the use of well-understood, routine, or conventional elements to perform a non-mental process in order to gather data for the mental process step, much like the example given in MPEP 2106.04(d)(2)(c), such that these limitations are extra-solution activity and thus do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
The applicant further argues that the step of selecting a subset of the first data set as claimed is not practically performed in the human mind, which “is not equipped to cross-correlate two continuous streams of sensor measurements over a continuous period of time in order to identify and extract a plurality of temporally distinct, non-contiguous measurements sharing the same indicated context”.
However, there is nothing in the current claim language which would preclude a human from performing such a cross-correlation; there is no particular limit to the frequency and thus number of measurements which are acquired continuously by the sensors, the length of the continuous period of time, nor the timeframe in which a fall risk must be determined, such that it is practical to perform such a process within the human mind through observing and making judgments regarding gathered data.
The applicant additionally argues that the claimed invention reflects an improvement to the functioning of a computer or to another technology or technical field and thus integrates any recited judicial exception into a practical application. In particular, the applicant argues that the claimed invention reflects a particular technological solution of using context information relating to movements of a subject to select a portion of movement measurements to improve the reliability of fall risk assessments.
However, per Genetic Technologies Limited v. Merial LLC (Fed Cir., 2016) the inventive concept of step 2 of the Alice/Mayo analysis cannot be supplied by the abstract idea, in this case the selection of the subset of data having the same context and determining of a fall risk. Instead, the application must provide something inventive, beyond mere “well-understood, routine, conventional activity.” Mayo, 132 S. Ct. at 1294; see also Myriad, 133 S. Ct. at 2117; Ariosa, 788 F.3d at 1379. While the applicant argues that the movement sensor, context sensor, selection of data subset, and determination of fall risk work together as a technical architecture, both the selection of data subset and determination of fall risk have been identified as abstract ideas, where the movement sensor and context sensor are utilized to gather data for these abstract ideas. The additional elements of the claim, as described above, may be seen as the use of well-understood, routine, or conventional elements to perform a non-mental process in order to gather data for the mental process step, much like the example given in MPEP 2106.04(d)(2)(c), such that these limitations are extra-solution activity and thus do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. As a result, the invention as claimed is not seen to recite an improvement and thus is not integrated into a practical application.
The applicant additionally argues that the independent claims do not merely recite “how to ‘determine fall risk using a computer.’ Instead, these claims recite how the fall risk assessment is accomplished” such that the claim recites a particular solution to a particular problem rather than the idea of a solution and does not merely automate a mental process.
However, the claim does not recite how the fall risk itself is determined, only how the data is selected to be used in determining the fall risk in some manner. Furthermore, the data selection itself is capable of being performed in the human mind as described above. Per pages 1-2 of applicant’s specification, fall risk assessments may be performed by several means including using dedicated hardware and clinicians, such that the use of hardware and processors as claimed would appear to be the automation of a mental process of determining fall risk.
The claims remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Applicant's arguments filed 06 July 2026 with respect to the rejection of the claims under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues that the combination fails to disclosure or suggest “selecting a subset of the first data set based on the context information of the second data set, the selected subset of the first data set comprising a plurality of separate non-contiguous measurements of the first data set, each separate non-contiguous measurement of the selected subset of the first data set comprising the same context information as the context information represented by the second data set”. In particular, the applicant argues that the rejection relies upon a mischaracterization of Annegarn ‘153, which the applicant asserts “is a real-time adjustment to algorithm sensitivity based on current context” rather than “a selection of historical, non-contiguous movement data segments that share the same context” and further arguing that Annegarn ‘153 “fails to ever retrospectively match, select, or group non-contiguous data segments by context”.
However, as described above in this action, while Annegarn recites an adjustment to algorithm sensitivity based on current context of a user, this action requires the determination of a level of fall risk associated with the current context based on historical data of the user which shares the same context (Paragraphs 0102-109 describe high risk activities—associated with movement data of the user and context data such as movement in a particular room or between particular rooms, at low light, or at particular times of day—where the amount of risk may be determined based on a history of falling in the particular context or while performing the particular activity in the particular context). As a result, it may be seen that Annegarn recites determining a fall risk of the user (at minimum, determined as high, normal, or low risk) based upon the movement data and context data for the user when compared to historical selections of the movement and context data of the user which are separate, non-contiguous segments.
The claims remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANNA ROBERTS/Examiner, Art Unit 3791