They are not Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/07/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6, 8-9, 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by BERGGREN et al. (US 20230092687 A1, as mentioned in IDS, corresponding to WO2021160794), Berggren hereinafter. Berggren teaches all of the limitations of the specified claim with the following reasoning that follows.
Regarding Claim 1, Berggren discloses, a method comprising:
determining, by a network node (Fig 11, AMF), whether to enable or disable a paging early indication (PEI) function for a user equipment (UE) (Fig 11, UE), in accordance with one or more messages (Fig 11, 6001/ 6002, and 4051) the network node received from at least one of a session management function (SMF), a first next generation Node B (gNB), or the UE (¶0146 - "...For this purpose, it would be possible that the AMF 131 determines, at 6002, for each one of the cells 701-717 whether the WUS operation is activated in the respective cell. This can be based, e.g., on the most-recent active cell 701, a paging area 700 to be configured for the UE 101 when in the idle mode 302, the UE mobility, one or more neighbor cell measurements provided by the UE 101, etc., as explained above...", see also, [¶0144] "At 6001, the UE 101 operates in the connected mode 301 and is connected through the cell 701. The UE 101 transmits a control message 4051 that is indicative of its capability to support WUS operation. More specifically, the UE 101 could indicate that it supports cell-selective and UE-selective activation of the WUS operation..."; Examiner interprets that one of the claimed features to be mapped, because of the presence of “at least one of”, and “or” in the limitation); and
transmitting, by the network node, an indication to at least one of the first gNB or the UE, the indication indicating whether the PEI function for the UE is enabled or disabled. ([¶0146] At 6003, the AMF 131 provides a WUS configuration as part of a respective control message 4052 to the UE 101. Optionally, the control message 4052 can include data that is indicative of the WUS activation information 791, i.e., provided by the AMF 131 to the UE 101. For this purpose, it would be possible that the AMF 131 determines, at 6002, for each one of the cells 701-717 whether the WUS operation is activated in the respective cell...". Also see steep 6009/6011 as disclosed in ¶0151. Paging early indication (PEI) and wake-up signal (WUS) means the same concept and could be used interchangeably as per the definition of Paging early indication (PEI) defined in the instant application at least at ¶0004, where it recites, “Paging early indication (PEI) has been proposed … The PEI indicates a subgroup that the intended UE belongs to. With subgrouping and the PEI function enabled on the network side, a UE waking up to receive its paging message and capable of PEI and subgrouping and will first monitor for a PEI”.
Regarding Claim 2, Berggren discloses the method of claim 1.
Berggren also discloses, the network node being an access and mobility management function (AMF), and the AMF, the SMF, and the first gNB being configured to serve the UE (Fig. 11, AMF (131), [¶0079] "...The AMF 131 can control the WUS operation for the UE 101, at least in some operational modes...". Fig. 1, 132 (SMF), [¶0151] Fig. 11, gNB (BS 112-1), "...Then, the BS 112-1 transmits, at 6007, the WUS 980, prior to the respective PO 396 and in accordance with the WUS configuration communicated to the UE 101 at 6003...").
Regarding Claim 3, Berggren discloses the method of claim 1.
Berggren further teaches, the determining whether to enable or disable the PEI function for the UE being based on whether or not a quality of service (QoS) requirement can be satisfied when the PEI function for the UE is enabled ([¶0116] When determining whether to activate the WUS operation for the UE at box 2011, in particular when determining the WUS activation information, one or more criteria may be taken into consideration. Example criteria include, e.g., a traffic load (there may be a tendency to deactivate the WUS operation for increasing traffic load, to free up resources), a number of UEs operating in a disconnected mode for a given cell (there may be a tendency to deactivate the WUS operation for an increasing number of UEs operating in a disconnected mode for a given cell, in order to avoid unnecessarily waking up multiple UEs that share the WUS)..."), the QoS requirement being a most stringent delay requirement among one or more data protocol data unit (PDU) sessions on the UE and being determined in accordance with at least one of a PDU session establishment message, a PDU session modification message, or a PDU session release message from the SMF ([¶0068] "...The cellular NW may signal the WUS activation information to the UE when the cellular NW releases the UE from the data connection, i.e., during the transition from the connected mode to the disconnected mode.", see also, [¶0107], "...It would be possible that the state that is indicative of the WUS activation information is at least partly included in a connection control message that is associated with a data connection established when operating in the connected mode, i.e., prior to the transition to the disconnected mode (details with respect to such a data connection 189 have been discussed above in connection with FIG. 1)..."; Here, paging early indication or Wakeup signal is enables or disabled based on the “traffic load”, to make sure the quality of service (QoS) is not compromised; Also, examiner interprets that one of the claimed features to be mapped, because of the presence of “at least one of”, and “or” in the limitation).
Regarding Claim 6, Berggren discloses the method of claim 1.
Berggren further teaches, the indication being included in one of an INITIAL CONTEXT SETUP message, a UE CONTEXT MODIFICATION REQUEST message, a PDU SESSION RESOURCE SETUP REQUEST message, a PDU SESSION RESOURCE MODIFY REQUEST message, a PDU SESSION RESOURCE RELEASE COMMAND message, or a PAGING message transmitted from the network node to the first gNB ([¶0146] At 6003, the AMF 131 provides a WUS configuration as part of a respective control message 4052 to the UE 101. Optionally, the control message 4052 can include data that is indicative of the WUS activation information 791, i.e., provided by the AMF 131 to the UE 101. For this purpose, it would be possible that the AMF 131 determines, at 6002, for each one of the cells 701-717 whether the WUS operation is activated in the respective cell. This can be based, e.g., on the most-recent active cell 701, a paging area 700 to be configured for the UE 101 when in the idle mode 302, the UE mobility, one or more neighbor cell measurements provided by the UE 101, etc., as explained above. See also, steep 6009/6011 as disclosed in ¶0151..."; Paging early indication (PEI) and wake-up signal (WUS) means the same concept and could be used interchangeably as per the definition of Paging early indication (PEI) defined in the instant application at least at ¶0004, where it recites, “Paging early indication (PEI) has been proposed …The PEI indicates a subgroup that the intended UE belongs to. With subgrouping and the PEI function enabled on the network side, a UE waking up to receive its paging message and capable of PEI and subgrouping and will first monitor for a PEI”. Examiner interprets that one of the claimed features to be mapped, because of the presence of “at least one of”, and “or” in the limitation.).
Regarding Claim 8, Berggren teaches, a method comprising: receiving, by a first next generation Node B (gNB) (Fig. 11, BS121-1), an indication from a network node (Fig. 11, AMF), the indication indicating whether a paging early indication (PEI) function for a user equipment (UE) ([¶0151] "Initially, the AMF 131, in accordance with the paging escalation sequence (cf. TAB. 4, stage A) triggers the transmission of a WUS 980 and, subsequently, a paging signal 4002 (e.g., a paging indicator communicated on the PDCCH) at the most-recent active cell 701. This includes transmitting a corresponding paging message 4061 at 6006 to the BS 112-1 of the cell 701. The paging message 4061 is indicative of the WUS operation being activated..." see also, [¶0152] Thus, the paging escalation sequence commences to the next stage (cf. TAB. 4, stage B). Here, at 6009, the AMF 131 transmits the paging message 4061 to the BSs 112-2 of the cell 702-707, to trigger paging of the UE 101. The paging message 4062 is indicative of the WUS operation being activated, as determined at 6002, i.e., triggers transmission of the WUS 980.);
obtaining, by the first gNB, a first paging message for the UE (Fig. 11, [¶0151]"...This includes transmitting a corresponding paging message 4061 at 6006 to the BS 112-1 of the cell 701. The paging message 4061 is indicative of the WUS operation being activated...”, see also, [¶0152] Thus, the paging escalation sequence commences to the next stage (cf. TAB. 4, stage B). Here, at 6009, the AMF 131 transmits the paging message 4061 to the BSs 112-2 of the cell 702-707, to trigger paging of the UE 101. The paging message 4062 is indicative of the WUS operation being activated, as determined at 6002, i.e., triggers transmission of the WUS 980.);
when the PEI function for the UE is enabled, transmitting, by the first gNB, a PEI associated with the first paging message during a PEI occasion of the UE before transmitting the first paging message to the UE, the PEI associated with the first paging message indicating a subgroup that the UE belongs to (Fig. 11, [¶0151] "...The paging message 4061 is indicative of the WUS operation being activated. Then, the BS 112-1 transmits, at 6007, the WUS 980, prior to the respective PO 396 and in accordance with the WUS configuration communicated to the UE 101 at 6003. The BS 112-1 continues to transmit, at 6008, the paging signal 4002...". see also, [¶0041] "...When the WUS operation is activated, the cellular NW transmits a WUS prior r to a PO; and the UE monitors for the WUS. Here, a WUS is transmitted prior to a PO to inform one or more UEs of a WUS group that there is at least one UE in the WUS group that will be paged at the PO. As such, it can be said that the one or more UEs of the WUS group share the WUS...”); and
when the PEI function for the UE is disabled, transmitting, by the first gNB, the first paging message to the UE without transmitting the PEI associated with the first paging message (Fig. 11, [¶0158] In accordance with the WUS activation information 791 and as determined at 6002, the WUS operation is deactivated for these cells 708-717. Thus, the BSs 112-3 do not transmit a WUS 980, but rather proceed to transmit the paging signal 4002 at 6052 at the respective PO 396...", see also, Fig. 8, [¶0117] At box 2012, paging operation and WUS operation commences, when the UE operates in a disconnected mode. In particular, the paging operation can include a paging escalation sequence for paging the UE. The WUS operation includes triggering transmission of a WUS in the one or more cells prior to PO to the UE. In particular, the WUS operation is selectively activated or deactivated on a cell level, depending on the determining of box 2011. This can be in accordance with the WUS activation information. [¶0048]" …At the same time, an increased energy consumption will result for those UEs that have deactivated WUS operation, since these UEs will have to blind decode PDCCH for monitoring the paging indicator without any prior notice...", see also, [¶0112] The UE does not monitor for the WUS in case it determines that the WUS operation is deactivated for the current cell. In such a scenario the UE may proceed with, e.g., monitoring for a paging signal during the PO, i.e., skip monitoring for the WUS (not illustrated in FIG. 7).)
Regarding Claim 9, Berggren discloses the method of claim 8.
Berggren further teaches, the network node being an access and mobility management function (AMF) (see AMF, 131 as shown in fig. 11) configured to serve the UE, the first gNB being a serving gNB of the UE, and the indication being included in one of an INITIAL CONTEXT SETUP message, a UE CONTEXT MODIFICATION REQUEST message, a PDU SESSION RESOURCE SETUP REQUEST message, a PDU SESSION RESOURCE MODIFY REQUEST message, a PDU SESSION RESOURCE RELEASE COMMAND message, a first HANDOVER REQUEST message, or a second PAGING message transmitted from the AMF to the first gNB ([¶0151] "...This includes transmitting a corresponding paging message 4061 at 6006 to the BS 112-1 of the cell 701. The paging message 4061 is indicative of the WUS operation being activated. Then, the BS 112-1 transmits, at 6007, the WUS 980, prior to the respective PO 396 and in accordance with the WUS configuration communicated to the UE 101 at 6003. The BS 112-1 continues to transmit, at 6008, the paging signal 4002...". Also, examiner interprets that one of the claimed features to be mapped, because of the presence of “one of”, and “or” in the limitation.).
Regarding Claim 12, Berggren discloses the method of claim 8.
Berggren also teaches: transmitting a first radio access network (RAN) PAGING message to a fourth gNB, the first RAN paging message including the indication and the first paging message for the UE, the first paging message being generated by the first gNB, the fourth gNB being configured to transmit the first paging message in response to receiving the first RAN PAGING message ([¶0152] “Thus, the paging escalation sequence commences to the next stage (cf. TAB. 4, stage B). Here, at 6009, the AMF 131 transmits the paging message 4061 to the BSs 112-2 of the cell 702-707, to trigger paging of the UE 101. The paging message 4062 is indicative of the WUS operation being activated, as determined at 6002, i.e., triggers transmission of the WUS 980.” Please note that a plurality of paging messages with the indication (PEI/WUS) as shown at least 6006 & 6009 in Fig. 12).
Regarding Claim 13, Berggren discloses the method of claim 8.
Berggren discloses : transmitting the indication to the UE, the indication included in a dedicated radio resource control (RRC) signaling, wherein the dedicated RRC signaling is either an RRC RELEASE message or an RRC RECONFIGURATION message. ([¶0147] Then, at 6004 the BS 112-1 transmits a connection deactivation control message 4053 that releases the data connection 189. This is in response to a core-NW trigger, but other trigger criteria are conceivable. See also, [¶0081] The SMF 132 provides one or more of the following functionalities: session management including session establishment, modify and release, including bearers set up of UP bearers between the RAN 111 and the UPF 121; See also, [¶0086] "...For instance, to trigger the transition 309 from the connected mode 301 to one of the disconnected modes 302-303, a connection deactivation message can be communicated, e.g., using RRC control signaling on the PDSCH or PUSCH. This may be a connection inactivate control message for the transition 309 to the inactive mode 303; or a connection release message for the transition 309 to the idle mode 302..."; Also, examiner interprets that one of the claimed features to be mapped, because of the presence of “or” in the limitation).
Regarding Claim 14, Berggren discloses the method of claim 8.
Berggren discloses : receiving a second RAN PAGING message from the network node, the network node being a neighboring gNB of the first gNB, the second RAN paging message including the indication and the first paging message for the UE, the first gNB being configured to transmit the first paging message in response to receiving the second RAN PAGING message ([¶0153] "...In the scenario FIG. 11, the UE 101 receives the WUS 980 transmitted at 6010 by the BS 112-2 of the cell 702 and thus commences to monitor for the paging signal 4002 at 6011 (cf. FIG. 10: 2108-2109). The UE 101 receives the paging signal 4002 and, accordingly, at 6012, the RA procedure 4005 commences...").
Claims 15-16, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by SHRIVASTAVA et al. (US-20250150970, hereinafter, Shrivastava (Corresponding to WO 2020226397 as mentioned in IDS), Shrivastava, hereinafter; Shrivastava teaches all of the limitations of the specified claim with the following reasoning that follows.
Regarding Claim 15, Shrivastava discloses, a method comprising: receiving, by a user equipment (UE) (Fig.3, UE 206), an indication before entering a power saving (PS) state, the indication indicating whether a paging early indication (PEI) function for the UE is enabled or disabled (Fig. 5, [¶0131] At step 502, the method includes enabling, by the UE 206, the WUS operation mode on receiving configurations of the DRX cycle, and the power saving signals from the BS 202. The power saving signals may include the WUS and the GTS signal. See also, [¶0093] On enabling the WUS operation, the WUS operation managing module 402 may receive the WUS signal from the BS 202 through the RF transceiver 302 before the ON-duration of the DRX cycle. On receiving the WUS from the BS 202, the WUS operation managing module 402 determines the presence or absence of the PDCCH (based on the received WUS). If the received WUS indicates the presence of the PDCCH, the WUS operation managing module 402 enables the UE 206 to enter into the active state during the ON-duration of the DRX cycle for monitoring the PDCCH for the downlink control information in the active time of the DRX cycle. The WUS operation managing module 402 enables the UE 206 to enter into the active state by turning ON the RF transceiver 302. If the received WUS indicates the absence of the PDCCH, the WUS operation managing module 402 enables the UE 206 to enter into the sleep state by skipping the monitoring of the PDCCH in the ON-duration of the DRX cycle. The WUS operation managing module 402 enables the UE 206 to enter into the sleep state by turning OFF the RF transceiver 302. Thus, the power consumption may be reduced.);
entering the PS state ([¶0060]"...The active state/wakeup state may refer to a state of the UE 206, wherein the UE 206 turns ON its Radio Frequency (RF) transceiver for reception/transmission of the data. If the WUS received from the BS 202 indicates the absence of the PDCCH, the UE 206 enters into a sleep state/power saving state by skipping the monitoring of the PDCCH in the ON-duration of the DRX cycle. The sleep state/power saving state/power efficient state may refer to a state of the UE 206, in which the UE 206 turns OFF its RF transceiver to reduce battery consumption.";
in response to determining that the PEI function for the UE is enabled, monitoring a PEI occasion scheduled by a cell that supports the PEI function, the UE currently camping in the cell (Fig. 5, [¶0132] At step 504, the method includes receiving, by the UE 206, the WUS from the BS 202 before the ON-duration of the DRX cycle, while operating in the WUS operation mode. See also [¶0093]); and
in response to determining that the PEI function for the UE is disabled, monitoring a paging occasion (PO) scheduled by the cell for paging downlink control information (DCI). (Fig. 4, [¶0100] The WUS operation managing module 402 can also be configured to disable the WUS operation on the UE 206 locally on determining that at least one no-power saving condition is satisfied. On enabling the WUS operation on the UE 206, the WUS operation managing module 402 may monitor the system information to determine the no-power saving conditions. The no-power saving conditions are events and/or situations as encountered by the UE 206...Once the no-power saving conditions are determined, the WUS operation managing module 402 disables the WUS operation on the UE 206. On disabling the WUS operation, the WUS operation managing module 402 enables the UE 206 to monitor the PDCCH during the ON-duration of the DRX cycle. The WUS operation managing module 402 further enables the RF transceiver 302 to abandon the reception of the power saving signals from the BS 202, on the WUS operation being disabled. In addition, the WUS operation managing module 402 provides an indication to the user to manage a power saving feature on the UE 206, on the WUS operation being disabled.").
Regarding Claim 16, Shrivastava discloses, the method of claim 15.
Shrivastava discloses: determining whether or not a PEI is received during the PEI occasion (Fig. 5, [¶0131] At step 502, the method includes enabling, by the UE 206, the WUS operation mode on receiving configurations of the DRX cycle, and the power saving signals from the BS 202. The power saving signals may include the WUS and the GTS signal.); and
performing one of: in response to determining that the PEI is not received during the PEI occasion or that the PEI is received during the PEI occasion and the PEI does not indicate a subgroup associated with the UE, returning to a sleep mode until a next PEI occasion, or
in response to determining that the PEI is received during the PEI occasion and the PEI indicates the subgroup associated with the UE, monitoring the PO associated with the PEI for the paging DCI (Fig. 5 & ¶0131 - At step 502, the method includes enabling, by the UE 206, the WUS operation mode on receiving configurations of the DRX cycle, and the power saving signals from the BS 202. The power saving signals may include the WUS and the GTS signal. Fig. 5 & ¶0132 - At step 504, the method includes receiving, by the UE 206, the WUS from the BS 202 before the ON-duration of the DRX cycle, while operating in the WUS operation mode. Fig. 5 & ¶0133 - At step 506, the method includes monitoring, by the UE 206, the PDCCH by performing transition into the active state, if the received WUS indicates the presence of the PDCCH. Examiner interprets that one of the claimed features to be mapped, because of the presence of “one of”, and “or” in the limitation.).
Regarding Claim 18, Shrivastava discloses, the method of claim 15.
Shrivastava also discloses, wherein the PS state is an RRC_IDLE state or an RRC_INACTIVE state (¶0126 – “The RRC state transition managing module 410 can be configured to manage transitions of the UE 206 from the RRC connected mode to the RRC idle mode/RRC inactive mode/power efficient state in the RRC connected mode, while operating in the WUS operation mode.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
In event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berggren, in view of Shrivastava.
Regarding Claim 4, Berggren discloses the method of claim 1.
Yet, Berggren doesn’t explicitly disclose: receiving a request message from the UE, the request message including at least one of a request type information element (IE) and a radio resource control (RRC) establishment cause IE, the request type IE and the RRC establishment cause IE indicating whether a service requested by the UE is an emergency service, wherein the network node determines to enable the PEI function for the UE in response to the service requested being a non-emergency service and the network node determines to disable the PEI function for the UE in response to the service requested being the emergency service.
However, in the analogous art, Shrivastava teaches: receiving a request message from the UE, the request message including at least one of a request type information element (IE) and a radio resource control (RRC) establishment cause IE, the request type IE and the RRC establishment cause IE indicating whether a service requested by the UE is an emergency service, wherein the network node determines to enable the PEI function for the UE in response to the service requested being a non-emergency service and the network node determines to disable the PEI function for the UE in response to the service requested being the emergency service ([¶0160] …Examples of the no-power saving conditions, can be, but not limited to, the UE 206 is connected to a power source and there is no need for the power saving signal/WUS operation to be enabled, a user has forcefully disabled the WUS operation mode, the probability of reception of the control channels is greater than the pre-defined threshold, the UE 206 is in actively receiving at least one service (for example: peak throughput, delay-sensitive service nature), the BSR is non-zero, the UE 206 has not initiated enabling of the WUS operation mode, the UE 206 is pursuing the SR/RACH operations, the UE 206 is performing the mission critical services, the UE 206 is performing critical operations (for example: the HO operations, the RLF operations, and so on), the UE 206 is in DSDS scenario and one of the stacks is performing higher priority task, and so on. See also, [¶0098]"...In an embodiment, the WUS operation managing module 402 may transmit the PSNI to the BS 202 in a LI signaling message (such as, but not limited to, the MAC CE, or the like). In an embodiment, the WUS operation managing module 402 may transmit the PSNI to the BS 202 in the RRC signaling message..."). Here the delay-sensitive service nature or the higher priority task could be an emergency service.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teaching of Berggren with the teaching which ensures the core network prioritizes emergency traffic over routine non-emergency data as disclosed by Shrivastava. The rationale for doing this is to make sure the network node immediately disables the PEI function to ensure the UE remains reachable for critical mobile-terminated (MT) communications and bypasses power-saving delays.
Regarding Claim 5, Berggren discloses the method of claim 1.
Yet, Berggren doesn’t explicitly disclose: receiving a request from the UE, the request indicating whether the UE requests to enable or disable the PEI function, wherein the network node determines to enable the PEI function for the UE in response to the UE requesting to enable the PEI function and the network node determines to disable the PEI function for the UE in response to the UE requesting to disable the PEI function.
However, in the analogous art, Shrivastava teaches: receiving a request from the UE, the request indicating whether the UE requests to enable or disable the PEI function, wherein the network node determines to enable the PEI function for the UE in response to the UE requesting to enable the PEI function and the network node determines to disable the PEI function for the UE in response to the UE requesting to disable the PEI function. ([¶0071] "Embodiments herein enable the UE 206 to co-ordinate with the BS 202 to dynamically enable or disable the WUS operation mode for monitoring the PDCCH. The UE 206 communicates power saving need indication (PSNI) to the BS 202. The PSNI can include a power saving need status, and a no-power saving need status. The power saving need status indicates that the UE 206 wants to receive the power saving signals from the BS 202 for monitoring the PDCCH (i.e., the UE 206 wants to enable the WUS operation mode). The no-power saving need status indicates that the UE 206 does not want to receive the power saving signal from the BS 202 for monitoring the PDCCH...").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teaching of Berggren with the teaching where, UE is granted the authority to dynamically toggle Paging Early Indication (PEI)—on or off depending on power constraints as disclosed by Shrivastava. The rationale for giving the UE control over features like PEI (or Power Saving Features) allows devices to tailor their paging reception behavior and save power.
Claims 7 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berggren, in view of Nader et al. (US 20240244529 A1, hereinafter, Nader).
Regarding Claim 7, Berggren discloses the method of claim 1.
Yet, Berggren doesn’t explicitly teach, comprising: transmitting the indication to a second gNB, wherein the UE is configured to be handed over from the first gNB to the second gNB, and wherein the indication is included in a HANDOVER REQUEST message transmitted from the network node to the second gNB.
However, in the analogous art, Nader discloses transmitting the indication to a second gNB, wherein the UE is configured to be handed over from the first gNB to the second gNB, and wherein the indication is included in a HANDOVER REQUEST message transmitted from the network node to the second gNB ([¶0051] "Methods and systems are provided that introduce the configurability of PEI and/or applicability of PEI upon mobility on a per UE basis. This is a further enhancement beyond just hardcoding in the specifications that PEI is only monitored in the last used cell (as in LTE). See also, [¶0165] In a particular embodiment, determining whether to use PEI and/or WUS for the wireless device includes determining that the level of mobility of the wireless device is below a threshold and determining to use PEI and/or WUS in the last cell used by the wireless device based on the level of mobility of the wireless device being below the threshold. See also, [¶0223-¶0224] Example Embodiment D4. The method of any one of Example Embodiments D2 to D3d, wherein determining whether to use PEI and/or WUS for the wireless device comprises: determining that the level of mobility of the wireless device is below a threshold).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teaching of Berggren with the teaching where, handover Preparation request is relayed from a source base station to a target base station as disclosed by Nader. The rationale for doing this is to optimizes UE power savings and mobility efficiency in 5G SA networks by transmitting the UE's power-saving configurations (such as PEI or WUS capabilities) from the source gNB to the target gNB.
Regarding Claim 10, Berggren discloses the method of claim 8.
Berggren also teaches, the network node being a second gNB configured to hand over the UE to the first gNB (¶0150 – “In the scenario FIG. 11, UE mobility has occurred, and the UE 101 is now located in the cell 702…”, here UE mobility among BS 112-1, 112-2 & 112-3 as shown in Fig. 11), and
Yet, Berggren doesn’t explicitly teach, the indication being included in a second HANDOVER REQUEST message transmitted from the second gNB to the first gNB.
However, in the analogous art, Nader discloses, the indication being included in a second HANDOVER REQUEST message transmitted from the second gNB to the first gNB. ([¶0051] "Methods and systems are provided that introduce the configurability of PEI and/or applicability of PEI upon mobility on a per UE basis. This is a further enhancement beyond just hardcoding in the specifications that PEI is only monitored in the last used cell (as in LTE). See also, [¶0165] In a particular embodiment, determining whether to use PEI and/or WUS for the wireless device includes determining that the level of mobility of the wireless device is below a threshold and determining to use PEI and/or WUS in the last cell used by the wireless device based on the level of mobility of the wireless device being below the threshold. See also, [¶0223-¶0224] Example Embodiment D4. The method of any one of Example Embodiments D2 to D3d, wherein determining whether to use PEI and/or WUS for the wireless device comprises: determining that the level of mobility of the wireless device is below a threshold.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teaching of Berggren with the teaching by including the PEI status in the HANDOVER REQUEST message, the target gNB is immediately aware of the UE's paging state without over-the-air delays as disclosed by Nader. The rationale for doing this is to ensures that the UE does not experience increased latency or drop calls related to paging.
Regarding Claim 11, Berggren discloses the method of claim 8.
Berggren doesn’t explicitly teach: transmitting a third HANDOVER REQUEST message to a third gNB, the third HANDOVER REQUEST message including the indication, the first gNB being configured to hand over the UE to the third gNB.
However, in the analogous art, Nader discloses in related art: transmitting a third HANDOVER REQUEST message to a third gNB, the third HANDOVER REQUEST message including the indication, the first gNB being configured to hand over the UE to the third gNB. ([¶0051] "Methods and systems are provided that introduce the configurability of PEI and/or applicability of PEI upon mobility on a per UE basis. This is a further enhancement beyond just hardcoding in the specifications that PEI is only monitored in the last used cell (as in LTE). See also, [¶0165] In a particular embodiment, determining whether to use PEI and/or WUS for the wireless device includes determining that the level of mobility of the wireless device is below a threshold and determining to use PEI and/or WUS in the last cell used by the wireless device based on the level of mobility of the wireless device being below the threshold. See also, [¶0223-¶0224] Example Embodiment D4. The method of any one of Example Embodiments D2 to D3d, wherein determining whether to use PEI and/or WUS for the wireless device comprises: determining that the level of mobility of the wireless device is below a threshold.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teaching of Berggren with the mobility procedure teaching in which a Source gNB prepares a Target gNB for an incoming UE handover as disclosed by Nader. The rationale for giving this handover request message, which includes critical UE configuration data and power-saving indications is to save power.
Claims 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shrivastava, in view of Berggren.
Regarding Claim 17, Shrivastava discloses, the method of claim 15.
Shrivastava teaches: receiving the paging DCI ([¶0133] At step 506, the method includes monitoring, by the UE 206, the PDCCH by performing transition into the active state, if the received WUS indicates the presence of the PDCCH.); DCI message is included in pdcch msg.
Yet, Shrivastava doesn’t explicitly teaches, demodulating and decoding a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) in accordance with scheduling information included in the paging DCI to retrieve a paging message; and in response to determining that the paging message includes an identity of the UE, initiating a random access procedure.
However, in the analogous art, Berggren discloses demodulating and decoding a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) in accordance with scheduling information included in the paging DCI to retrieve a paging message ([¶0043] "...the UE is expected to blind decode the control channel, specifically the Physical DL Control Channel (PDCCH). The blind decoding during the POs is for a paging radio NW temporary identifier (P-RNTI) as paging identity, typically transmitted in as a so-called paging indicator. If presence of a paging indicator including the P-RNTI is detected, the UE continues to decode a subsequent data shared channel (e.g., Physical DL Shared Channel, PDSCH) for a paging message. ..."); and
in response to determining that the paging message includes an identity of the UE, initiating a random access procedure ([¶0087] The transition 309 from the idle mode 302 or the inactive mode 303 to the connected mode 301 includes a RA procedure. The RA procedure may be triggered by paging signals, e.g., a paging indicator on PDCCH and a paging message on PDSCH. In the inactive mode 303, paging can be triggered by the RAN; while in the idle mode 302 the paging is triggered by the CN.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teaching of Shrivastava with the teaching a procedure which allows a paged UE to transition from an idle or inactive state to a connected state as disclosed by Berggren. The rationale for doing this is that, if the UE confirms its identity is present in the message, it proceeds to trigger a Random Access (RACH) procedure to establish an RRC connection with the serving base station.
Claims 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shrivastava, in view of BERGGREN et al. (US 20240163842 A1), hereinafter, Berggren-42.
Regarding Claim 19, Shrivastava discloses, the method of claim 15.
Yet, Shrivastava doesn’t explicitly discloses, wherein the indication is included in one of an RRC RELEASE message or an RRC RECONFIGURATION message transmitted from a next generation Node B (gNB) serving the UE.
However, in the analogous art, Berggren-42 discloses, wherein the indication is included in one of an RRC RELEASE message or an RRC RECONFIGURATION message transmitted from a next generation Node B (gNB) serving the UE ([¶0142] In this example, the reconfiguration of the PEI occasions for a subsequent indicator window 42 is arranged without the UE having to transfer to connected mode. See also, [¶0143] There is a table of PEI monitoring window functionalities that can be RRC configured (e.g. via SIB signaling). The paging DCI or paging message may then indicate the index of the table that the UE should use for the configuration of future PEI monitoring windows. E.g. the table can consist of two entries, as exemplified below.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teaching of Shrivastava with the Paging Early Indication (PEI) configuration indication is delivered to a UE via RRC signaling as disclosed by Berggren-42. The rationale for having this Paging Early Indication (PEI) configuration delivered to a UE via RRC signaling is to enable advanced UE power-saving.
Claims 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shrivastava in view of Tseng et al. (US 20220232514 A1, hereinafter, Tseng).
Regarding Claim 20, Shrivastava discloses, the method of claim 15.
Yet, Shrivastava doesn’t explicitly disclose, the indication is included in one of a REGISTRATION ACCEPT message or a SERVICE ACCEPT message transmitted from an access and mobility management function (AMF) serving the UE.
However, in the analogous art, Tseng teaches, the indication is included in one of a REGISTRATION ACCEPT message or a SERVICE ACCEPT message transmitted from an access and mobility management function (AMF) serving the UE (Fig. 5, See also, [¶0031] "... In step 511, UE 501 sends a registration request message to AMF 504. The registration request message comprises PEI assistance information, which further comprises UE capability such as the minimum required gap between PO and corresponding PEI. In step 512, UE 501 receives a registration accept message from AMF 504. The registration accept message comprises PEI group set ID# assigned to the UE. In step 513, AMF 504 sends a UE context modification request message to serving base station gNB 502, with PEI group set assignments...", see also, [¶0033] "FIG. 6 illustrates a sequence flow between a UE and network entities supporting a second embodiment of UE paging subgrouping using PEI. The second embodiment of FIG. 6 corresponds to the embodiment illustrated in FIG. 4. Steps 611-643 are similar to steps 511-543 of the first embodiment in FIG. 5. However, in step 612, in the registration accept message, instead of providing PEI group set assignment to UE, the network optionally provides PEI group#, e.g., paging subgroup assignment directly. In this way, in step 622, UE 601 may 1) be assigned with a paging subgroup ID directly from AMF 604 (e.g., for power-critical UEs); and 2) calculate its paging subgroup ID based on its UE-ID (if PEI group# is not provided, e.g., for non-power-critical UEs)...").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teaching of Shrivastava with the teaching where the AMF uses the REGISTRATION ACCEPT or SERVICE ACCEPT message to explicitly inform the UE whether it can utilize the Paging Early Indication (PEI) as disclosed by Tseng. The rationale for using this concept is to allows the UEs in idle or inactive modes to skip decoding the PDCCH if no downlink data is pending, thereby saves power.
Regarding Claim 21, combination of Shrivastava and Tseng disclose the method of claim 20.
Yet, Shrivastava doesn’t explicitly teach: transmitting a request to the AMF to either enable or disable the PEI function for the UE before receiving the indication, the request being included in one of a SERVICE REQUEST message or a REGISTRATION REQUEST message transmitted to the AMF.
However, in the analogous art, Tseng discloses: transmitting a request to the AMF to either enable or disable the PEI function for the UE before receiving the indication, the request being included in one of a SERVICE REQUEST message or a REGISTRATION REQUEST message transmitted to the AMF. ([¶0031] "FIG. 5 illustrates a sequence flow between a UE and network entities supporting a first embodiment of UE paging subgrouping using PEI. The first embodiment of FIG. 5 corresponds to the two-step approach illustrated in FIG. 3. In step 511, UE 501 sends a registration request message to AMF 504. The registration request message comprises PEI assistance information, which further comprises UE capability such as the minimum required gap between PO and corresponding PEI...". Also, examiner interprets that one of the claimed features to be mapped, because of the presence of “one of”, and “or” in the limitation.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teaching of Shrivastava with the idea of sending the PEI within an uplink NAS message—such as the REGISTRATION REQUEST or SERVICE REQUEST—the UE communicates its paging preferences or capabilities to the AMF as disclosed by Tseng. The rationale for transmitting a request to enable or disable the Paging Early Indication (PEI) function for a UE allows the AMF to control network-side paging procedures before the actual indication is received.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
References cited but not used: Fu et al. US-20250016737-A1 can be used for independent claims 1, 8 and 15 in addition to the one used.
References cited but not used: Shi et al. US-20240357551-A1can be used for independent claims 1, 8 and 15 in addition to the one used.
References cited but not used: Laselva et al. US-20240381318-A1can be used for independent claims 1, 8 and 15 in addition to the one used.
/MUHAMMAD AINUL HUDA/Examiner, Art Unit 2467
/MOHAMMED S CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467