DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of group II in the reply filed on 24 June 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the duty to make claims different per 37 CFR 1.75 caused the underlying basis for restriction. This is not found persuasive. The claims were amended so that the system claims no longer required a cochlear implant sub-system, but instead an implant sub-system. However, the process as claimed could still be practiced by another and materially different apparatus, not requiring a sub-system configured to operate electrodes of an electrode array as a source and a sink and operate electrodes of the electrode array as read electrodes.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 1 – 7 and 21 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 24 June 2026.
Double Patenting
Claims 8 – 20 and 22 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 8 – 19 of U.S. Patent No. USPN 11,590,343. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the present application and the ‘343 claim measuring a feature resulting from an electrical phenomenon. The claims of the current application are more broad than the ‘343 patent. Therefore, the claims of the ‘343 patent anticipate the claims of the current application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 8 – 11, 13, 14, 18 – 20, and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Polak (US PGTPUB 2020/0375667).
Regarding claim 8, Polak discloses a method, comprising: establishing an electrical phenomenon within a cavity of a human (e.g. ABSTRACT, ¶ 2, 8 – 13); measuring a feature resulting from the electrical phenomenon (e.g. ¶ 8 – 13); and identifying the presence of an occurrence based on the measurement of the feature (e.g. ABSTRACT potential trauma response is identified when at least one measurement difference value exceeds a defined difference value).
Regarding claim 9, Polak discloses the cavity is a cochlea of the human (e.g. ¶ 20).
Regarding claim 10, Polak discloses the electrical phenomenon is established by applying electrical current to an electrode of a cochlear implant electrode array located in a cochlea of the human (e.g. ¶ 13, 24 – 26).
Regarding claim 11, Polak discloses the action of measuring includes measuring, at a first electrode and a second electrode of an intra-cochlea electrode array, a voltage induced by flowing current at a plurality of temporal locations and the action of identifying includes identifying that a change between voltage measurements at the first electrode and the second electrode has occurred between the temporal locations (e.g. ¶ 21, 24).
Regarding claim 13, Polak discloses the cavity is a cochlea of the human;the electrical phenomenon is an electric field generated within the cochlea utilizing a cochlear implant (e.g. ¶ 20).
Regarding claim 14¸ Polak discloses the feature is a voltage that is measured with the cochlear implant, induced by the electric field, at two intra-cochlea measurement electrodes that are part of the cochlear implant, wherein respective voltages are measured relative to a common reference electrode and the measurement electrodes are spaced symmetrically about the reference electrode (e.g. ¶ 21).
Regarding claim 18, Polak discloses the action of establishing the electrical phenomenon includes causing current to flow from a third electrode of an intra-cochlea electrode array to a fourth electrode of the intra- cochlea electrode array at a plurality of temporal locations (e.g. ¶ 21 – 24).
Regarding claim 19, Polak discloses the third electrode is disposed at an apical end of the intra-cochlea electrode array, and the fourth electrode is disposed basally of the third electrode (e.g. ¶ 21 – 24).
Regarding claim 20, Polak discloses the action of causing current to flow and measuring the voltage is executed during the first and second temporal locations while advancing the intra-cochlea electrode array into the cochlea of the recipient (e.g. ¶ 24 – 26).
Regarding claim 22, Polak discloses the action of identifying the presence of the occurrence is executed in real time (e.g. ¶ 7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12 and 15 – 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Polak.
Regarding claims 12 and 15 – 17, Polak discloses identifying the presence of an occurrence based on voltage measurements, but doesn’t specifically recite the presence of asymmetry in the voltage measurements. However, asymmetry in voltage measurements as biomarkers is well known in the art. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the method as taught by Polak with identifying the presence of asymmetry in voltage measurements, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art [In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233].
Conclusion
/JOSEPH M DIETRICH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796