DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11343123 in view of Fay (US 9326295 B1) and U.S. Patent No. 12040917 in view of Fay (US 9326295 B1). Re Claim 1, Claim 7, Claim 13 and Claim 17, Patent 11343123 and Patent 12040917 disclose the claimed invention as shown in the table below except “the linear chirp signal including a prefix, wherein the plurality of sensing signal parameters includes a frequency component associated with the transmitter node”. However, Fay discloses a method and apparatus for communication system wherein the sensing signal comprises a linear chirp signal and the preamble signal generated includes a chirp signal. The chirp signal is a signal that includes one or more chirp bursts in which the frequency increases (up-chirp) or decreases (down-chirp) with time. A linear chirp may be used (column 6 lines 18-50). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed to utilize the teachings taught by Fay with the patent to achieve the same expected result and to further improve the received signal detection and synchronization.
Instant application
Patent 11343123
Patent 12040917
1. A method of estimating channel parameters for a wireless channel between a transmitter node and a receiver node, the method comprising: receiving, by the receiver node, an indication of a plurality of sensing signal parameters of a sensing signal; receiving, by the receiver node, the sensing signal, wherein the sensing signal comprises a linear chirp signal, the linear chirp signal including a prefix, wherein the plurality of sensing signal parameters includes a frequency component associated with the transmitter node; and transmitting, by the receiver node to the transmitter node, a channel parameter obtained by processing the received sensing signal.
1. A method of estimating channel parameters for a wireless channel between a transmitter node and a receiver node, the method comprising: receiving, by the receiver node, an indication of a plurality of sensing signal parameters of a sensing signal, wherein the plurality of sensing signal parameters includes an indication of a reduced measurement window for use during processing the received sensing signal; receiving, by the receiver node, the sensing signal, wherein the sensing signal includes a linear chirp signal; and transmitting, by the receiver node to the transmitter node, a channel parameter obtained by processing the received sensing signal.
1. A method of estimating channel parameters for a wireless channel between a transmitter node and a receiver node, the method comprising: receiving, by the receiver node, an indication of a plurality of sensing signal parameters of a sensing signal, wherein the plurality of sensing signal parameters includes an indication of a reduced measurement window for use during processing the received sensing signal; receiving, by the receiver node, the sensing signal, wherein the sensing signal includes a linear chirp signal; and transmitting, by the receiver node to the transmitter node, a channel parameter obtained by processing the received sensing signal.
2. The method of claim 1, wherein the prefix comprises a part of the sensing signal which is inserted at the beginning of the sensing signal.
Fay discloses a-priori information may be inserted into any other type of preamble or other portions of a transmitted signal. The a-priori information is represented by one or more chirps (column 6 lines 4-17)
Fay discloses a-priori information may be inserted into any other type of preamble or other portions of a transmitted signal. The a-priori information is represented by one or more chirps (column 6 lines 4-17)
3. The method of claim 1, wherein the frequency component comprises a configurable frequency associated with the transmitter node.
3. The method of claim 2, wherein the frequency offset value is associated with the transmitter node.
3. The method of claim 2, wherein the frequency offset value is associated with the transmitter node.
4. The method of claim 3, further comprising: determining, based on the configurable frequency, an identity of the transmitter node; and wherein the transmitting the channel parameter includes transmitting the channel parameter to the transmitter node based on the determined identity.
4. The method of claim 3, further comprising: determining, based on the frequency offset value, an identity of the transmitter node; and wherein the transmitting the channel parameter includes transmitting the channel parameter to the transmitter node based on the determined identity.
4. The method of claim 3, further comprising: determining, based on the frequency offset value, an identity of the transmitter node; and wherein the transmitting the channel parameter includes transmitting the channel parameter to the transmitter node based on the determined identity.
5. The method of claim 4, wherein the configurable frequency corresponds to a number of frequency steps added to a base frequency.
Fay discloses chirp signal is a signal that includes one or more chirp bursts in which the frequency increases (up-chirp) or decreases (down-chirp) with time (column 6 lines 32-49).
Fay discloses chirp signal is a signal that includes one or more chirp bursts in which the frequency increases (up-chirp) or decreases (down-chirp) with time (column 6 lines 32-49).
6. The method of claim 1, wherein the processing comprises: de-chirping the received sensing signal to obtain a de-chirped received signal; sampling the de-chirped received signal to obtain a sampled de-chirped received signal; subjecting the sampled de-chirped received signal to Inverse Fast Fourier Transform (IFFT).
Fay discloses IFFT unit generates the COFDM waveform (column 8 lines 21-52); FM demodulator 902 may also accumulate two or more bursts, for example, in the case of a low energy channel, which permits operation close to the noise level. The sampling frequency is calculated from the period as explained above. The sampling frequency is used by an analog-to digital converter (ADC) 904 to convert the COFDM signal into a digital form (column 9 lines 26-33).
Fay discloses IFFT unit generates the COFDM waveform (column 8 lines 21-52); FM demodulator 902 may also accumulate two or more bursts, for example, in the case of a low energy channel, which permits operation close to the noise level. The sampling frequency is calculated from the period as explained above. The sampling frequency is used by an analog-to digital converter (ADC) 904 to convert the COFDM signal into a digital form (column 9 lines 26-33).
7. An apparatus comprising: a processor; and a non-transitory memory including instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the apparatus to: receive an indication of a plurality of sensing signal parameters of a sensing signal; receive the sensing signal, wherein the sensing signal comprises a linear chirp signal, the linear chirp signal including a prefix, wherein the plurality of sensing signal parameters includes a frequency component associated with a transmitter node; and transmitting to the transmitter node a channel parameter obtained by processing the received sensing signal.
7. A receiver node adapted for estimating channel parameters for a wireless channel between a transmitter node and the receiver node, the receiver node comprising: a processor; and a non-transitory memory including instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the receiver node to: receive an indication of indication of a plurality of sensing signal parameters of a sensing signal, wherein the plurality of sensing signal parameters includes an indication of a reduced measurement window for use during processing the received sensing signal; receive the sensing signal, wherein the sensing signal includes a linear chirp signal; and transmitting, to the transmitter node, a channel parameter obtained by processing the received sensing signal.
7. A receiver node adapted for estimating channel parameters for a wireless channel between a transmitter node and the receiver node, the receiver node comprising: a processor; and a non-transitory memory including instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the receiver node to: receive an indication of indication of a plurality of sensing signal parameters of a sensing signal, wherein the plurality of sensing signal parameters includes an indication of a reduced measurement window for use during processing the received sensing signal; receive the sensing signal, wherein the sensing signal includes a linear chirp signal; and transmitting, to the transmitter node, a channel parameter obtained by processing the received sensing signal.
8. The apparatus of claim 7, wherein the prefix comprises a part of the sensing signal which is inserted at the beginning of the sensing signal.
Fay discloses a-priori information may be inserted into any other type of preamble or other portions of a transmitted signal. The a-priori information is represented by one or more chirps (column 6 lines 4-17)
Fay discloses a-priori information may be inserted into any other type of preamble or other portions of a transmitted signal. The a-priori information is represented by one or more chirps (column 6 lines 4-17)
9. The apparatus of claim 7, wherein the frequency comprises a configurable frequency associated with the transmitter node.
9. The receiver node of claim 8, wherein the frequency offset value is associated with the transmitter node.
9. The receiver node of claim 8, wherein the frequency offset value is associated with the transmitter node.
10. The apparatus of claim 9, wherein the non-transitory memory further include instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the apparatus to: determine, based on the configurable frequency, an identity of the transmitter node; and transmit the channel parameter to the transmitter node based on the determined identity.
10. The receiver node of claim 9, wherein the non-transitory memory further include instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the apparatus to: determine, based on the frequency off value, an identity of the transmitter node; and transmit the channel parameter to the transmitter node based on the determined identity.
10. The receiver node of claim 9, wherein the non-transitory memory further include instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the apparatus to: determine, based on the frequency off value, an identity of the transmitter node; and transmit the channel parameter to the transmitter node based on the determined identity.
11. The apparatus of claim 10, wherein the configurable frequency corresponds to a number of frequency steps added to a base frequency.
Fay discloses chirp signal is a signal that includes one or more chirp bursts in which the frequency increases (up-chirp) or decreases (down-chirp) with time (column 6 lines 32-49).
Fay discloses chirp signal is a signal that includes one or more chirp bursts in which the frequency increases (up-chirp) or decreases (down-chirp) with time (column 6 lines 32-49).
12. The apparatus of claim 7, wherein the non-transitory memory further include instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the apparatus to: de-chirp the received sensing signal to obtain a de-chirped received signal; sample the de-chirped received signal to obtain a sampled de-chirped received signal; and subject the sampled de-chirped received signal to Inverse Fast Fourier Transform (IFFT).
Fay discloses IFFT unit generates the COFDM waveform (column 8 lines 21-52); FM demodulator 902 may also accumulate two or more bursts, for example, in the case of a low energy channel, which permits operation close to the noise level. The sampling frequency is calculated from the period as explained above. The sampling frequency is used by an analog-to digital converter (ADC) 904 to convert the COFDM signal into a digital form (column 9 lines 26-33).
Fay discloses IFFT unit generates the COFDM waveform (column 8 lines 21-52); FM demodulator 902 may also accumulate two or more bursts, for example, in the case of a low energy channel, which permits operation close to the noise level. The sampling frequency is calculated from the period as explained above. The sampling frequency is used by an analog-to digital converter (ADC) 904 to convert the COFDM signal into a digital form (column 9 lines 26-33).
13. A method of estimating channel parameters for a wireless channel between a transmitter node and a receiver node, the method comprising: transmitting, by the transmitter node, an indication of a plurality of sensing signal parameters of a sensing signal; transmitting, by the transmitter node, the sensing signal wherein the sensing signal comprises a linear chirp signal, the linear chirp signal including a prefix, wherein the plurality of sensing signal parameters includes a frequency component associated with the transmitter node; and receiving, by the transmitter node, a channel parameter from the receiver node.
13. A method of estimating channel parameters for a wireless channel between a transmitter node and a receiver node, the method comprising: transmitting, by the transmitter node, an indication of a plurality of sensing signal parameters of a sensing signal, wherein the plurality of sensing signal parameters includes an indication of a reduced measurement window for use during processing the received sensing signal; transmitting, by the transmitter node, the sensing signal wherein the sensing signal includes a linear chirp signal; and receiving, by the transmitter node, a channel parameter from the receiver node.
13. A method of estimating channel parameters for a wireless channel between a transmitter node and a receiver node, the method comprising: transmitting, by the transmitter node, an indication of a plurality of sensing signal parameters of a sensing signal, wherein the plurality of sensing signal parameters includes an indication of a reduced measurement window for use during processing the received sensing signal; transmitting, by the transmitter node, the sensing signal wherein the sensing signal includes a linear chirp signal; and receiving, by the transmitter node, a channel parameter from the receiver node.
14. The method of claim 13, wherein the prefix comprises a part of the sensing signal which is inserted at the beginning of the sensing signal.
Fay discloses a-priori information may be inserted into any other type of preamble or other portions of a transmitted signal. The a-priori information is represented by one or more chirps (column 6 lines 4-17)
Fay discloses a-priori information may be inserted into any other type of preamble or other portions of a transmitted signal. The a-priori information is represented by one or more chirps (column 6 lines 4-17)
15. The method of claim 13, wherein the frequency component comprises a configurable frequency associated with the transmitter node.
15. The method of claim 14, wherein the frequency offset value is associated with the transmitter node.
15. The method of claim 14, wherein the frequency offset value is associated with the transmitter node.
16. The method of claim 15, wherein the configurable frequency corresponds to a number of frequency steps added to a base frequency.
Fay discloses chirp signal is a signal that includes one or more chirp bursts in which the frequency increases (up-chirp) or decreases (down-chirp) with time (column 6 lines 32-49).
Fay discloses chirp signal is a signal that includes one or more chirp bursts in which the frequency increases (up-chirp) or decreases (down-chirp) with time (column 6 lines 32-49).
17. An apparatus comprising: a processor; and a non-transitory memory including instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the apparatus to: transmit an indication of a plurality of sensing signal parameters of a sensing signal; transmit the sensing signal wherein the sensing signal comprises a linear chirp signal, the linear chirp signal including a prefix, wherein the plurality of sensing signal parameters includes a frequency component associated with the apparatus; and receive a channel parameter from a receiver node.
17. A transmitter node adapted for facilitating estimation of channel parameters for a wireless channel between a transmitter node and a receiver node, transmitter node comprising: a processor; and a non-transitory memory including instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause transmitter node to: transmit an indication of a plurality of sensing signal parameters of a sensing signal, wherein the plurality of sensing signal parameters includes an indication of a reduced measurement window for use during processing the received sensing signal; transmit the sensing signal wherein the sensing signal comprises a linear chirp signal; and receive a channel parameter from the receiver node.
17. A transmitter node adapted for facilitating estimation of channel parameters for a wireless channel between a transmitter node and a receiver node, transmitter node comprising: a processor; and a non-transitory memory including instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause transmitter node to: transmit an indication of a plurality of sensing signal parameters of a sensing signal, wherein the plurality of sensing signal parameters includes an indication of a reduced measurement window for use during processing the received sensing signal; transmit the sensing signal wherein the sensing signal comprises a linear chirp signal; and receive a channel parameter from the receiver node.
18. The apparatus of claim 17, wherein the prefix comprises a part of the sensing signal which is inserted at the beginning of the sensing signal.
Fay discloses a-priori information may be inserted into any other type of preamble or other portions of a transmitted signal. The a-priori information is represented by one or more chirps (column 6 lines 4-17)
Fay discloses a-priori information may be inserted into any other type of preamble or other portions of a transmitted signal. The a-priori information is represented by one or more chirps (column 6 lines 4-17)
19. The apparatus of claim 17, wherein the frequency component comprises a configurable frequency associated with the apparatus.
18. The transmitter node of claim 17, wherein the plurality of sensing signal parameters comprise a chirp slope value and a frequency offset value of the linear chirp signal.
19. The transmitter node of claim 18, wherein the frequency offset value is associated with the apparatus.
18. The transmitter node of claim 17, wherein the plurality of sensing signal parameters comprise a chirp slope value and a frequency offset value of the linear chirp signal.
19. The transmitter node of claim 18, wherein the frequency offset value is associated with the apparatus.
20. The apparatus of claim 19, wherein the configurable frequency corresponds to a number of frequency steps added to a base frequency.
Fay discloses chirp signal is a signal that includes one or more chirp bursts in which the frequency increases (up-chirp) or decreases (down-chirp) with time (column 6 lines 32-49).
Fay discloses chirp signal is a signal that includes one or more chirp bursts in which the frequency increases (up-chirp) or decreases (down-chirp) with time (column 6 lines 32-49).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 6-8, 12-14, 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (US 2011/0216682 A1) (Xu herein after) in view of Fay (US 9326295 B1).
Re Claim 1, Xu discloses a method of estimating channel parameters for a wireless channel between a transmitter node and a receiver node, the method comprising:
receiving, by the receiver node (wireless device [0062]), an indication of a plurality of sensing signal parameters of a sensing signal (signal detector detect and quantify the level of signals received by the transceiver [0062]);
receiving, by the receiver node, the sensing signal (PSS based on chirp-like digital sequence [0072]); and
transmitting, by the receiver node to the transmitter node, a channel parameter obtained by processing the received sensing signal (channel state information after PSS detection [0072]; CQI feedback [0048]).
Xu discloses the claimed invention except wherein the sensing signal comprises a linear chirp signal, the linear chirp signal including a prefix, wherein the plurality of sensing signal parameters includes a frequency component associated with the transmitter node.
However, Fay discloses a method and apparatus for communication system wherein the sensing signal comprises a linear chirp signal and the preamble signal generated includes a chirp signal. The chirp signal is a signal that includes one or more chirp bursts in which the frequency increases (up-chirp) or decreases (down-chirp) with time. A linear chirp may be used (column 6 lines 18-50).
Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify method and system of Xu, by making use of the technique taught by Fay, in order to improve the received signal detection and synchronization.
Both references are within the same field of telecommunication, and in particular of signal detection and synchronization, the modification does not change a fundamental operating principle of Xu, nor does Xu teach away from the modification (Xu merely discloses a preferred embodiment). The combination has a reasonable expectation of success in that the modifications can be made using conventional and well known engineering and/or programming techniques, the chirp signal taught by Fay is not altered and continues to perform the same function as separately, and the resultant combination produces the highly predictable result of wherein the sensing signal comprises a linear chirp signal, the linear chirp signal including a prefix, wherein the plurality of sensing signal parameters includes a frequency component associated with the transmitter node.
Re Claim 2, the combined teachings disclose the method of claim 1, Fay discloses wherein the prefix comprises a part of the sensing signal which is inserted at the beginning of the sensing signal (a-priori information may be inserted into any other type of preamble or other portions of a transmitted signal. The a-priori information is represented by one or more chirps, column 6 lines 4-17).
Re Claim 6, the combined teachings disclose the method of claim 1, Fay discloses wherein the processing comprises: de-chirping the received sensing signal to obtain a de-chirped received signal; sampling the de-chirped received signal to obtain a sampled de-chirped received signal; subjecting the sampled de-chirped received signal to Inverse Fast Fourier Transform (IFFT) (IFFT unit generates the COFDM waveform (column 8 lines 21-52); FM demodulator 902 may also accumulate two or more bursts, for example, in the case of a low energy channel, which permits operation close to the noise level. The sampling frequency is calculated from the period as explained above. The sampling frequency is used by an analog-to digital converter (ADC) 904 to convert the COFDM signal into a digital form (column 9 lines 26-33)).
Re Claim 7, Xu discloses an apparatus comprising:
a processor; and a non-transitory memory including instructions that, when executed by the processor (processor [0111]), cause the apparatus to:
receive an indication of a plurality of sensing signal parameters of a sensing signal (signal detector detect and quantify the level of signals received by the transceiver [0062]);
receive the sensing signal (PSS based on chirp-like digital sequence [0072]); and
transmitting to the transmitter node a channel parameter obtained by processing the received sensing signal (channel state information after PSS detection [0072]; CQI feedback [0048]).
Xu discloses the claimed invention except wherein the sensing signal comprises a linear chirp signal, the linear chirp signal including a prefix, wherein the plurality of sensing signal parameters includes a frequency component associated with a transmitter node.
However, Fay discloses a method and apparatus for communication system wherein the sensing signal comprises a linear chirp signal and the preamble signal generated includes a chirp signal. The chirp signal is a signal that includes one or more chirp bursts in which the frequency increases (up-chirp) or decreases (down-chirp) with time. A linear chirp may be used (column 6 lines 18-50).
Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify method and system of Xu, by making use of the technique taught by Fay, in order to improve the received signal detection and synchronization.
Both references are within the same field of telecommunication, and in particular of signal detection and synchronization, the modification does not change a fundamental operating principle of Xu, nor does Xu teach away from the modification (Xu merely discloses a preferred embodiment). The combination has a reasonable expectation of success in that the modifications can be made using conventional and well known engineering and/or programming techniques, the chirp signal taught by Fay is not altered and continues to perform the same function as separately, and the resultant combination produces the highly predictable result of wherein the sensing signal comprises a linear chirp signal, the linear chirp signal including a prefix, wherein the plurality of sensing signal parameters includes a frequency component associated with a transmitter node.
Re Claim 8, the combined teachings disclose the apparatus of claim 7, Fay discloses wherein the prefix comprises a part of the sensing signal which is inserted at the beginning of the sensing signal (a-priori information may be inserted into any other type of preamble or other portions of a transmitted signal. The a-priori information is represented by one or more chirps, column 6 lines 4-17).
Re Claim 12, the combined teachings disclose the apparatus of claim 7, Fay discloses wherein the non-transitory memory further include instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the apparatus to: de-chirp the received sensing signal to obtain a de-chirped received signal; sample the de-chirped received signal to obtain a sampled de-chirped received signal; and subject the sampled de-chirped received signal to Inverse Fast Fourier Transform (IFFT) (IFFT unit generates the COFDM waveform (column 8 lines 21-52); FM demodulator 902 may also accumulate two or more bursts, for example, in the case of a low energy channel, which permits operation close to the noise level. The sampling frequency is calculated from the period as explained above. The sampling frequency is used by an analog-to digital converter (ADC) 904 to convert the COFDM signal into a digital form (column 9 lines 26-33)).
Re Claim 13, Xu discloses a method of estimating channel parameters for a wireless channel between a transmitter node and a receiver node, the method comprising:
transmitting, by the transmitter node, an indication of a plurality of sensing signal parameters of a sensing signal (signal detector detect and quantify the level of signals received by the transceiver [0062]);
transmitting, by the transmitter node, the sensing signal (PSS based on chirp-like digital sequence [0072]); and
receiving, by the transmitter node, a channel parameter from the receiver node (channel state information after PSS detection [0072]; CQI feedback [0048]).
Xu discloses the claimed invention except wherein the sensing signal comprises a linear chirp signal, the linear chirp signal including a prefix, wherein the plurality of sensing signal parameters includes a frequency component associated with the transmitter node.
However, Fay discloses a method and apparatus for communication system wherein the sensing signal comprises a linear chirp signal and the preamble signal generated includes a chirp signal. The chirp signal is a signal that includes one or more chirp bursts in which the frequency increases (up-chirp) or decreases (down-chirp) with time. A linear chirp may be used (column 6 lines 18-50).
Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify method and system of Xu, by making use of the technique taught by Fay, in order to improve the received signal detection and synchronization.
Both references are within the same field of telecommunication, and in particular of signal detection and synchronization, the modification does not change a fundamental operating principle of Xu, nor does Xu teach away from the modification (Xu merely discloses a preferred embodiment). The combination has a reasonable expectation of success in that the modifications can be made using conventional and well known engineering and/or programming techniques, the chirp signal taught by Fay is not altered and continues to perform the same function as separately, and the resultant combination produces the highly predictable result of wherein the sensing signal comprises a linear chirp signal, the linear chirp signal including a prefix, wherein the plurality of sensing signal parameters includes a frequency component associated with the transmitter node.
Re Claim 14, the combined teachings disclose the method of claim 13, Fay discloses wherein the prefix comprises a part of the sensing signal which is inserted at the beginning of the sensing signal (a-priori information may be inserted into any other type of preamble or other portions of a transmitted signal. The a-priori information is represented by one or more chirps, column 6 lines 4-17).
Re Claim 17, Xu discloses an apparatus comprising:
a processor; and a non-transitory memory including instructions that, when executed by the processor (processor [0111]), cause the apparatus to:
transmit an indication of a plurality of sensing signal parameters of a sensing signal (signal detector detect and quantify the level of signals received by the transceiver [0062]);
transmit the sensing signal (PSS based on chirp-like digital sequence [0072]); and
receive a channel parameter from a receiver node (channel state information after PSS detection [0072]; CQI feedback [0048]).
Xu discloses the claimed invention except wherein the sensing signal comprises a linear chirp signal, the linear chirp signal including a prefix, wherein the plurality of sensing signal parameters includes a frequency component associated with the apparatus.
However, Fay discloses a method and apparatus for communication system wherein the sensing signal comprises a linear chirp signal and the preamble signal generated includes a chirp signal. The chirp signal is a signal that includes one or more chirp bursts in which the frequency increases (up-chirp) or decreases (down-chirp) with time. A linear chirp may be used (column 6 lines 18-50).
Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify method and system of Xu, by making use of the technique taught by Fay, in order to improve the received signal detection and synchronization.
Both references are within the same field of telecommunication, and in particular of signal detection and synchronization, the modification does not change a fundamental operating principle of Xu, nor does Xu teach away from the modification (Xu merely discloses a preferred embodiment). The combination has a reasonable expectation of success in that the modifications can be made using conventional and well known engineering and/or programming techniques, the chirp signal taught by Fay is not altered and continues to perform the same function as separately, and the resultant combination produces the highly predictable result of wherein the sensing signal comprises a linear chirp signal, the linear chirp signal including a prefix, wherein the plurality of sensing signal parameters includes a frequency component associated with the apparatus.
Re Claim 18, the combined teachings disclose the apparatus of claim 17, Fay discloses wherein the prefix comprises a part of the sensing signal which is inserted at the beginning of the sensing signal (a-priori information may be inserted into any other type of preamble or other portions of a transmitted signal. The a-priori information is represented by one or more chirps, column 6 lines 4-17).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Sud (US 10972316 B1) – channel estimation using a chirp signal and the fractional Fourier transform
Zhuang et al. (US 2017/0257246 A1) – system and method for enhanced channel estimation using tap-dependent frequency offset estimation
/KENNETH T LAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2631