Drawings
The drawing was received on 2/6/2025. The drawing is acceptable.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “one or more internal rollers are configured to create tension in the conveyor and the timing belt” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s arguments, see page 7-10, filed 2/6/2026, with respect to the rejection of claim 1 under USC 102(a)(2) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Chinese patent application CN 210854067 U.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6-8, 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Erceg in view of Chinese patent application CN 210854067 U (hereinafter Yang).
Regarding Claim 1, as explained in the first office action:
“Erceg teaches a drive system composing a frame (Fig. 2B, Nos. 436, 424, and 434), a conveyor belt that rotates relative to the frame (Fig. 2B, No. 412), a timing belt for supporting the conveyor (Fig 2B, No. 415), a motor beneath the frame (Fig. 2B, No. 426), the timing belt engages with the motor (Fig. 2A), and the motor driving one or more rollers and timing belt, wherein the angular velocity of the timing belt equals the angular velocity of the conveyor (Fig. 2A). Additionally, the angular velocity of the timing belt would equal the angular velocity of the conveyor in the claimed scenario regardless, assuming there is no slipping.” However, Erceg does not disclose that one or more internal rollers disposed beneath the frame, wherein the one or more internal rollers are configured to create tension in the conveyor or the timing belt. Erceg discloses the frame further that comprises one or more panels, but the panels are not configured to cover the one or more internal rollers.
Yang discloses one or more internal rollers disposed beneath the frame (Fig. 1, Nos. 17 and 18), wherein the one or more internal rollers are configured to create tension in the conveyor or the timing belt (Fig. 1, No. 17).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the conveyor of Erceg with the one or more internal rollers of Yang. The motivation would be to prevent sagging or drooping in the belt, and provide a stable support for the conveyed items.
Regarding claim 6, Erceg and Yang disclose the drive system of claim 1. Erceg and Yang disclose active rollers configured to drive the conveyor around the frame (Fig. 2A, No. 414 & Fig. 1 No. 17, respectively).
Regarding claim 7, Erceg and Yang disclose the drive system of claim 1. Erceg and Yang disclose passive rollers (Fig. 2A, No. 420 & Fig. 1 No. 18, respectively).
Regarding claim 8, Erceg and Yang disclose the drive system of claim 1. Yang discloses one or more internal rollers housed within the drive system (Fig. 1 No. 18).
Regarding claim 11, Erceg and Yang disclose the drive system of claim 1. Erceg also discloses that the conveyor is positioned over the one or more panels (Fig. 2B, Nos. 422 and 412).
Regarding claim 12, Erceg and Yang disclose the drive system of claim 1. Erceg also discloses that the frame comprises sidewalls, wherein the frame is substantially triangular in shape (Fig. 2B, No. 436).
Conclusion
/AMARI J MEDDLING/ Examiner, Art Unit 3651
/GENE O CRAWFORD/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3651