DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/19/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant states that Geske fails to disclose a single diffuser element which impacts the angular beam width of the emitted light. The examiner respectfully disagrees. Paragraph 0053 of Geske discloses diffusers patterned on a window, where some of the diffusers “provide different amounts of dispersions”. Paragraph 0054 also discloses that the diffusers may have lenses which would also result in different angular beam widths.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 9-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Geske (US Publication No.: US 2015/0198295 A1 of record).
Regarding Claim 1, Geske discloses a system (Figure 1, system 100; Figure 37, system 3501), comprising:
A mounting unit (Paragraph 0053 disclose that the window can be placed in front of the laser, and Paragraph 0078 discloses that the window 3602 may be rotatable or slide-in, which imply a mounting unit; Figure 1 discloses the window 110 as a mount that comprises diffusers; Figure 37 discloses window 3602 which comprises diffusers within it); and
A diffuser unit coupled to the mounting unit and positionable by the mounting unit (Figure 1, the mounting unit 110 comprises diffusers, as disclosed in Paragraph 0053; Figure 37, mounting unit 3602 comprises diffusers, as disclosed in Paragraph 0078) into an optical path of a group of co-aligned laser source (Paragraph 0053 discloses that the diffuser unit 110 is placed in front of lasers 101 in their optical path; Paragraph 0078 discloses that the diffuser unit 3602 is placed in front of lasers 3502; Paragraph 0080),
The diffuser unit comprising diffuser elements having fixed positions with respect to the diffuser unit (Paragraph 0053 and Paragraph 0078 discloses diffusers formed within the diffuser unit having fixed positions), wherein
The mounting unit facilitates adjusting a position of the diffuser unit within the optical path of the group of co-aligned laser source (Paragraph 0053 discloses the positioning of the diffusers with respect to the mounting unit), and wherein
The diffuser elements alter angular beam widths of emitted light from respective ones of the group of co-aligned laser sources according to a function of the position of the diffuser unit within the optical path of the group of co-aligned laser source (Paragraph 0043 discloses the diffuser elements altering angular beam widths emitted from the lasers with respect to position; Paragraphs 0061-0062), and wherein
A pattern is applied to a surface of a diffuser element of the diffuser elements, the pattern causing an angular beam width, of the angular beam widths of the emitted light, to vary according to a location on the diffuser element through which the emitted light passes (Paragraph 0053 of Geske discloses diffusers patterned on a window, where some of the diffusers “provide different amounts of dispersions”. Paragraph 0054 also discloses that the diffusers may have lenses which would also result in different angular beam widths).
Regarding Claim 2, Geske discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the diffuser unit comprises a substrate having the diffuser elements placed therein, wherein the fixed positions of the diffuser elements on the diffuser unit are radially arranged relative to a surface of the substrate, and wherein the position of the diffuser unit within the optical path of the group of co-aligned laser sources is adjustable via rotation of the substrate (Figure 5 discloses a diffuser island which would be a substrate where the diffusers are placed on the islands, radially arranged; Figure 6 discloses rotation of the substrate to be within the optical path of the lasers).
Regarding Claim 3, Geske discloses the system of claim 2, wherein the rotation of the substrate is about at least one axis selected from a group comprising a first axis orthogonal to the surface of the substrate, a second axis orthogonal to the first axis, and a third axis orthogonal to the first axis and the second axis (Paragraph 0058).
Regarding Claim 4, Geske discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the group of co-aligned laser sources comprises: a first subgroup of laser sources that emit first light at a first wavelength, and a second subgroup of laser sources that emit second light at a second wavelength that is not the first wavelength (Paragraph 0042 discloses the laser having different frequencies which would result in different wavelengths).
Regarding Claim 5, Geske discloses the system of claim 4, further comprising: an input device that receives a selection input; and a control unit that drives a selected subgroup of laser sources, selected from the first subgroup of laser sources and the second subgroup of laser sources, based on the selection input (Figure 37, input device 3701; Paragraphs 0080-0083).
Regarding Claim 6, Geske discloses the system of claim 1, further comprising: an input device that receives a power mode input; and a control unit that supplies a control signal to at least one laser source of the group of co-aligned laser sources, the control signal being configured according to the power mode input (Figure 37, input device 3701, control unit 3502; Paragraphs 0080-0083; Paragraph 0054).
Regarding Claim 7, Geske discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the diffuser elements of the diffuser unit are diffractive optical elements (Paragraph 0053 describes the diffuser elements as diffractive optical elements).
Regarding Claim 9, Geske discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the group of co-aligned laser sources comprises: a first subgroup of laser sources comprising at least one single mode laser diode; and a second subgroup of laser sources comprising at least one multimode laser diode (Paragraph 0045; Paragraph 0080).
Regarding Claim 10, Geske discloses a system (Figures 1-3, system 100; Figure 37, system 3501) comprising:
A diffuser wheel positionable into an optical path of a laser array (Figure 1, diffuser wheel 110; Figure 37, diffuser wheel 3602; Paragraph 0058); and
Diffuser elements formed into the diffuser wheel (Figures 5-6, diffuser elements 501), wherein
The diffuser elements alter an angular divergence of light emitted from the system via the laser array based on a rotational position of the diffuser wheel (Paragraphs 0057-0058; Paragraph 0053), and wherein
A pattern is applied to a surface of a diffuser element of the diffuser elements, the pattern causing an angular beam width, of the angular beam widths of the emitted light, to vary according to a location on the diffuser element through which the emitted light passes (Paragraph 0053 of Geske discloses diffusers patterned on a window, where some of the diffusers “provide different amounts of dispersions”. Paragraph 0054 also discloses that the diffusers may have lenses which would also result in different angular beam widths).
Regarding Claim 11, Geske discloses the system of claim 10, wherein the diffuser elements are diffractive optical elements (Paragraph 0053 describes the diffuser elements as diffractive optical elements).
Regarding Claim 12, Geske discloses the system of claim 11, wherein the pattern is selected from a group of patterns comprising a homogeneous pattern, a gradient pattern, and a non-uniform pattern (Paragraphs 0053-0054; Figures 5-6).
Regarding Claim 13, Geske discloses the system of claim 10, wherein the diffuser wheel is rotatable about an axis orthogonal to the diffuser wheel, and wherein rotation about the axis defines the rotational position of the diffuser wheel (Figures 5-6; Paragraphs 0057-0058; Paragraph 0053).
Regarding Claim 14, Geske discloses the system of claim 10, further comprising: a non-diffusive element formed into the diffuser wheel through which at least one laser source of the laser array emits light (Figures 5-6; Paragraph 0053).
Regarding Claim 15, Geske discloses a method (Figure 1; Figures 5-6; Figure 37), comprising:
Passing a light beam emitted from co-aligned laser sources through patterned diffuser elements of a diffuser unit positioned into an optical path of the co-aligned laser sources (Figure 1, diffuser elements are pattern in diffuser unit 110 placed in an optical path of co-aligned laser sources 101; Paragraphs 0050-0054); and
Adjusting a first position of one of the pattern diffuser elements of the diffuser unit relative to a second position of at least one laser source of the co-aligned laser sources, resulting in an amount of angular divergence of the light beam that is a function of the first position and the second position (Figures 5-6; Paragraphs 0057-0058; Paragraph 0053), wherein
The pattern diffuser element causes an angular width of the light beam to vary according to a location on the patterned diffuser element through which the light beam passes (Paragraph 0053 of Geske discloses diffusers patterned on a window, where some of the diffusers “provide different amounts of dispersions”. Paragraph 0054 also discloses that the diffusers may have lenses which would also result in different angular beam widths).
Regarding Claim 16, Geske discloses the method of claim 15, wherein the diffuser unit comprises patterned diffuser elements, comprising the patterned diffuser element, wherein the patterned diffuser elements are radially arranged at first positions, comprising the first position, with respect to the diffuser unit, and wherein the adjusting of the first position comprises rotating the diffuser unit (Figure 5 discloses diffusers 501 radially arranged; Figure 6 discloses rotation of the diffusers; Paragraphs 0057-0058).
Regarding Claim 17, Geske discloses the method of claim 16, wherein the diffuser unit is fixed to a rotatable portion of a housing at least partially enclosing the diffuser unit, and wherein the adjusting of the first position comprises rotating the rotatable portion of the housing (Paragraph 0053 discloses fixed diffusers with a rotatable portion of a housing; Paragraphs 0057-0058; Figure 6).
Regarding Claim 18, Geske discloses the method of claim 15, wherein the co-aligned laser sources comprise first laser sources that emit a first light beam at a first wavelength and second laser sources that emit a second light beam at a second wavelength that is not the first wavelength, and wherein the method further comprises: receiving a selection input; and driving a group of the co-aligned laser sources selected from the first laser sources and the second laser sources based on the selection input (Paragraph 0042 discloses the laser having different frequencies which would result in different wavelengths; Figure 37, input device 3701; Paragraphs 0080-0083).
Regarding Claim 19, Geske discloses the method of claim 15, wherein movement of the diffuser unit comprises linear translation of the diffuser unit along an adjustment axis, and wherein the adjusting of the first position comprises moving the diffuser unit along the adjustment axis (Paragraph 0053 discloses linear translation of the diffuser unit; Figures 18-21; Paragraph 0065).
Regarding Claim 20, Geske discloses the method of claim 15, wherein the co-aligned laser sources are first co-aligned laser sources, wherein the light beam is a first light beam, and wherein the method further comprises: passing a second light beam emitted from a second co-aligned laser source, distinct from the first co-aligned laser sources and co-aligned with the first co-aligned laser sources, through a non-diffusive element in the diffuser unit at a same time as the passing of the first light beam through the patterned diffuser elements (Figures 14-17; Paragraphs 0063-0065).
Regarding Claim 21, Geske discloses the system of claim 10, further comprising: one or more stops that constrain a range of rotational motion of the diffuser wheel to a maximum angular rotational range of 360/N degrees, where N is a number of the diffuser elements formed into the diffuser wheel (Paragraph 0058 discloses a simple rotation, Paragraph 0014 discloses a 45 degree rotation; Paragraphs 0034-0035).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARIAM QURESHI/Examiner, Art Unit 2871