DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings were received on June 7, 2024. These drawings are acceptable.
Specification
The following title is suggested: Method for Background Detection of a Sample Pipeline of a Sample Processor.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10-15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With respect to claim 10 it is unclear how the control device could perform the method of claim 1 when no associated structure has been provided to define the sample processor. The sample processor is not recited as having a flow cell, a sample probe for aspirating a sample out of a sample container to the flow cell, a sample pipeline that connects the sample probe to the flow cell and a detector for detecting the sheath liquid flowing through the flow cell to obtain background detection data.
Claims 11-14 are dependent upon claim 10, and thus, inherit the same deficiencies.
Similarly, it is unclear how the processor of a control device of claim 15 can implement all the method steps of claim 1 when no associated structure has been provided to define the sample processor. The sample processor is not recited as having a flow cell, a sample probe for aspirating a sample out of a sample container to the flow cell, a sample pipeline that connects the sample probe to the flow cell and a detector for detecting the sheath liquid flowing through the flow cell to obtain background detection data.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 9-11, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hu et al (CN 111504869 A; reference will be made to the provided English translation) (reference provided by applicant in IDS filed December 6, 2024).
With respect to claim 1 Hu discloses a method for background detection of a sample pipeline of a sample processor (See Pg. 14 for discussion of “Before loading the sample and the sheath fluid, the sheath fluid is used to flush each pipeline, and the flushing time is more than 1 h, until the number of particles detected in the 0. 1-1 µm detection method is about 100 particles/s and is basically stable.''), wherein
the sample pipeline connects a sample probe for aspirating a sample out of a sample container to a flow cell (See Fig. 1 and Pg. 16 for discussion of ''After the sample is filtered, sonicated and aspirated in the sample injection unit, the mechanical pump first sucks the sample into the pipeline, and then uses the peristaltic pump/syringe to drive the sample into the sample tube 12", wherein the sample tube enters the flow chamber 13), the method comprises the following steps executed by a control device:
supplying sheath liquid to the flow cell via the sample pipeline (See Pg. 9 for discussion of “During the flushing process, it was found that the flow chamber and each pipeline can be flushed for at least 1 hour by adopting a fast first and then a low speed method to further improve the detection effect”); and
detecting the sheath liquid flowing through the flow cell to obtain background detection data (See Pg. 14 for discussion of “Before loading the sample and the sheath fluid, the sheath fluid is used to flush each pipeline, and the flushing time is more than 1 h, until the number of particles detected in the 0. 1-1 µm detection method is about 100 particles/s and is basically stable.'').
With respect to claim 2 Hu discloses that, before the sheath liquid is introduced into the sample pipeline, filtering the sheath liquid by allowing the sheath liquid to flow through a filter (See Pg. 9: “…the filtered sheath fluid can be used to flush the pipeline”).
With respect to claim 3 Hu discloses that the filter is configured to filter a nano-scaled particle (See Pg. 12: “Preferably, the pore size of the filtering membrane is 0.1-0.22µm”).
With respect to claim 9 Hu discloses comparing the background detection data with predetermined background data, wherein if the background detection data is larger than the predetermined background data, the method further comprises cleaning the sample pipeline; and if the background detection data is smaller than or equal to the predetermined background data, it is ready to detect a sample (See Pg. 14: “Before loading the sample and the sheath fluid, the sheath fluid is used to flush each pipeline, and the flushing time is more than 1 h, until the number of particles detected in the 0.1-1µm detection method is about 100 particles/s and is basically stable. In the process of flushing, the pipeline is flushed quickly and then at low speed”).
With respect to claim 10 Hu discloses the incorporation of an analysis control system (See 112 rejection above, Pg.4 for an analysis control system 3, and Pgs. 11-12: “…an analyzer is provided in the analysis control system 3, and the detection speed of the analyzer preferably reaches 30,000/sec. Among them, the system control software in the analysis control system 3 can preferably be configured to control (20mw-200mw power) lasers, motorized valves (for example, 20 motorized valves), sensors, motors, and other components according to requirements. Wherein, preferably, the analysis control system 3 is equipped with a real-time data acquisition system that can collect more than 6 channels, and the detection speed of each channel preferably reaches 30,000 signals/sec”).
With respect to claim 11 Hu discloses a peristaltic pump provided in the sample pipeline, and configured to pump the sheath liquid or a sample from the sample probe to the flow cell (See Pg. 15: “After the sample is filtered, sonicated and aspirated in the sample injection unit, the mechanical pump first sucks the sample into the pipeline, and then uses the peristaltic pump/syringe to drive the sample into the sample tube 12”).
With respect to claim 13 Hu discloses that the sample processor comprises a waste pipeline connected to a wash station which is located at the sample probe; and a waste pump provided in the waste pipeline, and wherein the waste pump is configured to discharge waste fluid in the wash station through the waste pipeline (See Fig. 1 for depiction of the waste pipeline between the wash swab A6 and waste liquid storage subunit A4, P2 is the waste liquid pump provided on the waste pipeline).
Claim(s) 1, 2, 8, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nishikawa et al (US 2013/0084213 A1) (reference provided by applicant in IDS filed December 6, 2024).
With respect to claim 1 Nishikawa discloses a method for background detection of a sample pipeline of a sample processor (See Para. 0098 related to WBC detector D3; Para. 0104: "blank check operation of the measurement mechanism''), wherein the sample pipeline (pipelines connecting aspirating tube 211 and WBC detector D3, See Para. 0075 and Fig. 3A in view of 3B) connects a sample probe (aspirating tube 211) for aspirating a sample out of a sample container (See Para. 0075: "the whole blood sample of the sample tube T is aspirated with the aspirating tube 211'') to a flow cell (flow cell: WBC detector D3 for CBC+DIFF measurement, See Fig. 38 and Para. 0075), the method comprises the following steps executed by a control device:
supplying sheath liquid to the flow cell via the sample pipeline (See Para. 0112: "In the measurement unit 2 of the sample processing apparatus 1, the diluted solution (sheath fluid) is filled in the flow path shown in FIG. 3A and FIG. 38”; Para. 0101 additionally discloses that the flow path also in detectors D1-D3 are washed with diluted solution during shutdown operation); and
detecting the sheath liquid flowing through the flow cell to obtain background detection data (See Para. 0114 for discussion of how the blank measurement is carried out to ensure the removal of dirt and air bubbles; Para. 0098 discloses how the blank check operation is an operation of causing the measurement unit 2 to execute the measurement operation that does not use a sample. Since the flow path of the measurement mechanism is filled with the sheath liquid and there is no sample injected, the detector inevitably detects the sheath liquid, thus, obtaining background data).
With respect to claim 2 Nishikawa discloses that, before the sheath liquid is introduced into the sample pipeline, filtering the sheath liquid by allowing the sheath liquid to flow through a filter (See Fig. 4: filter 43 within sheath fluid supply mechanism of D3).
With respect to claim 8 Nishikawa discloses cleaning the sample pipeline before the sheath liquid is introduced into the sample pipeline for background detection (See Para. 0083 for discussion of washing as a part of stopping operation after measurement; The blank check operation explained in section 1.2 is made in the frame of the startup operation (example ein Para. 0084), thus, after the washing operation disclosed in Para. 0083).
With respect to claim 15 Nishikawa discloses a computer-readable medium on which a program is stored, wherein the program is executed by a processor of a control device to implement the method according to claim 1 (See 112 rejection above and Paras. 0051-0064).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The closet cited prior art of reference fails to disclose or fairly teach that the filter is arranged in the sheath detection pipeline, wherein the method further comprises supplying the sheath fluid in the wash station to the flow cell via the sample pipeline for background detection.
Claims 12 and 14 would potentially be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/BRITTANY I FISHER/Examiner, Art Unit 1796 September 5, 2026