DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kazama (US 2013/0228744) hereinafter “Kazama”.
Regarding claim 15, Fig. 1 of Kazama teaches a semiconductor device, comprising: a semiconductor stack comprising a first semiconductor structure (Item 15), a second semiconductor structure (Item 12) and an active region (Item 14) located between the first semiconductor structure (Item 15) and the second semiconductor structure (Item 12); a reflective structure (Item 35; Paragraph 0065 where the material of the bonding layer is AuSnNi which is known to be a reflective material) located below the semiconductor stack, and comprising a first metal (Au); a conductive structure (Item 17; Paragraph 0101 where the material may be Al) located between the semiconductor stack and the reflective structure (Item 35), and comprising a first region (See Picture 1 below) overlapping with the active region (See Picture 1 below) in a vertical direction and a second region (See Picture 1 below) which does not overlap with the active region in the vertical direction; and an insulating structure (Item 16) located between the semiconductor stack and the conductive structure (Item 17), and comprising a third region and a fourth region respectively corresponding to the first region and the second region; wherein the second region and the fourth region comprise the first metal, and the first metal in the fourth region has a concentration smaller than 5 atomic percent (While not explicitly stated, one having ordinary skill in the art would understand that some negligible amount of Au from the reflective layer would extend into the upper layers via diffusion during subsequent annealing steps).
Picture (Labeled version of Kazama Fig. 1)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 7, 10, 11 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi (US 2012/0220060) hereinafter “Kobayashi” in view of Kim et al. (US 2012/0119243) hereinafter “Kim”.
Regarding claim 1, Fig. 1 of Kobayashi teaches a semiconductor device, comprising: a semiconductor stack comprising a first semiconductor structure (Item 14), a second semiconductor structure (Item 12) and an active region (Item 13) located between the first semiconductor structure (Item 14) and the second semiconductor structure (Item 12); a reflective structure (Item 29; Paragraph 0037 where AuSnNi is known to me reflective) located below the semiconductor stack, and comprising a first metal (Sn); and a conductive structure (Item 17) located between the semiconductor stack and the reflective structure (Item 29), and comprising a first region overlapping with the active region in a vertical direction
Kobayashi does not teach a second region which does not overlap with the active region in the vertical direction and comprises the first metal.
Kim teaches a first region of a conductive structure (Item 35) which overlaps with an active region and a second region of a conductive structure (Item 35) which does not overlap with an active region.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a second region which does not overlap with the active region in the vertical direction and comprises the first metal because a semiconductor stack is centered on a support substrate during bonding and it allows for other structures such as contacts to be present on the support substrate surface (Kim Paragraph 0044).
Kobayashi does not teach where the first metal in the second region has a concentration smaller than 5 atomic percent.
However, Kobayashi further teaches where a barrier layer (Item 18) is present between the reflective layer (Item 29) and the conductive layer (Item 17).
While not explicitly stated in Kobayashi, one having ordinary skill in the art would understand the that barrier layer would prevent most but not all of a first element from diffusing from the reflective layer to the conductive layer. As such, with the barrier layer present one having ordinary skill in the art would understand that there would be a trace amount of the first metal in the conductive layer that is under 5 atomic percent.
Further, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have less than 5 atomic percent of the first metal be present in the second region as the barrier layer is meant to prevent a large amount of the first metal from diffusing into the conductive layer.
Regarding claim 2, Kobayashi further teaches a barrier structure (Item 18) disposed between the reflective structure (Item 29) and the conductive structure (Item 17).
Regarding claim 3, Kobayashi further teaches where the barrier structure comprises a second metal different from the first metal (Paragraph 0037 where the first metal is Au and Paragraph 0028 where the second metal is Ti).
Regarding claim 5, Kobayashi further teaches where the reflective structure (Item 29) has a first thickness (Paragraph 0036) and the barrier structure (Item 18) has a second thickness (Paragraph 0028) smaller than the first thickness.
Regarding claim 7, Kobayashi further teaches a base (Combination of Items 21, 22 and 23) located at a side of the reflective structure (Item 29) away from the conductive structure (Item 17) , and a bonding structure (Item 24) located between the base (Combination of Items 21, 22 and 23) and the reflective structure (Item 29).
Regarding claim 10, Kobayashi further teaches an insulating structure (Item 16) located between the first semiconductor structure (Item 14) and the conductive structure (Item 17).
Regarding claim 11, Kobayashi further teaches a third semiconductor structure (Item 15) located between the first semiconductor structure (Item 14) and the conductive structure (Item 17), the third semiconductor structure (Item 15) comprising a protruding portion (See Picture 2 below) extending towards the conductive structure (Item 17).
Regarding claim 13, Kobayashi further teaches an insulating structure (Item 16) located between the third semiconductor structure (Item 15) and the conductive structure (Item 17), the insulating structure (Item 16) comprising a second opening corresponding to the protruding portion.
Picture 2 (Labeled version of Kobayashi Fig. 1)
Regarding claim 14, Kobayashi further teaches where the first metal comprises tin.
Regarding claim 15, Fig. 1 of Kobayashi teaches a semiconductor device, comprising: a semiconductor stack comprising a first semiconductor structure (Item 14), a second semiconductor structure (Item 12) and an active region (Item 13) located between the first semiconductor structure (Item 14) and the second semiconductor structure (Item 12); a reflective structure (Item 29; Paragraph 0037 where AuSnNi is known to me reflective) located below the semiconductor stack, and comprising a first metal (Sn); and a conductive structure (Item 17) located between the semiconductor stack and the reflective structure (Item 29), and comprising a first region overlapping with the active region in a vertical direction; an insulating structure (Item 16) located between the semiconductor stack and the conductive structure (Item 17), and comprising a third region respectively corresponding to the first region.
Kobayashi does not teach a second region which does not overlap with the active region in the vertical direction.
Kim teaches a first region of a conductive structure (Item 35) which overlaps with an active region and a second region of a conductive structure (Item 35) which does not overlap with an active region.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a second region which does not overlap with the active region in the vertical direction because a semiconductor stack is centered on a support substrate during bonding and it allows for other structures such as contacts to be present on the support substrate surface (Kim Paragraph 0044).
When the second region is included, a fourth region will correspond to the second region.
Kobayashi does not teach where the second region and the fourth region comprise the first metal, and the first metal in the fourth region has a concentration smaller than 5 atomic percent.
However, Kobayashi further teaches where a barrier layer (Item 18) is present between the reflective layer (Item 29) and the conductive layer (Item 17).
While not explicitly stated in Kobayashi, one having ordinary skill in the art would understand the that barrier layer would prevent most but not all of a first element from diffusing from the reflective layer to the conductive layer and insulating layer. As such, with the barrier layer present one having ordinary skill in the art would understand that there would be a trace amount of the first metal in the conductive layer and insulating that is under 5 atomic percent.
Further, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have less than 5 atomic percent of the first metal be present in the second region and fourth region as the barrier layer is meant to prevent a large amount of the first metal from diffusing into the conductive layer and insulating layer.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi (US 2012/0220060) hereinafter “Kobayashi” in view of Kim et al. (US 2012/0119243) hereinafter “Kim” and in further view of Katkar et al. (US 2023/0132632) hereinafter “Katkar”.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Kobayashi and Kim teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention as stated above.
Kobayashi teaches where the barrier structure (Item 18) comprises a first side close to the reflective structure (Item 29) and a second side opposite to the first side.
Kobayashi does not explicitly teach the first metal has a first concentration at the first side and a second concentration at the second side, and the first concentration is larger than the second concentration.
However, Kobayashi teaches where subsequent annealing takes place after the formation of the reflective layer and the barrier layer.
Katkar teaches where an annealing process causes some materials of one layer to diffuse into an adjacent layer such that a gradient exists in the adjacent layer tailing away from the one layer (Paragraph 0039).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first metal have a first concentration at the first side and a second concentration at the second side, and the first concentration is larger than the second concentration because it is known that diffusion occurs during an anneal process such that a tailing away from the original layer occurs (Katkar Paragraph 0039).
Alternately, Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kazama (US 2013/0228744) hereinafter “Kazama” in view of Kobayashi (US 2012/0220060) hereinafter “Kobayashi”.
Regarding claim 15, Fig. 1 of Kazama teaches a semiconductor device, comprising: a semiconductor stack comprising a first semiconductor structure (Item 15), a second semiconductor structure (Item 12) and an active region (Item 14) located between the first semiconductor structure (Item 15) and the second semiconductor structure (Item 12); a reflective structure (Item 35; Paragraph 0065 where the material of the bonding layer is AuSnNi which is known to be a reflective material) located below the semiconductor stack, and comprising a first metal (Au); a conductive structure (Item 17; Paragraph 0101 where the material may be Al) located between the semiconductor stack and the reflective structure (Item 35), and comprising a first region (See Picture 1 below) overlapping with the active region (See Picture 1 below) in a vertical direction and a second region (See Picture 1 below) which does not overlap with the active region in the vertical direction; and an insulating structure (Item 16) located between the semiconductor stack and the conductive structure (Item 17), and comprising a third region and a fourth region respectively corresponding to the first region and the second region; wherein the second region and the fourth region comprise the first metal (Where some minor diffusion of Au would take place during subsequent annealing steps).
Kazama does not explicitly teach the first metal in the fourth region has a concentration smaller than 5 atomic percent.
Kobayashi teaches where a barrier layer (Item 18) is known to prevent diffusion between a reflective layer and surrounding layers (Paragraph 0029).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a barrier layer in the structure of Kazama such that the fourth region has a concentration smaller than 5 atomic percent because any mixing of the reflective layer with the surrounding layers may result in reduced luminance (Koabayashi Paragraph 0029).
Further, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have less than 5 atomic percent of the first metal be present in the second region as the barrier layer is meant to prevent a large amount of the first metal from diffusing into the conductive layer.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi (US 2012/0220060) hereinafter “Kobayashi” in view of Kim et al. (US 2012/0119243) hereinafter “Kim” and in further view of Tsai et al. (US 2015/0144980) hereinafter “Tsai”.
Regarding claim 20, Fig. 1 of Kobayashi teaches a semiconductor package structure, comprising: a package substrate (Item 22); a semiconductor device disposed on the package substrate (Item 22); where the semiconductor device comprises: a semiconductor stack comprising a first semiconductor structure (Item 14), a second semiconductor structure (Item 12) and an active region (Item 13) located between the first semiconductor structure (Item 14) and the second semiconductor structure (Item 12); a reflective structure (Item 29; Paragraph 0037 where AuSnNi is known to me reflective) located below the semiconductor stack, and comprising a first metal (Sn); and a conductive structure (Item 17) located between the semiconductor stack and the reflective structure (Item 29), and comprising a first region overlapping with the active region in a vertical direction
Kobayashi does not teach a second region which does not overlap with the active region in the vertical direction and comprises the first metal.
Kim teaches a first region of a conductive structure (Item 35) which overlaps with an active region and a second region of a conductive structure (Item 35) which does not overlap with an active region.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a second region which does not overlap with the active region in the vertical direction and comprises the first metal because a semiconductor stack is centered on a support substrate during bonding and it allows for other structures such as contacts to be present on the support substrate surface (Kim Paragraph 0044).
Kobayashi does not teach where the first metal in the second region has a concentration smaller than 5 atomic percent.
However, Kobayashi further teaches where a barrier layer (Item 18) is present between the reflective layer (Item 29) and the conductive layer (Item 17).
While not explicitly stated in Kobayashi, one having ordinary skill in the art would understand the that barrier layer would prevent most but not all of a first element from diffusing from the reflective layer to the conductive layer. As such, with the barrier layer present one having ordinary skill in the art would understand that there would be a trace amount of the first metal in the conductive layer that is under 5 atomic percent.
Further, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have less than 5 atomic percent of the first metal be present in the second region as the barrier layer is meant to prevent a large amount of the first metal from diffusing into the conductive layer.
Kobayashi does not teach an encapsulating structure covering the semiconductor device.
Tsai teaches where an encapsulating structure (Item 211) covers a semiconductor device.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have an encapsulating structure covering the semiconductor device because the encapsulating structure provides protection to the semiconductor device (Tsai Paragraph 0017).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 8, 9, 12 and 16-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 6, the prior art of record does not teach, suggest or motivate one having ordinary skill in the art to have the barrier structure comprise a first opening and the first opening width is smaller than that of the active region, along with the other limitations of claims 1 and 2.
Regarding claim 8, the prior art of record does not teach, suggest or motivate one having ordinary skill in the art to have the reflective structure have a width smaller than that of the base and larger than that of the active region along with all of the limitations of claims 1, 2 and 7.
Claim 9 is also indicated as containing allowable subject matter as it depend from and includes all of the limitations of claim 8.
Regarding claim 12, the prior art of record does not teach, suggest or motivate one having ordinary skill in the art to have the third semiconductor structure comprising a first layer and a second layer along with all of the limitations of claims 1 and 11.
Regarding claim 16, the prior art of record does not teach, suggest or motivate one having ordinary skill in the art to have a barrier layer structure located between the conductive structure and the insulating structure along with all of the limitations of claim 15.
Claims 17-19 are also indicated as containing allowable subject matter as they depend from and include all of the limitations of claim 16.
Conclusion
/ERIC K ASHBAHIAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2891