DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The terms “high” and “low” in claim 12 are relative terms which render the claim indefinite. The terms “high” and “low” are not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The indefinite limitation is the claimed selection condition for where the sensing reference signal configuration is transmitted, because claim 12 does not define what QoS parameter value or threshold makes the QoS high vs. low.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11 and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jiang et al. (US 2024/0155388 A1; hereinafter Jiang).
Regarding claims 1 and 14, Jiang teaches a network function (read as network device/base station) for wireless communication (¶ [0342] A procedure related to wireless sensing based on a sensing signal sent by a base station.; ¶ [0489] The network device includes an access and mobility function (AMF) entity or a sensing function entity.),
comprising:
at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured (read as program or instructions stored in the memory) to cause the network function to (¶ [0750] The network device includes a processor, a memory, and a program or instructions stored in the memory and capable of running the processor.):
receive a request to perform a sensing operation (¶ [0246] The application server sends the sensing requirement to a sensing network function entity.; ¶ [0247] Alternatively, the application server sends the sensing requirement to an AMF, and the AMF forwards the requirement to a sensing network function entity.; ¶ 0248] The sensing network function entity or the sensing network element in the core network exchanges target information (the target information includes processing a sensing request.),
wherein the request identifies a request type and comprises a sensing quality of service (QoS) (¶ [0164] Supporting a deferred sensing request.; ¶ [0165] Supporting a periodic or event-triggered sensing request.; ¶ [0250] A factor considered when the AMF selects the sensing network element includes at least one of the following: requested QoS (such as sensing accuracy, a response time, or a sensing QoS level.; Note: Instant application [0009] defines request type to include a deferred sensing request.);
determine a sensing mode for the sensing operation based on the request type (¶ [0169] Determining a sensing mode based on second information.; ¶ [0170] The second information includes type of sensing.; ¶ [0253] A manner of determining the configuration information of the sensing signal based on the sensing requirement (for example, determining bandwidth value of the sensing signal based on a sensing resolution requirement.);
transmit one or more sensing reference signal (read as sensing signal) configurations to one or more radio access nodes (RANs) (read as base station) (¶ [0200] A signal format of the sensing signal.; ¶ [0201] The signal format may be a sounding reference signal (SRS), a demodulation reference signal (DMRS), a positioning reference signal (PRS), or the like, or another predefined signal.; ¶ [0260] The core network (or the sensing network element) or base station A sends the configuration information of the sensing signal (including time-frequency information, sequence information, or the like) or the sensing requirements to base station B (a receiving base station.); ¶ [0276] Send configuration information of the sensing signals of the plurality of base stations to the corresponding plurality of base stations respectively.); and
receive, from the one or more RANs, sensing measurements based on the one or more RANs performing the sensing operations (¶ [0264] Base station B receives the sensing signal.; ¶ [0265] After receiving the sensing signal, base station B obtains a measurement value corresponding to the measurement quantity.; ¶ [0267] Base station B sends the measurement quantity to the core network (or the sensing network element).; ¶ [0607] Receiving a measurement quantity of the sensing signal and a measurement value.).
Regarding claims 2 and 15, Jiang teaches determine a sensing result based on the sensing measurements received from the one or more RANs (¶ [0609] After receiving the measurement quantity of the sensing signal and measurement value corresponding to the measurement quantity that are sent by the second network device or the first network device.; ¶ [0610] Determining the sensing result based on the measurement quantity and the measurement value corresponding to the measurement quantity.); and
transmit the determined sensing result to an entity that requested (read as sends a sensing requirement) the sensing operation (¶ [0308] UE sends a sensing requirement or configuration information of a sensing signal to an AMF.; ¶ [0330] Sends the sensing result to the UE.; ¶ [0611] Sending the sensing result to a terminal.).
Regarding claims 3 and 16, Jiang teaches wherein the request type includes:
a RAN induced sensing request (RI-SR) (¶ [0278] A core network (or a network management system or a base station) initiates a sensing service.);
an entity terminated sensing request (ET-SR) (¶ [0244] An application server receives a sensing requirement of a third-party application.; ¶ [0246] The application server sends the sensing requirement to a core network (for example, an AMF) or a sensing network function entity or a sensing network element in a core network.);
a mobile originated sensing request (MO-SR) (¶ [0306] UE initiates a sensing service.);
a network induced sensing request (NI-SR) (¶ [0278] A core network (or a network management system or a base station) initiates a sensing service.);
a deferred sensing request (¶ [0164] Supporting a deferred sensing request.);
a user equipment (UE) sensing request (UE-SR) (¶ [0306] UE initiates a sensing service.);
or combinations thereof (Note: MPEP 2143.03: When a claim requires selection of an element from a list of alternatives, the prior art teaches the element if one of the alternatives is taught by the prior art. See, e.g., Fresenius USA, Inc. v. Baxter Int’l, Inc., 582 F.3d 1288, 92 USPQ2d 1163, 1171 (Fed. Cir. 2009).).
Regarding claims 4 and 17, Jiang teaches wherein the RI-SR comprises sensing operations for RAN functions (¶ [0004] Sensing used to assist communication or enhance communication performance. For example, a base station provides more accurate beamforming and beam alignment by tracking a moving track of a device.; ¶ [0278] A core network (or a network management system or a base station) initiates a sensing service.; ¶ [0283] An AMF receives a sensing requirement or configuration information of a sensing signal, which is sent by a base station, and forwards the sensing requirement or the configuration information of the sensing signal to a sensing network element.).
Regarding claim 5, Jiang teaches wherein the sensing QoS comprises:
sensing accuracy (¶ [0250] Requested QoS (such as sensing accuracy).);
detection range resolution (¶ [0123] The sensing accuracy includes distance resolution.),
range accuracy (¶ [0123] The sensing error includes a distance error.),
direction or angle accuracy (¶ [0123] The sensing accuracy includes angle resolution.),
doppler resolution and accuracy (¶ [0123] The sensing error includes a moving speed error.; ¶ [0195] The burst duration is a time span of the sensing signal, and is mainly used for calculating a Doppler Shift.),
update rate (¶ [0197] This parameter is a timer interval between two adjacent sensing signals.),
beamwidth,
false alarm rate (¶ [0122] The sensing metric includes a false alarm probability.),
probability of detection (¶ [0122] The sensing metric includes a detection probability.),
clutter rejection metrics,
coverage area (¶ [0245] The target area may be a specified area.),
azimuth or elevation coverage,
sensing response time (¶ [0250] Requested QoS (such as a response time).),
sensing latency metrics (¶ [0122] The sensing metric includes sensing delay.),
sensing reliability metrics (¶ [0122] The sensing metric includes a detection probability and a false alarm probability.),
or combinations thereof (Note: MPEP 2143.03: When a claim requires selection of an element from a list of alternatives, the prior art teaches the element if one of the alternatives is taught by the prior art. See, e.g., Fresenius USA, Inc. v. Baxter Int’l, Inc., 582 F.3d 1288, 92 USPQ2d 1163, 1171 (Fed. Cir. 2009).).
Regarding claims 6 and 19, Jiang teaches wherein the network function includes a sensing management component (SMC) (¶ [0080] The third network device may alternatively be a sensing function entity, for example, a sensing network function entity or sensing network element.; ¶ [0158] The sensing function entity satisfies:; ¶ [0159] Managing overall coordination and scheduling of resource required for sensing.).
Regarding claim 7, Jiang teaches wherein the network function is a location management function (LMF) that manages requests to perform sensing operations (¶ [0116] The sensing requirement is associated with at least one of the following:; ¶ [0120] The sensing quantity includes but is not limited to at least one of a location of the sensing object, a distance of the sensing object, and/or a moving speed of the sensing object.).
Regarding claim 8, Jiang teaches wherein the network function is a RAN node performing sensing transmissions (read as sensing signal is sent) during the sensing operations (¶ [0184] The sensing function entity may be located on the core network side or the base station side. All procedures of the sensing service are completed in the network access network (RAN).; ¶ [0424] The sensing signal is sent by a network device.) and
exchanges information with a user equipment (UE) performing sensing reception during the sensing operations via UE-RAN signaling mechanisms (¶ [0077] The sensing signal is a sensing signal that a terminal needs to measure.; ¶ [0318] The UE recommends the configuration information of the sensing signal to the base station based on the sensing requirement, and the base station finally determines the configuration information of the sensing signal.; ¶ [0330] Sends the sensing result to the UE (by using NAS signaling).).
Regarding claim 9, Jiang teaches wherein the network function is a RAN node performing sensing transmissions during the sensing operations (¶ [0184] The sensing function entity may be located on the core network side or the base station side. All procedures of the sensing service are completed in the network access network (RAN).; ¶ [0424] The sensing signal is sent by a network device.) and
exchanges information with a different RAN node performing sensing reception during the sensing operations via RAN-RAN signaling mechanisms (¶ [0261] The core network (or the sensing network element) or base station A sends the measurement quantity related to the sensing signal that base station B needs to measure.; ¶ [0262] Base station A sends the sensing signal.; ¶ [0264] Base station B receives the sensing signal.).
Regarding claim 10, Jiang teaches transmit one or more sensing reference signal configurations to the one or more RANs via a message transfer function that supports capability exchange, transmission-reception point (TRP) (read as base station) information exchange, or sensing information exchange (¶ [0248] The sensing network function entity or the sensing network element in the core network exchanges target information (the target information includes exchanging a sensing capability). A base station may interact with another network element or function to obtain information about a base station that may require information exchange.; Note: MPEP 2143.03: When a claim requires selection of an element from a list of alternatives, the prior art teaches the element if one of the alternatives is taught by the prior art. See, e.g., Fresenius USA, Inc. v. Baxter Int’l, Inc., 582 F.3d 1288, 92 USPQ2d 1163, 1171 (Fed. Cir. 2009).).
Regarding claim 11, Jiang teaches wherein the network function is an access and mobility management function (AMF) (¶ [0080] A network device may be an access and mobility management function (AMF) entity.) and
selects a RAN node, from the one or more RANs, which includes a sensing management component (SMC) to manage requests to perform sensing operations (¶ [0158] The sensing function entity satisfies:; ¶ [0159] Managing overall coordination and scheduling of resource required for sensing.¶ [0248] The sensing network function exchanges target information with a serving base station.).
Regarding claim 13, Jiang teaches transmit the one or more sensing reference signal configurations to a RAN node and centralized network function of a core network (CN) (read as access and mobility function (AMF)) (¶ [0283] AMF receives sensing requirement or configuration information of a sensing signal, which is sent by a base station.; ¶ [0284] The sensing network function entity or the sensing network element sends the sensing requirement or the configuration information of the sensing signal to base station.).
Regarding claims 18 and 20, Jiang teaches a method performed by a network function (read as third network device/base station) (¶ [0342] A procedure related to wireless sensing based on a sensing signal sent by a base station.),
the method comprising:
receiving a request to perform a sensing operation (read as sensing requirement) from a radio access node (RAN) (read as base station/network device) (¶ [0248] The sensing network function entity or the sensing network element in the core network exchanges target information (the target information includes processing a sensing request) with a base station.; ¶ [0601] Receiving the sensing requirement from a network device.);
transmitting one or more sensing reference signal configurations to one or more RANs in response to the received request (¶ [0586] A third network device sends first sensing information to a first network device or a second network device, where the sensing information includes a sensing requirement and configuration information of a sensing signal.; ¶ [0591] A manner of determining the second configuration information of the sensing signal includes:; ¶ [0592] Determining the second configuration information of the sensing signal based on third information where.; ¶ [0593] The third information includes at least one of the following:; ¶ [0594] The first sensing requirement.); and
receiving, from the one or more RANs, sensing measurements based on the one or more RANs performing the sensing operations (¶ [0607] Receiving a measurement quantity of the sensing signal and a measurement value corresponding to the measurement quantity that are sent by the second network device or the first network device.; ¶ [0608] Receiving a sensing result that is of the sensing signal and that is sent by the second network device or the first network device.; ¶ [0610] The sensing result based on the measurement quantity and the measurement value.).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Duan et al. (WO 2025/054026 A1) discloses “Area-Specific On-Demand Sensing Reference Signal Configurations”
Lee (US 2025/0301286 A1) discloses “Sensing Method and Sensing Service Provisioning Method Using Integrated Sensing and Communication and Communication System Providing the Same”
Son et al. (US 2024/0221494 A1) discloses “Periodic Integrated Sensing with Mobility Support”
/D.M.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2464
/RICKY Q NGO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2464