Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I (claims 1-7 and 45-51), with traverse of groups III and IV in the reply filed on 23 June 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 8-44 and 52-54 are withdrawn.
Applicant argues that claims 17-23 (Group III) and claims 24-27 (Group IV) recite common inventive subject matter with the elected claims, namely a control unit for implementing drive or steering controls for an outdoor power equipment having multiple drive elements, and that examining them together with claims 1-7 and 45-51 would not be an undue burden. Applicant's arguments have been considered but are respectfully not persuasive. The inventions remain distinct as related subcombinations under MPEP § 806.05(d) because they do not overlap in scope and are separately usable. Group I requires a steering system comprising a first steerable wheel having zero caster trail (or, in claim 45, a symmetric first steerable element), one or more steering motor controllers that generate a first motor control signal based on a first steering output, and one or more steering motors that rotate the first steerable wheel to a first angle based on that motor control signal; neither Group III nor Group IV requires any of these limitations. Group III requires left and right drive elements driven independently of each other and a control unit that determines an estimated left drive element response and an estimated right drive element response and generates the left and right steering commands based at least in part on those estimated responses, which Groups I and IV do not require. Group IV requires generation of a left drive element command and a right drive element command each based on both the left control input and the right control input, and requires no steerable wheel, steering command, steering motor controller, or steering motor whatsoever. Each is also separately usable: the steering system of Group I is usable in an outdoor power equipment having a single drive element or drive elements that are not independently driven, while the drive control of Group IV is usable in an outdoor power equipment having no steerable wheel at all, such as a machine steered solely by differential speed of the left and right drive elements.
Applicant is reminded that restriction for examination purposes as indicated is proper because all the inventions listed in this action are independent or distinct for the reasons given above and there would be a serious search and/or examination burden if restriction were notrequired because one or more of the following reasons apply:
the inventions have acquired a separate status in the art in view of their different classification
the inventions have acquired a separate status in the art due to their recognized divergent subject matter
the inventions require a different field of search (e.g., searching different classes/subclasses and/or electronic resources, or employing different search strategies or search queries e.g., even within the same and/or overlapping subclasses)
the prior art applicable to one species/invention would likely not be applicable to another species/invention, and/or
the inventions are likely to raise different non-prior art issues under 35 U.S.C 112, 35 U.S.C 101, etc.
Claim Objections
Claims 3 and 47 are objected to because of the following informalities: claim 3 and 47 should be amended to recite “ and a second steering motor controller configured to” for consistency of claim language. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5 and 49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 5 is indefinite because of the recited limitation: the first instance of “the first target angle”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for such limitation in the claim.
Claim 49 is indefinite because of the recited limitation: the first instance of “the first target angle”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for such limitation in the claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “control unit” in claims 1-2, 5, 7, 45, 46, 49, and 51, “one or more steering motor controllers” in claims 1-4, and 45-48, and “first/second steering ... controller”s in claims 3 and 47.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 45-48, and 50 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haun (US 20160302356 A1) in view of Kageyama (US 20140008141 A1)
Regarding claim 1, Haun discloses an outdoor power equipment (See at least abstract, [0001-0006] This invention relates generally to grass mowing machines, and specifically to a zero turn mower steering system. Grass mowing machines known as zero turning radius (“ZTR”) mowers have at least one independently powered rear drive wheel on each side of a frame), comprising: a frame (See at least abstract, Fig. 1, [0011-0016] The ZTR mower may have a frame 106 supported on a forward end by front wheels 108, and a rear mounted engine 110 behind operator seat 112. The seat may be mounted over the frame for a seated operator to use left and right motion control levers or sticks 114.); one or more drive elements coupled to the frame (See at least abstract, [0011-0016] FIGS. 1-3 show one embodiment of zero turn mower steering system 100 on ZTR mower 102 having a pair of rear drive wheels 104 that are independently powered so that each rear drive wheel rotates independently of the other rear drive wheel. Each independent drive may include an integrated hydrostatic pump and motor unit 105 coupled to one of the rear drive wheels. Each motion control lever or stick may be mounted to the ZTR mower so that the lever may pivot forwardly to move a swash plate 115 in the hydrostatic pump in a first direction to cause a rear drive wheel to rotate forward); a control unit configured to generate a first steering output based at least in part on one or more control inputs (See at least abstract, [0006-0011], [0013-0018] Each position sensor provides a signal to an electronic controller based on the fore and aft position of the motion control lever. A pair of front wheels are independently pivoted to steering angles specified by the electronic controller corresponding to any difference between the fore and aft positions of the pair of motion control levers. In one embodiment, zero turn mower steering system 100 may include an electronic controller 118 having a microprocessor that uses the motion control lever position signals, or rear drive wheel angular velocities, to determine the appropriate steering angles (θL and θR) for each front wheel 108 of the mower. The controller may determine an appropriate steering angle of each front wheel that may be the same or different than the appropriate steering angle of the other front wheel. Electronic controller 118 may use the positions of the motion control levers or sticks, or the angular velocities (ωL and ωR) of the left and right rear drive wheels. The controller may determine the left front wheel steering angle as θL=arctangent c/(RL+a) and the right front wheel steering angle as θR=arctangent c/(RR+b)); and a steering system (See at least abstract, [0011-0015] FIGS. 1-3 show one embodiment of zero turn mower steering system 100 on ZTR mower 102 having a pair of rear drive wheels 104 that are independently powered so that each rear drive wheel rotates independently of the other rear drive wheel.), comprising: a first steerable wheel coupled to the frame (See at least abstract, Fig. 1-3, [0011-0014], [0017-0021] The ZTR mower may have a frame 106 supported on a forward end by front wheels 108. The mechanical linkage between the steering actuator 124 and front wheel may include first pulley or sprocket 130 mounted on the output shaft of the steering actuator, a toothed belt 132, and a second pulley or sprocket 134 mounted to fork 138 that supports a front wheel to pivot on vertical spindle 136. A second gear 144 mounted to fork 146 that supports the front wheel to pivot on vertical spindle 148); one or more steering motor controllers configured to receive the first steering output and to generate a first motor control signal based on the first steering output (See at least abstract, [0014-0020] As shown in FIG. 3, in one embodiment, the steering actuators 124 of the zero turn mower steering system may include electric steering motors 126. Mechanical linkages 128 may be provided between each steering actuator and a front wheel 108. For example, each steering angle controller 122 may provide electrical signals to an electric steering motor 126, and each electric steering motor may be connected to a front wheel by mechanical linkage 128. The controller of the zero turn mower steering system may provide electrical signals to a steering angle controller 122 and/or steering actuator 124 for each front wheel. Each vertical spindle 136 may be provided with a steering angle position sensor to provide feedback to steering angle controller 122 and/or electronic controller 118.); and one or more steering motors configured to rotate the first steerable wheel to a first angle based on the first motor control signal (See at least abstract, [0014-0020] As shown in FIG. 3, in one embodiment, the steering actuators 124 of the zero turn mower steering system may include electric steering motors 126. Mechanical linkages 128 may be provided between each steering actuator and a front wheel 108. For example, each steering angle controller 122 may provide electrical signals to an electric steering motor 126, and each electric steering motor may be connected to a front wheel by mechanical linkage 128. The controller of the zero turn mower steering system may provide electrical signals to a steering angle controller 122 and/or steering actuator 124 for each front wheel, to pivot the front wheel to a specified angular position and hold the front wheel in that position until the operator moves one or both motion control levers to different positions. As the controller causes each front wheel to turn to an appropriate steering angle, each front wheel may provide a holding force to the front of the ZTR mower to keep the ZTR mower moving straight across a slope or maneuver on the slope. The mechanical linkage between the steering actuator 124 and front wheel may include first pulley or sprocket 130 mounted on the output shaft of the steering actuator).
Haun does not explicitly disclose wherein the first steerable wheel has zero caster trail. However, Kageyama teaches wherein the first steerable wheel has zero caster trail (See at least abstract,[0104], [0113], [0139-0140], [0212] It is effective to set the caster trail equal to 0 mm and the scrub radius equal to or greater than 0 mm. The caster angle is set equal to a value close to zero, and the kingpin axis is so set that the caster trail approaches zero. The kingpin axis is set to pass through a point inside the tire ground contact surface of tire contact patch in the state in which the steering wheel 2 is at the neutral position, and the caster trail is set to lie inside the tire ground contact surface. The kingpin axis is so set that the caster angle is equal to 0 degree, the caster trail is equal to 0 mm, and the scrub radius is a positive scrub value greater than or equal to 0 mm. The steer operation is started by the suspension system in which the road surface contact point of the kingpin axis KS is set at the position of the center of the tire ground contract surface or patch and simultaneously the caster angle is set at zero). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified Haun to incorporate the teachings of Kageyama which teaches wherein the first steerable wheel has zero caster trail since they are directed to vehicle steering systems and incorporation of Kageyama would improve steering stability during direction changes and operation of steering systems.
Regarding claim 2, Haun discloses wherein the control unit is further configured to generate a second steering output based at least in part on the one or more control inputs (See at least abstract, [0006-0008], [0014-0018] A pair of front wheels are independently pivoted to steering angles specified by the electronic controller. The controller may determine an appropriate steering angle of each front wheel that may be the same or different than the appropriate steering angle of the other front wheel. The controller may determine the left front wheel steering angle as θL=arctangent c/(RL+a) and the right front wheel steering angle as θR=arctangent c/(RR+b)), wherein the steering system further comprises a second steerable wheel coupled to the frame (See at least abstract, Fig. 1, [0006-0011], A pair of front wheels are independently pivoted to steering angles specified by the electronic controller. The ZTR mower may have a frame 106 supported on a forward end by front wheels 108, and a rear mounted engine 110), wherein the one or more steering motor controllers are further configured to receive the second steering output and to generate a second motor control signal based on the second steering output (See at least abstract, [0013-0019] The controller of the zero turn mower steering system may provide electrical signals to a steering angle controller 122 and/or steering actuator 124 for each front wheel, to pivot the front wheel to a specified angular position and hold the front wheel in that position. As shown in FIG. 3, in one embodiment, the steering actuators 124 of the zero turn mower steering system may include electric steering motors 126. Mechanical linkages 128 may be provided between each steering actuator and a front wheel 108. For example, each steering angle controller 122 may provide electrical signals to an electric steering motor 126, and each electric steering motor may be connected to a front wheel by mechanical linkage 128. Each vertical spindle 136 may be provided with a steering angle position sensor to provide feedback to steering angle controller 122 and/or electronic controller 118), and wherein the one or more steering motors are further configured to rotate the second steerable wheel to a second angle based on the second motor control signal (See at least abstract, [0014-0019] As shown in FIG. 3, in one embodiment, the steering actuators 124 of the zero turn mower steering system may include electric steering motors 126. Mechanical linkages 128 may be provided between each steering actuator and a front wheel 108. For example, each steering angle controller 122 may provide electrical signals to an electric steering motor 126, and each electric steering motor may be connected to a front wheel by mechanical linkage 128. The motion control lever position signals, or rear drive wheel angular velocities, to determine the appropriate steering angles (θL and θR) for each front wheel 108 of the mower. The controller of the zero turn mower steering system may provide electrical signals to a steering angle controller 122 and/or steering actuator 124 for each front wheel, to pivot the front wheel to a specified angular position. The controller may determine an appropriate steering angle of each front wheel that may be the same or different than the appropriate steering angle of the other front wheel. As the controller causes each front wheel to turn to an appropriate steering angle, each front wheel may provide a holding force to the front of the ZTR mower to keep the ZTR mower moving straight across a slope or maneuver on the slope. The appropriate steering angle may be the angle that a front wheel's turning axis intersects the center point. The controller may determine the left front wheel steering angle as θL=arctangent c/(RL+a) and the right front wheel steering angle as θR=arctangent c/(RR+b). For example, each steering angle controller 122 may provide electrical signals to an electric steering motor 126, and each electric steering motor may be connected to a front wheel by mechanical linkage 128. Each vertical spindle 136 may be provided with a steering angle position sensor to provide feedback to steering angle controller 122 and/or electronic controller 118).
Haun does not explicitly disclose wherein the second steerable wheel has zero caster trail. However, Kageyama teaches wherein the second steerable wheel has zero caster trail (See at least abstract, [0098-0104], [0140-0147] As shown in FIGS. 2-4, the suspension apparatus or suspension system 1B supports wheels 17FR and 17FL attached to wheel hub mechanisms WH, and includes, on each of the right and left sides, an axle carrier 33 including an axis or shaft of the wheel (axle) 32 supporting the wheel 17FR or 17FL rotatably. The kingpin axis is so set that the caster angle is equal to 0 degree, the caster trail is equal to 0 mm, and the scrub radius is a positive scrub value greater than or equal to 0 mm. The caster angle is set equal to a value close to zero, and the kingpin axis is so set that the caster trail approaches zero. The tire ground contact surface or patch in the state of the steering wheel SW at the neutral position, and the caster trail is formed inside the tire ground contact surface or patch). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified Haun to incorporate the teachings of Kageyama which teaches wherein the second steerable wheel has zero caster trail since they are directed to vehicle steering systems and incorporation of Kageyama would improve steering stability during direction changes and operation of steering systems.
Regarding claim 3, Haun as modified by Kageyama discloses wherein the one or more steering motor controllers comprise a first steering motor controller configured to receive the first steering output and a second steering controller motor configured to receive the second steering output (See at least Haun abstract, Fig. 3 steering angle controllers 122, [0014-0019] The controller of the zero turn mower steering system may provide electrical signals to a steering angle controller 122 and/or steering actuator 124 for each front wheel. The controller may determine an appropriate steering angle of each front wheel that may be the same or different than the appropriate steering angle of the other front wheel. As the controller causes each front wheel to turn to an appropriate steering angle, each front wheel may provide a holding force to the front of the ZTR mower to keep the ZTR mower moving straight across a slope or maneuver on the slope. ZTR mower geometry shown in FIG. 2 and stored in memory, to determine the appropriate steering angles (θL and θR) for each front wheel. For example, each steering angle controller 122 may provide electrical signals to an electric steering motor 126, and each electric steering motor may be connected to a front wheel by mechanical linkage 128. A second pulley or sprocket 134 mounted to fork 138 that supports a front wheel to pivot on vertical spindle 136. Each vertical spindle 136 may be provided with a steering angle position sensor to provide feedback to steering angle controller 122 and/or electronic controller 118).
Regarding claim 4, Haun as modified by Kageyama discloses wherein the one or more steering motors comprise a first steering motor configured to rotate the first steerable wheel and a second steering motor configured to rotate the second steerable wheel (See at least Haun abstract, Fig. 3, [0014-0020] As shown in FIG. 3, in one embodiment, the steering actuators 124 of the zero turn mower steering system may include electric steering motors 126. Mechanical linkages 128 may be provided between each steering actuator and a front wheel 108. For example, each steering angle controller 122 may provide electrical signals to an electric steering motor 126, and each electric steering motor may be connected to a front wheel by mechanical linkage 128. Each vertical spindle 136 may be provided with a steering angle position sensor to provide feedback to steering angle controller 122 and/or electronic controller 118. The controller may determine the left front wheel steering angle as θL=arctangent c/(RL+a) and the right front wheel steering angle as θR=arctangent c/(RR+b). The mechanical linkages for each front wheel of the zero turn mower steering system may include a first gear 140 rotated by steering actuator 142, meshing with a second gear 144 mounted to fork 146 that supports the front wheel to pivot on vertical spindle 148.).
Regarding claim 6, Haun as modified by Kageyama discloses further comprising operator controls configured to receive the one or more control inputs (See at least Haun abstract, [0006], [0011-0013] A motion control lever position sensor is connected to each lever. The ZTR mower may have a frame 106 supported on a forward end by front wheels 108, and a rear mounted engine 110 behind operator seat 112. The seat may be mounted over the frame for a seated operator to use left and right motion control levers or sticks 114. The left and right motion control levers or sticks 114 are mounted on the ZTR mower and are pivotable between forward, neutral and reverse positions. Zero turn mower steering system 100 may include a position sensor 116 for each motion control lever or stick 114. The position sensors may be rotary potentiometers that provide signals that vary with the position of a sensor lever. Each of the left and right position sensors may provide an electrical signal based on the forward, neutral or reverse position of the motion control lever or stick).
Regarding claim 45, Haun discloses an outdoor power equipment (See at least abstract, [0001-0006] This invention relates generally to grass mowing machines, and specifically to a zero turn mower steering system. Grass mowing machines known as zero turning radius (“ZTR”) mowers have at least one independently powered rear drive wheel on each side of a frame), comprising: a frame (See at least abstract, Fig. 1, [0011-0016] The ZTR mower may have a frame 106 supported on a forward end by front wheels 108, and a rear mounted engine 110 behind operator seat 112. The seat may be mounted over the frame for a seated operator to use left and right motion control levers or sticks 114.); one or more drive elements coupled to the frame (See at least abstract, [0011-0016] FIGS. 1-3 show one embodiment of zero turn mower steering system 100 on ZTR mower 102 having a pair of rear drive wheels 104 that are independently powered so that each rear drive wheel rotates independently of the other rear drive wheel. Each independent drive may include an integrated hydrostatic pump and motor unit 105 coupled to one of the rear drive wheels. Each motion control lever or stick may be mounted to the ZTR mower so that the lever may pivot forwardly to move a swash plate 115 in the hydrostatic pump in a first direction to cause a rear drive wheel to rotate forward); a control unit configured to generate a first steering output based at least in part on one or more control inputs (See at least abstract, [0006-0011], [0013-0018] Each position sensor provides a signal to an electronic controller based on the fore and aft position of the motion control lever. A pair of front wheels are independently pivoted to steering angles specified by the electronic controller corresponding to any difference between the fore and aft positions of the pair of motion control levers. In one embodiment, zero turn mower steering system 100 may include an electronic controller 118 having a microprocessor that uses the motion control lever position signals, or rear drive wheel angular velocities, to determine the appropriate steering angles (θL and θR) for each front wheel 108 of the mower. The controller may determine an appropriate steering angle of each front wheel that may be the same or different than the appropriate steering angle of the other front wheel. Electronic controller 118 may use the positions of the motion control levers or sticks, or the angular velocities (ωL and ωR) of the left and right rear drive wheels. The controller may determine the left front wheel steering angle as θL=arctangent c/(RL+a) and the right front wheel steering angle as θR=arctangent c/(RR+b)); and a steering system (See at least abstract, [0011-0015] FIGS. 1-3 show one embodiment of zero turn mower steering system 100 on ZTR mower 102 having a pair of rear drive wheels 104 that are independently powered so that each rear drive wheel rotates independently of the other rear drive wheel), comprising: a first steerable element coupled to the frame (See at least abstract, Fig. 1-3, [0011-0014], [0017-0021] The ZTR mower may have a frame 106 supported on a forward end by front wheels 108. The mechanical linkage between the steering actuator 124 and front wheel may include first pulley or sprocket 130 mounted on the output shaft of the steering actuator, a toothed belt 132, and a second pulley or sprocket 134 mounted to fork 138 that supports a front wheel to pivot on vertical spindle 136. A second gear 144 mounted to fork 146 that supports the front wheel to pivot on vertical spindle 148); one or more steering motor controllers configured to receive the first steering output and to generate a first motor control signal based on the first steering output (See at least abstract, [0014-0020] As shown in FIG. 3, in one embodiment, the steering actuators 124 of the zero turn mower steering system may include electric steering motors 126. Mechanical linkages 128 may be provided between each steering actuator and a front wheel 108. For example, each steering angle controller 122 may provide electrical signals to an electric steering motor 126, and each electric steering motor may be connected to a front wheel by mechanical linkage 128. The controller of the zero turn mower steering system may provide electrical signals to a steering angle controller 122 and/or steering actuator 124 for each front wheel. Each vertical spindle 136 may be provided with a steering angle position sensor to provide feedback to steering angle controller 122 and/or electronic controller 118.); and one or more steering motors configured to rotate the first steerable element to a first angle based on the first motor control signal (See at least abstract, [0014-0020] As shown in FIG. 3, in one embodiment, the steering actuators 124 of the zero turn mower steering system may include electric steering motors 126. Mechanical linkages 128 may be provided between each steering actuator and a front wheel 108. For example, each steering angle controller 122 may provide electrical signals to an electric steering motor 126, and each electric steering motor may be connected to a front wheel by mechanical linkage 128. The controller of the zero turn mower steering system may provide electrical signals to a steering angle controller 122 and/or steering actuator 124 for each front wheel, to pivot the front wheel to a specified angular position and hold the front wheel in that position until the operator moves one or both motion control levers to different positions. As the controller causes each front wheel to turn to an appropriate steering angle, each front wheel may provide a holding force to the front of the ZTR mower to keep the ZTR mower moving straight across a slope or maneuver on the slope. The mechanical linkage between the steering actuator 124 and front wheel may include first pulley or sprocket 130 mounted on the output shaft of the steering actuator).
Haun does not explicitly disclose wherein the first steerable element is symmetric. However, Kageyama teaches wherein the first steerable element is symmetric (See at least abstract,[0104], [0113], [0127] [0139-0140], [0212] Moreover, the setting of the caster trail equal to 0 mm means the arrangement of setting the ground intersection point of kingpin axis KS at the tire ground contract center O of the tire ground contact surface (force application point), as shown a reference numeral 3 in FIG. 10 showing a relationship between the ground intersection point of kingpin axis KS and the side force. It is effective to set the caster trail equal to 0 mm and the scrub radius equal to or greater than 0 mm. The caster angle is set equal to a value close to zero, and the kingpin axis is so set that the caster trail approaches zero. The kingpin axis is set to pass through a point inside the tire ground contact surface of tire contact patch in the state in which the steering wheel 2 is at the neutral position, and the caster trail is set to lie inside the tire ground contact surface. The kingpin axis is so set that the caster angle is equal to 0 degree, the caster trail is equal to 0 mm, and the scrub radius is a positive scrub value greater than or equal to 0 mm. The steer operation is started by the suspension system in which the road surface contact point of the kingpin axis KS is set at the position of the center of the tire ground contract surface or patch and simultaneously the caster angle is set at zero). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified Haun to incorporate the teachings of Kageyama which teaches w wherein the first steerable element is symmetric since they are directed to vehicle steering systems and incorporation of Kageyama would improve steering stability during direction changes and operation of steering systems.
Regarding claim 46, Haun discloses wherein the control unit is further configured to generate a second steering output based at least in part on the one or more control inputs (See at least abstract, [0006-0008], [0014-0018] A pair of front wheels are independently pivoted to steering angles specified by the electronic controller. The controller may determine an appropriate steering angle of each front wheel that may be the same or different than the appropriate steering angle of the other front wheel. The controller may determine the left front wheel steering angle as θL=arctangent c/(RL+a) and the right front wheel steering angle as θR=arctangent c/(RR+b)), wherein the steering system further comprises a second steerable element coupled to the frame (See at least abstract, Fig. 1, [0006-0011], A pair of front wheels are independently pivoted to steering angles specified by the electronic controller. The ZTR mower may have a frame 106 supported on a forward end by front wheels 108, and a rear mounted engine 110), wherein the one or more steering motor controllers are further configured to receive the second steering output and to generate a second motor control signal based on the second steering output (See at least abstract, [0013-0019] The controller of the zero turn mower steering system may provide electrical signals to a steering angle controller 122 and/or steering actuator 124 for each front wheel, to pivot the front wheel to a specified angular position and hold the front wheel in that position. As shown in FIG. 3, in one embodiment, the steering actuators 124 of the zero turn mower steering system may include electric steering motors 126. Mechanical linkages 128 may be provided between each steering actuator and a front wheel 108. For example, each steering angle controller 122 may provide electrical signals to an electric steering motor 126, and each electric steering motor may be connected to a front wheel by mechanical linkage 128. Each vertical spindle 136 may be provided with a steering angle position sensor to provide feedback to steering angle controller 122 and/or electronic controller 118), and wherein the one or more steering motors are further configured to rotate the second steerable element to a second angle based on the second motor control signal (See at least abstract, [0014-0019] As shown in FIG. 3, in one embodiment, the steering actuators 124 of the zero turn mower steering system may include electric steering motors 126. Mechanical linkages 128 may be provided between each steering actuator and a front wheel 108. For example, each steering angle controller 122 may provide electrical signals to an electric steering motor 126, and each electric steering motor may be connected to a front wheel by mechanical linkage 128. The motion control lever position signals, or rear drive wheel angular velocities, to determine the appropriate steering angles (θL and θR) for each front wheel 108 of the mower. The controller of the zero turn mower steering system may provide electrical signals to a steering angle controller 122 and/or steering actuator 124 for each front wheel, to pivot the front wheel to a specified angular position. The controller may determine an appropriate steering angle of each front wheel that may be the same or different than the appropriate steering angle of the other front wheel. As the controller causes each front wheel to turn to an appropriate steering angle, each front wheel may provide a holding force to the front of the ZTR mower to keep the ZTR mower moving straight across a slope or maneuver on the slope. The appropriate steering angle may be the angle that a front wheel's turning axis intersects the center point. The controller may determine the left front wheel steering angle as θL=arctangent c/(RL+a) and the right front wheel steering angle as θR=arctangent c/(RR+b). For example, each steering angle controller 122 may provide electrical signals to an electric steering motor 126, and each electric steering motor may be connected to a front wheel by mechanical linkage 128. Each vertical spindle 136 may be provided with a steering angle position sensor to provide feedback to steering angle controller 122 and/or electronic controller 118).
Haun does not explicitly disclose wherein the second steerable element is symmetric. However Kageyama teaches wherein the second steerable element is symmetric (See at least abstract,[0104], [0113], [0127] [0139-0140], [0212] Moreover, the setting of the caster trail equal to 0 mm means the arrangement of setting the ground intersection point of kingpin axis KS at the tire ground contract center O of the tire ground contact surface (force application point), as shown a reference numeral 3 in FIG. 10 showing a relationship between the ground intersection point of kingpin axis KS and the side force. It is effective to set the caster trail equal to 0 mm and the scrub radius equal to or greater than 0 mm. The caster angle is set equal to a value close to zero, and the kingpin axis is so set that the caster trail approaches zero. The kingpin axis is set to pass through a point inside the tire ground contact surface of tire contact patch in the state in which the steering wheel 2 is at the neutral position, and the caster trail is set to lie inside the tire ground contact surface. The kingpin axis is so set that the caster angle is equal to 0 degree, the caster trail is equal to 0 mm, and the scrub radius is a positive scrub value greater than or equal to 0 mm. The steer operation is started by the suspension system in which the road surface contact point of the kingpin axis KS is set at the position of the center of the tire ground contract surface or patch and simultaneously the caster angle is set at zero). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified Haun to incorporate the teachings of Kageyama which teaches wherein the second steerable element is symmetric since they are directed to vehicle steering systems and incorporation of Kageyama would improve steering stability during direction changes and operation of steering systems.
Regarding claim 47, Haun as modified by Kageyama discloses wherein the one or more steering motor controllers comprise a first steering motor controller configured to receive the first steering output and a second steering controller motor configured to receive the second steering output. (See at least Haun abstract, Fig. 3 steering angle controllers 122, [0014-0019] The controller of the zero turn mower steering system may provide electrical signals to a steering angle controller 122 and/or steering actuator 124 for each front wheel. The controller may determine an appropriate steering angle of each front wheel that may be the same or different than the appropriate steering angle of the other front wheel. As the controller causes each front wheel to turn to an appropriate steering angle, each front wheel may provide a holding force to the front of the ZTR mower to keep the ZTR mower moving straight across a slope or maneuver on the slope. ZTR mower geometry shown in FIG. 2 and stored in memory, to determine the appropriate steering angles (θL and θR) for each front wheel. For example, each steering angle controller 122 may provide electrical signals to an electric steering motor 126, and each electric steering motor may be connected to a front wheel by mechanical linkage 128. A second pulley or sprocket 134 mounted to fork 138 that supports a front wheel to pivot on vertical spindle 136. Each vertical spindle 136 may be provided with a steering angle position sensor to provide feedback to steering angle controller 122 and/or electronic controller 118).
Regarding claim 48, Haun as modified by Kageyama discloses wherein the one or more steering motors comprise a first steering motor configured to rotate the first steerable element and a second steering motor configured to rotate the second steerable element (See at least Haun abstract, Fig. 3, [0014-0020] As shown in FIG. 3, in one embodiment, the steering actuators 124 of the zero turn mower steering system may include electric steering motors 126. Mechanical linkages 128 may be provided between each steering actuator and a front wheel 108. For example, each steering angle controller 122 may provide electrical signals to an electric steering motor 126, and each electric steering motor may be connected to a front wheel by mechanical linkage 128. Each vertical spindle 136 may be provided with a steering angle position sensor to provide feedback to steering angle controller 122 and/or electronic controller 118. The controller may determine the left front wheel steering angle as θL=arctangent c/(RL+a) and the right front wheel steering angle as θR=arctangent c/(RR+b). The mechanical linkages for each front wheel of the zero turn mower steering system may include a first gear 140 rotated by steering actuator 142, meshing with a second gear 144 mounted to fork 146 that supports the front wheel to pivot on vertical spindle 148.).
Regarding claim 50, Haun as modified by Kageyama discloses further comprising operator controls configured to receive the one or more control inputs(See at least Haun abstract, [0006], [0011-0013] A motion control lever position sensor is connected to each lever. The ZTR mower may have a frame 106 supported on a forward end by front wheels 108, and a rear mounted engine 110 behind operator seat 112. The seat may be mounted over the frame for a seated operator to use left and right motion control levers or sticks 114. The left and right motion control levers or sticks 114 are mounted on the ZTR mower and are pivotable between forward, neutral and reverse positions. Zero turn mower steering system 100 may include a position sensor 116 for each motion control lever or stick 114. The position sensors may be rotary potentiometers that provide signals that vary with the position of a sensor lever. Each of the left and right position sensors may provide an electrical signal based on the forward, neutral or reverse position of the motion control lever or stick).
Claim(s) 5 and 49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haun (US 20160302356 A1) in view of Kageyama (US 20140008141 A1), and further in view of Iwazawa (US 20170015533 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Haun as modified by Kageyama does not explicitly disclose wherein the first steerable wheel is at a first current angle, wherein the one or more control inputs are associated with a first commanded angle for the first steerable wheel, and wherein the control unit is further configured to: select the first commanded angle as the first angle when the first target angle is less than or equal to 90° away from the first current angle; and select the first commanded angle plus 180° as the first angle when the first target angle is greater than 90° away from the first current angle. However, Iwazawa teaches wherein the first steerable wheel is at a first current angle (See at least abstract, [0088-0096] When the carrier 4 is allowed to change its posture, the main-body-side controller 82 then grasps a current state of the carrier 4 and a current state of the crane main-body 3 (step S5). Specifically, as a current state of the carrier 4, the main-body-side controller 82 grasps a current steering angle of each of the wheel units 30 and an expansion/retraction state of the hydraulic cylinder of each of the jack units 33. The current steering angle of each of the wheel units 30 is detected by the steering-angle detecting section 40. Here, when determining that the value obtained by adding 90° to the current steering angle Y is greater than or equal to 360°, the main-body-side controller 82 determines whether the previously-calculated first target steering angle Y1 is greater than or equal to a value obtained by subtracting 90° from the current steering angle Y and less than 360° or is greater than or equal to 0° and less than or equal to a value obtained by subtracting 270° from the current steering angle Y (step S25). Examiner notes Y as the first current angle), wherein the one or more control inputs are associated with a first commanded angle for the first steerable wheel (See at least abstract, [0088-0096] Next, the main-body-side controller 82 derives a target steering angle of each of the wheel units 30 and determines a steering direction of each of the wheel units 30 such that each of the wheel units 30 is put in the traveling state corresponding to the swing state (swing-angle) of the upper swing body 7 (step S6). The specific process of deriving the target steering angle and determining the steering direction is shown in the flowcharts of FIGS. 12 to 14. When determining that the swing-angle X is greater than or equal to 0° and less than 180°, the main-body-side controller 82 calculates a first target steering angle Y1 and a second target steering angle Y2 as temporary target steering angles according to the following formulae (1) and (2) (step S22). Y 1=180°−X(1) Y 2=360°−X(2) Examiner notes Y1 as the commanded angle), and wherein the control unit is further configured to (See at least abstract, [0088-0092] Specifically, as a current state of the carrier 4, the main-body-side controller 82 grasps a current steering angle of each of the wheel units 30 and an expansion/retraction state of the hydraulic cylinder of each of the jack units 33.): select the first commanded angle as the first angle when the first target angle is less than or equal to 90° away from the first current angle (See at least abstract, [0094-0101] Then, when determining that the first target steering angle Y1 is greater than or equal to the value obtained by subtracting 90° from the current steering angle Y and less than the value obtained by adding 90° to the current steering angle Y, the main-body-side controller 82 finally determines that the first target steering angle Y1 is a target steering angle (step S34) Examiner notes that Y1 is selected when Y falls within the current steering angle 90); and select the first commanded angle plus 180° as the first angle when the first target angle is greater than 90° away from the first current angle (See at least abstract, [0093-0101] In addition, when determining in step S33 that the first target steering angle Y1 is not greater than or equal to the value obtained by subtracting 90° from the current steering angle Y and less than the value obtained by adding 90° to the current steering angle Y, the main-body-side controller 82 finally determines that the second target steering angle Y2 is a target steering angle (step S38). After that, the main-body-side controller 82 determines whether the second target steering angle Y2 is greater than the current steering angle Y (step S39). On the other hand, when determining in step S21 that the swing-angle X is not greater than or equal to 0° and less than 180°, the main-body-side controller 82 calculates a first target steering angle Y1 and a second target steering angle Y2 as temporary target steering angles according to the following formulae (3) and (4) (step S23). Y 1=360°−X (3)Y 2=540°−X(4). Examiner notes under formula 3 and 4, y2 – y1 = 180, so selecting y2 is selecting the commanded angle plus 180, and it occurs when y1 falls outside the 90° window about the current angle). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified Haun as modified by Kageyama to incorporate the teachings of Iwazawa which teaches wherein the first steerable wheel is at a first current angle, wherein the one or more control inputs are associated with a first commanded angle for the first steerable wheel, and wherein the control unit is further configured to: select the first commanded angle as the first angle when the first target angle is less than or equal to 90° away from the first current angle; and select the first commanded angle plus 180° as the first angle when the first target angle is greater than 90° away from the first current angle since they are directed to outdoor vehicle systems and incorporation of Iwazawa would improve steering response time and reduce unnecessary wheel rotation.
Regarding claim 49, Haun as modified by Kageyama does not explicitly disclose wherein the first steerable element is at a first current angle, wherein the one or more control inputs are associated with a first commanded angle for the first steerable element, and wherein the control unit is further configured to: select the first commanded angle as the first angle when the first target angle is less than or equal to 90° away from the first current angle; and select the first commanded angle plus 180° as the first angle when the first target angle is greater than 90° away from the first current angle. However, Iwazawa teaches wherein the first steerable element is at a first current angle(See at least abstract, [0088-0096] When the carrier 4 is allowed to change its posture, the main-body-side controller 82 then grasps a current state of the carrier 4 and a current state of the crane main-body 3 (step S5). Specifically, as a current state of the carrier 4, the main-body-side controller 82 grasps a current steering angle of each of the wheel units 30 and an expansion/retraction state of the hydraulic cylinder of each of the jack units 33. The current steering angle of each of the wheel units 30 is detected by the steering-angle detecting section 40. Here, when determining that the value obtained by adding 90° to the current steering angle Y is greater than or equal to 360°, the main-body-side controller 82 determines whether the previously-calculated first target steering angle Y1 is greater than or equal to a value obtained by subtracting 90° from the current steering angle Y and less than 360° or is greater than or equal to 0° and less than or equal to a value obtained by subtracting 270° from the current steering angle Y (step S25). Examiner notes Y as the first current angle), wherein the one or more control inputs are associated with a first commanded angle for the first steerable element(See at least abstract, [0088-0096] Next, the main-body-side controller 82 derives a target steering angle of each of the wheel units 30 and determines a steering direction of each of the wheel units 30 such that each of the wheel units 30 is put in the traveling state corresponding to the swing state (swing-angle) of the upper swing body 7 (step S6). The specific process of deriving the target steering angle and determining the steering direction is shown in the flowcharts of FIGS. 12 to 14. When determining that the swing-angle X is greater than or equal to 0° and less than 180°, the main-body-side controller 82 calculates a first target steering angle Y1 and a second target steering angle Y2 as temporary target steering angles according to the following formulae (1) and (2) (step S22). Y 1=180°−X(1) Y 2=360°−X(2) Examiner notes Y1 as the commanded angle), and wherein the control unit is further configured to(See at least abstract, [0088-0092] Specifically, as a current state of the carrier 4, the main-body-side controller 82 grasps a current steering angle of each of the wheel units 30 and an expansion/retraction state of the hydraulic cylinder of each of the jack units 33.): select the first commanded angle as the first angle when the first target angle is less than or equal to 90° away from the first current angle(See at least abstract, [0094-0101] Then, when determining that the first target steering angle Y1 is greater than or equal to the value obtained by subtracting 90° from the current steering angle Y and less than the value obtained by adding 90° to the current steering angle Y, the main-body-side controller 82 finally determines that the first target steering angle Y1 is a target steering angle (step S34) Examiner notes that Y1 is selected when Y falls within the current steering angle 90); and select the first commanded angle plus 180° as the first angle when the first target angle is greater than 90° away from the first current angle(See at least abstract, [0093-0101] In addition, when determining in step S33 that the first target steering angle Y1 is not greater than or equal to the value obtained by subtracting 90° from the current steering angle Y and less than the value obtained by adding 90° to the current steering angle Y, the main-body-side controller 82 finally determines that the second target steering angle Y2 is a target steering angle (step S38). After that, the main-body-side controller 82 determines whether the second target steering angle Y2 is greater than the current steering angle Y (step S39). On the other hand, when determining in step S21 that the swing-angle X is not greater than or equal to 0° and less than 180°, the main-body-side controller 82 calculates a first target steering angle Y1 and a second target steering angle Y2 as temporary target steering angles according to the following formulae (3) and (4) (step S23). Y 1=360°−X (3)Y 2=540°−X(4). Examiner notes under formula 3 and 4, y2 – y1 = 180, so selecting y2 is selecting the commanded angle plus 180, and it occurs when y1 falls outside the 90° window about the current angle). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified Haun as modified by Kageyama to incorporate the teachings of Iwazawa which teaches wherein the first steerable element is at a first current angle, wherein the one or more control inputs are associated with a first commanded angle for the first steerable element, and wherein the control unit is further configured to: select the first commanded angle as the first angle when the first target angle is less than or equal to 90° away from the first current angle; and select the first commanded angle plus 180° as the first angle when the first target angle is greater than 90° away from the first current angle since they are directed to outdoor vehicle systems and incorporation of Iwazawa would improve steering response time and reduce unnecessary wheel rotation.
Claim(s) 7 and 51 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haun (US 20160302356 A1) in view of Kageyama (US 20140008141 A1), and further in view of Zeiler (US 20200205338 A1)
Regarding claim 7, Haun as modified by Kageyama does not explicitly disclose wherein the control unit is further configured to generate the one or more control inputs in connection with one of an autonomous driving algorithm or a semi-autonomous driving algorithm. However, Zeiler teaches wherein the control unit is further configured to generate the one or more control inputs in connection with one of an autonomous driving algorithm or a semi-autonomous driving algorithm (See at least abstract, [0077-0080] [0088-0096] Unlike control handles 14 a, 14 b described above, control assembly 70 provides a steering wheel-like turning control for a zero turn radius lawnmower. As both the drive wheels and mower blades of zero turn radius lawnmower 10 may be electrically driven via dedicated motors, zero turn radius lawnmower 10 may include one or more controllers (not shown) for controlling the operation of some or all of the electronic components of the system. While the controller(s) may be configured to control the movements and operation of zero turn radius lawnmower 10 based on direct operator inputs, in accordance with another aspect of the disclosure, the controller(s) may be configured to allow for autonomous control of zero turn radius lawnmower 10. That is, based on a programmed path, programmed settings, a learned path, learned settings, sensed global position, and/or other factors, the controller(s) may autonomously control the path and mowing settings of zero turn radius lawnmower 10. Thus, zero turn radius lawnmower 10 may be controlled through direct operator input, through a combination of direct operator input and autonomous control, or through autonomous control only. As will be described further below, the operator may select the settings and/or path of the autonomous control via the digital display 48). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified Haun as modified by Kageyama to incorporate the teachings of Zeiler which teaches wherein the control unit is further configured to generate the one or more control inputs in connection with one of an autonomous driving algorithm or a semi-autonomous driving algorithm since they are directed to outdoor vehicle systems and incorporation of Zeiler would improve mowing efficiency through automated navigation and control.
Regarding claim 51, Haun as modified by Kageyama does not explicitly disclose wherein the control unit is further configured to generate the one or more control inputs in connection with one of an autonomous driving algorithm or a semi-autonomous driving algorithm. However, Zeiler teaches wherein the control unit is further configured to generate the one or more control inputs in connection with one of an autonomous driving algorithm or a semi-autonomous driving algorithm(See at least abstract, [0077-0080] [0088-0096] Unlike control handles 14 a, 14 b described above, control assembly 70 provides a steering wheel-like turning control for a zero turn radius lawnmower. As both the drive wheels and mower blades of zero turn radius lawnmower 10 may be electrically driven via dedicated motors, zero turn radius lawnmower 10 may include one or more controllers (not shown) for controlling the operation of some or all of the electronic components of the system. While the controller(s) may be configured to control the movements and operation of zero turn radius lawnmower 10 based on direct operator inputs, in accordance with another aspect of the disclosure, the controller(s) may be configured to allow for autonomous control of zero turn radius lawnmower 10. That is, based on a programmed path, programmed settings, a learned path, learned settings, sensed global position, and/or other factors, the controller(s) may autonomously control the path and mowing settings of zero turn radius lawnmower 10. Thus, zero turn radius lawnmower 10 may be controlled through direct operator input, through a combination of direct operator input and autonomous control, or through autonomous control only. As will be described further below, the operator may select the settings and/or path of the autonomous control via the digital display 48). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified Haun as modified by Kageyama to incorporate the teachings of Zeiler which teaches wherein the control unit is further configured to generate the one or more control inputs in connection with one of an autonomous driving algorithm or a semi-autonomous driving algorithm since they are directed to outdoor vehicle systems and incorporation of Zeiler would improve mowing efficiency through automated navigation and control.
Conclusion
/LABIBAH ILMA ALI/ Examiner, Art Unit 3667
/SAHAR MOTAZEDI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3667