DETAILED ACTION
The pending claims are claims 1-15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Menon, US 6010653
Regarding claim 1, Menon teaches an electrode slurry (col. 10, lines 38-45) comprising:
(a) 60 wt.% to 98 wt.% of an electrode active material (35-65 weight percent) (col. 8, lines 45-58),
(b) 0 wt.% to 20 wt.% of conductive carbon (“A graphite mixture is prepared separately by first adding 80 grams of graphite into 3.1 grams of carbon black”) (col. 10, lines 55-67 and col. 11, lines 1-2), and
(c) 1 wt.% to 20 wt.% of a plasticized binder (1-20 wt%) (col. 8, lines 45-58), wherein the wt.% is based on the total weight of the slurry, characterized in that,
the plasticized binder comprises: polyvinylidene fluoride (col. 3, lines 45-54) (PVDF; col. 7, lines 47-67); and a plasticizer selected from the group consisting of: glyme (col. 5, lines 4-7), tetraglyme (col. 6, lines 30-47), triglyme (col. 6, lines 30-47).
Regarding claim 2, Menon teaches wherein the plasticizer is present in an amount ranging between 1 wt.% to 50 wt.% (1-20 wt%) (col. 8, lines 45-58), based on the weight of polyvinylidene fluoride (col. 3, lines 45-54) (PVDF; col. 7, lines 47-67).
Regarding claim 3, Menon teaches wherein the plasticized binder is obtained by mixing polyvinylidene fluoride with the plasticizer(col. 3, lines 45-54) (PVDF; col. 7, lines 47-67).
Regarding claim 4, Menon teaches method for preparing the electrode slurry (col. 9, lines 30-50) as claimed in claim 1, the method comprising: mixing the electrode active material (col. 9, lines 30-50), conductive carbon, and plasticized binder (col. 9, lines 30-50), in presence of a solvent to obtain the electrode slurry (col. 9, lines 30-50).
Regarding claim 5, Menon teaches wherein the solvent is selected from the group consisting of: dimethyl sulfoxide (DMSO) (col. 6, lines 30-47).
Regarding claim 6, Menon teaches method for preparing an electrode by coating the electrode slurry of claim 1 on a current collector (col. 1, lines 54-65).
Regarding claim 7, Menon teaches wherein the current collector is subjected to drying at a temperature ranging between 50°C to 200°C (100 deg C to about 350 deg C) (col. 4, lines 62-67).
Regarding claim 8, Menon teaches an electrode obtained from the method as claimed in claim 6 (col. 2, lines 7-14).
Regarding claim 9, Menon teaches battery comprising the electrode of claim 8 (col. 7, lines 46-65).
Regarding claim 10, Menon teaches wherein the battery (col. 4, lines 17-22) is selected from a lithium-ion battery, a sodium ion battery, a potassium ion battery, zinc ion battery, aluminium ion battery, calcium ion battery, fluorine ion battery, an aqueous battery, and a primary battery (col. 7, lines 46-65).
Regarding claim 11, Menon teaches an electrochemical device (electrolyzer) (col. 1, lines 4-7; col. 3, lines 64-67) comprising the electrode of claim 8.
Regarding claim 12, Menon teaches fuel cell comprising the electrode of claim 8 (col. 2, lines 39-42).
Regarding claim 13, Menon teaches further comprising coating the electrode slurry on a current collector (col. 1, lines 54-65).
Regarding claim 14, Menon teaches electrolyzer as obtained from the method as claimed in claim 6 (col. 1, lines 4-7; col. 3, lines 64-67).
Regarding claim 15, Menon teaches an electrochemical cell as obtained from the method as claimed in claim 6 (col. 2, lines 39-42).
Thus, the claims are anticipated.
Conclusion
ANGELA J. MARTIN
Examiner
Art Unit 1727
/ANGELA J MARTIN/Examiner, Art Unit 1727