Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see 7-10, filed 2/12/2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 1, 9, and 15 under USC 102 (a)(2) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of US Patent Application Publication US-20160031233-A1 (hereinafter Ito).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vegh in view of Ito. Regarding claim 1, Vegh discloses a tensioning device comprising a base (200A and 200B) with one or more slots (Fig, 2B, No. 210), a tensioning roller engaged to the base and contacting a timing belt (Fig. 2D, No. 204), with a tensioning roller disposed through at least one slot (Fig. 2A, 201), a weldment configured to be attached to a conveyor device (Fig. 2A, 212), where the weldment defines a point where one or more tension forces on the timing belt can be measured (Fig. 3A, No. 302). However, Vegh does not disclose a tensioning device comprising a roller configured to contact the outer surface of a timing belt. Ito discloses a tensioning roller (Fig. 4, No. 31) configured to contact the outside of the timing belt (Fig. 4, No. 23).
Regarding claim 9, Vegh discloses a system comprising: a conveyor device (Fig. 2A) comprising: a frame (Fig. 2A, 200A); a track fixedly attached to the frame (Fig. 2A,. 120); one or more rollers configured to drive the track relative to the frame (Fig. 2B, 202B); and a timing belt (Fig. 2B, 214) operably engaged with the one or more rollers (Fig. 2B, No. 202B); and a tensioning device comprising: a base (200A and 200B), wherein the base defines one or more slots (Fig. 2B, No. 210); a tensioning roller operably engaged to the base and configured to contact the timing belt (Fig. 2D, No. 204) (but not its outer surface), wherein the tensioning roller is disposed through one of the one or more slots (Fig. 2A, No. 201); and a weldment configured to be attached to the conveyor device (Fig. 2A, No. 212), wherein the weldment defines a pivot point about which one or more tension forces acting on the timing belt may be measured (Fig. 3A, No. 302); wherein the tensioning device is operably engaged with the conveyor device such that the tensioning roller is operably engaged with the one or more rollers via the timing belt (Fig. 2A, Nos. 214, 202, and 204). Ito discloses a tensioning roller (Fig. 4, No. 31) configured to contact the outside of the timing belt (Fig. 4, No. 23).
Regarding claim 15, Vegh discloses method for tensioning a timing belt, the method comprising: operably engaging a measurement device with a weldment of a base of a tensioning device (Fig. 3A, No. 302); measuring, by the measurement device, a torque of the timing belt of a conveyor device (¶0065); and adjusting the tension of the timing belt based on the measured torque (¶0065). However, Vegh does not disclose a method wherein the tensioning device comprises a tensioning roller configured to contact an outer surface of the timing belt. Ito discloses a tensioning roller (Fig. 4, No. 31) configured to contact the outside of the timing belt (Fig. 4, No. 23).
Regarding claim 8, Vegh and Ito disclose the tensioning device of claim 1. Vegh further discloses wherein the tensioning roller comprises a tensioning shaft (Fig. 2B, No. 205), and wherein the conveyor device further comprises one or more rollers (Fig. 2B, No. 202B) and one or more motors configured to drive the one or more rollers (Fig. 2B, No. 202B and Fig. 2C No. 250), and wherein at least one of the one or more motors is configured to drive the tensioning shaft of the tensioning roller (Fig. 2C).
Regarding claim 16, Vegh and Ito disclose the tensioning device of claim 1. Vegh further discloses wherein the weldment is configured to be inserted into a frame of the conveyor device to define the pivot point (Fig. 2B, No. 212).
Regarding claim 17, Vegh and Ito disclose the tensioning device of claim 8. Further wherein the tensioning roller is configured to contact the outer surface of the timing belt, wherein the outer surface of the timing belt is a substantially flat surface and a toothed inner surface of the timing belt is coupled to the one or more rollers.
Regarding claim 18, Vegh and Ito disclose the tensioning device of claim 9. Vegh further discloses wherein the weldment is configured to be inserted into a frame of the conveyor device to define the pivot point (Fig. 2B, No. 212).
Regarding claim 19, Vegh and Ito disclose the tensioning device of claim 9. Vegh discloses further wherein the tensioning device is aligned with the frame of the conveyor device (Fig 2B).
Regarding claim 20, Vegh and Ito disclose the tensioning device of claim 9. Vegh further discloses wherein the outer surface of the timing belt is a substantially flat surface and a toothed inner surface of the timing belt is coupled to the one or more rollers (Fig. 2B, Nos. 214A and 202).
Regarding claim 21, Vegh and Ito disclose the tensioning device of claim 14. wherein the tensioning roller comprises a tensioning shaft (Fig. 2B, No. 205), and wherein at least one of the one or more motors is configured to drive the tensioning shaft of the tensioning roller (Fig. 2C No. 250).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the tensioner of Vegh with the tensioner roller configured like Ito. The motivation would be adaptability and expected outcome. It would give the user more options on how the tensioner could be implemented. Also, belts can be tensioned by tensioner rollers contacting either the inner or outer surfaces.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL.
Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AMARI J MEDDLING/ Examiner, Art Unit 3651
/GENE O CRAWFORD/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3651