Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/18/2025 and was filed after the mailing date of the 06/07/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 9-16, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by WO 2024099606 A1 (“Taghizadeh”).
Regarding claim 1, A network entity for wireless communication, comprising: at least one memory (Taghizadeh, Fig. 13, Ref. 1304) ; and at least one processor (Taghizadeh, Fig. 13, Ref. 1302) coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the network entity to:
receive, from a core network (CN), an initial request to perform sensing operations;
Taghizadeh [0080] At step S701 , the sensing controller entity receiving from a first entity a request to perform a sensing task. The first entity may be any network node or device which either belongs to a customer or which has received instruction from a custom, or is another network entity requiring a sensing service.
Taghizadeh [0186] In an embodiment, the network entity comprises one or more of: a base station, a core network entity.
select, in response to the request to perform sensing operations, one or more radio access nodes (RANs) to perform sensing reference signal transmission or sensing reference signal reception and measurement associated with the requested sensing operations;
Taghizadeh [0081] In response to the request, the sensing controller entity selects, at step S702, a first set of sensing nodes to perform the sensing task. The selection comprises selection of transmitting sensing nodes and receiving sensing nodes to form a first set of sensing nodes.
Taghizadeh [0093] After receipt of a request to implement a sensing task (not shown in Figure 8), the Sensing Controller Entity selects the sensing Tx and sensing Rx nodes, and configures the sensing signal transmission of the sensing Tx nodes wherein the said sensing signal may be a sensing-dedicated RS, a CSI-RS, PRS, DMRS, or a physical data/control channel. The Sensing Controller Entity configures the sensing reception and measurement of the sensing Rx nodes, and sensing measurement reporting of the sensing Rx nodes.
Taghizadeh [0186] In an embodiment, the network entity comprises one or more of: a base station, a core network entity or a user equipment, UE, and the at least one sensing node is one or a UE, a radio access network, RAN, node or a non-3GPP sensor.
and transmit a sensing reference signal transmission characteristic request to the selected one or more RANs.
Taghizadeh [0082] Once the first set of sensing nodes has been selected, at step S703, the sensing controller entity instigates the configuration of the one or more sensing nodes to perform the sensing task. The sensing controller entity sends configuration information (sensing reference signal transmission characteristic request) to each node such that the nodes are configured to provide transmission of at least one sensing signal and/or reception of at least one sensing signal (configuration information to provide transmission of at least one sensing signal = transmit a sensing reference signal transmission characteristic request)
Taghizadeh [0093] After receipt of a request to implement a sensing task (not shown in Figure 8), the Sensing Controller Entity selects the sensing Tx and sensing Rx nodes, and configures the sensing signal transmission of the sensing Tx nodes wherein the said sensing signal may be a sensing-dedicated RS, a CSI-RS, PRS, DMRS, or a physical data/control channel.
Regarding claim 2, The network entity of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor (Taghizadeh, Fig. 13, Ref. 1302) is further configured to: receive, from the selected one or more RANs, a sensing reference signal transmission characteristic response.
Taghizadeh [0097] In some embodiments, the selection and/or configuration may include a set of time/frequency resources for transmission of the said report, the data type/format for transmission of the said report, a criteria for transmission of the said report (when an object is detected, or when the sensor value/magnitude has changed or fallen below/above a threshold), the contextual information to be transmitted by the sensor (sensing technique) to the Sensing Controller Entity ( the contextual information to be transmitted to the Sensor Controller= a sensing reference signal transmission characteristic response)
Regarding claim 3, The network entity of claim 1, wherein the one or more RANs include base stations or transmission-reception points (TRPs).
Taghizadeh [0059]; A sensing node may be both a Tx node and an Rx node at the same time. When reference is made to a sensing node, it may be a Tx node, an Rx node or a node performing both transmission and reception. Sensing nodes may be any network node, including base stations (for example a gNB), user equipments and non-3GPP sensing devices.
Taghizadeh [0140] In some embodiments, one node (e.g., a UE, a TRP) may belong to one sensing configuration group or no sensing configuration group at the same time.
Regarding claim 5, The network entity of claim 1, wherein the one or more RANs include a centralized NG-RAN logical node, a logical node within a split base station, or a logical function of a base station.
Taghizadeh [0067] The sensing controller entity (otherwise referred to herein as a network entity) is provided to handle the process of selecting and deselecting sensing nodes. The sensing controller entity (SenseMF) is a logical network function located at a network entity, wherein the network entity may be a single node, such as a base station, a core network node or a user equipment, or the logical network function may be distributed over a number of network nodes.
Regarding claim6, The network entity of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor (Taghizadeh, Fig. 13, Ref. 1302) is further configured to receive the initial request to perform sensing operations from the CN via a sensing interface between the CN and the network entity that is dedicated to sensing operation transmissions and receptions.
Taghizadeh [0080] At step S701 , the sensing controller entity receiving from a first entity a request to perform a sensing task (sensing interface). The first entity may be any network node or device which either belongs to a customer or which has received instruction from a custom, or is another network entity requiring a sensing service.
Taghizadeh [0050] An NE 102 may support communications with the CN 106, or with another NE 102, or both. For example, an NE 102 may interface with other NE 102 or the CN 106 through one or more backhaul links (e.g., S1 , N2, N2, or network interface).
Taghizadeh [0187] The NE 400 may act as a sensing controller entity and be configured to support a means for configuring at least one sensing node to perform a sensing task to sense a target in an environment of the at least one sensing node by way of (i) transmission from the at least one sensing node of at least one sensing signal and (ii) reception at the at least one sensing node of at least one sensing signal;
Regarding claim 7, The network entity of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor (Taghizadeh, Fig. 13, Ref. 1302) is further configured to transmit the sensing reference signal transmission characteristic request to the selected one or more RANs via a sensing interface between the network entity and the selected one or more RANs that is dedicated to sensing operation transmissions and receptions.
Taghizadeh [0082] Once the first set of sensing nodes has been selected, at step S703, the sensing controller entity instigates the configuration of the one or more sensing nodes to perform the sensing task. The sensing controller entity sends configuration information to each node such that the nodes are configured to provide transmission of at least one sensing signal and/or reception of at least one sensing signal.
Taghizadeh [0093] After receipt of a request to implement a sensing task (not shown in Figure 8), the Sensing Controller Entity selects the sensing Tx and sensing Rx nodes, and configures the sensing signal transmission of the sensing Tx nodes wherein the said sensing signal may be a sensing-dedicated RS, a CSI-RS, PRS, DMRS, or a physical data/control channel.
Taghizadeh Fig. 4 [0063]; Figure 4 is a signaling diagram illustrating the interaction, 400, of network nodes during a sensing task. A sensing controller entity, 410, provides configuration information, 420, to enable the configuration of the sensing nodes 408a, 408b. Sensing measurements, 430, are taken between the sensing nodes, which are then reported, 440, to the sensing controller entity, 410.
Taghizadeh [0064] A sensing service may need to: (i) select a certain combination of Sensing Tx and Sensing Rx nodes that can cover the desired sensing area of interest for the given sensing targets, and (ii) configure the RAN optimization parameters related to the selected Sensing Tx and Sensing Rx nodes, which may include the allocation of time/frequency resources, defining the sensing signals (e.g., RS parameters), beam, L1 measurement types etc (sensing interface between the network entity and the selected one or more RANs)
Taghizadeh [0050] An NE 102 may support communications with the CN 106, or with another NE 102, or both. For example, an NE 102 may interface with other NE 102 (the logical network function may be distributed over a number of network nodes= one or more RANs)
or the CN 106 through one or more backhaul links (e.g., S1 , N2, N2, or network interface).
Taghizadeh [0067]; The sensing controller entity (SenseMF) is a logical network function located at a network entity, wherein the network entity may be a single node, such as a base station, a core network node or a user equipment, or the logical network function may be distributed over a number of network nodes.
Regarding claim 9, The network entity of claim 1, wherein the initial sensing request comprises one or more parameters, including: sensing type or sensing purpose; sensing quality of service (QoS); sensing area; and combinations thereof.
Taghizadeh [0080] At step S701 , the sensing controller entity receiving from a first entity a request to perform a sensing task (sensing purpose).
Taghizadeh [0081] In response to the request, the sensing controller entity selects, at step S702, a first set of sensing nodes to perform the sensing task. The selection comprises selection of transmitting sensing nodes and receiving sensing nodes to form a first set of sensing nodes.
Regarding claim 10, The network entity of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: discover the one or more RANs in response to receiving the initial request to perform sensing operations.
Taghizadeh [0081] In response to the request, the sensing controller entity selects, at step S702, a first set of sensing nodes to perform the sensing task. The selection comprises selection of transmitting sensing nodes and receiving sensing nodes to form a first set of sensing nodes.
Taghizadeh [0096] In some embodiments, the selection and/or configuration of the sensing nodes by the Sensing Controller Entity may include selection or discovery of non-3GPP sensors, based on their known or pre-configured sensing capability information
Regarding claim 11, The network entity of claim 1, wherein the sensing reference signal transmission characteristic request includes one or more parameters associated with transmission characteristics of the sensing reference signal.
Taghizadeh [0082] Once the first set of sensing nodes has been selected, at step S703, the sensing controller entity instigates the configuration of the one or more sensing nodes to perform the sensing task. The sensing controller entity sends configuration information to each node such that the nodes are configured to provide transmission of at least one sensing signal and/or reception of at least one sensing signal.
Taghizadeh [0093] After receipt of a request to implement a sensing task (not shown in Figure 8), the Sensing Controller Entity selects the sensing Tx and sensing Rx nodes, and configures the sensing signal transmission of the sensing Tx nodes wherein the said sensing signal may be a sensing-dedicated RS, a CSI-RS, PRS, DMRS, or a physical data/control channel.
Regarding claim 12, The network entity of claim 11, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: receive, from the selected one or more RANs, a sensing reference signal transmission characteristic response that includes one or more of the parameters in the sensing reference signal transmission characteristic request.
Taghizadeh [0097] In some embodiments, the selection and/or configuration may include a set of time/frequency resources (one or more parameters) for transmission of the said report, the data type/format for transmission of the said report, a criteria for transmission of the said report (when an object is detected, or when the sensor value/magnitude has changed or fallen below/above a threshold), the contextual information to be transmitted by the sensor to the Sensing Controller Entity ( the contextual information to be transmitted to the Sensor Controller= a sensing reference signal transmission characteristic response)
Taghizadeh [0016] In an embodiment, the network entity is further configured to provide configuration information (in the sensing reference signal transmission characteristic request.
) for the at least one sensing node comprising one or more of: (i) timing requirements for reporting of the incapability indicator or the capability indicator;
(ii) time and/or frequency resources (one or more parameter) for transmitting the incapability and/or capability indicator;
Regarding claim 13, The network entity of claim 1, wherein the sensing reference signal transmission characteristic request includes a request to perform one or more sensing measurements using a specific sensing technique.
Taghizadeh [0122] The Sensing Controller Entity identifies new Sensing Rx nodes and requests/configures or adjusts the configuration of the identified Sensing Rx nodes to perform sensing measurements.
Taghizadeh [0094] In some embodiments, as part of the sensing measurement reporting or as a separate report configuration, the Sensing Controller Entity may select reporting configurations or configure the Sensing Rx and/or sensing Tx nodes with specific measurement types, reporting type and/or reporting occasions regarding the sensing node handover.
Regarding claim 14, The network entity of claim 13, wherein the at least one processor (Taghizadeh, Fig. 13, Ref. 1302) is further configured to: receive, from the selected one or more RANs, a sensing reference signal transmission characteristic response that includes a report of one or more sensing measurements using the configured sensing technique.
Taghizadeh [0097] In some embodiments, the selection and/or configuration may include a set of time/frequency resources for transmission of the said report, the data type/format for transmission of the said report, a criteria for transmission of the said report (when an object is detected, or when the sensor value/magnitude has changed or fallen below/above a threshold), the contextual information to be transmitted by the sensor (sensing technique) to the Sensing Controller Entity ( the contextual information to be transmitted to the Sensor Controller= a sensing reference signal transmission characteristic response)
In an embodiment, the non-3GPP (and/or 3GPP sensing measurement) reporting further consists of contextual information of a sensing information/data within a report and/or associated to a sensing task.
Regarding claim 15, The network entity of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor (Taghizadeh, Fig. 13, Ref. 1302) is further configured to: receive, from the selected one or more RANs, a sensing reference signal transmission characteristic response that includes a sensing result report that identifies:
Taghizadeh [0097] In some embodiments, the selection and/or configuration may include a set of time/frequency resources for transmission of the said report, the data type/format for transmission of the said report, a criteria for transmission of the said report (when an object is detected, or when the sensor value/magnitude has changed or fallen below/above a threshold), the contextual information to be transmitted by the sensor (sensing technique) to the Sensing Controller Entity ( the contextual information to be transmitted to the Sensor Controller= a sensing reference signal transmission characteristic response)
In an embodiment, the non-3GPP (and/or 3GPP sensing measurement) reporting further consists of contextual information of a sensing information/data within a report and/or associated to a sensing task.
object range information for the sensing operation, object doppler data for the sensing operation, signal amplitude information for the sensing operation, object location or position information for the sensing operation, object presence detection information as an outcome of the sensing operation, object shape information for objects detected during the sensing operation, object material information for objects detected during the sensing operation, and combinations thereof.
Taghizadeh [0118] In an embodiment, a Sensing Rx node is indicated to report to the Sensing Controller Entity if the sum RSRPP of the paths associated to the configured sensing task (e.g., according to a permissibility condition of an azimuth and elevation angular range and a Doppler shift range) divided by the sum RSRPP of the paths fulfilling a second permissibility condition (e.g., all paths, or paths within a wider angular range) falls below an indicated threshold, and remains below the threshold for 50 msecs. The person skilled in the art will appreciate that this figure represents just one option and the invention is not limited to any specific time interval.
Taghizadeh [0119]; In an embodiment, a Sensing Rx node indicates to the Sensing Controller Entity that the sensing measurement may not be feasible due to the expected object distance from the Sensing Rx node location and/or the observed degrading RSRPP of the path associated to the sensing target area.
Taghizadeh [0122]; In some embodiments, the newly-selected/candidate Sensing Rx nodes may indicate their sensing measurement capability, 960, to the Sensing Controller Entity and/or issue a response (positive/negative/negative with reasons) regarding the acceptance of the sensing measurements configurations. In some embodiments, the configuration of the sensing Rx nodes, includes: a. All or subset of the measurements of the previous/other Sensing Rx nodes. b. The current target object or location area and the expected movement pattern/velocity/direction of the sensing target object or target area.
Taghizadeh [0097]; In some embodiments, the contextual information comprises a timing information (indication of start and stop of a reported measurement, time instance/stamp of a reported sensing measurement, sampling rate of a reported measurement etc.), spatial information (e.g., from which angle a sensing target is observed via a camera image (object shape information and object material information), relative ambient light, received to the sensor from sources other than the sensing target, etc.), a threshold and/or an event ID/description according to which the sensing information is reported to the Sensing Controller Entity.
Regarding claim 16, A method performed by a network entity, the method comprising: receiving, from a core network (CN), an initial request to perform sensing operations;
Taghizadeh [0080] At step S701 , the sensing controller entity receiving from a first entity a request to perform a sensing task. The first entity may be any network node or device which either belongs to a customer or which has received instruction from a custom, or is another network entity requiring a sensing service.
Taghizadeh [0186] In an embodiment, the network entity comprises one or more of: a base station, a core network entity.
Selecting, in response to the request to perform sensing operations, one or more radio access nodes (RANs) to perform sensing reference signal transmission or sensing reference signal reception and measurement associated with the requested sensing operations;
Taghizadeh [0081] In response to the request, the sensing controller entity selects, at step S702, a first set of sensing nodes to perform the sensing task. The selection comprises selection of transmitting sensing nodes and receiving sensing nodes to form a first set of sensing nodes.
Taghizadeh [0093] After receipt of a request to implement a sensing task (not shown in Figure 8), the Sensing Controller Entity selects the sensing Tx and sensing Rx nodes, and configures the sensing signal transmission of the sensing Tx nodes wherein the said sensing signal may be a sensing-dedicated RS, a CSI-RS, PRS, DMRS, or a physical data/control channel. The Sensing Controller Entity configures the sensing reception and measurement of the sensing Rx nodes, and sensing measurement reporting of the sensing Rx nodes.
Taghizadeh [0186] In an embodiment, the network entity comprises one or more of: a base station, a core network entity or a user equipment, UE, and the at least one sensing node is one or a UE, a radio access network, RAN, node or a non-3GPP sensor.
and transmitting a sensing reference signal transmission characteristic request to the selected one or more RANs.
Taghizadeh [0082] Once the first set of sensing nodes has been selected, at step S703, the sensing controller entity instigates the configuration of the one or more sensing nodes to perform the sensing task. The sensing controller entity sends configuration information (sensing reference signal transmission characteristic request) to each node such that the nodes are configured to provide transmission of at least one sensing signal and/or reception of at least one sensing signal (configuration information to provide transmission of at least one sensing signal = transmit a sensing reference signal transmission characteristic request)
Taghizadeh [0093] After receipt of a request to implement a sensing task (not shown in Figure 8), the Sensing Controller Entity selects the sensing Tx and sensing Rx nodes, and configures the sensing signal transmission of the sensing Tx nodes wherein the said sensing signal may be a sensing-dedicated RS, a CSI-RS, PRS, DMRS, or a physical data/control channel.
Regarding claim 18, A user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor (Taghizadeh, Fig. 11, Ref. 1102)coupled with the at least one memory (Taghizadeh, Fig. 11, Ref. 1104)and configured to cause the UE to: receive, from a core network (CN), an initial request to perform sensing operations;
Taghizadeh [0080] At step S701 , the sensing controller entity receiving from a first entity a request to perform a sensing task. The first entity may be any network node or device which either belongs to a customer or which has received instruction from a custom, or is another network entity requiring a sensing service.
[0186] In an embodiment, the network entity comprises one or more of: a base station, a core network entity.
Taghizadeh [0067] The sensing controller entity (otherwise referred to herein as a network entity) is provided to handle the process of selecting and deselecting sensing nodes. The sensing controller entity (SenseMF) is a logical network function located at a network entity, wherein the network entity may be a single node, such as a base station, a core network node or a user equipment, or the logical network function may be distributed over a number of network nodes.
discover one or more UEs capable of performing the sensing operation;
Taghizadeh [0101] In some embodiment, prior to the exposure of the said UE to the service consumer, the sensing controller sends a query message to the discovered candidate UE (wherein an initial set of candidate UEs for discovery to the sensing consumer have been obtained by the sensing controller entity based on the service consumer request and the therein embedded sensor description), wherein the said query may indicate the type of the requested capability.
and transmit a sensing reference signal transmission characteristic request to the discovered one or more UEs.
Taghizadeh [0082] Once the first set of sensing nodes has been selected, at step S703, the sensing controller entity instigates the configuration of the one or more sensing nodes to perform the sensing task. The sensing controller entity sends configuration information (sensing reference signal transmission characteristic request) to each node such that the nodes are configured to provide transmission of at least one sensing signal and/or reception of at least one sensing signal.
Taghizadeh [0140] In some embodiments, one node (e.g., a UE, a TRP) may belong to one sensing configuration group or no sensing configuration group at the same time.
Taghizadeh [0093] After receipt of a request to implement a sensing task (not shown in Figure 8), the Sensing Controller Entity selects the sensing Tx and sensing Rx nodes, and configures the sensing signal transmission of the sensing Tx nodes wherein the said sensing signal may be a sensing-dedicated RS.
Regarding claim 20, A processor for wireless communication, comprising: at least one controller (Taghizadeh, Fig. 13, Ref. 1306) coupled with at least one memory (Taghizadeh, Fig. 13, Ref. 1304) and configured to cause the processor (Taghizadeh, Fig. 13, Ref. 1302) to:
receive, from a core network (CN), an initial request to perform sensing operations;
[0186] In an embodiment, the network entity comprises one or more of: a base station, a core network entity.
Taghizadeh [0067] The sensing controller entity (otherwise referred to herein as a network entity) is provided to handle the process of selecting and deselecting sensing nodes. The sensing controller entity (SenseMF) is a logical network function located at a network entity, wherein the network entity may be a single node, such as a base station, a core network node or a user equipment, or the logical network function may be distributed over a number of network nodes.
discover one or more UEs capable of performing the sensing operation;
Taghizadeh [0101] In some embodiment, prior to the exposure of the said UE to the service consumer, the sensing controller sends a query message to the discovered candidate UE (wherein an initial set of candidate UEs for discovery to the sensing consumer have been obtained by the sensing controller entity based on the service consumer request and the therein embedded sensor description), wherein the said query may indicate the type of the requested capability.
and transmit a sensing reference signal transmission characteristic request to the discovered one or more UEs.
Taghizadeh [0082] Once the first set of sensing nodes has been selected, at step S703, the sensing controller entity instigates the configuration of the one or more sensing nodes to perform the sensing task. The sensing controller entity sends configuration information (sensing reference signal transmission characteristic request) to each node such that the nodes are configured to provide transmission of at least one sensing signal and/or reception of at least one sensing signal.
Taghizadeh [0140] In some embodiments, one node (e.g., a UE, a TRP) may belong to one sensing configuration group or no sensing configuration group at the same time.
Taghizadeh [0093] After receipt of a request to implement a sensing task (not shown in Figure 8), the Sensing Controller Entity selects the sensing Tx and sensing Rx nodes, and configures the sensing signal transmission of the sensing Tx nodes wherein the said sensing signal may be a sensing-dedicated RS.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 17, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taghizadeh in view of Yang et al. (US 2025/0106605 A1)(“Yang”).
Regarding claim 4, The network entity of claim 1, wherein the network entity is a sensing management component (SMC) that is located as part of one or more of the RAN nodes and that receives the initial request from a sensing management function (SMF) of the CN.
Taghizadeh [0080] At step S701 , the sensing controller entity receiving from a first entity a request to perform a sensing task. The first entity may be any network node or device which either belongs to a customer or which has received instruction from a custom, or is another network entity requiring a sensing service.
Taghizadeh [0186] In an embodiment, the network entity comprises one or more of: a base station, a core network entity.
Taghizadeh [0067] The sensing controller entity (otherwise referred to herein as a network entity) is provided to handle the process of selecting and deselecting sensing nodes. The sensing controller entity (SenseMF) (SenseMF= sensing management component) is a logical network function located at a network entity, wherein the network entity may be a single node, such as a base station, a core network node or a user equipment, or the logical network function may be distributed over a number of network nodes.
Taghizadeh does not teach a sensing management function (SMF) of the CN.
Yang teaches a sensing management function (SMF) of the CN.
Yang [0004] In one embodiment, a method for wireless sensing includes triggering a wireless sensing session for a sensing purpose(s); coordinating via signaling procedure(s); and managing operation of the wireless sensing session based on the coordinating. The triggering, coordinating and managing are conducted by a Core Network Sensing Session Management Function (S-SMF).
In view of Yang , Taghizadeh is modified such the CN includes the sensing management function
(SMF).
Taghizadeh and Bhamri are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, the sensing functions of the networks.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Taghizadeh in a manner described above to include the SMF on the core network to improve the system with multiple node by controlling the wireless sensing for a sensing purpose based on coordination (Yang [0003-0004]).
Regarding claim 17, The method of claim 16, wherein the method is performed by a sensing management component (SMC) that is located within one or more of the RAN nodes and that receives the initial request from a sensing management function (SMF) of the CN.
Taghizadeh [0080] At step S701 , the sensing controller entity receiving from a first entity a request to perform a sensing task. The first entity may be any network node or device which either belongs to a customer or which has received instruction from a custom, or is another network entity requiring a sensing service.
Taghizadeh [0186] In an embodiment, the network entity comprises one or more of: a base station, a core network entity.
Taghizadeh [0067] The sensing controller entity (otherwise referred to herein as a network entity) is provided to handle the process of selecting and deselecting sensing nodes. The sensing controller entity (SenseMF) (SenseMF= sensing management component) is a logical network function located at a network entity, wherein the network entity may be a single node, such as a base station, a core network node or a user equipment, or the logical network function may be distributed over a number of network nodes.
Taghizadeh does not teach a sensing management function (SMF) of the CN.
Yang teaches a sensing management function (SMF) of the CN.
Yang [0004] In one embodiment, a method for wireless sensing includes triggering a wireless sensing session for a sensing purpose(s); coordinating via signaling procedure(s); and managing operation of the wireless sensing session based on the coordinating. The triggering, coordinating and managing are conducted by a Core Network Sensing Session Management Function (S-SMF).
In view of Yang , Taghizadeh is modified such the CN includes the sensing management function
(SMF).
Taghizadeh and Bhamri are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, the sensing functions of the networks.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Taghizadeh in a manner described above to include the SMF on the core network to improve the system with multiple node by controlling the wireless sensing for a sensing purpose based on coordination (Yang [0003-0004]).
Regarding claim 19, The UE of claim 18, wherein the UE includes a sensing management component (SMC) that receives the initial request from the CN.
Taghizadeh [0080] At step S701 , the sensing controller entity receiving from a first entity a request to perform a sensing task. The first entity may be any network node or device which either belongs to a customer or which has received instruction from a custom, or is another network entity requiring a sensing service.
Taghizadeh [0186] In an embodiment, the network entity comprises one or more of: a base station, a core network entity.
Taghizadeh [0067] The sensing controller entity (otherwise referred to herein as a network entity) is provided to handle the process of selecting and deselecting sensing nodes. The sensing controller entity (SenseMF) is a logical network function located at a network entity, wherein the network entity may be a single node, such as a base station, a core network node or a user equipment, or the logical network function may be distributed over a number of network nodes.
Taghizadeh does not teach a sensing management function (SMF) or Sensing Function (SF) of the CN.
Yang teaches a sensing management function (SMF) or Sensing Function (SF) of the CN..
Yang [0004] In one embodiment, a method for wireless sensing includes triggering a wireless sensing session for a sensing purpose(s); coordinating via signaling procedure(s); and managing operation of the wireless sensing session based on the coordinating. The triggering, coordinating and managing are conducted by a Core Network Sensing Session Management Function (S-SMF).
In view of Yang , Taghizadeh is modified such the CN includes the sensing management function
(SMF).
Taghizadeh and Bhamri are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, the sensing functions of the networks.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Taghizadeh in a manner described above to include the SMF on the core network to improve the system with multiple node by controlling the wireless sensing for a sensing purpose based on coordination (Yang [0003-0004]).
Claims 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taghizadeh in view of WO 2022195557 A1 (“Bhamri”).
Regarding claim 8, Taghizadeh teaches the network entity of claim 1, wherein the initial sensing request
Taghizadeh [0080] At step S701 , the sensing controller entity receiving from a first entity a request to perform a sensing task. The first entity may be any network node or device which either belongs to a customer or which has received instruction from a custom, or is another network entity requiring a sensing service.
Taghizadeh does not teach indicating support for one or more of: time domain transmissions comprising a one shot, dynamic, periodic, or on-demand manner;
Bhamri teaches indicating support for one or more of: time domain transmissions comprising a one shot, dynamic, periodic, or on-demand manner;
Bhamri [0189] In one embodiment, the first method performs a sensing task on the at least one set of time-frequency resources coexisting with the transmission of the second network node and the transceiver transmits a configuration to the second network node for adjusting the second network node’s transmission parameters to assist the sensing measurements by the first network node.
Bhamri [0190]; In one embodiment, the first method configures sensing modes for the first network node on the at least one set of time-frequency resources together with an indication of a time domain behavior, including at least one of a one-time, a periodic, and a semi-persistent configuration.
Bhamri [0162] Figure 8 depicts one embodiment of a network apparatus 800 that may be used for data-aided radar sensing, according to embodiments of the disclosure.
computing sensing results in a one shot, dynamic, periodic manner;
and computing sensing results in a semi-persistent manner via activation/deactivation signaling.
In view of Bhamri, Taghizadeh is modified such the indicating request is to support for one or more of
time domain transmissions comprising a one shot, dynamic, periodic, or on-demand manner.
Taghizadeh and Bhamri are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, the sensing functions of the networks.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Taghizadeh in a manner described above to include the time domain transmissions in the initial request send by CN to the network entity to form the Radar signals characterized by pulses that are modulated onto an RF carrier and are used to detect single/multiple objects that can be resolved in the time domain (Bhamri [0076]).
Conclusion
should be directed to Maryam Emadi whose email is Maryam.emadi1@uspto.gov with telephone
number of 703-756-1834.
Joseph Avellino can be reached on 571-272-3905.
Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained
from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available
through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pairdirect.uspto.gov.
Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center
(EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/M.E./Examiner, Art Unit 2478
/JOSEPH E AVELLINO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2478