DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 9-12 and 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kelley (Pub. No. 2015/0149484).
Regarding claims 1, 9 and 17, Kelley teaches a computing system (100, Fig. 1) (with corresponding computer-implemented method and a computer program product residing on a non-transitory computer readable medium having a plurality of instructions stored thereon ([0001] -software providing a graph-based recommendations service; fig. 1 - server, client devices) comprising:
a memory; and a processor (these elements are inherent on computing devices) configured to:
processing a plurality of content portions and a plurality of opportunities associated with a recommender system; ([0039]; [0040] - item provider 110 may provide recommendable items; while Recommendations server 1200 provides recommendations of those items. [0050], - request-context metadata associated with the recommendation request include data such as a user identifier identifying a user to whom a recommendation will be provided, an item identifier identifying a recommendable item that the user is currently viewing and/or currently indicating an interest in, a current date and/or time, current physical location, current state of the application or the like (=personal communication for a product, i.e. "opportunity" according to the description));
generating a dynamic surrogate connectivity graph using the plurality of content portions and the plurality of opportunities; (Fig.3; [0032] - a heterogeneous recommendations graph includes nodes representing recommendable items; intermediate nodes representing non-recommendable joining elements; and weighted edges joining the nodes. [0076] - node '/' may correspond to a particular ringtone by a particular artist, which can be purchased by the user for a particular price(= opportunity));
processing telemetry data associated with the recommender model; ([0050]);
modeling a plurality of weighted path scores using the dynamic surrogate connectivity graph and the telemetry data; and ([0050], where count of highly-weighted paths to recommendable nodes from only a portion of the recommendations directed-graph that is reachable from the entry node {as selected in block 405) via only highly-weighted paths of configurable lengths; [0072], [0073] - average the weight values of each weighted edge in the path);
providing the plurality of weighted path scores to the recommender model for generating subsequent recommendations ([0074] - In ending loop block 435,
recommendations-request subroutine 400 iterates back to opening loop block 420 to process the next potential recommendation node, if any).
Regarding claims 2 and 15, Kelly teaches further comprising:
sampling a plurality of subsequent recommendations generated by the recommender system using the plurality of weighted path scores by determining a number of content portions to provide for each path type by multiplying a total number of subsequent recommendations with the plurality of weighted path scores (fig.2; [0048] - Recommendations-service routine 200 iterates from opening loop block 215 to ending loop block 235 while handling recommendation requests. [0067] - recommendations-request subroutine 400 may select multiple entry nodes and process them in series or parallel(= sampling). Fig.4 - 420 - for each potential recommendation; [0070] - processes each potential recommendation node accordingly. [0068], [0072], [0073] – using highly-weighted paths, compute a path weight for each path using mathematical methods, then combine the individual path weights by simple addition or otherwise).
Regarding claims 3 and 16, Kelly teaches further comprising:
providing subsequent recommendations with content portions of each path type from the plurality of subsequent recommendations to a requesting user based upon, at least in part, the number of content portions for each path type; processing a selection of one of the subsequent recommendations from the requesting user; and transmitting an electronic product associated with the selection to the requesting user (iterative recommendation service, using graph traversal subroutine traversing graph based on e.g. path length, path-weight batches, collecting paths to recommendable nodes until desired count is reached, highly-weighted paths; whereby end of the highest weighted path is returned first, par. 77 - the particular item).
Regarding claims 4, 10 and 18, Kelly teaches wherein generating the dynamic surrogate connectivity graph includes using an opportunity-to-content portion semantic matching model to define a plurality of paths of a first path type ([0045]-[0048]).
Regarding claims 5, 11 and 19, Kelly teaches wherein generating the dynamic surrogate connectivity graph includes using an opportunity-to-opportunity similarity model to define a plurality of paths of a second path type ([0065]).
Regarding claims 6, 12 and 20, Kelly teaches wherein generating the dynamic surrogate connectivity graph includes a third path type using a content provider-to-content provider similarity model to define a plurality of paths of a third path type ([0045]; [0054]; [0065]; [0135]-[0137]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 8, 13 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/OMAR S PARRA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2421