Response to Amendment
The amendment filed February 4th, 2026 does not place the application in condition for allowance.
The 112(b) rejection of claim 39 is withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendment.
The rejections over Livsey et al. are maintained.
New rejections follow.
Double Patenting
Claims 21-36, 38-39, and 41-42 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,009,781. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21-36, 38-39, and 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Livsey et al. (US 2011/0048507 A1).
In view of Claim 21, Livsey et al. teaches a system comprising a plurality of photovoltaic modules installed on a roof deck, wherein the photovoltaic modules are arranged in an array on the roof deck (Figure 22-23 & Paragraph 0101-0102), wherein each of the plurality of photovoltaic modules includes a plurality of solar cells (Figure 7, #756), wherein the photovoltaic modules are arranged in an array on a slope of the roof deck (Figure 26 & 29 – see slope); wherein the array includes a first subarray and a second subarray, wherein the first subarray includes a first plurality of the PV modules arranged in a first column comprising a first plurality of rows (Figure 7, #756 & Paragraph 0073), wherein the second subarray includes a second plurality of PV modules arranged in a second column comprising a second plurality of rows (Figure 7, #756 & Paragraph 0073), wherein the first subarray is horizontally adjacent to the second subarray (See Annotated Livsey et al. Figure 22, below), and at least one jumper module installed on the roof deck and electrically connects the first subarray of the array and the second subarray of the array, wherein the at least one jumper module is vertically adjacent to an upper end of the first subarray (See Annotated Livsey et al. Figure 22, below).
Annotated Livsey et al. Figure 22
Livsey et al. teaches the jumper module includes a lower surface and a plurality of electrical wires, wherein each of the electrical wires includes a first end and a second end, wherein the second end of each of the electrical wires extends from the lower surface, and a conduit having a first end and a second end, wherein the conduit is on the lower surface, and wherein the second end of each of the plurality of electrical wires is adapted to extend from the second end of the conduit (See Annotated Livsey et al. Fig. 12, below – Paragraph 0091). Livsey et al. teaches that the at least one jumper module includes the plurality of electrical wires (Figure 14, see wiring), wherein the plurality of electrical wires connects the first subarray to the second subarray (The device produces electrical energy, any of the electrical components that electrical connect the system are considered electrically connected, including the bussing connecting the arrays).
Annotated Livsey et al. Fig. 12
In view of Claim 22, Livsey et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 21. Livsey et al. teaches that the jumper modules includes a frontsheet (Fig. 7, #752-#754 – Paragraph 0073), that includes a first layer (Fig. 7, #752) and a polymer layer attached to the first layer (Fig. 7, #754), wherein the first layer forms an upper surface of the at least one jumper module (Fig. 7, #752 is the top layer of the module).
In view of Claim 23, Livsey et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 21. Livsey et al. teaches the at least one jumper module includes a backsheet that forms a lower surface of the at least one jumper module (Fig. 7, #758 is the bottom layer of the module).
In view of Claims 24-27, Livsey et al. is relied upon for the reasons give above in addressing Claim 22. Livsey et al. teaches the at least one jumper includes a first end and a second end opposite the first end, a first side lap located at the first end, a second side lap located at the second end, a first junction box located on the first side lap, a second junction box located on the second side lap (See Annotated Livsey et al. Figure 17, below) at least one electrical bussing (Figure 17 & Paragraph 0097) an encapsulant encapsulating the at least one electrical bussing (Figure 15, #1480 & Paragraph 0093), wherein the encapsulant includes a first surface and a second surface (Figure 15, top and bottom of #1480), wherein the at least one electrical bussing electrically connects the first subarray to the second subarray (Figure 14, #1420 & #1422 connect to the adjacent first and second subarrays, See Annotated Livsey et al. Figure 22, above) and wherein the first junction box is electrically connected to a first one of the at least one electrical bussing (See Annotated Livsey et al. Figure 17, below), wherein the second junction box is electrically connected to a second one of the at least one electrical bussing (See Annotated Livsey et al. Figure 17, below).
Annotated Livsey et al. Figure 17
In view of Claims 28-29, Livsey et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 27. Livsey et al. teaches at least one of the plurality of photovoltaic modules of the first subarray includes a third junction box, wherein the third junction box is electrically connected to the first junction box and at least one of the plurality of photovoltaic modules of the second subarray includes a fourth junction box, wherein the fourth junction box is electrically connected to the second junction box (See Annotated Livsey et al. Figure 22, below).
Annotated Livsey et al. Figure 22
In view of Claim 30, Livsey et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 29. Livsey et al. discloses a configuration where at least one of the plurality of photovoltaic modules of a first subarray includes a head lap portion and wherein one of the at least one jumper module overlaps the head lap portion (See Annotated Livsey et al. Figure 22, below – the leftmost jumper module in the middle row overlays the headlap portion of the first subarray).
Annotated Livsey et al. Figure 22
In view of Claim 31, Livsey et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 30. Livsey et al. teaches that at least one of the plurality of photovoltaic modules of the first subarray includes a first side lap, and wherein the first side lap of the one of the at least one jumper module is proximate to the first side lap of the at least one of the plurality of photovoltaic modules of the first subarray (See Annotated Livsey et al. Figure 22, below & Fig. 23).
Annotated Livsey et al. Figure 22
In view of Claim 32, Livsey et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 31. Livsey et al. teaches that at least one of the plurality of photovoltaic modules of the first subarray includes a second side lap, and wherein the second side lap of the one of the at least one jumper module is proximate to the second side lap of the at least one of the plurality of photovoltaic modules of the first subarray (See Annotated Livsey et al. Figure 22, below & Fig. 23).
Annotated Livsey et al. Figure 22
In view of Claim 33, Livsey et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 27. Livsey et al. teaches at least one jumper module includes a plurality of jumper modules, and wherein the first side lap of another one of the plurality of jumper modules overlaps the second side lap of the one of the plurality of jumper modules (See Annotated Livsey et al. Figure 22, below).
Annotated Livsey et al. Figure 22
In view of Claim 34, Livsey et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 33. Livsey et al. teaches the first junction box of the another one of the plurality of jumper modules is proximate to an electrically connected to the second junction box of the one of the plurality of jumpers modules (See Annotated Livsey et al. Figure 22, below).
Annotated Livsey et al. Figure 22
In view of Claim 35, Livsey et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 34. Livsey et al. teaches at least one of the second plurality of photovoltaic modules of the second subarray includes a head lap portion, and wherein the another one of the plurality of jumper modules overlaps the head lap portion of the at least one of the plurality of photovoltaic modules of the second subarray (See Annotated Livsey et al. Figure 22, below).
Annotated Livsey et al. Figure 22
In view of Claim 36, Livsey et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 24. Livsey et al. teaches the first side lap does not include the first layer (Figure 10-11, the first layer is a component of the stack of 950).
In view of Claim 38, Livsey et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 21. Livsey et al. teaches the at least one jump modules includes at least one solar cell (Figure 14, #1450 & Paragraph 0093).
In view of Claim 39, Livsey et al. teaches a system comprising a plurality of photovoltaic modules installed on a roof deck, wherein the photovoltaic modules are arranged in an array on the roof deck (Figure 22-23 & Paragraph 0101-0102), wherein each of the plurality of photovoltaic modules includes a plurality of solar cells (Figure 7, #756), wherein each of the plurality of photovoltaic modules includes a first end and a second end opposite the first end (Fig. 7 & 22, left and right edges of each module) wherein the photovoltaic modules are arranged in an array on a slope of the roof deck (Figure 26 & 29 – see slope); wherein the array includes a first subarray and a second subarray, wherein the first subarray includes a first plurality of the PV modules arranged in a first column comprising a first plurality of rows (Figure 7, #756 & Paragraph 0073), wherein the first ends of the first plurality of the photovoltaic modules in the first subarray are substantially vertically aligned with one another (Fig. 7, #756 cells are aligned at the left edge), wherein the second ends of the first plurality of the photovoltaic modules in the first subarray are substantially vertically aligned with one another (Fig. 7, #756 cells are aligned at the right edge), wherein the second subarray includes a second plurality of PV modules arranged in a second column comprising a second plurality of rows (Figure 7, #756 & Paragraph 0073), wherein the first subarray is horizontally adjacent to the second subarray (See Annotated Livsey et al. Figure 23, below), and at least one jumper module installed on the roof deck and electrically connects the first subarray of the array and the second subarray of the array, wherein the at least one jumper module is vertically adjacent to an upper end of the first subarray (See Annotated Livsey et al. Figure 23, below) and that the first end of the jumper module is vertically aligned with the first ends of the first plurality of the photovoltaic modules, and wherein the second end of the jumper module is vertically aligned with the second ends of the first plurality of the photovoltaic modules (See Annotated Livsey et al. Figure 23, below).
Annotated Livsey et al. Figure 23
Livsey et al. teaches the jumper module includes a lower surface and a plurality of electrical wires, wherein each of the electrical wires includes a first end and a second end, wherein the second end of each of the electrical wires extends from the lower surface, and a conduit having a first end and a second end, wherein the conduit is on the lower surface, and wherein the second end of each of the plurality of electrical wires is adapted to extend from the second end of the conduit (See Annotated Livsey et al. Fig. 12, below – Paragraph 0091). Livsey et al. teaches that the at least one jumper module includes the plurality of electrical wires (Figure 14, see wiring), wherein the plurality of electrical wires connects the first subarray to the second subarray (The device produces electrical energy, any of the electrical components that electrical connect the system are considered electrically connected, including the bussing connecting the arrays).
Annotated Livsey et al. Fig. 12
In view of Claim 41, Livsey et al. teaches a system comprising a plurality of photovoltaic modules installed on a roof deck, wherein the photovoltaic modules are arranged in an array on the roof deck (Figure 22-23 & Paragraph 0101-0102), wherein each of the plurality of photovoltaic modules includes a plurality of solar cells (Figure 7, #756), wherein the photovoltaic modules are arranged in an array on a slope of the roof deck (Figure 26 & 29 – see slope); wherein the array includes a first subarray and a second subarray, wherein the first subarray includes a first plurality of the PV modules arranged in a first column comprising a first plurality of rows (Figure 7, #756 & Paragraph 0073), wherein the second subarray includes a second plurality of PV modules arranged in a second column comprising a second plurality of rows (Figure 7, #756 & Paragraph 0073), wherein the first subarray is horizontally adjacent to the second subarray (See Annotated Livsey et al. Figure 22, below), and at least one jumper module installed on the roof deck and electrically connects the first subarray of the array and the second subarray of the array, wherein the at least one jumper module is vertically adjacent to an upper end of the first subarray (See Annotated Livsey et al. Figure 22, below).
Annotated Livsey et al. Figure 22
Livsey et al. teaches the jumper module includes a lower surface and a plurality of electrical wires, wherein each of the electrical wires includes a first end and a second end, wherein the second end of each of the electrical wires extends from the lower surface, and a conduit having a first end and a second end, wherein the conduit is on the lower surface, and wherein the second end of each of the plurality of electrical wires is adapted to extend from the second end of the conduit (See Annotated Livsey et al. Fig. 12, below – Paragraph 0091). Livsey et al. teaches that the at least one jumper module includes the plurality of electrical wires (Figure 14, see wiring), wherein the plurality of electrical wires connects the first subarray to the second subarray (The device produces electrical energy, any of the electrical components that electrical connect the system are considered electrically connected, including the bussing connecting the arrays).
Annotated Livsey et al. Fig. 12
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 42 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Livsey et al. (US 2011/0048507 A1) in view of Okawa et al. (US 2020/0266759 A1).
In view of Claim 42, Livsey et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 41. Livsey et al. does not explicitly tech that the at least one electronic device is a rapid shutdown device, an optimizer, or a microinverter.
Okawa et al. discloses a module with a microinverter (Fig. 1A, #170) that may serve to improve performance and avoid in field DC wiring that can reduce subassembly costs (Paragraph 0042). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to include a microinverter on the jumper module of Livsey et al. for the advantages of improving performance and obviating in field DC wiring that can reduce subassembly costs.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that Livsey et al. does not disclose the jumper module includes a lower surface and a plurality of electrical wires, wherein each of the electrical wires includes a first end and a second end, wherein the second end of each of the electrical wires extends from the lower surface, and a conduit having a first end and a second end, wherein the conduit is on the lower surface, and wherein the second end of each of the plurality of electrical wires is adapted to extend from the second end of the conduit and that the at least one jumper module includes the plurality of electrical wires (Figure 14, see wiring), wherein the plurality of electrical wires connects the first subarray to the second subarray.
Its respectfully pointed out to Applicant that Livsey et al. teaches the jumper module includes a lower surface and a plurality of electrical wires, wherein each of the electrical wires includes a first end and a second end, wherein the second end of each of the electrical wires extends from the lower surface, and a conduit having a first end and a second end, wherein the conduit is on the lower surface, and wherein the second end of each of the plurality of electrical wires is adapted to extend from the second end of the conduit (See Annotated Livsey et al. Fig. 12, below – Paragraph 0091). Livsey et al. teaches that the at least one jumper module includes the plurality of electrical wires (Figure 14, see wiring), wherein the plurality of electrical wires connects the first subarray to the second subarray (The device produces electrical energy, any of the electrical components that electrical connect the system are considered electrically connected, including the bussing connecting the arrays). Accordingly, this argument is unpersuasive.
Annotated Livsey et al. Fig. 12
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL P MALLEY JR./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726