DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The present application does not claim for foreign priority.
This application is a continuation of PCT/CN2022/089114 filed on 4/25/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) were submitted on 6/7/2024, 1/22/2025, 4/8/2025, 4/29/2025, and 1/16/2026. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 14-20 are objected because of the following informalities:
In claim 14, it is suggested to amend as follows for clarity of the limitations:
14. (Currently Amended) A communication device for wireless communication comprising a processor to implement a method that causes the communication device to:
receive, by [[a]]the communication device, an indication information that includes a first resource configuration for a first signal,
wherein the indication is triggered by an event that is associated with a cell state transition,
wherein the cell state transition includes transitioning from or to a state, and
wherein the state is a state performing discontinuous transmission (DTX), a power saving state, or a low power state; and
receive, by the communication device, the first signal in at least one resource based on the indication information.
In claim 18, it is suggested to amend as follows for clarity of the limitations:
18. (Currently Amended) A network device for wireless communication comprising a processor to implement a method that causes the network device to:
transmit, by [[a]]the network device, an indication information to a communication device,
wherein the indication information includes a first resource configuration for a first signal,
wherein the indication is triggered by an event that is associated with a cell state transition,
wherein the cell state transition includes transitioning from or to a state, and
wherein the state is a state performing discontinuous transmission (DTX), a power saving state, or a low power state; and
transmit, by the network device to the communication device, the first signal in at least one resource based on the indication information.
In claims 15-17, it is suggested to amend the preamble as “The communication device of claim …”.
In claims 19 and 20, it is suggested to amend the preamble as “The network device of claim …”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nam et al. (US 2021/0051589 A1, hereinafter Nam).
Regarding claim 1:
Nam teaches a wireless communication method, comprising:
receiving, by a communication device (e.g., UE), an indication information (e.g., wake-up signal (WUS)) that includes a first resource configuration for a first signal (e.g., PDCCH) (see, Nam: para. [0081], “At 610, the UE is in a sleep state. At WUS occasion 620, a WUS 622 is transmitted by a BS. The UE can monitor for the WUS 622 during WUS occasion 620 (e.g., using a wake-up search space set). … the WUS 622 may include PDCCH monitoring parameters, such as PDCCH monitoring duration, PDCCH monitoring periodicity, number of candidates for PDCCH blind decoding, for PDCCH monitoring during the on-duration 640.”; para. [0058], “the WUS configuration can indicate to the UE resources (e.g., search space including time and frequency resources, periodicity, channel, BWP, frequency carrier, etc.) associated with a WUS occasion, WUS format, etc.”),
wherein the indication is triggered by an event that is associated with a cell state transition, wherein the cell state transition includes transitioning from or to a state, wherein the state is a state performing discontinuous transmission (DTX), a power saving state, or a low power state (see, Nam: para. [0080-0089] wherein the WUS is transmitted based on the cell DTX operation. Thus, the WUS is transmitted when the cell is not saving power or resources.); and
receiving, by the communication device, the first signal (e.g., PDCCH) in at least one resource based on the indication information (see, Nam: para. [0104], “The method 1100 also includes the BS transmitting PDCCH signaling 1130 to the UEs. The UEs can perform PDCCH monitoring for the PDCCH signaling 1130 based on information in the WUS(s) 1120. In this regard, the WUS(s) 1120 may indicate for the UE to perform active PDCCH monitoring during the DRX on-duration in which PDCCH signaling 1130 is transmitted.”).
Regarding claim 2:
As discussed above, Nam teaches all limitations in claim 1.
Nam further teaches wherein the first resource configuration for the first signal includes an offset (see, Nam: Fig. 2 and para. [0059], “The WUS occasion 220 is followed by an offset 230, during which the UE can return to a sleep state.”), wherein the first signal is not received during a time gap (e.g., UE Sleep State) (see, Nam: Fig. 2; para. [0058], “The DRX mode and/or the C-DRX mode may have a certain duty cycle with an active/on-period or an inactive/sleep-period.”; Fig. 6, UE Sleep State 650.), and wherein a length of the time gap is associated with a time length of a discontinuous transmission (DTX) inactive time (see, Nam: Fig. 6; para. [0080], “the scheduling/transmission configuration 600 of FIG. 6 also shows a BS operating in a DTX mode along with the UE operating a DRX/C-DRX mode in accordance with the present disclosure.”; and para. [0082], “the UE in a sleep state 650”).
Regarding claim 3:
As discussed above, Nam teaches all limitations in claim 1.
Nam further teaches wherein the indication information includes a second resource configuration (e.g., default wake-up configuration) to receive the first signal, and wherein the second resource configuration for the first signal includes a timer (see, Nam: para. [0097], “the UE performs PDCCH monitoring for the PDCCH signaling 930 based on the default wake-up configuration 910 received from the BS. In this regard, the default wake-up configuration 910 may indicate for the UE to operate utilizing the first wake-up configuration (e.g., PDCCH Monitoring Mode 1) for a certain amount of time, until a timer expires, and/or until another change condition (e.g., a threshold number (e.g., 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, etc.) of DRX duty cycles and/or WUS occasions occur, UL or DL communication is initiated) is met and then operate in a second, different wake-up configuration (e.g., PDCCH Monitoring Mode 2 in FIG. 9).”).
Regarding claim 4:
As discussed above, Nam teaches all limitations in claim 1.
Nam further teaches wherein a start position of a time gap (see, Nam: Fig. 2 and Fig. 6, Start of the UE Sleep State) is associated with a start of a discontinuous transmission (DTX) inactive time (see, Nam: Fig. 2 and Fig. 6, Start of the UE Sleep State; para. [0058], “The DRX mode and/or the C-DRX mode may have a certain duty cycle with an active/on-period or an inactive/sleep-period.”), or is associated with a start position or an end position of DTX (see, Nam: Fig. 2 and Fig. 6, End of the ON Duration).
Regarding claim 5:
As discussed above, Nam teaches all limitations in claim 1.
Nam further teaches wherein a next action (e.g., see, Nam: Fig. 6, Potential ON Duration 640, such as monitoring PDCCH or transmit UL data to the BS) is performed by the communication device after a time delay (e.g., see, Nam: Fig. 6, Offset 630) after the receiving the indication information (e.g., see, Nam: Fig. 6, WUS Occasion 620) (see, Nam: Fig. 6 and para. [0081], “The UE can monitor for the WUS 622 during WUS occasion 620 (e.g., using a wake-up search space set). The WUS occasion 620 is followed by an offset 630, during which the UE can return to a sleep state. The offset 630 spaces the WUS occasion 620 from an associated on-duration 640. During the on-duration 640, the UE is an active state and may monitor PDCCH or other signals from the BS and/or transmit UL data to the BS, as indicated by UL/DL communication block 642.”).
Regarding claim 6:
As discussed above, Nam teaches all limitations in claim 1.
Nam further teaches wherein the first signal is not received during a discontinuous transmission (DTX) inactive time (e.g., UE Sleep State) para. [0036], “During the sleep period, the UE may not monitor for PDCCH.”), and
wherein the first signal includes a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), or a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) (see, Nam: Fig. 6 and para. [0081], “the UE performs PDCCH monitoring during the on-duration 640 based on information received in the WUS 622. For example, the WUS 622 may instruct the UE to execute one or more of an aperiodic channel state reference signal (A-CSI-RS) triggering, a PDCCH monitoring reduction, a bandwidth part (BWP) switch, or a secondary cell (Scell) wake-up. Additionally, the WUS 622 may include PDCCH monitoring parameters, such as PDCCH monitoring duration, PDCCH monitoring periodicity, number of candidates for PDCCH blind decoding, for PDCCH monitoring during the on-duration 640.”).
Regarding claim 7:
As discussed above, Nam teaches all limitations in claim 2.
Nam further teaches wherein the first signal includes a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) or a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) that are not transmitted by a network device during the time gap (e.g., UE Sleep State) (see, Nam: Fig. 8B and para. [0093], “in method 860 the BS refrains from transmitting PDCCH signaling to the UE (or group of UEs), as indicated by 870.”); para. [0036], “During the sleep period, the UE may not monitor for PDCCH. … discontinuous transmission (DTX) is a technique that may be utilized by a BS to refrain from transmitting signals in certain situations. When the BS refrains from transmitting signals using DTX, the BS can power down certain radio components, switch certain radio components to a lower power state than an active state, or otherwise reduce the power demand of the BS.”), wherein a length of the time gap is associated with a time length of a discontinuous transmission (DTX) inactive time (see, Nam: Fig. 2; para. [0058], “The DRX mode and/or the C-DRX mode may have a certain duty cycle with an active/on-period or an inactive/sleep-period.”; Fig. 6, UE Sleep State 650.).
Regarding claim 8:
Claim 8 recites the wireless communication method from the perspective of a network device (e.g., Base Station) which corresponds to the method of claim 1, and contains no additional limitations. Therefore, claim 8 is rejected by applying the same rationale used to reject claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 9:
Claim 9 is directed towards the method of claim 8 that is further limited to similar features to claim 2. Therefore, claim 9 is rejected by applying the similar rationale used to reject claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 10:
Claim 10 is directed towards the method of claim 8 that is further limited to similar features to claim 3. Therefore, claim 10 is rejected by applying the similar rationale used to reject claim 3 above.
Regarding claim 11:
Claim 11 is directed towards the method of claim 8 that is further limited to similar features to claim 4. Therefore, claim 11 is rejected by applying the similar rationale used to reject claim 4 above.
Regarding claim 12:
Claim 12 is directed towards the method of claim 8 that is further limited to similar features to claim 6. Therefore, claim 12 is rejected by applying the similar rationale used to reject claim 6 above.
Regarding claim 13:
Claim 13 is directed towards the method of claim 9 that is further limited to similar features to claim 7. Therefore, claim 13 is rejected by applying the similar rationale used to reject claim 7 above.
Regarding claim 14:
Claim 14 is directed towards an apparatus (see, Nam: Fig. 4, User Equipment 400) for wireless communication comprising a processor (see, Nam: Fig. 4, Processor 402) configured to implement a method that causes the apparatus to: perform the method of claim 1. Therefore, claim 14 is rejected by applying the similar rationale used to reject claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 15:
Claim 15 is directed towards the apparatus of claim 14 that is further limited to similar features to claim 2. Therefore, claim 15 is rejected by applying the similar rationale used to reject claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 16:
Claim 16 is directed towards the apparatus of claim 14 that is further limited to similar features to claim 3. Therefore, claim 16 is rejected by applying the similar rationale used to reject claim 3 above.
Regarding claim 17:
Claim 17 is directed towards the apparatus of claim 14 that is further limited to similar features to claim 4. Therefore, claim 17 is rejected by applying the similar rationale used to reject claim 4 above.
Regarding claim 18:
Claim 18 is directed towards an apparatus (see, Nam: Fig. 5, Base Station 500) for wireless communication comprising a processor (see, Nam: Fig. 5, Processor 502) configured to implement a method that causes the apparatus to: perform the method of claim 8. Therefore, claim 18 is rejected by applying the similar rationale used to reject claim 8 above.
Regarding claim 19:
Claim 19 is directed towards the apparatus of claim 18 that is further limited to similar features to claim 2. Therefore, claim 19 is rejected by applying the similar rationale used to reject claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 20:
Claim 20 is directed towards the apparatus of claim 18 that is further limited to similar features to claim 3. Therefore, claim 20 is rejected by applying the similar rationale used to reject claim 3 above.
Conclusion
/JI-HAE YEA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2471