DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: The last line of paragraph [0006] lacks terminal punctuation (i.e., a period) and appears to be incomplete.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: In line 14, applicant recites “in the to an outlet” where it appears applicant intended “in the adaptor to an outlet”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 19 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claim 18. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim 20 is objected to due to being dependent on an objected to claim. Applicant should amend claim 20 such that it depends from claim 18.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the components" in lines 4-5.There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, the claim will be considered to recite "[[the]] components".
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the crossbar" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, the claim will be considered to recite "[[the]]a crossbar".
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the radially spaced opening” in line 14. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, the claim will be considered to recite "the radially spaced openings”.
Claims 12-15 are rejected as depending from a rejected base claim.
Claim Interpretation
In claim 11, the limitation “wherein the filter assembly is inside out flow whereby the flow begins through an inlet of the filter head into the interior of the element, wherein the flow proceeds through a media of the element to the filter bowl and the flow then proceeds through the radially spaced opening in the to an outlet of the filter head” is considered a process limitation that fails to impose structure on the instant assembly. Thus the limitation is not given patentable weight. Applicant should consider amending the claim to recite “wherein the filter assembly is configured for inside out flow whereby the flow begins through an inlet of the filter head into the interior of the element, s in the adaptor to an outlet of the filter head” to impose structure which is given patentable weight in an apparatus claim and overcome the objections and rejection under 35 USC 112(b) of the claimed assembly.
Per claim 16, the limitation “wherein the filter assembly is outside in flow whereby the flow begins through an inlet of the filter head into the interior of the bowl via the openings in the adaptor, wherein the flow proceeds through a media of the element to the interior of the element and the flow then proceeds to an outlet of the filter head” is considered a process limitation that fails to impose structure on the instant assembly. Thus the limitation is not given patentable weight. Applicant should consider amending the claim to recite “wherein the filter assembly is configured for outside in flow whereby the flow begins through an inlet of the filter head into the interior of the bowl via the openings in the adaptorand the flow proceeds through a media of the element to the interior of the element and the flow then proceeds to an outlet of the filter head” to impose structure on the claimed assembly which is given patentable weight in an apparatus claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 11 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Oelschlaegel (US 6,146,527).
Per claim 1, Oelschlaegel teaches a spin-on filter assembly (10; Abstract, The housing can then be spun-on to the base.) with replaceable coreless element (60) comprising:
a reusable spin-on housing (12) including a filter bowl (Figs. 1-3);
A functional equivalent of a reusable adaptor (102, 104) removeably coupled to the reusable spin-on housing (Abstract, The orientation pins project through the through-holes in the mounting hub and are received in the receiving slots in the main housing portion to fix the mounting hub against rotation within the filter housing.; col. 4, lines 28-35, As shown in FIG. 3, the in-turned annular lip 44 of open end 42 includes an inwardly-facing annular lip surface 54 having a series of receiving slots 56 formed therein. Receiving slots 56 preferably only extend a portion of the axial distance through the lip 44 and are spaced evenly around the surface 54.; col. 7, lines 52-57, To prevent mounting hub 102 from falling out of main housing portion 32 when the filter element is removed, a snap ring (not shown) can be located in a groove around the inner surface of the main wall portion to engage and retain mounting hub 102.; Here it is easily deduced that when the snap ring is not used the adaptor is removable since Oelschlaegel teaches that the ring can be used, but does not teach that it is necessary that it be used. Alternatively, the adaptor is removable when the snap ring is removed.), including a coupling (126) for removably coupling the reusable adaptor to a filter head (16; Fig. 2); and
a replaceable disposable coreless filter element (60; col. 5, lines 30-32, Filter media 60 could also be self-supporting, i.e., "coreless", in which case core 90 would be absent.) removably mounted on the reusable adaptor (col. 6, lines 14-23, Plate 104 includes a series of axially-extending through-holes 106 spaced around plate 104 at locations designed to correspond to drive pins 94 on first end cap 78. The number of through-holes 106 preferably corresponds to the number of drive pins 94. Through-holes 106 receive drive pins 94 with a close fit, allowing the inner flat surface 108 of mounting hub 102 to be located opposite the outer flat surface of end cap 66 and generally rotationally fix the mounting hub 102 with respect to end cap 66 (and hence with respect to filter element 14).).
Per claim 2, wherein the coupling for removably coupling the reusable adaptor to a filter head includes threads engagable with matching threads on the filter head (col. 6, lines 54-56, An outwardly-extending portion 126 of collar 103 has radially outward-projecting threads and is received within a threaded counterbore formed along passage 26 of base 16.; Fig. 2).
Per claim 11, Oelschlaegel teaches a spin-on filter assembly (10; Abstract, The housing can then be spun-on to the base.) with replaceable coreless element (60) comprising:
a reusable spin-on housing (12) including a filter bowl (Figs. 1-3);
a functional equivalent of a reusable adaptor (102/104) removeably coupled to the reusable spin-on housing (Abstract, The orientation pins project through the through-holes in the mounting hub and are received in the receiving slots in the main housing portion to fix the mounting hub against rotation within the filter housing.; col. 4, lines 28-35, As shown in FIG. 3, the in-turned annular lip 44 of open end 42 includes an inwardly-facing annular lip surface 54 having a series of receiving slots 56 formed therein. Receiving slots 56 preferably only extend a portion of the axial distance through the lip 44 and are spaced evenly around the surface 54.; col. 7, lines 52-57, To prevent mounting hub 102 from falling out of main housing portion 32 when the filter element is removed, a snap ring (not shown) can be located in a groove around the inner surface of the main wall portion to engage and retain mounting hub 102.; Here it is easily deduced that when the snap ring is not used or is removed the adaptor is removable since Oelschlaegel teaches that the ring can be used, but does not teach that it is necessary that it be used.), including a coupling (126) for removably coupling the reusable adaptor to a filter head (16, Fig. 2), wherein the coupling for removably coupling the reusable adaptor to a filter head includes threads engagable with matching threads on the filter
head (col. 6, lines 54-56, An outwardly-extending portion 126 of collar 103 has radially outward-projecting threads and is received within a threaded counterbore formed along passage 26 of base 16.; Fig. 2), and including radially spaced openings (114) in the adaptor providing fluid communication between the filter head and the filter bowl (Fig. 2; col. 7, lines 63-67 to col. 8, line 1, The clearance gap allows fluid to flow from inlet passage 24 through a clearance provided between mounting hub 102 and base 16, through through-holes 114 in mounting hub 102, and radially-outward between the mounting hub 102 and first end cap 66 to the peripheral region of the filter element 14.); and
a replaceable disposable coreless filter element (60; col. 5, lines 30-32, Filter media 60 could also be self-supporting, i.e., "coreless", in which case core 90 would be absent.) removably mounted on the reusable adaptor (col. 6, lines 14-23, Plate 104 includes a series of axially-extending through-holes 106 spaced around plate 104 at locations designed to correspond to drive pins 94 on first end cap 78. The number of through-holes 106 preferably corresponds to the number of drive pins 94. Through-holes 106 receive drive pins 94 with a close fit, allowing the inner flat surface 108 of mounting hub 102 to be located opposite the outer flat surface of end cap 66 and generally rotationally fix the mounting hub 102 with respect to end cap 66 (and hence with respect to filter element 14).).
Regarding wherein the filter assembly is inside out flow whereby
the flow begins through an inlet of the filter head into the interior of the element, wherein the flow proceeds through a media of the element to the filter bowl and the flow then proceeds through the radially spaced openings in the adaptor to an outlet of the filter head, it is submitted that the limitations are process limitations that fail to impose additional structure on the assembly and are not given patentable weight.
Per claim 16, Oelschlaegel teaches a spin-on filter assembly (10; Abstract, The housing can then be spun-on to the base.) with replaceable coreless element (60) comprising:
a reusable spin-on housing (12) including a filter bowl (Figs. 1-3);
a functional equivalent of a reusable adaptor (102/104) removeably coupled to the reusable spin-on housing (Abstract, The orientation pins project through the through-holes in the mounting hub and are received in the receiving slots in the main housing portion to fix the mounting hub against rotation within the filter housing.; col. 4, lines 28-35, As shown in FIG. 3, the in-turned annular lip 44 of open end 42 includes an inwardly-facing annular lip surface 54 having a series of receiving slots 56 formed therein. Receiving slots 56 preferably only extend a portion of the axial distance through the lip 44 and are spaced evenly around the surface 54.; col. 7, lines 52-57, To prevent mounting hub 102 from falling out of main housing portion 32 when the filter element is removed, a snap ring (not shown) can be located in a groove around the inner surface of the main wall portion to engage and retain mounting hub 102.; Here it is easily deduced that when the snap ring is not used or is removed the adaptor is removable since Oelschlaegel teaches that the ring can be used, but does not teach that it is necessary that it be used.), including a coupling (126) for removably coupling the reusable adaptor to a filter head (16, Fig. 2), wherein the coupling for removably coupling the reusable adaptor to a filter head includes threads engagable with matching threads on the filter
head (col. 6, lines 54-56, An outwardly-extending portion 126 of collar 103 has radially outward-projecting threads and is received within a threaded counterbore formed along passage 26 of base 16.; Fig. 2), and including radially spaced openings (114) in the adaptor providing fluid communication between the filter head and the filter bowl (Fig. 2; col. 7, lines 63-67 to col. 8, line 1, The clearance gap allows fluid to flow from inlet passage 24 through a clearance provided between mounting hub 102 and base 16, through through-holes 114 in mounting hub 102, and radially-outward between the mounting hub 102 and first end cap 66 to the peripheral region of the filter element 14.); and
a replaceable disposable coreless filter element (60; col. 5, lines 30-32, Filter media 60 could also be self-supporting, i.e., "coreless", in which case core 90 would be absent.) removably mounted on the reusable adaptor (col. 6, lines 14-23, Plate 104 includes a series of axially-extending through-holes 106 spaced around plate 104 at locations designed to correspond to drive pins 94 on first end cap 78. The number of through-holes 106 preferably corresponds to the number of drive pins 94. Through-holes 106 receive drive pins 94 with a close fit, allowing the inner flat surface 108 of mounting hub 102 to be located opposite the outer flat surface of end cap 66 and generally rotationally fix the mounting hub 102 with respect to end cap 66 (and hence with respect to filter element 14).)wherein the filter assembly is outside in flow whereby
the flow begins through an inlet of the filter head into the interior of the bowl via
the openings in the adaptor (Fig. 2; col. 7, lines 63-67 to col. 8, line 1, The clearance gap allows fluid to flow from inlet passage 24 through a clearance provided between mounting hub 102 and base 16, through through-holes 114 in mounting hub 102, and radially-outward between the mounting hub 102 and first end cap 66 to the peripheral region of the filter element 14.), wherein the flow proceeds through a media of the element to the interior of the element and the flow then proceeds to an outlet (26) of the filter head (col. 8, lines 17-19, The fluid can then flow radially inward through the filter media 60, and axially outward through bore 122 in mounting hub 102 to outlet passage 26.).
While the “wherein” and “whereby” limitation of lines 11-15 have been pointed out as being taught by Oelschlaegel, the limitations are not given patentable weight for the reasons provided above under “Claim Interpretation.”
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-8, 12, 17-18 and 20 (when depending from claim 18) are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 9-10, 13-15 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Per claims 3-10, 12-15, 17-18 and 20, while claims 2, 11 and 16 are not patentable for the reasons provided above, in the examiner’s opinion, the prior art fails to teach or render obvious the assembly further comprising operational elements having the recited positioning and function as recited in claims 3-10, 12-15, 17-18 and 20 since Oelschlaegel appears to teach away from threading the filter bowl to the reusable adaptor since the goal of Oelschlaegel is to rotationally fix the reusable adaptor with respect to the filter bowl (see Oelschlaegel, col. 2, lines 39-45, The in-turned annular lip includes an inner lip surface with receiving slots which also correspond to the location of the drive pins on the end cap. The drive pins extend through the orientation holes in the mounting hub and into the corresponding slots in the filter element housing to rotationally fix the mounting hub with respect to the housing.). Clearly, the filter bowl would not be rotationally fixed relative to the reusable adaptor if it were being threaded onto the adaptor or threaded off the adaptor.
Conclusion
/FRED PRINCE/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1779