DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 15, 18, 19 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ahmed et al. (US 2019/0033683).
Regarding claim 15, Ahmed discloses a smart phone (para. [0065]) having a lens set (Figs. 2, 3, 13; paras. [0025, 0030, 0064]), comprising:
a substrate (315) having blue light pillars (320), green light pillars (321), and red light pillars (322) formed at a layer or stacked layers in response to blue light, green light and red light (Figs. 2-3; paras. [0031-0032]);
wherein said blue light pillars (320) are shorter than said green light pillar (321), and wherein said green light pillars are shorter than said red light pillars (322) (para. [0038]).
Regarding claim 18, Ahmed discloses wherein said blue light, said green light and red light pillars (320-322) include silicon, ITO, ZnO, graphene, carbon nanotubes, metal, alloy, titanium dioxide, gallium nitride or the combination thereof (paras. [0040, 0042]).
Regarding claim 19, Ahmed discloses wherein said blue light pillars (320), said green light pillars (321) and said red light pillars (322) are configurated in front of said lens set, an image sensor or the combination thereof (Figs. 2, 3, 13).
Regarding claim 23, Ahmed discloses wherein said substrate (315) is configurated in front of said lens set, an image sensor or the combination thereof (Figs. 2, 3, 13).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahmed et al. (US 2019/0033683), as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Byrnes et al. (US 2017/0082263), of record.
Regarding claim 16, Ahmed fails to explicitly disclose wherein said substrate includes infrared pillars in response to an infrared frequency.
However, Byrnes discloses a smart phone (para. [0086]) having a lens set (Fig. 4), wherein said substrate (303) includes infrared pillars (313) in response to an infrared frequency (para. [0089]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate wherein said substrate includes infrared pillars in response to an infrared frequency, as in Byrnes, into the smart phone of Ahmed to accommodate further regions of the electromagnetic spectrum.
Regarding claim 20, Ahmed fails to explicitly disclose a Fresnel lens formed in or in front of said lens set.
However, Byrnes discloses a Fresnel lens (paras. [0036, 0172]) formed in or in front of said lens set (Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a Fresnel lens formed in or in front of said lens set, as in Byrnes, into the smart phone of Ahmed to provide a useful, flat lens suitable in a low-profile design.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahmed et al. (US 2019/0033683), as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Lee et al. (US 2023/0031010).
Regarding claim 22, Ahmed fails to explicitly disclose wherein said green light pillars are shorter than yellow light pillars, said yellow light pillars being shorter than said red light pillars.
However, Lee discloses wherein said green light pillars are shorter than yellow light pillars, said yellow light pillars being shorter than said red light pillars (Fig. 16; paras. [0087, 0096]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate wherein said green light pillars are shorter than yellow light pillars, said yellow light pillars being shorter than said red light pillars, as in Lee, into the smart phone of Ahmed to accommodate further different transmission spectra.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Therefore, the new ground of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) over Ahmed is considered appropriate in accordance with the amendments to the claim.
Conclusion
Applicant’s amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PAISLEY L WILSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871