DETAILED ACTION
This office action is responsive to a response filed on June 10th, 2026. In this office action:
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claims 1-20 are rejected.
Summary of Previous Office Action
In the Non-Final Office Action mailed on March 11th, 2026,
Claims 1-2 and 12-14 were objected to because of informalities.
Claims 18-19 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claims 1-9 and 11-19 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Katzri et al. (Pub. No. US 2023/0052252), hereinafter Katzri; in view of Bosshart et al. (Pub. No. US 2019/0236103), hereinafter Bosshart.
Claims 10 and 20 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Katzri et al. (Pub. No. US 2023/0052252), hereinafter Katzri; in view of Bosshart et al. (Pub. No. US 2019/0236103), hereinafter Bosshart; and further in view of Atad et al. (Pub. No. US 2018/0262466), hereinafter Atad.
Response to Amendment
The Amendments filed on June 10th, 2026, have been entered.
Claims 1-2, 8-9, 11-14, and 18-19 have been amended.
The previously raised claim objections for claims 1-2 and 12-14 are withdrawn in light of the amendments.
The previously raised 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections for claims 18-19 are withdrawn in light of the amendments.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments/remarks filed on June 10th, 2026, regarding Rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 in pages 10-13, have been considered but are not persuasive.
1/ Regarding Applicant’s argument that “the combination of cited references fails to teach or suggest "performing, by the network device, a second- stage search in a second-stage memory, the second-stage memory comprising a plurality of entries defining respective rules using the one or more search key identifiers" as recited in claim 1 as amended” the Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Katzri discloses, in Parag. [0023], that [t]he RAM 140 includes a plurality of entries 144 that store rules associated with the search patterns stored in the TCAM 124 (the second-stage memory comprising a plurality of entries defining respective rules using the one or more search key identifiers). The rules in the RAM 140 indicate processing actions to be performed on packets that match respective search patterns stored in the TCAM 12.
The Examiner has reasonably interpreted the “entries 144 that store rules associated with the search patterns,” taught by Katzri, to be equivalent to the claimed “plurality of entries defining respective rules using the one or more search key identifiers,” where the RAM 140, taught by Katzri, is interpreted to be equivalent to the claimed “second-stage memory.”
2/ Regarding Applicant’s argument that “the Examiner has alleged that Bosshart's sub-table keys (e.g., "1111*") constitute "search key identifiers" that are shorter than the input key (e.g., "11111010"). Office Action, page 8. Applicant respectfully disagrees with the Examiner's characterization of the cited references for at least two independent reasons. First, Bosshart does not disclose "search key identifiers" that search keys are "map[ped] to" as an output of a first-stage search, as recited by claims 1 and 11 ...” the Examiner respectfully disagrees.
The primary art of Katzri discloses performing, the network device, a first-stage search in a first-stage memory to map the one or more search keys to one or more search key (See Parag. [0007] [0034-0036]; ... the TCAM compares the search key to all search patterns stored in the TCAM to find stored search patterns that match the search key. For example, the TCAM 124 searches for all search patterns in entries 128 of the TCAM 124 that match the search key. At block 212, the TCAM outputs a respective index corresponding to each search pattern stored in the TCAM that match the search key ...).
The Examiner has relied on the prior art of Bosshart as it modifies “the one or more search key identifiers” and “the one or more search keys” such that respective ones of the one or more search key identifiers being shorter than corresponding ones of the one or more search keys (See Parag. [0028]; The lookup engine 120 is configured to use the indices output by the TCAM 124 to retrieve the entries 144 from the RAM 140 that correspond to the indices. See Parag. [0043] and Fig. 7-8; receives (at 705) an unmasked input key (one or more search keys) to match an entry in the ternary lookup table (which is divided into several sub-tables). The input key can, for example, be a field in an incoming packet received at a router that specifies the destination IP address for the packet ... See Parag. [0047]; ... the destination IP address is 11111010 (the one or more search keys). The destination address is used by TCAM hardware to search in table 605, which is stored in TCAM. The search produces two matches, sub-table key 633 with value of 1111* (one or more search key identifiers) and sub-table key 634 with value of *... See Parag. [0040]; table 605 stores the sub-table keys and the associated masks (conceptually shown together as a numeric value followed by a *). Table 605 is a ternary sub-table keys table, which is stored in TCAM 610. See also Parag. [0041] [0007]. Examiner’s interpretation: The Examiner notes that by comparing the unmasked input key (i.e., search key) with the masks (numeric values) (i.e., one or more search key identifiers), the masks (e.g., 1111*) is shorter than corresponding unmasked input key (e.g., 11111010). The masks are reduced in size).
In other words, the Examiner has relied on the prior art of Bosshart as it discloses the comparison between “the one or more search key identifiers” and “the one or more search keys” a not the first stage and/or the second stage searches as these are already taught by the primary art of Katzri.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informality:
“performing, by the network device, a second-stage search in a second-stage memory, the second-stage memory comprising a plurality of entries defining respective rules using the one or more search key identifiers, based on a combination of the one or more search key identifiers to identify an entry, in the second-stage memory, that matches the combination of the one or more search key identifiers, the entry indicating a rule, among a set of rules defined for processing packets by the network device, matched by the packet” should read (Examiner’s suggestion) “performing, by the network device, a second-stage search in a second-stage memory based on a combination of the one or more search key identifiers to identify an entry, in the second-stage memory, that matches the combination of the one or more search key identifiers, the entry indicating a rule, among a set of rules defined for processing packets by the network device, matched by the packet, the second-stage memory comprising a plurality of entries defining respective rules using the one or more search key identifiers.”
Appropriate correction(s) is/are required.
Same objection applies to independent claim 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 and 11-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Katzri et al. (Pub. No. US 2023/0052252), hereinafter Katzri; in view of Bosshart et al. (Pub. No. US 2019/0236103), hereinafter Bosshart.
Claim 1. Katzri discloses [a] method for processing packets by a network device operating in a network having network nodes, the method comprising:
generating, by the network device (See Fig. 1 and Parag. [0007]; “Network Device 100”), one or more search keys to include information retrieved from one or more fields in a header of a packet being processed by the network device (See Parag. [0007]; a network device comprises: a packet processor configured to process packets communicated over a network, the processing including generating a search key representative of a packet, the search key including header information retrieved from the packet);
performing, by the network device, a first-stage search in a first-stage memory to map the one or more search keys to one or more search key identifiers (See Parag. [0007]; network device comprises: ... a lookup engine coupled to the processing processor. The lookup engine includes: a ternary content addressable memory (TCAM) (a first-stage memory) configured to store a plurality of search patterns (one or more search key identifiers) ... See Parag. [0034-0036] and Fig. 2; a lookup engine receives a search key. For example, the lookup engine 120 receives a search key from the processing engine 116. At block 208, the TCAM compares the search key to all search patterns stored in the TCAM to find stored search patterns that match the search key. For example, the TCAM 124 searches for all search patterns in entries 128 of the TCAM 124 that match the search key. At block 212, the TCAM outputs a respective index corresponding to each search pattern stored in the TCAM that match the search key. For example, the TCAM 124 outputs a respective index corresponding to each search pattern in a respective entry 128 of the TCAM 124 that match the search key. See also Parag. [0014] [0023] [0037]),
performing, by the network device, a second-stage search in a second-stage memory, the second-stage memory comprising a plurality of entries defining respective rules using the one or more search key identifiers, based on a combination of the one or more search key identifiers to identify an entry, in the second-stage memory, that matches the combination of the one or more search key identifiers, the entry indicating a rule, among a set of rules defined for processing packets by the network device, matched by the packet (See Parag. [0038-0039] and Fig. 2; At block 220, when the TCAM outputs multiple indices at block 212, the lookup engine analyzes priority information retrieved from a memory at block 216 to select one of the indices. For example, the lookup engine selects one of the indices that has a highest priority level ... At block 224, the lookup engine retrieves rule information from a second memory (a second-stage memory) that corresponds to the index selected at block 220, the second memory being separate from the TCAM ... the controller 160 retrieves from the RAM 140 (i.e., second memory) rule information from an entry 144 that corresponds to an index from the TCAM 124 that was selected by the controller 160. See Parag. [0023]; The RAM 140 includes a plurality of entries 144 that store rules associated with the search patterns stored in the TCAM 124 (the second-stage memory comprising a plurality of entries defining respective rules using the one or more search key identifiers). The rules in the RAM 140 indicate processing actions to be performed on packets that match respective search patterns stored in the TCAM 12. See also Parag. [0030] [0041]); and
performing, with respect to the packet, an action associated with the rule (See Parag. [0008]; determining, by the network device, one or more actions to be performed on the packet by the network device, the one or more actions corresponding to the selected one search pattern. See Parag. [0023]; The rules in the RAM 140 indicate processing actions to be performed on packets that match respective search patterns stored in the TCAM 124. See also Parag. [0085]).
Katzri doesn’t explicitly disclose respective ones of the one or more search key identifiers being shorter than corresponding ones of the one or more search keys.
However, Bosshart discloses respective ones of the one or more search key identifiers being shorter than corresponding ones of the one or more search keys (See Parag. [0028]; The lookup engine 120 is configured to use the indices output by the TCAM 124 to retrieve the entries 144 from the RAM 140 that correspond to the indices. See Parag. [0043] and Fig. 7-8; receives (at 705) an unmasked input key (one or more search keys) to match an entry in the ternary lookup table (which is divided into several sub-tables). The input key can, for example, be a field in an incoming packet received at a router that specifies the destination IP address for the packet ... See Parag. [0047]; ... the destination IP address is 11111010 (the one or more search keys). The destination address is used by TCAM hardware to search in table 605, which is stored in TCAM. The search produces two matches, sub-table key 633 with value of 1111* (one or more search key identifiers) and sub-table key 634 with value of *... See Parag. [0040]; table 605 stores the sub-table keys and the associated masks (conceptually shown together as a numeric value followed by a *). Table 605 is a ternary sub-table keys table, which is stored in TCAM 610. See also Parag. [0041] [0007]. Examiner’s interpretation: The Examiner notes that by comparing the unmasked input key (i.e., search key) with the masks (numeric values) (i.e., one or more search key identifiers), the masks (e.g., 1111*) is shorter than corresponding unmasked input key (e.g., 11111010). The masks are reduced in size).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Katzri, to include respective ones of the one or more search key identifiers being shorter than corresponding ones of the one or more search keys, as taught by Bosshart. This would be convenient such that storing only the sub-table indexes and the associated masks in TCAM reduces the need to store all search entries in TCAM (Bosshart, Parag. [0009]).
Claim 2. Katzri in view of Bosshart discloses [t]he method of claim 1,
Katzri further discloses wherein performing the first-stage search in the first-stage memory includes performing the first-stage search based on a particular search key among the one or more search keys in a first-stage ternary content accessible memory (TCAM) that includes a plurality of entries storing only a subset of possible values of a header field corresponding to the particular search key, the subset of possible values including only values that are used by the network nodes in the network (See Parag. [0034-0036] and Fig. 2; a lookup engine receives a search key. For example, the lookup engine 120 receives a search key from the processing engine 116. At block 208, the TCAM compares the search key to all search patterns stored in the TCAM to find stored search patterns that match the search key. For example, the TCAM 124 searches for all search patterns in entries 128 of the TCAM 124 that match the search key. At block 212, the TCAM outputs a respective index corresponding to each search pattern stored in the TCAM that match the search key. For example, the TCAM 124 outputs a respective index corresponding to each search pattern in a respective entry 128 of the TCAM 124 that match the search key).
Claim 3. Katzri in view of Bosshart discloses [t]he method of claim 2,
Katzri further discloses wherein performing the first-stage search in the first-stage TCAM based on the particular search key includes searching the first-stage TCAM to find an entry that matches the particular search key, wherein an index of the entry that matches the particular search key corresponds to a search key identifier that maps to the particular search key (See Parag. [0034-0036] and Fig. 2; a lookup engine receives a search key. For example, the lookup engine 120 receives a search key from the processing engine 116. At block 208, the TCAM compares the search key to all search patterns stored in the TCAM to find stored search patterns that match the search key. For example, the TCAM 124 searches for all search patterns in entries 128 of the TCAM 124 that match the search key. At block 212, the TCAM outputs a respective index corresponding to each search pattern stored in the TCAM that match the search key. For example, the TCAM 124 outputs a respective index corresponding to each search pattern in a respective entry 128 of the TCAM 124 that match the search key).
Claim 4. Katzri in view of Bosshart discloses [t]he method of claim 2,
Katzri further discloses wherein performing the first-stage search in the first-stage memory includes performing respective searches in respective ones of multiple first-stage TCAMs based on respective ones of the one or more search keys to find respective entries that match respective ones of the one or more search keys, wherein respective indexes of the entries that match the respective ones of the one or more search keys correspond to respective search key identifiers that map to the respective search keys (See Parag. [0034-0036] and Fig. 2; a lookup engine receives a search key. For example, the lookup engine 120 receives a search key from the processing engine 116. At block 208, the TCAM compares the search key to all search patterns stored in the TCAM to find stored search patterns that match the search key. For example, the TCAM 124 searches for all search patterns in entries 128 of the TCAM 124 that match the search key. At block 212, the TCAM outputs a respective index corresponding to each search pattern stored in the TCAM that match the search key. For example, the TCAM 124 outputs a respective index corresponding to each search pattern in a respective entry 128 of the TCAM 124 that match the search key. See Parag. [0003]; Network devices such as network switches, routers, bridges, etc., often use ternary content addressable memories (TCAMs) to recognize known patterns within header information of packets being processed by the network device. See also Parag. [0014]).
Claim 5. Katzri in view of Bosshart discloses [t]he method of claim 1,
Katzri further discloses wherein performing the second-stage search comprises performing the second-stage search in a second-stage ternary content accessible memory (TCAM) that includes a plurality of entries storing search patterns corresponding to different combinations of the one or more search key identifiers (See Parag. [0038-0039] and Fig. 2; At block 220, when the TCAM outputs multiple indices at block 212, the lookup engine analyzes priority information retrieved from a memory at block 216 to select one of the indices. For example, the lookup engine selects one of the indices that has a highest priority level ... At block 224, the lookup engine retrieves rule information from a second memory (second-stage memory) that corresponds to the index selected at block 220, the second memory being separate from the TCAM (i.e., in the first stage search). See Parag. [0028]; The lookup engine 120 is configured to use the indices output by the TCAM 124 to retrieve the entries 144 from the RAM 140 that correspond to the indices).
Katzri doesn’t explicitly disclose the one or more search key identifiers that are shorter than the corresponding ones of the one or more search keys.
However, Bosshart discloses the one or more search key identifiers that are shorter than the corresponding ones of the one or more search keys (See Parag. [0028]; The lookup engine 120 is configured to use the indices output by the TCAM 124 to retrieve the entries 144 from the RAM 140 that correspond to the indices. See Parag. [0043] and Fig. 7-8; receives (at 705) an unmasked input key (one or more search keys) to match an entry in the ternary lookup table (which is divided into several sub-tables). The input key can, for example, be a field in an incoming packet received at a router that specifies the destination IP address for the packet ... See Parag. [0047]; ... the destination IP address is 11111010 (the one or more search keys). The destination address is used by TCAM hardware to search in table 605, which is stored in TCAM. The search produces two matches, sub-table key 633 with value of 1111* (one or more search key identifiers) and sub-table key 634 with value of *... See Parag. [0040]; table 605 stores the sub-table keys and the associated masks (conceptually shown together as a numeric value followed by a *). Table 605 is a ternary sub-table keys table, which is stored in TCAM 610. See also Parag. [0041] [0007]. Examiner’s interpretation: The Examiner notes that by comparing the unmasked input key (i.e., search key) with the masks (numeric values) (i.e., one or more search key identifiers), the masks (e.g., 1111*) is shorter than corresponding unmasked input key (e.g., 11111010). The masks are reduced in size).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Katzri, to include the one or more search key identifiers that are shorter than the corresponding ones of the one or more search keys, as taught by Bosshart. This would be convenient such that storing only the sub-table indexes and the associated masks in TCAM reduces the need to store all search entries in TCAM (Bosshart, Parag. [0009]).
Claim 6. Katzri in view of Bosshart discloses [t]he method of claim 5,
Katzri doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein: the set of rules defined for processing packets by the network device includes one or more rules that include ranges of port numbers; and performing the first-stage search includes identifying an entry in the first-stage memory that includes a masked value that maps any value within a given range of port numbers to a same search key identifier.
However, Bosshart discloses the set of rules defined for processing packets by the network device includes one or more rules that include ranges of port numbers; and performing the first-stage search includes identifying an entry in the first-stage memory that includes a masked value that maps any value within a given range of port numbers to a same search key identifier (See Parag. [0028]; The lookup engine 120 is configured to use the indices output by the TCAM 124 to retrieve the entries 144 from from the RAM 140 that correspond to the indices. See Parag. [0043] and Fig. 7-8; receives (at 705) an unmasked input key to match an entry in the ternary lookup table (which is divided into several sub-tables) ... See Parag. [0040]; table 605 stores the sub-table keys and the associated masks (conceptually shown together as a numeric value followed by a *). See Parag. [0050]; the ternary sub-table keys table 605 includes the port label for the network switch port that has received the packet. For instance, the network switch may have 16 ports. The 16 ports in the example of FIG. 9 are divided into 5 groups (or port labels) 931-935. Switch port label 1 931 may include switch ports 1, 8, and 12 while switch port label 2 932 may include switch ports 2, 9, 11, and 13).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Katzri, to include the set of rules defined for processing packets by the network device includes one or more rules that include ranges of port numbers, and performing the first-stage search includes identifying an entry in the first-stage memory that includes a masked value that maps any value within a given range of port numbers to a same search key identifier, as taught by Bosshart. This would be convenient such that storing only the sub-table indexes and the associated masks in TCAM reduces the need to store all search entries in TCAM (Bosshart, Parag. [0009]).
Claim 7. Katzri in view of Bosshart discloses [t]he method of claim 5,
Katzri doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein: the set of rules defined for processing packets by the network device includes a first rule that includes a port number range and a second rule that includes a port number that is within the port number range; performing the first-stage search includes identifying a first entry in the first-stage memory that includes a masked value and that maps any value within the port number range to a first search key identifier or a second entry that includes the port number that is within the port number range and that maps the port number that is within the port number range to a second search key identifier different from the first search key identifier; and performing the second-stage search includes identifying an entry in the second-stage memory that matches both the first search key identifier and the second search key identifier.
However, Bosshart discloses the set of rules defined for processing packets by the network device includes a first rule that includes a port number range and a second rule that includes a port number that is within the port number range; performing the first-stage search includes identifying a first entry in the first-stage memory that includes a masked value and that maps any value within the port number range to a first search key identifier or a second entry that includes the port number that is within the port number range and that maps the port number that is within the port number range to a second search key identifier different from the first search key identifier; and performing the second-stage search includes identifying an entry in the second-stage memory that matches both the first search key identifier and the second search key identifier (See Parag. [0028]; The lookup engine 120 is configured to use the indices output by the TCAM 124 to retrieve the entries 144 from from the RAM 140 that correspond to the indices. See Parag. [0043] and Fig. 7-8; receives (at 705) an unmasked input key to match an entry in the ternary lookup table (which is divided into several sub-tables) ... See Parag. [0040]; table 605 stores the sub-table keys and the associated masks (conceptually shown together as a numeric value followed by a *). See Parag. [0050]; the ternary sub-table keys table 605 includes the port label for the network switch port that has received the packet. For instance, the network switch may have 16 ports. The 16 ports in the example of FIG. 9 are divided into 5 groups (or port labels) 931-935. Switch port label 1 931 may include switch ports 1, 8, and 12 while switch port label 2 932 may include switch ports 2, 9, 11, and 13).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Katzri, to include the set of rules defined for processing packets by the network device includes a first rule that includes a port number range and a second rule that includes a port number that is within the port number range; performing the first-stage search includes identifying a first entry in the first-stage memory that includes a masked value and that maps any value within the port number range to a first search key identifier or a second entry that includes the port number that is within the port number range and that maps the port number that is within the port number range to a second search key identifier different from the first search key identifier; and performing the second-stage search includes identifying an entry in the second-stage memory that matches both the first search key identifier and the second search key identifier, as taught by Bosshart. This would be convenient to match and an action to perform if there is a match (Bosshart, Parag. [0055]).
Claim 8. Katzri in view of Bosshart discloses [t]he method of claim 1,
Katzri further discloses wherein performing the first-stage search in the first-stage memory includes performing the first-stage search (See Parag. [0034-0036] and Fig. 2; a lookup engine receives a search key. For example, the lookup engine 120 receives a search key from the processing engine 116. At block 208, the TCAM compares the search key to all search patterns stored in the TCAM to find stored search patterns that match the search key. For example, the TCAM 124 searches for all search patterns in entries 128 of the TCAM 124 that match the search key) to map one or both of i) layer 3 information included in the one or more search keys to one or more search key identifiers, the layer 3 information extracted from a layer 3 header of the packet (See Parag. [0030]; the processing engine 116 is configured to generate the search key to include at least a destination IP address) and ii) layer 4 information included in the one or more search keys to one or more search key identifiers, the layer 3 information extracted from a layer 4 header of the packet (See Parag. [0021]; The processing engine 116 is configured to generate, for each of at least some packets received by the network device 100, a search key that includes header information from the packet, such as one or more fields from one or more headers of the packet. Optionally, the processing engine 116 is configured to generate the search key to also include metadata regarding the packet, such as an identifier of a port of the network device that received the packet).
Claim 9. Katzri in view of Bosshart discloses [t]he method of claim 1,
Katzri further discloses wherein performing the first-stage search in the first-stage memory includes performing the first-stage search (See Parag. [0034-0036] and Fig. 2; a lookup engine receives a search key. For example, the lookup engine 120 receives a search key from the processing engine 116. At block 208, the TCAM compares the search key to all search patterns stored in the TCAM to find stored search patterns that match the search key. For example, the TCAM 124 searches for all search patterns in entries 128 of the TCAM 124 that match the search key) to map one or more of i) a first search key that includes an internet protocol version four (IPv4) or an internet protocol version six (IPv6) source address extracted from the header of the packet to a first search key identifier, ii) a second search key that includes an IPv4 or an IPv6 destination address extracted from the header of the packet to a second search key identifier (See Parag. [0031]; The processing engine 116 is configured to generate the search key to include network address information (e.g., one of, or any suitable combination of two or more of, a destination address, such as a destination media access control (MAC) address, a destination IP address, etc.; a source address, e.g., a source MAC address, a source IP address, etc.). See also Parag. [0030]. Examiner’s note: IP addresses are either IPv4 or IPv6), iii) a third search key that includes a transmission control protocol (TCP) or a user datagram protocol (UDP) source port number extracted from the header of the packet to a third search key identifier, or iv) a fourth search key to include a TCP or a UDP destination port number extracted from the header of the packet to a fourth search key identifier (See Parag. [0021]; The processing engine 116 is configured to generate, for each of at least some packets received by the network device 100, a search key that includes header information from the packet, such as one or more fields from one or more headers of the packet. Optionally, the processing engine 116 is configured to generate the search key to also include metadata regarding the packet, such as an identifier of a port of the network device that received the packet. See Parag. [0031]; the processing engine 116 is configured to generate the search key to also include transmission control protocol (TCP) port information and/or user datagram protocol (UDP) port information (e.g., one of or any suitable combination of two or more of a TCP source port, a TCP destination port, a UDP source port, a UDP destination port)).
Claim 11. Katzri discloses [a] network device (See Fig. 1 and Parag. [0007]; “Network Device 100”), comprising:
a packet processor configured to process packets communicated over a network having network nodes, the packet processor including a key generator configured to generate one or more search keys based on one or more header fields in a header of a packet being processed by the network device (See Parag. [0007]; a network device comprises: a packet processor configured to process packets communicated over a network, the processing including generating a search key representative of a packet, the search key including header information retrieved from the packet); and
a search engine configured to determine an action to be performed with respect to the packet based on the one or more search keys, the search engine configured to:
perform a first-stage search in a first-stage memory to map the one or more search keys to one or more search key identifiers (See Parag. [0007]; network device comprises: ... a lookup engine coupled to the processing processor. The lookup engine includes: a ternary content addressable memory (TCAM) (a first-stage memory) configured to store a plurality of search patterns (one or more search key identifiers) ... See Parag. [0034-0036] and Fig. 2; a lookup engine receives a search key. For example, the lookup engine 120 receives a search key from the processing engine 116. At block 208, the TCAM compares the search key to all search patterns stored in the TCAM to find stored search patterns that match the search key. For example, the TCAM 124 searches for all search patterns in entries 128 of the TCAM 124 that match the search key. At block 212, the TCAM outputs a respective index corresponding to each search pattern stored in the TCAM that match the search key. For example, the TCAM 124 outputs a respective index corresponding to each search pattern in a respective entry 128 of the TCAM 124 that match the search key. See also Parag. [0014] [0023] [0037]),
perform a second-stage search in a second-stage memory, the second-stage memory comprising a plurality of entries defining respective rules using the one or more search key identifiers, based on a combination of the one or more search key identifiers to identify an entry that matches the combination of the one or more search key identifiers, the entry indicating a rule matched by the packet (See Parag. [0038-0039] and Fig. 2; At block 220, when the TCAM outputs multiple indices at block 212, the lookup engine analyzes priority information retrieved from a memory at block 216 to select one of the indices. For example, the lookup engine selects one of the indices that has a highest priority level ... At block 224, the lookup engine retrieves rule information from a second memory (a second-stage memory) that corresponds to the index selected at block 220, the second memory being separate from the TCAM ... the controller 160 retrieves from the RAM 140 (i.e., second memory) rule information from an entry 144 that corresponds to an index from the TCAM 124 that was selected by the controller 160. See Parag. [0023]; The RAM 140 includes a plurality of entries 144 that store rules associated with the search patterns stored in the TCAM 124 (the second-stage memory comprising a plurality of entries defining respective rules using the one or more search key identifiers). The rules in the RAM 140 indicate processing actions to be performed on packets that match respective search patterns stored in the TCAM 12. See also Parag. [0030] [0041]),
identify an action to be performed with respect to the packet based on the rule matched by the packet, and provide an indication of the action to the packet processor to perform the action with respect to the packet, based on the rule (See Parag. [0008]; determining, by the network device, one or more actions to be performed on the packet by the network device, the one or more actions corresponding to the selected one search pattern. See Parag. [0023]; The rules in the RAM 140 indicate processing actions to be performed on packets that match respective search patterns stored in the TCAM 124. See also Parag. [0085]).
Katzri doesn’t explicitly disclose respective ones of the one or more search key identifiers being shorter than corresponding ones of the one or more search keys.
However, Bosshart discloses respective ones of the one or more search key identifiers being shorter than corresponding ones of the one or more search keys (See Parag. [0028]; The lookup engine 120 is configured to use the indices output by the TCAM 124 to retrieve the entries 144 from the RAM 140 that correspond to the indices. See Parag. [0043] and Fig. 7-8; receives (at 705) an unmasked input key (one or more search keys) to match an entry in the ternary lookup table (which is divided into several sub-tables). The input key can, for example, be a field in an incoming packet received at a router that specifies the destination IP address for the packet ... See Parag. [0047]; ... the destination IP address is 11111010 (the one or more search keys). The destination address is used by TCAM hardware to search in table 605, which is stored in TCAM. The search produces two matches, sub-table key 633 with value of 1111* (one or more search key identifiers) and sub-table key 634 with value of *... See Parag. [0040]; table 605 stores the sub-table keys and the associated masks (conceptually shown together as a numeric value followed by a *). Table 605 is a ternary sub-table keys table, which is stored in TCAM 610. See also Parag. [0041] [0007]. Examiner’s interpretation: The Examiner notes that by comparing the unmasked input key (i.e., search key) with the masks (numeric values) (i.e., one or more search key identifiers), the masks (e.g., 1111*) is shorter than corresponding unmasked input key (e.g., 11111010). The masks are reduced in size).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Katzri, to include respective ones of the one or more search key identifiers being shorter than corresponding ones of the one or more search keys, as taught by Bosshart. This would be convenient such that storing only the sub-table indexes and the associated masks in TCAM reduces the need to store all search entries in TCAM (Bosshart, Parag. [0009]).
Claim 12 is taught by Katzri in view of Bosshart as described for claim 2.
Claim 13 is taught by Katzri in view of Bosshart as described for claim 3.
Claim 14. Katzri in view of Bosshart discloses [t]he network device of claim 12,
Katzri further discloses wherein the first-stage TCAM includes multiple TCAMs that include respective entries storing respective subsets of possible values of respective header fields corresponding to respective search keys among the one or more search keys, the respective subsets of possible values including only values that are used by the network nodes in the network (See Parag. [0003]; Network devices such as network switches, routers, bridges, etc., often use ternary content addressable memories (TCAMs) to recognize known patterns within header information of packets being processed by the network device. See Parag. [0034-0036] and Fig. 2; a lookup engine receives a search key. For example, the lookup engine 120 receives a search key from the processing engine 116. At block 208, the TCAM compares the search key to all search patterns stored in the TCAM to find stored search patterns that match the search key ...).
Claim 15 is taught by Katzri in view of Bosshart as described for claim 5.
Claim 16 is taught by Katzri in view of Bosshart as described for claim 6.
Claim 17 is taught by Katzri in view of Bosshart as described for claim 7.
Claim 18 is taught by Katzri in view of Bosshart as described for claim 8.
Claim 19 is taught by Katzri in view of Bosshart as described for claim 9.
Claims 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Katzri et al. (Pub. No. US 2023/0052252), hereinafter Katzri; in view of Bosshart et al. (Pub. No. US 2019/0236103), hereinafter Bosshart; and further in view of Atad et al. (Pub. No. US 2018/0262466), hereinafter Atad.
Claim 10. Katzri in view of Bosshart discloses [t]he method of claim 1,
Katzri in view of Bosshart doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein: the network is an automotive Ethernet network in a vehicle; and performing the action associated with the rule with respect to the packet includes transmitting the packet to another device in the vehicle via the automotive Ethernet network.
However, Atad discloses the network is an automotive Ethernet network in a vehicle; and performing the action associated with the rule with respect to the packet includes transmitting the packet to another device in the vehicle via the automotive Ethernet network (See Parag. [0048]; a security layer inside an in-vehicle Ethernet network. In some embodiments, Ethernet packets may be passed through a set of security filters, and these filters may be implemented using an Ethernet switch's ternary content-addressable memory (TCAM) table or a TCAM table in a Gateway. As known in the art, a TCAM is a specialized type of high-speed memory that searches its entire contents in a single clock cycle. See Parag. [0065]; in deployments in which an embodiment can control or influence an Ethernet switch forwarding decisions an embodiment may cause the switch to drop or discard anomalous packets by, for example, including rules or signatures in a TCAM included in the switch).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Katzri in view of Bosshart, to include the network is an automotive Ethernet network in a vehicle; and performing the action associated with the rule with respect to the packet includes transmitting the packet to another device in the vehicle via the automotive Ethernet network, as taught by Atad. This would be convenient to enable protecting an in-vehicle network from cyber-attacks (Atad, Parag. [0002]).
Claim 20 is taught by Katzri in view of Bosshart and Atad as described for claim 10.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Revah et al. (Pub. No. US 10,205,658) – Related art in the area of processing packets in a network device, (Abstract; Aspects of the disclosure provide a method for processing packets in a network device. The method can include populating a policy database with one or more bidirectional rules that are to be selectively applied in a packet processing operation. Ones of the bidirectional rules can include at least: a first address field populated with a first value corresponding to a source address for first packet flow that is traversing a network in a first direction and to a destination address for second packet flow that is traversing the network in a second direction different from the first direction, a second address field populated with a second value, and an action that is applicable to packet flow having a respective source address and destination address corresponding to the first values stored in the first address field and to the second values stored in the second address field).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Abdelbasst Talioua/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2445