DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of U.S. Patent No. 12,008,673. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the notion of the claims does refer to the same invention and claim 1 of the current application corresponds with claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,008,673. Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,008,673 anticipates claim 1 of the current application because it includes all of the limitations of the current application.
Below is a limitation mapping between claim 1 of the current application and Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,008,673,
Current Application
U.S. Patent No. 12,008,673
1. A method comprises:
providing a first code module on a computing device having a plurality of policies wherein the plurality of policies control access to a plurality of documents;
providing a second code module on the computing device having an ability to augment display content;
detecting by the first code module an attempt by an application program on a computing device to access a document;
selecting by the first code module a subset of policies from the plurality of policies relevant to the attempt access to the document;
evaluating by the first code module the subset of policies to determine if the attempted access to the document should be allowed;
if the attempted access to the document is allowed, transmitting by the first code module information related to the attempted access to the document to the second code module;
if the attempted access to the document is allowed, constructing a security marker based on the if the attempted access to the document is allowed; if the attempted access to the document is allowed, rendering the security marker by the second code module over content of the document; and if the attempted access to the document is not allowed, blocking the attempted access to the document.
1. A method comprises:
providing a first code module on a computing device having a plurality of policies wherein the plurality of policies control access to a plurality of documents;
providing a second code module on the computing device having an ability to augment display content, wherein the second code module is installed in a compositing window manager;
detecting by the first code module an attempt by an application program on a computing device to access a document;
selecting by the first code module a subset of policies from the plurality of policies relevant to the attempted access to the document;
evaluating by the first code module the subset of policies to determine if the attempted access to the document should be allowed;
if the attempted access to the document is allowed, transmitting by the first code module information related to the attempted access to the document to the second code module;
if the attempted access to the document is allowed, constructing a security marker based on the information related to the attempted access to the document; if the attempted access to the document is allowed, rendering the security marker by the second code module over content of the document; and if the attempted access to the document is not allowed, blocking the attempted access to the document.
Below is claim mapping between the current application and U.S. Patent No. 12,008,673.
Current Application
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
U.S. Patent No. 12,008,673
1
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
DUPLICATE CLAIMS, WARNING
Applicant is advised that should claim 5 be found allowable, claim 6 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
On line 9, change “the attempt access” to “the attempted access”;
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) are: “providing a first code module on a computing device having a plurality of policies wherein the plurality of policies control access to a plurality of documents”; and “providing a second code module on the computing device having an ability to augment display content” in claim 1 and dependent claims 2-8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 and dependent claims 2-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1, it is not clear what is meant by the limitation “if the attempted access to the document is allowed, constructing a security marker based on the if the attempted access to the document is allowed”. For purposes of examination, examiner is interpreting it to mean “if the attempted access to the document is allowed, constructing a security marker”.
Claim 3 contains the trademark/trade name Microsoft Desktop Window Manager. Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe a Desktop windowing system made by Microsoft and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite.
Claims 2, 4-8 are rejected because they depend on a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hadden et al. (US PGPUB 20070143603)(Hereinafter referred to as Hadden) in view of Flory (US PGPUB 20070150299)(Hereinafter referred to as Flory).
As per claim 1, Hadden discloses a method (Hadden, abstract) comprises:
providing a first code module on a computing device having a plurality of policies wherein the plurality of policies control access to a plurality of documents (Hadden, [0023], where the enterprise rights management server/policy server maps to the first code module which enforces a plurality of policies for document access);
providing a second code module on the computing device having an ability to augment printed content (Hadden, [0023], where the watermarking process maps to the second code module which augments contents with a policy-based watermark; and [0029]-[0029], where the wrapper code is used to determine and generate the watermark and pass it to the watermark rendering module, thus the wrapper code maps to the second code module);
detecting by the first code module an attempt by an application program on a computing device to access a document (Hadden, [0022], a policy server enables a system administrator or other content owners to change and securely enforce user permissions (view, copy, forward, print or edit)”; and [0023] “the rights management server provides a client application plug-in with a decryption key and policy to enable access to and use of a protected document”);
selecting by the first code module a subset of policies from the plurality of policies relevant to the attempt access to the document (Hadden, [0022], “the policy server provides a calling application plug-in with a decryption key and a policy that are then applied at the application to enable access to and use of a protected document”; the applied policy maps to a subset of the existing policies (a subset of one policy));
evaluating by the first code module the subset of policies to determine if the attempted access to the document should be allowed (Hadden, [0022], “a policy server enables a system administrator or other content owners to change and securely enforce user permissions (view, copy, forward, print or edit”, where the policy server maps to the first code module);
if the attempted access to the document is allowed, transmitting by the first code module information related to the attempted access to the document to the second code module (Hadden, Fig. 2, #206 and [0028], where a determination is made as to whether the user as authority to access a document and, if so, a watermark definition is fetched from the server which maps to information related to the access, which is transmitted to the wrapper code which maps to the second code module);
if the attempted access to the document is allowed, constructing a security marker based on the if the attempted access to the document is allowed (Hadden, Fig. 2 and [0028], “the wrapper code fetches a watermark definition from the server at step 204. As noted above, preferably this data is obtained over a secure connection and is not exposed to the calling application or the end user. The wrapper code then uses the watermark definition to create one or more watermarks, which are then passed to the watermark rendering code at step 206”) ;
if the attempted access to the document is allowed, rendering the security marker by the second code module over content of the document (Hadden, [0027] and [0030], where the watermark can be an “overlay” watermark which means it will be rendered over the document content); and
if the attempted access to the document is not allowed, blocking the attempted access to the document (Hadden, [0022], “a policy server enables a system administrator or other content owners to change and securely enforce user permissions (view, copy, forward, print or edit) and recall documents after they have been distributed. To access a protected document (which may be of any type) in such a system, the policy server provides a calling application plug-in with a decryption key and a policy that are then applied at the application to enable access to and use of a protected document” and [0023] and [0028], where the server component makes a determination as to whether the user has authority to perform a print operation; enforcement implies that document access will be blocked for an unauthorized user).
Hadden discloses choosing a policy to authorize users to print a given document and displaying overlaying watermarks on that document related to that policy, but doesn’t have a good disclosure of allowing a user to view a document. However Flory discloses the use of policies to authenticate users to view documents that can be augmented with watermarks (Flory, abstract, [0005]-[0007], [0015], and [0188]).
Hadden and Flory are analogous since both of them are dealing with the authentication of users to print or view documents and displaying watermarks on those documents. Hadden provides a way of choosing a policy for verifying that a user is authorized to print a document, and displaying watermarks on the printed document related to the policy. Flory provides a way of authenticating users to view a document. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the viewing of documents of authorized users taught by Flory into the modified invention of Hadden such that the system will be able to ensure documents remain viewable for only authorized users and continue to provide “continuous and persistent” protection for documents once they’ve been opened (Flory, [0004]-[0006]).
As per claims 5 and 6, claim 1 is incorporated and Hadden in view of Flory discloses wherein the security marker comprises a text string (Hadden, [0029], where the watermark can be a text string rendered using the TextOut() function call).
As per claim 7, claim 1 is incorporated and Hadden in view of Flory discloses wherein the security marker describes current user of the computing device (Hadden, [0034] and [0036], where additional “dynamic” information such as user name can be included into the watermark).
As per claim 8, claim 1 is incorporated and Hadden in view of Flory discloses wherein the security marker comprises a date (Hadden, [0037], where the watermark can include the date and time).
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hadden et al. (US PGPUB 20070143603)(Hereinafter referred to as Hadden) in view of Flory (US PGPUB 20070150299)(Hereinafter referred to as Flory) and in further view of Kristensen et al. (US PGPUB 20110239125)(Hereinafter referred to as Kristensen).
As per claim 2, claim 1 is incorporated and Hadden in view of Flory doesn’t disclose but Kristensen discloses wherein the second code module is installed in a compositing window manager (Kristensen, Figure 1 and [0018]-[0019], where the display server and secure display server use Windows Desktop Window Manager).
Hadden in view of Flory and Kristensen are analogous since both of them are dealing with ensuring the secure display of documents. Hadden in view of Flory provides a way of augmenting a securely-viewed document with a watermark related to the policy used to allow the user to view it. Kristensen provides a way of using Windows Desktop Manager to augment a display. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the use of Windows Desktop Manager taught by Kristensen into the modified invention of Hadden in view of Flory such that the system will be able to enable the user to work with several applications concurrently giving each application its own application window (Kristensen, [0018]-[0019]).
As per claim 3, claim 1 is incorporated and Hadden in view of Flory doesn’t disclose but Kristensen discloses wherein the compositing window manager is Microsoft Desktop Window Manager (Kristensen, Figure 1 and [0018]-[0019], where the display server and secure display server use Windows Desktop Window Manager).
See claim 2 rejection for reason to combine.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hadden et al. (US PGPUB 20070143603)(Hereinafter referred to as Hadden) in view of Flory (US PGPUB 20070150299)(Hereinafter referred to as Flory) and in further view of Lim (US PGPUB 20070162749)(Hereinafter referred to as Lim).
As per claim 4, claim 1 is incorporated and Hadden in view of Flory doesn’t disclose but Lim discloses wherein the information related to the attempted access to the document comprises a process identifier of the application program (Lim, [0291], where information sent to the policy enforcer includes the application’s process ID).
Hadden in view of Flory and Lim are analogous since both of them are dealing with ensuring the secure display of documents. Hadden in view of Flory provides a way of augmenting a securely-viewed document with a watermark related to the policy used to allow the user to view it. Lim provides a way of using an application’s process ID in the policy enforcer. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the use of an application’s process ID taught by Lim into the modified invention of Hadden in view of Flory such that the system will be able to have increased flexibility in setting up security policies and add control over how a document is used once a documents leaves a document management system (Lim, [0007]-[0010]).
Conclusion
/NICHOLAS R WILSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2611