DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claim 21 is new.
Claim 3 is canceled.
Claims 1, 4, 8, 7, 12, 18-20 are amended.
Claims 1-2, 4-21 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-8, 10-18, 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Landers (US 20200064866) in view of Surace (US 11079489).
Regarding Claims 1, 12, Landers teaches the following limitations:
A weather radar system comprising: (Landers – [Abstract] Avionics systems, aircraft, and methods are provided. An avionics system for a subject aircraft includes an intruder aircraft detection device and a processor. The processor is programmed to: identify an intruder aircraft using the intruder aircraft detection device; predict a future path of the intruder aircraft; estimate strength, size, and location characteristics of a wake vortex created by the intruder aircraft at future points in time along the future path; calculate a potential trajectory with potential positions of the subject aircraft at each of the future points in time; compare the potential positions with the strength, size, and location characteristics of the wake vortex at each of the future points in time to identify a wake conflict; and maneuver the subject aircraft based on the wake conflict. [0028] In some embodiments, aircraft detection system 112 includes LIDAR, RADAR, optical cameras, thermal cameras, ultrasonic sensors, and/or other sensors and other systems configured to detect intruder aircraft 210 even when intruder aircraft 210 is not generating an ADS-B or TCAS signal. Landers does not explicitly teach “weather radar”.)
(Claim 12) A method comprising: (Landers – [Abstract])
wherein the radar return signal comprises a reflection of the radar signal; and (Landers – [0028])
processing circuitry configured to: (Landers – [Abstract])
detect an aircraft based on the radar return signal; in response to detecting the aircraft, determine, based on a strength of the radar return signal, a size of the aircraft; and (Landers – [0028], [0025] Data structure 120a includes all of the information needed to determine a size and position of wake vortex 212 at various points in time. In the example provided, data structure 120a stores a time value 132, an aircraft type or weight and wingspan 119, a position of intruder aircraft 210, and a velocity of intruder aircraft 210.)
predict, based on the size of the aircraft, a wake vortex of the aircraft including a predicted position of the predicted wake vortex. (Landers – [Abstract], [0025])
Landers does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Surace, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
weather radar (Surace – [Abstract] a radar system is configured to mount on an ownship vehicle for interleaving a weather detection mode and an object detection mode. The radar system comprises a phased-array radar device configured to receive weather signals in the weather detection mode, receive sensing signals in the object detection mode, and interleave the weather detection mode and the object detection mode.)
one or more antennae configured to transmit a radar signal and receive a radar return signal; (Surace – [col. 1 ln. 11-13] A phased-array radar device may include an antenna array, where each antenna is configured to transmit or receive electromagnetic signals.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the aircraft detection system of Landers with the antenna array of Surace in order to interleave the weather detection mode and the object detection mode (Surace – [Abstract]).
Regarding Claims 2, 13, Landers further teaches:
wherein the radar return signal is a first radar return signal, (Landers – [0028])
wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: track, via the weather radar system, the aircraft; (Landers – [Abstract], [0025], [0028], [0035] The cooperative avoidance communication system may utilize Traffic Collision Avoidance System (TCAS), Aircraft Dependent Surveillance-Broadcast (ADS-B), or other systems that provide intruder aircraft position. In some embodiments, the information obtained includes type, speed, and track of intruder aircraft 210. Landers does not explicitly teach “weather radar”.)
update, based on second radar return signal, the predicted position of the predicted wake vortex. (Landers – [Abstract], [0025])
Landers does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Surace, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
weather radar (Surace – [Abstract])
receive a second radar return signal; and (Surace – [Abstract])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the aircraft detection system of Landers with the interleaved weather and object detection mode of Surace in order to prevent collisions (Surace – [col. 3 ln. 11]).
Regarding Claim 4, Landers further teaches:
wherein the aircraft is a first aircraft, the weather radar system is located on a second aircraft, and the wake vortex of the first aircraft while the second aircraft is in a flight phase. (Landers – [Abstract], [0025] Landers does not explicitly teach “weather radar”.)
the processing circuitry is configured to predict the wake vortex of the first aircraft while the second aircraft is in a flight phase. (Landers – [Abstract], [0025])
Landers does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Surace, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
weather radar (Surace – [Abstract])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the aircraft detection system of Landers with the interleaved weather and object detection mode of Surace in order to prevent collisions (Surace – [col. 3 ln. 11]).
Regarding Claims 5, 15, Landers does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Surace, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein the one or more antennae is configured to transmit the radar signal and (Surace – [col. 1 ln. 11-13])
receive the radar return signal with at least a 160-degree field of regard relative to a forward direction of the second aircraft. (Surace – [col. 14 ln. 31-33] radar system 110 may allow a total azimuth scan area of between about 220° and about 228° in some examples.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the aircraft detection system of Landers with the azimuth scan area of Surace in order to prevent collisions (Surace – [col. 3 ln. 11]).
Regarding Claims 6, 16, Landers further teaches:
wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: determine, based on the radar return signal, a range and a speed of the aircraft, (Landers – [Abstract], [0025], [0028], [0035])
wherein predicting the wake vortex of the aircraft and the predicted position of the predicted wake vortex is further based on the range and the speed of the aircraft. (Landers – [Abstract], [0025], [0028], [0035])
Regarding Claims 7, 17, Landers further teaches:
wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: receive a wind signal indicative of wind speed and direction proximate the aircraft; and update, based on the wind signal, the predicted position of the predicted wake vortex. (Landers – [0042] processor 110 may move each of wake vortex portions 342, 344, and 346 by an amount corresponding to a measured wind vector. The wind vector may be obtained by sensors onboard subject aircraft 100, obtained by weather data retrieved from weather services, or obtained by other suitable methods.)
Regarding Claim 8, Landers further teaches:
wherein the radar signal comprises a weather detection radar signal, wherein the one or more antennae is configured to transmit a vortex detection radar signal, (Landers – [Abstract], [0028])
wherein the radar return signal further comprises a scattered vortex detection radar signal. (Landers – [Abstract], [0025], [0028], [0035])
Landers does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Surace, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to cause the one or more antennae to change from transmitting the weather detection radar signal to transmitting the vortex detection radar signal, (Surace – [Abstract])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the aircraft detection system of Landers with the radar modes of Surace in order to operate in both modes simultaneously (Surace – [col. 3 ln. 36-43]).
Regarding Claim 10, Landers further teaches:
wherein the aircraft is a first aircraft, wherein the weather radar and processing circuitry are located on a second aircraft, (Landers – [Abstract], [0025])
Landers does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Surace, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
weather radar (Surace – [Abstract])
wherein the processing circuitry is configured to cause the one or more antennae to change from transmitting the weather detection radar signal to transmitting the vortex detection radar signal while the second aircraft has an altitude of less than or equal to 2,000 feet. (Surace – [col. 11 ln. 47-52] Phased-array radar device 10 may include a wind shear mode for altitudes below two thousand feet in weather detection mode 12. At altitudes of more than two thousand feet above the ground surface, phased-array radar device 10 may be configured to detect reflectivity in weather detection mode 12.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the aircraft detection system of Landers with the windshear mode of Surace in order to detect windshear near the ground (Surace – [col. 8 ln. 1-2]).
Regarding Claim 11, Landers further teaches:
wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to output the predicted wake vortex and the predicted position of the wake vortex to a weather radar display. (Landers – [Abstract], [0025], [0035])
Regarding Claim 18, Landers further teaches:
wherein the radar signal comprises a weather detection radar signal, the method further comprising: (Landers – [Abstract], [0025] Landers does not explicitly teach “weather radar”.)
causing, by the processing circuitry, the one or more antenna to change from transmitting the weather detection radar signal to transmitting a vortex detection radar signal, (Landers – [Abstract], [0025] Landers does not explicitly teach “one or more antenna to change transmitting detection radar signals”.)
wherein the radar return signal further comprises a scattered vortex detection radar signal; and (Landers – [Abstract], [0025], [0028], [0035])
outputting, by the processing circuitry, the predicted wake vortex and the predicted position of the wake vortex to a weather radar display. (Landers – [Abstract], [0025], [0035])
Landers does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Surace, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
weather radar (Surace – [Abstract])
one or more antenna to change transmitting detection radar signals (Surace – [Abstract], [col. 1 ln. 11-13]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the aircraft detection system of Landers with the interleaved weather and object detection mode of Surace in order to prevent collisions (Surace – [col. 3 ln. 11]).
Regarding Claim 14, Landers further teaches:
wherein the aircraft is a first aircraft, wherein the weather radar system is located on a second aircraft, (Landers – [Abstract], [0025] Landers does not explicitly teach “weather radar”.)
wherein predicting the wake vortex of the first aircraft occurs while the second aircraft is in a flight phase. (Landers – [Abstract], [0025])
Landers does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Surace, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
weather radar (Surace – [Abstract])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the aircraft detection system of Landers with the interleaved weather and object detection mode of Surace in order to prevent collisions (Surace – [col. 3 ln. 11]).
Regarding Claim 20, Landers teaches the following limitations:
A non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions for causing one or more processors to: (Landers – [Abstract], [0025])
cause a weather radar system to transmit a radar signal; (Landers – [Abstract], [0025])
detect an aircraft based on a radar return signal received by the weather radar system; wherein the radar return signal comprises a reflection of the radar signal; in response to detecting the aircraft, determine, based on a strength of the radar return signal, a size of the aircraft; (Landers – [Abstract], [0025], [0028] Landers does not explicitly teach “weather radar”.)
predict, based on the size of the aircraft, a wake vortex of the aircraft including a predicted position of the predicted wake vortex; and (Landers – [Abstract], [0025])
output the predicted wake vortex and the predicted position of the wake vortex to a weather radar display. (Landers – [Abstract], [0025], [0035])
Regarding Claim 21, Landers further teaches:
wherein to determine the size of the aircraft based on the strength of the radar return signal, (Landers – [Abstract], [0025], [0028], [0035])
the processing circuitry is configured to determine (Landers – [Abstract], [0025], [0028], [0035])
Landers does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Surace, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
weather radar (Surace – [Abstract])
a difference between a magnitude of the radar signal and the radar return. (Surace – [Fig. 10], [col. 20 ln. 4-7] Power amplifier 170 may amplify the base RF signal to overcome reduction in power as the base RF signal is divided for use in each receive signal and transmit signal. [col. 21 ln. 56-64] Receiver mixer 192 also receives a signal from second corporate feed 172, which is at the RF frequency (e.g., about 13 GHz). Because the RF signal output by DDS-I 158 and DDS-Q 160 (FIG. 10) is offset from the RF frequency by the intermediate frequency (e.g., 16 MHz, 32 MHz, or 64 MHz), the signal received by receiver mixer 192 from receive antenna element 134 is offset from the RF frequency signal from second corporate feed 172 by the intermediate frequency.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the aircraft detection system of Landers with the FMCW radar system of Surace in order to further determine characteristics of the object including, but not limited to, the location, direction of travel, velocity, size, shape, type of object, and/or any other characteristics based on the characteristics of the returned sensing signals (Surace – [col. 3 ln. 64 – Col. 4 ln. 1]).
Claims 9, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Landers (US 20200067866) in view of Surace (US 11079489), as applied to Claim 1 above, further in view of Staggs (US 20020089432), and further in view of Woodell (US 7372394).
Regarding Claims 9, 19, Landers further teaches:
wherein the vortex detection radar signal comprises at least one of a predictive windshear system (PWS) waveform, (Landers – [Abstract], [0025] Landers does not explicitly teach “predictive windshear system (PWS) waveform”.)
Landers does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Staggs, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
predictive windshear system (PWS) waveform (Staggs - [0081] Detailed wake vortex information pertaining to aircraft nearby the host aircraft may be available using either radar or LIDAR, or another suitable information source. For example, current predictive windshear radar implementations successfully measure the location, i.e., angle and distance, of turbulence or other disturbances in the atmosphere relative to the host aircraft. Accordingly, location and/or intensity of wake vortices of nearby aircraft are measured directly and, based on the measurement information, visual simulations of the measured wake vortices are provided.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the aircraft detection system of Landers with the predictive windshear radar implementations of Staggs in order to provide wake vortices measurements (Staggs – [0081]).
Landers does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Woodell, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
a high range resolution waveform, a direct short pulse waveform, a pulse compression waveform, or a stepped frequency waveform. (Woodell - [col. 2 ln. 8-14] The processor uses the high resolution data to perform high resolution radar analysis. The high resolution analysis may be sued to identify and separate out point or point-like non-weather target returns from weather returns. The edited high resolution data can then be integrated in range to produce weather data at any of several selected loop gain/resolution combinations.)(Woodell - [col. 10 ln. 50-62] (60) Compressed waveform generator 104 preferably provides transmitter pulses for weather radar operation. The transmitter pulses are preferably compressed pulses (e.g. short pulses or compressed long pulses). High resolution compressed waveforms can be generated by generator 104 using linear frequency modulation, non-linear frequency modulation, stepped frequency modulation, or phase encoding (binary, polyphase, etc.). In one embodiment, high resolution compressed pulses are utilized as opposed to using conventional long pulses where bandwidth and time are directly related. High resolution compressed pulses are used so that radar returns can be resolved into finer range increments.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the aircraft detection system of Landers with the compressed waveform generator of Woodell in order to produce weather data at any of several selected loop gain/resolution combinations (Woodell – [col. 2 ln. 8-14]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 7-9, filed 07/22/2026, with respect to the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been fully considered and are not persuasive. Applicant argues, see page 8, that Landers does not teach “in response to detecting the aircraft, determine, based on a strength of the radar return signal, a size of the aircraft”. The examiner disagrees, Landers – [0025] states “data structure 120a stores an aircraft type or weight and wingspan 119” as the noted by the applicant. Landers – [0028] states “In some embodiments, aircraft detection system 112 includes RADAR configured to detect intruder aircraft 210”. Though the aircraft detection system primarily uses Aircraft Dependent Surveillance-Broadcast (ADS-B) radio and a Traffic Collision Avoidance System (TCAS) system, Landers – [0028] teaches that RADAR is an alternative aircraft detection system specifically stating “to detect intruder aircraft 210 even when intruder aircraft 210 is not generating an ADS-B or TCAS signal”.
Applicant argues, see page 8, that Landers does not teach “predict, based on the size of the aircraft, a wake vortex of the aircraft including a predicted position of the predicted wake vortex,”. The examiner disagrees, when intruder aircraft 210 is not generating an ADS-B or TCAS signal Landers – [0028] teaches that RADAR is an alternative aircraft detection system. Further, Landers – [0025] teaches “Data structure 120a includes all of the information needed to determine a size and position of wake vortex 212 at various points in time” and the information used to make this determination includes “an aircraft type or weight and wingspan 119”.
Applicant’s arguments, see page 8-9, filed 07/22/2026, with respect to the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been fully considered and are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the dependent claims are allowable due to the dependency on the independent claims. As noted above, the examiner maintains Landers in view of Surace teaches the independent claims and therefore the dependent claims remain rejected.
Applicant's remaining arguments amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims is understandable and distinguishable from other inventions.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRANDON JAMES HENSON/Examiner, Art Unit 3648
/BERNARR E GREGORY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3648