DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 9-14, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Twigg et al.. (U.S. 2023/0075355 A1) in view of McDowall et al. (U.S. 2022/0385631 A1).
Re claim 1,Twigg et al. disclose an apparatus for dynamic control of a network, the apparatus comprising: a processor; and a storage medium recording one or more programs configured to be executable by the processor, wherein the one or more programs include instructions for executing (e.g. Figures 1-9): collecting network monitoring information (e.g. page 6, par. [0104]); determining, based on the network monitoring information, whether a network abnormality condition is satisfied (e.g. pages 32-33, par. [0619-0620]; and loading, based on a result of the determination, an extended Berkeley packet filter (eBPF) program controlling a network environment (e.g. page 40, par. [0721-0722]).
Twigg et al. fail to disclose an extended Berkeley packet filter (eBPF) program controlling a network environment by at least one of changing a network bandwidth, changing a routing path, generating a processing time notification, and executing QoS.
However, McDowall et al. disclose an extended Berkeley packet filter (eBPF) program controlling a network environment by at least one of changing a network bandwidth, changing a routing path, generating a processing time notification, and executing QoS(e.g. Figures 3A and 6; page 5 para. [0060], wherein the packet is intercepted at the eBPF and the packet is reroute it to the original destination). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of claimed invention to add the extended Berkeley packet filter (eBPF) program controlling a network environment by changing a routing path as seen in McDowall et al.’s invention into Twigg et al.’s invention because it would providing distributed traffic steering and enforcement for a security solution.
Re claim 2, Twigg et al. further disclose setting the network abnormality condition, and mapping the eBPF program to the network abnormality condition (e.g. page 4, par. [0721-0722]).
Re claim 3, Twigg et al. further disclose the determining whether the network abnormality condition is satisfied includes: detecting one or more events included in the network monitoring information, and determining whether the one or more events satisfy the network abnormality condition (e.g. page 40, par. [0721-0722]).
Re claim 4, Twigg et al. further disclose the network abnormality condition is set based on at least one of a round trip time (RTT) increase rate, a packet retransmission rate, and an inter-packet delay change rate (e.g. page 40, par. [0722]).
Re claim 9, Twigg et al. further disclose before the collecting the network monitoring information, receiving a packet including identification information, and determining whether a flow of the packet has been generated (e.g. Abstract, page 6, par. [0104-0105]).
Re claim 10, Twigg et al. further disclose determining whether the flow of the packet has been terminated, after the loading the eBPF program (e.g. page 7, par. [0113]; pages 39-40, par. [0716, 0721, and 0722]).
Re claims 11-14, 19, and 20, they are method claims having similar limitations cited in claims 1-4, 9, and 10 respectively. Thus, claims 11-14, 19, and 20 are also rejected under the same rationale as cited in the rejection of claims 1-4, 9, and 10 respectively.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-8, and 15-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. 2022/0385631 A1
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PHUOC H NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2451