DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/04/2024 and 07/21/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim does not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the BRI of the claimed “computer-readable storage media” can encompass non-statutory transitory forms of signal transmission, such as a propagating electrical or electromagnetic signal per se.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 8-10, 13-15 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feng (EP 2472793, filed in IDS) in view of Brooks (US 2024/0205820).
Regarding Claim 1, Feng teaches a network device comprising: a physical interface comprising a port and a data path component ([0023] the node includes: an Ethernet transmitting unit 11 connected to a local device through an Ethernet branch port (FE), a CPU (Central Processing Unit, central processing unit) unit 12, and an E1 driving unit 13 including a first-direction link port and a second-direction link port; [0027] the E1 node in this embodiment of the present invention can implement the mutual communication between an Ethernet interface and two E1 links to implement long-distance data communication. The CPU unit 12 may be used to forward the data from the E1E port to the E1W port or forward the data from the E1W port to the E1E port);
and processing circuitry having access to the storage device, the processing circuitry configured to ([0041] the CPU unit 12 also includes: a low power configuring unit 123, configured to control an integrated circuit associated with the E1 transmission link to go into a low power operation mode when the transmission link between the E1 node and the neighboring E1 node fails; [0077] all or part of steps in the above method embodiments may be implemented by a program instructing relevant hardware. The program may be stored in a computer readable storage medium, and when the program is executed, the steps of the above method embodiments are included):
determine, based on a link fault associated with the port, a link down trigger of the one or more link down triggers specified in the power save profile ([0041] the CPU unit 12 also includes: a low power configuring unit 123, configured to control an integrated circuit associated with the E1 transmission link to go into a low power operation mode when the transmission link between the E1 node and the neighboring E1 node fails; [0042] After the transmission link fails, no data is transmitted between two link ports involved in the transmission link. Therefore, energy consumption can be reduced and energy can be saved after two corresponding nodes control the integrated circuit that corresponds to the failed transmission link to go into the low power state), and
execute the power saving action associated with the link down trigger to reduce power consumed by the data path component ([0041] the CPU unit 12 also includes: a low power configuring unit 123, configured to control an integrated circuit associated with the E1 transmission link to go into a low power operation mode when the transmission link between the E1 node and the neighboring E1 node fails; [0042] After the transmission link fails, no data is transmitted between two link ports involved in the transmission link. Therefore, energy consumption can be reduced and energy can be saved after two corresponding nodes control the integrated circuit that corresponds to the failed transmission link to go into the low power state).
However, Feng does not teach a storage device configured to store a power save profile for the network device, wherein the power save profile specifies one or more link down triggers each associated with a power saving action.
In an analogous art, Brooks teaches a storage device configured to store a power save profile for the network device, wherein the power save profile specifies one or more link down triggers each associated with a power saving action ([0034] When one or more power saving events 204 are triggered, the application 200 can alter operation of the gateway device, for example, based on one or more power saving parameters 206, one or more power saving configurations 206, or any combination thereof. In one or more embodiments, the one or more of the power saving events 204, the one or more power saving parameters 206, and or both are stored locally in memory 240, in an external memory coupled to the gateway device 108, at a network resource).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Brook’s method with Feng’s method so that it may be implemented at a gateway device coupled to a multiple system operator network so as to, when triggered by a power saving event, alter an operation of the gateway device based on one or more power saving parameters associated with a power saving event so as to conserve resources at the gateway device. Thus, it is possible for a gateway device to dynamically and independently alter an operation of the gateway device so as to conserve resources associated with power usage by the gateway device (Brooks [0018]).
Regarding Claim 2, Feng does not teach the power save profile is associated with the port, and wherein the processing circuitry is configured to obtain the power save profile based on the port associated with the link fault.
In an analogous art, Brooks teaches the power save profile is associated with the port, and wherein the processing circuitry is configured to obtain the power save profile based on the port associated with the link fault ([0037] Any one or more power saving events 204 can be associated with one or more power saving parameters 206. The one or more power saving parameters 206 are indicative of an operation of one or more elements of the gateway device 108, for example, such as any of one or more ports).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Brook’s method with Feng’s method so that it may be implemented at a gateway device coupled to a multiple system operator network so as to, when triggered by a power saving event, alter an operation of the gateway device based on one or more power saving parameters associated with a power saving event so as to conserve resources at the gateway device. Thus, it is possible for a gateway device to dynamically and independently alter an operation of the gateway device so as to conserve resources associated with power usage by the gateway device (Brooks [0018]).
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Feng and Brooks, specifically Feng teaches the processing circuitry is further configured to: execute, based on an initiation of recovery of the data path component, a reverse power saving action that undoes the power saving action ([0055] When slave c detects that the response signaling sent from the d_E1W port to the c_E1E port of slave c is restored, that is, the transmission link between slave c and slave d is restored to the normal state, slave c reports link failure restoration information to the master node through the c_E1W port, and meanwhile, slave c goes into a normal operation state, that is, slave c determines whether the received data information is the data of the slave c; [0056] When receiving the information that indicates the link is restored to the normal state and is reported by slave c, master a goes into the normal operation state, that is, maintains the a_E1E port in the state of sending data and restores the a_E1W port to the state of receiving data).
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of Feng and Brooks, specifically Feng teaches the one or more link down triggers include at least one of: a loss of signal, a loss of lock, a high bit error rate, a high rate of forward error corrections, or a local fault ([0041] the CPU unit 12 also includes: a low power configuring unit 123, configured to control an integrated circuit associated with the E1 transmission link to go into a low power operation mode when the transmission link between the E1 node and the neighboring E1 node fails).
Regarding Claim 9, the combination of Feng and Brooks, specifically Feng teaches the data path component comprises at least one of: an optics component, a physical layer component, and an application specific integrated circuit component ([0041] the CPU unit 12 also includes: a low power configuring unit 123, configured to control an integrated circuit associated with the E1 transmission link to go into a low power operation mode when the transmission link between the E1 node and the neighboring E1 node fails).
Regarding Claim 10, the combination of Feng and Brooks, specifically Feng teaches the power saving action includes instructions to execute at least one of: enable low power mode of at least one data path component of the data path components, lower a power class of at least one data path component of the data path components, change an operation mode of at least one data path component, and disable at least one data path component of the data path components ([0041] the CPU unit 12 also includes: a low power configuring unit 123, configured to control an integrated circuit associated with the E1 transmission link to go into a low power operation mode when the transmission link between the E1 node and the neighboring E1 node fails).
Regarding Claim 13, Feng teaches a method comprising: determining, by the network device and based on a link fault associated with the port, a link down trigger of the one or more link down triggers specified in the power save profile ([0041] the CPU unit 12 also includes: a low power configuring unit 123, configured to control an integrated circuit associated with the E1 transmission link to go into a low power operation mode when the transmission link between the E1 node and the neighboring E1 node fails; [0042] After the transmission link fails, no data is transmitted between two link ports involved in the transmission link. Therefore, energy consumption can be reduced and energy can be saved after two corresponding nodes control the integrated circuit that corresponds to the failed transmission link to go into the low power state); and executing, by the network device, the power saving action associated with the link down trigger to reduce power consumed by the data path component ([0041] the CPU unit 12 also includes: a low power configuring unit 123, configured to control an integrated circuit associated with the E1 transmission link to go into a low power operation mode when the transmission link between the E1 node and the neighboring E1 node fails; [0042] After the transmission link fails, no data is transmitted between two link ports involved in the transmission link. Therefore, energy consumption can be reduced and energy can be saved after two corresponding nodes control the integrated circuit that corresponds to the failed transmission link to go into the low power state).
However, Feng does not teach storing, by a network device including a port and a data path component, a power save profile for the network device, wherein the power save profile specifies one or more link down triggers each associated with a power saving action.
In an analogous art, Brooks teaches storing, by a network device including a port and a data path component, a power save profile for the network device, wherein the power save profile specifies one or more link down triggers each associated with a power saving action ([0034] When one or more power saving events 204 are triggered, the application 200 can alter operation of the gateway device, for example, based on one or more power saving parameters 206, one or more power saving configurations 206, or any combination thereof. In one or more embodiments, the one or more of the power saving events 204, the one or more power saving parameters 206, and or both are stored locally in memory 240, in an external memory coupled to the gateway device 108, at a network resource).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Brook’s method with Feng’s method so that it may be implemented at a gateway device coupled to a multiple system operator network so as to, when triggered by a power saving event, alter an operation of the gateway device based on one or more power saving parameters associated with a power saving event so as to conserve resources at the gateway device. Thus, it is possible for a gateway device to dynamically and independently alter an operation of the gateway device so as to conserve resources associated with power usage by the gateway device (Brooks [0018]).
Regarding Claim 14, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in Claim 2.
Regarding Claim 15, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in Claim 3.
Regarding Claim 18, Feng teaches computer-readable storage media comprising instructions that, when executed, causes processing circuitry of a network device to ([0041] the CPU unit 12 also includes: a low power configuring unit 123, configured to control an integrated circuit associated with the E1 transmission link to go into a low power operation mode when the transmission link between the E1 node and the neighboring E1 node fails; [0077] all or part of steps in the above method embodiments may be implemented by a program instructing relevant hardware. The program may be stored in a computer readable storage medium, and when the program is executed, the steps of the above method embodiments are included):
determine, based on a link fault associated with a port of the network device, a link down trigger of the one or more link down triggers specified in the power save profile ([0041] the CPU unit 12 also includes: a low power configuring unit 123, configured to control an integrated circuit associated with the E1 transmission link to go into a low power operation mode when the transmission link between the E1 node and the neighboring E1 node fails; [0042] After the transmission link fails, no data is transmitted between two link ports involved in the transmission link. Therefore, energy consumption can be reduced and energy can be saved after two corresponding nodes control the integrated circuit that corresponds to the failed transmission link to go into the low power state), and
execute the power saving action associated with the link down trigger to reduce power consumed by a data path component of the network device ([0041] the CPU unit 12 also includes: a low power configuring unit 123, configured to control an integrated circuit associated with the E1 transmission link to go into a low power operation mode when the transmission link between the E1 node and the neighboring E1 node fails; [0042] After the transmission link fails, no data is transmitted between two link ports involved in the transmission link. Therefore, energy consumption can be reduced and energy can be saved after two corresponding nodes control the integrated circuit that corresponds to the failed transmission link to go into the low power state).
However, Feng does not teach store a power save profile for the network device, wherein the power save profile specifies one or more link down triggers each associated with a power saving action.
In an analogous art, Brooks teaches store a power save profile for the network device, wherein the power save profile specifies one or more link down triggers each associated with a power saving action ([0034] When one or more power saving events 204 are triggered, the application 200 can alter operation of the gateway device, for example, based on one or more power saving parameters 206, one or more power saving configurations 206, or any combination thereof. In one or more embodiments, the one or more of the power saving events 204, the one or more power saving parameters 206, and or both are stored locally in memory 240, in an external memory coupled to the gateway device 108, at a network resource).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Brook’s method with Feng’s method so that it may be implemented at a gateway device coupled to a multiple system operator network so as to, when triggered by a power saving event, alter an operation of the gateway device based on one or more power saving parameters associated with a power saving event so as to conserve resources at the gateway device. Thus, it is possible for a gateway device to dynamically and independently alter an operation of the gateway device so as to conserve resources associated with power usage by the gateway device (Brooks [0018]).
Regarding Claim 19, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in Claim 2.
Regarding Claim 20, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in Claim 3.
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feng in view of Brooks and Singh et al. (US 2012/0195186).
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of Feng and Brooks does not teach to initiate recovery of the data path component, the processing circuitry is configured to delay according to a link restoration timer.
In an analogous art, Singh teaches to initiate recovery of the data path component, the processing circuitry is configured to delay according to a link restoration timer ([0024] switch 102 and switch 108 may include wait-to-restore ("WTR") mechanisms such as states or timers. System 100 may be configured to determine whether transmission of user traffic is once again possible on working path 118, and after a delay after such a determination may switch transmission of user traffic back on working path 118. Switch 102 and switch 108 may be configured to determine whether the failed transmission path such as working path 118 has recovered. In one embodiment, switch 102 and switch 108 may nearly contemporaneously determine that the transmission path has recovered. Once it has been determined that the failed transmission path has recovered, switch 102 and switch 108 may enter into a WTR state. In a WTR state, a switch may be configured to wait a designated period of time before returning user traffic to the original path. The WTR timer period of the switch may be variable, and may vary from switch to switch).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Singh’s method with Feng’s method so that it prevents a network link or synchronization source from being used immediately after it recovers from a failure. Thus, it ensures the link remains stable for a set time.
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Feng and Brooks does not teach to initiate recovery of the data path component, the processing circuitry is configured to obtain an indication specifying the link fault is cleared.
In an analogous art, Singh teaches to initiate recovery of the data path component, the processing circuitry is configured to obtain an indication specifying the link fault is cleared ([0042] in step 435 it may be determined whether a message designating the primary path has been received on the primary path. In one embodiment, in step 435 it may be determined whether a message has been received that indicates that another entity has finished a wait-to-restore period).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Singh’s method with Feng’s method so that it prevents a network link or synchronization source from being used immediately after it recovers from a failure. Thus, it ensures the link remains stable for a set time.
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Feng and Brooks does not teach to initiate recovery of the data path component, the processing circuitry is configured to: send, to a device in communication with the network device, an indication that the link fault is cleared.
In an analogous art, Singh teaches to initiate recovery of the data path component, the processing circuitry is configured to: send, to a device in communication with the network device, an indication that the link fault is cleared ([0042] in step 435 it may be determined whether a message designating the primary path has been received on the primary path. In one embodiment, in step 435 it may be determined whether a message has been received that indicates that another entity has finished a wait-to-restore period).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Singh’s method with Feng’s method so that it prevents a network link or synchronization source from being used immediately after it recovers from a failure. Thus, it ensures the link remains stable for a set time.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 11-12 and 16-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Seo et al. (US 2017/0214599) teaches method of changing operation mode of the switch apparatus from a normal mode to a low-power mode.
Landau et al. (US 2016/0182175) teaches method for ethernet link robustness for deep sleep low power applications.
Itano (US 2012/0131188) teaches network concentrator capable of power saving with a simple configuration.
/YU-WEN CHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413