DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to an application filed on 11/11/2025, in which claims 1-26 are pending and ready for examination.
Response to Amendment
Claims 21-26 are newly added.
Response to Argument
Applicant's arguments filed on 11/11/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to claims rejected under 35 USC 102, 103, the Applicant argues, see Pg. 10 of filed Remarks on 11/11/2025, that Rath does not teach “classifying a luma sample … based on edge information …”, “predicting the chroma sample by applying … linear models corresponding to the classified sample group …” by asserting that Rath only teaches using depth information to perform CCLM which is different from using luma information to classify a luma sample based on edge information.
Examiner cannot concur. As already taught in Para. [0165-167], it is stated that edge information is used to determine/classify luma having the corresponding CCLM models for chroma components, wherein edge information is determined in accordance with depth information which is determined using luma information, see Para. [0138], and thus edge information is determined using luma information. Thus, the Applicant’s argument is moot.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 6-8, 10, 13-15, 17, 20, 24, 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Rath (WO 2023057501 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Rath discloses a method for decoding video data, comprising (Rath; Fig. 7-8, Para. [0155]. A video decoding system/method is used for video coding.):
obtaining a video block of the video data from a bitstream (Rath; Fig. 7-8, Para. [0155]. A video block is obtained from a bitstream.);
classifying a luma sample corresponding to a chroma sample of the video block into one of a plurality of sample groups based on edge information of the luma sample, wherein the luma sample is obtained from one or more of luma samples of the video block (Rath; Para. [0165-168]. A luma sample corresponding to a chroma sample is classified into one of different groups in accordance with edge information, wherein a luma sample is obtained from one or more of luma samples of a block, wherein edge information is used to determine/classify luma having the corresponding CCLM models for chroma components, wherein edge information is determined in accordance with depth information which is determined using luma intensity information, see Para. [0138], and thus edge information is determined using luma intensity information.); and
predicting the chroma sample by applying one of a plurality of linear prediction models corresponding to the classified sample group to the luma sample (Rath; Para. [0165-167]. A chroma sample is predicted by using one of different linear prediction models for a classified sample group of a luma sample.).
Regarding claim 3, Rath discloses wherein each of the plurality of sample groups corresponds to a different linear prediction model of the plurality of linear prediction models (Rath; Para. [0167]. Each of different sample groups corresponds to a different linear model of different models.).
Regarding claim 6, Rath discloses classifying neighboring luma samples around the video block into the plurality of sample groups based on edge information of the neighboring luma samples (Rath; Para. [0166-168]. Neighbor luma samples are classified/grouped into different groups in accordance with edge information of neighboring luma samples, also see Para. [0140].); and
wherein each of the plurality of linear prediction models is derived from neighboring luma samples classified into a sample group corresponding to that linear prediction model and neighboring chroma samples corresponding to the neighboring luma samples classified into the sample group (Rath; Para. [0166-168]. Each of different linear models is determined from neighbor luma samples grouped into a group for a linear model and neighboring chroma samples corresponding to a neighboring sample grouped into a sample group.).
Regarding claim 7, Rath discloses wherein the luma sample is obtained by either one of: down-sampling more than one of the luma samples of the video block corresponding to the chroma sample; or retrieving one of the luma samples of the video block that is at a collocated position with the chroma sample (Rath; Para. [0166]. A luma sample is obtained by at least retrieving one of luma samples of a video block that is co-located with a chroma sample.).
Claims 8, 10, 13-14 are directed to a computer system, comprising: one or more processors; and one or more storage devices storing computer-executable instructions that, when executed, cause the one or more processors to be configured to perform a sequence of processing steps corresponding to the same as claimed in claims 1, 3, 6-7, and are rejected for the same reason of anticipation as outlined above.
Claims 15, 17, 20 are directed to a non-transitory computer readable medium, storing a bitstream to be decoded by acts comprising a sequence of processing steps corresponding to the same as claimed in claims 1, 3, 6, and are rejected for the same reason of anticipation as outlined above.
Regarding claim 24, Rath discloses a method for storing a bitstream, comprising (Rath; Fig. 7-8, Para. [0155]. A video decoding system/method is used for video coding.):
performing the following steps to generate a bitstream: obtaining a video block of the video data from a video frame (Rath; Fig. 7-8, Para. [0155]. A video block is obtained from a bitstream.);
classifying a luma sample corresponding to a chroma sample of the video block into one of a plurality of sample groups corresponding to plurality of linear prediction models respectively, based on intensity value of the luma sample, wherein the luma sample is obtained from one or more of luma samples of the video block (Rath; Para. [0165-168]. A luma sample corresponding to a chroma sample is classified into one of different groups in accordance with edge information, wherein a luma sample is obtained from one or more of luma samples of a block, wherein edge information is used to determine/classify luma having the corresponding CCLM models for chroma components, wherein edge information is determined in accordance with depth information which is determined using luma intensity information, see Para. [0138], and thus edge information is determined using luma intensity information.); and
predicting the chroma sample by applying one of a plurality of linear prediction models corresponding to the classified sample group to the luma sample (Rath; Para. [0165-167]. A chroma sample is predicted by using one of different linear prediction models for a classified sample group of a luma sample.); and
storing the bitstream (Rath; Para. [0083]. Bitstream is stored.),
wherein the bitstream is to be decoded by the decoding method according to claim 1 (Rath; See remarks regarding claim 1 above.).
Regarding claim 26, Rath discloses a method for transmitting a bitstream, comprising (Rath; Fig. 7-8, Para. [0155]. A video coding system/method is used for video coding and transmitting, also see Fig. 4.):
performing the following steps to generate a bitstream: obtaining a video block of the video data from a video frame (Rath; Fig. 7-8, Para. [0155]. A video block is obtained from a bitstream.);
classifying a luma sample corresponding to a chroma sample of the video block into one of a plurality of sample groups corresponding to plurality of linear prediction models respectively, based on intensity value of the luma sample, wherein the luma sample is obtained from one or more of luma samples of the video block (Rath; Para. [0165-168]. A luma sample corresponding to a chroma sample is classified into one of different groups in accordance with edge information, wherein a luma sample is obtained from one or more of luma samples of a block, wherein edge information is used to determine/classify luma having the corresponding CCLM models for chroma components, wherein edge information is determined in accordance with depth information which is determined using luma intensity information, see Para. [0138], and thus edge information is determined using luma intensity information.); and
predicting the chroma sample by applying one of a plurality of linear prediction models corresponding to the classified sample group to the luma sample (Rath; Para. [0165-167]. A chroma sample is predicted by using one of different linear prediction models for a classified sample group of a luma sample.); and
transmitting the bitstream (Rath; Para. [0083]. Bitstream is transmitted.),
wherein the bitstream is to be decoded by the decoding method according to claim 1 (Rath; See remarks regarding claim 1 above.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 4-5, 9, 11-12, 16, 18-19, 21-23, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rath (WO 2023057501 A1) in view of Zhao (WO 2019026721 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Rath discloses the classifying the luma sample into the one of the plurality of sample groups (Rath; See remarks regarding claim 1 above.).
But Rath does not specifically disclose wherein the classifying the luma sample into the one of the plurality of sample groups is further based on intensity value of the luma sample.
However, Zhao wherein the classifying the luma sample into the one of the plurality of sample groups is further based on intensity value of the luma sample (Zhao; Para. [0048]. A luma sample is classified into one of different groups in accordance with intensity of a luma sample.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the pertinent before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the video coding system of Rath to adapt a sample edge classification, by incorporating Zhao’s teaching wherein sample edges are classified using edge strength, for the motivation to enable video block filtering (Zhao; Abstract.).
Regarding claim 4, modified Rath teaches wherein the edge information comprises a direction and a strength of an edge of the luma sample (Zhao; Para. [0048]. Edge information includes a direction and a strength of an edge for a luma sample.).
Regarding claim 5, modified Rath teaches wherein the classifying the luma sample into the one of the plurality of sample groups comprises: classifying the luma sample into the one of the plurality of sample groups based on a strength of an edge along one direction for the luma sample (Zhao; Para. [0048]. Luma samples are classified into one of different groups in accordance with a strength along one direction.).
Regarding claim 21, modified Rath teaches the video block is encoded in a 4:4:4 chroma format (Zhao; Para. [0013]. A video block is coded in a 4:4:4 format.).
Claims 9, 11-12, 22 are directed to a computer system, comprising: one or more processors; and one or more storage devices storing computer-executable instructions that, when executed, cause the one or more processors to be configured to perform a sequence of processing steps corresponding to the same as claimed in claims 2, 4-5, 21 and are non-patentable over the prior art for the same reason as previously indicated.
Claims 16, 18-19, 23 are directed to a non-transitory computer readable medium, storing a bitstream to be decoded by acts comprising a sequence of processing steps corresponding to the same as claimed in claims 2, 4-5, 21, and are non-patentable over the prior art for the same reason as previously indicated.
Regarding claim 25, modified Rath teaches the video block is encoded in a 4:4:4 chroma format (Zhao; Para. [0013]. A video block is coded in a 4:4:4 format.).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Du (US Pub. 20210195182 A1) teaches a video coding system that performs adaptive cross-component filtering.
Jhu (US Pub. 20250227278 A1) teaches a video coding system that performs cross-component prediction for video coding.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALBERT KIR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2485